For more Critical Care resources, search BOTH links below:
| Find Journals and E-Books |
| Library Catalog |
Atlas of Critical Care Procedures by
This atlas is designed to provide an all-inclusive resource that describes step by step how to perform the essential bedside procedures required to provide optimal care to the critically ill patient. Detailed descriptions of these procedures, with sequential photographs depicting each critical step, provide an in depth understanding of the anatomy, critical technical steps and common pitfalls to both military and civilian trainees. For the advanced professional operator, this atlas will provide a rapid refresher of the critical steps and is an excellent teaching resource, based on the decades of collective experience accumulated by the authors. The top quality photographs of perfused and ventilated cadavers makes this atlas a standard reference for surgeons, critical care physicians, nurses and all critical care professionals.
Cardiac Intensive Care by
Using a multidisciplinary, team-oriented approach, this unique title expertly covers all the latest approaches to the assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of patients with critical cardiac illness. Led by Dr David L. Brown, a stellar team of authoritative writers guides you through cardiac pathophysiology, disease states presenting in the CICU, and state-of-the-art advanced diagnosis and therapeutic techniques. A visually appealing format, new chapters, and thorough updates ensure that you stay on the cutting edge of this rapidly advancing field. Discusses recent changes in cardiac intensive care, including new care paradigms, new mechanical support modalities, and new therapies and interventions. Contains 11 new chapters: Palliative Care, Temporary Pacemaker Insertion, Pericardiocentesis, Distributive Shock, Electrical Storm, Cardiopulmonary Cerebral Resuscitation after Cardiac Arrest, Temporary Mechanical Circulatory Support Devices, Cardiorenal Syndrome, Fulminant Myocarditis, Stress-Induced Cardiomyopathy, Diagnosis and Treatment of Unstable Supraventricular Tachycardia. Online access features heart sounds and murmurs to accompany the chapter on history and physical examination, videos of clinical images and key procedures, frequently updated information on late-breaking clinical trials, reviews of new research publications, and more. Concisely yet thoroughly covers acute and severe heart failure, chronic pulmonary hypertension, life-threatening dysrhythmias, aortic dissection, and other cardiac conditions as they relate to intensive care. Explains drug therapy for key cardiac drugs, such as inotropes, vasodilators, anti-arrhythmics, diuretics, anticoagulants, and anti-platelets, and discusses important drug interactions. Ideal for all healthcare professionals involved in cardiac intensive care, including intensivists, cardiologists, cardiac surgeons, residents, fellows, cardiac nurses, respiratory therapists, physical therapists, and nutritionists. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices and contains an up to date collection of all relevant ACC/AHA and ESC guidelines.
Critical Care by
A practical, concise, and up-to-date reference for the ICU LANGE Critical Care delivers concise, evidenced-based, and highly clinical coverage of the surgical and medical aspects of critical care. The book provides basic fundamentals, applications and insights that will be of lasting value to all ICU physicians, nurses, advanced care providers, and allied personnel who care for the critically ill and injured patients in all ICUs. Noteworthy features include a well-illustrated Clinical Care Procedures section, high-yield summaries of the full spectrum of essential critical care topics, and the inclusion of "Controversies" chapters throughout each section addressing some of the ambiguous aspects of critical care. This timely book also covers the growing scope of critical care provided outside the ICU and the increasing importance of critical care services within the hospital structure. In keeping with the multi-professional nature of critical care delivery, several chapters are authored or coauthored by critical care fellows, ICU nurses, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, and pharmacists. FEATURES: * Includes both the surgical and medical aspects of critical care, making it valuable to the intensivist working in the medical, surgical, or neurological ICU * Utilizes numerous visual elements such as figures, tables, and algorithms * Appendix contains valuable reference material and formulas, including a chapter on bedside statistics * Excellent primer for internal medicine and anesthesiology ICU rotations and great for board examination review
Critical Care Emergency Medicine by
The groundbreaking text on critical care emergency medicine - updated with the latest evidence and recommendations Critical Care Emergency Medicine has become the standard reference for all clinicians who wish to understand the overlap between emergency medicine and critical care. Much like the field of emergency medicine itself, this text is a collaborative effort involving emergency physicians as well as clinicians from trauma, critical care, infectious diseases, and pulmonary medicine. Critical Care Emergency Medicine teaches emergency physicians everything they must know and do to better care for critically ill patients in an emergency department or to provide care in an ICU. Enhanced by numerous algorithms that speed decision making and full-color illustrations demonstrating anatomy and technique, this book is an essential practice tool. Incorporating the wisdom of both academic and community emergency medicine experts, Critical Care Emergency Medicine, Second Edition delivers expert coverage of: * Airway and Ventilatory Support * Pulmonary Disorders * Cardiovascular Disorders * Gastrointestinal and Renal Disorders * Neurologic and Neurosurgical Disorders * Hematologic and Endocrine Disorders * Infectious Disorders * Toxicologic Conditions * Ultrasonography in Critical Care * Special Considerations (including nutritional support, end-of-life issues, fluid management, and more) If you are looking for an up-to-date, evidence-based text designed to take your critical care to the next level, your search ends here.
Critical Care Medicine by
Now completely revised to bring you up to date with the latest advances in the field, Critical Care Medicine: Principles of Diagnosis and Management in the Adult, 5th Edition, delivers expert, practical guidance on virtually any clinical scenario you may encounter in the ICU. Designed for intensivists, critical care and pulmonology residents, fellows, practicing physicians, and nurse practitioners, this highly regarded text is clinically focused and easy to reference. Led by Drs. Joseph Parrillo and Phillip Dellinger, the 5th Edition introduces numerous new authors who lend a fresh perspective and contribute their expertise to that of hundreds of top authorities in the field. Includes new chapters on current applications of bedside ultrasound in the ICU, both diagnostic and procedural; mechanical assist devices; and extra-corporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO). Contains new administrative chapters that provide important information on performance improvement and quality, length of stay, operations, working with the Joint Commission, and more. Features new videos and images that provide visual guidance and clarify complex topics. Keeps you up to date with expanded chapters on echocardiography in the ICU and valvular heart disease, including TAVR. Includes separate chapters on mechanical ventilation of obstructive airway disease and acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS) - including the many recent changes in approach to positive end expiratory pressure setting in ARDS. Covers key topics such as patient-ventilator synchrony and non-invasive ventilation for treating chronic obstructive pulmonary disease patients with acute respiratory failure. Reflects the recent literature and guidance on amount of fluids, type of fluid, vasopressor selection, mean arterial pressure target, and decision on steroid use in septic shock. Provides questions and answers in every chapter, perfect for self-assessment and review. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Critical Care Medicine by
With a full-color design and concise, easy-to-read chapters, Critical Care Medicine: The Essentials and a Bit More covers the core elements of critical care, with a unique focus on the pathophysiology underlying clinical disorders and how pathophysiologic concerns affect treatment options. There is much here that's new: brand-new content, expanded discussions, and more graphical elements than ever before. Chapters follow a consistent structural template, with discussions of diagnosis, instrumentation, treatment and management techniques, and more. Expertly and succinctly captures all the fundamentals of the field! Designed primarily for use by students and residents, but also helpful for anyone already in practice. Emphasizes the pathophysiologic elements and treatments of illness and injury. Now with updated drug info and more substantial coverage of interventional radiology, pregnancy care, and organization of critical care. Adds new, brief summaries that present opposing arguments of controversial points. Topics range from intubation, ventilation, and pharmacotherapy, as well as drug overdoses, sepsis, gastrointestinal bleeding, and other crisis care scenarios.
Essentials of Mechanical Ventilation by
The acclaimed application-based guide to adult mechanical ventilation --- updated to reflect the latest topics and practice guidelines This practical guide is written from the perspective of authors who have nearly 100 years' experience as clinicians, educators, researchers, and authors. Unlike other references on the topic, this resource is about mechanical ventilation rather than mechanical ventilators. It is written to provide a solid understanding of the general principles and essential foundational knowledge of mechanical ventilation as required by respiratory therapists and critical care physicians. To make it clinically relevant, Essentials of Mechanical Ventilation includes disease-specific chapters related to mechanical ventilation in these conditions. The Fourth Edition has been carefully updated throughout. New content includes coverage of mechanical ventilation of the obese patient and advanced monitoring procedures. Concepts such as driving pressure are included, and the content has been checked against the most recently published clinical practice guidelines. Essentials of Mechanical Ventilation, Fourth Edition is divided into four parts: Part One, Principles of Mechanical Ventilation describes basic principles of mechanical ventilation and then continues with issues such as indications for mechanical ventilation, appropriate physiologic goals, and ventilator liberation. Part Two, Ventilator Management, gives practical advice for ventilating patients with a variety of diseases. Part Three, Monitoring During Mechanical Ventilation, discusses blood gases, hemodynamics, mechanics, and waveforms. Part Four, Topics in Mechanical Ventilation, covers issues such as airway management, aerosol delivery, and extracorporeal life support.
Evidence-Based Practice of Critical Care by
Approach any critical care challenge using a practical, consistent strategy based on best practices with Evidence-Based Practice of Critical Care, 3rd Edition. Unique, question-based chapters cover the wide variety of clinical options in critical care, examine the relevant research, and provide recommendations based on a thorough analysis of available evidence. Drs. Clifford S. Deutschman and Patrick J. Nelligan, along with nearly 200 critical-care experts, provide a comprehensive framework for translating evidence into practice, helping both residents and practitioners obtain the best possible outcomes for critically ill patients. Covers a full range of critical care challenges, from routine care to complicated and special situations. Helps you think through each question in a logical, efficient manner, using a practical, consistent approach to available management options and guidelines. Features revised and updated information based on current research, and includes all-new cases on key topics and controversies such as the use/overuse of antibiotics, drug resistance in the ICU, non-invasive mechanical ventilation, frequency of transfusions, and duration of renal replacement therapies. Provides numerous quick-reference tables that summarize the available literature and recommended clinical approaches. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Handbook of Critical and Intensive Care Medicine by
The latest edition of this handbook is a concise yet comprehensive guide for attending physicians, fellows, residents, and students who cover the ICU. The chapters follow an outline format and are divided by organ system, including neurologic disorders and cardiovascular disorders, and special topics, such as environmental disorders, trauma, and toxicology. The handbook includes thoroughly updated chapters from the previous edition, alongside completely new content. Written by an authority in the field, the Handbook of Critical and Intensive Care Medicine, Fourth Edition is a valuable one-stop reference for every practitioner engaged in Critical Care Medicine across the world.
The ICU Book by
A fundamental and respected resource book in critical care, The ICU Book, Fourth Edition, continues to provide the current and practical guidance that have made it the best-selling text in critical care. The text addresses both the medical and surgical aspects of critical care, delivering the guidance needed to ensure sound, safe, and effective treatment for patients in intensive care%regardless of the specialty focus of the unit. Traditionally available as a printed textbook, the print version now comes with a completely revamped digital experience, powered by Inkling. Viewable through a browser on PC and Mac or as a download to your iOS tablet or smartphone, the digital version includes: The complete text with optimized navigation A powerful, index-based search function All referenced content is linked throughout for instant access Regular literature and commentary updates integrated into the text The ability to share notes with friends and colleagues
Intensive Care Unit Manual by
Intensive Care Unit Manual is a practical, hands-on, how-to manual that covers the full spectrum of conditions encountered in the ICU, guiding you step-by-step from your initial approach to the patient through diagnosis and treatment. Compact, affordable, and comprehensive, the ICU Manual puts all the critical care information you need right at your fingertips! Stay at the forefront of critical care with a practice-oriented, relevant, and well-illustrated account of the pathophysiology of critical disease, presented in a highly readable format. Gain valuable insight into the recognition, evaluation, and management of critical conditions such as respiratory, hemodynamic, and infectious diseases; management of ICU patients with special clinical conditions; cardiovascular, hematologic, and neurological disorders; poisoning and overdoses; trauma and burns; and much more! Grasp the latest developments in critical care with extensive updates and revisions to several key chapters, as well as brand-new chapters on Alcohol Withdrawal Syndromes; Acute Heart Failure Syndromes; Noninvasive Ventilation; and more ICU conditions. Understand and apply the most important ICU practices, including management of acute respiratory failure, mechanical ventilation, invasive hemodynamic monitoring, and the care of patients with special needs, AIDS, end-stage renal disease, or end-stage liver disease. Get convenient access to the full text and image library online at Expert Consult, in addition to online-only text, figures, and tables from the Alcohol Withdrawal Syndromes and Acute Heart Failure Syndromes chapters.
Intubating the Critically Ill Patient by
Intubating critically ill patients is a process that requires a well-thought-out, step-by-step plan, specific to each patient. This book teaches the steps necessary to predict, prepare, perform, and provide pre and post-intubation care. The focus of the book is not on how to intubate, but rather all the steps leading up to and after the tube goes in. From the EMS stretcher to the ICU bed, this book has easily accessible, practical information for these tenuous patients, and answers the who, what, where, when and how of airway management. Included are specific chapters on special patient populations outlining the process of intubating patients with neurologic injury, cardiovascular compromise, sepsis, trauma and those with obesity Intubating the Critically Ill Patient: A Step-by-Step Guide for Success in the ED and ICU is an essential resource for physicians, medical students, and allied health professionals in emergency medicine and intensive care settings.
Irwin and Rippe's Intensive Care Medicine by
With a focus on evidence-based, state-of-the-art information throughout, the eighth edition of Irwin and Rippe's Intensive Care Medicine offers authoritative guidance to the wide variety of specialty physicians and non-physicians practicing in the adult intensive care environment. This comprehensive textbook covers both the theoretical and practical aspects of the field, and has been completely updated to provide encyclopedic, interprofessional coverage to support practitioners in every area of this complex field. Features: Approaches intensive care from an interprofessional, collaborative perspective, encompassing anesthesia, surgery, trauma, and neurology, as well as cardiovascular and medical intensive care. Maintains a practical, clinically-oriented approach, with comprehensive sections on procedures, techniques, and ultrasound; minimally invasive monitoring; pharmacology, overdoses, and poisoning; infectious disease; transplantation; critical care consequences of agents of mass destruction; and many more. Features many new chapters, and an entirely new section on Palliative Care and Ethical Issues in the Critical Care Unit. Reflects the rising importance of point-of-care ultrasonography with five hours of expertly narrated video embedded into 23 relevant chapters, clearly depicting the ideal use of this tool for intensivists. Includes a section on ICU Design, Organization, Operation, and Outcome Measures that addresses important changes and advances regarding safety, clinical practice guidelines, decreasing the cost of care, tele-ICU, and more. Provides extensive updates reflecting advances in cardiovascular intensive care, surgical critical care, shock and trauma, and sepsis management. Includes recommendations reflecting randomized controlled clinical trials, summarized, when possible, in quick-reference tables throughout. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
Manual for Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine by
Clinical Practice Manual for Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine, by Judd W. Landsberg, MD, is a unique point-of-care manual that provides essential information on managing inpatients and outpatients with common, serious respiratory and internal medicine presentation and problems. Easy-to-follow diagnostic and therapeutic algorithms are accompanied by case-based illustrations encountered on a daily basis by attendings, fellows, residents, and students. The bulleted format, concise approach, and familiar examples provide a framework for effective teaching, learning, and patient care. Identifies common but important misconceptions that are regularly encountered in pulmonary and critical care training. Uses a concise, bulleted format throughout, helping you find key information quickly. Illustrates cases with primary data such as x-rays, monitor strips, ventilator wave forms, and other familiar documentation. Helps you develop your ability to effectively explain your thought process in the clinical setting to other practitioners at the bedside. Serves as a 'teachers guide' for clinician educators, organizing topics in an easy to teach fashion, amenable to 'chalk talks' and bedside didactics Provides focused discussions of basic physiology and pathophysiology related to pulmonary and critical care medicine. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Manual of Critical Care by
Based on the 4th edition of the renowned textbook of the same name, this softcover manual focuses on the information necessary to make clinical decisions in the ICU. It begins with a crucial section on responding to emergency situations in the ICU. It proceeds to cover the most relevant clinical infomation in all areas of critical care including critical care monitoring, techniques and procedures, essential physiologic concers, shock states, pharmacology, surgical critical care, and infectious diseases. The manual also contains thorough reviews of diseaes by organ system: cardiovascular diseases, repiratory disorders, neurologic and gastrointestinal disorders, renal, endocrine, skin and muscle diseases, and hematologic/ oncologic diseases. This essential new resource is written in an easy-to-read style that makes heavy use of bulleted lists and tables and features an all-new full color format with with a color art program. All critical care providers will find this a useful clinical resource.
Mount Sinai Expert Guides. Critical care by
Part of the Mount Sinai Expert Guide series, this outstanding book provides rapid-access, clinical information on all aspects of Critical Care with a focus on clinical diagnosis and effective patient management. With strong focus on the very best in multidisciplinary patient care, it is the ideal point of care consultation tool for the busy physician.
Oh's Intensive Care Manual by
For nearly 40 years, Oh's Intensive Care Manual has been the quick reference of choice for ICU physicians at all levels of experience. The revised 8th edition maintains this tradition of excellence, providing fast access to practical information needed every day in today's intensive care unit. This bestselling manual covers all aspects of intensive care in sufficient detail for daily practice while keeping you up to date with the latest innovations in the field. New coverage of the latest developments in ICU imaging techniques, including ultrasound. New information on the latest advances in ECMO (Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation) for cardiac and respiratory failure, ARDS, septic shock, neurologic disorders, muscle function, and hemodynamic therapy. New co-editor Dr. Jonathan Handy shares his knowledge and expertise on acid-base disturbances during critical illness, critical care transfers, intravenous fluid therapy, cardiovascular physiology, burn management, sepsis, and the immunological impact of surgery and burn injury. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Principles of Critical Care by
Quickly and accurately diagnose and treat the critically ill patient with guidance from the field's definitive text "...Clearly the finest textbook available in the field." -- Critical Care Medicine journal "...Very well done...unusually user-friendly...excellent...a significant contribution to the field. It should be placed not only in the critical care practitioner's library, but also in the rounds and nurses' conference rooms of critical care units." -- Journal of the American Medical Association Considered the field's definitive text, Principles of Critical Care offers unmatched coverage of the diagnosis and treatment of the most common problems encountered in the practice of critical care. Written by expert critical care physicians who are also experienced teachers, the book features an organization, thoroughness, and clarity not found in any other reference on the topic. Within its pages, you will find comprehensive, authoritative discussion of every aspect of critical care medicine essential to successful clinical practice, ranging from basic principles to the latest technologies. The fourth edition is highlighted by: A new full-color presentation NEW CHAPTERS on ICU Ultrasound, Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation, ICU-Acquired Weakness, Abdominal Compartment Syndrome, and Judging the Adequacy of Intravascular Volume The addition of many new figures and diagnostic and treatment algorithms In-depth, up-to-date descriptions of the unique presentation, differential diagnosis, and management of specific critical illnesses A logical organ system approach that simplifies the search for thorough and practical information necessary to manage a patient's specific condition The integration of pathophysiology throughout the text Content that reflects today's interdisciplinary approach to critical care medicine *Reviews are of previous editions
Textbook of Critical Care by
Bridging the gap between medical and surgical specialties in critical care, Textbook of Critical Care, 8th Edition, offers a practical, multidisciplinary approach to the effective management of adult and pediatric patients in the ICU. An outstanding editorial team, led by world-renowned intensivist Dr. Jean-Louis Vincent, assisted by Dr. Frederick A. Moore and new editors Drs. Rinaldo Bellomo and John J. Marini, provides the evidence-based guidance you need to overcome a full range of practice challenges. A full-color art program, relevant basic science and key summary points in every chapter, and expert contributing authors from all over the world make this an indispensable resource for every member of the critical care team. Provides a concise, readable understanding of the pathophysiology of critical illness and new therapeutic approaches to critical care. Addresses both medical and surgical aspects in critical care for adult and pediatric patients in one comprehensive, easy-to-use reference. Shares the knowledge and expertise of the most recognized and trusted leaders in the field, with more international contributing authors than in previous editions. Covers new information on procedural and diagnostic ultrasound, prone positioning, ECMO, and VADs. Discusses key topics such as organ support, telemedicine, echocardiography, antibiotic stewardship, antiviral agents, coagulation and anti-coagulation, and more. Features a wealth of tables, boxes, algorithms, diagnostic images, and key points that clarify important concepts and streamline complex information for quick reference. Includes companion videos and exclusive chapters online that cover commonly performed procedures. Takes a multidisciplinary approach to critical care, with contributions from experts in anesthesia, surgery, pulmonary medicine, and pediatrics. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Trauma, Ninth Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The world's leading resource for to diagnosing and treating any injury--quickly, safely, and effectively Unparalleled in its breadth and depth of expertly crafted content, Trauma takes you through the full range of injuries you are likely to encounter. With a full-color atlas of anatomic drawings and surgical approaches, this trusted classic provides thorough coverage of kinematics and the mechanisms of trauma injury, the epidemiology of trauma, injury prevention, the basics of trauma systems, triage, and transport, and more. It then reviews generalized approaches to the trauma patient, from pre-hospital care and managing shock, to emergency department thoracotomy and the management of infections; delivers a clear, organ-by-organ survey of treatment protocols; and shows how to handle specific challenges in trauma―including alcohol and drug abuse, and combat-related wounds―in addition to post-traumatic complications such as multiple organ failure. *500 photos and illustrations *Color atlas *Numerous X-rays, CT scans, and algorithms *High-yield section on specific approaches to the trauma patient *A-to-Z overview of management of specific traumatic injuries *Detailed discussion of the management of complications
The Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management by
Manage airway emergencies with confidence! The Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management is the world's most trusted reference on emergency airway management, and is the foundation text in the nationally recognized The Difficult Airway Course: Emergency(tm), The Difficult Airway Course: Critical Care(tm), and The Difficult Airway Course: EMS(tm). Its practical, hands-on approach provides all the concrete guidance you need to effectively respond to any airway emergency, whether in the emergency department, ICU, urgent care setting, pre-hospital environment, or anywhere else airway emergencies may occur. Apply the latest evidence-based approaches to all aspects of airway management.New chapters include Managing Retroglottic Devices, Controversies in EMS Airway Management, The Unstable Patient: Optimization for Emergency Airway Management, and Safe Extubation of the At-Risk Emergency Patient. Discover expanded coverage of preoxygenation techniques and comprehensive updates throughout. Efficiently overcome any challenge in airway management with the aid of step-by-step instructions, mnemonics, easy-to-follow algorithms, and rich illustrations. Glean expert insights from a brand-new editorial team led by Calvin Brown III, MD, who is Dr. Walls' colleague and prot#65533;g#65533;, and many of the same airway experts who teach The Difficult Airway Course(tm) - additionally, Dr. Ron Walls continues to actively author content within this edition! Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click See the inside front cover to find out how to access your eBook!
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Perioperative Medicine A-Z by
For 25 years Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Perioperative Medicine A-Z has provided a comprehensive resource of the relevant aspects of pharmacology, physiology, anatomy, physics, statistics, medicine, surgery, general anaesthetic practice, intensive care, equipment, and the history of anaesthesia and intensive care. Originally prepared as essential reading for candidates for the Fellowship of the Royal College of Anaesthetists and similar exams, this fully updated edition will also prove as invaluable as ever for all anaesthetists and critical care physicians, as well as operating department practitioners and specialist nurses. The alphabetical arrangement with extensive cross-referencing ensures a full understanding of topics. The succinct and clear text and diagrams?make for easy quick reference. The exam preparation checklist is ordered by key topics to facilitate effective revision. The contents are easily accessible with the accompanying ebook. There has been a substantial addition of new entries as well as revision of existing ones. This acknowledges the breadth of information needed to satisfy the range of activities performed by anaesthetic, intensive care, nursing and other colleagues, and also reflects the ever-changing field in which they all work. The consolidation of the role of anaesthetists as 'perioperative physicians' is reflected in additional entries of particular relevance and also by the enhanced title of the book. The structured 'revision checklist' of entries which is particularly useful to those preparing for examinations has been further developed for this edition.
Case Files: Critical Care
SHARPEN YOUR CRITICAL THINKING SKILLS AND IMPROVE PATIENT CARE Experience with clinical cases is key to mastering the art and science of medicine, and ultimately to providing patients with competent clinical care. Case Files#65533;: Critical Care, Second Edition provides 42 true-to-life cases that illustrate essential concepts in critical care. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls, and board-style review questions to reinforce your learning. With Case Files#65533;, you'll learn instead of memorize. * The Second Edition has been revised throughout to reflect the very latest standard-of-care updates * 42 high-yield cases, each with board-style questions, teach diagnostic or therapeutic approaches relevant to critical care medicine * Explanations for the cases emphasize the mechanisms and underlying principles * Complete discussion of each case makes this an instructive and practical primer for critical care rotations * Perfect for residents, medical students, physician assistants and nurse practitioners working in the ICU
Critical Care Examination and Board Review by
A comprehensive one-stop reference for critical care medicine - bolstered by more than 500 Q&A McGraw-Hill Education Specialty Board Review: Critical Care Medicine is an evidence-based multidisciplinary perspective to critical care medicine. The format of each chapter consists of text followed by questions and answers. Authors from major academic centers discuss the basic principles of their field, along with the most recent studies. This unique review reflects the author's belief that competency in critical care medicine is derived from multiple factors: an understanding of the basics of medicine, access to the most current evidence, clinical experience, and openness to palliative care. Features: *500+ questions and answers, with detailed answer explanations *Covers all key topics on the ABIM Critical Care exam blueprint *Numerous high-quality images, including: x-rays, CT scans, and electrocardiograms *Essential for critical care fellows or intensivists studying for the critical care boards, as well as medical students, residents, and any other healthcare provider interested in critical care *Each of the 36 textbook-style chapters are followed by Q&A *Current guidelines from various specialties are incorporated, including their levels and/or grades of recommendation
Critical Care Secrets by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series#65533; has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Critical Care Secrets, 4th Edition, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, and an easy-to-read style - making reference and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. Fully updated throughout, with new chapters on neurological monitoring, obesity in the ICU, new ultrasound practices, ICU survivorship, and the latest cardiac technology such as ventricular assist and percutaneous support devices. Written and fully updated by clinical and thought leaders in critical care who have contributed chapters in their areas of expertise. The proven Secrets Series#65533; format gives you the most return for your time - concise, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Covers the full range of essential topics in critical care for in-training or practicing professionals, including anatomy, physiology, immunology, and inflammation - fundamentally important topics in the effective care of critically ill patients. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Essentials of Equipment in Anaesthesia, Critical Care, and Peri-Operative Medicine by
Essentials of Equipment in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Peri-Operative Medicine is a highly practical textbook for trainees in anaesthesia and an invaluable guide for all those who work with anaesthetic equipment, including anaesthetic and intensive care nurses and operating department practitioners. The superbly organized and easy-to read format of the book has been retained from previous editions. The text has been comprehensively updated and more focused on the FRCA with the addition of exam tips and new questions. A new chapter addresses the topical and ever expanding field of 'Point of Care Testing' in anaesthesia and intensive care. Clear colour photographs and illustrations as well as over 100 interactive self-assessment OSCE questions complete this concise account of anaesthetic equipment and its use in clinical settings.
Surgical Critical Care and Emergency Surgery, Third ed. by
Surgical Critical Care and Emergency Surgery In this newly revised edition of Surgical Critical Care and Emergency Surgery, a distinguished team of emergency surgeons deliver a one-of-a-kind question-and-answer book on the growing specialty of surgical critical care and acute surgery, ideal for those caring for the critically ill and injured surgical patient. This book reviews surgical critical care, emergency surgery, burns and trauma, and includes full color, high-quality surgical photographs to aid understanding. Readers will also benefit from access to a website that offers additional topics and tests, as well as an archive of all test questions and answers from previous editions. The authors' focus throughout is on the unique problems and complexity of illnesses of the critically ill and injured surgical patient, and the specialist daily care that such patients require. Perfect for the acute care surgeon, surgical intensivist and those in training, Surgical Critical Care and Emergency Surgery will also earn a place in the libraries of those working in or with an interest in critical care.
