Skip to Main Content
E-Books
Atlas of Pediatric Brain Tumors by Adekunle M. Adesina (Editor); Tarik Tihan (Editor); Christine E. Fuller (Editor); Tina Young Poussaint (Editor), 2016
This text was created to fill a void in the practice of pediatric neuropathology. It is a practical and well-illustrated book representing a collection of interesting, common and unusual tumors for a diagnostic exercise by the reader. The wide reception of the first edition by the pathology community is testament to its relevance and utility in the pathologic diagnosis of pediatric brain tumors. This edition covers topics ranging from neuroimaging, the use of crush and touch preps during intraoperative consultation, classic histological features of pediatric brain tumors, tumor variants, and a miscellaneous group of challenging tumors. Chapters consist of essential diagnostic information and features highlighting recognized variants and their differential diagnoses. A section on molecular pathology and electron microscopy is also included for each tumor category, along with a list of classic reviews and innovative articles on each of the tumor entities as suggested reading at the end of each chapter. Atlas of Pediatric Brain Tumors, Second Edition represents the state of the art in pediatric neuropathology with easy utility beside the microscope.
Cancer in Adolescents and Young Adults by Archie Bleyer (Editor); Ronald Barr (Editor); Lynn Ries (Editor); Jeremy Whelan (Editor); Andrea Ferrari (Editor), 2017
This is the second edition of the only book to be devoted exclusively to the total cancer picture in adolescents and young adults (AYA), now expanded from the age range 15-29 to that of 15-39 years. For each of the diverse spectrum of cancers encountered in the AYA group, the epidemiology, natural progression, diagnostic approaches, and treatment options are described, with special emphasis on strategies for early detection and prevention. Comparison is made with management of both younger and older patients, and model programs are presented that address common diagnostic, staging, treatment, and psychosocial shortcomings in the AYA group. Detailed attention is also paid to principles and practices of care, with consideration of psychosocial and quality of life issues, social support systems, rehabilitation, late effects, insurance, and economic aspects of health care, among other topics. The authors make compelling arguments for integrated strategies that allow young adults to benefit from the combined expertise of pediatric and adult oncologists in systems that identify both the complex disease and the social issues specific to this population. The proposed models of care include relationships with other specialties that do not specifically target this age group, i.e., infectious disease, endocrinology, pulmonary medicine, nephrology, gastroenterology, thoracic and abdominal surgery, urology, otolaryngology, and neurosurgery. New patterns of communication are advocated and endorsed as essential for productive interaction involving these specialties. References are extensive and are oriented toward users in pediatric hematology-oncologymedical oncology, radiation oncology, surgical oncology, gynecologic oncology, oncology nursing, psycho-oncology, social work, epidemiology, public health and health services research. The contributing authors are from the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, Italy, France, Israel, Switzerland and Australia, Germany, Japan and the Netherlands.p>
Drug Therapy and Interactions in Pediatric Oncology by Carolina Witchmichen Penteado Schmidt; Fabiana Gatti Menezes, 2017
There are few publications about drug interactions in chemotherapy and even less about pediatric oncology treatment. For this reason, the present book is intended to offer guidelines about drug interactions for physicians, pharmacists and the other healthcare professionals involved in the chemotherapy of pediatric patients. In this book the reader will have access to a primary introduction for the major diseases in pediatric oncology, followed by the major therapeutic protocols. Following that, the most important drug interactions in pediatric oncology treatment are presented and discussed in detail. Finally, important topics such as Drug-Food Interactions are addressed. Drug Therapy and Interactions in Pediatric Oncology focuses in great detail on the drug interactions in Pediatric Oncohematology and will be an indispensable resource in daily practice for a wide range of health providers.
Handbook of Long Term Care of the Childhood Cancer Survivor by Grace A. Mucci (Editor); Lilibeth R. Torno (Editor), 2015
This authoritative reference examines in depth the myriad challenges facing pediatric cancer survivors and proposes a robust framework for structured follow-up of these patients through adulthood. Approaches to long-term follow-up include both established models of care and targeted models of lifelong surveillance of late effects by bodily systems and neurological outcomes. Sections devoted to quality of life and re-entry after treatment focus on key concerns such as health risk behaviors, school and career issues, psychological challenges, and care disparities. And a robust resources section adds extra usefulness to the expert coverage. Among the Handbook's topics: * Developmental considerations in the transition from child and adolescent to adult survivorship. * Long-term follow-up roadmaps by disease and treatment. * Neuropsychological effects of pediatric brain tumors and associated treatment. * Building resiliency in childhood cancer survivors: a clinician's perspective. * School issues and educational strategies for survivors of childhood cancer. * Educating and preparing the childhood cancer survivor for long-term care: a curriculum model for cancer centers. A work of rare scope, scholarship, and clinical acumen, the Handbook of Long-Term Care of the Childhood Cancer Survivor is a rewarding, practice-building resource essential to a wide range of healing professionals, including primary care physicians, pediatricians, oncologists, nurses, psychologists, neuropsychologists, child psychologists, and licensed therapists.
Handbook of Pediatric Hematology and Oncology, Third ed. by Caroline A. Hastings; Joseph C. Torkildson; Anurag K. Agrawal, 2021
The revised guide to the diagnosis, management, and treatment of blood disorders and cancer in children Children with blood disorders and cancer are a unique population that require specialized diagnostic considerations and management. The Handbook of Pediatric Hematology and Oncology has been designed to provide clinicians of all levels with practical guidance through an up-to-date algorithmic approach to these conditions. Assembled by a team of experts from the world-class Children's Hospital & Research Center Oakland, this updated third edition: Presents up-to-date management and treatment guidelines for the most common pediatric blood disorders and malignancies Provides an updated algorithmic approach for the diagnosis and management of the most common conditions and suggested readings Utilizes rapid-referral tables containing visual representations of symptoms, lab findings, differentials, and treatment guidance Incorporates case studies covering different hematologic and oncologic conditions, such as hemolytic anemia, sickle cell disease, hemophilia, neuroblastoma, and sarcomas of the soft tissue and bone Includes a useful formulary that lists chemotherapy agents, dosing, mechanism of action, pregnancy category, indications, and side effects Covers transfusion medicine, stem cell transplantation, management of central venous catheters, acute pain management, oncologic emergencies, and chemotherapy basics With its direct guidance and portable design, the Handbook of Pediatric Hematology and Oncology: Children's Hospital & Research Center Oakland, Third Edition, will prove an invaluable resource to medical students, trainees and residents, pediatric hematology and oncology nurses, pediatricians, and early-career providers in pediatric hematology/oncology.
E-Books
Hematology and transfusion medicine, 4th ed. by Robin K. Ohls; Akhil Maheshwari; Robert D. Christensen 2024
Dr. Richard Polin's Neonatology Questions and Controversies series highlights the toughest challenges facing physicians and care providers in clinical practice, offering trustworthy guidance on up-to-date diagnostic and treatment options in the field. In each volume, renowned experts address the clinical problems of greatest concern to today's practitioners, helping you handle difficult practice issues and provide optimal, evidence-based care to every patient.
Hematopoietic Cell Transplantation in Children with Cancer by Franklin O. Smith (Editor); Gregory H. Reaman (Editor); Judy M. Racadio (Editor); Cole Shanah (Editor), 2014
This book is a comprehensive and up-to-date compendium on all aspects of blood and marrow transplantation in children. After an introductory chapter describing the history of pediatric blood and marrow transplantation, subsequent chapters discuss pediatric-specific aspects of transplantation, including stem cell sources suitable for transplantation, preparative regimens, graft-versus-host disease, complications related to transplantation, and late effects. The role of blood and marrow transplantation in various specific pediatric diseases is then examined, and the closing chapter considers future directions. The authors are all internationally recognized experts and offer a largely evidence-based consensus on etiology, biology, and treatment. This handbook has far-reaching applicability to the clinical diagnosis and management of pediatric diseases that are treatable with blood and marrow transplantation and will prove invaluable to specialists, generalists, and trainees alike.
Imaging in Pediatric Oncology by Stephan D. Voss (Editor); Kieran McHugh (Editor), 2019
This book, co-authored by an internationally acclaimed team of experts in the field of pediatric oncologic imaging, provides a comprehensive update on new advances in diagnostic imaging as they relate to pediatric oncology. In contrast to other oncologic imaging texts focusing on the radiology of specific tumors, this book emphasizes the important fundamentals of imaging that every child with a new or treated malignancy receives. Guidance is provided on the selection and use of appropriate imaging techniques, with individual chapters devoted to each of the major cross-sectional imaging modalities used in the detection and follow-up of pediatric cancers, including PET-CT, PET-MRI, whole-body MRI, and diffusion-weighted MRI. Additional nuclear medicine techniques are addressed, and detailed attention is paid to more advanced areas of practice such as contrast-enhanced ultrasound, pediatric interventional radiology techniques, radiation treatment planning, and radiation dose considerations (ALARA). Other areas covered include screening of children with cancer predisposition syndromes, treatment related complications, potential pitfalls during neuro-oncologic imaging, and the risks and benefits inherent in post-therapy surveillance imaging.
Integrative Pediatric Oncology by Alfred Längler (Editor); Patrick J. Mansky (Editor); Georg Seifert (Editor), 2012
This book covers a broad spectrum of complementary and alternative medicine (CAM) practices employed in pediatric oncology worldwide, with a special focus on the methods widely used in Western countries. It is a scientifically based, practice-oriented handbook that will meet the needs of pediatric oncologists working in medical practices and hospitals. An introductory section includes a comparative overview of current CAM use in pediatric oncology in different countries. Commonly used CAM methods are then discussed in a series of chapters that provide a theoretical description of the method in question, followed by more practically oriented information, including scientific data if applicable. Special attention is paid to the issue of how to integrate each method into conventional pediatric oncology. The closing parts of the book consider aspects of CAM requiring further development, such as institutional research, and provide a road map on establishing integrative pediatric oncology worldwide.
Malignant Pediatric Bone Tumors - Treatment and Management by Timothy Cripe (Editor); Nicholas D. Yeager (Editor), 2015
This book describes in detail current best practice in the diagnosis and treatment of malignant pediatric bone tumors and also discusses other important aspects of management. Clinical assessment, the role of different imaging modalities and choice of biopsy procedure are explained and an individual chapter is devoted to diagnostic pathology. The treatment-oriented chapters offer in-depth descriptions of chemotherapeutic regimens, radiation therapy, limb-salvage options and amputation-related issues and in addition consider the approach to lung nodules, the role of biomarkers, off-therapy monitoring and the treatment of relapse. Psychosocial impacts and needs are addressed and guidance provided on nursing during treatment and rehabilitation following orthopaedic surgery. Closing chapters evaluate emerging therapies and discuss disparate aspects of survivorship. The authors are acknowledged experts and include many contributors from the Nationwide Children's Hospital, a leading pediatric care facility in the United States.
Patient Safety and Quality in Pediatric Hematology-Oncology and Stem Cell Transplantation by Christopher E. Dandoy (Editor); Joanne Hilden (Editor); Amy L. Billett (Editor); Brigitta U. Mueller (Editor), 2017
This volume provides a concise yet comprehensive overview of patient safety issues and quality improvement for the pediatric hematology/oncology/stem cell transplant practice. The book reviews patient safety in complex healthcare delivery systems, delineates the various safety issues affecting pediatric hematology/oncology patients, and discusses quality improvement methods and improvement science that allow the reader to implement and sustain change in their home institution. The text also explores mechanisms to measure quality and safety outcomes, allowing the provider to implement proven processes shown to minimize harm to patients. Written by experts in the field, Patient Safety and Quality in Pediatric Hematology/Oncology and Stem Cell Transplantation is a valuable resource for healthcare professionals treating pediatric hematology, oncology and stem cell transplant patients.
E-Books
Pediatric CNS Tumors by Nalin Gupta (Editor); Anuradha Banerjee (Editor); Daphne Haas-Kogan (Editor), 2017
Pediatric CNS Tumors is a detailed review of childhood brain tumors that offers a biologically based perspective on their management. For each tumor type, epidemiology, pathological features, clinical presentation, diagnosis, and treatment are discussed. Particular emphasis is placed on the provision of treatment algorithms that reflect current best practice, and controversies and therapeutic agents under development are also addressed. The closing chapters consider many of the diagnostic and treatment modalities common to all tumors, with special attention to experimental and emerging techniques. This third edition of the book has been thoroughly revised and updated to take into account the latest advances in knowledge and treatment.
Pediatric Germ Cell Tumors by A. Lindsay Frazier (Editor); James F. Amatruda (Editor), 2014
Germ cell tumors are relatively rare compared with other malignancies, and compilations of knowledge that encompass the entire spectrum of the disease are lacking. This textbook, written by the foremost authorities in the field, rectifies the situation by discussing in depth a broad range of topics, including biology, epidemiology, pathology, treatment, and late effects. Bearing in mind that germ cell tumors are most prevalent in the adolescent and young adult age group, causes of disease and treatment approaches in pediatric and adult patients are compared and contrasted. By spanning the entire life course, from prenatal origins of disease through to treatment in adults and late effects of treatment, the editors have produced a book that will be of interest to both pediatric and adult oncologists.
Pediatric Liver Tumors by Marcio Malogolowkin (Associate Editor); Dietrich von Schweinitz (Associate Editor); Arthur Zimmermann (Editor); Giorgio Perilongo (Editor), 2011
The field of liver tumors in children has seen tremendous therapeutic advances over recent years. This has been achieved through a much better understanding of the biology of disease, improved diagnostic procedures, refined methods of pretreatment tumor staging, the implementation of highly efficient chemotherapy and surgery, detailed monitoring of toxicity, and careful follow-up strategies. International controlled trials have played a key role in these advances, and many leading figures in the trials are among the editors and authors of this book. Their principal goal in Hepatic Tumors in Children is to provide the reader with a complete update on this complex and rapidly evolving field. All aspects of an impressive success story are covered, disclosing how the outcome of a previously devastating disease has been so dramatically improved. This book will prove essential reading for all who are involved in the care of children with liver tumors.
Pediatric Neuro-Oncology by Katrin Scheinemann (Editor); Eric Bouffet (Editor), 2015
"The editors...have done an outstanding job of presenting...complex information in a lucid manner - this book is a must-read for the global community of aspiring students and neuro-oncology practitioners." Amar Gajjar, MD in the Foreword This is a succinct introduction to pediatric neuro-oncology. It summarizes the key advances in molecular biology that have helped transform this rapidly evolving field and provides up-to-date coverage of major and emerging treatment modalities as well as supportive care. Separate chapters present each kind of pediatric brain cancer and its diagnosis and treatment. As more children survive brain cancer, the importance of quality of life issues and helping survivors to cope with the neuropsychological impact and long-term effects of current therapies has come into sharper focus; these topics are also addressed in the book, as are palliative care and pediatric neuro-oncology in countries with limited resources. The book is aimed at trainees and practitioners who seek an up-to-date text in pediatric neuro-oncology that is both comprehensive and concise.
Pediatric Oncology by Paul Imbach (Editor); Thomas Kühne (Editor); Robert J. Arceci (Editor), 2014
This is the third edition of a well-received compendium of information and guidance on the diagnosis and management of the various oncological diseases that are encountered in children and adolescents. In the new edition a chapter on Rare Tumors was added. For each disease entity, fundamental facts are provided that will be relevant for a range of professionals - hospital physicians, specialist nurses, psycho-oncologists, physiotherapists, family doctors and pediatricians. Compared with the first edition all chapters have been updated. Throughout, rapid orientation is ensured by the clear, consistent layout and the concise, lucid style. Pediatric Oncology: A Comprehensive Guide is an excellent, easy-to-use reference that belongs on the shelf of every practitioner who encounters or treats malignancies in the pediatric age group. Pediatric Oncology is teamwork! Fundamental facts for all those involved in diagnosis and management - even social worker, pedagogic teachers, religious care persons.
E-Books
Pediatric Psycho-Oncology by Shulamith Kreitler (Editor); Myriam Weyl Ben-Arush (Editor); Andrés Martin (Editor), 2012
Like the ground-breaking first edition, Pediatric Psycho-oncology, Second edition puts the child at the centre of medical and psychological care. It broadens the focus beyond treatment and cure to consider the quality of life of the child and their family. Written by an international group of pediatric oncologists and psychologists/psycho-oncologists brought together by an expert editorial team, it focuses on the real-life practical aspects of children undergoing treatment for cancer. This edition has been restructured and opens with a major section on Active treatment, which includes chapters addressing quality of life, pain, psychosocial aspects of treatment and interventions, art therapy and different fantasy-based techniques, palliative care, communication and education, as well as a new chapter on psychopharmacology. Shorter sections then discuss survivorship and care of the dying child, including a new chapter on bereavement. The final section comprises new chapters on ethical considerations and on addressing the emotional needs of children whose parents have cancer, as well as a case study on international collaboration. An appendix provides a comprehensive overview of tools for evaluation and assessment in pediatric psychooncology. This book is a highly practical resource that will be invaluable for all health care professionals looking after children and adolescents with cancer.
Rare Tumors in Children and Adolescents by Dominik T. Schneider (Editor); Ines B. Brecht (Editor); Thomas A. Olson (Editor); Andrea Ferrari (Editor), 2012
This is the first book to be devoted exclusively to rare tumors in children and adolescents, and its aim is to provide up-to-date information on their diagnosis and clinical management. The opening section addresses general issues including epidemiology, risk factors/etiology, biology and genetics, early detection, and screening. It also discusses solutions to assist in the management of rare tumors, such as international networking and internet platforms. In the second section, specific malignancies are described, with practical guidance on diagnostic workup, multimodal therapy, follow-up, and adverse effects. Discussion of differential diagnosis encompasses both frequent and rare tumor types, which should enable the clinician to take rare entities into account during the diagnostic assessment. Each chapter goes on to provide detailed therapeutic guidelines for specific rare tumors. The authors are a multidisciplinary group of specialists who have dedicated themselves to this group of tumors.
Supportive Care in Pediatric Oncology by James Feusner (Editor); Caroline A. Hastings (Editor); Anurag K. Agrawal (Editor), 2015
This book provides a thorough and up-to-date discussion of key issues in the supportive care of children with cancer. A variety of frequently encountered situations is covered, including infections, metabolic, cardiopulmonary and neurologic emergencies, tumor lysis syndrome, pain, emesis, mucositis, thrombotic disorders, nutritional problems, hyperleukocytosis and acute abdomen. Throughout the emphasis is firmly on evidenced-based guidance developed from the relevant literature. Information is presented in a manner that will enable readers quickly to locate advice when confronted by a supportive care problem in one of their patients. Helpful algorithms are provided and important "take home points" are highlighted in figures and tables. Supportive Care in Pediatric Oncology will be an invaluable source of assistance for a wide range of health professionals involved in pediatric cancer care.
The Surgery of Childhood Tumors by Robert Carachi (Editor); Jay L. Grosfeld (Editor), 2016
Beginning with the scientific basis of tumors, this book provides up-to-date information on epidemiology, cytogenetics, and molecular biology, before examining current treatments for the full range of pediatric tumors. Integration of surgery, neoadjuvant and adjuvant chemotherapy, and radiation therapy is a dominant theme. In addition, chapters on supportive care, palliative care, and the role of parents' associations reflect the book's holistic approach. All chapters are written by world-renowned international authorities on pediatric cancer from major children's cancer groups. Excellent full-color pictures and line drawings illustrate all aspects of managing childhood tumors, including details of operative techniques neglected in many other texts. This comprehensive book, expanded and updated to encompass the very latest developments and strategies, provides a contemporary approach for pediatric, general, and urological surgeons dealing with childhood tumors.
Textbook of Interdisciplinary Pediatric Palliative Care by Joanne Wolfe; Pamela Hinds; Barbara Sourkes, 2011
The Textbook of Interdisciplinary Pediatric Palliative Care, by Drs. Joanne Wolfe, Pamela Hinds, and Barbara Sourkes, aims to inform interdisciplinary teams about palliative care of children with life-threatening illness. It addresses critical domains such as language and communication, symptoms and quality of life, and the spectrum of life-threatening illnesses in great depth. This comprehensive product takes a first-of-its-kind team approach to the unique needs of critically ill children. It shows how a collaborative, interdisciplinary care strategy benefits patients and their families. If you deal with the complex care of critically ill children, this reference provides a uniquely integrated perspective on complete and effective care. Respect interdisciplinary perspectives, and provide the most comprehensive care. Use an integrated approach to address the physical, psychological, social, and spiritual needs of children and their families. Understand and heed your strengths and vulnerabilities in order to provide the best care for your patients. Recognize the necessity of linking hospital-based palliative care with community resources. Implement consistent terminology for use by the entire palliative care team. Access the full text online with regular updates and supplemental text and image resources. Reflects the collaborative approach necessary to provide optimal care for children and their families
Cancer in Adolescents and Young Adults by
This is the second edition of the only book to be devoted exclusively to the total cancer picture in adolescents and young adults (AYA), now expanded from the age range 15-29 to that of 15-39 years. For each of the diverse spectrum of cancers encountered in the AYA group, the epidemiology, natural progression, diagnostic approaches, and treatment options are described, with special emphasis on strategies for early detection and prevention. Comparison is made with management of both younger and older patients, and model programs are presented that address common diagnostic, staging, treatment, and psychosocial shortcomings in the AYA group. Detailed attention is also paid to principles and practices of care, with consideration of psychosocial and quality of life issues, social support systems, rehabilitation, late effects, insurance, and economic aspects of health care, among other topics. The authors make compelling arguments for integrated strategies that allow young adults to benefit from the combined expertise of pediatric and adult oncologists in systems that identify both the complex disease and the social issues specific to this population. The proposed models of care include relationships with other specialties that do not specifically target this age group, i.e., infectious disease, endocrinology, pulmonary medicine, nephrology, gastroenterology, thoracic and abdominal surgery, urology, otolaryngology, and neurosurgery. New patterns of communication are advocated and endorsed as essential for productive interaction involving these specialties. References are extensive and are oriented toward users in pediatric hematology-oncologymedical oncology, radiation oncology, surgical oncology, gynecologic oncology, oncology nursing, psycho-oncology, social work, epidemiology, public health and health services research. The contributing authors are from the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, Italy, France, Israel, Switzerland and Australia, Germany, Japan and the Netherlands.p>
Drug Therapy and Interactions in Pediatric Oncology by
There are few publications about drug interactions in chemotherapy and even less about pediatric oncology treatment. For this reason, the present book is intended to offer guidelines about drug interactions for physicians, pharmacists and the other healthcare professionals involved in the chemotherapy of pediatric patients. In this book the reader will have access to a primary introduction for the major diseases in pediatric oncology, followed by the major therapeutic protocols. Following that, the most important drug interactions in pediatric oncology treatment are presented and discussed in detail. Finally, important topics such as Drug-Food Interactions are addressed. Drug Therapy and Interactions in Pediatric Oncology focuses in great detail on the drug interactions in Pediatric Oncohematology and will be an indispensable resource in daily practice for a wide range of health providers.
Evidence-Based Pediatric Oncology by
This book is updated with evidence from the latest published reviews and is more clinically focused, with an emphasis on application of the trial findings. With increased coverage of trials in the area of supportive care for pediatric cancer patients, each chapter opens with a clinical question and concludes with a summary on the trial findings from an expert commentator.
Handbook of Long Term Care of the Childhood Cancer Survivor by
This authoritative reference examines in depth the myriad challenges facing pediatric cancer survivors and proposes a robust framework for structured follow-up of these patients through adulthood. Approaches to long-term follow-up include both established models of care and targeted models of lifelong surveillance of late effects by bodily systems and neurological outcomes. Sections devoted to quality of life and re-entry after treatment focus on key concerns such as health risk behaviors, school and career issues, psychological challenges, and care disparities. And a robust resources section adds extra usefulness to the expert coverage. Among the Handbook's topics: * Developmental considerations in the transition from child and adolescent to adult survivorship. * Long-term follow-up roadmaps by disease and treatment. * Neuropsychological effects of pediatric brain tumors and associated treatment. * Building resiliency in childhood cancer survivors: a clinician's perspective. * School issues and educational strategies for survivors of childhood cancer. * Educating and preparing the childhood cancer survivor for long-term care: a curriculum model for cancer centers. A work of rare scope, scholarship, and clinical acumen, the Handbook of Long-Term Care of the Childhood Cancer Survivor is a rewarding, practice-building resource essential to a wide range of healing professionals, including primary care physicians, pediatricians, oncologists, nurses, psychologists, neuropsychologists, child psychologists, and licensed therapists.
Handbook of Pediatric Hematology and Oncology, Third ed. by
The revised guide to the diagnosis, management, and treatment of blood disorders and cancer in children Children with blood disorders and cancer are a unique population that require specialized diagnostic considerations and management. The Handbook of Pediatric Hematology and Oncology has been designed to provide clinicians of all levels with practical guidance through an up-to-date algorithmic approach to these conditions. Assembled by a team of experts from the world-class Children's Hospital & Research Center Oakland, this updated third edition: Presents up-to-date management and treatment guidelines for the most common pediatric blood disorders and malignancies Provides an updated algorithmic approach for the diagnosis and management of the most common conditions and suggested readings Utilizes rapid-referral tables containing visual representations of symptoms, lab findings, differentials, and treatment guidance Incorporates case studies covering different hematologic and oncologic conditions, such as hemolytic anemia, sickle cell disease, hemophilia, neuroblastoma, and sarcomas of the soft tissue and bone Includes a useful formulary that lists chemotherapy agents, dosing, mechanism of action, pregnancy category, indications, and side effects Covers transfusion medicine, stem cell transplantation, management of central venous catheters, acute pain management, oncologic emergencies, and chemotherapy basics With its direct guidance and portable design, the Handbook of Pediatric Hematology and Oncology: Children's Hospital & Research Center Oakland, Third Edition, will prove an invaluable resource to medical students, trainees and residents, pediatric hematology and oncology nurses, pediatricians, and early-career providers in pediatric hematology/oncology.
Hematology and transfusion medicine, 4th ed. by
Dr. Richard Polin's Neonatology Questions and Controversies series highlights the toughest challenges facing physicians and care providers in clinical practice, offering trustworthy guidance on up-to-date diagnostic and treatment options in the field. In each volume, renowned experts address the clinical problems of greatest concern to today's practitioners, helping you handle difficult practice issues and provide optimal, evidence-based care to every patient.
Hematopoietic Cell Transplantation in Children with Cancer by
This book is a comprehensive and up-to-date compendium on all aspects of blood and marrow transplantation in children. After an introductory chapter describing the history of pediatric blood and marrow transplantation, subsequent chapters discuss pediatric-specific aspects of transplantation, including stem cell sources suitable for transplantation, preparative regimens, graft-versus-host disease, complications related to transplantation, and late effects. The role of blood and marrow transplantation in various specific pediatric diseases is then examined, and the closing chapter considers future directions. The authors are all internationally recognized experts and offer a largely evidence-based consensus on etiology, biology, and treatment. This handbook has far-reaching applicability to the clinical diagnosis and management of pediatric diseases that are treatable with blood and marrow transplantation and will prove invaluable to specialists, generalists, and trainees alike.
Imaging in Pediatric Oncology by
This book, co-authored by an internationally acclaimed team of experts in the field of pediatric oncologic imaging, provides a comprehensive update on new advances in diagnostic imaging as they relate to pediatric oncology. In contrast to other oncologic imaging texts focusing on the radiology of specific tumors, this book emphasizes the important fundamentals of imaging that every child with a new or treated malignancy receives. Guidance is provided on the selection and use of appropriate imaging techniques, with individual chapters devoted to each of the major cross-sectional imaging modalities used in the detection and follow-up of pediatric cancers, including PET-CT, PET-MRI, whole-body MRI, and diffusion-weighted MRI. Additional nuclear medicine techniques are addressed, and detailed attention is paid to more advanced areas of practice such as contrast-enhanced ultrasound, pediatric interventional radiology techniques, radiation treatment planning, and radiation dose considerations (ALARA). Other areas covered include screening of children with cancer predisposition syndromes, treatment related complications, potential pitfalls during neuro-oncologic imaging, and the risks and benefits inherent in post-therapy surveillance imaging.
Integrative Pediatric Oncology by
This book covers a broad spectrum of complementary and alternative medicine (CAM) practices employed in pediatric oncology worldwide, with a special focus on the methods widely used in Western countries. It is a scientifically based, practice-oriented handbook that will meet the needs of pediatric oncologists working in medical practices and hospitals. An introductory section includes a comparative overview of current CAM use in pediatric oncology in different countries. Commonly used CAM methods are then discussed in a series of chapters that provide a theoretical description of the method in question, followed by more practically oriented information, including scientific data if applicable. Special attention is paid to the issue of how to integrate each method into conventional pediatric oncology. The closing parts of the book consider aspects of CAM requiring further development, such as institutional research, and provide a road map on establishing integrative pediatric oncology worldwide.
Malignant Pediatric Bone Tumors - Treatment and Management by
This book describes in detail current best practice in the diagnosis and treatment of malignant pediatric bone tumors and also discusses other important aspects of management. Clinical assessment, the role of different imaging modalities and choice of biopsy procedure are explained and an individual chapter is devoted to diagnostic pathology. The treatment-oriented chapters offer in-depth descriptions of chemotherapeutic regimens, radiation therapy, limb-salvage options and amputation-related issues and in addition consider the approach to lung nodules, the role of biomarkers, off-therapy monitoring and the treatment of relapse. Psychosocial impacts and needs are addressed and guidance provided on nursing during treatment and rehabilitation following orthopaedic surgery. Closing chapters evaluate emerging therapies and discuss disparate aspects of survivorship. The authors are acknowledged experts and include many contributors from the Nationwide Children's Hospital, a leading pediatric care facility in the United States.
Patient Safety and Quality in Pediatric Hematology-Oncology and Stem Cell Transplantation by
This volume provides a concise yet comprehensive overview of patient safety issues and quality improvement for the pediatric hematology/oncology/stem cell transplant practice. The book reviews patient safety in complex healthcare delivery systems, delineates the various safety issues affecting pediatric hematology/oncology patients, and discusses quality improvement methods and improvement science that allow the reader to implement and sustain change in their home institution. The text also explores mechanisms to measure quality and safety outcomes, allowing the provider to implement proven processes shown to minimize harm to patients. Written by experts in the field, Patient Safety and Quality in Pediatric Hematology/Oncology and Stem Cell Transplantation is a valuable resource for healthcare professionals treating pediatric hematology, oncology and stem cell transplant patients.
Pediatric Cancer, Volume 1-4 by
V.1. Neuroblastoma. V.2. Teratoid/rhabdoid, brain tumors, and glioma. V.3-V.4. Diagnosis, therapy, and prognosis
Pediatric CNS Tumors by
Pediatric CNS Tumors is a detailed review of childhood brain tumors that offers a biologically based perspective on their management. For each tumor type, epidemiology, pathological features, clinical presentation, diagnosis, and treatment are discussed. Particular emphasis is placed on the provision of treatment algorithms that reflect current best practice, and controversies and therapeutic agents under development are also addressed. The closing chapters consider many of the diagnostic and treatment modalities common to all tumors, with special attention to experimental and emerging techniques. This third edition of the book has been thoroughly revised and updated to take into account the latest advances in knowledge and treatment.
Pediatric Germ Cell Tumors by
Germ cell tumors are relatively rare compared with other malignancies, and compilations of knowledge that encompass the entire spectrum of the disease are lacking. This textbook, written by the foremost authorities in the field, rectifies the situation by discussing in depth a broad range of topics, including biology, epidemiology, pathology, treatment, and late effects. Bearing in mind that germ cell tumors are most prevalent in the adolescent and young adult age group, causes of disease and treatment approaches in pediatric and adult patients are compared and contrasted. By spanning the entire life course, from prenatal origins of disease through to treatment in adults and late effects of treatment, the editors have produced a book that will be of interest to both pediatric and adult oncologists.
Pediatric Liver Tumors by
The field of liver tumors in children has seen tremendous therapeutic advances over recent years. This has been achieved through a much better understanding of the biology of disease, improved diagnostic procedures, refined methods of pretreatment tumor staging, the implementation of highly efficient chemotherapy and surgery, detailed monitoring of toxicity, and careful follow-up strategies. International controlled trials have played a key role in these advances, and many leading figures in the trials are among the editors and authors of this book. Their principal goal in Hepatic Tumors in Children is to provide the reader with a complete update on this complex and rapidly evolving field. All aspects of an impressive success story are covered, disclosing how the outcome of a previously devastating disease has been so dramatically improved. This book will prove essential reading for all who are involved in the care of children with liver tumors.
Pediatric Neuro-Oncology by
"The editors...have done an outstanding job of presenting...complex information in a lucid manner - this book is a must-read for the global community of aspiring students and neuro-oncology practitioners." Amar Gajjar, MD in the Foreword This is a succinct introduction to pediatric neuro-oncology. It summarizes the key advances in molecular biology that have helped transform this rapidly evolving field and provides up-to-date coverage of major and emerging treatment modalities as well as supportive care. Separate chapters present each kind of pediatric brain cancer and its diagnosis and treatment. As more children survive brain cancer, the importance of quality of life issues and helping survivors to cope with the neuropsychological impact and long-term effects of current therapies has come into sharper focus; these topics are also addressed in the book, as are palliative care and pediatric neuro-oncology in countries with limited resources. The book is aimed at trainees and practitioners who seek an up-to-date text in pediatric neuro-oncology that is both comprehensive and concise.
Pediatric Oncology by
This is the third edition of a well-received compendium of information and guidance on the diagnosis and management of the various oncological diseases that are encountered in children and adolescents. In the new edition a chapter on Rare Tumors was added. For each disease entity, fundamental facts are provided that will be relevant for a range of professionals - hospital physicians, specialist nurses, psycho-oncologists, physiotherapists, family doctors and pediatricians. Compared with the first edition all chapters have been updated. Throughout, rapid orientation is ensured by the clear, consistent layout and the concise, lucid style. Pediatric Oncology: A Comprehensive Guide is an excellent, easy-to-use reference that belongs on the shelf of every practitioner who encounters or treats malignancies in the pediatric age group. Pediatric Oncology is teamwork! Fundamental facts for all those involved in diagnosis and management - even social worker, pedagogic teachers, religious care persons.
Pediatric Psycho-Oncology by
Like the ground-breaking first edition, Pediatric Psycho-oncology, Second edition puts the child at the centre of medical and psychological care. It broadens the focus beyond treatment and cure to consider the quality of life of the child and their family. Written by an international group of pediatric oncologists and psychologists/psycho-oncologists brought together by an expert editorial team, it focuses on the real-life practical aspects of children undergoing treatment for cancer. This edition has been restructured and opens with a major section on Active treatment, which includes chapters addressing quality of life, pain, psychosocial aspects of treatment and interventions, art therapy and different fantasy-based techniques, palliative care, communication and education, as well as a new chapter on psychopharmacology. Shorter sections then discuss survivorship and care of the dying child, including a new chapter on bereavement. The final section comprises new chapters on ethical considerations and on addressing the emotional needs of children whose parents have cancer, as well as a case study on international collaboration. An appendix provides a comprehensive overview of tools for evaluation and assessment in pediatric psychooncology. This book is a highly practical resource that will be invaluable for all health care professionals looking after children and adolescents with cancer.
Rare Tumors in Children and Adolescents by
This is the first book to be devoted exclusively to rare tumors in children and adolescents, and its aim is to provide up-to-date information on their diagnosis and clinical management. The opening section addresses general issues including epidemiology, risk factors/etiology, biology and genetics, early detection, and screening. It also discusses solutions to assist in the management of rare tumors, such as international networking and internet platforms. In the second section, specific malignancies are described, with practical guidance on diagnostic workup, multimodal therapy, follow-up, and adverse effects. Discussion of differential diagnosis encompasses both frequent and rare tumor types, which should enable the clinician to take rare entities into account during the diagnostic assessment. Each chapter goes on to provide detailed therapeutic guidelines for specific rare tumors. The authors are a multidisciplinary group of specialists who have dedicated themselves to this group of tumors.
Supportive Care in Pediatric Oncology by
This book provides a thorough and up-to-date discussion of key issues in the supportive care of children with cancer. A variety of frequently encountered situations is covered, including infections, metabolic, cardiopulmonary and neurologic emergencies, tumor lysis syndrome, pain, emesis, mucositis, thrombotic disorders, nutritional problems, hyperleukocytosis and acute abdomen. Throughout the emphasis is firmly on evidenced-based guidance developed from the relevant literature. Information is presented in a manner that will enable readers quickly to locate advice when confronted by a supportive care problem in one of their patients. Helpful algorithms are provided and important "take home points" are highlighted in figures and tables. Supportive Care in Pediatric Oncology will be an invaluable source of assistance for a wide range of health professionals involved in pediatric cancer care.
The Surgery of Childhood Tumors by
Beginning with the scientific basis of tumors, this book provides up-to-date information on epidemiology, cytogenetics, and molecular biology, before examining current treatments for the full range of pediatric tumors. Integration of surgery, neoadjuvant and adjuvant chemotherapy, and radiation therapy is a dominant theme. In addition, chapters on supportive care, palliative care, and the role of parents' associations reflect the book's holistic approach. All chapters are written by world-renowned international authorities on pediatric cancer from major children's cancer groups. Excellent full-color pictures and line drawings illustrate all aspects of managing childhood tumors, including details of operative techniques neglected in many other texts. This comprehensive book, expanded and updated to encompass the very latest developments and strategies, provides a contemporary approach for pediatric, general, and urological surgeons dealing with childhood tumors.
Textbook of Interdisciplinary Pediatric Palliative Care by
The Textbook of Interdisciplinary Pediatric Palliative Care, by Drs. Joanne Wolfe, Pamela Hinds, and Barbara Sourkes, aims to inform interdisciplinary teams about palliative care of children with life-threatening illness. It addresses critical domains such as language and communication, symptoms and quality of life, and the spectrum of life-threatening illnesses in great depth. This comprehensive product takes a first-of-its-kind team approach to the unique needs of critically ill children. It shows how a collaborative, interdisciplinary care strategy benefits patients and their families. If you deal with the complex care of critically ill children, this reference provides a uniquely integrated perspective on complete and effective care. Respect interdisciplinary perspectives, and provide the most comprehensive care. Use an integrated approach to address the physical, psychological, social, and spiritual needs of children and their families. Understand and heed your strengths and vulnerabilities in order to provide the best care for your patients. Recognize the necessity of linking hospital-based palliative care with community resources. Implement consistent terminology for use by the entire palliative care team. Access the full text online with regular updates and supplemental text and image resources. Reflects the collaborative approach necessary to provide optimal care for children and their families