Skip to Main Content
Core E-Books
Accident and Emergency Radiology by Nigel Raby; Gerald de Lacey; Laurence Berman; Simon Morley, 2015
Since it was first published, Accident and Emergency Radiology: A Survival Guide has become the classic in-my-pocket-reference and an indispensable aid to all those who work in the Emergency Department. The core and substantial value lies in the step-by-step analytical approaches which help you to answer this question: "These images look normal to me, but . . . how can I be sure that I am not missing a subtle but important abnormality?" "This book will provide essential reading and support to A&E trainees, medical students, radiology trainees, reporting radiographers and clinical nurse specialists, all of whom may be faced with trauma cases requiring accurate diagnosis and treatment." Reviewed by: RAD Magazine Feb 2015 "... Very nearly flawless...contains just the right amount of information to accommodate readers from trainees through to consultant or attending level." Reviewed by African Journal of Emergency Medicine , Jun 2015 Ensure accuracy in reading and interpretation of any given image. Common sources of error and diagnostic difficulty are highlighted. Prevent mistakes. Pitfalls and associated abnormalities are emphasized throughout. Avoid misdiagnoses. Normal anatomy is outlined alongside schemes for detecting variants of the norm. Each chapter concludes with a summary of key points. Will provide a useful overview of the most important features in diagnosis and interpretation. Easily grasp difficult anatomical concepts. Radiographs accompanied by clear, explanatory line-drawings. Spend less time searching with an improved layout and design with succinct, easy-to-follow text. A templated chapter approach helps you access key information quickly. Each chapter includes key points summary, basic radiographs, normal anatomy, guidance on analyzing the radiographs, common injuries, rare but important injuries, pitfalls, regularly overlooked injuries, examples, and references. Grasp the nuances of key diagnostic details. Updated and expanded information, new radiographs, and new explanatory line drawings reinforce the book's aim of providing clear, practical advice in diagnosis. Avoid pitfalls in the detection of abnormalities that are most commonly overlooked or misinterpreted. Access the complete contents and illustrations online at Expert Consult-fully searchable!
Critical Care Ultrasound by Philip Lumb, 2014
For physicians and nurses in critical care medicine, the increased demand and use of ultrasound necessitates further training. Critical Care Ultrasound helps meet that need. A straightforward, practical approach, an abundance of detailed ultrasound images and online video demonstrations provide step-by-step guidance on the principles and effective use of this important imaging modality in both diagnosis and assistance with specific procedures. Coverage includes the latest applications of ultrasound for neurologic critical care; vascular problems; chest; hemodynamic monitoring; and abdominal and emergency uses, as well as assistance in a variety of specific procedures in critical care medicine. "...the book aims to and succeeds in fulfilling the appetite of different levels of expert in the use of ultrasound - fromthe beginner to the advanced practitioner." Reviewed by British Journal of Anaesthesia, June 2015 "This book is a tremendous resource of practical knowledge and reference material. It will be of great help to trainees, critical care specialists, ICU nursing, allied health professionals, and anyone practicing acute medicine. Editors Philip Lumb and Dimitrios Karakitsos and the contributors are to be congratulated. " Foreword by: Professor Teik E. Oh, AM , University of Western Australia, May 2015 Incorporate a holistic approach. Visualize all or any parts of the body, tissues, organs and systems in their live, anatomically and functionally interconnected state and in the context of the whole patient's clinical circumstances. See exactly how it's done. Numerous ultrasound images and dozens of videos demonstrate the use of ultrasound in critical care. Rely on the guidance of more than 80 different experts from Australia, China, Middle East, Europe, USA, and Canada regarding the current and future use of CCU. Adapt the use of emergency ultrasound in specialized out-of-hospital (i.e., war zones, animals) and in-hospital (i.e., pediatric units) settings. Additionally, issues regarding CCU logistics, training, and education are analyzed for the first time. Access the complete contents, images, and video online at Expert Consult -fully searchable!
