Subject Guides: Pathology: Resident Suggested Reading

Autopsy

Autopsy Pathology: a Manual and Atlas, 3rd ed. by Andrew J. Connolly & Walter E. Finkbeiner, 2016 A mainstay for pathology residents, Autopsy Pathology is designed with a uniquely combined manual and atlas format that presents today's most complete coverage of performing, interpreting, and reporting post-mortem examinations. This lasting and useful medical reference book offers a practical, step-by-step approach to discussing not only the basics of the specialty, but the performance of specialized autopsy procedures as well. Material is divided into two sections for ease of use: a manual covering specific autopsy procedures, biosafety, generation of autopsy reports, preparation of death certificates, and other essential subjects; and an atlas, organized by organ system, which captures the appearance of the complete spectrum of autopsy findings. Offers expanded coverage of microscopic anatomy. Includes a chapter on performing special dissection procedures that may not be covered during a typical residency. Examines important techniques, such as autopsy photography and radiology, microscopic examination, supplemental laboratory studies, and other investigative approaches. Addresses the latest legal, social, and ethical issues relating to autopsies, as well as quality improvement and assurance. Presents more than 600 full-color photographs depicting common gross and microscopic autopsy findings for every part of the body. Correlates pathologic findings with their clinical causes to enhance diagnostic accuracy. Improved images in the Atlas section provide greater visual understanding. Additional online features include dissection videos demonstrating autopsy techniques; downloadable, commonly used forms for autopsy reports; and calculators for weights and measures.
Handbook of Autopsy Practice, 4th ed. by Brenda L. Waters (Editor), 2009 Handbook of Autopsy Practice, Fourth Edition is divided into three parts. Part I contains six new chapters in which the reader will find an assortment of tools that will increase the value of the autopsy. Included in the section are valuable resources and tools such as a sample next-of-kin letter, a quality assurance worksheet, new discourse on the dissection procedure which is accompanied by a worksheet and template for the gross description. There is also a new, detailed discussion of the safe handling of sharps, complete with photographs and the reader will also find the updated requirements of the Eye Bank of America and the U.S. Food and Drug Administration for ocular tissue transplantation. Part II has been updated with new diseases and recent references added. Practicing autopsy pathologists, residents and students are invited to review this alphabetical listing of disorders before each autopsy in order to re-acquaint themselves with what they might encounter. Part III provides a series of tables providing organ weights and body measurements for fetuses, children and adults. Handbook of Autopsy Practice Fourth Edition is an essential resource for clinicians, pathologists, residents and students who strive to hone their trade and increase the value of the autopsies they perform.
Handbook of Pediatric Autopsy Pathology, Second ed. by Enid Gilbert-Barness; Diane E. Spicer; Thora S. Steffensen, 2014 Pathologists have long recognized that pediatric autopsy requires great care in technique and dissection to ensure that easily overlooked malformations are recognized and accurate diagnoses are made. The highly experienced authors have created a new edition of Handbook of Pediatric Autopsy Pathology, a comprehensive reference guide to the actual performance of the pediatric autopsy and the optimal recognition and interpretation of pathologic findings. The Handbook of Pediatric Autopsy Pathology, Second Edition covers the spectrum of pediatric pathology with particular reference to those conditions that can be identified at autopsy. New and updated material includes microbiological studies, particularly with the advent of newly described micro-organisms causing disease. The volume also addresses new developments in metabolic diseases, new techniques of ultrasound imaging, and specialized laboratory testing.  Furthermore, the book provides a wealth of practical information and bibliographic citations throughout, new copious illustrations and line drawings, numerous standard reference tables, and appendices at the end of multiple chapters. Authored by authorities in the field, Handbook of Pediatric Autopsy Pathology, Second Edition is a valuable resource that will assist general and pediatric pathologists, neonatologists, interns and residents in training, as well as specialists in cytogenetics and ultrasound technicians in understanding the manner and cause of death in its broadest and comprehensive sense.

Bone/Soft Tissue

Bone and Soft Tissue Pathology, second ed. by Andrew L. Folpe (Editor); Gunnlaugur Petur Nielsen (Editor), 2023 Now fully revised to include recent advances in the field, the second edition of Bone and Soft Tissue Pathology, a volume in the Foundations in Diagnostic Pathology series, is an essential foundation text for residents and pathologists. The popular template format makes it easy to use, and new information throughout brings you up to date with what's new in the field, including advances in molecular diagnostic testing and new diagnostic biomarkers. Practical and affordable, this resource is ideal for study and review as well as everyday clinical practice. Key features of this practical text include: A consistent, user-friendly format that explores each entity's clinical features, pathologic features (gross and microscopic), ancillary studies, differential diagnoses, and prognostic and therapeutic considerations. A focus on specific features of selected neoplastic and non-neoplastic entities, including broad and in-depth differential diagnoses. Review of normal histology before examining abnormal findings, enabling you to conveniently compare their characteristics in one place at one time. Clinical information on treatment and prognosis, enabling you to better understand the clinical implications of the diagnosis. Nearly 1,000 full-color, high-quality illustrations with extensive figure legends, as well as abundant boxes and tables throughout. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. What's NEW in this edition: Advances in molecular diagnostic testing and its capabilities and limitations, including targeted/personalized medicine. New diagnostic biomarkers and their utility in differential diagnosis, newly described variants, and new histologic entities. The latest TNM staging and WHO classification systems. New co-editor Dr. Gunnlaugur Pétur Nielsen of Harvard Medical School joins Dr. Andrew L. Folpe and expert, internationally recognized pathologists who keep you up to date with the latest information in the field.
Enzinger and Weiss's soft tissue tumors, 7th ed. by John R. Goldblum, Andrew L. Folpe, Sharon W. Weiss., 2020 Editors include: Dr. John R. Goldblum, Chairman, Department of Pathology, Cleveland Clinic, Professor of Pathology, Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine. Contributors include: Drs. John R. Goldblum, Hassana Barazi, Hakan Ilaslan, Brian P. Rubin, and Murali Sundaram, Cleveland Clinic.
ISBN: 0323610978
Practical Soft Tissue Pathology: a Diagnostic Approach, Second ed. by Jason L. Hornick, 2019 Part of the in-depth and practical Pattern Recognition series, Practical Surgical Soft Tissue Pathology, 2nd Edition, helps you arrive at an accurate diagnosis by using a proven pattern-based approach. Leading diagnosticians guide you through the most common patterns seen in soft tissue pathology, applying appropriate immunohistochemistry and molecular testing, avoiding pitfalls, and making the best diagnosis. High-quality illustrations capture key morphologic patterns for a full range of common and rare tumor types, and a "visual index" at the beginning of the book directs you to the exact location of in-depth diagnostic guidance. A consistent chapter organization by histologic pattern considers soft tissue tumors the way you approach them in daily practice, helping you arrive at a quick and accurate diagnosis. A user-friendly design color-codes patterns to specific entities, and key points are summarized in tables and text boxes, so you can quickly and easily find what you are looking for. Sweeping content updates keep you at the forefront of recent findings regarding all major neoplastic and non-neoplastic diseases of the soft tissues. Improved pattern call-outs are now linked directly within the chapter, reinforcing the patterns for more efficient and complete understanding. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Breast

Biopsy Interpretation of the Breast, 3rd ed. by Stuart J. Schnitt; Laura C. Collins, 2018 Your practical aid to confident diagnosis! Biopsy Interpretation of the Breast, 3rd Edition helps you correctly identify the full range of pathologic alterations encountered in breast tissue. The intuitive organization approaches diagnosis the way you do, grouping lesions according to their histologic patterns and then pointing out the characteristics that distinguish one type of lesion from another. The authors emphasize the role of adjunctive studies in solving diagnostic problems wherever appropriate, explain the clinical significance of the various diagnoses and their impact on patient management, highlighting key clinical and management points throughout - giving you the broad context you need to generate the most accurate pathology reports for every patient. 4 stars from Doody's! " The greatest strength of this book is the ability of the authors to provide expert consultation on so many diagnostic entities due in part to their experience but also to their teaching ability. This is an excellent resource for any practicing pathologist." - Doody's Review ServiceKey Features Comprehensive updates reflect the most recent World Health Organization nomenclature and diagnostic criteria, the role of adjunctive studies (including the uses and limitations of newer immunohistochemical markers), evaluation of specimens from patients treated with neoadjuvant systemic therapy, new guidelines for lumpectomy margin evaluation, advances in molecular pathology and genetics, and other crucial developments in the field. Navigate controversies with discussions of unresolved issues in diagnostic interpretation, and apply pragmatic, experience-based recommendations in areas where evidence-based criteria are lacking. Make better informed decisions about core needle biopsy interpretation through expanded coverage of the role and pitfalls of this technique. Compare your cases to hundreds of carefully prepared, high-quality photomicrographs, many new to this edition. Access key diagnostic features and differential diagnostic considerations at a glance with dozens of helpful tables, and find the answers you need quickly thanks to a concise, bulleted format.
A Comprehensive Guide to Core Needle Biopsies of the Breast by Sandra J. Shin (Editor), 2016 This first multi-authored work exclusively dedicated to breast lesions in core needle biopsy samples, A Comprehensive Guide to Core Needle Biopsies of the Breast is an all-inclusive textbook that provides an overview of the fundamentals of a breast core needle biopsy program, instructive topics on diagnostic approaches to breast core biopsies including a pattern-based strategy, and in-depth coverage of all entities commonly seen in the core biopsy setting.  In addition, chapters detailing special scenarios or topics including the role of molecular profiling in small breast samples and personalized medici≠ metastasis to the breast and dermatologic mimickers of breast lesions arising in the breast skin, subcutis or axilla complete the impressive scope of this authoritative book.  The book features over 900 high-quality images, charts, and diagrams.   Written by leaders in the field and edited by expert breast pathologist, Dr. Sandra J. Shin, A Comprehensive Guide to Core Needle Biopsies of the Breast is the definitive reference on breast core needle biopsies for practicing pathologists, pathology trainees, and clinicians of patients with breast disease.

Cardiac

Cardiac Pathology, 2nd ed. by S. Kim Suvarna (Ed.), 2019 This updated second edition provides a comprehensive overview of cardiac pathology. Clear illustrations of the common styles of dissection are provided along with the normal anatomy and histology. The chapters cover autopsy heart examination, ischemic heart disease, myocarditis, sudden death, valvular disease, transplant pathology, cardiomyopathy, cardiac neoplasia and congenital heart disease with a clear analysis of diagnostic criteria (macroscopic, microscopic and genetic) for both common cardiac diseases and those of less common types. The text is accompanied by high quality macroscopic and microscopic images and references to other specialty data sources. Cardiac Pathology: A Guide to Current Practice is aimed at established pathologists and trainees, as well as any clinician with an interest in cardiac disease. It will be of value to those working in cardiac surgery, cardiology and those in the autopsy/forensic fields.
Cardiac Tumor Pathology by Cristina Basso (Editor); Marialuisa Valente (Editor); Gaetano Thiene (Editor) Cardiac tumors were once a nosographic entity of scarce clinical interest because of the rarity and of the intrinsic diagnostic and therapeutic impossibilities, and were considered a fatal morbid entity. It has now become a topical subject due to advances in clinical imaging (echo, magnetic resonance, computed tomography) as well as innovation in technologies of in-vivo diagnosis. Cardiac Tumor Pathology presents a spectacular example of these advances with clinico-pathologic correlations. This timely volume covers history, epidemiology, demographics, clinical diagnosis, pathology, imaging by echo, CT and MRI of both benign and malignant cardiac tumors, either primary or secondary. Chemotherapy of malignant neoplasms is also addressed. Special emphasis is given to clinico-pathologic correlations. With all chapters written by experts in their fields, this volume will serve as a useful resource for physicians dealing with, and interested in, this special branch of cardiac oncology and will represent a useful guide for pathologists, clinicians, cardiologists, cardiac surgeons, and radiologists as well as for postgraduate students training in these areas.
Essentials of Anatomic Pathology, 4th ed. by Liang Cheng (Editor); David G. Bostwick (Editor), 2016 This much praised and widely used reference manual on has been extensively revised and expanded to cover the entire field of anatomic pathology. The Fourth Edition features the incorporation of full-color images in the text with updates of new diagnostic and prognostic information. New classifications and numerous new entities and histologic variants for each organ site will be fully incorporate in each individual chapter (Part II Organ Systems). Useful immunostaining biomarkers and emerging molecular targets and relevant molecular findings that have emerged from recent genomic studies are incorporated in each chapter. Written by internationally recognized authorities, the comprehensive, evidence-based practice information is presented in an outline format that is clear and easy to follow. Up-to-date and richly detailed, Essentials of Anatomic Pathology, Fourth Edition offers both the pathologist-in-training and the practicing pathologist a concise summary of all the critical information needed to recognize, understand and interpret anatomic pathology.                    
Gattuso's Differential Diagnosis in Surgical Pathology, 4th ed. by Vijaya B. Reddy; Odile David; Daniel J. Spitz; Meryl H. Haber, 2021 Widely used by residents, fellows, and practicing pathologists around the world, Gattuso's Differential Diagnosis in Surgical Pathology provides a user-friendly road map to the main criteria to consider in order to differentiate between a variety of potential diagnoses that all have a very similar appearance. This comprehensive guide helps you make informed decisions for even your most complex and challenging cases, presenting a comprehensive differential diagnosis list and comparisons for every entity discussed. The 4th Edition brings you fully up to date with updated diagnostic techniques, new classifications, and new content throughout-perfect for quick reference at every microscope in the sign-out room. Provides brief descriptions of both common and uncommon disorders, with an emphasis on differential diagnosis, along with excellent illustrative examples of the pathology and carefully selected references.  Streamlines the differential diagnosis process by offering a series of bullet point checklists that detail the respective features of the entities being considered.  Discusses a complete range of tumors and tumor-like conditions in all organ systems.  Contains updated information on personalized/precision medicine especially as it pertains to the immunotherapies; for example, PDL-1 targeted therapies in many cancers.  Includes new classification of neuroendocrine tumors, new classification and updates of follicular variant of papillary thyroid carcinoma, and a new section on the most common metastatic tumors and utilization of ancillary techniques for diagnosis and molecular studies.  Uses a reader friendly, outline format for each diagnosis that details clinical information, epidemiology, gross and microscopic findings, ancillary stains and tests, differential diagnoses, and pearls of wisdom.  Features 1,400 full-color macro- and micrographs that provide a realistic basis for comparison of what you see under the microscope.  Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices

Cytopathology

Cytology : diagnostic principles and clinical correlates, 5th ed. by Edmund S. Cibas; Barbara S. Ducatman, 2020 Concise yet comprehensive, Cytology: Diagnostic Principles and Clinical Correlates is a practical guide to the diagnostic interpretation of virtually any cytological specimen you may encounter. This highly useful bench manual covers all organ systems and situations in which cytology is used, including gynecologic, non-gynecologic, and FNA samples, with an in-depth differential diagnosis discussion for all major entities. As with previous editions, the revised 5th Edition focuses on practical issues in diagnosis and the use of cytology in clinical care, making it ideal for both trainee and practicing pathologists. Uses easy-to-read, bulleted text to provide a quick review of key differential diagnoses, indications and methods, cytomorphologic features, clinical pearls, and tissue acquisition protocols for specific entities. Includes coverage of patient management in discussions of pertinent clinical features and emphasizes clinical correlation throughout. Examines the role of immunohistochemistry, flow cytometry, and molecular biology in resolving difficulties in interpretation and diagnosis. Features more than 550 full-color illustrations that provide a real-life perspective of a full range of cytologic findings. Discusses hot topics such as new diagnostic biomarkers and their utility in differential diagnosis, the latest Bethesda System classifications/terminology, new techniques, and new adjunct tests. Provides an in-depth analysis of common diagnostic pitfalls to assist with daily sign-out and reporting. Includes a video on how to perform fine needle aspiration biopsy, from the patient interview and precautions to demonstration of techniques. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
The Bethesda System for Reporting Cervical Cytology, Third ed. by Ritu Nayar (Editor); David C. Wilbur (Editor), 2015 This book offers clear, up-to-date guidance on how to report cytologic findings in cervical, vaginal and anal samples in accordance with the 2014 Bethesda System Update. The new edition has been expanded and revised to take into account the advances and experience of the past decade. A new chapter has been added, the terminology and text have been updated, and various terminological and morphologic questions have been clarified. In addition, new images are included that reflect the experience gained with liquid-based cytology since the publication of the last edition in 2004. Among more than 300 images, some represent classic examples of an entity while others illustrate interpretative dilemmas, borderline cytomorphologic features or mimics of epithelial abnormalities. The Bethesda System for Reporting Cervical Cytology, with its user-friendly format, is a "must have" for pathologists, cytopathologists, pathology residents, cytotechnologists, and clinicians.
The Bethesda System for Reporting Thyroid Cytopathology by Syed Z. Ali (Editor); Paul A. VanderLaan (Editor), 2023
The Milan System for Reporting Salivary Gland Cytopathology by William C. Faquin (Editor); Ester Diana Rossi (Editor); Zubair Baloch (Editor); Güliz A. Barkan (Editor); Maria P. Foschini (Editor); Daniel F. I. Kurtycz (Editor); Marc Pusztaszeri (Editor); Philippe Vielh (Editor), 2018 This volume describes a uniform international approach for classifying and reporting salivary gland FNA samples. The new reporting system is evidence-based using data from the literature as well as upon the experience of a multi-disciplinary group of leading experts involved in the field of salivary gland cytopathology. Each diagnostic category of this novel salivary gland reporting system includes detailed descriptions of the cytologic criteria as well as a comprehensive set of photomicrographs demonstrating all of the key microscopic features along with annotated descriptions for each image.   Designed as a practical book with easy readability, The Milan System for Reporting Salivary Gland Cytopathology combines the high-quality images of an atlas with a logical approach described in concise text-form and in line-drawing algorithms. It presents for the first time, an international cytologic reporting system for salivary gland lesions designed and endorsed by a panel of experts in the field.
The Paris System for Reporting Urinary Cytology by Eva M. Wojcik (Editor); Daniel F. I. Kurtycz (Editor); Dorothy L. Rosenthal (Editor), 2022 The first edition of The Paris System for Reporting Urinary Cytology introduced a completely new paradigm for detecting bladder cancer by urine cytology. This system concentrated on defining morphological characteristics of the most clinically significant form of bladder cancer, High Grade Urothelial Carcinoma. This new approach has been widely accepted throughout the world, and has become part of the daily practice of cytology. Considering that the first edition of The Paris System (TPS) introduced a new model of urinary cytodiagnosis, verification and expansion of initial material and data were anticipated. Based on evolving knowledge and readership requests, the group of highly experienced authors have created a new edition of TPS. This second edition includes areas and issues not originally covered. A new chapter on urine cytology of the upper tract, a rarely addressed topic, has been introduced. Furthermore, the issue of cellular degeneration is discussed in the criteria of all diagnostic categories. Examples of standardized reports are included in each chapter. Most importantly, a separate chapter presents data defining the risk of malignancy (ROM) for each diagnostic category to inform clinical management. New high quality images augment those of the first edition to better illustrate diagnostic clues and potential pitfalls.  In addition to chapters on diagnostic criteria, current concepts of pathogenesis of bladder cancer, specimen adequacy and preparation, and ancillary tests are covered in separate chapters.  A bonus to the volume is a comprehensive history of urine as the earliest diagnostic sample of human disease, richly illustrated with artworks from major museums.   Written by internationally recognized authorities, this comprehensive and evidence-based guide to urine cytology is supported by the newest data confirming the original concept and significance of diagnostic criteria defining High Grade Urothelial Carcinoma. TPS is an essential tool for anyone who is practicing urinary cytology, including cytotechnologists, pathologists-in-training and practicing pathologists. This book should find a place in every cytology laboratory throughout the world.   The Concept has been endorsed by the American Society of Cytopathology, and the International Academy of Cytology.

Dermatopathology

Andrews' Diseases of the Skin, 13th ed. by William D. James; Dirk Elston; James R. Treat; Misha A. Rosenbach; Isaac Neuhaus, 2020 Now in a fully revised thirteenth edition, Andrews' Diseases of the Skin remains your single-volume, must-have resource for core information in dermatology. From residency through clinical practice, this award-winning title ensures that you stay up to date with new tools and strategies for diagnosis and treatment, new entities and newly recognized diseases, and current uses for tried-and-true and newer medications. It's the reference you'll turn to again and again when faced with a clinical conundrum or therapeutically challenging skin disease. Utilizes a concise, clinically focused, user-friendly format that clearly covers the full range of common and rare skin diseases. Provides access to approximately 20 videos online, depicting chemical peels, Q-switched laser tattoo removal, ED&C (electrodesiccation and curettage), nerve block, and more. Provides outstanding visual support with 1,340 illustrations - more than 500 new to this edition. Presents comprehensively updated information throughout, including new and unusual clinical presentations of syphilis, new diagnostic classifications and therapies for vascular anomalies, and an updated pediatric and genodermatosis review. Covers new and evolving treatments for inflammatory, neoplastic, and blistering skin diseases among others.' New biologics and phosphodiesterase inhibitors for psoriasis and atopic dermatitis, JAK inhibitors for alopecia areata and vitiligo, immune checkpoint inhibitors for melanoma and rituximab for pemphigus are all covered. Features a revised and revamped cutaneous adverse drug reaction section, including novel eruptions from new and emerging chemotherapeutic agents and small molecule/targeted inhibitors. Discusses new and emerging viruses including Zika and human polyomaviruses. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Fitzpatrick's Dermatology, Ninth Edition, 2-Volume Set, 9th ed. by Sewon Kang, 2019 Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The acclaimed masterwork of dermatology --- reinvented by an all new editorial team A  Doody's Core Title for 2020! For nearly half a century Fitzpatrick's has been recognized worldwide as the field of dermatology's cornerstone text. This trusted classic covers all of the essentials, from the basic science of the skin to the day-to-day clinical issues of managing common skin disorders. Backed by the expertise of more than 500 world-renowned contributors, it is the reference of choice for clinicians, students, and educators.  Fitzpatrick's skillful blending of science and clinical medicine is matched only by its scope, level of detail, and quality of presentation. The Ninth Edition continues this tradition of excellence with sweeping changes designed to make it even more relevant to today's practice and education.  The ALL-NEW Fitzpatrick's: New editors diverse in expertise and international in location of practice have endeavored to build on the achievements of previous editions, while providing fresh insight into the content and new thinking regarding optimal structure of the book Reorganized and updated content - important general basic science concepts are extensively covered in dedicated chapters appearing at the beginning of the book, allowing subsequent clinical chapters to focus on relevant disease-specific pathophysiology, in addition to clinical features, diagnosis, clinical course, and management Unmatched visual presentation includes more than 3,000 illustrations, including more than 2,700 full-color photographs; all tables and At-a-Glance boxes are either new or completely revised An improved index to speed you to the information you require about a concept, condition, or therapy
Inflammatory Dermatopathology, Second ed. by Steven D. Billings; Jenny Cotton, 2016 This fully updated and revised new edition will guide the reader to develop a systematic approach to the diagnosis of inflammatory disorders of the skin. It covers the most common and clinically important inflammatory disorders of the skin in a image-rich easy to read format.  Each section includes a practical tips section to help navigate the differential diagnosis.  Examples of diagnostic comments are provided that practicing pathologists can utilize in their own reports.  Therefore, this book will not only guide the reader in how to approach inflammatory dermatoses, it will also help with writing the report.  All chapters are revised and updated and include new images. The second edition of Inflammatory Dermatopathology will be of great value to surgical pathologists, pathology residents, dermatology residents, and dermatopathology fellows. 
McKee's Pathology of the Skin, 2 Volume Set, Fifth ed. by J. Eduardo Calonje; Thomas Brenn; Alexander J. Lazar; Steven D. Billings, 2020 Comprehensive and lavishly illustrated, McKee's Pathology of the Skin, 5th Edition, is your reference of choice for up-to-date, authoritative information on dermatopathology. You'll find clinical guidance from internationally renowned experts along with details on etiology, pathogenesis, histopathology, and differential diagnosis - making this unique reference unparalleled in its wealth of clinical and histopathological material. The 5th Edition of this classic text is a must-have resource for practicing dermatopathologists and general pathologists who sign out skin biopsies. Covers pathological aspects of skin diseases in addition to providing superb descriptions and illustrations of their clinical manifestations - the only available reference with this unique combination of features. Integrates dermatopathology, clinical correlations, and clinical photographs throughout, and features bulleted lists of clinical features and differential diagnosis tables for easy reference. Contains more than 5,000 superb histopathologic and clinical illustrations that demonstrate the range of histologic manifestations. Brings you fully up to date with key molecular aspects of disease, the capabilities and limitations of molecular diagnostics, and targeted/personalized medicine. Features up-to-date information on biologics, drug eruptions, and other developments in therapeutics. Helps you stay current with the latest diagnostic tumor markers and other new developments in immunohistochemistry. Includes a completely revised chapter on cutaneous lymphoma that reflects recent WHO-EORTC classification changes, as well as new coverage of sentinel lymph node biopsy for melanoma. Shares the knowledge of the main editor Dr. J. Eduardo Calonje, along with co-editors Thomas Brenn, and Alexander Lazar, and new co-editor Steven D. Billings who offers expertise on both dermatopathology and soft tissue tumors. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Weedon's Skin Pathology, Fifth ed. by James W. Patterson, 2020 Encyclopedic and authoritative, Weedon's Skin Pathology has earned outstanding reviews and accolades from practicing and trainee dermatopathologists, general pathologists, and dermatologists worldwide. The 5th Edition continues the tradition of excellence, helping you accurately and efficiently sign out challenging skin cases in everyday practice, while also keeping you up to date with recent advances in the field. This single-authored text provides comprehensive coverage of the full spectrum of dermatopathological entities, both inflammatory and neoplastic, highlighted by more than 1,200 large-sized, high-quality illustrations. Helps you arrive at the most accurate diagnoses possible by demonstrating what is seen through the microscope and identifying the characteristic features of the lesion - for established disorders, unusual and rare disease entities, and incompletely defined entities. Includes updated and expanded information on molecular diagnostics, including FISH (fluorescence in situ hybridization) techniques, plus new developments in molecular biology and molecular techniques, targeted-personalized medicine, and immunohistochemistry. Brings you fully up to date with carefully reviewed and streamlined introductory and basic science information and information on new entities since the previous edition. Presents even more key information in quick-reference formats such as tables and boxes that organize diseases into groups, synthesize diagnostic criteria, and list differential diagnoses. Identifies both important articles and more rare and unusual reports with remarkably authoritative, comprehensive, current, and relevant reference lists (over 35,000) for each entity. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Head & Neck

Atlas of Head and Neck Pathology, Fourth ed. by Bruce M. Wenig, 2024 With its consistent, practical organization and succinct bulleted format, Atlas of Head and Neck Pathology, 4th Edition, is an ideal resource for pathologists in training and in practice. High-quality illustrations with extensive figure legends depict the histological, immunohistochemical, cytologic and diagnostic imaging appearances of every type of head and neck pathology, while the user-friendly format allows for quick access to information. From cover to cover, this comprehensive reference is designed to help you effectively and accurately diagnose a wide range of head and neck disorders, improve your turnaround time when diagnosing a specimen, and facilitate clear reports on prognosis and therapeutic management options to surgical and medical colleagues.
Head and Neck Pathology, Third ed. by Lester D. R. Thompson; Justin A. Bishop, 2018 An essential foundation text for residents and pathologists, the third edition of Head and Neck Pathology, a volume in the Foundations in Diagnostic Pathology series, has been fully revised to include recent advances in the field. Featuring a highly templated, easy-to-use format and new information throughout, this practical, affordable resource by Drs. Lester D. R. Thompson and Justin A. Bishop is ideal for study and review as well as everyday clinical practice. Inclusion of a wide range of diagnoses in both head and neck and endocrine organ pathology. A focus on the specific features of selected non-neoplastic and neoplastic entities, including broad and in-depth differential diagnoses. Clinical and Pathologic Features summarized in quick-reference boxes for fast access to information. A highly templated format that includes pertinent clinical, imaging, and management/prognostic features; pathologic features; ancillary studies; differential diagnosis; and meaningfully chosen bibliography. Over a thousand full-color photographs illustrate important pathologic features, enabling you to form a differential diagnosis and compare your findings with actual cases. Contributions from internationally recognized expert pathologists, keeping you up to date with the latest information in the field. New criteria as established by the 2017 World Health Organization Classification of Head and Neck Tumours and the 2017 World Health Organization Classification of Endocrine Organ Tumours. A new oropharynx section, separated from the oral cavity. Inclusion of unique newly identified molecular information in many tumor entities. Coverage of NUT carcinoma, HPV-associated adenoid cystic-like carcinoma, sinonasal renal cell-like adenocarcinoma, SMARCB1 (INI-1) deficient sinonasal carcinoma, biphenotypic sinonasal sarcoma, neuroendocrine carcinomas, oropharyngeal carcinoma, polycystic disease and sclerosing polycystic adenosis, secretory carcinoma, cribriform adenocarcinoma of the minor salivary glands, variants of myoepithelioma, clear cell carcinoma, and changes in gnathic cysts classification. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Forensics

Clinical Forensic Medicine, 4th ed. by Margaret M. Stark (Ed.), 2020 This updated volume on clinical forensic medicine covers the topics required for forensic healthcare professionals working in general forensic medicine and sexual offence medicine. All chapters have been reviewed and revised to reflect how the provision of forensic medical services has changed since the previous edition with multidisciplinary teams working in the custodial environment, comprising doctors, nurses, and paramedics and those practitioners providing sexual offence examinations. New and updated topics include: the increasing importance of photo documentation by health care professionals; updated information on strangulation, torture; a review of bite mark injuries; the explosion of Novel Psychoactive Substances worldwide; the changing patterns of deaths in custody and deaths following police contact; and the introduction in various jurisdictions of legal limits for drugs based on zero tolerance or a risk based approach. Written by a team of experts, the new edition of this book is a valuable resource for forensic healthcare professionals including doctors, nurses and paramedics working in general forensic medicine and sexual offence medicine, as well as emergency physicians, pediatricians and gynaecologists.
Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease, 10th ed. by Vinay Kumar; Abul K. Abbas; Jon C. Aster, 2021 Readable and highly illustrated, Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease, 10th Edition presents an in-depth, state-of-the-art overview of human diseases and their cellular and molecular basis. This best-selling text delivers the latest, most essential pathology knowledge in a readable, interesting manner, ensuring optimal understanding of the latest basic science and clinical content. More than 1,000 high-quality photographs and full-color illustrations highlight new information in molecular biology, disease classifications, new drugs and drug therapies, and much more. This superb learning package also includes an enhanced eBook with a full complement of ancillary content on Student Consult. Access to this product, which may be at the discretion of your institution, is up to 3 years of online and perpetual offline access. Elsevier reserves the right to restrict or remove access due to changes in product portfolio or other market conditions. Provides uniquely authoritative and readable coverage, ideal for USMLE or specialty board preparation, as well as for coursework. Covers the hot topics you need to know about, including novel therapies for hepatitis C, classification of lymphomas, unfolded protein response, non-apoptotic pathways of cell death, coronavirus infections, liquid biopsy for cancer detection, regulation of iron absorption, clonal hematopoiesis and atherosclerosis, thrombotic microangiopathies, heparin-induced thrombocytopenias, inflammatory myopathies, genetic tools for treatment of cystic fibrosis, and many more. Uses an outstanding full-color, user-friendly design to simplify your study and quickly direct you to the information you need to know, with learning features such as boldface overviews at the beginning of each section, key concepts boxes, suggested readings, schematic diagrams that illustrate complex concepts, and new gross and microscopic figures for clarity of morphology. Brings you up to date with the latest information in molecular and genetic testing, mechanisms of disease, personalized medicine and its impact on treatment of human diseases, the role of microbiome and metabolome in non-communicable diseases, and much more. Provides access to a wealth of interactive ancillaries online: pathology case studies, videos, self-assessment questions, Targeted Therapy boxes that discuss drug therapy for specific diseases, interactive cases, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Spitz and Fisher's Medicolegal Investigation of Death by Werner U. Spitz (Editor); Francisco J. Diaz (Editor), 2020 This is not just a new edition but a different book, emphasizing trauma and wound analysis. The addition of a new co-editor, Dr. Francisco J. Diaz, has brought new ideas to this fifth edition. A chapter by Doctor Jan Leetsma, world-renowned neuropathologist, has also been included. Doctor Leetsma's vast experience in forensic neuropathology will certainly enhance this book. Several chapters have been eliminated that are no longer applicable or which are adequately covered in other publications. Over time, in the past 48 years, since this book was first published, Medicolegal Investigation of Death has been dubbed the "Bible of Forensic Pathology." The fifth edition includes over 600 case reports and hundreds of color photographs. The cases are from files the authors have personally handled. According to author Spitz, "We have found many times analysis of small wounds will lead to understanding of a giant case-like the case in Hawaii, where a body was found under a full-size van, with a thread mark on the cheek consistent with having been hit with a black pipe used for gas lines that were found in a bucket in the rear of the van. As it turned out, this was a murder, not an accident." The book is full of such cases. This book will help you understand the details of injuries and how a person was injured and how they died and how these injuries, perhaps at first blush possibly seemingly insignificant, can shed new light on a case. Medicolegal Investigation of Death now embraces not just basic forensic pathology but also includes death during restraint, conscious pain and suffering and new concepts related to the interpretation of injuries by detailed wound analysis. The continued use of simple, non-technical terminology makes this book a truly unique treatise and source of information.

Frozen Section

Biopsy Interpretation: the Frozen Section, 3rd ed. by Nicole A. Cipriani; Aliya N. Husain; Jerome B. Taxy, 2022 Offering expert guidance on the practical use of the frozen section in the management of clinical problems, Biopsy Interpretation: The Frozen Section, 3rd Edition, is a highly illustrated, authoritative reference on this intraoperative consultative option. New editor Dr. Nicole A. Cipriani, along with Drs. Aliya N. Husain, Jerome B. Taxy, and a team of expert contributing authors, focus not only on how to view and interpret a slide, but also when to do a frozen section. Fully up to date with extensive new content and images, this third edition emphasizes intraoperative consultation and patient management, explaining the role the general surgical pathologist can play in the treatment of patients. Focuses on the assets and limitations of the frozen section including the practical techniques of execution, interpretation, and the communication of results, with emphasis on the morphologic expertise of the surgical pathologist in standard hematoxylin and eosin sections and imprints. New or thoroughly updated content in multiple critical areas, including infectious disease, female genital tract, head and neck, bone and soft tissue, and CNS. Features more than 400 full-color illustrations (many of actual frozen sections, with artifacts), nearly 50 additional figures online, and bonus online videos.
Central Nervous System by Richard A. Prayson; Karl M. Napekoski; Philip T. Cagle (Series edited by), 2011 Frozen section of Neuropathology-related cases is performed while the patient is undergoing surgery. Intraoperative consultation is used to help guide intraoperative management of the case and to ensure that adequate and appropriate tissue has been obtained for purposes of making an accurate final diagnosis. Frozen section diagnosis is often a highly demanding situation for the pathologist, who must render a diagnosis quickly and provide sound guidance and advice. In addition to the need for rapid recall of differential diagnoses, there are many pitfalls and artifacts that add to the risk of frozen section diagnosis that are not present with permanent sections of fully processed tissue that can be examined in a more leisurely fashion. Most standard pathology textbooks focus primarily on permanent section material and largely ignore the topic of frozen section.The purpose of this volume is to add to the Frozen Section Library series and provide a convenient, user friendly handbook to assist in the evaluation of central nervous system related frozen sections. It provides a useful reference, organized around differential diagnoses, primarily by location in the central nervous system. The text will be illustrated with color pictures and include tables as appropriate. This text provides a valuable tool for the practicing surgical pathologist both in community and in academic centers as well as pathology residents and fellows in training when confronted with Neuropathology frozen section.
Frozen Section Pathology by Alain C. Borczuk (Editor); Rhonda K. Yantiss (Editor); Brian D. Robinson (Editor); Theresa Scognamiglio (Editor); Timothy M. D'Alfonso (Editor), 2021 This book provides guidance regarding the approach to common scenarios encountered in the frozen section laboratory while underscoring diagnostic pitfalls and providing the proper level of diagnostic information to ensure clear communication. Given the use of frozen section in molecular and research pathology, the text also serves as a guide for morphologic examination. Written by experts in the field, the book is organized according to organ system with additional chapters discussing the roles of digital pathology and molecular assays. Each chapter is extensively illustrated to highlight key points that facilitate interpretation and highlight areas for potential error. The goal of this book is to help trainees understand the need for mastery of this unique diagnostic tool, and to aid pathologists who cover frozen section convert practical information provided into diagnostic improvements. Frozen Section Pathology is a comprehensive and state-of-the-art review and serves as a valuable resource for the general surgical pathologist with frozen section responsibilities as well as surgeons who regularly utilize frozen section.
Intraoperative Consultation by Alberto M. Marchevsky; Bonnie Balzer; Fadi W. Abdul-Karim, 2014 This new volume in the Foundations in Diagnostic Pathology Series is a highly practical and easy-to-use medical reference book for effectively approaching intraoperative consultations. Ideal for practicing pathologists and their surgical colleagues, it describes the most efficient way to handle specimens, how to focus on the differential diagnosis, and the best methods for reporting findings. "I am utterly confident you will enjoy this edition and find innumerable pearls of diagnostic wisdom that will bolster your practice of intraoperative consultations." Foreword by: John R. Goldblum, Feb 2015 Take an integrated approach to intraoperative consultation with chapters that have been coauthored by both pathologists and surgeons. Grasp today's most up-to-date information for the pathologist and surgical team with a templated format that includes techniques of specimen collection, differential diagnosis, additional ancillary studies, terminology, and proper reporting. Effectively perform frozen sections with help from high-quality color illustrations, photomicrographs, and gross photography. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase.

Gastrointestinal

Biopsy Interpretation of the Gastrointestinal Tract Mucosa: Vol. 1 - Non-Neoplastic, 3rd ed. by Montgomery Voltaggio Staff; Elizabeth A. Montgomery; Lysandra Voltaggio, 2018 Biopsy Interpretation of the Gastrointestinal Tract Mucosa is your definitive bench reference for the diagnosis of these challenging specimens. One of the best-selling titles in the Biopsy Interpretation Series, its practical, richly illustrative coverage encompasses the most common mucosal biopsies from the esophagus, stomach, small intestine, large intestine, and anus, helping you to evaluate the full range of samples and recognize their distinguishing features. This volume focuses on non-neoplastic entities; Volume Two, also available, is your complete source on neoplastic gastrointestinal lesions. Key Features Successfully navigate both common and unusual issues that arise in the day-to-day interpretation of gastrointestinal biopsies. Entities covered in this volume include: Autoimmune gastritis, sexually transmitted infectious proctitis, inflammatory bowel disease and mimics, medication induced injury, and many others. Enhance your interpretation skills with valuable pearls and pitfalls at the beginning of each chapter. Compare your samples to hundreds of full-color illustrations that capture the characteristic appearance of most mucosal biopsies of the gastrointestinal tract.
Biopsy Interpretation of the Gastrointestinal Tract Mucosa: Vol 2 - Neoplastic, 3rd ed by Elizabeth A. Montgomery; Lysandra Voltaggio, 2018 Biopsy Interpretation of the Gastrointestinal Tract Mucosa is your definitive bench reference for the diagnosis of these challenging specimens. One of the best-selling titles in the Biopsy Interpretation Series, its practical, richly illustrative coverage encompasses the most common mucosal biopsies from the esophagus, stomach, small intestine, large intestine, and anus, helping you to evaluate the full range of samples and recognize their distinguishing features. This volume focuses on neoplastic entities; Volume One, also available, is your complete source on non-neoplastic gastrointestinal lesions. Key Features Successfully navigate both common and unusual issues that arise in the day-to-day interpretation of gastrointestinal biopsies. Entities covered in this volume include: Barrett esophagus, mesenchymal neoplasms such as GIST, schwannoma, and benign fibroblastic polyp, hereditary cancer syndromes, and many more. Enhance your interpretation skills with valuable pearls and pitfalls at the beginning of each chapter. Compare your samples to hundreds of full-color illustrations that capture the characteristic appearance of most mucosal biopsies of the gastrointestinal tract.
Diagnostic Pathology: Gastrointestinal, 3rd ed. by Joel K. Greenson, 2019 Covering all aspects of gastrointestinal pathology, this award-winning volume in the Diagnostic Pathology series is an excellent point-of-care resource for pathologists at all levels of experience and training-both as a quick reference and as an efficient review to improve knowledge and skills. This updated third edition is an easy-to-use, one-stop reference for the entire GI system, offering a templated, highly formatted design; concise, bulleted text; and superior color images throughout, enabling you to arrive at the correct diagnosis and prepare actionable, useful reports. Provides comprehensive coverage with the necessary tools to make a comprehensive diagnostic workup Incorporates significant changes in the AJCC cancer staging of gastrointestinal tumors Provides details on PD-L1 (immune checkpoint inhibitor) therapy, new types of colitis, and molecular biology of GI tract tumors as it relates to precision medicine and targeted therapy Discusses timely topics such as GAPP, a newly described form of gastric polyposis that leads to cancer; the increasing complexity of large B-cell lymphomas and which immunostains and molecular tests to order for proper classification and therapy; Immune Modulator therapy effect, which can closely mimic IBD; and newly described polyposis syndromes, such as mixed and serrated polyposis Features more than 2,500 annotated images throughout, including gross pathology, a wide range of stains, and detailed medical illustrations, depicting virtually any GI specimen you're likely to see 2015 BMA Medical Book Awards 1st Prize Award Winner in Pathology Category (previous edition)
Surgical Pathology of the GI Tract, Liver, Biliary Tract and Pancreas by Robert D. Odze; John R. Goldblum, 2022 Unparalleled in scope and content, Surgical Pathology of the GI Tract, Liver, Biliary Tract and Pancreas provides the most relevant and up-to-date clinical, etiologic, molecular, and therapeutic management information for surgical pathologists in training and in practice. The fully revised 4th Edition of this award-winning title offers a wealth of information in this fast-changing field, including recent advances in molecular biology and immunohistochemistry, in a clearly written, well-structured manner that is easy to read and navigate. This one-stop reference for the entire gastrointestinal system enables you to improve turnaround time when diagnosing a specimen and to clearly report on the prognosis and therapeutic management options to surgical and medical colleagues. Covers the latest developments in molecular technologies and immunohistochemical markers to provide useful diagnostic and prognostic information and inform therapeutic decisions.  Provides all the necessary tools to make a comprehensive diagnostic workup, including data from ancillary techniques and molecular findings whenever appropriate.  Incorporates more than 3000 high-quality color illustrations to help you recognize and diagnose any tissue sample under the microscope.  Reviews next-generation sequencing (NGS) to help identify targetable mutations in gastrointestinal tract tumors and provide more accurate classification and precision therapies.  Features extensive tables, graphs, and flowcharts to help you effectively grasp complex topics and streamline your decision-making.  Helps you avoid diagnostic errors with practical advice on pitfalls in differential diagnosis.  Incorporates the latest WHO guidelines throughout.  Winner of the 2015 BMA Medical Book Awards First Prize Award in Pathology.  Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access an image bank, as well as all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Pathology of Pediatric Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease, Second ed. by Pierre Russo (Editor); Eduardo D. Ruchelli (Editor); David A. Piccoli (Editor), 2014 Pathology of Pediatric Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease provides the pediatric pathologist, the GI or general pathologist, and the pediatric gastroenterologist with the most complete and current reference on the subject. With an emphasis on clinical-pathological correlation, the book includes in-depth discussions on disorders and issues that are frequently encountered but for which up-to-date information is often not readily available, as well as infrequent disorders unique or specific to children that are not covered in standard texts. Among the topics considered are malabsorption and motility disorders, immunodeficiencies, including AIDS, developmental malformations, food allergies, cystic diseases of the liver, hepatic tumors, and esophageal and pancreatic disorders. Many new illustrations and electron micrographs are included in this edition, and the high-quality endoscopic and radiographic images permit ready correlation with the pathologic principles under discussion.

Genitourinary

Genitourinary Pathology, Second ed. by Ming Zhou; Cristina Magi-Galluzzi, 2015 Genitourinary Pathology, by Drs. Ming Zhou and Cristina Magi-Galluzzi, a volume in the ;Foundations in Diagnostic Pathology Series,packs all of today's most essential information on genitourinary pathology into a compact, high-yield format! Well-organized and segmented by type of infectious organism, the book's pragmatic approach complemented by abundant full-color, high-quality photomicrographs and clinical photos, and at-a-glance tables makes it easy to access ;the information you need to quickly and accurately detect and identify molecular and genetic mechanisms of disease. "A useful general textbook of GU pathology." Reviewed by: Pathlab.org, March 2015 "I truly believe the second edition improves on what was already an outstanding book, and I am confident you will enjoy the latest edition of the Foundations in Diagnostic Pathology series." Foreword by: John R. Goldblum, MD, June 2015 Easily review normal histology before examining abnormal findings so you can avoid false positives. Gain a superb visual understanding of important histologic features with hundreds of full-color illustrations representing a wide variety of pathologic lesions. Benefit from the same highly practical format as other titles in this series: consistent headings throughout, summary boxes for pathologic and clinical features, high quality photomicrographs and clinical photos, and a logical organization by type of infectious organism. Avoid incorrect diagnoses with a separate section on artifacts and pitfalls that highlights common problems you may encounter. Get up-to-date, comprehensive coverage of the field, including new renal cell carcinoma subtypes and intraductal carcinoma of the prostate; newer immunohistochemical and molecular markers; and updates to the Gleason Grading system for prostate cancer, Fuhrman Grading system for renal cell carcinoma, and TNM classification for GU malignancies. Access the fully searchable contents of the book at Expert Consult. The Foundations in Diagnostic Pathology Series answers the call for fresh, affordable, and easy-to-use guidance. Each region-specific volume provides all of the most essential information on the pathologic entities encountered in practice. Series Editor: John R. Goldblum, MD, FACP, FASCP, FACG
Biopsy Interpretation of the Prostate, Sixth ed. by Andres Matoso; Jonathan I. Epstein, 2021 Part of the highly regarded Biopsy Interpretation Series, this fully revised volume is your definitive guide to mastering biopsy pathology interpretation for prostate cancer care. Biopsy Interpretation of the Prostate, 6th Edition, provides superbly illustrated guidance from a top expert in the field, guiding you through the best utilization of H&E microscopy as well as the latest immunohistochemical markers in order to deliver accurate, reliable diagnoses. Hundreds of full-color illustrations depict the full range of benign and malignant prostatic entities.   Focuses on practical, need-to-know information regarding the diagnosis and prognosis of prostate cancer obtained on biopsy, addressing both common and unusual issues that arise in day-to-day practice. Provides new information on noninvasive lesions (HGPIN and intraductal carcinoma), clinical correlates with biopsy, and practical molecular findings. Shows how to critically use adjunctive tests to both diagnose limited prostate cancer and avoid overdiagnosing mimickers of prostate cancer. Emphasizes the newest updates in prostate cancer grading so that you can provide the most accurate prognostication in your biopsy reports. Features 1800 images online, as well as a 50-question test bank for self-assessment and review. Enrich Your Ebook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s),such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook,powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.

Gynecologic

Atlas of Gynecologic Surgical Pathology, Fourth ed. by Philip B. Clement; Jennifer Stall; Robert H. Young, 2020 Comprehensive in scope and easy to use, Atlas of Gynecologic Surgical Pathology, 4th Edition, provides the current, authoritative information you need to effectively sign out cases in female genital pathology. In this 4th Edition, internationally renowned authors Drs. Philip B. Clement and Robert H. Young are joined by new co-author Dr. Jennifer Stall to continue this bestselling atlas's tradition of excellence. Hundreds of superb pathologic images, diagnostic pearls, and fully updated content make this practical, bench-side resource ideal for minimizing risks in reporting both routine and difficult cases. Comprehensively discusses the differential diagnosis of female genital tract neoplasms and their many mimics from the perspective of their varied microscopic features. Highlights important aspects of the clinical background, including age of patient, history of other tumors, and distribution of disease. Stresses helpful aspects of gross features and the importance of thorough sampling. Emphasizes practically important, immunohistochemical findings relevant to establishing the correct diagnosis. Includes newly described variants and new histologic entities. Considers molecular aspects of the entities discussed.' Includes the latest classification and staging systems for gynecologic diseases and disorders, with up-to-date information on staging. Includes hundreds of high-quality pathologic images, including new images contributed by Dr. Jennifer Stall from her review of the late Dr. Robert E. Scully's vast collection of cases. Features tables listing differential diagnoses of each tumor and tumor-like entity to help you identify key points to consider in problem areas. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Blaustein's Pathology of the Female Genital Tract, Seventh ed. by Robert J. Kurman (Editor); Lora Hedrick Ellenson (Editor); Brigitte M. Ronnett (Editor), 2019 Since the publication of the 1/e in 1977, Blaustein's Pathology of the Female Genital Tract has consolidated its position as the leading textbook of gynecological pathology. An essential reference for all pathologists and residents, this thoroughly updated Seventh Edition includes more than 1400 illustrations in color, informative tables and 22 revised chapters written by internationally recognized experts. Discussion of each specific entity is organized to include general information, etiology, and epidemiology followed by clinical features, pathologic findings, differential diagnosis, clinical behavior, and treatment. This clear organization is applied throughout the book and allows the reader to quickly access key information in every chapter. Blaustein's Pathology of the Female Genital Tract remains the gold-standard reference for practicing pathologists and trainees, as well as for obstetric/gynecology practitioners and residents.  Please find the index under "Back Matter" freely available on SpringerLink https://link.springer.com/referencework/10.1007%2F978-3-319-46334-6.
Diagnostic Pathology: Gynecological by Marisa R. Nucci; Esther Oliva, 2019 Part of the highly regarded Diagnostic Pathology series, this updated volume by Drs. Marisa R. Nucci and Esther Oliva is an ideal point-of-care reference for the accurate diagnosis of the full range of nonneoplastic and neoplastic conditions of the female genital tract, including common and uncommon entities. Concise, focused chapters, supported by tables, diagrams, and photographs, keep you up to date with evolving changes in the understanding of the pathobiology of common gynecologic tumors. This revised edition is ideal for pathologists at all levels of experience and training for use as a quick reference and as an efficient review to improve knowledge and skills. Coverage of all frequently encountered conditions, plus extensive coverage of uncommonly discussed topics such as inflammatory diseases of the vulva by experts in dermatopathology Logically organized into six easy-to-reference anatomic sections: Vulva, vagina, uterus, ovary, fallopian tube and broad ligament, and peritoneum Time-saving reference features include bulleted text, tables of diagnostic criteria, annotated images, Key Facts boxes, and an extensive index Thoroughly updated content includes new terminology (including that from the WHO and LAST), new entities, updated molecular data, and new classifications of endocervical, endometrial, and ovarian cancer as well as uterine mesenchymal neoplasia More than 2,100 superb images, including many new gross and microscopic pathology images, depict both classic and variant morphologic findings as well as diagnostically relevant immunohistochemical and molecular findings Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase.

Hepatobiliary

Practical Hepatic Pathology: a Diagnostic Approach, Second ed. by Romil Saxena, 2018 A volume in the popular Pattern Recognition Series, Practical Hepatic Pathology: A Diagnostic Approach features completely updated and reorganized content, resulting in a truly practical guide to understanding liver pathology. Dr. Romil Saxena presents interpretation of liver biopsies according to a pattern-based approach that begins with recognition of the predominant histological pattern of injury, followed by identification of secondary features and appropriate work-up that lead you away from pitfalls to the best diagnosis. Unique "visual index" at the beginning of the book references the exact chapter and specific page needed for in-depth diagnostic guidance. Superb, high-quality, full-color images illustrate pathognomonic features and common variations. Features comprehensive information on major adult and childhood liver diseases, hepatic neoplasms and pre-neoplastic nodules, including clinical features, laboratory tests, imaging findings and differential diagnosis. Coverage of the clinical aspects of liver transplantation allows you to understand the pathology and practice of this procedure. Virtual Microscope provides your own personal set of over 300 liver slides accessible anywhere, any time on your favorite digital device. Navigate around and zoom in and out to savor these exceptionally high quality whole slide images covering everything from the normal liver to rare challenging cases. New section on Evolving Concepts keeps you abreast of new paradigms in liver diseases such as reversal of fibrosis, heterogeneity of cirrhosis, and biphenotypic primary liver cell carcinoma. Reorganized Table of Contents is even more intuitive. Expert Consult eBook version is included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book across digital platforms.
Surgical Pathology of the GI Tract, Liver, Biliary Tract and Pancreas by Robert D. Odze; John R. Goldblum, 2022 Unparalleled in scope and content, Surgical Pathology of the GI Tract, Liver, Biliary Tract and Pancreas provides the most relevant and up-to-date clinical, etiologic, molecular, and therapeutic management information for surgical pathologists in training and in practice. The fully revised 4th Edition of this award-winning title offers a wealth of information in this fast-changing field, including recent advances in molecular biology and immunohistochemistry, in a clearly written, well-structured manner that is easy to read and navigate. This one-stop reference for the entire gastrointestinal system enables you to improve turnaround time when diagnosing a specimen and to clearly report on the prognosis and therapeutic management options to surgical and medical colleagues. Covers the latest developments in molecular technologies and immunohistochemical markers to provide useful diagnostic and prognostic information and inform therapeutic decisions.  Provides all the necessary tools to make a comprehensive diagnostic workup, including data from ancillary techniques and molecular findings whenever appropriate.  Incorporates more than 3000 high-quality color illustrations to help you recognize and diagnose any tissue sample under the microscope.  Reviews next-generation sequencing (NGS) to help identify targetable mutations in gastrointestinal tract tumors and provide more accurate classification and precision therapies.  Features extensive tables, graphs, and flowcharts to help you effectively grasp complex topics and streamline your decision-making.  Helps you avoid diagnostic errors with practical advice on pitfalls in differential diagnosis.  Incorporates the latest WHO guidelines throughout.  Winner of the 2015 BMA Medical Book Awards First Prize Award in Pathology.  Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access an image bank, as well as all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Neuropathy

Neuropathology, Second ed. by Richard A. Prayson (Editor), 2012 Neuropathology, a title in the Foundations in Diagnostic Pathology series, provides all of the latest and most essential information on neoplastic and non-neoplastic conditions of the central and peripheral nervous systems in a high-yield, easy-to-use format. Renowned expert Richard A. Prayson, MD, along with a premier group of neuropathologists, provides unparalleled, expert guidance on the evaluation and diagnosis of a broad spectrum of neuropathic entities using morphologic, immunohistochemical, and molecular genetic techniques. The consistent, practical format with a wealth of illustrations, at-a-glance boxes, and tables, along with online access at www.expertconsult.com, make this title ideal for quick reference. Obtain expert, practical guidance on each pathologic entity, including clinical features, pathologic features (gross and microscopic), ancillary studies, differential diagnosis, and prognostic and therapeutic considerations. Reference key information quickly and easily with a consistent, user-friendly format and at-a-glance boxes and tables throughout the text. Recognize all the nuances of how pathological lesions present through over 800 full-color illustrations. Practice with confidence and overcome your toughest challenges with advice from the top minds in neuropathology. Make optimal use of the latest approaches for diagnosing fat and air emboli, vascular diseases, trauma, congenital malformations, perinatal diseases and phacomatoses, demyelinating and dysmyelinating disorders, neurodegenerative diseases, infections, metabolic and toxic disorders, glial and non-glial tumors, skeletal muscle and peripheral nerve disorders, and more. Prepare for the future of neuropathology with a new information dedicated to neurotransmitters as they relate to diseases such as Parkinson's and the development of new drugs for these disorders. Apply the latest molecular diagnostic techniques to recognize tumor entities added to the most recent WHO classification of tumors of the central nervous system. Access the fully searchable text online at www.expertconsult.com, along with a downloadable image bank, illustrations, boxes, tables, and more. A quick and easy to use reference, as a refresher or for those just starting out, on neuropathology.
Practical Surgical Neuropathology: a Diagnostic Approach, Second ed. by Arie Perry; Daniel J. Brat, 2018 Part of the in-depth and practical Pattern Recognition series, Practical Surgical Neuropathology, 2nd Edition, by Drs. Arie Perry and Daniel J. Brat, helps you arrive at an accurate CNS diagnosis by using a pattern-based approach. Leading diagnosticians in neuropathology guide you from a histological (and/or clinical, radiologic, and molecular) pattern, through the appropriate work-up, around the pitfalls, and to the best diagnosis. Almost 2,000 high-quality illustrations capture key neuropathological patterns for a full range of common and rare conditions, and a "visual index" at the beginning of the book directs you to the exact location of in-depth diagnostic guidance. Sweeping content updates keep you at the forefront of recent findings regarding pulmonary hypertension, pediatric lung disease, and all major neoplastic and non-neoplastic diseases of the lung. A new chapter on Pulmonary Function Testing for Pathologists brings you up to date with relevant aspects of these key tests. Improved pattern call-outs are now linked directly within the chapter, reinforcing the patterns for more efficient and complete understanding. A user-friendly design color-codes patterns to specific entities, and key points are summarized in tables, charts, and graphs so you can quickly and easily find what you are looking for. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.  Sweeping content updates. Patterns call-outs throughout. The patterns described initially in the text will be better linked directly within the chapter, reinforcing the patterns for further understanding.
Central Nervous System by Richard A. Prayson; Karl M. Napekoski; Philip T. Cagle (Series edited by), 2011 Frozen section of Neuropathology-related cases is performed while the patient is undergoing surgery. Intraoperative consultation is used to help guide intraoperative management of the case and to ensure that adequate and appropriate tissue has been obtained for purposes of making an accurate final diagnosis. Frozen section diagnosis is often a highly demanding situation for the pathologist, who must render a diagnosis quickly and provide sound guidance and advice. In addition to the need for rapid recall of differential diagnoses, there are many pitfalls and artifacts that add to the risk of frozen section diagnosis that are not present with permanent sections of fully processed tissue that can be examined in a more leisurely fashion. Most standard pathology textbooks focus primarily on permanent section material and largely ignore the topic of frozen section.The purpose of this volume is to add to the Frozen Section Library series and provide a convenient, user friendly handbook to assist in the evaluation of central nervous system related frozen sections. It provides a useful reference, organized around differential diagnoses, primarily by location in the central nervous system. The text will be illustrated with color pictures and include tables as appropriate. This text provides a valuable tool for the practicing surgical pathologist both in community and in academic centers as well as pathology residents and fellows in training when confronted with Neuropathology frozen section.
Neuropathology by David Ellison; Sebastian Brandner; Leila Maria Cardao Chimelli; Brian Harding; Seth Love; William H. Yong; James S. Lowe; Harry V. Vinters, 2013 Solve your toughest neurodiagnostic challenges with Neuropathology, 3rd Edition - the most information-packed, extensively illustrated neuropathology reference available! An expert author team presents more than 3,000 high-quality images - nearly all in full color - to provide unmatched visual guidance on the microscopic and gross pathologic presentation of a full range of neurologic diseases. Diagnose with confidence by consulting the most extensive published image collection in neuropathology, which includes an exceptional number of gross pathology images, a feature poorly represented in other texts. Access the complete contents online and download all the images at www.expertconsult.com. Understand the most recent developments in neurologic diseases and quickly identify important variants and outliers. Meet the needs of an aging population with expanded coverage of Alzheimer's and Parkinson's disease, motor neuron disorders, and prion diseases, as well as conditions such as multiple sclerosis. Apply the latest knowledge on molecular genetics and the growing role of genetic testing. Make optimal use of today's functional imaging techniques with new information on PET, fMRI, and SPECT. Stay current with the newest diagnostic protocols and guidelines as endorsed by professional societies and national bodies, the most recent WHO classification of central nervous system diseases, and checklists for the handling and diagnosis of CNS tumors and tumor-like lesions. Get outstanding visual guidance with new full-color images, and new and updated drawings that clarify complex entities and concepts.

Pulmonary

Biopsy Interpretation of the Lung, 2nd ed. by David Ilan Suster, 2021 Part of the popular Biopsy Interpretation Series, Biopsy Interpretation of the Lung, Second Edition, is a concise, practical resource with a strong focus on diagnosis and management-oriented ancillary testing. It provides superbly illustrated coverage of the full range of neoplasms and non-neoplastic entities arising within the lung. Focusing on the daily tasks and needs of the general pathologist, this updated Second Edition is an excellent bench reference for the interpretation of the most common lung biopsies and is also a helpful resource for surgical pathologists, pathology residents, pathology fellows, pulmonologists, pulmonology fellows, and thoracic surgeons. Addresses both common and unusual issues that arise in the day-to-day interpretation of lung biopsies, providing a solid approach to formulating surgical and medical decisions. Includes detailed chapters on interstitial lung disease, lung cancer, and neuroendocrine tumors. Covers the major clinical aspects of the various disease processes, plus histopathologic features and use of ancillary diagnostic techniques such as special stains, immunohistochemistry, electron microscopy, and molecular pathology. Discusses indications for different types of biopsies for various lesions, such as endoscopic vs. core needle vs. open/wedge biopsy. Brings you up to date with recent changes in terminology, diagnostic criteria and the development of newer molecular techniques that have changed the practice of pulmonary pathology. Features hundreds of new references, more than 500 color photomicrographs, and numerous tables that categorize lesions and present diagnostic criteria in a simple format.
Dail and Hammar's Pulmonary Pathology, Vol 2, Third ed. by Joseph F. Tomashefski (Editor); Philip T. Cagle (Other Adaptation by); Carol F. Farver (Other Adaptation by); Armando E. Fraire (Other Adaptation by), 2008 Dail and Hammar's Pulmonary Pathology has established itself as the definitive reference in the field. This third edition is now a two-volume, full color text. The new editorial board has continued to build upon the excellence previously achieved by reorganizing, expanding and substantially revising the text. This authoritative reference work has been updated to cover newly recognized entities and the latest advances in molecular diagnostic techniques. Abundantly illustrated with more than 2000 full color illustrations, this outstanding contribution to pathology literature is a must-have for the library of every surgical and pulmonary pathologist.
Dail and Hammar's Pulmonary Pathology Vol 1, Third ed. by Philip Cagle; Carol Farver (Other Adaptation by); Armando E. Fraire (Other Adaptation by); Joseph F. Tomashefski (Editor), 2008 Dail and Hammar's Pulmonary Pathology has established itself as the definitive reference in the field. This third edition is now a two-volume, full color text and has been thoroughly updated to cover newly recognized entities and the latest advances in molecular diagnostic techniques. It is abundantly illustrated with more than 2,000 illustrations in total, 1,900 of which are in full color. This first volume focuses on Nonneoplastic lung diseases, and Volume II covers Neoplastic Lung Diseases. It is an outstanding contribution to pathology literature and a must-have for the library of every surgical and pulmonary pathologist.
NON-NEOPLASTIC PULMONARY PATHOLOGY: AN ALGORITHMIC APPROACH TO HISTOLOGIC FINDINGS IN THE LUNG by Sanjay Mukhopadhyay
Pulmonary Pathology, Second ed. by Dani S. Zander; Carol F. Farver, 2018 Now fully revised to include recent advances in the field, the second edition of Pulmonary Pathology, a volume in the Foundations in Diagnostic Pathology series, is an essential foundation text for residents and pathologists. The popular template format makes it easy to use, and new information throughout brings you up to date with what's new in pulmonary pathology and pulmonary medicine, including molecular genetics and personalized medicine therapies. Practical and affordable, this resource by Drs. Dani S. Zander and Carol F. Farver is ideal for study and review as well as everyday clinical practice. Coverage of both common and rare neoplastic and non-neoplastic diseases of the lung and pleura. A focus primarily on diagnosis, with correlations to clinical and radiographic characteristics. Clinical and Pathologic Features summarized in quick-reference boxes for fast retrieval of information. Hundreds of photomicrographs and gross photographs - most in full color - depict important pathologic features, enabling you to form a differential diagnosis and compare your findings with actual cases. Contributions from internationally recognized pathologists, keeping you up to date with the latest information in the field. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Virtual Microscope slides now available online. Molecular genetics and personalized medicine therapies included throughout. New classification and approaches to diagnosis and management of pediatric diffuse lung diseases. 9/11-related lung disease and other recently described environmental lung diseases. Information on susceptibility genes for individual diseases. Viral linkage and new therapies for idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis, and well as information on endobronchial ultrasound-guided needle aspiration.
Pulmonary Pathology: Neoplastic and Non-Neoplastic by Philip T. Cagle (Editor); Keith M. Kerr (Editor), 2018 This book covers the complete field of pulmonary pathology - neoplastic and non-neoplastic - from Acinic cell tumor in the lung to Wegener`s Granulomatosis. The alphabetically arranged entries, each of which provides a detailed description of a specific pathological disease pattern, allow readers to quickly and easily find the information they need.

General Surgical Pathology

AJCC Cancer Staging Manual, Eight ed. by Mahul B. Amin (Editor-In-Chief); Frederick L. Greene (Editor); Stephen B. Edge (Editor); Richard L. Schilsky (Editor); Lauri E. Gaspar (Editor); Mary Kay Washington (Editor); Daniel C. Sullivan (Editor); Robert K. Brookland (Editor), 2017 Please visit www.cancerstaging.org for information about content updates and staging forms. The AJCC Cancer Staging Manual is used by physicians and health care professionals throughout the world to facilitate the uniform description and reporting of neoplastic diseases. Proper classification and staging of cancer is essential for the physician to assign proper treatment, evaluate results of management and clinical trials, and to serve as the standard for local, regional and international reporting on cancer incidence and outcome. Significantly expanded and developed by international disease site expert panels, the Eighth Edition AJCC Cancer Staging Manual brings together all the currently available knowledge on staging of cancer at various anatomic sites. In this edition, evidence-based TNM staging is supplemented, as appropriate, by selected molecular markers and newly acquired insights into the molecular underpinnings of cancer. This edition features 12 entirely new staging systems, a wide range of changed or new staging definitions, and a refined emphasis on a personalized-medicine approach. To enhance the print and electronic usability of the cancer staging forms, they are now available exclusively for access and downloading at www.cancerstaging.org. The Eighth Edition AJCC Cancer Staging Manual remains the gold standard reference for oncologists, surgeons, pathologists, radiologists, cancer registrars and medical professionals world-wide to ensure that all those caring for cancer patients are fully versed in the language of cancer staging.
Histology for Pathologists, Fifth ed. by Stacey Mills, 2020 Filled with more than 1,000 images, the latest edition of this award-winning comprehensive classic--written by anatomic pathologists for anatomic pathologists--has been updated with new information on surgical principles and techniques. Like previous editions, the book is designed to bridge the gap between normal histology and pathologic alterations. Now featuring the latest developments and advances made since the previous edition five years ago. Unique among pathology textbooks in using human--as opposed to animal--tissues for discussions on histology. Essential reading for all anatomic pathologists, and particularly helpful for pathology residents throughout their training. Chapters and sections organized by biological system as well as body region. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience: Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
The Practice of Surgical Pathology by Diana Molavi, 2018 In pathology education within North America, there exists a wide gap in the pedagogy between medical school and residency. As a result, the pathology intern often comes into residency unprepared. Completely illustrated in color, this book lays the foundation of practical pathology and provides a scaffold on which to build a knowledge base. It includes basic introductory material and progresses through each organ system. Within each chapter, there is a brief review of salient normal histology, a discussion of typical specimen types, a strategic approach to the specimen, and a discussion of how the multitude of different diagnoses relate to each other.
Rosai and Ackerman's Surgical Pathology - 2 Volume Set, 11th ed. by John R. Goldblum; Laura W. Lamps; Jesse McKenney; Jeffrey L. Myers, 2018 For over 60 years, residents and practicing pathologists have turned to Rosai and Ackerman's Surgical Pathology?for definitive guidance on every aspect of the field, delivered in a readable, easy-to-digest, and engaging manner. In the two-volume 11th Edition, a dynamic new author team ensures that this classic text retains its signature anecdotal style, while revising the content to bring you fully up to date. Widely used for board exam preparation, as well as for everyday reference in practice, this leading resource equips you to effectively and efficiently diagnose the complete range of neoplastic and non-neoplastic entities. Provides comprehensive coverage of the clinical presentation, gross and microscopic features, ultrastructural and immunohistochemical findings, prognosis, and therapy for virtually every pathologic lesion. Presents content now grouped in sections corresponding to organs and systems, making disease entities easier to locate. Includes state-of-the-art coverage of the latest disease classifications, molecular biology and pathology, immunohistochemistry, genetics, prognostic/predictive markers, and more - all highlighted by more than 3,000 full-color illustrations of commonly seen pathologies. Showcases the knowledge and expertise of an innovative new author team: prolific author John R. Goldblum, MD (GI pathology, soft tissue tumors); Laura Lamps, MD (hepatobiliary, endocrine tumors, infectious disease); Jesse McKenney, MD (GU/GYN, soft tissue tumors); and Jeff Myers, MD (pulmonary, pleural, mediastinum); accompanied by a select list of subspecialty contributors. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.