For more Otolaryngology & Otology resources, search BOTH links below:
Ballenger's Otorhinolaryngology : Head and Neck Surgery by
The first edition of William Lincoln Ballenger's Diseases of the Nose, Throat and Ear: Medical and Surgical was published in 1908 and has since sold over 150,000 copies worldwide in 11 languages. The 18th edition has expanded to 114 chapters, continuing the tradition of excellence and applying Ballenger's original concept of combining an atlas with text to produce a comprehensive reference for practitioners of the 21st century. Color plates, illustrations, endoscopic photographs, and other color photographs illuminate surgical concepts, the foundations of underlying disease, and procedures. Section editors and senior authors were selected for their valuable contributions and international leadership in their disciplines. This edition blends state-of-the-art clinical techniques, methods, and outcomes with scientific foundations in an accessible, reader-friendly manner for both developing specialists and seasoned practitioners.
Cummings Otolaryngology, 7e by
The most comprehensive, multi-disciplinary text in the field, Cummings Otolaryngology: Head and Neck Surgery, 7th Edition, provides detailed, practical answers and easily accessible clinical content on the complex issues that arise for otolaryngologists at all levels, across all subspecialties. This award-winning text is a one-stop reference for all stages of your career-from residency and board certification through the challenges faced in daily clinical practice. Updated content, new otology editor Dr. Howard W. Francis, and new chapters and videos ensure that this 7th Edition remains the definitive reference in today's otolaryngology. Brings you up to date with the latest minimally invasive procedures, recent changes in rhinology, and new techniques and technologies that are shaping patient outcomes. Contains 12 new chapters, including Chronic Rhinosinusitis, Facial Pain, Geriatric Otology, Middle Ear Endoscopic Surgery, Pediatric Speech Disorders, Pediatric Cochlear Implantation, Tongue-Ties and Lip Ties, Laryngotracheal Clefts, and more. Covers recent advances and new approaches such as the Draf III procedure for CRS affecting the frontal recess, endoscopic vidian and posterior nasal neurectomy for non-allergic rhinitis, and endoscopic approaches for sinonasal and orbital tumors, both extra- and intraconal. Provides access to 70 key indicator (Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education Key Indicator Procedures), and surgical videos - an increase of 43% over the previous edition. Offers outstanding visual support with 4,000 high-quality images and hundreds of quick-reference tables and boxes. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Otologic Surgery by
With its step-by-step approach and brilliant full-color design, Otologic Surgery, 5th Edition, provides the authoritative guidance you need to hone your surgical skills and ensure optimal outcomes for your patients. Renowned leaders in the field, led by Drs. Derald Brackmann, Clough Shelton, Moises Arriaga, and Richard K. Gurgel , cover surgical approaches to the ear and skull base, techniques, alternate approaches, and controversial issues. Hundreds of crisp line drawings, high-quality photographs, and more than 60 procedural videos provide detailed visual guidance. Covers key procedures such as tympanoplasty and mastoidectomy, stapedectomy, and skull base surgery-everything from eardrum repair to complex skull base tumor removal. Provides step-by-step coverage of each procedure, including patient evaluation, patient selection, and patient counseling. Offers fully updated content throughout, with new content on endoscopic ear procedures, implantable hearing devices, and much more. Includes pediatric sections and revision surgery sections in each relevant chapter. Features an expanded video library covering facial reanimation, endoscopic techniques, infratemporal fossa approach, laser stapedotomy, exostosis repair, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Bailey's Head and Neck Surgery - Otolaryngology, Fifth ed. by
This 5th edition of Head and Neck Surgery-Otolaryngology is a comprehensive, easy-to-read two-volume reference offering the most current and useful evidence-based information available for the general otolaryngologist and otolaryngologist resident. 192 short chapters of concise, and practical content are formatted to increase the reader,,s understanding, retention, and application of knowledge. Plus, the inclusion of over 3,000 4-color illustrations, helpful summary tables, and supplemental video segments are used to enhance the learning experience. FEATURES: , Valuable Study Guide to help reader benchmark progress , Additional chapter on Contemporary Issues in Medical Practice Addition of preferred treatment sections , New section on pearls and pitfalls in all treatment sections , Airway, Swallowing, and Voice now all in one Section: Laryngology , New section on Sleep Medicine
Basic Otorhinolaryngology by
Basic Otorhinolaryngology: A Step-by-Step Learning Guide, Second Edition, is an accessible introduction to the core concepts and potentially complex interrelationships in otorhinolaryngology and head and neck surgery. The fully revised new edition includes latest developments and up-to-date terminology, up-to-date diagnostic and treatment methods, and succinct overviews of important international consensus documents and position papers in the field. The book presents material in an engaging and user-friendly format, with chapters divided into study units that follow a consistent structure. Readers will also find a wealth of figures, tables, and flowcharts to facilitate quick comprehension of topics. Key Features: Completely updated chapters on audiology and vestibular disorders New or expanded discussion of olfactory mucosa and disturbances, obstructive sleep apnea syndrome, imaging methods, immunotherapy for allergic rhinitis, Aspergillus sinusitis, ear canal cholesteatoma, peripheral nerve paralysis, and much more More than 600 superb full-color photographs, illustrations, and diagrams-many new or improved for this edition-clarify anatomical, operative, and embryological concepts Chapters organized into brief study units make learning the material manageable and convenient Each study unit begins with a starter outlining objectives for the unit and its relationship to other units and the overall scheme Numerous cross-references to other study units enable rapid navigation to relevant areas "Knowledge in depth" boxes provide information that goes beyond a basic understanding, such as surgical techniques, historical details, and case examples "Points of emphasis" throughout call direct attention to the most pertinent facts Basic Otorhinolaryngology: A Step-by-Step Learning Guide, Second Edition, is an essential resource for ENT residents and trainees, residents and trainees in related specialties, and students on rotation. Its breadth of coverage and easy-to-learn format makes the book ideal for course or exam preparation, and will also serve as a useful reference source.
Cummings Pediatric Otolaryngology, second ed. by
Indispensable for all otolaryngologists who see children in their practice, as well as fellows and others in training, Cummings Pediatric Otolaryngology offers comprehensive, state-of-the-art coverage for evaluation and treatment of children with otolaryngologic disorders. The 2nd Edition features revised and updated content and numerous new chapters throughout, making it your #1 resource for the latest information, techniques, and treatments on improving otolaryngologic outcomes for children. Offers expanded discussion of common comorbidities occurring in children as well as challenging clinical problems in both healthy and medically complex children. Includes extensive new content on otology, as well as new chapters on pediatric speech disorders, 22q11.2 deletion syndrome, pediatric cochlear implantation, laryngotracheal clefts, pediatric tracheotomy and decannulation, and more. Covers hot topics such as evaluation and management of pediatric vestibular disorders and ankyloglossia and tight maxillary frenula. Provides detailed, authoritative coverage of every area of head and neck surgery, authored by leading experts in the field and carefully edited by a senior pediatric otolaryngologist, Dr. Marci M. Lesperance. Includes an all-new electronic appendix with supplemental pediatric content from Cummings Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery, 7th edition and additional references. Features superb, full-color illustrations throughout. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment: Otolaryngology--Head and Neck Surgery, 4th Ed. by
A complete, concise review of the science and clinical practice of otolaryngology --- head and neck surgery --- with a new full-color presentation. The must-have resource for ENT board review and recertification; *The acclaimed one-stop clinician's guide to treating all major diseases of the ear, nose, throat, and neck *Emphasizes the practical features of clinical diagnosis and patient management *Conveniently organized by anatomic region *FOUR NEW CHAPTERS: Professional Voice Assessment and Care; Neurolaryngology; Aural Rehabilitation and Hearing Aids; and Endoscopic Skull Base Surgery *Consistent presentation includes General Considerations, Pathogenesis, Prevention, Clinical Findings, Differential Diagnosis, and Treatment *Must-know medical and surgical management of each disorder *Thorough discussion of pathophysiology and relevant basic and clinical science *Comprehensive radiology chapter with more than 150 images *"Essentials of Diagnosis" section for each disease and disorder delivers key points at a glance *All new full color interior design with more than 500 color illustrations *Valuable to otolaryngologists as well as all the medical and surgical specialties and related disciplines that treat patients with head and neck disorders *Strikes the perfect balance between brevity and clinical necessity * Spans the entire breadth of ENT topics, including the latest developments in basic science, facial plastic surgery, head and neck surgery, laryngology, rhinology, pediatric otolaryngology, otology, and neurotology
Ear, Nose and Throat and Head and Neck Surgery, Fourth ed. by
A textbook in the Illustrated Colour Text series on ENT, aimed at medical students and junior doctors. Concise presentation of ENT in the attractive ICT format - clear line diagrams, colour photos of clinical conditions, summary boxes etc. Covers a topic which is important in primary care - medical students and junior doctors are motivated to buy a book in this area. Basic anatomy and physiology is reviewed - useful revision for students in clinical years. Comprehensive coverage of both presenting symptoms and specific diseases, with more detail on the commoner conditions. Clear description of examination and investigation techniques.
Encyclopedia of Otolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery by
Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery is the medical and surgical specialty addressing disorders of the head and neck in both adult and pediatric populations. The goal of the encyclopedia is to serve as a single and comprehensive source of all the information that is essential for students and practitioners of the specialty. The vast amount of information included in the encyclopedia is divided into 5 volumes in line with the subspecialties of general otolaryngology, head and neck surgery, pediatric otolaryngology, otology-neurotology, and facial plastics. All volume editors are internationally recognized otolaryngologists with experience in publishing. Each section editor recruited experienced authors from all over the world to contribute on structured topics, and all entries are supported by published references. Thus, all information included in the encyclopedia is from credible sources and has been carefully screened for accuracy. The strength of the encyclopedia is its online availability and quick search features, which allow rapid retrieval of definitions and more in-depth information. Key words are hyperlinked to provide a gateway to numerous referenced manuscripts, journals, and books.
Endoscopic Surgery of the Orbit by
Endoscopic orbital procedures are at the forefront of today's multidisciplinary patient care and team approach to problem-solving. Endoscopic Surgery of the Orbit offers state-of-the-art, expert guidance on minimally invasive orbit techniques that promise a more streamlined approach to comprehensive patient care, improved patient satisfaction, and superior outcomes. This unique resource reflects the contemporary, unparalleled partnership between otolaryngology, neurosurgery, and ophthalmology that often also includes a cohesive team of clinicians from many other specialties. Provides expert perspectives from thought leaders in various specialties, including otolaryngologists, ophthalmologists, neurosurgeons, endocrinologists, medical and radiation oncologists, radiologists, and pathologists. Details the two-surgeon, multi-handed surgical techniques that have revolutionized the management of complex pathologies involving the orbit and skull base. Covers the full breadth of endoscopic orbital procedures-from advanced intraconal tumor removal and intracranial techniques involving the optic nerve and optic chiasm to more routine endoscopic procedures such as orbital decompressions, E-DCR, fracture repair, and subperiosteal abscess drainage. Reviews key topics such as neuromonitoring in orbital and skull base surgery, endoscopic surgery of the intraconal space for tumor resection, Transorbital NeuroEnodscopic Surgery (TONES), and reconstruction of the orbit. Includes tips and pearls on safe and effective procedures as well as novel approaches and innovations in the equipment used to perform these popular procedures. Provides superb visual reinforcement with more than 400 high-definition images of anatomy, imaging, and surgical techniques, as well as procedural videos. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Hearing Loss by
Hearing Loss: Causes, Prevention, and Treatment covers hearing loss, causes and prevention, treatments, and future directions in the field, also looking at the cognitive problems that can develop. To avoid the "silent epidemic" of hearing loss, it is necessary to promote early screening, use hearing protection, and change public attitudes toward noise. Successful treatments of hearing loss deal with restoring hearing sensitivity via hearing aids, including cochlear, brainstem, or midbrain implants. Both the technical aspects and effects on the quality of life of these devices are discussed. The integration of all aspects of hearing, hearing loss, prevention, and treatment make this a perfect one-volume course in audiology at the graduate student level. However, it is also a great reference for established audiologists, ear surgeons, neurologists, and pediatric and geriatric professionals.
Jatin Shah's Head and Neck Surgery and Oncology by
Providing practical, multidisciplinary coverage of the latest diagnostic and multidisciplinary therapeutic approaches for head and neck cancer, the 5th Edition of this award-winning text helps you achieve the best possible surgical outcomes and preserve and restore form and function. Internationally renowned surgeon Dr. Jatin P. Shah, joined by colleagues Snehal G. Patel, Bhuvanesh Singh, and Richard Wong, guides you step by step through every aspect of this challenging field, helping you take advantage of every multidisciplinary management approach available for your patients. Offers complete coverage of the scalp, skull base, paranasal sinuses, oral cavity, pharynx, larynx, cervical lymph nodes, thyroid, salivary glands, and soft tissue and bone tumors - from incidence, diagnosis, and work up through treatment planning, operative techniques, rehabilitation, and outcomes. Features new diagnostic approaches, staging, algorithmic thought processes for therapy selection, and outcomes of treatment for head and neck tumors, allowing for a better overall understanding of head and neck oncology. Includes new information on multimodal management of head and neck cancer; a new Radiation Therapy Glossary; and hundreds of new surgical photographs presented in sequential order from the surgeon's point of view. Provides outcomes of therapy data from the NCDB, institutional data from MSKCC, and evidence-based information throughout. Covers key topics such as radiation oncology, medical oncology including targeted therapies, and maxillofacial prosthodontics and dental oncology. Addresses the day-to-day, practical care of patients with basic operating room techniques and technology, intraoperative decisions, and post-operative care for patients undergoing head and neck surgery. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Operative Otolaryngology, Third ed. by
Emergent operative technologies and surgical approaches have transformed today's otolaryngology-head and neck surgery, and the 3rd Edition of Operative Otolaryngology brings you up to date with all that's new in the field. You'll find detailed, superbly illustrated guidance on all of the endoscopic, microscopic, laser, surgically-implantable, radio-surgical, neurophysiological monitoring, and MR- and CT-imaging technological advances that now define contemporary operative OHNS - all in one comprehensive, two-volume reference. Covers everything from why a procedure should be performed to the latest surgical techniques to post-operative management and outcomes - from experts in otolaryngology, plastic surgery, oral and maxillofacial surgery, neurological surgery, and ophthalmology. Features a newly streamlined, templated chapter format that makes information easier to access quickly. Includes all-new videos (more than 150 videos in all) showing step-by-step techniques and procedures such as management of tracheal stenosis and transoral and robotic tonsil surgery for cancers of the base of tongue and pharynx, plus new full-color clinical photographs and line drawings throughout the text. Combines all pediatric procedures into one comprehensive section for quick reference. Offers expanded coverage of endoscopic techniques for cranial base surgery, plus information on the latest endoscopic cancer techniques including robotic surgery, minimally invasive thyroid surgery, and new techniques for the treatment of obstructive sleep apnea including implantable nerve stimulators. Contains state-of-the-art guidance on the ear/temporal bone/skull base, including fully- and semi-implantable auditory implants, vestibular implants, imaging advances, radiosurgical treatment of posterior fossa and skull base neoplasms, intraoperative monitoring of cranial nerve and CNS function, minimally-invasive surgical approaches to the entire skull base, vertigo and postural disequilibrium, and much more. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Sleep Apnea and Snoring by
