Skip to Main Content
Autopsy
Autopsy in the 21st Century by Jody E. Hooper (Editor); Alex K. Williamson (Editor), 2019
Autopsy as a field is enjoying an unexpected renaissance as new and improved uses are found for postmortem examination in quality improvement, education, and research. Increased interest in the autopsy is evident in the popular press as well as in national and international physician meetings.This text will provide an overview of topics the authors consider crucial to competent and effective autopsy practice in the 21st century. Each chapter will combine relevant theoretical background with current and practical experience-based guidance so that pathologists and clinicians can better utilize the autopsy to provide optimal value to families, patients, hospitals, and health systems. Distinguished contributors will provide a review of the rich history of autopsy practice, including assessments of how the past both informs autopsy practice and impedes its progress. The autopsy will be placed in the context of larger healthcare systems with chapters on the use of autopsy in quality improvement and evaluating the value of autopsy as a professional activity, as well as new technology that affects practice models. Better and more reproducible methods for reporting autopsy findings will be explored to exploit the full potential of autopsy data for cross-institutional research. Two chapters will also provide the first book-level review of the growing field of autopsies performed on an urgent basis to sample both diseased and normal control tissue for research. These "rapid research autopsies" are especially crucial to cancer research and the growth of personalized medicine, and the book will explain the science behind utilization of autopsy tissue and offer a full template for designing and delivering a successful rapid autopsy program. Additionally, pathologist and clinician contributors will highlight current recommendations for special techniques and ancillary testing in postmortem examinations to serve the needs of today's patient populations. As resident education is re-examined by pathology and education authorities, new competency-based training models will almost certainly come to the fore. A chapter will examine approaches to the future training of medical students, residents, and fellows in an environment of changing autopsy exposure. A final chapter will summarize the vision for the autopsy as a clinical outcome measure, and valuable scientific resource. This book will be a new type of volume in the field of autopsy pathology. It differs from the presently available review references and atlases in that it provides guidance for readers to embrace transformations that are already taking place in the field. There currently is no resource that offers comprehensive guidance for modern autopsy practice and looks forward to what the field might become in the future.
Autopsy Pathology: a Manual and Atlas, 3rd ed. by Andrew J. Connolly & Walter E. Finkbeiner, 2016
A mainstay for pathology residents, Autopsy Pathology is designed with a uniquely combined manual and atlas format that presents today's most complete coverage of performing, interpreting, and reporting post-mortem examinations. This lasting and useful medical reference book offers a practical, step-by-step approach to discussing not only the basics of the specialty, but the performance of specialized autopsy procedures as well. Material is divided into two sections for ease of use: a manual covering specific autopsy procedures, biosafety, generation of autopsy reports, preparation of death certificates, and other essential subjects; and an atlas, organized by organ system, which captures the appearance of the complete spectrum of autopsy findings. Offers expanded coverage of microscopic anatomy. Includes a chapter on performing special dissection procedures that may not be covered during a typical residency. Examines important techniques, such as autopsy photography and radiology, microscopic examination, supplemental laboratory studies, and other investigative approaches. Addresses the latest legal, social, and ethical issues relating to autopsies, as well as quality improvement and assurance. Presents more than 600 full-color photographs depicting common gross and microscopic autopsy findings for every part of the body. Correlates pathologic findings with their clinical causes to enhance diagnostic accuracy. Improved images in the Atlas section provide greater visual understanding. Additional online features include dissection videos demonstrating autopsy techniques; downloadable, commonly used forms for autopsy reports; and calculators for weights and measures.
Handbook of Autopsy Practice, 4th ed. by Brenda L. Waters (Editor), 2009
Handbook of Autopsy Practice, Fourth Edition is divided into three parts. Part I contains six new chapters in which the reader will find an assortment of tools that will increase the value of the autopsy. Included in the section are valuable resources and tools such as a sample next-of-kin letter, a quality assurance worksheet, new discourse on the dissection procedure which is accompanied by a worksheet and template for the gross description. There is also a new, detailed discussion of the safe handling of sharps, complete with photographs and the reader will also find the updated requirements of the Eye Bank of America and the U.S. Food and Drug Administration for ocular tissue transplantation. Part II has been updated with new diseases and recent references added. Practicing autopsy pathologists, residents and students are invited to review this alphabetical listing of disorders before each autopsy in order to re-acquaint themselves with what they might encounter. Part III provides a series of tables providing organ weights and body measurements for fetuses, children and adults. Handbook of Autopsy Practice Fourth Edition is an essential resource for clinicians, pathologists, residents and students who strive to hone their trade and increase the value of the autopsies they perform.
Handbook of Pediatric Autopsy Pathology, Second ed. by Enid Gilbert-Barness; Diane E. Spicer; Thora S. Steffensen, 2014
Pathologists have long recognized that pediatric autopsy requires great care in technique and dissection to ensure that easily overlooked malformations are recognized and accurate diagnoses are made. The highly experienced authors have created a new edition of Handbook of Pediatric Autopsy Pathology, a comprehensive reference guide to the actual performance of the pediatric autopsy and the optimal recognition and interpretation of pathologic findings. The Handbook of Pediatric Autopsy Pathology, Second Edition covers the spectrum of pediatric pathology with particular reference to those conditions that can be identified at autopsy. New and updated material includes microbiological studies, particularly with the advent of newly described micro-organisms causing disease. The volume also addresses new developments in metabolic diseases, new techniques of ultrasound imaging, and specialized laboratory testing. Furthermore, the book provides a wealth of practical information and bibliographic citations throughout, new copious illustrations and line drawings, numerous standard reference tables, and appendices at the end of multiple chapters. Authored by authorities in the field, Handbook of Pediatric Autopsy Pathology, Second Edition is a valuable resource that will assist general and pediatric pathologists, neonatologists, interns and residents in training, as well as specialists in cytogenetics and ultrasound technicians in understanding the manner and cause of death in its broadest and comprehensive sense.
Forensics
Clinical Forensic Medicine, 4th ed. by Margaret M. Stark (Ed.), 2020
This updated volume on clinical forensic medicine covers the topics required for forensic healthcare professionals working in general forensic medicine and sexual offence medicine. All chapters have been reviewed and revised to reflect how the provision of forensic medical services has changed since the previous edition with multidisciplinary teams working in the custodial environment, comprising doctors, nurses, and paramedics and those practitioners providing sexual offence examinations. New and updated topics include: the increasing importance of photo documentation by health care professionals; updated information on strangulation, torture; a review of bite mark injuries; the explosion of Novel Psychoactive Substances worldwide; the changing patterns of deaths in custody and deaths following police contact; and the introduction in various jurisdictions of legal limits for drugs based on zero tolerance or a risk based approach. Written by a team of experts, the new edition of this book is a valuable resource for forensic healthcare professionals including doctors, nurses and paramedics working in general forensic medicine and sexual offence medicine, as well as emergency physicians, pediatricians and gynaecologists.
Current Practice in Forensic Medicine, Second ed. by John A. M. Gall (Editor); Jason Payne-James (Editor), 2016
Forensic medicine is a broad and evolving field with areas of rapid progress embracing both clinical and pathological aspects of practice, in which there may be considerable overlap. This is the second volume in a series that provides a unique, in-depth and critical update on selected topics of direct relevance to those practising in the field of clinical forensic medicine and related areas including lawyers, police, medical practitioners, forensic scientists, and students. The chapters endeavour to maintain a relevance to an international, multi-professional audience and include chapters on: DNA decontamination, The toxicity of novel psychoactive substances, The relevance of gastric contents in the timing of death, The effects of controlled energy devices, The main risk factors for driving impairment, The risk factors for harm to health of detainees in short-term custody, Autoerotic deaths, Child maltreatment and neglect, and The investigation of potential non-accidental head injury in children. Also included are chapters on excited delirium syndrome, automatism and personality disorders. Two topics not generally covered in standard clinical forensic medical textbooks include a forensic anthropological approach to body recovery in potential crimes against humanity and risk management and security issues for the forensic practitioner investigating potential crimes against humanity in a foreign country.
Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease, 10th ed. by Vinay Kumar; Abul K. Abbas; Jon C. Aster, 2021
Readable and highly illustrated, Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease, 10th Edition presents an in-depth, state-of-the-art overview of human diseases and their cellular and molecular basis. This best-selling text delivers the latest, most essential pathology knowledge in a readable, interesting manner, ensuring optimal understanding of the latest basic science and clinical content. More than 1,000 high-quality photographs and full-color illustrations highlight new information in molecular biology, disease classifications, new drugs and drug therapies, and much more. This superb learning package also includes an enhanced eBook with a full complement of ancillary content on Student Consult. Access to this product, which may be at the discretion of your institution, is up to 3 years of online and perpetual offline access. Elsevier reserves the right to restrict or remove access due to changes in product portfolio or other market conditions. Provides uniquely authoritative and readable coverage, ideal for USMLE or specialty board preparation, as well as for coursework. Covers the hot topics you need to know about, including novel therapies for hepatitis C, classification of lymphomas, unfolded protein response, non-apoptotic pathways of cell death, coronavirus infections, liquid biopsy for cancer detection, regulation of iron absorption, clonal hematopoiesis and atherosclerosis, thrombotic microangiopathies, heparin-induced thrombocytopenias, inflammatory myopathies, genetic tools for treatment of cystic fibrosis, and many more. Uses an outstanding full-color, user-friendly design to simplify your study and quickly direct you to the information you need to know, with learning features such as boldface overviews at the beginning of each section, key concepts boxes, suggested readings, schematic diagrams that illustrate complex concepts, and new gross and microscopic figures for clarity of morphology. Brings you up to date with the latest information in molecular and genetic testing, mechanisms of disease, personalized medicine and its impact on treatment of human diseases, the role of microbiome and metabolome in non-communicable diseases, and much more. Provides access to a wealth of interactive ancillaries online: pathology case studies, videos, self-assessment questions, Targeted Therapy boxes that discuss drug therapy for specific diseases, interactive cases, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Spitz and Fisher's Medicolegal Investigation of Death by Werner U. Spitz (Editor); Francisco J. Diaz (Editor), 2020
This is not just a new edition but a different book, emphasizing trauma and wound analysis. The addition of a new co-editor, Dr. Francisco J. Diaz, has brought new ideas to this fifth edition. A chapter by Doctor Jan Leetsma, world-renowned neuropathologist, has also been included. Doctor Leetsma's vast experience in forensic neuropathology will certainly enhance this book. Several chapters have been eliminated that are no longer applicable or which are adequately covered in other publications. Over time, in the past 48 years, since this book was first published, Medicolegal Investigation of Death has been dubbed the "Bible of Forensic Pathology." The fifth edition includes over 600 case reports and hundreds of color photographs. The cases are from files the authors have personally handled. According to author Spitz, "We have found many times analysis of small wounds will lead to understanding of a giant case-like the case in Hawaii, where a body was found under a full-size van, with a thread mark on the cheek consistent with having been hit with a black pipe used for gas lines that were found in a bucket in the rear of the van. As it turned out, this was a murder, not an accident." The book is full of such cases. This book will help you understand the details of injuries and how a person was injured and how they died and how these injuries, perhaps at first blush possibly seemingly insignificant, can shed new light on a case. Medicolegal Investigation of Death now embraces not just basic forensic pathology but also includes death during restraint, conscious pain and suffering and new concepts related to the interpretation of injuries by detailed wound analysis. The continued use of simple, non-technical terminology makes this book a truly unique treatise and source of information.
Autopsy in the 21st Century by
Autopsy as a field is enjoying an unexpected renaissance as new and improved uses are found for postmortem examination in quality improvement, education, and research. Increased interest in the autopsy is evident in the popular press as well as in national and international physician meetings.This text will provide an overview of topics the authors consider crucial to competent and effective autopsy practice in the 21st century. Each chapter will combine relevant theoretical background with current and practical experience-based guidance so that pathologists and clinicians can better utilize the autopsy to provide optimal value to families, patients, hospitals, and health systems. Distinguished contributors will provide a review of the rich history of autopsy practice, including assessments of how the past both informs autopsy practice and impedes its progress. The autopsy will be placed in the context of larger healthcare systems with chapters on the use of autopsy in quality improvement and evaluating the value of autopsy as a professional activity, as well as new technology that affects practice models. Better and more reproducible methods for reporting autopsy findings will be explored to exploit the full potential of autopsy data for cross-institutional research. Two chapters will also provide the first book-level review of the growing field of autopsies performed on an urgent basis to sample both diseased and normal control tissue for research. These "rapid research autopsies" are especially crucial to cancer research and the growth of personalized medicine, and the book will explain the science behind utilization of autopsy tissue and offer a full template for designing and delivering a successful rapid autopsy program. Additionally, pathologist and clinician contributors will highlight current recommendations for special techniques and ancillary testing in postmortem examinations to serve the needs of today's patient populations. As resident education is re-examined by pathology and education authorities, new competency-based training models will almost certainly come to the fore. A chapter will examine approaches to the future training of medical students, residents, and fellows in an environment of changing autopsy exposure. A final chapter will summarize the vision for the autopsy as a clinical outcome measure, and valuable scientific resource. This book will be a new type of volume in the field of autopsy pathology. It differs from the presently available review references and atlases in that it provides guidance for readers to embrace transformations that are already taking place in the field. There currently is no resource that offers comprehensive guidance for modern autopsy practice and looks forward to what the field might become in the future.
Autopsy Pathology: a Manual and Atlas, 3rd ed. by
A mainstay for pathology residents, Autopsy Pathology is designed with a uniquely combined manual and atlas format that presents today's most complete coverage of performing, interpreting, and reporting post-mortem examinations. This lasting and useful medical reference book offers a practical, step-by-step approach to discussing not only the basics of the specialty, but the performance of specialized autopsy procedures as well. Material is divided into two sections for ease of use: a manual covering specific autopsy procedures, biosafety, generation of autopsy reports, preparation of death certificates, and other essential subjects; and an atlas, organized by organ system, which captures the appearance of the complete spectrum of autopsy findings. Offers expanded coverage of microscopic anatomy. Includes a chapter on performing special dissection procedures that may not be covered during a typical residency. Examines important techniques, such as autopsy photography and radiology, microscopic examination, supplemental laboratory studies, and other investigative approaches. Addresses the latest legal, social, and ethical issues relating to autopsies, as well as quality improvement and assurance. Presents more than 600 full-color photographs depicting common gross and microscopic autopsy findings for every part of the body. Correlates pathologic findings with their clinical causes to enhance diagnostic accuracy. Improved images in the Atlas section provide greater visual understanding. Additional online features include dissection videos demonstrating autopsy techniques; downloadable, commonly used forms for autopsy reports; and calculators for weights and measures.
Handbook of Autopsy Practice, 4th ed. by
Handbook of Autopsy Practice, Fourth Edition is divided into three parts. Part I contains six new chapters in which the reader will find an assortment of tools that will increase the value of the autopsy. Included in the section are valuable resources and tools such as a sample next-of-kin letter, a quality assurance worksheet, new discourse on the dissection procedure which is accompanied by a worksheet and template for the gross description. There is also a new, detailed discussion of the safe handling of sharps, complete with photographs and the reader will also find the updated requirements of the Eye Bank of America and the U.S. Food and Drug Administration for ocular tissue transplantation. Part II has been updated with new diseases and recent references added. Practicing autopsy pathologists, residents and students are invited to review this alphabetical listing of disorders before each autopsy in order to re-acquaint themselves with what they might encounter. Part III provides a series of tables providing organ weights and body measurements for fetuses, children and adults. Handbook of Autopsy Practice Fourth Edition is an essential resource for clinicians, pathologists, residents and students who strive to hone their trade and increase the value of the autopsies they perform.
Handbook of Pediatric Autopsy Pathology, Second ed. by
Pathologists have long recognized that pediatric autopsy requires great care in technique and dissection to ensure that easily overlooked malformations are recognized and accurate diagnoses are made. The highly experienced authors have created a new edition of Handbook of Pediatric Autopsy Pathology, a comprehensive reference guide to the actual performance of the pediatric autopsy and the optimal recognition and interpretation of pathologic findings. The Handbook of Pediatric Autopsy Pathology, Second Edition covers the spectrum of pediatric pathology with particular reference to those conditions that can be identified at autopsy. New and updated material includes microbiological studies, particularly with the advent of newly described micro-organisms causing disease. The volume also addresses new developments in metabolic diseases, new techniques of ultrasound imaging, and specialized laboratory testing. Furthermore, the book provides a wealth of practical information and bibliographic citations throughout, new copious illustrations and line drawings, numerous standard reference tables, and appendices at the end of multiple chapters. Authored by authorities in the field, Handbook of Pediatric Autopsy Pathology, Second Edition is a valuable resource that will assist general and pediatric pathologists, neonatologists, interns and residents in training, as well as specialists in cytogenetics and ultrasound technicians in understanding the manner and cause of death in its broadest and comprehensive sense.
Clinical Forensic Medicine, 4th ed. by
This updated volume on clinical forensic medicine covers the topics required for forensic healthcare professionals working in general forensic medicine and sexual offence medicine. All chapters have been reviewed and revised to reflect how the provision of forensic medical services has changed since the previous edition with multidisciplinary teams working in the custodial environment, comprising doctors, nurses, and paramedics and those practitioners providing sexual offence examinations. New and updated topics include: the increasing importance of photo documentation by health care professionals; updated information on strangulation, torture; a review of bite mark injuries; the explosion of Novel Psychoactive Substances worldwide; the changing patterns of deaths in custody and deaths following police contact; and the introduction in various jurisdictions of legal limits for drugs based on zero tolerance or a risk based approach. Written by a team of experts, the new edition of this book is a valuable resource for forensic healthcare professionals including doctors, nurses and paramedics working in general forensic medicine and sexual offence medicine, as well as emergency physicians, pediatricians and gynaecologists.
Current Practice in Forensic Medicine, Second ed. by
Forensic medicine is a broad and evolving field with areas of rapid progress embracing both clinical and pathological aspects of practice, in which there may be considerable overlap. This is the second volume in a series that provides a unique, in-depth and critical update on selected topics of direct relevance to those practising in the field of clinical forensic medicine and related areas including lawyers, police, medical practitioners, forensic scientists, and students. The chapters endeavour to maintain a relevance to an international, multi-professional audience and include chapters on: DNA decontamination, The toxicity of novel psychoactive substances, The relevance of gastric contents in the timing of death, The effects of controlled energy devices, The main risk factors for driving impairment, The risk factors for harm to health of detainees in short-term custody, Autoerotic deaths, Child maltreatment and neglect, and The investigation of potential non-accidental head injury in children. Also included are chapters on excited delirium syndrome, automatism and personality disorders. Two topics not generally covered in standard clinical forensic medical textbooks include a forensic anthropological approach to body recovery in potential crimes against humanity and risk management and security issues for the forensic practitioner investigating potential crimes against humanity in a foreign country.
Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease, 10th ed. by
Readable and highly illustrated, Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease, 10th Edition presents an in-depth, state-of-the-art overview of human diseases and their cellular and molecular basis. This best-selling text delivers the latest, most essential pathology knowledge in a readable, interesting manner, ensuring optimal understanding of the latest basic science and clinical content. More than 1,000 high-quality photographs and full-color illustrations highlight new information in molecular biology, disease classifications, new drugs and drug therapies, and much more. This superb learning package also includes an enhanced eBook with a full complement of ancillary content on Student Consult. Access to this product, which may be at the discretion of your institution, is up to 3 years of online and perpetual offline access. Elsevier reserves the right to restrict or remove access due to changes in product portfolio or other market conditions. Provides uniquely authoritative and readable coverage, ideal for USMLE or specialty board preparation, as well as for coursework. Covers the hot topics you need to know about, including novel therapies for hepatitis C, classification of lymphomas, unfolded protein response, non-apoptotic pathways of cell death, coronavirus infections, liquid biopsy for cancer detection, regulation of iron absorption, clonal hematopoiesis and atherosclerosis, thrombotic microangiopathies, heparin-induced thrombocytopenias, inflammatory myopathies, genetic tools for treatment of cystic fibrosis, and many more. Uses an outstanding full-color, user-friendly design to simplify your study and quickly direct you to the information you need to know, with learning features such as boldface overviews at the beginning of each section, key concepts boxes, suggested readings, schematic diagrams that illustrate complex concepts, and new gross and microscopic figures for clarity of morphology. Brings you up to date with the latest information in molecular and genetic testing, mechanisms of disease, personalized medicine and its impact on treatment of human diseases, the role of microbiome and metabolome in non-communicable diseases, and much more. Provides access to a wealth of interactive ancillaries online: pathology case studies, videos, self-assessment questions, Targeted Therapy boxes that discuss drug therapy for specific diseases, interactive cases, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Spitz and Fisher's Medicolegal Investigation of Death by
This is not just a new edition but a different book, emphasizing trauma and wound analysis. The addition of a new co-editor, Dr. Francisco J. Diaz, has brought new ideas to this fifth edition. A chapter by Doctor Jan Leetsma, world-renowned neuropathologist, has also been included. Doctor Leetsma's vast experience in forensic neuropathology will certainly enhance this book. Several chapters have been eliminated that are no longer applicable or which are adequately covered in other publications. Over time, in the past 48 years, since this book was first published, Medicolegal Investigation of Death has been dubbed the "Bible of Forensic Pathology." The fifth edition includes over 600 case reports and hundreds of color photographs. The cases are from files the authors have personally handled. According to author Spitz, "We have found many times analysis of small wounds will lead to understanding of a giant case-like the case in Hawaii, where a body was found under a full-size van, with a thread mark on the cheek consistent with having been hit with a black pipe used for gas lines that were found in a bucket in the rear of the van. As it turned out, this was a murder, not an accident." The book is full of such cases. This book will help you understand the details of injuries and how a person was injured and how they died and how these injuries, perhaps at first blush possibly seemingly insignificant, can shed new light on a case. Medicolegal Investigation of Death now embraces not just basic forensic pathology but also includes death during restraint, conscious pain and suffering and new concepts related to the interpretation of injuries by detailed wound analysis. The continued use of simple, non-technical terminology makes this book a truly unique treatise and source of information.