Skip to Main Content
Core E-Books
Atlas of EEG Patterns by John M. Stern, 2013
Atlas of EEG Patterns, Second Edition The electroencephalogram (EEG) is essential to the accurate diagnosis of many neurologic disorders. The Second Edition of Atlas of EEG Patterns sharpens readers' interpretation skills with an even larger array of both normal and abnormal EEG pattern figures and text designed to optimize recognition of telltale findings. Trainees will benefit from hundreds of EEG figures, helping them spot abnormalities and identify the pattern name. Experienced neurologists will find the book excellent as a quick reference and when trying to distinguish a finding from similarly appearing patterns. Organized by EEG pattern, the Atlas orients you to the basics of EEG, helps the reader identify the characteristic EEG wave features and leads you to the EEG diagnosis through a table that organizes all of the EEG patterns according to their wave features. The Atlas includes the full range of EEG patterns from the common rhythms to the rare findings, and it also includes numerous examples of artifacts. NEW in the Second Edition... * Solution Site with full text and image bank. * An extensive table guides you from EEG wave features to a list of EEG patterns that have the features, then to detailed descriptions and examples of each pattern. * Over 150 new EEG figures from an established EEG laboratory sharpen your interpretation skills using real-world examples.
Atlas of Pediatric EEG by Pramote Laoprasert, 2011
750 EEG tracings provide the visual assistance you need to diagnose pediatric seizure activity Atlas of Pediatric EEG will prove to be an essential visual reference to for both the novice and experienced neurologist. For those new to the field, it will help develop the pattern recognition skills necessary to diagnose pediatric seizure activity. For experienced neurologists, it provides a working collection of known patterns to which they can compare their own tracings. Atlas of Pediatric EEG features a full-color presentation, easy-to-read bulleted chapter text, and detailed legends under each tracing that provide a full description and diagnosis of what is seen in the tracing. Chapters also contain case examples that add clinical relevance to the tracings. This unique atlas covers every type of seizure, both epileptic and non-epileptic and divided into nine chapters: Normal and Benign Varients Artifacts Newborn Focal Nonepileptoform Activity Generalized Noneplileptiform Activity ICU Epileptic Encephalopathy Generalized Epilepsy Focal Epilepsy Also included is a companion DVD containing 190 video clips to assist you in learning how to interpret video-EEG, which is rapidly becoming the most common modality for EEG.
Atlas of Video-EEG Monitoring by Joseph Sirven; John Stern, 2011
The single-best resource available for learning how to perform and interpret video EEG Companion DVD includes 110 seizure videos covering a full range of seizure types! A Doody's Core Title for 2011! Atlas of Video-EEG Monitoring explains the essentials of video EEG for use in all settings. This full-color atlas thoroughly covers the basics of performing video EEG for diagnosis along with how to use video EEG for the diagnosis and interpretation of seizures and mimickers of seizures during treatment of epilepsy, in the emergency department, and in the intensive care unit. Features DVD contains videos linked to EEG patterns in the book---allowing you to see each problem in real time Over 340 full-color images and EEGs Detailed overview of epileptic seizures, from simple partial seizures and primary generalized tonic-clonic seizures to epileptic spasms In-depth survey of seizure mimics, including psychogenic non-epileptic spells; panic spells; non-epileptic movements in coma; dissociative spells; movement disorders; sleep disorders; and syncope Thorough review of status epilepticus, including epilepsia partialis continua, and other syndromes Cutting-edge guidance on intracranial video-EEG monitoring, including placement and interpretation of grid/strip electrodes and depth electrodes
Clinical Electroencephalography by Oriano Mecarelli (Editor), 2019
This book describes the developments and improvements in electroencephalography (EEG). In recent years, digital technology has replaced analog equipments, and it is now possible to easily record and store EEG tracings and to quickly recall previously acquired material for subsequent analysis. In addition, not only static figures, but also electronic supplementary materials can be included in books, enabling EEGs to be viewed in real-time. In clinical practice, EEG still represents the most important functional examination in the study CNS development and its anatomical and physiological integrity throughout life. In the pathological context, EEG provides indispensable diagnostic information for classification of epileptic syndromes, and it is also valuable in all the other CNS diseases (infectious, cerebrovascular, neurodegenerative, etc). Furthermore, monitoring EEG can be widely used in emergency settings, such as emergency departments or intensive care units. In comatose patients, EEG provides information regarding prognosis and evaluation of the sedative effect of anesthetic drugs. Written by a group of leading national and international experts, it offers a substantial, yet practical, EEG compendium, which serves as a reference resource for physicians and neurodiagnostic technologists as well as physicians-in-training, researchers, practicing electroencephalographers and students.
Continuous EEG Monitoring by Aatif M. Husain (Editor); Saurabh R. Sinha (Editor), 2017
This book is designed to meet the need for a practically oriented textbook on the rapidly growing field of continuous EEG (cEEG) monitoring. A wide range of key clinical aspects are addressed, with explanation of status epilepticus classification, criteria for institution of monitoring, seizure patterns and their recognition, quantitative EEG analysis, and neuroimaging in patients undergoing cEEG monitoring. The value of cEEG and the nature of cEEG findings in various special situations are then reviewed, covering particular pathologies, critical care considerations, and prognostication. Treatments of nonconvulsive status epilepticus (NCSE) and nonconvulsive seizures (NCS) are discussed. The concluding section is devoted to important administrative issues including billing, staffing issues, comparison of EEG machines, and information technology (IT) issues. Continuous EEG monitoring offers the only reliable means of detecting seizures that are not clinically obvious in critically ill patients. Such seizures are common: approximately 20% of patients undergoing cEEG monitoring in hospital have NCSE or NCS. Against this background, many hospitals have started to offer cEEG monitoring as a basis for delivery of appropriate treatment. By presenting the state of the art in cEEG monitoring, this book will be invaluable to practitioners including neurophysiologists, neurologists, neurointensivists, intensivists, neurophysiology and epilepsy fellows, and neurology residents.
Ebersole's Current Practice of Clinical Electroencephalography by Aatif M. Husain, 2023
Readable, concise, and data-driven, Current Practice of Clinical Electroencephalography, 5th Edition, delivers a comprehensive overview of the dynamic field of EEG. Dr. Aatif M. Husain leads a team of internationally recognized authors who provide updates on established areas of clinical EEG, discuss newly evolving areas, and explain neurophysiological basis of pathology to encourage understanding rather than simply pattern recognition. Now in full color throughout, it's a must-have resource for residents, neurologists, clinical neurophysiologists, epilepsy specialists, electroneurodiagnostic technologists and practicing electroencephalographers, as well as students, trainees, and researchers--anyone who desires to stay up to date and use EEG to its fullest potential. Spans the full range of EEG applications, from basics through advanced procedures and techniques Includes hundreds of full-color illustrations/tracings, diagrams, and charts that relate EEG findings to clinical conditions Addresses new techniques as well as existing techniques that have become more commonly used since the previous edition--200 pages of additional information in all Also covers intraoperative monitoring, ICU EEG, advanced digital methods of EEG, EP and Neurophysiologic Intraoperative Monitoring, transcranial magnetic stimulation and laboratory evaluation of sleep disorders Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
EEG Signal Analysis and Classification by Siuly Siuly; Yan Li; Yanchun Zhang, 2017
This book presents advanced methodologies in two areas related to electroencephalogram (EEG) signals: detection of epileptic seizures and identification of mental states in brain computer interface (BCI) systems. The proposed methods enable the extraction of this vital information from EEG signals in order to accurately detect abnormalities revealed by the EEG. New methods will relieve the time-consuming and error-prone practices that are currently in use. Common signal processing methodologies include wavelet transformation and Fourier transformation, but these methods are not capable of managing the size of EEG data. Addressing the issue, this book examines new EEG signal analysis approaches with a combination of statistical techniques (e.g. random sampling, optimum allocation) and machine learning methods. The developed methods provide better results than the existing methods. The book also offers applications of the developed methodologies that have been tested on several real-time benchmark databases. This book concludes with thoughts on the future of the field and anticipated research challenges. It gives new direction to the field of analysis and classification of EEG signals through these more efficient methodologies. Researchers and experts will benefit from its suggested improvements to the current computer-aided based diagnostic systems for the precise analysis and management of EEG signals.
Core E-Books
MRI in Epilepsy by Horst Urbach (Editor), 2013
MRI can play an important role in identifying and localizing epileptogenic foci. This book aims to provide the clinical and imaging information required in order to decide whether an MRI scan is appropriate and whether it is likely to be sufficient to detect a lesion. The first part of the book presents background information on epilepsy patients and explains how to perform an MRI examination. Detailed attention is paid to functional MRI and post-processing, and the examination of subcategories of patients is also discussed. The second part of the book then documents the MRI findings obtained in the full range of epileptogenic lesions with the aid of high-quality images. Throughout, emphasis is placed on guiding the reader in the correct interpretation of the imaging findings. Both radiologists and referring physicians will find this book to be an indispensable guide to the optimal use of MRI in epilepsy.
Neuroimaging in Epilepsy by Harry T. Chugani (Editor), 2012
Perhaps the most important achievements in the field of epileptology in the past two decades have been in the neuroimaging and genetic breakthroughs as applied to patients with epilepsy. Indeed, neuroimaging has become a vital part in the study of epilepsy, affecting broad aspects of thedisorder ranging from diagnosis and classification to treatment and prognosis. Neuroimaging in epilepsy encompasses many different approaches that have reached various levels of expertise across epilepsy centers worldwide. This book discusses every imaging modality used to gather information onepilepsy. Each technique is described by world experts and epilespy centers worldwide.
Atlas of EEG Patterns by
Atlas of EEG Patterns, Second Edition The electroencephalogram (EEG) is essential to the accurate diagnosis of many neurologic disorders. The Second Edition of Atlas of EEG Patterns sharpens readers' interpretation skills with an even larger array of both normal and abnormal EEG pattern figures and text designed to optimize recognition of telltale findings. Trainees will benefit from hundreds of EEG figures, helping them spot abnormalities and identify the pattern name. Experienced neurologists will find the book excellent as a quick reference and when trying to distinguish a finding from similarly appearing patterns. Organized by EEG pattern, the Atlas orients you to the basics of EEG, helps the reader identify the characteristic EEG wave features and leads you to the EEG diagnosis through a table that organizes all of the EEG patterns according to their wave features. The Atlas includes the full range of EEG patterns from the common rhythms to the rare findings, and it also includes numerous examples of artifacts. NEW in the Second Edition... * Solution Site with full text and image bank. * An extensive table guides you from EEG wave features to a list of EEG patterns that have the features, then to detailed descriptions and examples of each pattern. * Over 150 new EEG figures from an established EEG laboratory sharpen your interpretation skills using real-world examples.
Atlas of Pediatric EEG by
750 EEG tracings provide the visual assistance you need to diagnose pediatric seizure activity Atlas of Pediatric EEG will prove to be an essential visual reference to for both the novice and experienced neurologist. For those new to the field, it will help develop the pattern recognition skills necessary to diagnose pediatric seizure activity. For experienced neurologists, it provides a working collection of known patterns to which they can compare their own tracings. Atlas of Pediatric EEG features a full-color presentation, easy-to-read bulleted chapter text, and detailed legends under each tracing that provide a full description and diagnosis of what is seen in the tracing. Chapters also contain case examples that add clinical relevance to the tracings. This unique atlas covers every type of seizure, both epileptic and non-epileptic and divided into nine chapters: Normal and Benign Varients Artifacts Newborn Focal Nonepileptoform Activity Generalized Noneplileptiform Activity ICU Epileptic Encephalopathy Generalized Epilepsy Focal Epilepsy Also included is a companion DVD containing 190 video clips to assist you in learning how to interpret video-EEG, which is rapidly becoming the most common modality for EEG.
Atlas of Video-EEG Monitoring by
The single-best resource available for learning how to perform and interpret video EEG Companion DVD includes 110 seizure videos covering a full range of seizure types! A Doody's Core Title for 2011! Atlas of Video-EEG Monitoring explains the essentials of video EEG for use in all settings. This full-color atlas thoroughly covers the basics of performing video EEG for diagnosis along with how to use video EEG for the diagnosis and interpretation of seizures and mimickers of seizures during treatment of epilepsy, in the emergency department, and in the intensive care unit. Features DVD contains videos linked to EEG patterns in the book---allowing you to see each problem in real time Over 340 full-color images and EEGs Detailed overview of epileptic seizures, from simple partial seizures and primary generalized tonic-clonic seizures to epileptic spasms In-depth survey of seizure mimics, including psychogenic non-epileptic spells; panic spells; non-epileptic movements in coma; dissociative spells; movement disorders; sleep disorders; and syncope Thorough review of status epilepticus, including epilepsia partialis continua, and other syndromes Cutting-edge guidance on intracranial video-EEG monitoring, including placement and interpretation of grid/strip electrodes and depth electrodes
Clinical Electroencephalography by
This book describes the developments and improvements in electroencephalography (EEG). In recent years, digital technology has replaced analog equipments, and it is now possible to easily record and store EEG tracings and to quickly recall previously acquired material for subsequent analysis. In addition, not only static figures, but also electronic supplementary materials can be included in books, enabling EEGs to be viewed in real-time. In clinical practice, EEG still represents the most important functional examination in the study CNS development and its anatomical and physiological integrity throughout life. In the pathological context, EEG provides indispensable diagnostic information for classification of epileptic syndromes, and it is also valuable in all the other CNS diseases (infectious, cerebrovascular, neurodegenerative, etc). Furthermore, monitoring EEG can be widely used in emergency settings, such as emergency departments or intensive care units. In comatose patients, EEG provides information regarding prognosis and evaluation of the sedative effect of anesthetic drugs. Written by a group of leading national and international experts, it offers a substantial, yet practical, EEG compendium, which serves as a reference resource for physicians and neurodiagnostic technologists as well as physicians-in-training, researchers, practicing electroencephalographers and students.
Continuous EEG Monitoring by
This book is designed to meet the need for a practically oriented textbook on the rapidly growing field of continuous EEG (cEEG) monitoring. A wide range of key clinical aspects are addressed, with explanation of status epilepticus classification, criteria for institution of monitoring, seizure patterns and their recognition, quantitative EEG analysis, and neuroimaging in patients undergoing cEEG monitoring. The value of cEEG and the nature of cEEG findings in various special situations are then reviewed, covering particular pathologies, critical care considerations, and prognostication. Treatments of nonconvulsive status epilepticus (NCSE) and nonconvulsive seizures (NCS) are discussed. The concluding section is devoted to important administrative issues including billing, staffing issues, comparison of EEG machines, and information technology (IT) issues. Continuous EEG monitoring offers the only reliable means of detecting seizures that are not clinically obvious in critically ill patients. Such seizures are common: approximately 20% of patients undergoing cEEG monitoring in hospital have NCSE or NCS. Against this background, many hospitals have started to offer cEEG monitoring as a basis for delivery of appropriate treatment. By presenting the state of the art in cEEG monitoring, this book will be invaluable to practitioners including neurophysiologists, neurologists, neurointensivists, intensivists, neurophysiology and epilepsy fellows, and neurology residents.
Ebersole's Current Practice of Clinical Electroencephalography by
Readable, concise, and data-driven, Current Practice of Clinical Electroencephalography, 5th Edition, delivers a comprehensive overview of the dynamic field of EEG. Dr. Aatif M. Husain leads a team of internationally recognized authors who provide updates on established areas of clinical EEG, discuss newly evolving areas, and explain neurophysiological basis of pathology to encourage understanding rather than simply pattern recognition. Now in full color throughout, it's a must-have resource for residents, neurologists, clinical neurophysiologists, epilepsy specialists, electroneurodiagnostic technologists and practicing electroencephalographers, as well as students, trainees, and researchers--anyone who desires to stay up to date and use EEG to its fullest potential. Spans the full range of EEG applications, from basics through advanced procedures and techniques Includes hundreds of full-color illustrations/tracings, diagrams, and charts that relate EEG findings to clinical conditions Addresses new techniques as well as existing techniques that have become more commonly used since the previous edition--200 pages of additional information in all Also covers intraoperative monitoring, ICU EEG, advanced digital methods of EEG, EP and Neurophysiologic Intraoperative Monitoring, transcranial magnetic stimulation and laboratory evaluation of sleep disorders Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
EEG Signal Analysis and Classification by
This book presents advanced methodologies in two areas related to electroencephalogram (EEG) signals: detection of epileptic seizures and identification of mental states in brain computer interface (BCI) systems. The proposed methods enable the extraction of this vital information from EEG signals in order to accurately detect abnormalities revealed by the EEG. New methods will relieve the time-consuming and error-prone practices that are currently in use. Common signal processing methodologies include wavelet transformation and Fourier transformation, but these methods are not capable of managing the size of EEG data. Addressing the issue, this book examines new EEG signal analysis approaches with a combination of statistical techniques (e.g. random sampling, optimum allocation) and machine learning methods. The developed methods provide better results than the existing methods. The book also offers applications of the developed methodologies that have been tested on several real-time benchmark databases. This book concludes with thoughts on the future of the field and anticipated research challenges. It gives new direction to the field of analysis and classification of EEG signals through these more efficient methodologies. Researchers and experts will benefit from its suggested improvements to the current computer-aided based diagnostic systems for the precise analysis and management of EEG signals.
MRI in Epilepsy by
MRI can play an important role in identifying and localizing epileptogenic foci. This book aims to provide the clinical and imaging information required in order to decide whether an MRI scan is appropriate and whether it is likely to be sufficient to detect a lesion. The first part of the book presents background information on epilepsy patients and explains how to perform an MRI examination. Detailed attention is paid to functional MRI and post-processing, and the examination of subcategories of patients is also discussed. The second part of the book then documents the MRI findings obtained in the full range of epileptogenic lesions with the aid of high-quality images. Throughout, emphasis is placed on guiding the reader in the correct interpretation of the imaging findings. Both radiologists and referring physicians will find this book to be an indispensable guide to the optimal use of MRI in epilepsy.
Neuroimaging in Epilepsy by
Perhaps the most important achievements in the field of epileptology in the past two decades have been in the neuroimaging and genetic breakthroughs as applied to patients with epilepsy. Indeed, neuroimaging has become a vital part in the study of epilepsy, affecting broad aspects of thedisorder ranging from diagnosis and classification to treatment and prognosis. Neuroimaging in epilepsy encompasses many different approaches that have reached various levels of expertise across epilepsy centers worldwide. This book discusses every imaging modality used to gather information onepilepsy. Each technique is described by world experts and epilespy centers worldwide.