Recent years have brought many significant changes to the field of sleep apnea and snoring, and this revised 2nd Edition keeps you up to date with every effective intervention. Sleep Apnea and Snoring: Surgical and Non-Surgical Therapy, 2nd Edition, takes a focused, multidisciplinary approach to all sleep apnea and snoring related illnesses, making it an outstanding reference for surgery in this key area within otolaryngology. New chapters, new video clips, new techniques and procedures, and new contributing authors ensure that you're completely up to date. Covers recent topics such as transoral robotic assisted surgery, new techniques in nasal valve repair, and pediatric patients and sleep apnea. New video clips show a variety of procedures including maxillofacial surgical techniques for hypopharyngeal obstruction in obstructive sleep apnea, maxillary distraction osteogenesis with palatal implants for obstructive sleep apnea, drug induced sleep endoscopy for pediatric patients, and more. New chapters cover home sleep testing, lingual tonsil grading system, algorithms for surgery and for multi-level treatment, new techniques in nasal valve repair, and transoral robotic assisted surgery (TORS for OSA). New authors and associate editors provide a fresh perspective throughout the text. Includes contributions from leaders in neurology, pulmonology, psychiatry, otolaryngology, and oral and maxillofacial surgery to create a truly multi-disciplinary approach. Uses a consistent, templated, full-color format for quick, easy access to the most up-to-date surgical and non-surgical interventions for sleep apnea and snoring. Details when and why surgery is necessary, and how to perform a successful operation for snoring and sleep apnea. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Sleep Medicine Pearls by
Sleep Medicine is a rapidly growing and changing field. Experienced sleep medicine clinicians and educators Richard B. Berry, MD and Mary H. Wagner, MD present the completely revised, third edition of Sleep Medicine Pearls featuring 150 cases that review key elements in the evaluation and management of a wide variety of sleep disorders. The cases are preceded by short fundamentals chapters that present enough basic information so that a physician new to sleep medicine can start reading page 1 and quickly learn the essential information needed to care for patients with sleep disorders. A concise, practical format makes this an ideal resource for sleep medicine physicians in active practice, sleep fellows learning sleep medicine, and physicians studying for the sleep boards. Zero in on the practical, "case-based" information you need to effectively interpret sleep studies (polysomnography, home sleep testing, multiple sleep latency testing), sleep logs, and actigraphy. Get clear, visual guidance with numerous figures and sleep tracings illustrating important concepts that teach the reader how to recognize important patterns needed to diagnose sleep disorders. Confer on the go with short, templated chapters-ideal for use by busy physicians. A combination of brief didactic material followed by case-based examples illustrates major points. Stay current with knowledge about the latest developments in sleep medicine by reading updated chapters using the new diagnostic criteria of the recently published International Classification of Sleep Disorder, 3rd Edition and sleep staging and respiratory event scoring using updated versions of the scoring manual of the American Academy of Sleep Medicine Manual for the Scoring of Sleep and Associated Events. Benefit from Drs. Berry and Wagner's 25+ years of clinical experience providing care for patients with sleep disorders and educational expertise from presenting lectures at local, regional and national sleep medicine courses. Dr Berry was awarded the AASM Excellence in Education Award in 2010. Access the full contents online at ExpertConsult.
Textbook of Clinical Otolaryngology by
This textbook provides a comprehensive overview of the state of the art in otolaryngology, discussing all the newly advances in the subspecialties of head and neck, plastics, otology, laryngology, rhinology and pediatrics, and also addressing topics like allergy, sleep medicine, trauma, and the fundamentals of systemic diseases that frequently manifest in the head and neck region. The book is divided into 9 sections, presenting the recent literature concerning all the subspecialties in otolaryngology and providing the information necessary for readers to gain an understanding of the field of otolaryngology. Each chapter includes definitions, key points and take-home messages, to aid learning. Throughout the book, tips and key features are highlighted with boxes, tables and figures, which the reader can refer back to for quick revision. Above all, the book enables medical students, residents and junior specialists in the field of ENT to develop their learning and surgical skills.