For more Epilepsy resources, search BOTH links below:
| Find Journals and E-Books |
| Library Catalog |
Clinical Neurophysiology: Basis and Technical Aspects by
Clinical Neurophysiology: Basis and Technical Aspects, the latest release in the Handbook of Clinical Neurology series, is organized into sections on basic physiological concepts, on the function and limitations of modern instrumentation, and on other fundamental or methodologic aspects related to the recording of various bioelectric signals from the nervous system for clinical or investigative purposes. There is discussion of the EEG, nerve conduction studies, needle electromyography, intra-operative clinical neurophysiology, sleep physiology and studies, the autonomic nervous system, various sensory evoked potentials, and cognitive neurophysiology.
Clinical Neurophysiology: Diseases and Disorders by
Clinical Neurophysiology: Diseases and Disorders, the latest release in the Handbook of Clinical Neurology series, reviews the current practice of clinical neurophysiology in the laboratory, by the bedside, and in the operating room or intensive care unit. The volume is organized into sections focused on diseases of the central and peripheral nervous systems, sleep disorders, and autonomic disorders. Among the CNS topics covered are epilepsy, altered states of consciousness, disorders of cognition, brain death, demyelinating diseases, stroke, pain, movement disorders, vestibular disease, and auditory disorders. Peripheral nervous system topics include focal mononeuropathies, generalized polyneuropathies, muscle diseases, hyperexcitability states, neuromuscular junction disorders, anterior horn cells diseases, and cranial neuropathies. There are also chapters on sleep apneas, hypersomnias, parasomnias, and circadian rhythm disorders. Autonomic topics include primary autonomic failure, multisystem atrophy, and postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome.
Common Pitfalls in Epilepsy by
Epilepsy is amongst the most frequently encountered of neurological disorders, yet its diagnosis and management is fraught with pitfalls. Issues surrounding differential diagnosis, seizure type, underlying causes, EEG interpretations, treatment options and prognoses can often trip-up clinicians. Common Epilepsy Pitfalls: Case-Based Learning, is a comprehensive guide to anticipating and managing the pitfalls in the diagnosis and management of epilepsy. Real-life cases are presented along with pragmatic recommendations for courses of action that guide the reader through accurate and effective epilepsy diagnosis and treatment. Cases have been chosen to answer key questions such as: the first seizure - is it epilepsy? Which drug? When should stopping treatment be considered? What to do in an epileptic emergency? Containing detailed coverage of psychiatric, social and family issues - and authored by world experts in epilepsy management - this text is invaluable for neurologists, internists, family practitioners and advanced medical students.
Controversies in Caring for Women with Epilepsy by
This text presents difficult management issues surrounding women with epilepsy in a unique format. The Editors provide several controversial cases in adolescence, pre-conception, pregnancy and menopause with invited experts offering their differing opinions. The Editors compare the clinical approaches and build a consensus based on the best available evidence. Professionals charged with managing this challenging patient group will be given insights on providing the best possible care based on current available data and expert opinion.
Epilepsy by
Designed to provide a comprehensive but accessible introduction to epilepsy and seizure disorders, Epilepsy, 2nd edition provides state-of-the-art information in a concise format useful to a wide audience, from neurology residents to epilepsy fellows and practitioners. This illustrated guide to the assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of epilepsy is a valuable resource enabling clinicians to stay on top of the latest recommendations for best practice.
Epilepsy Case Studies by
Written by expert epilepsy clinicians from the Mayo Clinic, Epilepsy Case Studies: Pearls for Patient Care presents a wide variety of case histories drawn from "real life" experiences in people with seizures. Designed to stimulate the same deductive reasoning that is commonly used when seeing epilepsy patients in the clinic, this practical book presents the clinical scenario and then poses a range of stimulating questions to organize the reader's thoughts to address each case. Questions that revolve around each case include common ones such as "How does this test help us with the diagnosis?" and "What is the precise relationship of the patient's seizures to their overall neurological condition?" The most poignant questions include "How does this information help us to devise a treatment plan?" and "What do we know about the anticipated course and prognosis?" The questions raised in each section incorporate the clinical course and evaluation. Where possible, the discussion relies upon the latest medical evidence to support the responses and includes up-to-date techniques used for patients with and without seizure control. At the end of each case a few salient citations are referenced, as are a few of the more pertinent articles that the reader can reference to obtain an overview of the topic. Take-home messages are encapsulated in the form of clinical pearls that are designed to form the basic understanding of the case scenarios presented. A major contribution to the literature in epileptology, Epilepsy Case Studies: Pearls for Patient Care will be an invaluable reference for all clinicians who treat patients with epilepsy.
Epilepsy in Women by
Epilepsy requires careful management and monitoring through a woman s life Epilepsy is a complex disease. The hormonal changes women experience, both day-to-day menstrual fluctuations and the longer waxes and wanings of a reproductive lifetime, make the management of epilepsy even more complicated. At some point, the well-being of a second person, a fetus, might also have to be taken into account. Epilepsy in Women provides a detailed guide to this challenge. The wide-ranging approach encompasses all aspects of a woman s life including: Social and psychological impacts The impact in reproductive life Contraception Pregnancy Fetal health and long term developmental outcomes Lactation Menopause Each practical chapter begins and ends with a case study that demonstrates the more general challenge. The authors develop themes to provide clinical guidance based on evidence and experience. Written and edited by an international cast of experts, Epilepsy in Women provides crucial tips and recommendations for neurologists and gynecologists who need to be aware of the subtle effects of epilepsy on woman s life.
Principles of Neural Science by
Now updated: the definitive neuroscience resource--from Eric R. Kandel, MD (winner of the Nobel Prize in 2000); James H. Schwartz, MD, PhD; Thomas M. Jessell, PhD; Steven A. Siegelbaum, PhD; and A. J. Hudspeth, PhD A Doody''s Core Title for 2017! 900 full-color illustrations Deciphering the link between the human brain and behavior has always been one of the most intriguing--and often challenging--aspects of scientific endeavor. The sequencing of the human genome, and advances in molecular biology, have illuminated the pathogenesis of many neurological diseases and have propelled our knowledge of how the brain controls behavior. To grasp the wider implications of these developments and gain a fundamental understanding of this dynamic, fast-moving field, Principles of Neuroscience stands alone as the most authoritative and indispensible resource of its kind. In this classic text, prominent researchers in the field expertly survey the entire spectrum of neural science, giving an up-to-date, unparalleled view of the discipline for anyone who studies brain and mind. Here, in one remarkable volume, is the current state of neural science knowledge--ranging from molecules and cells, to anatomic structures and systems, to the senses and cognitive functions--all supported by more than 900 precise, full-color illustrations. In addition to clarifying complex topics, the book also benefits from a cohesive organization, beginning with an insightful overview of the interrelationships between the brain, nervous system, genes, and behavior. Principles of Neural Science then proceeds with an in-depth examination of the molecular and cellular biology of nerve cells, synaptic transmission, and the neural basis of cognition. The remaining sections illuminate how cells, molecules, and systems give us sight, hearing, touch, movement, thought, learning, memories, and emotions. The new fifth edition of Principles of Neural Science is thoroughly updated to reflect the tremendous amount of research, and the very latest clinical perspectives, that have significantly transformed the field within the last decade. Ultimately, Principles of Neural Science affirms that all behavior is an expression of neural activity, and that the future of clinical neurology and psychiatry hinges on the progress of neural science. Far exceeding the scope and scholarship of similar texts, this unmatched guide offers a commanding, scientifically rigorous perspective on the molecular mechanisms of neural function and disease--one that you''ll continually rely on to advance your comprehension of brain, mind, and behavior. FEATURES The cornerstone reference in the field of neuroscience that explains how the nerves, brain, and mind function Clear emphasis on how behavior can be examined through the electrical activity of both individual neurons and systems of nerve cells Current focus on molecular biology as a tool for probing the pathogenesis of many neurological diseases, including muscular dystrophy, Huntington disease, and certain forms of Alzheimer''s disease More than 900 engaging full-color illustrations--including line drawings, radiographs, micrographs, and medical photographs clarify often-complex neuroscience concepts Outstanding section on the development and emergence of behavior, including important coverage of brain damage repair, the sexual differentiation of the nervous system, and the aging brain NEW! More detailed discussions of cognitive and behavioral functions, and an expanded review of cognitive processes NEW! A focus on the increasing importance of computational neural science, which enhances our ability to record the brain''s electrical activity and study cognitive processes more directly NEW! Chapter-opening Key Concepts provide a convenient, study-enhancing introduction to the material covered in each chapter Selected Readings and full reference citations at the close of each chapter facilitate further study and research Helpful appendices highlight basic circuit theory; the neurological examination of the patient; circulation of the brain; the blood-brain barrier, choroid plexus, and cerebrospinal fluid; neural networks; and theoretical approaches to neuroscience/ul>
Rowan's Primer of EEG by
Practical, brief, and easy to understand, Rowan's Primer of EEG, 3rd Edition, teaches the difficult technical aspects of how to perform and interpret EEGs. Direct, concise text, numerous illustrations and teaching points make this up-to-date reference a valuable resource for students, residents, neurologists, and epileptologists alike.
The Treatment of Epilepsy by
Highly Commended at the British Medical Association Book Awards 2016 The Treatment of Epilepsy, fourth edition, is a comprehensive reference and clinical guide to the pharmacological, medical and surgical options available in the treatment of epilepsy. The text is compiled by a group of internationally renowned editors and contributors and is now in full color and extensively illustrated The first two sections cover the background to, and principles of, treatment in different clinical situations Section three comprises a series of systematic reviews of contemporary drug therapy, devoting one chapter to each anti-epileptic drug and covering all clinically-relevant aspects Section four focuses on the surgical options, devoting individual chapters to each of the modalities of presurgical assessment and to each surgical operation or approach This 4th edition is extensively revised incorporating the many recent developments in therapy, and comprises 81 chapters from world experts from 18 countries
Wyllie's Treatment of Epilepsy: Principles and Practice, 7th ed. by
Comprehensive, yet accessible, Wyllie's Treatment of Epilepsy: Principles and Practice has provided a detailed and cohesive overview of seizure disorders and treatment options through six well-regarded editions. The 7th Edition remains the definitive reference in the field with extensive updates from Dr. Elaine Wyllie and her team of world-renowned editors and authors. Ideal for both clinical reference and exam preparation, this single-volume work on contemporary epileptology is an indispensable resource for neurologists, epilepsy specialists and epilepsy neurosurgeons, neurology and neurosurgery residents and fellows, and neuropsychologists. Features considerable new or significantly revised content reflecting the most current evidence-based treatment options. Offers an in-depth review of all aspects of epileptology, including neuroimaging; epilepsy surgery; anti-seizure medications; principles of electroencephalography; psychosocial impact, quality of life, and comorbidities; economics of epilepsy; and more. Provides more than 500 CME-eligible review questions online, highlighting key concepts for the ABPN subspecialty exam and clinical practice.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
Absolute Epilepsy and EEG Rotation Review by
This book contains the most essential information needed for an epilepsy/ EEG rotation. Chapters are formatted with bullet points and feature clinical pearls. Concise and easy-to-read, this quick reference provides neurology residents, clinical neurophysiology and epilepsy fellows, and other clinicians with the most critical information in epilepsy and EEG in a simplified, yet comprehensive format. Divided into two sections, the book first covers the diagnosis, characteristics, and treatment of epilepsy. The second section focuses on EEG placement, procedures, and patterns in various neurological disorders.
Epilepsy Board Review by
This concise text mirrors the content of the Epilepsy Board as distributed by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology. Epilepsy diagnosis, classification and treatment are thoroughly covered, along with seizure classification, epidemiology, normal and abnormal EEG, and treatment with antiepileptic medications and other modalities. Formatted with multiple choice questions and explanations, this complete resource will prepare physicians and students for the Epilepsy Board examination and provide the latest clinical approaches.
Individual issues:
Individual articles:
