This link opens in a new window
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 14th Ed. by
The go-to pharmacology reference that medical and health science professionals have relied upon for more than 50 Years! For more than 50 years, Goodman & Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, has been the comprehensive, go-to reference that medical and health science professionals have relied upon as the pinnacle of authority and accuracy in describing the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology. Goodman & Gilman's balance of basic science and clinical applications has guided thousands of health care practitioners and students to a clear understanding of the drugs essential to preventing, diagnosing and treating disease. The fourteenth edition features more than 600 color illustrations, including 50 new figures on mechanism of drug actions which emphasizes the link between basic mechanisms of action of drug action, pathophysiology of disease, and therapeutic use of drugs. Features: * Five NEW chapters:  Pharmacovigilance  Gastrointestinal Microbiome and Drug Response  The Blood-Brain Barrier  Cannabis  Antibodies, Immune Checkpoint Inhibitors, CAR-T cells, and other Biological Agents * 600+ color illustrations * 50 NEW figures on mechanism of drug actions * All chapters have been revised and generally expanded with new material * Throughout: Expanded coverage of the need to consider genetic polymorphisms in designing appropriate therapies * A greatly revised and expanded chapter on Pharmacodynamics and the Molecular Mechanisms of Drug Action * 53 NEW contributors * NEW online updates
We have hundreds of ebooks on drugs. Search by title in our A-Z list of Ebooks & Journals.
Katzung's Basic and Clinical Pharmacology, 16th Ed by
"Katzung's Basic and Clinical Pharmacology is the wide-ranging, engaging guide students have counted on for decades. To be as clinically relevant as possible, the book includes sections that specifically address the clinical choice and use of drugs in patients and the monitoring of their effects, along with case studies that introduce clinical problems. chapter opens with a case study, covers drug groups and prototypes, and closes with summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information. Updated to reflect the latest research, this sixteenth edition features a new chapter on cannabinoids, USMLE-style questions, new drug tables, and more"--Publisher's description.
Brenner and Stevens' Pharmacology, Sixth ed. by
More detailed than an outlined review but less overwhelming than an encyclopedic reference, Brenner and Stevens' Pharmacology, 6th Edition, focuses on the essential principles you need to know in a concise, easy-to-understand manner. Authored by Craig W. Stevens, PhD, this highly illustrated introductory text helps you learn and retain key information in pharmacology-taking you from course exams and the USMLE Step 1 right through to clinical practice. New and extensively revised content keeps you up to date with the latest pharmacologic mechanisms and applications. Teaches the fundamental aspects of pharmacology using full-color illustrations, detailed explanations, and a consistent format to present classification of drugs for each system/disease. Helps you understand both the basic science foundations and clinical applications of pharmacology, with useful tables, drug classifications boxes, case studies, and self-assessments in each chapter to help you review and prepare for course exams and Step 1. Includes the latest drugs and therapeutic indications (more than 100 are new to this edition), along with an entirely new chapter on recent developments of immunopharmacology drugs, including antivirals and vaccinations. Addresses key topics such as antiviral and monoclonal drugs to treat COVID-19, the opioid epidemic, and gene therapy. Features more than 700 new and updated images, with many revised figures focused on clearing presenting the mechanism of action of drugs. Includes access to bonus eBook content such as animations, an additional glossary, chapter-by-chapter summaries and case studies, a full list of featured drugs, 150 USMLE-style self-assessment questions, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Briggs Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation, 12th ed. by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Essential for ob/gyn physicians, primary care physicians, and any health care provider working with pregnant or postpartum women. Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation: A Reference Guide to Fetal and Neonatal Risk, 12th Edition, puts must-know information at your fingertips in seconds. An easy A-to-Z format lists more than 1,400 of the most commonly prescribed drugs taken during pregnancy and lactation, with detailed monographs designed to provide the most essential information on possible effects on the mother, embryo, fetus, and nursing infant.
Color Atlas of Pharmacology, Fifth ed. by
The Fifth Edition of Luellmann's Color Atlas of Pharmacology has been extensively revised to include all recent advances and new drugs, and the illustrations have been optimized and updated. Each two-page spread presents concise text on the left complemented by detailed full-color illustrations on the right to help users quickly digest important facts and concepts. Color-coded sections provide readers with a helpful framework with which to approach the latest developments in pharmacology. Part 1, General Pharmacology, explains basic aspects, such as drug absorption, distribution, and elimination, along with the molecular mechanisms of drug actions Part 2, Systems Pharmacology, presents the different groups of drugs, emphasizing their functional and therapeutic aspects Part 3, Therapy of Selected Diseases, provides all the relevant information regarding the pharmacological treatment of a large number of conditions Key features: User-friendly format ideal for study and review, self-assessment, and quick reference Completely revised and updated, with 174 color plates New glossary of important and interesting pharmacological terms Updated detailed drug indexes containing current information on drugs listed by both generic and brand names The Fifth Edition of Color Atlas of Pharmacology is an essential study guide and reference for every student, nurse, and practicing physician needing to keep up to date with recent advances in the field.
The Epilepsy Prescriber's Guide to Antiepileptic Drugs, 3rd ed. by
This essential and concise clinical reference guide serves diverse clinicians and allied health professionals who prescribe antiepileptic drugs in contemporary clinical practice. Fully updated, it features chapters on newly-approved drug brivaracetam, updated paediatric prescribing, use in particular populations including women, the elderly, and patients with cognitive impairment, as well as sections on teratogenicity, pregnancy, and lactation. In full colour throughout, the guide provides comprehensive antiepileptic drug (AED) prescribing information, covering all thirty-five AEDs in alphabetical order. Each chapter features eight coloured sections including general therapeutics, pharmacokinetics, interaction profile, adverse effects, dosing and use, special population considerations, a summary overview, and suggested reading. Perfect for quick reference use, the guide is practical and essential for all AED drug prescribers including adult and paediatric neurologists, neurosurgeons, psychiatrists, internists, geriatricians, paediatricians, family physicians, as well as allied health professionals and resident, fellow, and student trainees in all related medical fields.
Handbook of Drug Interactions by
Adverse drug reactions and interactions are still a major headache for healthcare professionals around the world. The US Food and Drug Administration's database recorded almost 300,000 serious adverse events in 2009 alone, of which 45,000 instances proved fatal. This updated new edition of the indispensable guide to drug interactions incorporates fresh research completed since the book's original publication by Humana Press in 2004. Additions include a new section on pharmacogenomics, a rapidly growing field that explores the genetic basis for the variability of responses to drugs. This new material reviews important polymorphisms in drug metabolizing enzymes and applies the findings to forensic interpretation, using case studies involving opiates as exemplars. Existing chapters from the first edition have in most cases been updated and reworked to reflect new data or incorporate better tables and diagrams, as well as to include recent drugs and formulations. Recent references have been inserted too. The handbook features extra material on illicit drug use, with a new chapter tackling the subject that covers cocaine, amphetamines and cannabis, among others. The section on the central nervous system also deals with a number of drugs that are abused illicitly, such as benzodiazepines, opiates flunitrazepam and GHB, while so-called 'social' drugs such as alcohol and nicotine are still discussed in the book's section on environmental and social pharmacology. Focusing as before on detailed explanation and incorporating both pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic drug interactions, this book will continue to be a lodestar for health and forensic professionals as well as students.
Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs by
Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs: The International Encyclopedia of Adverse Drug Reactions and Interactions, Sixteenth Edition builds on the success of the 15 previous editions, providing an extensively reorganized and expanded resource that now comprises more than 1,500 individual drug articles with the most complete coverage of adverse reactions and interactions found anywhere. Each article contains detailed and authoritative information about the adverse effects of each drug, with comprehensive references to the primary literature, making this a must-have reference work for any academic or medical library, pharmacologist, regulatory organization, hospital dispensary, or pharmaceutical company. The online version of the book provides an unparalleled depth of coverage and functionality by offering convenient desktop access and enhanced features such as increased searchability, extensive internal cross-linking, and fully downloadable and printable full-text, HTML or PDF articles. Enhanced encyclopedic format with drug monographs now organized alphabetically Completely expanded coverage of each drug, with more than 1,500 drug articles and information on adverse reactions and interactions Clearer, systematic organization of information for easier reading, including case histories to provide perspective on each listing Extensive bibliography with over 40,000 references A must-have reference work for any academic or medical library, pharmacologist, regulatory organization, hospital dispensary, or pharmaceutical company
Books on drug information can be found in several places on our shelves:
| Subject | Call Number |
| Drug Therapy | WB330 |
| Pharmacology | QV |
Drug Therapies for specific conditions are also shelved in the section associated with that condition. Try searching the library catalog for keywords "drug therapy" and the condition you are interested in.
For example: "drug therapy" AND diabetes
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowOther guides on drug information with a different focus: