For more Pulmonary Medicine resources, search BOTH links below:
|
||
Covid-19 Airway Management and Ventilation Strategy for Critically Ill Older Patients by
This book describes the issues and challenges that clinicians encountered in the management of older critically ill patients during the Covid-19 pandemic, and offers practical information on how to manage them. Older adults are more susceptible to complications such as acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS) as a result of viral pneumonia. In addition, they often have multiple comorbidities and are commonly frail, which means their various organs and systems, such as the respiratory system, have reduced functional reserves. As such, older adults are less able to react to acute stressors. During the current Covid-19 pandemic, older adult patients' mortality is increased. Further, the infection and death rates of elderly people in nursing homes and health care institutions are high. Management of older adults with Covid is complicated. The reduced availability of beds may limit their access to ICU. Moreover, the prognosis may be poor, and airway management and ventilation strategies have to take into account various clinical and physiological characteristics specific to older patients. This book is addressed to all allied professionals involved in the management of older critically ill patients and presents information collected and practical lessons learned from the clinical daily management of this population during the pandemic.
Essentials of Mechanical Ventilation by
The acclaimed application-based guide to adult mechanical ventilation --- updated to reflect the latest topics and practice guidelines This practical guide is written from the perspective of authors who have nearly 100 years' experience as clinicians, educators, researchers, and authors. Unlike other references on the topic, this resource is about mechanical ventilation rather than mechanical ventilators. It is written to provide a solid understanding of the general principles and essential foundational knowledge of mechanical ventilation as required by respiratory therapists and critical care physicians. To make it clinically relevant, Essentials of Mechanical Ventilation includes disease-specific chapters related to mechanical ventilation in these conditions. The Fourth Edition has been carefully updated throughout. New content includes coverage of mechanical ventilation of the obese patient and advanced monitoring procedures. Concepts such as driving pressure are included, and the content has been checked against the most recently published clinical practice guidelines. Essentials of Mechanical Ventilation, Fourth Edition is divided into four parts: Part One, Principles of Mechanical Ventilation describes basic principles of mechanical ventilation and then continues with issues such as indications for mechanical ventilation, appropriate physiologic goals, and ventilator liberation. Part Two, Ventilator Management, gives practical advice for ventilating patients with a variety of diseases. Part Three, Monitoring During Mechanical Ventilation, discusses blood gases, hemodynamics, mechanics, and waveforms. Part Four, Topics in Mechanical Ventilation, covers issues such as airway management, aerosol delivery, and extracorporeal life support.
Fishman's Pulmonary Diseases and Disorders, 2-Volume Set, Sixth Edition by
The definitive guide to the clinical and scientific aspects of pulmonary medicine--fully updated with the latest advances in the field Fishman's Pulmonary Diseases and Disorders delivers unparalleled coverage of pulmonary medicine. With 2,000+ photos and illustrations, 60 videos, and 18,000 references, this peerless resource provides a comprehensive overview of the scientific basis of lung function in healthy people and in those with disease. You'll find detailed coverage of the broad array of diseases and disorders affecting the respiratory system, including obstructive and restrictive diseases, pulmonary vascular disorders, sleep-disordered breathing, lung neoplasms, respiratory infections, and respiratory failure. And you'll learn all the latest advances, including molecular development of the lung, stem cells and respiratory disease, genetics of pulmonary disease and the growth of personalized medicine, technical advances in lung transplantation, and many more. Fishman's Pulmonary Diseases and Disorders provides state-of-the-art coverage of the latest topics in critical care medicine, such as early diagnosis and management of sepsis, multiple organ dysfunction syndrome (MODS), acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS), management of agitation and delirium in the ICU, and the newly defined entity of "chronic critical illness" New to this edition: *State-of-the-art reviews of the literature made available online *Expanded editorial team provides new perspectives *References streamlined to include only the latest information in pulmonary clinical medicine *Table of Contents revised to highlight the most important areas of concern for clinicians
Interstitial Lung Disease by
Clinically focused and designed to provide a to-the-point overview, Interstitial Lung Disease, by Drs. Talmadge King, Harold Collard, and Luca Richeldi, bring you up to date with increased understanding, new treatment protocols, and recent advances in the field. Written by contributing specialists who are global experts in their respective areas, this one-stop reference provides pulmonologists, intensivists, internal medicine physicians, and researchers with a dependable source of information on current treatment options and patient care. . Evidence for current treatment options for interstitial pneumonia, idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis, and smoking-related interstitial lung diseases. . Approach to diagnosis of interstitial lung diseases, such as sarcoidosis, hypersensitivity pneumonitis, and Churg-Strauss syndrome. . Genetic markers for inherited interstitial lung diseases such as dyskeratosis congenita, tuberous sclerosis/LAM, and hyper-IgE syndrome. . Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Interventions in Pulmonary Medicine by
This new edition offers comprehensive coverage of all areas of interventional pulmonology, a minimally invasive endoscopic method for diagnosing and treating lung disorders. The text is divided into eight sections on the major areas of interventional pulmonology, including basic endoscopy, lung cancer staging, and interventional bronschoscopy in asthma and emphysema. Chapters then explore specific procedures and techniques, including medical thoracoscopy, flexible and rigid bronchoscopy, endobronchial ultrasound, and electromagnetical navigation with coverage of history, indications and contraindications, and up-to-date evidence-based reviews. In recent years there have been many advances in interventional pulmonology, the most significant relating to lung cancer early diagnosis and late-stage treatment. Two new chapters on lung cancer epidemiologic changes and personalized lung cancer treatment explore new methods for maximizing patient care for an increasingly prevalent disease. This inclusive volume concludes with a look towards the future of interventional pulmonology and experimental techniques currently being tested. Interventions in Pulmonary Medicine, Second Edition, is a must have for pulmonologists, endoscopists, pulmonary oncologists, ENT physicians, thoracic surgeons, anesthesiologists, and intensive care specialists and their teams.
Lung Cancer by
The best and most concise single source for state-of-the-art diagnosis and treatment of lung cancer -newly revised, updated, and expanded. Lung cancer has long been the number-one cause of death from cancer every year and the third most frequently diagnosed after breast and prostate cancers. In 2010, about 15% of all cancer diagnoses and 30% of all cancer deaths were due to lung cancer. Needless to say, there is a great need for more rapid advancements in diagnosis and treatment of this devastating disease. Here is the comprehensively revised, updated, and expanded edition of the well-established, evidence-based reference book that deals with the most recent advances in lung cancer prevention, screening, diagnosis, research, and treatment for the clinician. Edited and authored by leading authorities in the field, this Fourth Edition of the highly regarded Lung Cancer is better than ever -featuring nine new chapters along with seven re-formatted ones that are nearly brand new in content and approach. It covers Smoking Prevention and Cessation; Molecular Profiling; Somatic Genome Alterations in Human Lung Cancers; Management of Multi-Focal Bronchioloalveolar Carcinoma (BAC); Primary Tracheal Tumors; Predictive Tumor Biomarkers for EGFR Inhibitors; Non-Small Cell and Small-Cell Lung Carcinoma; and more. This Fourth Edition of Lung Cancer: Provides the very latest research in the identification of biomarkers to predict a high risk for developing lung cancer - vital for implementing screening, diagnosis, and prevention strategies Presents the newest lung cancer staging system, as well as updated and cutting-edge surgical and radiation therapy techniques that make local tumor control more effective and less invasive while sparing normal tissues Discusses combined modality therapy and new chemotherapeutic agents which are yielding higher response rates and improved survival when used in the adjuvant setting or concurrent with highly sophisticated radiation or proton treatment Offers novel and emergent approaches to preventative, diagnostic, and therapeutic modalities with an emphasis on the best evidence available from the latest studies and clinical trials With almost half of the revised and updated content being brand new, Lung Cancer, Fourth Edition, is an important and vital resource for all medical professionals and students involved in the care and treatment of those struck with this catastrophic illness.
Manual for Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine by
Clinical Practice Manual for Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine, by Judd W. Landsberg, MD, is a unique point-of-care manual that provides essential information on managing inpatients and outpatients with common, serious respiratory and internal medicine presentation and problems. Easy-to-follow diagnostic and therapeutic algorithms are accompanied by case-based illustrations encountered on a daily basis by attendings, fellows, residents, and students. The bulleted format, concise approach, and familiar examples provide a framework for effective teaching, learning, and patient care. Identifies common but important misconceptions that are regularly encountered in pulmonary and critical care training. Uses a concise, bulleted format throughout, helping you find key information quickly. Illustrates cases with primary data such as x-rays, monitor strips, ventilator wave forms, and other familiar documentation. Helps you develop your ability to effectively explain your thought process in the clinical setting to other practitioners at the bedside. Serves as a 'teachers guide' for clinician educators, organizing topics in an easy to teach fashion, amenable to 'chalk talks' and bedside didactics Provides focused discussions of basic physiology and pathophysiology related to pulmonary and critical care medicine. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Murray and Nadel's Textbook of Respiratory Medicine, 2-Volume Set by
Known for its clear readability, thorough coverage, and expert authorship, Murray & Nadel's Textbook of Respiratory Medicine has long been the gold standard text in the fast-changing field of pulmonary medicine. The new 7th Edition brings you fully up to date with newly expanded content, numerous new chapters, a new editorial team, and extensive updates throughout. It covers the entire spectrum of pulmonology in one authoritative point-of-care reference, making it an ideal resource for pulmonary physicians, fellows, and other pulmonary practitioners. Offers definitive, full-color coverage of basic science, diagnosis, evaluation, and treatment of the full range of respiratory diseases. Provides detailed explanations of each disease entity and differential diagnoses with state-of-the-art, evidence-based content by global leaders in the field. Contains a newly expanded section on common presentations of respiratory disease, plus new chapters on COVID-19, asthma and obesity, airplane travel, lung cancer screening, noninvasive support of oxygenation, lung microbiome, thoracic surgery, inhaled substances, treatment of lung cancer, and more. Covers hot topics such as vaping; advanced ultrasound applications and procedures; interventional pulmonology; immunotherapy; lung cancer targeted therapy; outbreaks, pandemics and bioterrorism; point-of-care ultrasound; use of high-flow oxygen, and more. Includes extensively reorganized sections on basic science, pleural disease, and sleep, with new chapters and approaches to the topics. Features more than 1,450 anatomic, algorithmic, and radiologic images (400 are new!) including CT, PET, MR, and HRCT, plus extensive online-only content: 200 procedural and conceptual videos plus audio clips of lung sounds. Brings you up to date with the latest respiratory drugs, mechanisms of action, indications, precautions, adverse effects, and recommendations, with increased emphasis on algorithms to illustrate decision making. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you access to all of the text, figures, reporting templates, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Nunn's Applied Respiratory Physiology by
Nunn''s Applied Respiratory Physiology, Eighth Edition, is your concise, one-stop guide to all aspects of respiratory physiology in health, disease, and in the many physiologically challenging situations and environments into which humans take themselves - with coverage from basic science to clinical applications. This most comprehensive single volume on respiratory physiology will be invaluable to those in training or preparing for examinations in anaesthesia, intensive care, respiratory medicine or thoracic surgery - as well as an essential quick reference for the range of practitioners requiring ready access to current knowledge in this field. Now fully revised and updated, this eighth edition includes a new full-colour format to improve clarity and understanding - and it also comes with access to the complete, downloadable eBook version for the first time. This incorporates bonus chapters, handy topic summaries and new, interactive, self-assessment material. The result is a more flexible, engaging and complete resource than ever before. Enhancements to this edition include: New full colour format - enhances the 250+ diagrams and allows a much clearer portrayal of physiological concepts New figures reflect modern functional imaging techniques - which are now able to generate detailed pictures of lung ventilation and perfusion in humans A new section on the aims, effects and physiological basis of respiratory physiotherapy - to help both physiotherapists and doctors better understand this common intervention for treating patients'' respiratory disease Additional information on the significant impact of obesity on respiratory physiology in both health and disease New sections on comparative respiratory physiology and respiratory physiology in veterinary practice - understanding respiration in less complex animals and the place of human respiration within the animal kingdom will be of interest to students/practitioners in biology, zoology or veterinary medicine, as well as enlightening in other contexts Bonus eBook access - (printed book) includes access to the complete, fully searchable electronic text, via Expert Consult - incoporating extra chapters, handy chapter summaries and new self-assessment material to aid exam preparation Key features include: The three-part structure of pure physiology (basic principles), applied physiology and physiology of respiratory disease is retained Use of clear, simple diagrams to illustrate the material. Duplication of US and rest-of-the-world units References to recent research material to allow readers to explore topics in more depth New full colour format - enhances the 250+ diagrams and allows a much clearer portrayal of physiological concepts New figures reflect modern functional imaging techniques - which are now able to generate detailed pictures of lung ventilation and perfusion in humans A new section on the aims, effects and physiological basis of respiratory physiotherapy - to help both physiotherapists and doctors better understand this common intervention for treating patients'' respiratory disease Additional information on the significant impact of obesity on respiratory physiology in both health and disease New sections on comparative respiratory physiology and respiratory physiology in veterinary practice - understanding respiration in less complex animals and the place of human respiration within the animal kingdom will be of interest to students/practitioners in biology, zoology or veterinary medicine, as well as enlightening in other contexts Bonus eBook access - (printed book) includes access to the complete, fully searchable electronic text, via Expert Consult - incoporating extra chapters, handy chapter summaries and new self-assessment material to aid exam preparation
Principles and Practice of Mechanical Ventilation by
The definitive guide to the use of mechanical ventilation in critically ill patients - now in full color and updated to reflect the latest advances A Doody's Core Title for 2017! Principles & Practice of Mechanical Ventilation, 3e provides comprehensive, authoritative coverage of all the clinical, pharmacological, and technical issues surrounding the use of mechanical ventilation. Editor Martin J. Tobin - past editor-in-chief of the American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine - has enlisted more than 100 authors, all of whom are at the forefront of research in their chosen subfield in order to provide the most authoritative and up-to-date information possible. No other text so thoroughly and comprehensively explores the myriad advances in modes and methodologies that have occurred in this ever-changing field as this cornerstone text. Features Each chapter has been extensively revised to reflect the latest research A strong focus on the biomedical principles that govern ventilator management Expert insights from contributors in critical care, pulmonary medicine, anesthesiology, surgery, basic science, provide a unique multidisciplinary approach 68 chapters that explore every important aspect of mechanical ventilation, including:Conventional and unconventional methods of ventilator support;Noninvasive methods of ventilator support;Unconventional methods of ventilator support;Physiologic effect of mechanical ventilation;Complications in ventilator supported patients;Weaning of ventilator-support;Management of the ventilator-supported patient;Adjunctive therapy, including fluid management, inhaled antibiotic therapy, and bronchodilator therapy;Ethics and economics Principles & Practice of Mechanical Ventilation, 3e comprehensively covers the principles and practice of keeping patients alive through the use of mechanical ventilation, along with related pharmacological and technical issues.
Principles of Pulmonary Medicine by
Using a concise, understandable approach, Principles of Pulmonary Medicine, 8th Edition, provides a broad overview of this fast-changing field, integrating clinical topics with underlying physiologic, pathophysiologic, and basic science concepts. From cover to cover, it clearly explains and illustrates even the most challenging concepts in a uniquely readable and digestible fashion. With its emphasis on pathophysiology and diagnosis as the basis for optimal management of respiratory disorders, this popular text is an essential reference for medical students, trainees, and those looking for a practical update on both acute and chronic pulmonary diseases.
Presents physiologic concepts, pathogenetic and pathophysiologic mechanisms, and radiologic and pathologic correlates of disease in a clear, understandable manner.
Features extensive content updates on interstitial lung disease, emerging and/or viral infections (including COVID-19), lung cancer, asthma, and new biologic and immunologic treatments available for a variety of diseases.
Contains excellent visuals for understanding and interpreting pulmonary disease with easy-to-understand anatomic illustrations and accompanying radiologic and pathophysiologic images―now all in full color for the first time. This edition provides even more images, especially chest radiographs and CT scans, that offer more examples of clinical disorders.
Provides therapeutic strategies, including evidence for assessing relative benefits, harms, and costs.
Includes useful appendices that provide simplified methods for interpreting pulmonary function tests and arterial blood gases, while also presenting sample problems that test the reader’s ability to use respiratory equations, assess pulmonary function abnormalities, and interpret arterial blood gases.
Provides access to extensive online content such as author commentaries, video clips, audio recordings of lung sounds, and over 200 case-based self-assessment questions modeled after the USMLE exam.
Includes margin notes throughout the text that summarize the major points and concepts and allow the reader to quickly review the material.
An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
Pulmonary Disease : pathology, radiology, bronchoscopy by
This book covers neoplastic and non-neoplastic pulmonary diseases, supplying essential information for the most common pulmonary diseases as well as many of the rarer ones. Organized around disease entities and presented in outline form, this book provides easy access to the essential facts and is illustrated with plentiful figures. The essential pathology, radiology and bronchoscopic technologies are discussed, as well as the tools needed to facilitate the most specific diagnoses and thus the most appropriate therapies. Each chapter also provides a list of suggested readings to guide further study. Written for a broad audience of clinicians who encounter these diseases in their everyday practice, this book serves specialists in pulmonary medicine and internal medicine, as well as general surgical pathologists who encounter these diseases as pulmonary specimens and who use this information for definitive evaluation and diagnoses of these entities, especially in small biopsies and cytopathology specimens. Pulmonary Disease: Pathology, Radiology, Bronchoscopy brings together the essential clinical, radiologic and pathologic insights for the major diseases of the lung, emphasizing the diagnostic criteria needed to ensure accurate diagnoses from small specimens.
Pulmonary Function Testing by
This book serves as a unique, comprehensive resource for physicians and scientists training in pulmonary medicine and learning about pulmonary function testing. Pulmonary function testing and the physiological principles that underlie it are often poorly understood by medical students, residents, fellows and graduate students training in the medical sciences. One reason is that students tend to get overwhelmed by the basic mathematical descriptions that explain the working of the respiratory system and the principles of pulmonary function testing. Another reason is that too many approaches focus on the math without explaining the clinical relevance of these principles and the laboratory testing that enables us to measure the very lung function that these principles are describing. This book answers that need by providing a series of chapters that guide the reader in a natural order of learning about the respiratory system. In particular, after a general overview of the structure-function design of the lung and the history of pulmonary function testing, authors begin with the drive to breathe, and then follow the pathway of air as it is drawn into the lung, undergoes gas exchange, and is then exhaled back out again. Each chapter focuses on the key principles and corresponding pulmonary function tests that explain each step in this pathway. Each chapter is written by at least two experts, one with expertise in the underlying physiology, and the other with expertise in the clinical testing and application of pulmonary function testing in practice. Many figures and tables highlight key points, and multiple case studies in each section provide specific examples of the clinical application of each pulmonary function test.This is an ideal guide to pulmonary function tests for practicing pulmonologists, residents, fellows, and medical students.
Pulmonary Physiology, Tenth Edition by
Gain a complete understanding of the aspects of pulmonary physiology essential to clinical medicine For more than 35 years, this trusted review has provided students, residents, and fellows with a solid background in the aspects of pulmonary physiology that are essential for an understanding of clinical medicine. Pulmonary Physiology clearly describes how and why the human respiratory system works in a style that is easy to absorb and integrate with your existing knowledge of other body systems. Features: Thoroughly updated with new figures, tables, and end-of-chapter references and clinical correlations Each chapter includes clearly stated learning objectives, summaries of key concepts, illustrations of essential concepts, clinical correlations, problems, and pulmonary function test data to interpret, and suggested readings Enables you to understand the basic concepts of pulmonary physiology well enough to apply them with confidence in future practice Provides detailed explanations of physiologic mechanisms and demonstrates how they apply to pathologic states If you're in need of a concise, time-tested, basic review of pulmonary physiology--one that encourages comprehension rather than memorization, your search ends here.
Respiratory Physiology by
Gain a foundational understanding of respiratory physiology and how the respiratory system functions in health and disease. Respiratory Physiology, a volume in the Mosby Physiology Series, explains the fundamentals of this complex subject in a clear and concise manner, while helping you bridge the gap between normal function and disease with pathophysiology content throughout the book. Helps you easily master the material in a systems-based curriculum with learning objectives, Clinical Concept boxes, highlighted key words and concepts, chapter summaries, self-study questions, and a comprehensive exam. Keeps you current with recent advances in respiratory physiology, and includes a new chapter on new and emerging aspects of the lung. Includes nearly 150 clear, 2-color diagrams that simplify complex concepts. Features clinical commentaries that show you how to apply what you've learned to real-life clinical situations. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Complete the Mosby Physiology Series! Systems-based and portable, these titles are ideal for integrated programs. Blaustein, Kao, & Matteson: Cellular Physiology and Neurophysiology Johnson: Gastrointestinal Physiology Koeppen & Stanton: Renal Physiology Pappano & Weir: Cardiovascular Physiology White, Harrison, & Mehlmann: Endocrine and Reproductive Physiology Hudnall: Hematology: A Pathophysiologic Approach
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
