Remember to search for MORE books and e-books in our A-Z list and our library catalog.
Essentials of Nursing Research: Appriasing Evidence for Nursing Practice, Ninth ed. by
Give your students everything they need to actively learn how to apply research to nursing practice. Updated to reflect the latest innovations in research methods, this worldwide bestseller helps students learn how to read and critique research reports, speak the language of nursing research, and develop an appreciation of research to enhance nursing practice. AJN award-winning authors Denise Polit and Cheryl Beck present research essentials, dig into the research steps, and explore quantitative and qualitative research, igniting student curiosity and encouraging them to pursue a professional pathway that incorporates thoughtful appraisals of evidence. Highlights of the Ninth Edition - Enhanced accessibility. The presentation of complex topics is simplified and streamlined, incorporating more straightforward language. - New content. The book,,s coverage of state-of-the-art research concepts and approaches includes new discussions of quality improvement projects as well as clinical significance, a seldom-mentioned but important topic that has recently gained prominence among nurse researchers. - Reorganized coverage. The book's new structure is organized by methodologic content to offer greater continuity and facilitate better understanding of key methodologic differences between quantitative and qualitative research. - Critiquing guidelines and support. Each chapter provides questions that walk students through a study, drawing attention to aspects of the study that can be critiqued by research consumers. In addition, full-length research articles and sample critiques at the end of the book provide opportunities for further critiquing practice. - Research examples. One or two actual research examples at the end of each chapter sharpen readers' critical thinking skills, and research examples throughout the text illustrate key points and stimulate students,, thinking about areas of research inquiry. - Practical guidance. Translation of the abstract notions of research methods into more concrete applications includes tips that explain confusing issues in actual research articles. - New test generator. Hundreds of multiple-choice questions, which are completely new and written by the book's authors, help instructors assess their students' understanding of the chapter content.
Evidence-Based Nursing : The Research-Practice Connection, Fourth ed. by
Evidence-Based Nursing: The Research-Practice Connection, Fourth Edition introduces students to research methods and evidence-based practice. The text helps students understand research methods, how to appraise and use research evidence in clinical decision-making, and how to fully understand and engage in evidence-based practice. By linking evidence-based practice to recent research in safety and quality programs, it provides timely information in both healthcare and nursing settings.
Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses: Appraisal and Application of Research by
Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses: Appraisal and Application of Research continues to be an essential resource for teaching students how to translate research into practice in an updated sixth edition. Built upon the foundation of the five step IDP process (knowledge, persuasion, decision, implementation, and confirmation), this comprehensive resource guides students through the hierarchy of evidence while interweaving concepts such as the evolution of nursing science, quality improvement projects and how they relate to evidence-based practice, as well as search strategies and how to choose a specific research design.Both students and instructors alike praise the organization and presentation of content from authors, Schmidt and Brown. They divided chapters into 'bites', breaking down larger core concepts into smaller, easily digestible parts of the whole, ensuring nursing students grasp a key concept before progressing to the next. Furthermore, to bring content to life, they've woven the Apply What You've Learned case study throughout every chapter to illustrate the importance of hand hygiene. Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses: Appraisal and Application of Research, Sixth Edition delivers a solid introduction to nursing research and substantive strategies that will prepare nursing students for evidence-based point-of-care in their clinical careers.Interested in what educators think of this title? Check out the two reviews below from Professors Catherine Schmitt and Susan Rasmussen regarding their thoughts on this book.Catherine Schmitt ReviewSusan Rasmussen Review
Introduction to Nursing Research: incorporating evidence-based practice by
Introduction to Nursing Research: Incorporating Evidence-Based Practice, Sixth Edition provides a solid foundation for teaching and learning the basics of evidence-based practice. Giving students the tools they need to become effective practitioners, this text is a comprehensive guide for integrating evidence-based practice and research into the day-to-day work of nursing. Mastery of research will allow students training to be nurses to provide quality patient care and improve healthcare outcomes overall.As in previous editions, the authors take a thoughtful and practical approach by combining research, quality improvement, and evidence-based practice. The Sixth Edition focuses on the connection between research and evidence-based practice as a foundation for safe and effective health care. Demonstrating research establishes a foundation that will lead students to evidence-based practice.
Nursing Research: Generating and Assessing Evidence for Nursing Practice, 11th ed. by
Whether used to help students learn how to perform research or how to critically appraise research reports for use in practice, this authoritative, approachable textbook shows how nursing research is applicable across today's changing healthcare field. AJN award-winning authors Denise Polit and Cheryl Beck detail the latest methodologic innovations that have arisen in nursing, medicine, and the social sciences in their signature user-friendly style, accompanied by the helpful learning features, pedagogy, and clean design that have made this book a classic. The updated 11th Edition adds two new chapters designed to help students ensure the accuracy and effectiveness of research methods and the relevance and applicability of nursing inquiries. Extensively revised content throughout strengthens students' ability to locate and rank clinical evidence, verify the authoritativeness of systematic reviews, and distinguish interpretive approaches from aggregative approaches using meta-aggregation. NEW! Quality Improvement and Improvement Science chapter provides methods and frameworks to help students develop and assess improvement projects. NEW! Applicability, Generalizability, and Relevance: Toward Practice-Based Evidence chapter details cutting-edge strategies to meet the growing need for patient-centered, practice-based evidence. UPDATED! Revised content throughout reflects the latest methodologic approaches to ranking evidence, verifying systematic reviews, using meta-aggregation, and more. Critical appraisal guidelines help students focus on specific aspects of a report for the most effective appraisal. Clear, user-friendly writing style introduces concepts logically and clarifies difficult ideas. Specific research tips translate abstract notions into practical strategies to help students confidently apply chapter lessons in real-life situations. Research examples throughout the text illustrate key points and stimulate critical thinking. A comprehensive index provides fast, efficient access to precise information. Tables, figures, and bulleted summaries reinforce essential chapter concepts at a glance.
Nursing Research: Reading, Using, and Creating Evidence, Fourth ed. by
Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools. Nursing Research: Reading, Using, and Creating Evidence, Fourth Edition is an essential text for nursing students to build the skills necessary for translating research into evidence. The Fourth Edition focuses on the Nursing Practice Guidelines and emphasizes evidence-based practice in the profession of nursing. To reinforce these concepts the author cites a particular article that is appraised throughout the entire text. The Fourth Edition also focuses on the dissemination of information and research best practices as conferences and other such resources become more available to students and professionals. Key Features * Emphasis on Nursing Practice Guidelines * New evaluation tool for reviewing a research article * Extensive PICO questions throughout the text * Addition of the contemporary PECO question * Poster template added to the chapter on translation
The Practice of Nursing Research by 
Statistics for Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing by
Statistics for Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing, Third Edition promotes a comprehensive understanding of statistics in all aspects of clinical practice and health care settings. This text has been thoughtfully designed to meet the learning needs of practicing nurses and advanced practice nursing students to help them engage in evidence-based practice. Praised for its readability, the Third Edition teaches students to interpret and evaluate statistical findings in practice. The Third Edition is written with clarity and accessibility in mind, helping drive student comprehension of statistics. Expanded datasets allow for learners to take on more complex practice problems, readying them for real-world application. In addition to featuring the latest SPSS procedures, the new edition presents further instruction using Excel. Readers will appreciate updated case studies, the inclusion of evidence-based practice applications of statistics, and critical thinking questions. New to the Third Edition:- New evidence-based case studies reflect current practices and issues in nursing- New critical thinking questions and self-quizzes reinforce key concepts- Complex datasets simulate working with large populations- Updated screenshots from SPSS and Excel procedures
Studying a Study and Testing a Test: Reading Evidence-Based Health Research by Other great sources of information on evidence-based practice:
