Subject Guides: Pediatrics: Imaging

Core E-Books

Atlas of Pediatric Echocardiography by Filip Kucera (Editor), 2020 Written by Dr. Filip Kucera, a pediatric cardiology consultant at Great Ormond Street Hospital, Atlas of Pediatric Echocardiography provides "next level" guidance for clinicians who want to improve their echocardiographic skills. It covers a wide range of levels, from a beginner to an advanced level. This highly illustrated atlas is an excellent resource not only for pediatric cardiologists and trainees in pediatric cardiology, but also neonatologists, pediatric intensivists, and pediatricians with an interest in echocardiography. .Contains over 800 high-quality echocardiograms, depicting normal views followed by congenital and acquired cardiovascular defects and other conditions. .Provides clear explanations for all pathology images for a clear understanding of the diagnosis. .Includes a guide to normal echocardiographic examination. .Covers segmental approach to congenital heart disease; atrial, ventricular and atrio-ventricular septal defects; diseases of the mitral, tricuspid, left and right ventricular outflow tract; double outlet right ventricle; tetralogy of Fallot; transposition of the great arteries; truncus arteriosus; functionally single ventricle; PDA; coarctation and interruption of the aorta; vascular rings; pulmonary and systemic venous anomalies; congenital coronary artery abnormalities; myocarditis; cardiomyopathies; Kawasaki disease; rheumatic heart disease; infective endocarditis; pericardial disease; cardiac tumors; pulmonary hypertension; genetic syndromes; mechanical circulatory support; heart transplantation and more.
Atlas of Pediatric Laparoscopy and Thoracoscopy, 2nd ed. by George W. Holcomb (Editor); Steven S. Rothenberg (Editor), 2021 Learn the nuances of successful minimally invasive pediatric surgery from international experts in this fast-changing field. Atlas of Pediatric Laparoscopy and Thoracoscopy, 2nd Edition, brings you up to date with the latest approaches, including gastrointestinal, intra-abdominal, and urologic procedures, as well as robotic operations and a variety of thoracoscopic procedures. Comprehensive, step-by-step instructions are highlighted with outstanding illustrations and more than 50 surgical videos that show you exactly how to proceed, making this an ideal resource for surgeons at all levels of experience. Offers comprehensive instruction from global experts on the nuances of minimally invasive pediatric surgery, helping you successfully perform even the most challenging procedures. Provides superb visual guidance with 350 full-color endoscopic views, 200 corresponding line drawings that illuminate every concept and highlight important anatomical details, and 55 high-quality procedural videos performed by the physicians who pioneered them. Contains new chapters and updated information on laparoscopic intestinal operations in the neonate, laparoscopic fundoplication, endoscopic fundoplication, and minimally invasive pectus carinatum repair. Focuses on minimizing recovery times and post-operative complications. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Caffey's Pediatric Diagnostic Imaging by Brian D. Coley, 2019 For more than 70 years, Caffey's Pediatric Diagnostic Imaging has been the comprehensive, go-to reference that radiologists have relied upon for dependable coverage of all aspects of pediatric imaging. In the 13th Edition, Dr. Brian Coley leads a team of experts to bring you up to date with today's practice standards in radiation effects and safety, as well as in head and neck, neurologic, thoracic, cardiac, gastrointestinal, genitourinary, and musculoskeletal pediatric imaging. This two-volume bestselling reference is a must-have resource for pediatric radiologists, general radiologists, pediatric subspecialists, pediatricians, hospitals, and more - anywhere clinicians need to ensure safe, effective, and up-to-date imaging of children. Provides access to 50 online videos, including hypertrophic pyloric stenosis, disorders of swallowing, fetal swallowing, fetal bowel obstruction, upper GI and ultrasound evaluation of malrotation and volvulus, congenital heart disease MRI evaluation, and many more. Includes separate chapters on radiation effects and safety, pre-natal imaging, neoplasms, trauma, techniques, embryology, genetic anomalies, and common acquired conditions. Takes an updated, contemporary approach with more focused and consistently formatted content throughout. Clinical content includes Overview; Etiologies, Pathophysiology, and Clinical Presentation; Imaging, including pros and cons, costs, evidence-based data, findings, and differential diagnostic considerations; and Treatment, including follow-up. Features 8,500 high-quality images - 1,000 new or updated. Provides expanded coverage of advanced imaging and diagnostics, including genetics and fetal imaging, MRI and advanced MR techniques, low-dose CT, ultrasound, nuclear medicine, and molecular imaging, as well as the latest quality standards, evidence-based data, and practice guidelines. Features new Key Points boxes and more tables and flowcharts that make reference faster and easier. Focuses on safety, particularly in radiation dosing, as part of the Image Gently® campaign to improve pediatric imaging while limiting radiation exposure and unneeded studies. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Diagnostic and Interventional Ultrasound in Pediatric Surgery by Stefan Scholz (Editor); Marcus D. Jarboe (Editor), 2016 This book presents a comprehensive, state-of the-art guide and review of ultrasound applications for children and infants with surgical problems. It is meant as a single source to provide information about sonographic application, interpretation and technique for a diversity of pediatric surgical care providers, making it a useful tool for the ultrasound novice as well as the more advanced ultrasonographer. Sections address initial obstacles faced by a physician starting with ultrasound such as the scanning techniques, underlying anatomy and normal sonographic findings. The initial chapter provides an introduction and basic overview about ultrasound theory and techniques. Subsequent chapters focus on specific body parts and systems and their disease processes as it pertains to pediatric and neonatal patients. The text also includes a chapter on abdominal trauma and its evaluation with the FAST (focused abdominal sonography for trauma) exam.  Diagnostic and Interventional Ultrasound in Pediatric Surgery serves as a useful resource for a broad spectrum of pediatric care providers, including a growing number of ultrasound users, surgeons and pediatricians alike.
Diagnostic Imaging of Infants and Children by Robert G. Wells, 2013 Diagnostic Imaging of Infants and Children is designed to be an efficient reference source for the practicing radiologist, a learning tool for radiology residents and fellows, and a cross-specialty resource for all medical providers who care for children. Technologists in all imaging modalities will also fi nd it useful. The text is comprehensive, but concise. Up-to-date descriptions of the clinical features, pathogenesis, and pathology of diseases provide a solid background for understanding diagnostic imaging principles. The content encompasses essentially all pediatric conditions for which diagnostic imaging is clinically important.
Fundamentals of Pediatric Imaging by Lane F Donnelly, 2021 Fundamentals of Pediatric Imaging, Third Edition presents the foremost techniques of pediatric medical image analysis and processing. It includes advanced imaging techniques, neuro applications, and highlights basic anatomy needed to understand this complex specialty. The book introduces the theory and concepts of pediatric digital image analysis and newly revised information on quality and safety topics, imaging modalities, imaging applications, and new discoveries in diseases and treatments. The newly revised edition provides updates in areas of expertise including neurologic, musculoskeletal, cardiac, chest, and GU imaging. Edited by Lane F. Donnelly, MD, recipient of the Society of Pediatric Radiology's 2009 Singleton-Taybi Award, this book is sure to be a prime reference in pediatric medical imagining.
Imaging in Pediatric Oncology by Stephen d. Voss; Kieran Mchugh, 2019 This book, co-authored by an internationally acclaimed team of experts in the field of pediatric oncologic imaging, provides a comprehensive update on new advances in diagnostic imaging as they relate to pediatric oncology. In contrast to other oncologic imaging texts focusing on the radiology of specific tumors, this book emphasizes the important fundamentals of imaging that every child with a new or treated malignancy receives. Guidance is provided on the selection and use of appropriate imaging techniques, with individual chapters devoted to each of the major cross-sectional imaging modalities used in the detection and follow-up of pediatric cancers, including PET-CT, PET-MRI, whole-body MRI, and diffusion-weighted MRI. Additional nuclear medicine techniques are addressed, and detailed attention is paid to more advanced areas of practice such as contrast-enhanced ultrasound, pediatric interventional radiology techniques, radiation treatment planning, and radiation dose considerations (ALARA). Other areas covered include screening of children with cancer predisposition syndromes, treatment related complications, potential pitfalls during neuro-oncologic imaging, and the risks and benefits inherent in post-therapy surveillance imaging.
Imaging in Pediatrics by A. Carlson Merrow, Jr.; Selena L. Hariharan, 2017 Every page crafted by a collaborative team of pediatricians and pediatric radiologists, this unique title by Drs. A. Carlson Merrow, Jr. and Selena Hariharan is a practical, superbly illustrated reference designed specifically for today's pediatrician. An ideal roadmap to the fast-changing landscape of diagnostic imaging tests, Imaging in Pediatrics not only guides you through the radiologic work-up of common pediatric disorders, but also translates the appearance and language of the work-up results for more effective communication between the pediatrician and the radiologist, resulting in enhanced understanding and better patient care. Uses easy-to-read, bulleted text to highlight the most important facts about each disorder and its associated etiology, imaging work-up, clinical manifestations, and therapy. Covers 248 diagnoses likely seen in practice, logically organized by anatomic region. Helps you determine which studies to order and demonstrates and explains typical findings in accessible language. Provides expanded coverage of key topics, including the imaging work-up of appendicitis that relies on ultrasound and MR over CT; new guidelines on vesicoureteral reflux and urinary tract infections; up-to-date recommendations on imaging in nonaccidental trauma, foreign body removal, and obesity-related diseases; revised nomenclature on pediatric lung diseases, vascular malformations, and neoplasms; and guidance on limiting the use of ionizing radiation in evaluating pediatric diseases. Includes an imaging glossary, introductory prose chapters with general guidelines on imaging specific organ systems, and numerous illustrations depicting complex anatomic and pathologic relationships of individual entities. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Core E-Books

Pediatric Imaging for the Emergency Provider by Robert Vezzetti (Editor); Jestin Carlson (Editor); Debra Pennington (Editor), 2021 Children and infants comprise up to 20% of emergency department visits, and emergency physicians must be knowledgeable in choosing the most appropriate imaging modality to arrive at an accurate diagnosis and provide optimal patient care. Written specifically for the non-specialist and those with limited pediatric training, Pediatric Imaging for the Emergency Provider provides expert guidance in this challenging area. Abundant high-quality imaging examples cover the full range of pediatric disorders you're likely to see, including trauma, musculoskeletal, pulmonary, ENT, cardiac, genitourinary, gastroenterology, neurological, and neonatal patients. Presents more than 80 common and important rare cases, supported with 450+ images across relevant modalities including ultrasound, radiography, CT, and MRI. Identifies key radiographic findings for various pediatric conditions including congenital heart lesions, surgical entities, infectious disease processes, and traumatic injuries. Accompanies images with clear, concise text that makes it easy to grasp the most clinically significant points of each case. Provides expert guidance on best practices in important areas of pediatric imaging such as sedation, ionizing radiation exposure reduction, and imaging modality selection. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Pediatric Interventional Radiology by Michael Temple (Editor); Francis E. Marshalleck (Editor), 2014 The introductory section of the book will highlight the unique elements of pediatric practice that are necessary to provide safe patient care. The remainder of the book will discuss all major vascular and non-vascular PIR procedures. The organization will be procedure specific with secondary area classification. The procedural chapters will be organized using a standard format to make it easier for readers to find information. The chapters will contain introductory descriptions of disease processes, indications for intervention, technical information about the procedures and post procedure care. Area specific procedural details will then be discussed. Within each chapter images, illustrations and tables will provide the quick access to the "What You Need to Know" information such as a list of the size/age appropriate equipment that is commonly used to perform procedures.
Pediatric Neuroradiology by Asim F. Choudhri, 2016 FOUR STARS from Doody's Star Ratings(tm) Written in the concise and engaging style of leading neuro-radiologist Dr. Asim Choudhri, Pediatric Neuroradiology is a highly practical reference focusing on the most common, serious, and challenging conditions seen in the specialty. This book offers concise guidelines on very complex topics related to the areas of pediatric neuroradiology in which it is crucial that radiologists make correct diagnoses. Key Features: Focuses on the practical, clinical needs of neuro-radiologists and pediatric radiologists, as well as all radiologists, neurosurgeons, and neurologists who care for children Sections dedicated to the brain, head and neck, and spine More than 780 high-quality radiographs, MRIs, and CT scans clarify the information presented in the book Three appendices containing information on protocolling and interpreting/reporting studies aid correct interpretation of the studies A quick reference guide enables clinicians to determine the optimal approach to imaging evaluation of neurological symptoms and conditions in children Pediatric Neuroradiology is a key reference that residents and practitioners in the specialty will frequently consult to guide them in the diagnosis and treatment planning of children suffering from neurologic disorders.
Pediatric Radiology: the Requisites by Michele Walters; Richard L. Robertson,2017 Pediatric Radiology: The Requisites focuses on new and emerging trends in pediatric imaging, with expanded content in all core clinical areas. The authors are prominent pediatric radiologists with extensive clinical experience in each of the subspecialty areas covered. Ideal for all radiology residents and practitioners, including specialists and any general radiologist who images children, this book also features coverage of the increasingly important aspects of communication and interpersonal relations with the patient, family, and members of the entire healthcare team. Provides comprehensive yet concise coverage of the core material fundamental to this subspecialty. Presents material in a logical anatomic sequence, organized by organ system. Features a multi-modality approach, providing the most common imaging techniques tailored to each organ system. Includes tables, boxes, pearls, key concepts, and differential diagnosis throughout the text to make key material accessible and easy to reference. Features expanded coverage of new and emerging imaging trends, including state of the art imaging techniques, dose optimization, the roles of the child life specialist and anesthesiologist in pediatric imaging, and the importance of effective communication in pediatric imaging. Focuses on team-based patient care with coverage of the increasingly important aspect of interpersonal relations with the patient, family, and members of the healthcare team. Crucial differences between pediatric and adult imaging are emphasized within each major organ system. Highlights key concepts of pediatric imaging, with special attention paid to dose optimization and the ALARA principle. Includes the newest imaging safety standards surrounding children, focusing on safe radiation dosing and optimization of imaging via lower radiation doses. Provides updated imaging approaches and illustrations of newer techniques applied in common pediatric conditions. 1,120 images clarify basic principles and offer expert image interpretation guidance. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Pediatric Ultrasound, Second ed. by Michael Riccabona (Editor), 2020 This book, now in a revised and updated second edition, systematically covers the use of ultrasound in all organ systems throughout childhood. After discussing the basics, including physics, ultrasound methods, and artifacts, it elucidates decision-making regarding the use of ultrasound by discussing diagnostic flow charts based on recommended imaging algorithms. The main part of the book addresses ultrasound investigations of the various organs. It documents the indications and prerequisites for specific examinations and offers practical tips and tricks. The normal, age-dependent ultrasound findings and typical appearances in different pathologies are presented in detail and illustrated by numerous high-quality images, with a particular emphasis on those findings that differ from the adult sonographic appearances. And finally, dedicated chapters explore point-of-care and emergency ultrasound, interventional ultrasound, and present orienting tables.   This state-of-the-art book covers modern techniques and applications, like contrast-enhanced ultrasound, ultrasound elastography, and automated-image optimization, as well as all pediatric ultrasound applications from point-of-care ultrasound and orienting assessment also at the intensive care unit/emergency room to more detailed and advanced applications, e.g., in dedicated tertiary referral centers.   Pediatric Ultrasound is an invaluable source of information and an indispensable aid to decision-making and diagnosis for radiology residents, (pediatric) radiologists, sonographers, pediatricians, (pediatric) surgeons, urologists, and all other physicians who deal with children as a part of their daily practice.
Radiology Illustrated - Pediatric Radiology by In-One Kim (Editor), 2014 This case-based atlas presents images depicting the findings typically observed when imaging a variety of common and uncommon diseases in the pediatric age group. The cases are organized according to anatomic region, covering disorders of the brain, spinal cord, head and neck, chest, cardiovascular system, gastrointestinal system, genitourinary system, and musculoskeletal system. Cases are presented in a form resembling teaching files, and the images are accompanied by concise informative text. The goal is to provide a diagnostic reference suitable for use in daily routine by both practicing radiologists and radiology residents or fellows. The atlas will also serve as a teaching aide and a study resource, and will offer pediatricians and surgeons guidance on the clinical applications of pediatric imaging.