Emergency Point-Of-Care Ultrasound, second ed. by James A. Connolly (Editor); Anthony J. Dean (Editor); Beatrice Hoffmann (Editor); Robert D. Jarman (Editor), 2017
Featuring contributions from internationally recognized experts in point-of-care sonography, Emergency Point-of-Care Ultrasound, Second Edition combines a wealth of images with clear, succinct text to help beginners, as well as experienced sonographers, develop and refine their sonography skills. The book contains chapters devoted to scanning the chest, abdomen, head and neck, and extremities, as well as paediatric evaluations, ultrasound-guided vascular access, and more. An entire section is devoted to the syndromic approach for an array of symptoms and patient populations, including chest and abdominal pain, respiratory distress, HIV and TB coinfected patients, and pregnant patients. Also included is expert guidance on administering ultrasound in a variety of challenging environments, such as communities and regions with underdeveloped healthcare systems, hostile environments, and cyberspace. Each chapter begins with an introduction to the focused scan under discussion and a detailed description of methods for obtaining useful images. This is followed by examples of normal and abnormal scans, along with discussions of potential pitfalls of the technique, valuable insights from experienced users, and summaries of the most up-to-date evidence. Emergency Point-of-Care Ultrasound, Second Edition is a valuable working resource for emergency medicine residents and trainees, practitioners who are just bringing ultrasound scanning into their practices, and clinicians with many years of sonographic experience.
Emergency Radiology: the Requisites by Jorge A. Soto; Brian C. Lucey, 2017
Get the essential tools you need to make an accurate diagnosis in the emergency department! Part of the popular Requisites series, Emergency Radiology: The Requisites delivers the conceptual, factual, and interpretive information you need for effective clinical practice in emergency radiology, as well certification and recertification review. Master core knowledge the easy and affordable way with clear, concise text enhanced by at-a-glance illustrations, boxes, and tables - all revised and enhanced with digital content to bring you up to date with today's state of the art knowledge. Presents emergent findings and differential diagnosis tables so that important content is identified clearly within the text. Divides the contents of the book into two sections - trauma and non-trauma - to mirror the way you practice. Organizes the material in structured, consistent chapter layouts for efficient and effective review. Provides clinical material on radiology procedures that define your role in managing a patient with an emergent condition. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Prepare for written exams or clinical practice with critical information on CTA in the ED on coronary, aorta, brain, and visceral arteries, plus new protocols for trauma and non-traumatic injuries. Stay up to date on what's new in the field with thoroughly revised content and new, high-quality images obtained with today's best technology. Get optimal results from today's most often-used approaches, including the increase in routine use of "panscan" for trauma patients. Gain a practical, visual understanding of emergency radiology thanks to more than 900 multi-modality images and easy access to the eBook version. Study and review in the most efficient way, with structured, consistent chapter layouts for time-saving and effective exam preparation.
Core E-Books
Fundamentals of Emergency Ultrasound by John P. McGahan; Michael A. Schick; Lisa Mills, 2020
Written by a multidisciplinary group of contributors, including radiologists, emergency physicians, critical care specialists, anesthesiologists, and surgeons, Fundamentals of Emergency Ultrasound is a first-of-its-kind reference that clearly explains the many technical nuances and diagnostic skills necessary for optimal use of ultrasound in emergency settings. This concise, easy-to-read resource covers both non-invasive and invasive ultrasound-guided procedures for a wide range of adult and pediatric trauma and non-trauma conditions. A practical emphasis on differential diagnosis helps facilitate rapid diagnosis, triage, and disposition decisions in emergency situations where ultrasound can be used. Provides a depth of understanding and interpretation from a multidisciplinary group of chapter authors, with step-by-step details on anatomy, equipment considerations, positioning, technique, normal and abnormal findings, and common pitfalls. Covers invasive procedures and ultrasound-guided injections such as thoracentesis, paracentesis, nerve blocks, and central and peripheral venous access. Includes correlative CT, MR, and Doppler images to enhance ultrasound visualization, in addition to more than 500+ high-quality ultrasound images and 75+ line drawings. Offers up-to-date coverage on the e-FAST, trans-thoracic and trans-esophageal echocardiography, pulmonary, and cranial sonography, among other emergency modalities. Features more than 150 ultrasound video clips that show the many nuances of ultrasound use. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Ma and Mateers Emergency Ultrasound, 4th Edition by Robert F. Reardon; James R. Mateer; O. John Ma, 2020
The pioneering text in emergency ultrasound--the only guide you will need Ma and Mateer's Emergency Ultrasound has been the definitive text for clinicians since it was first published. Now updated with new chapters, expanded coverage, and new video, this generously illustrated guide covers the training, techniques, and skills for successfully applying point-of-care ultrasound, with a special emphasis on clinical issues commonly encountered in the emergency or acute care settings. Features Well-organized chapters address: Clinical considerations and indications Anatomical considerations Techniques Common abnormalities Pitfalls Video cases Coverage of trauma, cardiac, critical care, pulmonary, hepatobiliary, renal, testicular, and other ultrasound applications Expanded chapters on cardiac and musculoskeletal ultrasound Useful measurements and quantitative references throughout Side-by-side comparisons of normal and abnormal scans New chapters on resuscitation of the critically ill and regional anesthesia Videos easily accessed via QR codes More than 800 photos and illustrations With consistent chapter organization that makes it easy to find the answers you need, this peerless text serves as an essential roadmap and reference to point-of-care ultrasound.
