AMA Manual of Style, 11th ed. by
The AMA Manual of Style is a must-have resource for anyone involved in medical, health, and scientific publishing. Written by an expert committee of JAMA Network editors, this latest edition addresses issues that face authors, editors, and publishers in the digital age. Extensive updates are included in the References chapter, with examples of how to cite digital publications, preprints, databases, data repositories, podcasts, apps and interactive games, and social media. Full-color examples grace the chapter on data display, with newer types of graphic presentations and updated guidance on formatting tables and figures. The manual thoroughly covers ethical and legal issues such as authorship, conflicts of interest, scientific misconduct, intellectual property, open access and public access, and corrections. The Usage chapter has been revised to bring the manual up-to-date on word choice, especially in writing about individuals with diseases or conditions and from various socioeconomic, racial/ethnic, and sexual orientation populations. Specific nomenclature entries in many disciplines are presented to guide users in issues of diction, formatting, and preferred terminology. Guidance on numbers, SI units, and math has been updated, and the section on statistics and study design has undergone a major expansion. In sum, the answer to nearly any issue facing a writer or editor in medicine, health care, and related disciplines can be found in the 11th edition of the AMA Manual of Style.
How NOT to Write a Medical Paper by
Writing a medical paper, or any other scientific text, is full of pitfalls which make it difficult to get it accepted for publication. This unique book gives practical advice on how one can circumvent these dangers. It is richly filled with examples, predominantly negative ones. which exhibit how one should not write a medical paper. This book highlights the fallibilities that manuscripts are often susceptible to, and hence will help writers avoid committing those mistakes. Special Features: Abundant information about a complex subject condensed in a small format Numerous examples from bad manuscripts to drive home concepts Practical advice on mistakes to be avoided Explanation of the fate of a manuscript after its submission and, eventually, acceptance, to help writers understand expectations and responses Lucid language, and enjoyable read This book will be of value to anyone with an interest in scientific publishing. Junior medical scientists (independent of specialty), experienced scientists who wish to venture as authors, reviewers, and even editorial personnel can refer to the book time and again.
How to Write Better Medical Papers by
This book guides medical researchers through all stages of transforming their scientific data and ideas into a published paper. Many researchers in medicine, including the life sciences and health sciences, struggle to get their research written and published. Manuscripts are typically rejected and/or sent back for revisions several times before ever being published. One reason for this is that researchers have not received much instruction in the specific subjects and skills needed to write and publish scientific medical papers: research methodology, ethics, statistics, data visualization, writing, revising, and the practicalities of publishing. Instead of wasting the reader's time discussing trivialities of punctuation, spelling, etc., this book tackles all the major scientific issues that routinely lead to manuscripts getting rejected from the journals. The section "Preparing" covers the range of methodological, ethical, and practical aspects that researchers need to address before starting to write their paper. The section "Analyzing" reviews commonplace problems in the statistical analysis and presentation, and how to resolve those problems. The section "Drafting" describes what to write in all the various parts of a paper (the Introduction, Methods, Results, Discussion, Abstract, etc.) The section "Revising" explains and illustrates how to improve the writing style of any manuscript. The section "Publishing" discusses how to navigate the peer review process and all other practical aspects of the publishing phase. This book draws on the author's decade of experience as an independent medical writer and research consultant, but it is not written merely as the personal opinion of yet another expert. The entire book is grounded in the existing scientific and scholarly literature, with extensive references and a lengthy annotated bibliography, so readers can quickly obtain more information on any aspect they want. Thus this book provides a more evidence-based, scholarly account of how medical scientific papers should be written, in order to improve medical communication and accelerate scientific progress. After reading this entire book cover to cover, medical researchers will know how to write better quality medical papers, and they will be able to publish their work in better journals with less time and struggle. This book is essential reading for anyone conducting research in clinical medicine, life sciences, or health sciences.
Medical Writing : a Guide for Clinicians, Educators, and Researchers by
This book is a clear and comprehensive guide that assists readers in translating observations, ideas, and research into articles, reports, or book chapters ready for publication. For both researchers and practicing physicians, skills in medical writing are essential. Dr. Robert B. Taylor, a distinguished leader in academic medicine, uses a clear, conversational style throughout this book to emphasize the professional and personal enrichment that writing can bring. The text includes in depth instructions for writing and publishing: review articles, case reports, editorials and letters to the editor, book reviews, book chapters, reference books, research protocols, grant proposals, and research reports. This third edition is additionally fully updated to include the intricacies of medical writing and publishing today, with new coverage of: open access, pay to publish and predatory journals, peer review fraud, publication bias, parachute studies, public domain images, and phantom authors. Loaded with practical information, tips to help achieve publication, and real world examples, Medical Writing can improve skills for clinicians, educators, and researchers, whether they are new to writing or seasoned authors.
MLA Handbook, 9th ed by
Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements--facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date--that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more. With this focus on source evaluation as the cornerstone of citation, MLA style promotes the skills of information and digital literacy so crucial today. The many new and updated chapters make this edition the comprehensive, go-to resource for writers of research papers, and anyone citing sources, from business writers, technical writers, and freelance writers and editors to student writers and the teachers and librarians working with them. Intended for a variety of classroom contexts--middle school, high school, and college courses in composition, communication, literature, language arts, film, media studies, digital humanities, and related fields--the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook offers *New chapters on grammar, punctuation, capitalization, spelling, numbers, italics, abbreviations, and principles of inclusive language *Guidelines on setting up research papers in MLA format with updated advice on headings, lists, and title pages for group project *Revised, comprehensive, step-by-step instructions for creating a list of works cited in MLA format that are easier to learn and use than ever before *A new appendix with hundreds of example works-cited-list entries by publication format, including websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more *Detailed examples of how to find publication information for a variety of sources *Newly revised explanations of in-text citations, including comprehensive advice on how to cite multiple authors of a single work *Detailed guidance on footnotes and endnotes *Instructions on quoting, paraphrasing, summarizing, and avoiding plagiarism *A sample essay in MLA format *Annotated bibliography examples *Numbered sections throughout for quick navigation *Advanced tips for professional writers and scholars
The Pathway to Publishing: a Guide to Quantitative Writing in the Health Sciences by
Writing manuscripts is central to the advance of scientific knowledge. For an early career aspiring scientist, writing first author manuscripts is an opportunity to develop critical skills and to credential their expertise. Writing manuscripts, however, is difficult, doubly so for scientists who use English as a second language. Many science students intentionally avoid a writing-intensive curriculum. Careful, thorough reviews of draft manuscripts are difficult to secure, and experienced scientific supervisors face more demands on their time than they have time available. Weak draft manuscripts discourage supervising scientists investing the time to coach revisions. It is easier for experienced scientists to ignore the request, or to simply rewrite the article. Early career scientists are motivated to address these barriers but specific advice is difficult to find, and much of this advice is behind a pay wall. This essential, open access text presents writing lessons organized as common errors, providing students and early-career researchers with an efficient way to learn, and mentors with a quick-reference guide to reviewing. Error descriptions include specific examples drawn from real-world experiences of other early-career writers, and suggestions for how to successfully address and avoid these in the future. Versions of this book have been used by Stanford University, UC Davis, Johns Hopkins, and numerous international institutions and organizations for over a decade.
Reporting and Publishing Research in the Biomedical Sciences by
This book eases the task of converting research work into a manuscript, and covers the recent developments in publishing that often stump budding researchers. Few researchers in the biomedical sciences are trained in the essential skills of reporting their results, and they seek help in writing a paper that will be acceptable for publication in the 'right' journal, and in presenting their results 'effectively' at a meeting. As well as covering the basic aspects of preparing manuscripts for publication, the book discusses best practices and issues relating to the publication of biomedical research, including topics such as peer-review, authorship, plagiarism, conflicts of interest, publication misconduct, electronic publishing and open-access journals. With more than two decades of experience in conducting workshops on writing scientific papers, the editors have brought together the expertise of 29 authors from seven countries to produce this one-stop guide to publishing research in biomedical sciences. This book is intended for young researchers who are beginning their careers and wish to hone their skills and understand the rigors of research writing and publishing.
Thesis Writing for Master's and Ph. D. Program by
This book on Thesis Writing for Master's and Ph.D. program focuses on the difficulties students encounter with regard to choosing a guide; selecting an appropriate research title considering the available resources; conducting research; and ways to overcome the hardships they face while researching, writing and preparing their dissertation for submission. Thesis writing is an essential skill that medical and other postgraduates are expected to learn during their academic career as a mandatory partial requirement in order to receive the Master's degree. However, at the majority of medical schools, writing a thesis is largely based on self-learning, which adds to the burden on students due to the tremendous amount of time spent learning the writing skills in addition to their exhausting clinical and academic work. Due to the difficulties faced during the early grooming years and lack of adequate guidance, acquiring writing skills continues to be a daunting task for most students. This book addresses these difficulties and deficiencies and provides comprehensive guidance, from selecting the research title to publishing in a scientific journal.
Writing Case Reports by
This book provides medical students and physicians with a practical, step-by-step guide on how to write and publish a medical case report. The case report is the traditional way for physicians to describe their unique or unusual cases to a broad audience and it plays an important role in the discovery of new diseases or syndromes, unusual manifestations of disease, important adverse drug reactions, and the generation of hypotheses for further study. This book guides readers through the process from choosing a case to report on to finding a publisher and then comment on future directions and potential new uses of case reports, including expanded computer case databases to optimize care for individual patients and new applications in medical education. Interspersed throughout the text are example case reports, many written by the authors, with commentary on their experiences working with those reports to provide context and aid readers in creating clear, concise, and useful case reports.
Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare, Second ed. by
Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare helps readers develop the skills necessary for publishing in professional journals, presenting conference papers, authoring books, research reports, and literature reviews, and more. This comprehensive resource covers all aspects of writing for publication, including good practice in reviewing, the editorial process, ethical aspects of publishing, and the rules that govern academic writing, publishing, and dissemination. Assuming no prior expertise in the subject, the text uses an accessible, step-by-step approach that incorporates a wealth of real-life examples, hands-on activities, and valuable tips throughout. The second edition reflects the latest developments, guidelines, and practices both in academic publishing and in research assessment and dissemination. New and updated material covers the increasing use of social media to disseminate published work, post-publication scrutiny, contemporary issues surrounding predatory or unethical publishers, and new requirements for research registration and submission data. Edited by leading experts in the field, this practical 'how to' guide: Describes the basics of writing for publication and how to get started Includes numerous examples illustrating the practical ways abstracts, papers, book reviews, and other publications are written and disseminated Discusses current issues and developments, such as the impact of major ethics organisations on publishing worldwide and the rise of online journals, blogging, and podcasting Features contributions by internationally recognised academics and practitioners Explains how to turn research reports and other assignments into publishable works The definitive introduction to the subject, Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare is a must-have for all nurses and healthcare professionals, as well as undergraduate and graduate students in nursing and healthcare programs who are required to write for publication.
Recommended articles published in 2013 in the Journal of Clinical Epidemiology.
CVs, Resumes, and LinkedIn by
Are you a graduate, postgraduate or PhD student? Are you simply looking for a new job in the private or public sector, in research or industry? If your aim is to produce a professional CV or resume, then this book is for you. Based on interviews with recruiters and HR managers, and an analysis of hundreds of CVs from around 40 different countries, the book is structured as a series of FAQs. Topics covered include: how recruiters and HR people analyse a CV whether using a template is a good idea the difference between a CV and a resume how to present your personal details and whether to include a photo how to write an Executive Summary what to write in each section (Education, Work Experience, Skills, Personal Interests) how to write dates how to highlight your language, communication and team skills how to get and write references You will also learn some hints and strategies for writing a: cover letter LinkedIn profile reference letter bio The last chapter of the book contains a simple template to help you get the job of your dreams!
The Elements of Resume Style, 2nd ed. by 
English for Academic CVs, Resumes, and Online Profiles by
Are you a graduate, postgraduate or PhD student? Building a CV or profile can be difficult for anyone, but especially for those whose first language is not English. This book is essential for those looking to promote themselves in the academic community, and can be used both for self-study, as well as in an English for Academic Purposes (EAP) course. The book contains tips, do's and dont's, and discussion points that can be used by instructors. Based on interviews with recruiters and an analysis of hundreds of CVs from around 40 different countries, the book is structured as a series of FAQs. Topics covered include: how recruiters and HR people analyse a CV whether using a template is a good idea how to present your personal details and whether to include a photo how to write an Objective and a personal profile what to write in each section (Education, Work Experience, Skills, Personal Interests) how to highlight your language, communication and team skills how to get and write references The last chapter of the book contains a simple template to help you get the job of your dreams! Other books in this series include: English for Writing Research Papers English for Research: Usage, Style, and Grammar English for Presentations at International Conferences English for Academic Research: Grammar / Vocabulary / Writing Exercises English for Academic Correspondence English for Interacting on Campus Adrian Wallwork is the author of over 40 books aimed at helping non-native English speakers to communicate more effectively in English. He has published with SpringerNature, Oxford University Press, Cambridge University Press, Scholastic, BEP and the BBC.
Resumes for Dummies, 8th ed. by This online course is designed to teach the basics of writing a paper using a quantitative research design. The information applies to most study types, from retrospective chart reviews to clinical trials. Much of the information can also be used for basic science papers.
The course is open to all Cleveland Clinic caregivers. There are no prerequisites and no previous writing experience is needed.
There are 7 parts: abstract, introduction, materials & methods, results, discussion, and references. The modules are designed to take 15 minutes or less to complete and contain a variety of components including text and audio files, graphic summaries, presentations, interactive activities, quizzes, and resources for further exploration. You can exit the modules and return at any time.
After completing this course, you will be able to:
Sign up here: https://mylearning.ccf.org/course/view.php?id=5587
This link opens in a new window
