For more Pain Management resources, search BOTH links below:
|
||
Bonica's Management of Pain by
This exhaustively comprehensive edition of the classic Bonica's Management of Pain , first published 65 years ago, expertly combines the scientific underpinnings of pain with clinical management. Completely revised, it discusses a wide variety of pain conditions--including neuropathic pain, pain due to cancer, and acute pain situations--for adults as well as children. An international group of the foremost experts provides comprehensive, current, clinically oriented coverage of the entire field. The contributors describe contemporary clinical practice and summarize the evidence that guides clinical practice. Substantially updated with theoretical advancements and contemporary therapies that have emerged since the previous edition published over a decade ago. Broad authorship by researchers and practitioners from the many disciplines that participate in pain medicine, including anesthesiology, neurology, physical medicine and rehabilitation, palliative care, psychology, social sciences, and more. Addresses the economic, political, legal, ethical, and sociological considerations of pain; evaluation of the pain patient; pain conditions; methods for symptomatic control; and provision of pain treatment. Packed with hundreds of full-color illustrations and tables.
Treatment of Chronic Pain by Interventional Approaches: the American Academy of Pain Medicine Textbook on Patient Manaagement by
From reviews of Deer, eds., Comprehensive Treatment of Chronic Pain by Medical, Interventional, and Integrative Approaches: "Comprehensive Treatment of Chronic Pain by Medical, Interventional, and Integrative Approaches is a major textbook... [I]t should be a part of all departmental libraries and in the reference collection of pain fellows and pain practitioners. In fact, this text could be to pain as Miller is to general anesthesia." Journal of Neurosurgical Anesthesiology Edited by master clinician-experts appointed by the American Academy of Pain Medicine, this is a soft cover version of the Interventional sections of the acclaimed Deer, eds., Comprehensive Treatment of Chronic Pain by Medical, Interventional, and Integrative Approaches. It is intended as a primary reference for busy clinicians who seek up-to-date and authoritative information about interventional approaches to treating chronic pain. State-of-the-art coverage of full range of techniques: neural blockades, neurolysis blocks, and neurostimulation Review of clinically relevant anatomy and physiology "Key Points" preview contents of each chapter
Essentials of Pain Medicine by
Accessible, concise, and clinically focused, Essentials of Pain Medicine, 4th Edition, by Drs. Honorio T. Benzon, Srinivasa N. Raja, Scott M. Fishman, Spencer S. Liu, and Steven P. Cohen, presents a complete, full-color overview of today's theory and practice of pain medicine and regional anesthesia. It provides practical guidance on the full range of today's pharmacologic, interventional, neuromodulative, physiotherapeutic, and psychological management options for the evaluation, treatment, and rehabilitation of persons in pain. Covers all you need to know to stay up to date in practice and excel at examinations - everything from basic considerations through local anesthetics, nerve block techniques, acupuncture, cancer pain, and much more. Uses a practical, quick-reference format with short, easy-to-read chapters. Presents the management of pain for every setting where it is practiced, including the emergency room, the critical care unit, and the pain clinic. Features hundreds of diagrams, illustrations, summary charts and tables that clarify key information and injection techniques - now in full color for the first time. Includes the latest best management techniques, including joint injections, ultrasound-guided therapies, and new pharmacologic agents (such as topical analgesics). Discusses recent global developments regarding opioid induced hyperalgesia, addiction and substance abuse, neuromodulation and pain management, and identification of specific targets for molecular pain. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Fundamentals of Pain Medicine by
Characterized by clarity and straddling the line between scope and depth of information, this concise book provides physicians a comprehensive overview of pain medicine. Chapters are written by some of the leading minds in pain medicine and feature case studies, key points and suggested readings. Multidisciplinary approaches to the clinical and financial challenges of pain with the goal of improving patient quality of life are also discussed. Additionally, the book is in is in tight alignment with the information that trainees are expected to master for the American Board of Anesthesiology's pain medicine subspecialty certification, as outlined by the Joint Council on Anesthesiology Examinations; it covers the diagnosis of pain states, the management of pain, acute pain, radicular pain, neuropathic pain, chronic visceral pain, headaches, and special populations. This book is a must-have for anyone new to pain medicine or studying for the subspecialty certification.
Managing Patients with Chronic Pain and Opioid Addiction by
This text will provide readers with a thorough review of the complex condition of chronic pain and addictions. The book was originally commissioned due to the need in the field for more literature on the topic. This concise pocket book will review epidemiology, clinical features, diagnosis, and medical management of both chronic pain and addiction. Busy healthcare professionals will benefit from this text, which will not only cover the foundation of the management of both conditions and together, but discuss up-to-date national and international treatment guidelines, upcoming therapies and REMS.
Mindfulness-Based Cognitive Therapy for Chronic Pain by
This unique new guide integrates recent advances in the biopsychosocial understanding of chronic pain with state-of-the-art cognitive therapy and mindfulness techniques to offer a fresh, highly-effective MBCT approach to helping individuals manage chronic pain. There is intense interest from clinicians, researchers and patients alike in mindfulness-based therapeutic techniques, and the integration of mindfulness theory and practice with CBT Provides everything a therapist needs to integrate MBCT into their practice and optimize its delivery, including a manualized 8-session program and guidance on how to teach MBCT skills Features case studies and real-world examples that help practitioners to avoid common pitfalls and optimize the delivery of MBCT for chronic pain for their own individual clients Features links to guided meditations, client and therapist handouts and other powerful tools
Pain Medicine by
This book serves as a practical resource for pain medicine providers. It presents important clinical concepts while covering critical pain medicine fundamentals. Chapters were carefully chosen to cover common aspects of clinical pain medicine and also follow a common format to facilitate quick look-up. Each chapter includes a concise discussion of the latest supporting evidence as well as relevant case scenarios. The coverage is clinically and board relevant, evidence-based and up-to-date. It will appeal to residents preparing for the written board examination and practitioners preparing for board re-certification, which now occurs every 10 years. Beyond these groups, the book has the potential to appeal to learners and practitioners around the world; pain medicine is burgeoning globally, and there is great need for concise, clinically relevant resources.
Practical Chronic Pain Management by
This book focuses on both the management of the pain as well as the pain patient and is formatted as a practical, evidence-based guide to managing chronic pain conditions. It meets the market need for a reference that aides physicians in understanding and improving chronic pain in their patients. Organized across 46 chapters, the book begins with an introduction on chronic pain evaluation, and specifically stresses the importance of complete patient evaluation including social and psychological evaluation. Subsequent chapters then start with an evaluation, medical and interventional options available, how and when to move from one option to another and the level of evidence offered for each intervention. These unique chapter elements provide the reader with a case-based approach to managing their patients. Additionally, a brief discussion of epidemiology and pathophysiology of the disease process is included and the technical aspects of interventional techniques are reviewed. Edited by a leader in the field with international contributing authors across pain medicine, Practical Chronic Pain Management this book is written primarily for anesthesiologists, pain specialists, rheumatologists, and primary care physicians.
Practical Management of Pain by
For more than 30 years, Practical Management of Pain has offered expert guidance to both clinicians and trainees, covering every aspect of acute and chronic pain medicine for adult and pediatric patients. The fully revised 6th Edition brings you fully up to date with new developments in patient evaluation, diagnosis of pain syndromes, rationales for management, treatment modalities, and much more. Edited by a team of renowned pain clinicians led by Dr. Honorio Benzon, this authoritative reference is a comprehensive, practical resource for pain diagnosis and treatment using a variety of pharmacologic and physical modalities. Presents a wealth of information in a clearly written, easily accessible manner, enabling you to effectively assess and draw up an optimal treatment plan for patients with acute or chronic pain. Takes a practical, multidisciplinary approach, making key concepts and techniques easier to apply to everyday practice. Shares the knowledge and expertise of global contributors on all facets of pain management, from general principles to specific management techniques. Discusses the latest, best management techniques, including joint injections, ultrasound-guided therapies, and new pharmacologic agents such as topical analgesics. Covers recent global developments regarding opioid induced hyperalgesia, neuromodulation and pain management, and identification of specific targets for molecular based pain. Includes current information on the use of cannabinoids in pain management and related regulatory, professional, and legal considerations. Includes the latest guidelines on facet injections and safety of contrast agents. Provides new, evidence-based critical analysis on treatment modality outcomes and the latest information on chronic pain as a result of surgical interventions. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Principles and Practice of Pain Medicine by
Learn a multidisciplinary approach to pain management This concise yet comprehensive text is a true one-stop resource for anesthesiologists, specialists in pain medicine, neurologists, physiatrists, and primary care physicians wishing to understand more about pain medicine, and fellows and residents training in pain medicine. Every aspect of diagnosing and treating specific pain conditions and syndromes is covered, including general principles, anatomy, physiology, physical and laboratory diagnosis, psychology, and therapeutic interventions. Each chapter represents a careful distillation of current science, key concepts, and clinical treatments of the subject, all presented in a highly accessible design. The authors have included an extensive list of references at the end of each chapter to encourage further research. Highlights include: Authored by leaders who represent the many disciplines that comprise this evolving field Emphasizes the use of injections and nerve blocks as an aid to diagnosis, prognosis, and therapy Discusses pain categorized by anatomic location as well as syndrome Incorporates vivid illustrations depicting the physical symptoms and anatomy of each site, as well as key findings from MRI, CT, X-rays, and other imaging technologies Includes new coverage that goes beyond the clinical boundaries of pain medicine, such as law, ethics, and business administration Concise and comprehensive approach is geared for pain medicine board preparation and major section on headache medicine is designed to assist with preparation for board certification in headache medicine Illuminates the multidisciplinary perspective and interdisciplinary approach to managing chronic pain with many chapters on the psychology of pain and applications of psychotherapeutic and mind/body interventions
Psychological Treatments for Patients with Chronic Pain by
This book provides a comprehensive overview of the role of psychology is treating patients with chronic gain, using evidence-based therapies. Taking a multidisciplinary approach that includes cognitive behavioral therapy, acceptance and commitment therapy, and chronic pain self-management, Beth D, Darnall shows mental health professionals how to use mindfulness interventions, hypnosis, and biofeedback, and also address comorbid problems such as depression, anxiety, and insomnia. The Clinical Health Psychology Series is designed to provide a comprehensive but concise overview of practice in specific areas of medicine, including integrated primary care, cardiology, oncology, and pain. Each book in the series provides broad coverage of the topic and is intended specifically for mental and behavioral health professionals who are new to that field. Book jacket.
Textbook of Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Management, Second Edition by
The ultimate text on the principles and practice of regional anesthesia and pain management - thoroughly updated Since its first edition, Hadzic's Textbook of Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Management has been the standard reference for students and practitioners of anesthesiology. Presented in full color, this classic covers the theory and practice of regional anesthesia in its entirety, providing readers with both the physiologic principles and specific, state-of-the-art patient-management protocols and techniques. This second edition has been completely updated to reflect the profound advances in the field. These developments include the use of ultrasonography for imaging of peripheral nerves and the central nervous system, advances in the up-to-date understanding of the role of regional anesthesia in preventing postoperative pain, and the use of point-of-care ultrasound for a vast number of other perioperative applications. The second edition features some of the most detailed and didactic anatomical artwork to date. Being a world-wide reference text, this edition also includes anatomical landmark-based and nerve stimulator guided peripheral nerve blocks. A complete, authoritative compendium of the practice of regional anesthesia and analgesia and acute pain medicine: ● More than 200 expert contributors and collaborators ● Evidence-based information that spans the entire field of RAPM ● Full-color clinical images and functional anatomy illustrations - nearly all new to this edition ● Easy-to-follow clinical decision-making diagrams, flow charts, practical tables, and clinical pearls ● Up-to-date information on the etiology, prevention, and management of a wide range of complications ● Detailed chapters on pediatric regional anesthesia ● In-depth discussion of region-specific ultrasound techniques
Treatment of Chronic Pain by Integrative Approaches: the American Academy of Pain Medicine Textbook by
From reviews of Deer, eds., Comprehensive Treatment of Chronic Pain by Medical, Interventional, and Integrative Approaches: "Comprehensive Treatment of Chronic Pain by Medical, Interventional, and Integrative Approaches is a major textbook... [I]t should be a part of all departmental libraries and in the reference collection of pain fellows and pain practitioners. In fact, this text could be to pain as Miller is to general anesthesia." Journal of Neurosurgical Anesthesiology Edited by master clinician-experts appointed by the American Academy of Pain Medicine, this is a soft cover version of the Integrative section of the acclaimed Deer, eds., Comprehensive Treatment of Chronic Pain by Medical, Interventional, and Integrative Approaches. It is intended as a primary reference for busy clinicians who seek up-to-date and authoritative information about integrative approaches to treating chronic pain. Behavioral dimensions of the experience and management of pain Integrative approaches for treating the "whole person" Legal issues, such as failure to treat pain First-hand patient accounts "Key Points" preview contents of each chapter
Treatment of Chronic Pain by Medical Approaches: The American Academy of Pain Medicine Textbook by
From reviews of Deer, eds., Comprehensive Treatment of Chronic Pain by Medical, Interventional, and Integrative Approaches: "Comprehensive Treatment of Chronic Pain by Medical, Interventional, and Integrative Approaches is a major textbook... [I]t should be a part of all departmental libraries and in the reference collection of pain fellows and pain practitioners. In fact, this text could be to pain as Miller is to general anesthesia." Journal of Neurosurgical Anesthesiology Edited by master clinician-experts appointed by the American Academy of Pain Medicine, this is a soft cover version of the Medical section of the acclaimed Deer, eds., Comprehensive Treatment of Chronic Pain by Medical, Interventional, and Integrative Approaches. It is intended as a primary reference for busy clinicians who seek up-to-date and authoritative information about medical approaches to treating chronic pain. Clinically focused resource on the medical management of chronic pain Leading edge topics, such as monitoring opioid use and abuse, the emerging role of cannabinoids in pain treatment, and the systems involved in nociceptive processing systems "Key Points" preview contents of each chapter
Treatment of Chronic Pain Conditions by
There is an unmet need in both acute and chronic care settings for a comprehensive, clinically focused, fast reference on pain management. Written by high-profile, internationally recognized experts in field, Pain Treatment for Acute and Chronic Conditions: A Comprehensive Handbook is one of the first manuals of its kind to provide balanced and comprehensive coverage of pain medicine modalities. The book is structured into sixteen sections with each chapter providing key points for quick reference, followed by a more detailed overview of the topic at hand with extensive tables and figures to illustrate. Beautifully laid out and extensively furnished with both research and experience, this book is a necessary resource in the field of pain medicine.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Perioperative Medicine A-Z by
For 25 years Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Perioperative Medicine A-Z has provided a comprehensive resource of the relevant aspects of pharmacology, physiology, anatomy, physics, statistics, medicine, surgery, general anaesthetic practice, intensive care, equipment, and the history of anaesthesia and intensive care. Originally prepared as essential reading for candidates for the Fellowship of the Royal College of Anaesthetists and similar exams, this fully updated edition will also prove as invaluable as ever for all anaesthetists and critical care physicians, as well as operating department practitioners and specialist nurses. The alphabetical arrangement with extensive cross-referencing ensures a full understanding of topics. The succinct and clear text and diagrams?make for easy quick reference. The exam preparation checklist is ordered by key topics to facilitate effective revision. The contents are easily accessible with the accompanying ebook. There has been a substantial addition of new entries as well as revision of existing ones. This acknowledges the breadth of information needed to satisfy the range of activities performed by anaesthetic, intensive care, nursing and other colleagues, and also reflects the ever-changing field in which they all work. The consolidation of the role of anaesthetists as 'perioperative physicians' is reflected in additional entries of particular relevance and also by the enhanced title of the book. The structured 'revision checklist' of entries which is particularly useful to those preparing for examinations has been further developed for this edition.
Anesthesia Secrets by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Anesthesia Secrets, 6th Edition offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in the practice of anesthesiology. This bestselling resource features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - succinct, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Fully revised and updated throughout, including protocols and guidelines that are continuously evolving and that increasingly dictate best practices. New chapters on Electrocardiogram Interpretation, Cardiac Physiology, Vasoactive Agents, Volume Assessment, Blood Pressure Disturbances, Mechanical Ventilation Strategies, Perioperative Point-of-Care Ultrasound and Echocardiography, Neuraxial Techniques, Peripheral Nerve and Trunk Blocks, Patient Safety, and Medical Ethics.?? Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Features bulleted lists, mnemonics, practical tips from leaders in the field - all providing a concise overview of important board-relevant content. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime.
Anesthesiology: Clinical Case Reviews by
Divided into twelve sections that cover the entirety of anesthetic practice, this is a case-based, comprehensive review of anesthesiology that covers the basics of anesthetic management and reflects all new guidelines and recently developed standards of care. Each chapter of Anesthesiology: Clinical Case Reviews begins with a specific clinical problem or a clinical case scenario, followed by concise discussions of preoperative assessment, intraoperative management, and postoperative pain management. In addition to residents and fellows, this book is written for practicing anesthesiologists, student nurse anesthetists, and certified registered nurse anesthetists (CRNAs).
Case Files: Anesthesiology
Learn the fundamentals of anesthesiology in the context of real patients. 4 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW! "The book targets medical students, but even junior anesthesia trainees would find it very compelling....Although it has the appearance of a handbook, this book is an overview of clinical anesthesiology. It takes a simulation approach to drive home essential concepts of anesthesia management in different disease conditions. Of all the handy books out there, this is perhaps the only one that teaches anesthesia inthe context of real patients rather than merely stating facts. It would be an invaluable aid to medical students doing anesthesia clerkships or junior anesthesia trainees who need a quick review for an emergency case in the middle of the night."--Doody's Review Service Case Files: Anesthesiology contains 53 high-yield cases with open-ended questions. Each case includes an extended discussion, definitions, clinical Pearls, 3-5 USMLE-style comprehension questions, and references to the most current literature for further reading. Features: 53 high-yield clinical situations tailored for management of the anesthetic patient Clear and easy-to-follow case-based format helps readers develop clinical thinking skills Clinical pearls give evidence-based recommendations for patient management USMLE-style comprehension questions accompany each case Content enhanced by numerous tables, illustrations, and clinical images Content that makes learning easy: Preoperative evaluation:Preoperative evaluation: cardiac and pulmonary disease,Preoperative evaluation in an obese patient, Anesthesia in Patients with Heart Disease:Coronary artery disease,Pulmonary hypertension, R heart failure,Left Heart failure,Mitral stenosis, mitral insufficiency,Aortic stenosis,Subacute Aortic Hypertrophy,Congestive heart failure,AICD,Abdominal aortic aneurysm/stint, openCardiac tamponade,Protamine reaction Anesthesia for the Patient with Pulmonary Disease:Anesthesia in a patient with reactive airway disease,Anesthesia in a patient with COPD,Thoracotomy,Aspiration, Anesthesia for the Patient with Neurological or Neurosurgical Conditions:Subdural hematoma/head injury,Crainotomy for mass excision,Crainotomy for aneurysm,The quadriplegic,Cervical fracture,Myasthenia gravis,Anesthesia for obstetrics:For caeserian section,Appendectomy or cholecystectomy in a pregnant patient,Total spinal,Local anesthetic toxicity, Anesthesia in the Pediatric Patient:Child with a Foreign Body,Cleft Palate,Anesthesia for a tonsillectomy--sleep apnea, and hemorrhage,Pyloric stenosis, Anesthesia in Patients with Hematologic Disorders:Hemaglobinapathy,Transfusion reaction,Coagulopathies, Anesthesia for Patients with Endocrinologic or Metabolic Disorders:Diabetes--hyperglycemia/hypoglycemia,Malignant hypertension/pheochromocytoma,Malignant hyperthermia,Cholinesterase deficiency, Anesthesia Special Situations:Complication of laporoscopy--ptx, air embolism,Complication of laporoscopy--occult hemorrhage, Burns,Trauma,MRI,Hypoxia of unknown etiology (equipment failure),Monitoring (including PA line, TEE),Awareness under anesthesia,End of life/ethics
Clinical Anesthesia : Near Misses and Lessons Learned by
Residents, fellows, and practising certified registered nurse anesthetists will benefit from the retelling of these actual near misses, the solutions chosen at the time, and a retrospective analysis of those solutions that includes tips for how the problems could have been avoided altogether or resolved differently. An excellent study aid for the American Board of Anesthesiology oral exam and a useful teaching tool for faculty, since near misses such as these are relatively rare and other than reading about them, there really is no way to be prepared to successfully manage such crises. As such, even experienced anesthesiologists and CRNAs will find this to be a worthy purchase.
Essentials of Equipment in Anaesthesia, Critical Care, and Peri-Operative Medicine by
Essentials of Equipment in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Peri-Operative Medicine is a highly practical textbook for trainees in anaesthesia and an invaluable guide for all those who work with anaesthetic equipment, including anaesthetic and intensive care nurses and operating department practitioners. The superbly organized and easy-to read format of the book has been retained from previous editions. The text has been comprehensively updated and more focused on the FRCA with the addition of exam tips and new questions. A new chapter addresses the topical and ever expanding field of 'Point of Care Testing' in anaesthesia and intensive care. Clear colour photographs and illustrations as well as over 100 interactive self-assessment OSCE questions complete this concise account of anaesthetic equipment and its use in clinical settings.
Pain Management Secrets by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series#65533; has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Pain Management Secrets, 4th Edition, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, and an easy-to-read style - making reference and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series#65533; format gives you the most return for your time - concise, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Covers the full range of essential topics in pain management for in-training or practicing professionals. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Fully updated throughout, with new chapters on the latest areas in pain medicine, clear illustrations and figures, and a list of current websites that expedite study and review. Written and fully updated by internationally known pain medicine experts, including new editors Drs. Andrew Dubin and Julie Pilitsis. NEW! Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
