Color Atlas of Human Fetal and Neonatal Histology, 2nd ed. by
The first edition of Color Atlas of Fetal and Neonatal Histology was an important step in updating the histology texts available to practicing pathologists and pathology trainees who perform fetal autopsy and/or participate in research involving fetal tissues. It was a well-received volume that filled a major gap in pathology references related to normal histology and provided a comprehensive, state-of-the art review of fetal and neonatal histology. While the basics of fetal histology have changed little in the intervening years since publication of the first edition, this successor edition provides new insights and a fresh perspective. This book contains six new chapters including: blood vessels and lymphatics, external genitalia, eye, ear, skin, and maceration changes. Many existing chapters have also been expanded to address a greater breadth of fetal and neonatal histology such as postnatal testis development and the cardiac conduction system. The "Special Considerations" sections were also expanded in many chapters to address particularly problematic issues within individual organ systems. The book reviews the histology of the major organ systems in the fetus and neonate and provides detailed images, up-to-date references, and practical guidelines for identifying tissues across all gestational ages of development. The second edition of Color Atlas of Fetal and Neonatal Histology serves as the ultimate go-to resource for pathologists and researchers dealing with, and interested in, fetal and neonatal histology. It provides a comprehensive summary of the current status of the field with excellent and extensive illustrative examples that help guide the clinical study of fetal and neonatal histology and stimulate investigative efforts with fetal tissue.
Handbook of Pediatric Autopsy Pathology, Second ed. by
Pathologists have long recognized that pediatric autopsy requires great care in technique and dissection to ensure that easily overlooked malformations are recognized and accurate diagnoses are made. The highly experienced authors have created a new edition of Handbook of Pediatric Autopsy Pathology, a comprehensive reference guide to the actual performance of the pediatric autopsy and the optimal recognition and interpretation of pathologic findings. The Handbook of Pediatric Autopsy Pathology, Second Edition covers the spectrum of pediatric pathology with particular reference to those conditions that can be identified at autopsy. New and updated material includes microbiological studies, particularly with the advent of newly described micro-organisms causing disease. The volume also addresses new developments in metabolic diseases, new techniques of ultrasound imaging, and specialized laboratory testing. Furthermore, the book provides a wealth of practical information and bibliographic citations throughout, new copious illustrations and line drawings, numerous standard reference tables, and appendices at the end of multiple chapters. Authored by authorities in the field, Handbook of Pediatric Autopsy Pathology, Second Edition is a valuable resource that will assist general and pediatric pathologists, neonatologists, interns and residents in training, as well as specialists in cytogenetics and ultrasound technicians in understanding the manner and cause of death in its broadest and comprehensive sense.
Keeling's Fetal and Neonatal Pathology by
This sixth edition provides an overview of fetal and neonatal pathology through a system-based approach. This book contains new chapters on immunology, with a continued focus on molecular aspects of pathology in the perinatal setting. The general principles of perinatal pathology and their clinical situations are also discussed, along with specific pathological entities and their organ systems. Keeling's Fetal and Neonatal Pathology, sixth edition aims to help the reader treat common problems through anatomical pathology findings and is relevant to practicing and trainee pathologists, obstetricians, maternal and fetal medicine specialists, neonatologists, and pediatricians.
Pathology of Childhood and Adolescence by
This book covers the full range of pathologic conditions encountered during childhood and youth, including tumors and tumor-like conditions of all organ systems, with direct links to developmental biology pathways and genetics. It provides a user-friendly road map to the main diagnostic criteria and combines an organ-related approach with an explanation of the diagnostic approaches to various specific diseases and syndromes, including sequential segmental analysis of congenital heart disease. More than 500 new full-color macro- and microphotographs using more than 500 multi-photographic panels are included to provide a realistic basis for comparison macroscopically and under the lens, and summarizing tables highlight key information in the concise form required for at-a-glance review. Pathologists will find the book very helpful when signing out complex and challenging cases, and it will also prove invaluable for exam preparation and continuing medical education.
Pathology of Heart Disease in the Fetus, Infant and Child by
In recent years, there have been no books published on paediatric cardiac pathology despite enormous developments in genetics, a marked explosion of paediatric transplant programmes, surges in knowledge of fetal cardiac pathology and understanding of congenital heart disease, and the emergence of a flourishing cardiac imaging discipline. This book will be the first unified and comprehensive source of reference for childhood heart disease, covering the full field of paediatric cardiac pathology, in one volume. Comprising the twenty-five year experience of a single pathologist, the full spectrum of the pathology of heart disease, from the fetus to the adult, is uniquely presented here. Richly illustrated, with over 800 colour photographs, general and paediatric pathologists alike will be able to examine the microscopic features of the conditions described, with a specific focus on metabolic disease for practitioners worldwide.
Pathology of Pediatric Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease, Second ed. by
Pathology of Pediatric Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease provides the pediatric pathologist, the GI or general pathologist, and the pediatric gastroenterologist with the most complete and current reference on the subject. With an emphasis on clinical-pathological correlation, the book includes in-depth discussions on disorders and issues that are frequently encountered but for which up-to-date information is often not readily available, as well as infrequent disorders unique or specific to children that are not covered in standard texts. Among the topics considered are malabsorption and motility disorders, immunodeficiencies, including AIDS, developmental malformations, food allergies, cystic diseases of the liver, hepatic tumors, and esophageal and pancreatic disorders. Many new illustrations and electron micrographs are included in this edition, and the high-quality endoscopic and radiographic images permit ready correlation with the pathologic principles under discussion.
Pediatric Head and Neck Pathology by
This unique reference provides a comprehensive guide to pediatric head and neck pathology in patients up to the age of 21. Chapters take a clinicopathologic approach, offering insight into the pathobiology, diagnosis and treatment of both common and rare disorders. Imaging studies and immunohistochemical techniques are discussed alongside accepted and emerging molecular tools. The authors' holistic approach ensures coverage of the surgical management principles that pathologists must understand, particularly when called upon to diagnose odontogenic tumors and cysts, as well as benign and malignant salivary gland neoplasms. The book is richly illustrated in color throughout. Each copy of the printed book is packaged with a password, providing online access to the book's text and image library. Written by leaders in head and neck pathology and surgery, this is an essential guide to solving the diagnostic dilemmas that pathologists and clinicians encounter in the assessment of pediatric head and neck disease.
Pediatric Malignancies : Pathology and Imaging by
Pediatric tumors comprise a unique set of diseases that may pose diagnostic challenges to pathologists, oncologists, and pediatricians. Pediatric Tumor Pathology: A Practical Approach serves as a state-of-the-art reference for understanding the fundamental biology and diagnostic aspects of pediatric tumors. This volume stands apart from other books covering pediatric neoplasia by providing an in-depth analysis of the pathogenetic and diagnostic aspects of the most commonly encountered tumors. The volume covers the new advances in our understanding of the molecular processes underlying a number of pediatric tumors and the novel, sophisticated diagnostic tools that have now become an integral part of practice standards. Pediatric Tumor Pathology: A Practical Approach will be of great value for many practicing clinicians and pathologists for characterizing and diagnosing childhood tumors. Oncologists, radiologists, surgeons and pediatricians will also find this book a unique and valuable resource for understanding the biological and diagnostic aspects of pediatric tumor pathology.
