The Breast by
Now in a single, convenient volume, The Breast: Comprehensive Management of Benign and Malignant Diseases, 5th Edition covers every clinically relevant aspect of the field: cancer, congenital abnormalities, hormones, reconstruction, anatomy and physiology, benign breast disease, and more. Building upon the strengths of previous editions, this updated volume by Drs. Kirby I. Bland, Edward M. Copeland III, V. Suzanne Klimberg, and William J Gradishar, includes the latest innovations in breast cancer detection and treatment in a practical, easy-to-use format ideal for today's surgeons. Delivers step-by-step clinical guidance highlighted by superb illustrations that depict relevant anatomy and pathology, as well as medical and surgical procedures. Reflects the collaborative nature of diagnosis and treatment among radiologists, pathologists, surgeons, oncologists, and other health care professionals who contribute to the management of patients with breast disease. Offers the most comprehensive, up-to-date information on the diagnosis and management of, and rehabilitation following, surgery for benign and malignant diseases of the breast. Covers the latest developments in receptor modulation, targeted monoclonal antibodies, evolving inhibitors with triple-negative disease, and more. Discusses recent minimally invasive surgical techniques and new developments in oncoplastic breast conservation techniques. Contains significant updates to the "Management of Systemic Disease" section that reflect the latest advances in chemotherapy, hormonal resistance, and therapy. Includes links to real-time procedure videos and full-color procedural line drawings from the Klimberg Atlas of Breast Surgical Techniques on Expert Consult, providing expert visual guidance on how to execute key steps and techniques. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, videos (including video updates), glossary, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
For more breast resources, search BOTH links below:
|
||
Breast Cancer by
This book is a practical guide to the management of patients with breast malignancies. It serves as a quick reference book that gives the most up-to-date routine practical management strategies of breast cancer. Written and edited by leading experts, this handbook focuses on the application of conventional and novel treatment strategies to the care of patients with malignant breast disease and all stages of breast cancer. The chapters provide evidence-based treatment strategies for all patient subsets. Surgical, radiation, and medical treatment options are all discussed for each stage of breast cancer. It also includes the definitions of statistical terminologies and their usage in clinical practice and research. This is a comprehensive yet concise resource for residents, fellows, and early-career practitioners.
Breast Cancer Management for Surgeons by
This textbook provides a comprehensive overview of the state of the art knowledge of breast cancer management for the modern breast surgeon. It covers all aspects of multidisciplinary care including primary breast and axillary surgery, reconstruction and oncoplastic techniques, external beam radiotherapy and newer techniques such as tomotherapy, intraoperative radiotherapy and brachytherapy. In addition, systemic therapies including chemotherapy, the latest biological targeted therapies and endocrine therapies are covered. Readers can find out about other important aspects of breast cancer such as genetics, screening, imaging and long-term health among others. Chapters take the reader through the basics up to the highest levels of knowledge in an easy to understand format with management algorithms to aid clinical care, generous referencing of the best literature and figures and photographs to illustrate each section. Published with the official approval of the European Society of Surgical Oncology (ESSO) and the European Society of Breast Cancer Specialists (EUSOMA), the book is written by a panel of recognised leaders in the field and is an indispensable guide for the practicing breast specialist and senior specialists in training, wishing to update their knowledge with the latest trends or polish off their training before accreditation.
Breast Cancer Screening by
Breast Cancer Screening: Making Sense of Complex and Evolving Evidence covers broad aspects of breast cancer screening specifically focusing on current evidence, emerging evidence, and issues that will be critical for future breast screening practice such as tailored screening and shared decision-making in breast screening. The scope of the book is relevant to a global audience. This book provides balanced perspectives on this increasingly controversial topic, using scientific evidence to explain the evolution of knowledge relating to breast cancer screening. Breast Cancer Screening covers the key points related to this debate including the context of increasingly complex and conflicting evidence, divergent opinions on the benefits and harms of breast screening, and variability in screening practice and outcomes across settings around the world. Explains complex and evolving evidence on breast screening with a balanced approach Provides balanced information and up-to-date evidence in an increasingly complex area Addresses emerging topical issues such as screening trials of digital breast tomosynthesis, tailored breast screening, and shared decision-making in breast screening Assists academics and researchers in identifying areas needing further research
Breast Oncology: Techniques, Indications, and Interpretation by
This book presents up to date debates and issues in the world of breast MRI with a very practical focus on how to incorporate current understanding of breast MRI into clinical practice. The book is divided into three key sections, all of which have critical impact for the breast imager: Techniques introduces the reader to the parameters of breast MRI from standard sequences to up-to-date cutting edge techniques. Indications provides a careful review of the accepted indications for breast MRI from High Risk Screening to use of breast MRI, in the context of neoadjuvant chemotherapy with a detailed analysis of the evidence-based support for these indications and a careful look at controversies and debates within the field. MRI Findings, Interpretation, and Management takes on the topics of how to interpret and manage specific MRI findings from benign to malignant disease with a focus on radiologic-pathologic correlation. The section also incorporates a focus on key management dilemmas, including appropriate follow-up intervals for benign findings on MRI and management of probably benign lesions assessed as a Breast Imaging Reporting and Dictating System (BI-RADS)-3 category on MRI.
Breast Reconstruction by
This book examines distinct innovative and modern techniques for breast reconstruction after a mastectomy necessitated by breast cancer. It serves as not only an entry point in learning about the most modern and promising surgical techniques available, but as a pragmatic guide as well. Beginning with an introduction to the history of the subject, the opening chapter offers a lesson in the evolution of the development and improvement of breast reconstruction techniques. Following this, chapters examine anatomic landmarks, including vascular anatomy, design and markings and best indications depending on the type of breast to be reconstructed. Subsequent chapters then present a multitude of surgery methods, including the progression from large open surgical procedures, to endoscopic approaches, and robotic assisted minimally invasive surgery. Finally, scaffold-based tissue engineering that offers a promising future for breast reconstruction surgeries without donor site morbidity is also reviewed. Additionally, the book's expertly written text is supplemented by high-quality illustrations and videos that provide vital surgical guidance for improved surgical outcomes. Comprised of contributions from world-renowned plastic surgeons, Breast Reconstruction: Modern and Promising Surgical Techniques is an invaluable reference for residents, fellows, practicing and highly experienced plastic surgeons, breast surgeons, and those in surgical sub-specialties.
Breast Surgery by
Breast Surgery meets the needs of surgeons in higher training and practising consultants for a contemporary and evidence-based account of this sub-specialty that is relevant to their general surgical practice. It is a practical reference source incorporating the most current information on recent developments, management issues and operative procedures. The text is thoroughly referenced and supported by evidence-based recommendations wherever possible, distinguishing between strong evidence to support a conclusion, and evidence suggesting that a recommendation can be reached on the balance of probabilities. For this Sixth Edition the authorship team across the series has been expanded to include additional European and World experts, with an increased emphasis on global practice. Throughout all six volumes the contents have been extensively revised in line with recently published evidence. Detailed supportive key references are provided and are also included within the comprehensive list of references in the accompanying ebook. Links to recommended online videos have been added where appropriate. The Companion to Specialist Surgical Practice series provides a current and concise summary of the key topics within the major sub-specialties of general surgery. Each volume highlights evidence-based practice both in the text and within the extensive list of references at the end of every chapter. This new edition of Breast Surgery has a revised structure that better reflects the patient pathway through the breast service. New authors have brought new insights into rapidly evolving areas including more sophisticated breast assessment, the increasing options for breast conservation using oncoplastic techniques, and primary medical therapy. An emphasis on patient assessment and surgical techniques are the cornerstone of this revised edition.
Diagnosis and Management of Breast Tumors by
This text is designed to present a practical and concise handbook on the diagnosis and management of breast diseases for quick reference by trainees and practitioners. It emphasizes the approach to diagnosis and management of breast tumors written from the perspectives of each member of the multidisciplinary management team (pathologist, radiologist, medical oncologist, surgical oncologist and radiation oncologist). The text is divided into two sections. The first section is written by each subspecialty with focus on the overview and management of breast tumors, current controversies, position statement when necessary, and quality assurance. The radiology overview addresses questions such as when to perform breast imaging, the difference between screening and diagnostic mammograms, when to perform Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) and ultrasound, the meaning of radiological descriptors, and lastly the cost effectiveness and quality assurance of radiologic assessment of breast tumors. The pathology overview addresses approaches to evaluation of breast biopsies and excision for calcifications, densities, distortion, asymmetry and masses, pitfalls to histologic interpretations, the utility of immunohistochemical stains, quality assurance and cost effectiveness, and current controversies and position statements. Surgical, medical and radiation oncology overviews address when to treat and when to refrain, current treatment options or modalities and the factors informing choice, utility of genomics or molecular diagnostics in management, quality assurance, controversies and position statements. The second section discusses common breast tumors (focusing on radiologic-pathologic diagnosis and correlation) using the practical approach highlighted in the first section. The entities discussed include but are not limited to fibroepithelial tumors, papillary lesions, spindle cell lesions, in-situ and invasive carcinomas. The uniqueness of this book is the focus on the integrated subspecialty approaches with perspectives directly from subspecialty experts and emphasis on how each member of the multidisciplinary team can contribute to the optimal care of the breast cancer patient. The text aims to bridge the gap of the "what next" question and foster a comprehensive, team approach for trainees and practicing physicians by providing information about specific entities from diagnosis to treatment. Generous illustrations and tables in the text enhance appreciation of the entities being discussed.
Kuerer's Breast Surgical Oncology by
The first complete text on surgical breast oncology. Enhanced by a full-color presentation and a companion DVD, Kuerer's is the only text on the market specifically dedicated to the newly emerging field of surgical breast oncology.
Optimizing Breast Cancer Management by
This book presents expert opinions on a variety of key topics related to the management of breast cancer, with a focus on the implications of recent advances and research findings for clinical practice. It also explores the controversy regarding mammography screening and reviews the contribution of new imaging modalities. Considerable attention is paid to developments in surgical procedures, including the potential for the safe and effective use of sentinel lymph node dissection alone--even in patients with positive nodes--and to the advantages and contraindications of new radiotherapy techniques. Genetic aspects are discussed in detail, including an assessment of the role of genetic testing and the potential impact of genetic signatures on breast cancer management. New systemic strategies, such as anti-HER2 therapy, endocrine agents, and agents to reverse endocrine resistance, are considered, and the optimal use of chemotherapy for early-stage and advanced-stage disease is addressed. In closing, the book shares important new insights into lifestyle risk factors, risk reduction strategies, and survivor issues, including sexual dysfunction and fertility maintenance.
Plastic Surgery: Volume 5: Breast by
Completely revised to meet the demands of today's trainee and practicing plastic surgeon, Breast, Volume 5 of Plastic Surgery, 4th Edition, features new color clinical photos, videos and coverage of hot topics in the field. Editor-narrated Power Point presentations offer a step-by-step audio-visual walkthrough of techniques and procedures in breast surgery. Offers evidence-based advice from a diverse collection of experts to help you apply the very latest advances in breast surgery and ensure optimal outcomes. Features editor-narrated PowerPoint presentations that take you step-by-step through key techniques and procedures. Purchase this volume individually or own the entire set, with the ability to search across all six volumes online! New volume editor Maurice Nahabedian brings his expertise and know-how to all aspects of breast surgery Provides updated coverage of: Device considerations in breast augmentation; Breast implant-associated anaplastic large-cell lymphoma; Surgical management of post-mastectomy lymphedema; Gynecomastia surgery; and Radiation therapy in the setting of breast reconstruction. Covers the emerging fields of microsurgical lymphatic reconstruction, super microsurgery, sternal fixation and more. Includes brand-new color clinical photos, videos, and lectures. Editor-narrated Power Point presentations offer a step-by-step audio-visual walkthrough of techniques and procedures. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Triple-Negative Breast Cancer by
This guide provides practical information that will assist clinicians involved in the diagnosis, assessment, treatment, and follow-up care of patients with triple-negative breast cancer. After opening chapters on the pathologic evaluation, clinical presentation, genetics, and imaging features, the full range of current treatment approaches is thoroughly reviewed from a multidisciplinary perspective. Readers will find up-to-date information and guidance on surgical management, radiation therapy, tailored adjuvant therapy, neoadjuvant treatment, systemic treatment for metastatic disease, molecular profiling, and targeted therapy. The coverage is completed by discussion of special issues in young women with triple-negative breast cancer and individualization of the management approach in older patients affected with the disease. All healthcare professionals who care for patients with triple-negative breast cancer will find the book to be an invaluable source of expert advice on the issues faced in real-world practice.
