For more Pathology resources, search BOTH links below:
| Find Journals and E-Books |
| Library Catalog |
AJCC Cancer Staging System, Version 9 by
Please visit www.cancerstaging.org for information about content updates and staging forms. The AJCC Cancer Staging Manual is used by physicians and health care professionals throughout the world to facilitate the uniform description and reporting of neoplastic diseases. Proper classification and staging of cancer is essential for the physician to assign proper treatment, evaluate results of management and clinical trials, and to serve as the standard for local, regional and international reporting on cancer incidence and outcome. Significantly expanded and developed by international disease site expert panels, the Eighth Edition AJCC Cancer Staging Manual brings together all the currently available knowledge on staging of cancer at various anatomic sites. In this edition, evidence-based TNM staging is supplemented, as appropriate, by selected molecular markers and newly acquired insights into the molecular underpinnings of cancer. This edition features 12 entirely new staging systems, a wide range of changed or new staging definitions, and a refined emphasis on a personalized-medicine approach. To enhance the print and electronic usability of the cancer staging forms, they are now available exclusively for access and downloading at www.cancerstaging.org. The Eighth Edition AJCC Cancer Staging Manual remains the gold standard reference for oncologists, surgeons, pathologists, radiologists, cancer registrars and medical professionals world-wide to ensure that all those caring for cancer patients are fully versed in the language of cancer staging.
Clinical Microbiology Procedures Handbook, 4th ed. by
In response to the ever-changing needs and responsibilities of the clinical microbiology field, Clinical Microbiology Procedures Handbook, Fourth Edition has been extensively reviewed and updated to present the most prominent procedures in use today. The Clinical Microbiology Procedures Handbook provides step-by-step protocols and descriptions that allow clinical microbiologists and laboratory staff personnel to confidently and accurately perform all analyses, including appropriate quality control recommendations, from the receipt of the specimen through processing, testing, interpretation, presentation of the final report, and subsequent consultation.
Contemporary Practice in Clinical Chemistry, 4th ed. by
Contemporary Practice in Clinical Chemistry, Fourth Edition, provides a clear and concise overview of important topics in the field. This new edition is useful for students, residents and fellows in clinical chemistry and pathology, presenting an introduction and overview of the field to assist readers as they in review and prepare for board certification examinations. For new medical technologists, the book provides context for understanding the clinical utility of tests that they perform or use in other areas in the clinical laboratory. For experienced laboratorians, this revision continues to provide an opportunity for exposure to more recent trends and developments in clinical chemistry.
Diagnostic Immunohistochemistry by
Through five well-regarded editions, Dr. David Dabbs' Diagnostic Immunohistochemistry has set the standard for concise, complete, guidance on the use and interpretation of immunohistochemical stains. The 6th Edition continues this tradition of excellence, bringing you fully up to date with all aspects of this dynamic field. Easy to use and understand, this practical resource distills the large body of information on immunohistochemistry into a single, convenient reference that is invaluable for today's surgical pathologists. Covers all aspects of the field, with an emphasis on the role of genomics in diagnosis and theranostic applications that will better inform treatment options. Includes the latest grading schemes in several organs along with new antibodies to cover more genomic immunohistochemistry applications. Contains current biomarker guidelines and up-to-date references throughout. Offers a systematic approach to the diagnostic entities of each organ system, including detailed differential diagnoses, diagnostic algorithms, and immunohistograms that depict immunostaining patterns of tumors. Contains numerous charts and tables, as well as 1,500 high-quality color histologic images that assist in making a definitive diagnosis. Discusses diagnostic pitfalls through immunohistologic differential diagnosis wherever appropriate so you can provide the most accurate diagnoses. Covers many more antigens than other texts, and discusses antibody specifications with tables that convey information on uses, clones, vendors, sources, antibody titers, and types of antigen retrieval. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Essentials of Anatomic Pathology, Fourth ed. by
This much praised and widely used reference manual on has been extensively revised and expanded to cover the entire field of anatomic pathology. The Fourth Edition features the incorporation of full-color images in the text with updates of new diagnostic and prognostic information. New classifications and numerous new entities and histologic variants for each organ site will be fully incorporate in each individual chapter (Part II Organ Systems). Useful immunostaining biomarkers and emerging molecular targets and relevant molecular findings that have emerged from recent genomic studies are incorporated in each chapter. Written by internationally recognized authorities, the comprehensive, evidence-based practice information is presented in an outline format that is clear and easy to follow. Up-to-date and richly detailed, Essentials of Anatomic Pathology, Fourth Edition offers both the pathologist-in-training and the practicing pathologist a concise summary of all the critical information needed to recognize, understand and interpret anatomic pathology.
Histology: An Essential Textbook by
Learn to identify histological structures and their correlated functions! Histology: An Essential Textbook is a concise, multimedia study guide for medical students who need to learn the functions and related correlations of cells, tissues, and organs of the human body. Professor D.J. Lowrie, Jr. has written a unique and practical medical histology resource based on self-directed modules originally created to replace live histology laboratory sessions. This resource will help medical students learn how to identify histological structures on slide preparations and electron micrographs. Short videos by the author, who demonstrates structures via digitized histology slides, provide additional guidance. Shorter, targeted concepts and brief explanations accompanied by numerous illustrations, self-assessment quizzes, and videos demonstrating key features of histological structures set this resource apart from existing, text-dense books. Key Features: Nearly 850 images, consisting primarily of electron and light micrographs, aid in identification of histological structures and long-term retention Correlation of histological structure with other basic science disciplines, such as gross anatomy, embryology, and pathology allows students to integrate material effectively Over 1000 online multiple choice questions and answers mirror exam topics students frequently encounter in curriculum and the USMLE; Nearly 375 videos provide a personal tutor that teaches students histological structures, while providing tips for proper identification This is a must-have self-study guide for medical students, as well as a stellar teaching tool for instructors.
Histology for Pathologists, 5th ed. by
Filled with more than 1,000 images, the latest edition of this award-winning comprehensive classic--written by anatomic pathologists for anatomic pathologists--has been updated with new information on surgical principles and techniques. Like previous editions, the book is designed to bridge the gap between normal histology and pathologic alterations. Now featuring the latest developments and advances made since the previous edition five years ago. Unique among pathology textbooks in using human--as opposed to animal--tissues for discussions on histology. Essential reading for all anatomic pathologists, and particularly helpful for pathology residents throughout their training. Chapters and sections organized by biological system as well as body region.
Manual of Clinical Microbiology, 11th ed. by
The 11th edition of the Manual of Clinical Microbiology continues to set the standard for state-of-the-science laboratory practices as the most authoritative reference in the field of clinical microbiology. This new edition presents the numerous microbial taxonomic changes and newer more powerful diagnostic approaches that have been developed since publication of the 10th edition. A collaborative team of editors and authors from around the world, all experienced practitioners, researchers, or public health experts, revised the Manual to include the latest applications of genomics and proteomics, producing an authoritative work of two volumes filled with current findings regarding infectious agents, leading-edge diagnostic methods, laboratory practices, and safety guidelines.
Manual of Surgical Pathology, Fourth ed. by
Offering complete, practical guidance on the evaluation of the surgical pathology specimen, Manual of Surgical Pathology encapsulates the standard operating procedures at Brigham and Women's Hospital, one of the busiest and most respected pathology departments in the world. From a specimen's arrival in the department to preparation of the final report, you'll find step-by-step instructions on specimen processing, tissue handling, gross dissection technique, histological examination, application of special stains, development of a differential diagnosis, and more. The fully revised 4th Edition is an invaluable reference for residents, practicing pathologists, and pathology assistants as a practical, everyday resource for learning proper procedure as well as an excellent guide for board review. Helps you find information quickly with a user-friendly design, concise paragraphs, numbered lists, and bulleted material throughout the text. Reflects the latest AJCC staging information, as well as updates throughout on reporting procedures, protocols, and safety. Offers detailed instructions on the dissection, description, and sampling of specimens, and explains the application of pathology reports to patient management. Provides procedures for new types of specimens including pulmonary image guided resections, endoscopic mucosal resection, endoscopic submucosal dissection, laparoscopic hysterectomy, or nephrectomy morcellation, vertical sleeve gastrectomy, and evaluation of breast implant capsules with a clinical suspicion of lymphoma Features dozens of illustrations that demonstrate the gross appearance of common pathologic lesions, and more than 150 tables that examine the interpretation of histochemical stains, immunohistochemical studies, electron microscopy findings, cytogenetic changes, and much more. Examines the specimens from every organ and system as well as bullets, medical devices, and foreign materials. Includes a new chapter on occupational hazards for pathologists ranging from visual and musculoskeletal problems to exposure and prevention of workplace acquired infection and cancer. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease, 10e by
Readable and highly illustrated, Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease, 10th Edition presents an in-depth, state-of-the-art overview of human diseases and their cellular and molecular basis. This best-selling text delivers the latest, most essential pathology knowledge in a readable, interesting manner, ensuring optimal understanding of the latest basic science and clinical content. More than 1,000 high-quality photographs and full-color illustrations highlight new information in molecular biology, disease classifications, new drugs and drug therapies, and much more. This superb learning package also includes an enhanced eBook with a full complement of ancillary content on Student Consult. Provides uniquely authoritative and readable coverage, ideal for USMLE or specialty board preparation, as well as for coursework. Covers the hot topics you need to know about, including novel therapies for hepatitis C, classification of lymphomas, unfolded protein response, non-apoptotic pathways of cell death, coronavirus infections, liquid biopsy for cancer detection, regulation of iron absorption, clonal hematopoiesis and atherosclerosis, thrombotic microangiopathies, heparin-induced thrombocytopenias, inflammatory myopathies, genetic tools for treatment of cystic fibrosis, and many more. Uses an outstanding full-color, user-friendly design to simplify your study and quickly direct you to the information you need to know, with learning features such as boldface overviews at the beginning of each section, key concepts boxes, suggested readings, schematic diagrams that illustrate complex concepts, and new gross and microscopic figures for clarity of morphology. Brings you up to date with the latest information in molecular and genetic testing, mechanisms of disease, personalized medicine and its impact on treatment of human diseases, the role of microbiome and metabolome in non-communicable diseases, and much more. Provides access to a wealth of interactive ancillaries online: pathology case studies, videos, self-assessment questions, Targeted Therapy boxes that discuss drug therapy for specific diseases, interactive cases, and more.
Robbins and Kumar Basic Pathology, 11th ed. by
Readable, well-illustrated, and concise, Robbins and Kumar's Basic Pathology, 11th Edition, offers today's busy students a rich understanding of all essential pathology concepts from trusted names in the field. This updated edition thoroughly covers key pathologic processes and the time-honored tools of gross and microscopic analysis, while also retaining a strong emphasis on clinicopathologic correlations and the impact of molecular pathology on the practice of medicine. Outstanding artwork and schematic drawings, as well as a robust eBook experience with extensive additional features, make complex concepts easier to learn and retain. Includes fully updated clinical topics throughout. Features high-quality photomicrographs, gross photos, and radiologic images, as well as new artwork and over 150 new schematic diagrams that help summarize key or complex disease mechanisms. Contains a new Rapid Review section that uses bulleted summary boxes to deliver essential take-home messages and help you focus on the fundamentals. Includes tables of relevant laboratory tests for each chapter that link pathophysiology of disease and diagnostic testing. Highlights pathogenesis, morphology, and pathophysiologic content throughout. Features increased representation of diverse populations throughout the text, including clinical photographs of skin lesions in multiple skin types and a new section on the role of socially defined race in health disparities. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud-as well as access bonus content, including case studies, additional gross and microscopic figures, and more.
Rosai and Ackerman's Surgical Pathology - 2 Volume Set by
For over 60 years, residents and practicing pathologists have turned to Rosai and Ackerman's Surgical Pathology?for definitive guidance on every aspect of the field, delivered in a readable, easy-to-digest, and engaging manner. In the two-volume 11th Edition, a dynamic new author team ensures that this classic text retains its signature anecdotal style, while revising the content to bring you fully up to date. Widely used for board exam preparation, as well as for everyday reference in practice, this leading resource equips you to effectively and efficiently diagnose the complete range of neoplastic and non-neoplastic entities. Provides comprehensive coverage of the clinical presentation, gross and microscopic features, ultrastructural and immunohistochemical findings, prognosis, and therapy for virtually every pathologic lesion. Presents content now grouped in sections corresponding to organs and systems, making disease entities easier to locate. Includes state-of-the-art coverage of the latest disease classifications, molecular biology and pathology, immunohistochemistry, genetics, prognostic/predictive markers, and more - all highlighted by more than 3,000 full-color illustrations of commonly seen pathologies. Showcases the knowledge and expertise of an innovative new author team: prolific author John R. Goldblum, MD (GI pathology, soft tissue tumors); Laura Lamps, MD (hepatobiliary, endocrine tumors, infectious disease); Jesse McKenney, MD (GU/GYN, soft tissue tumors); and Jeff Myers, MD (pulmonary, pleural, mediastinum); accompanied by a select list of subspecialty contributors. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Wheater's Pathology: a Text, Atlas and Review of Histopathology by
This concise introduction to pathology covers basic pathological mechanisms and offers a detailed review of systems pathology, making it a complete, effective review for today's readers. Hundreds of high-quality images-many new to this edition-illustrate common entities, and associated captions provide key pathological points. Reader-friendly text clarifies basic and complex information, helping you understand challenging concepts more easily. Wheater's Pathology is an excellent companion resource for users of Wheater's Functional Histology, 6th Edition, offering a comparison of normal histology with the pathological changes in disease. Contains a new chapter, Introduction to Pathology and Techniques, that provides more background information on histology techniques, immunohistochemistry, molecular tests and digital pathology. Contains new, full-color illustrations that depict additional pathological entities and update classifications. Includes access to online-only material such as new questions for each chapter, and numerous macroscopic images. Incorporates cutting-edge information on molecular pathology throughout. Includes quick-reference features such as keys to the lettering in images at the bottom of each page and fully revised clinical boxes with clinical-pathological correlations that explain the relevance of the pathological processes underlying common diseases and their complications. Summarizes key points with chapter reviews at the end of each section. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Case Files: Pathology, Second ed. by
More than 50 clinical cases help you ace pathology courses and the USMLE The Case Files series is an award-winning learning system proven to improve exam scores. This series helps you to learn in the context of real patients instead of simply memorizing. Case Files: Pathology: Second Edition presents 50+ clinical cases with open-ended questions which weave basic science concepts into the clinical scenario. Each case includes an extended discussion (including definitions and a pathophysiology discussion), key points, and 3-5 USMLE-style comprehension questions. The authors are experienced teachers from the University of Texas-Houston Medical School and East Tennessee State University Quillen College of Medicine.
Pathology Exam Review by
The only review book to cover both anatomic and clinical pathology, Pathology Exam Review offers excellent preparation for the American Board of Pathology Anatomic and Clinical Pathology examinations. The book contains 1,500 board-formatted multiple-choice questions with short explanatory answers, equally divided between anatomic and clinical pathology. Anatomic pathology coverage includes general pathology, cytopathology, autopsy pathology, surgical pathology, immunohistochemistry, and electron microscopy. Clinical pathology coverage includes immunology, medical microbiology (bacteriology, mycology, virology and parasitology), transfusion medicine, hematology, coagulation, clinical chemistry, and molecular pathology and genetics. Many of the questions are accompanied by full-color images. A companion Website will include the fully searchable text, a question bank, and an image bank.
Pathology Q and A by
Thieme Test Prep for the USMLE®: Pathology is the choice of medical students... ...I am very impressed ...These answers and explanations waste no time getting right to the point and hit the high-yield points a student must know... for the USMLE® Step 1 exam. - Nicholas T. Gamboa, MS-II (Second-year medical student, University of Utah School of Medicine) These path questions really tested the concepts succinctly and directly. - Amy Leshner (Fourth-year medical student, Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine) ...The major test-prep resources do not focus on these subjects in detail. A question bank...would be beneficial to those who struggle with these as an additional resource for studying ... - Ethan Young (Fourth-year medical student, University of South Dakota, Sanford School of Medicine) Thieme Test Prep for the USMLE®: Pathology provides medical students studying for boards with a thorough review of pathology concepts. Co-authored by a pathologist and family practice physician, this robust test prep tool combines pathology with strong clinical correlations. Key Highlights Over 1,100 USMLE®-style multiple choice questions and detailed explanations, classified by organ system and difficulty Questions begin with a clinical vignette and approximately 20% are image-based, mirroring the USMLE®-format This essential resource will help you assess your knowledge and fully prepare for board examinations.
