Subject Guides: Evidence-Based Practice: Nursing: Acquire=Searching EBP Resources

Guidelines

AHRQ (Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality) Guidelines and evidence-based information to improve the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care.
AORN Guidelines for Perioperative Practice

Trip Database (No Advanced Search. Use default or PICO) This link opens in a new window

Critically Appraised Sources of Information

CINAHL Evidence-Based Care Sheets
Click on the Evidence-Based Care Sheets tab at the top of the page

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
UpToDate This link opens in a new window A current clinical reference providing answers on disease management and therapy. How to search UpToDate

Did you know that UpToDate has CEs available for nurses? Find out more information here

Point of Care | Research Tools

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window Full-text books, procedures, videos, and images in the basic sciences and medicine.
- This link opens in a new window
APA PsycINFO via Ovid This link opens in a new window Contains citations and abstracts to articles in journals, dissertations, and book chapters in all areas of psychology. Includes indexing of all articles from PsycArticles.
- This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Includes clinical overviews, full-text books and journals, drug information, procedure videos, clinical calculators, patient education handouts, practice guidelines, clinical trials, and MEDLINE® citations and abstracts. Physicians can earn and claim CME.
- This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers, and a federated search feature that incorporates results from external databases.
- This link opens in a new window
EMBASE This link opens in a new window Research database especially useful for systematic reviews. Search in addition to PubMed or MEDLINE.
- This link opens in a new window
Lippincott Advisor This link opens in a new window Evidence-based online references at the point of care. Browse by topic or category, scroll through alphabetical lists of documents, or perform a search to identify a particular document. Includes patient education handouts under Patient Teaching.
Lippincott Procedures This link opens in a new window Access nursing procedures and skills. Scroll through an alphabetical list, browse by nursing category or subcategory, or perform a search to identify a particular procedure. Each entry provides complete instructions, preparation guidelines, implementation steps, special considerations, documentation, and references. Includes video clips.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window Database of evidence-based info on complementary and alternative therapies, especially drug interactions with foods, herbs, and supplements.
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed @ Cleveland Clinic (On & Off Campus) This link opens in a new window Customized link to give full text access to Cleveland Clinic employees. PubMed provides access to bibliographic information which includes MEDLINE as well as additional life science journals. Single Citation Matcher can locate specific articles quickly. The Journal Database can help with journal abbreviations.
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed Clinical Queries This link opens in a new window Search PubMed using specialized filters for clinical studies or COVID-19.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus indexes 14,000 journal titles in the scientific, technical, medical and social science literature from the mid-1960's on. Includes selected web sources and 12.7 million patents.
- This link opens in a new window
Trip Database (No Advanced Search. Use default or PICO) This link opens in a new window Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. In addition to manuscripts, reports, and practice guidelines, Trip includes other content types like images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window A current clinical reference providing answers on disease management and therapy. How to search UpToDate