Skip to Main Content
Core E-Books
Clinical Evoked Potentials: An Illustrated Manual by Omkar N. Markand, 2020
This book covers all aspects of evoked potentials (EPs) utilized clinically in evaluating the functional integrity of somatosensory, auditory, motor, and visual pathways in the nervous system. It explores techniques needed to correctly perform EPs, and discusses these clinical neurophysiological tests that are performed in academic institutions and large community hospitals. Concise and comprehensive, this case-study rich text is divided into five chapters. Beginning with basic principles of evoked potential recording, the first chapter discusses signal enhancement and limitations of signal averaging. Chapter two then provides an overview of brainstem auditory EPs. Subsequent chapters then present visual EPs and somatosensory evoked potentials. Finally, the book concludes with clinical applications of transcranial magnetic stimulation, as well as a brief discussion of the techniques of transcranial electrical motor evoked potentials during intraoperative monitoring. Clinical Evoked Potentials: An Illustrated Manual functions as an essential reference for neurologists neurosurgeons, anesthesiologists, clinical neurophysiologists, and EP technologists, who are involved with the recording and interpretation of EPs primarily for diagnostic purposes.
Intraoperative Neurophysiological Monitoring, 3rd ed. by Aage R. Møller, 2011
The third edition of this classic text again provides practical, comprehensive coverage of the anatomical and physiological basis for intraoperative neurophysiological monitoring. Written by a leading authority in the field, Dr. Aage Moller has updated this important title to again offer all the leading-edge knowledge needed to perform electrophysiological recordings in the operating room, to interpret the results, and to present the results to the surgeon. The field known as "intraoperative monitoring" has expanded rapidly to cover other uses of neurophysiology and electrophysiologic recordings during surgical operations that affect the brain, spinal cord, and other parts of the nervous system. These new areas are covered in this new edition. To better represent the content of the book and the field as it now stands, many of the chapters have been revised and new material has been added. While the general organization of the book is maintained, chapters such as monitoring of motor systems have been revised and extended with new material, including more detailed description of the anatomy and physiology of motor systems and new information about intraoperative monitoring.
Manual of Peripheral Nerve Surgery by Mariano Socolovsky (Editor); Lukas Rasulic (Editor); Rajiv Midha (Editor); Debora Garozzo (Editor), 2017
Developed and written by top international experts in the field, this lucid new work is a comprehensive yet concise manual for reviewing the basics of peripheral nerve anatomy, pathophysiology, all typical and classic lesions, and the appropriate diagnostics. The chapters culminate in a description of the complex step-by-step surgical repair of these lesions. Succinctly written, the manual covers a range of topics normally only seen in larger works: included are the various plexus systems and associated injuries, facial nerve surgery, compression neuropathies and tumors, gunshot wounds, pain management, and much more. Key Features: Developed and written by members of the World Federation of Neurosurgical Societies (WFNS) Peripheral Nerve Committee Full coverage of all typical nerve lesions from the basics of anatomy and pathophysiology to the most complex surgical solutions Conceived for neurosurgeons, plastic surgeons, orthopaedic surgeons, and hand surgeons, both in training and in professional practice More than 250 images-radiological images, color illustrations, and photographs of dissections-which help in visualizing and comprehending the text better The Manual of Peripheral Nerve Surgery: From the Basics to Complex Procedures is certain to become a much-used reference resource for residents and practicing surgeons alike.
Neurophysiology in Neurosurgery: A Modern Approach, 2nd ed. by Vedran Deletis (Editor); Jay L. Shils (Editor); Francesco Sala (Editor); Kathleen Seidel (Editor), 2020
Over the last 18 years, there have been many advances in the field of intraoperative monitoring. This new edition of Neurophysiology in Neurosurgery: A Modern Approach provides updates on the original techniques, as well as other more recent methodologies that may either prove beneficial or are commonly used in neuromonitoring. The purpose of this book is to describe the integration of neuromonitoring with surgical procedures. Each methodology is discussed in detail as well as chapters describing how those methodologies are applied to multiple surgical procedures and the evidence used to support those uses. The second edition features a surgical procedure section, which focuses on specific surgical procedures and the type of monitoring used during these procedures. The original chapters have been updated, expanded, and the structure modified to ensure the book is beneficial to both physiologists and surgeons. This book is written for neurosurgeons, neurophysiologists, neurologists, anesthesiologists, interventional neuroradiologists, orthopedic surgeons, and plastic surgeons.
Clinical Evoked Potentials: An Illustrated Manual by
This book covers all aspects of evoked potentials (EPs) utilized clinically in evaluating the functional integrity of somatosensory, auditory, motor, and visual pathways in the nervous system. It explores techniques needed to correctly perform EPs, and discusses these clinical neurophysiological tests that are performed in academic institutions and large community hospitals. Concise and comprehensive, this case-study rich text is divided into five chapters. Beginning with basic principles of evoked potential recording, the first chapter discusses signal enhancement and limitations of signal averaging. Chapter two then provides an overview of brainstem auditory EPs. Subsequent chapters then present visual EPs and somatosensory evoked potentials. Finally, the book concludes with clinical applications of transcranial magnetic stimulation, as well as a brief discussion of the techniques of transcranial electrical motor evoked potentials during intraoperative monitoring. Clinical Evoked Potentials: An Illustrated Manual functions as an essential reference for neurologists neurosurgeons, anesthesiologists, clinical neurophysiologists, and EP technologists, who are involved with the recording and interpretation of EPs primarily for diagnostic purposes.
Intraoperative Neuromonitoring by
This is volume 186 from the "Handbook of Clinical Neurology" series
Intraoperative Neurophysiological Monitoring, 3rd ed. by
The third edition of this classic text again provides practical, comprehensive coverage of the anatomical and physiological basis for intraoperative neurophysiological monitoring. Written by a leading authority in the field, Dr. Aage Moller has updated this important title to again offer all the leading-edge knowledge needed to perform electrophysiological recordings in the operating room, to interpret the results, and to present the results to the surgeon. The field known as "intraoperative monitoring" has expanded rapidly to cover other uses of neurophysiology and electrophysiologic recordings during surgical operations that affect the brain, spinal cord, and other parts of the nervous system. These new areas are covered in this new edition. To better represent the content of the book and the field as it now stands, many of the chapters have been revised and new material has been added. While the general organization of the book is maintained, chapters such as monitoring of motor systems have been revised and extended with new material, including more detailed description of the anatomy and physiology of motor systems and new information about intraoperative monitoring.
Manual of Peripheral Nerve Surgery by
Developed and written by top international experts in the field, this lucid new work is a comprehensive yet concise manual for reviewing the basics of peripheral nerve anatomy, pathophysiology, all typical and classic lesions, and the appropriate diagnostics. The chapters culminate in a description of the complex step-by-step surgical repair of these lesions. Succinctly written, the manual covers a range of topics normally only seen in larger works: included are the various plexus systems and associated injuries, facial nerve surgery, compression neuropathies and tumors, gunshot wounds, pain management, and much more. Key Features: Developed and written by members of the World Federation of Neurosurgical Societies (WFNS) Peripheral Nerve Committee Full coverage of all typical nerve lesions from the basics of anatomy and pathophysiology to the most complex surgical solutions Conceived for neurosurgeons, plastic surgeons, orthopaedic surgeons, and hand surgeons, both in training and in professional practice More than 250 images-radiological images, color illustrations, and photographs of dissections-which help in visualizing and comprehending the text better The Manual of Peripheral Nerve Surgery: From the Basics to Complex Procedures is certain to become a much-used reference resource for residents and practicing surgeons alike.
Neurophysiology in Neurosurgery: A Modern Approach, 2nd ed. by
Over the last 18 years, there have been many advances in the field of intraoperative monitoring. This new edition of Neurophysiology in Neurosurgery: A Modern Approach provides updates on the original techniques, as well as other more recent methodologies that may either prove beneficial or are commonly used in neuromonitoring. The purpose of this book is to describe the integration of neuromonitoring with surgical procedures. Each methodology is discussed in detail as well as chapters describing how those methodologies are applied to multiple surgical procedures and the evidence used to support those uses. The second edition features a surgical procedure section, which focuses on specific surgical procedures and the type of monitoring used during these procedures. The original chapters have been updated, expanded, and the structure modified to ensure the book is beneficial to both physiologists and surgeons. This book is written for neurosurgeons, neurophysiologists, neurologists, anesthesiologists, interventional neuroradiologists, orthopedic surgeons, and plastic surgeons.