Accident and Emergency Radiology by
Since it was first published, Accident and Emergency Radiology: A Survival Guide has become the classic in-my-pocket-reference and an indispensable aid to all those who work in the Emergency Department. The core and substantial value lies in the step-by-step analytical approaches which help you to answer this question: "These images look normal to me, but . . . how can I be sure that I am not missing a subtle but important abnormality?" "This book will provide essential reading and support to A&E trainees, medical students, radiology trainees, reporting radiographers and clinical nurse specialists, all of whom may be faced with trauma cases requiring accurate diagnosis and treatment." Reviewed by: RAD Magazine Feb 2015 "... Very nearly flawless...contains just the right amount of information to accommodate readers from trainees through to consultant or attending level." Reviewed by African Journal of Emergency Medicine , Jun 2015 Ensure accuracy in reading and interpretation of any given image. Common sources of error and diagnostic difficulty are highlighted. Prevent mistakes. Pitfalls and associated abnormalities are emphasized throughout. Avoid misdiagnoses. Normal anatomy is outlined alongside schemes for detecting variants of the norm. Each chapter concludes with a summary of key points. Will provide a useful overview of the most important features in diagnosis and interpretation. Easily grasp difficult anatomical concepts. Radiographs accompanied by clear, explanatory line-drawings. Spend less time searching with an improved layout and design with succinct, easy-to-follow text. A templated chapter approach helps you access key information quickly. Each chapter includes key points summary, basic radiographs, normal anatomy, guidance on analyzing the radiographs, common injuries, rare but important injuries, pitfalls, regularly overlooked injuries, examples, and references. Grasp the nuances of key diagnostic details. Updated and expanded information, new radiographs, and new explanatory line drawings reinforce the book's aim of providing clear, practical advice in diagnosis. Avoid pitfalls in the detection of abnormalities that are most commonly overlooked or misinterpreted. Access the complete contents and illustrations online at Expert Consult-fully searchable!
Critical Care Ultrasound by
For physicians and nurses in critical care medicine, the increased demand and use of ultrasound necessitates further training. Critical Care Ultrasound helps meet that need. A straightforward, practical approach, an abundance of detailed ultrasound images and online video demonstrations provide step-by-step guidance on the principles and effective use of this important imaging modality in both diagnosis and assistance with specific procedures. Coverage includes the latest applications of ultrasound for neurologic critical care; vascular problems; chest; hemodynamic monitoring; and abdominal and emergency uses, as well as assistance in a variety of specific procedures in critical care medicine. "...the book aims to and succeeds in fulfilling the appetite of different levels of expert in the use of ultrasound - fromthe beginner to the advanced practitioner." Reviewed by British Journal of Anaesthesia, June 2015 "This book is a tremendous resource of practical knowledge and reference material. It will be of great help to trainees, critical care specialists, ICU nursing, allied health professionals, and anyone practicing acute medicine. Editors Philip Lumb and Dimitrios Karakitsos and the contributors are to be congratulated. " Foreword by: Professor Teik E. Oh, AM , University of Western Australia, May 2015 Incorporate a holistic approach. Visualize all or any parts of the body, tissues, organs and systems in their live, anatomically and functionally interconnected state and in the context of the whole patient's clinical circumstances. See exactly how it's done. Numerous ultrasound images and dozens of videos demonstrate the use of ultrasound in critical care. Rely on the guidance of more than 80 different experts from Australia, China, Middle East, Europe, USA, and Canada regarding the current and future use of CCU. Adapt the use of emergency ultrasound in specialized out-of-hospital (i.e., war zones, animals) and in-hospital (i.e., pediatric units) settings. Additionally, issues regarding CCU logistics, training, and education are analyzed for the first time. Access the complete contents, images, and video online at Expert Consult -fully searchable!
Emergency Point-Of-Care Ultrasound, second ed. by
Featuring contributions from internationally recognized experts in point-of-care sonography, Emergency Point-of-Care Ultrasound, Second Edition combines a wealth of images with clear, succinct text to help beginners, as well as experienced sonographers, develop and refine their sonography skills. The book contains chapters devoted to scanning the chest, abdomen, head and neck, and extremities, as well as paediatric evaluations, ultrasound-guided vascular access, and more. An entire section is devoted to the syndromic approach for an array of symptoms and patient populations, including chest and abdominal pain, respiratory distress, HIV and TB coinfected patients, and pregnant patients. Also included is expert guidance on administering ultrasound in a variety of challenging environments, such as communities and regions with underdeveloped healthcare systems, hostile environments, and cyberspace. Each chapter begins with an introduction to the focused scan under discussion and a detailed description of methods for obtaining useful images. This is followed by examples of normal and abnormal scans, along with discussions of potential pitfalls of the technique, valuable insights from experienced users, and summaries of the most up-to-date evidence. Emergency Point-of-Care Ultrasound, Second Edition is a valuable working resource for emergency medicine residents and trainees, practitioners who are just bringing ultrasound scanning into their practices, and clinicians with many years of sonographic experience.
Emergency Radiology: the Requisites by
Get the essential tools you need to make an accurate diagnosis in the emergency department! Part of the popular Requisites series, Emergency Radiology: The Requisites delivers the conceptual, factual, and interpretive information you need for effective clinical practice in emergency radiology, as well certification and recertification review. Master core knowledge the easy and affordable way with clear, concise text enhanced by at-a-glance illustrations, boxes, and tables - all revised and enhanced with digital content to bring you up to date with today's state of the art knowledge. Presents emergent findings and differential diagnosis tables so that important content is identified clearly within the text. Divides the contents of the book into two sections - trauma and non-trauma - to mirror the way you practice. Organizes the material in structured, consistent chapter layouts for efficient and effective review. Provides clinical material on radiology procedures that define your role in managing a patient with an emergent condition. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Prepare for written exams or clinical practice with critical information on CTA in the ED on coronary, aorta, brain, and visceral arteries, plus new protocols for trauma and non-traumatic injuries. Stay up to date on what's new in the field with thoroughly revised content and new, high-quality images obtained with today's best technology. Get optimal results from today's most often-used approaches, including the increase in routine use of "panscan" for trauma patients. Gain a practical, visual understanding of emergency radiology thanks to more than 900 multi-modality images and easy access to the eBook version. Study and review in the most efficient way, with structured, consistent chapter layouts for time-saving and effective exam preparation.
Fundamentals of Emergency Ultrasound by
Written by a multidisciplinary group of contributors, including radiologists, emergency physicians, critical care specialists, anesthesiologists, and surgeons, Fundamentals of Emergency Ultrasound is a first-of-its-kind reference that clearly explains the many technical nuances and diagnostic skills necessary for optimal use of ultrasound in emergency settings. This concise, easy-to-read resource covers both non-invasive and invasive ultrasound-guided procedures for a wide range of adult and pediatric trauma and non-trauma conditions. A practical emphasis on differential diagnosis helps facilitate rapid diagnosis, triage, and disposition decisions in emergency situations where ultrasound can be used. Provides a depth of understanding and interpretation from a multidisciplinary group of chapter authors, with step-by-step details on anatomy, equipment considerations, positioning, technique, normal and abnormal findings, and common pitfalls. Covers invasive procedures and ultrasound-guided injections such as thoracentesis, paracentesis, nerve blocks, and central and peripheral venous access. Includes correlative CT, MR, and Doppler images to enhance ultrasound visualization, in addition to more than 500+ high-quality ultrasound images and 75+ line drawings. Offers up-to-date coverage on the e-FAST, trans-thoracic and trans-esophageal echocardiography, pulmonary, and cranial sonography, among other emergency modalities. Features more than 150 ultrasound video clips that show the many nuances of ultrasound use. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Ma and Mateers Emergency Ultrasound, 4th Edition by
The pioneering text in emergency ultrasound--the only guide you will need Ma and Mateer's Emergency Ultrasound has been the definitive text for clinicians since it was first published. Now updated with new chapters, expanded coverage, and new video, this generously illustrated guide covers the training, techniques, and skills for successfully applying point-of-care ultrasound, with a special emphasis on clinical issues commonly encountered in the emergency or acute care settings. Features Well-organized chapters address: Clinical considerations and indications Anatomical considerations Techniques Common abnormalities Pitfalls Video cases Coverage of trauma, cardiac, critical care, pulmonary, hepatobiliary, renal, testicular, and other ultrasound applications Expanded chapters on cardiac and musculoskeletal ultrasound Useful measurements and quantitative references throughout Side-by-side comparisons of normal and abnormal scans New chapters on resuscitation of the critically ill and regional anesthesia Videos easily accessed via QR codes More than 800 photos and illustrations With consistent chapter organization that makes it easy to find the answers you need, this peerless text serves as an essential roadmap and reference to point-of-care ultrasound.