Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics, 2-Volume Set
by
Covering every aspect of general pediatric practice, as well as details for many pediatric subspecialists, Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics, 22nd Edition, brings you fully up to date with everything from rapidly changing diagnostic and treatment protocols to new technologies to the wide range of biologic, psychologic, and social problems faced by children today. Edited and written by experts and prominent members of the pediatric medical community, this comprehensive two-volume reference covers both the science and art of pediatric practice. It remains the reference of choice among pediatricians, pediatric residents, and others involved in the care of young patients, delivering the information you need in a concise, easy-to-use format for everyday reference and study.
Avery's Diseases of the Newborn
by
Completely revised and updated, Avery's Diseases of the Newborn, 11th Edition, remains your #1 choice for clinically focused, cutting-edge guidance on the evaluation, diagnosis, and treatment of diseases of the newborn. Drs. Christine A. Gleason, Taylor Sawyer, and a team of expert contributing authors provide comprehensive, up-to-date coverage of every key disease and condition affecting newborns, keeping you current in this fast-changing field. You’ll find the specific strategies you need to confidently provide care for this unique patient population, in a full-color, easy-to-use single volume that focuses on key areas of practice.
Comprehensive Pediatric Hospital Medicine, Second Edition
by
The gold-standard text in pediatric hospital medicine - updated and streamlined for today's practice Hailed by reviewers and clinicians alike, Comprehensive Pediatric Hospital Medicine has become the specialty's cornerstone text. Edited by five leading figures in pediatric hospital medicine, this acclaimed resource brings you the most up-to-date, evidence-based approaches to inpatient pediatric care from experts in their fields. Comprehensive Pediatric Hospital Medicine, Second Edition opens with an informative introductory section that defines hospital medicine and addresses general issues of hospitalist practice and administration. This includes important topics such as medical legal issues, communications, electronic health records, palliative care, ethical issues, careers, professional organizations, and more. The book then moves into commonly presenting signs and symptoms. This is followed by the largest section, a breakdown of diseases by system. The text concludes with a procedures section that provides hard-to-find instruction on the procedures most commonly performed on children in a hospital setting. The Disease chapters are templated to include Background, Pathophysiology, Differential Diagnosis, Diagnostic Evaluation, Management, Special Considerations, Key Points, References, algorithms, and more. The Procedures chapters include Indications, Contraindications, Anatomy, Equipment, Procedure, Preparation, Technique, Complications, and Special Considerations. If you're in need of an up-to-date, comprehensive, and authoritative text that spans the emerging field of pediatric hospital medicine, your search ends here.
CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Pediatrics, Twenty-Sixth Edition
by
The most practical, up-to-date guide available for accurately diagnosing and effectively treating child patients--from birth to adolescence The authoritative resource to pediatric medical conditions most often encountered in daily practice, CURRENT Diagnosis and Treatment Pediatrics provides the evidence-based information readers need to deliver effective care in every situation. Packed with 600 photos and illustrations, this evidence-based text offers succinct, accurate overviews of important pediatric health concerns, such as childhood nutrition and eating disorders; substance use; psychiatric disorders; child abuse; oral medicine and dentistry; immunization; and emergencies and injuries. Complete with an invaluable guide to normal laboratory values, it provides detailed descriptions of diseases, as well as diagnostic and therapeutic procedures, and present all information in the time-saving style that makes LANGE CURRENT books so popular: Problem, Essentials of Diagnosis, Clinical Findings, Differential Diagnosis, Treatment, and Prognosis. NEW to this edition: Color insert for dermatology, ophthalmology, infectious disease, and other chapters Optimized digital edition for improved search
Drugs for Pregnant and Lactating Women
by
Comprehensive and easy to use, Drugs for Pregnant and Lactating Women, 3rd Edition, remains your #1 resource for reliable information on virtually all of today's drugs and herbal supplements and how they interact with pregnancy and lactation. This logically organized reference has been frequently emulated, but not duplicated. The 3rd Edition has been thoroughly updated to keep you current with new drugs, changes in FDA labeling, and more in-depth information on interactions. Designed for ease of use in the clinical setting, it provides the key drug information needed by physicians, nurses, physician assistants, and others involved in the care of pregnant and lactating women. Covers nearly 2,000 substances (more than 30 are new), arranged alphabetically by both trade and generic name, all updated and rewritten for this edition. Includes over-the-counter drugs and alternative medications as well as prescription drugs. Includes extensive updates to information for breastfeeding mothers and enhanced drug interactions throughout. Helps you make prescribing decisions with current information on whether each drug is FDA-approved for use by expecting or nursing mothers, is known to be safe for use, or is known to pose a danger. Describes each substance's mechanism of action, side effects, drug-drug interactions, dosage, cost of therapy, and degree of safety during pregnancy or lactation. Features an easy-to-read, efficient design with consistent headings, highly templated drug listings, and succinct text that presents only the key facts you need. Contains a special index listing drugs by category. Points out conflicts in FDA class with existing knowledge throughout the book. Indicates not only whether the FDA has approved a drug based on clinical trials, but also whether the drug is generally considered to be safe in the absence of FDA approval. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices Features new letter thumb tabs for easier navigation. Includes dozens of new drugs and thorough updates throughout. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, videos (including video updates), glossary, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Fanaroff and Martin's Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine, 2-Volume Set
by
A must-have reference for both general physicians and advanced practice providers, Fanaroff and Martin's Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine: Diseases of the Fetus and Infant provides trusted, time-tested guidance on the management and evidence-based treatment of problems in the mother, fetus, and neonate. The fully revised 12th Edition is an ideal resource for every stage of practice and remains the most comprehensive, multidisciplinary text in the field. Drs. Richard J. Martin and Avroy A. Fanaroff from Rainbow Babies and Children's Hospital bring you up to date with everything from diagnosis and treatment selection through post-treatment strategies and management of complications--all with a dual focus on neonatology and perinatology, and all designed to help you improve the quality of life and long-term outcomes of your patients.
The Harriet Lane Handbook
by
Every three years, The Harriet Lane Handbook is carefully updated by residents, edited by chief residents, and reviewed by expert faculty at The Johns Hopkins Hospital. Easy to use, concise, and complete, this essential manual keeps you current with new guidelines, practice parameters, pharmacology, and more. The 23rd Edition of this portable reference continues to be the most widely used and most recognized pediatric reference worldwide--an indispensable resource for pediatric residents, students, nurses, and all healthcare professionals who treat young patients.
Klaus and Fanaroff's Care of the High-Risk Neonate
by
Trusted by neonatologists for more than 40 years, Klaus and Fanaroff's Care of the High-Risk Neonate provides unique, authoritative coverage of technological and medical advances in this challenging field, and includes personal and practical editorial comments that are the hallmark of this renowned text. The 7th Edition helps you take advantage of recent advances in the NICU that have improved patient care, outcomes, and quality of life, with new coverage of genetics and imaging, new cases and commentary throughout, new contributors, and much more. Covers all aspects of high-risk neonatal care, including resuscitation, transport, nutrition, respiratory problems and assisted ventilation, and organ-specific care. Includes two new chapters: Genetics, Inborn Errors of Metabolism, and Newborn Screening; and Neonatal Imaging. Features new case studies, new editorial comments that provide pearls and red herrings, and question-and-answer sections at the end of each chapter. These popular features set this book apart from other NICU-related titles. Uses a new two-color format for readability and quick reference. Contains updated content throughout; easy-to-follow clinical workflow algorithms; numerous tables and illustrations; useful appendices with drug information, normal values, and conversion charts. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Hale's Medications & Mothers' Milk 2023, 20th ed.
by
The worldwide gold standard for lactation support professionals. Developed by world leaders in lactational pharmacology, this essential reference contains the most current, complete, and evidence-based information available on the transmission of maternal drugs into human milk. It thoroughly addresses one of the most commonly asked questions by breastfeeding mothers-which drugs are safe, and which are hazardous for the infant? The new twentieth edition adds 72 new drugs, updates 356 medications with new data, and adds new information to 927 drugs. The resource relies upon the most current evidence-based studies to evaluate the relative risk of commonly used drugs including Dr. Hales highly renowned Lactation Risk Categories (LRC). Considered indispensable by hundreds of clinicians worldwide, the book lists safe alternatives for drugs one is currently taking or might need to take in the future. For ease of access to information, it includes key points and savvy tips in information boxes, common abbreviations, illustrative diagrams, concise information on evaluating the infant, and more. New to the 2023 Edition: 72 new drugs 356 medications updated with new data 3 drugs with FDA updates 927 medications updated with new information 74 existing drugs with updated LRC New tables on monoclonal antibodies and migraines New information on cannabis Key Features: Delivers current, evidence-based information on over 1300 drugs, diseases, vaccines, syndromes. Incorporates recent updates to Dr. Hales world-renowned LRC. Includes key points and savvy tips about breastfeeding and medications for quick reference. Lists common abbreviations and drugs in easily-accessible alphabetical order. Discusses adult concerns, adult dose, pediatric concerns, infant monitoring, and alternatives. Includes succinct information on evaluation of the infant.
Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics
by
Concise, readable, and up to date, Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics, 9th Edition, provides the must-know information you need in pediatrics from the name you trust. A readable, full-color format; high-yield, targeted chapters; and thorough content updates ensure strong coverage of core knowledge as well as recent advances in the field. This focused resource is ideal for medical students, pediatric residents, PAs, and nurse practitioners in various educational and practice settings, including pediatric residencies, clerkships, and exams. Covers normal childhood growth and development, as well as the diagnosis, management, and prevention of common pediatric diseases and disorders. Contains new coverage of COVID-19, Multisystem Inflammatory Syndrome in Children (MIS-C), and Vaping-Induced Lung Injury. Includes Pearls for Practitioners at the end of each section, as well as updated immunization schedules and an expanded discussion of trauma-informed care. Features well written, high-yield coverage throughout, following COMSEP curriculum guidelines relevant to your pediatric clerkship or rotation. Uses a full-color format with images and numerous new tables throughout, so you can easily visualize complex information. Provides real-world insights from chapter authors who are also Clerkship Directors, helping you gain the knowledge and skills necessary to succeed both in caring for patients and in preparing for clerkship or in-service examinations. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Evolve Instructor site with an image and test bank is available to instructors through their Elsevier sales rep or via request at https://evolve.elsevier.com.
Netter's Pediatrics
by
Both an ideal learning tool for students and a superb resource for patient education, Netter's Pediatrics, 2nd Edition, is a rich visual aid featuring more than 500 images by Drs. Frank H. Netter, Carlos Machado, and others working in the classic Netter style. The uniquely aesthetic and accurate artwork is accompanied by up-to-date text contributed primarily by physicians at the prestigious Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, all designed to work together to help you diagnose and care for children with common clinical conditions. New chapters, new features, and new online access makes this pediatrics resource a must-have for pediatric rotations, when studying for exams, or when preparing for patient consultations. Offers at-a-glance information for a quick overview of common pediatric issues-from nutrition, allergy, infectious disease, and adolescent medicine to cancer and heart disease. Depicts key details for each condition with 500 detailed, crystal-clear images provided by Dr. Frank H. Netter, Dr. Carlos Machado, and others working in the Netter tradition. Features new clinical vignettes at the start of each chapter. Includes numerous new chapters including transgender health, feeding and nutrition, device and technology management, endocrine dysnatremias, syndromic intellectual disability, and mitochondrial disorders. Provides access to more than 20 printable patient education brochures online. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Pediatric Decision-Making Strategies
by
Designed to accompany Nelson Textbook of Pediatricsand Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics, Pediatric Decision-Making Strategies is a concise, user-friendly reference uses a unique algorithmic approach to facilitate diagnosis, testing, basic treatment of common pediatric disorders. For any given symptom, an algorithm guides the reader through the appropriate investigative procedures and lab tests to reach definitive diagnoses. An updated format that enhances usability makes this medical reference book a must-have for medical students, residents, and practitioners treating pediatric patients. "...it demonstrates a way of thinking about medicine that is useful in paediatrics and in all other specialties." Reviewed by Seminars in Fetal and Neonatal Medicine , Apr 2015 Explore concise, focused, and updated algorithms that cover the most common pediatric problems. Gain imperative knowledge from an expert author team that includes Dr. Robert M. Kliegman (of the Nelson line of textbooks), as well as references to related chapters in both Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics and Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics. Quickly access important information with a new standard format and trim size for practicality and usability. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, algorithms, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Pediatric Environmental Health
by
Significantly revised and updated, the fourth edition of this popular AAP policy manual helps you identify, prevent, and treat pediatric environmental health problems. This comprehensive guide puts critical children's health information and answers to parents' questions at your fingertips. From asbestos to radiation, ultraviolet rays, pesticides, asthma, lead, tobacco, and child care and school environments--current information on an exhaustive range of environmental health issues is included. Most chapters on chemical and physical hazards are organized in sections that describe the pollutant, routes of exposure, systems affected, clinical effects, diagnostic methods, treatment, and prevention of exposure and include suggested responses to questions that parents may ask. TOPICS INCLUDE Addressing Environmental Health in Primary Care Food and Water Chemical and Physical Exposures Public Health Aspects of Environmental Health Emerging Technologies And more
Pediatric Injectable Drugs (the Teddy Bear Book)
by
Pediatric Injectable Drugs: The Teddy Bear Book is one of ASHP's most recognized and trusted resources dedicated to providing guidance on the use of injectable medications in children. For more than 20 years, pharmacists, physicians, nurses, and other health professionals have relied on The Teddy Bear Book to provide the most comprehensive research-based information on administering injectable medications to children. The Teddy Bear Book is the only reference of its kind that focuses on the unique issues that healthcare professionals face when using injectable medications in children, such as limited fluid volumes, maximum concentrations, and rates of administration. The 12th edition features more than 4,800 references for 273 updated monographs (including 7 monographs that are new to this edition) that, like previous editions, cover the following areas: Medication error potential Infusion-related cautions Dosages and dose adjustment in organ dysfunction Additives and suitable diluents Maximum concentrations Preparation and delivery Bolus, intermittent, and continuous IV administration Other routes of administration New monographs include: Cysteine Cytomegalovirus immunoglobulin Dalbavancin Difibrotide Ferric derisomaltose Ferrumoxytol Varicella zoster immune globulin New features added to all monographs: Expanded monograph layout Pronunciations Enhanced safety information including ASHP's Standardize 4 Safety concentration standards, and The KIDs List AHFS® Pharmacologic-Therapeutic Classification© specific category identification
The Philadelphia Guide: Inpatient Pediatrics, 2nd Edition
by
The ONLY handbook on pediatric hospitalist medicine you need! Focusing specifically on caring for pediatric patients in the hospital setting, this unique handbook addresses more than 350 of the most commonly encountered inpatient pediatric medical conditions. Unlike similar handbooks on the subject, The Philadelphia Guide goes beyond diagnostic strategies to include complete treatment and management guidelines. The emphasis on the treatment of so many inpatient conditions makes the book valuable for practitioners of all levels - from attending physicians to physician assistants, advanced practice nurses, pediatric nurses, and health practitioners from all disciplines involved in the care of pediatric patients in the hospital setting. Designed for immediate access, the handbook features alphabetized clinical sections and consistent chapter subheadings to make the book especially useful at the point of care. Features Practical diagnostic strategies Extensive differential diagnosis suggestions Up-to-date treatment and management guidelines Content designed both for easy browsing and pinpointing specific information Alphabetical organization within chapters for rapid access Structured format with consistent headings throughout Bulleted content for efficient and effective access to relevant information Tables listing pediatric dosages for emergency, airway, and rapid sequence intubation medications, as well as defibrillation and cardioversion protocols Practical appendices covering normal vital signs, neonatal codes, and PALS algorithms NEW 2-color design Samir S. Shah, MD, MSCE is Director, Division of Hospital Medicine, James M. Ewell Endowed Chair, and Attending Physician in Hospital Medicine & Infectious Diseases at Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center; and Professor in the Department of Pediatrics at the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine. Lisa B. Zaoutis, MD is Director of the Pediatrics Residency Program at The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia; and Associate Professor of Clinical Pediatrics in the Department of Pediatrics at the Perelman School of Medicine of the University of Pennsylvania. Marina Catallozzi, MD, MSCE is Assistant Professor of Population and Family Health and Assistant Professor of Clinical Pediatrics at the Columbia University Medical Center, College of Physicians and Surgeons. Gary Frank, MD is Chief Quality and Patient Safety Officer at Children's Healthcare of Atlanta; and Adjunct Associate Professor of Pediatrics in the Department of Pediatrics at Emory University School of Medicine.
The PICU Handbook
by
An innovative new survival guide for the pediatric intensive care unit (PICU) The PICU Handbook is a unique, portable compilation of the information essential for residents and fellows to successfully navigate the modern Level 1 and Level 2 pediatric intensive care unit (PICU). Enhanced by numerous tables, formulas, algorithms, guidelines, checklists, rapid-sequence medication formularies, troubleshooting guides, and clinical pearls this is a true must read for all residents and fellows in pediatrics, family medicine, emergency medicine, and critical care, as well as pediatric hospitalists, pediatric nurse practitioners and advance practice nurses, physician assistants, and medical students. The Handbook is designed to be an easy-reference guide and is logically divided into two parts: Part 1: General Pediatric Critical Care - covers important topics such as resuscitation and stabilization, surgical critical care procedures, and pharmacology Part 2: Organ Systems - includes sections on respiratory, cardiovascular, neurology, renal/fluids & electrolytes, hematology/oncology, gastroenterology/nutrition/hepatology, environmental/toxicology emergencies, and allergy/immunology/genetics The book reflects the fact that pediatric critical care medicine requires a true multidisciplinary approach, with expert chapter contributors who are physicians, nurses, nurse practitioners, respiratory therapists, pharmacists, and nutritionists.
Case Files Pediatrics, Sixth Edition
by
Realistic patient cases to help sharpen clinical decision-making skills The 60 cases in Case Files: Pediatrics feature realistic clinical scenarios designed to help you enhance and hone your clinical decision-making skills. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls, and Board-style review questions to reinforce learning. The format allows you to review a patient vignette and then explore/examine the case in a contextual, application-based manner. The book is ideal for both quick-access and slow and careful study.
The Cleveland Clinic Intensive Review of Pediatrics
by
Review for the pediatric boards with confidence! The Cleveland Clinic Intensive Review of Pediatrics, 5th Edition, provides the core pediatric material you need to know in a practical format ideal for board review and preparation. Up-to-date subspecialty chapters provide concise overviews with bulleted lists, tables, photographs, and radiographs, as well as new multiple-choice questions with detailed rationales. Board simulation chapters in every section and at the end of the book, along with three practice exams, build your test-taking skills. Key Features: -Evaluate your strengths and weaknesses, review important concepts efficiently, and gain experience answering board-style questions. - An essential resource for physicians preparing for certification or recertification, and for primary care physicians seeking to update their knowledge of pediatrics. -Written primarily by distinguished faculty from Cleveland Clinic Children's Hospital. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: -The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time - providing a seamless reading experience online or offline -Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks -Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design -The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
Current Procedures: Pediatrics
by
This essential guide to pediatric procedures puts all the latest techniques right in the palm of your hand.
PCEP : Perinatal Continuing Education Program, Book I-IV
by
This popular resource features step by step skill instruction, and practice focused exercises covering maternal and foetal evaluation and immediate newborn care. Developed by a distinguished editorial board, the Perinatal Continuing Education Program (PCEP) is a comprehensive, self-paced education program in four volumes. This book features eight units covering information and skills for obstetrical evaluation, neonatal resuscitation consistent with AAP guidelines, as well as units to provide the necessary information for initial stabilisation of a newly born infant. Contents include: Unit 1: Is the mother sick? Is the fetus sick? Skill Unit: Determining foetal presentation with Leopold Manoeuvres. Unit 2: Foetal age, growth, and maturity. Unit 3: Foetal well-being Skill Unit: Electronic foetal monitoring. Unit 4: Is the baby sick? Skill Units: Electronic cardiorespiratory monitoring, pulse oximetry. Unit 5: Resuscitating the newborn Skill Units: * Management of oxygen in the delivery setting. * Free-flow oxygen and positive-pressure ventilation. * Endotracheal intubation. * Chest compressions. * Emergency medications. * Apgar score. Unit 6: Gestational age and size and associated risk factors Skill Unit: Estimating gestational age by examination of a newborn. Unit 7: Thermal environment Skill Units: * Radiant warmers. * Incubators and neutral thermal environment. Unit 8: Hypoglycemia Skill Unit: Blood glucose screening tests.
Pediatric Secrets, Seventh ed.
by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Written by Drs. Richard A. Polin and Mark F. Ditmar, Pediatric Secrets, 7th Edition, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - succinct, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Fully revised and updated throughout, including protocols and guidelines that are continuously evolving and that increasingly dictate best practices. Practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in the practice of pediatrics. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Features bulleted lists, mnemonics, practical tips from leaders in the field - all providing a concise overview of important board-relevant content. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Textbook of Neonatal Resuscitation, 9th ed.
by
The Textbook of Neonatal Resuscitation, 9th Edition, incorporates the latest evidence and reflects the 2025 AHA/AAP Guidelines for Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation and Emergency Cardiovascular Care. This edition was developed by a diverse group of leading experts in neonatal resuscitation, including physicians, nurses, respiratory therapists, midwives, and other neonatal care professionals who bring a wide range of clinical and educational perspectives to the program. The 9th Edition continues to promote excellence in newborn resuscitation education and practice across all care settings.
Guidelines for Perinatal Care
by
The gold-standard guide from the AAP and ACOG -- newly updated and more valuable than ever! Significantly revised and updated, the new 8th edition of this bestselling manual provides the latest recommendations on quality care of pregnant women, their fetuses, and their newborn infants. Jointly developed by the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) and American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG), this unique resource addresses the full spectrum of perinatal medicine from both the obstetric and pediatric standpoints. New in the 8th editon: New section on suggested levels of maternal care from birth centers to Level IV institutions New sections on screening for preterm delivery risk added to chapter on antepartum care New topics covered include the timing of cord clamping, the need (or not) for bedrest, and updates in hypertension Guidance regarding postpartum contraception recommendations has been expanded New section on mosquito-borne illnesses (including Zika) New section on infections with high-risk infection control issues Updated recommendations on neonatal resuscitation, screening and management of hyperbilirubinemia, and neonatal drug withdrawal.
For more Pediatric resources, search the links below:
