For more Neurosurgery resources, search BOTH links below:
|
||
Complications in Neurosurgery by
Learn from key leaders in the field of neurosurgery with the practical guidance presented in this first-of-its-kind resource. Complications in Neurosurgery uses a case-based format to explore complications across the full range of commonly performed neurosurgical procedures. As you review dozens of up-to-date, real-life cases, you'll become better equipped to identify pitfalls ahead of time and have the knowledge to handle difficult situations that arise during surgery. Presents commonly encountered cases provided by experienced neurosurgeons in all areas of this challenging specialty. Includes high-quality photographs, images, and dynamic video to ensure complete visual understanding of the procedures. Uses a consistent, easy-to-read format throughout, covering a wide range of surgeries including general neurosurgery and cranial complications, as well as spinal and peripheral complications. Numerous videos depict possible complications for each type of surgery; for example, Complications of Cerebral Bypass Surgery includes videos showing how to obtain venous hemostasis without risking injury to the STA, how to manage atheroma within the donor vessel, and how to manage intraoperative occlusion of the bypass. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Core Techniques in Operative Neurosurgery by
Get step-by-step, expert guidance on fundamental procedures in neurosurgery - both in print and on video. Core Techniques in Operative Neurosurgery, 2nd Edition, provides the tools needed to hone existing surgical skills and learn new techniques, helping you minimize risk and achieve optimal outcomes for every procedure. Led by Dr. Rahul Jandial, this concise reference offers quick access to the expertise and experience of the world's leading authorities in the field of neurosurgery. Presents consistent, easy-to-follow chapters that cover the indications and contraindications, pitfalls, tips and tricks from the experts, and more for each procedure. Covers minimally invasive spine techniques such as Thoracic Corpectomy and Minimally Invasive Direct Lateral Transpsoas Interbody Fusion. Includes new chapters on Microvascular Decompression and Brachial Plexus Injury Nerve Grafting and Transfers. Features procedural videos that summarize the key steps in neurosurgery. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Fitzgerald's Clinical Neuroanatomy and Neuroscience, 8th ed. by
Ideal for both medical students and those in non-medical courses, Fitzgerald's Clinical Neuroanatomy and Neuroscience, 8th Edition, uses clear, understandable text and outstanding artwork to make a complex subject easily accessible. This award-winning title is known for superb illustrations and high readability, expertly integrating clinical neuroanatomy with the clinical application of neuroscience. Organizes chapters by anatomical area, with integrated analyses of sensory, motor, and cognitive systems. Breaks complex concepts and subjects into easily digestible content with clear images and concise, straightforward explanations. Features explanatory illustrations drawn by the same meticulous artists who illustrated Gray's Anatomy. Includes new Basic Science Panels that highlight an emerging or relevant basic science concept to expand your learning in specific content areas. Provides access to the Student Consult enhanced eBook, which contains tutorials for each chapter, hundreds of multiple-choice questions and answers, MRI images with explanatory text, and case studies. Contains learning helps in every chapter, including bulleted points, clinical boxes, opening summaries, and concluding core information boxes. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Functional Neurosurgery by
Functional neurosurgery resource features state-of-the-art approaches from renowned experts! For patients with inadequately treated epilepsy, tremor, dystonia, spasticity, depression, obsessive-compulsive disorder, Parkinson's and Alzheimer's disease, functional neurosurgery offers hope. Functional Neurosurgery: The Essentials is a reader-friendly introduction to this fascinating and rapidly evolving field. The text is edited by internationally prominent functional neurosurgeons Jeffrey A. Brown, Julie G. Pilitsis, and Michael Schulder. It features contributions from authors with expertise spanning the disciplines of neurosurgery, neurology, rehabilitation and physical medicine, neurophysiology, bioengineering, psychiatry and ophthalmology. Opening with a brief history of stereotaxy/functional neurosurgery and brain stereotactic frames, 41 concise and coherent chapters explore cutting-edge approaches to a broad range of functionally treatable conditions. The chapters yield a solid foundation of understanding of the field, with insightful commentary, pearls, and nuances from the editors. The starting question in the neuroprosthetics chapter, "Can a computer infer human intention or perception?" brings to life the exciting, inquisitive, and pioneering spirit of this subspecialty. The robust reference list provides a guide to deeper study that should continue throughout training and practice. Highlights Imaging: MRI and CT for stereotactic neurosurgery, fMRI and resting state MRI Movement disorders: A comparative analysis of the risks and benefits of deep brain stimulation versus lesioning Epilepsy: Temporal lobectomy and extra-temporal surgery; invasive monitoring, neuromodulation, laser interstitial thermal therapy, and vagus nerve stimulation Dystonia: Etiology to diagnosis, medical and surgical options Future innovations: Exoskeletons, intention controlled, and visual neuroprosthetics The text is a fundamental resource for neurosurgical residents during their functional neurosurgery rotations and for general neurosurgeons and functional subspecialists on procedures they may not routinely perform in clinical practice.
Handbook of Neurosurgery by
The quintessential neurosurgical handbook for day-to-day practice! Now in an updated ninth edition, Handbook of Neurosurgery by Mark Greenberg is synonymous with the most classic neurosurgical handbook published to-date. It has enjoyed legendary status as the go-to manual for legions of neurosurgeons for more than a quarter century. The comprehensive and conveniently compact book brings together a wide range of clinical practice guidelines from disparate sources into an amazing one-stop resource. Renowned for its depth and breadth, the updated text with nearly 1,800 pages encompasses the entire spectrum of neurosurgery including anatomy, physiology, differential diagnosis, and current principles of nonsurgical and surgical management. The text covers a huge scope of inherited, developmental, and acquired neurological disorders impacting pediatric to geriatric patients. The easy-to-navigate print and electronic formats provide an intuitive foundation for studying the field of neurosurgery. Key Features: Boxed summaries, key concepts, tables, practice guidelines, signs/symptoms, and "booking the case" highlight and clarify salient points Thousands of well-organized cross references, index entries, and literature citations provide additional study sources Significant revisions to the tumor section reflect a wealth of up-to-date information including treatments, guidelines, sources, and more The addition of new figures enhances understanding of diseases As with prior editions, this must-have daily reference book does a magnificent job making essential neurosurgical information, current trends, breakthrough research, and reviews readily accessible to all neurosurgeons and allied health practitioners.
Neuromonitoring Techniques by
Neuromonitoring Techniques: Quick Guide for Clinicians and Residents provides a quick and easy guide to understanding various neuromonitoring equipment. Chapters include intracranial pressure monitoring, EEG-based monitors, evoked potentials and transcranial doppler. This book is written for trainees, clinicians and researchers in the fields of neurosurgery, neurocritical care, neuroradiology, neuroanesthesia and neurology. As specialized neuromonitoring is now routinely done in neurosurgical cases, it provides an important resource for neurologists, neurophysiologists, anesthesiologists and residents who are expected to have theoretical and practical knowledge on different systems. Each monitoring system is discussed separately, with examples, images, reference values and their interpretations.
Neurophysiology in Neurosurgery by
Over the last 18 years, there have been many advances in the field of intraoperative monitoring. This new edition of Neurophysiology in Neurosurgery: A Modern Approach; provides updates on the original techniques, as well as other more recent methodologies that may either prove beneficial or are commonly used in neuromonitoring. The purpose of this book is to describe the integration of neuromonitoring with surgical procedures. Each methodology is discussed in detail as well as chapters describing how those methodologies are applied to multiple surgical procedures and the evidence used to support those uses. The second edition features a surgical procedure section, which focuses on specific surgical procedures and the type of monitoring used during these procedures. The original chapters have been updated, expanded, and the structure modified to ensure the book is beneficial to both physiologists and surgeons. This book is written for neurosurgeons, neurophysiologists, neurologists, anesthesiologists, interventional neuroradiologists, orthopedic surgeons, and plastic surgeons.
Neurosurgery Case Review: Questions and Answers by
Neurosurgical vignettes in question and answer format provide robust prep for the ABNS oral exam! Neurosurgery Case Review: Questions and Answers, 2nd Edition by Remi Nader, Abdulrahman Sabbagh, Samer Elbabaa, Hosam Al-Jehani, Jaime Gasco, and Cristian Gragnaniello provides a robust study guide for the American Board Neurological Surgery and the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada oral board examinations. The second edition expands on the highly successful first edition, presenting 148 cases commonly encountered by neurosurgeons in clinical practice. The cases are broadly divided into seven sections--tumor, vascular intracranial pathology, trauma, pediatric, functional, spine, and peripheral nerves. The chapters are arranged in a manner that mirrors the oral board exam. Each case includes a brief clinical scenario followed by questions on presentation, diagnosis, imaging, management, surgical detail, complications, and outcome. The presented information is backed by the latest available evidence-based references and data. Key Features: Contributions from internationally renowned neurosurgical educators Detailed answers enhance readers' knowledge and provide guidance on how to respond to questions asked in the oral board exams More than 750 high-quality images, many in full color, ensure visual understanding of key concepts Suggested readings at the end of cases offer additional study resources This is an indispensable, one-stop resource for neurosurgical residents and fellows prepping for the ABNS and Royal College oral board examinations. Neurosurgeons studying for recertification will also find this book an invaluable reference for rapid review.
Neurosurgery Fundamentals by
The quintessential guide providing a one-stop roadmap to a neurosurgical career! Neurological surgery is a complex, highly selective specialty. For medical students and residents, navigating a huge array of neurosurgical information can be overwhelming. Neurosurgery Fundamentals by Nitin Agarwal is a portable reference enabling swift assimilation of neurosurgical care essentials. The book starts with a roadmap to a career in neurosurgery. It concludes with Advice from the Masters, featuring invaluable resources and insights from prominent neurosurgeons. Comprehensive technical overviews are provided on the neurological exam, neuroanatomy, neuroradiology, neurocritical care, traumatic brain and spinal cord injury, degenerative and deformity spine, neurovascular surgery, neurosurgical oncology, pediatric neurosurgery, functional neurosurgery, stereotactic radiosurgery, neurological infectious diseases, and interdisciplinary care. Socioeconomic topics include training, licensure, credentialing, and advocacy. Key Features Fundamental diseases, tests, and operative approaches are summarized. Top Hits feature the most salient questions, aiding in retention of knowledge. High-yield resources are highlighted to augment reader identification. Neurosurgical Pearls offer advice from the masters relevant to each chapter. High-quality illustrations, photographs, and radiographs enrich understanding. Aspiring neurosurgical providers will benefit from the easy-to-digest wealth of information in this concise, yet comprehensive guide. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Principles of Neurological Surgery, Fourth ed. by
Perfect for anyone considering or training in this challenging specialty, Principles of Neurological Surgery, 4th Edition, by Drs. Richard G. Ellenbogen, Laligam N. Sekhar, and Neil Kitchen, provides a clear, superbly illustrated introduction to all aspects of neurosurgery-from general principles to specific techniques. Thorough updates from leading authors ensure that you'll stay abreast of the latest advances in every area of neurosurgery, including pre- and post-operative patient care, neuroradiology, pediatric neurosurgery, neurovascular surgery, trauma surgery, spine surgery, oncology, pituitary adenomas, cranial base neurosurgery, image-guided neurosurgery, treatment of pain, epilepsy surgery, and much more. Offers comprehensive coverage without being encyclopedic - just the right amount of information for those in training or who need an introduction to the field. Provides a strong visual understanding of the essentials of neurosurgery with abundant high-quality illustrations, including imaging, pathology, clinical and operative photographs, surgical line drawings, diagrams, tables, and figures. Presents information in an easy-to-understand, well-written manner, helping you quickly grasp the principles and problems of today's neurosurgery. Features new and improved videos, more emphasis on anatomy and radiology, and new evidence and techniques, keeping you up to date with the latest advances in the field. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Quality and Safety in Neurosurgery by
Quality and Safety in Neurosurgery covers recent improvements and presents solutions for problems that impact patient care. This book is written for anyone who works at the intersection of quality, safety and neurosurgery, including neurosurgeons, neurologists, clinical researchers looking to improve outcomes in neurosurgery, hospital quality and safety officers, department leaders, fellows and residents. Edited by neurosurgeons who helped build the culture of quality and safety in the Department of Neurosurgery at UMN, this work emphasizes quality and safety, whether through 'value based purchasing', finding specialty specific quality and safety metrics, or just the professional desire to provide quality care.
Samii's Essentials in Neurosurgery by
This second edition of Samii's Essentials in Neurosurgery contains revised and updated versions of chapters from the first edition plus contributions on new topics written by leading neurosurgeons who were trained by Professor Madjid Samii in Hannover, Germany.nbsp;Almost all fields of neurosurgery are covered. The authors follow the traditional principles of Samii's philosophy in the diagnosis and management of various neurosurgical pathologies, while presenting their own personal experiences. The extensively illustrated texts document clearly how cutting-edge technology in neurosurgery is being applied in new approaches and techniques. This book will greatly assist neurosurgeons, ENT surgeons, neuroradiologists, neurologists, and neurophysiotherapists in their everyday practice.
Schmidek and Sweet: Operative Neurosurgical Techniques 2-Volume Set, Seventh ed. by
Schmidek and Sweet has been an indispensable reference for neurosurgery training and practice for nearly 50 years, and the 7th Edition of Operative Neurosurgical Techniques continues this tradition of excellence. A new editorial board led by editor-in-chief Dr. Alfredo Quinones-Hinojosa, along with more than 330 internationally acclaimed contributors, ensures that readers stay fully up to date with rapid changes in the field. New chapters, surgical videos, and quick-reference features throughout make this edition a must-have resource for expert procedural guidance for today's practitioners. Discusses indications, operative techniques, complications, and results for nearly every routine and specialized procedure for brain, spinal, and peripheral nerve problems in adult patients. Covers the latest techniques and knowledge in deep brain stimulation for epilepsy, movement disorders, dystonia, and psychiatric disorders; surgical management of blast injuries; invasive electrophysiology in functional neurosurgery; and interventional management of cerebral aneurysms and arterio-venous malformations. Includes new chapters on bypass techniques in vascular disease, previously coiled aneurysms, CSF diversion procedures, surgical management of posterior fossa cystic and membranous obstruction, laser-ablation techniques, and brain stem tumors. Explores hot topics such as wide-awake surgery and ventriculo-peritoneal, ventriculoatrial and ventriculo-pleural shunts. Provides detailed visual guidance with more than 1,600 full-color illustrations and 50 procedural videos. Contains quick-reference boxes with surgical pearls and complications. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Textbook of Pediatric Neurosurgery by
This book documents the state of the art in pediatric neurosurgery with the intention of providing a comprehensive guide to the management of the full range of pediatric neurosurgical disorders that will aid in the delivery of optimal care. Detailed practical instruction, taking into account recent advances, is provided on the neurosurgical treatment of congenital brain malformations, cerebrovascular diseases, head injuries and spinal trauma, infections, functional disorders, congenital and developmental spinal disorders, and brain and spinal tumors. Pearls and pitfalls are highlighted, and attention drawn to the most useful tips and tricks. Information is also included on relevant related topics, including the principles of neuroimaging, the physiological responses of newborns, infants, and children to neurosurgical trauma, preoperative evaluation, anesthesiology and intensive care, and other forms of therapy. The authors are renowned experts in the field, and the text is supported by a wealth of high-quality images. Handbook of Pediatric Neurosurgery will be of value for neurosurgeons of all levels of experience, as well as for pediatricians, neuroradiologists, neuropathologists, and neuro-oncologists.
Youmans and Winn Neurological Surgery by
Widely regarded as the definitive reference in the field, Youmans and Winn Neurological Surgery offers unparalleled, multimedia coverage of the entirety of this complex specialty. Fully updated to reflect recent advances in the basic and clinical neurosciences, the 8th Edition covers everything you need to know about functional and restorative neurosurgery, deep brain stimulation, stem cell biology, radiological and nuclear imaging, and neuro-oncology, as well as minimally invasive surgeries in spine and peripheral nerve surgery, and endoscopic and other approaches for cranial procedures and cerebrovascular diseases. In four comprehensive volumes, Dr. H. Richard Winn and his expert team of editors and authors provide updated content, a significantly expanded video library, and hundreds of new video lectures that help you master new procedures, new technologies, and essential anatomic knowledge in neurosurgery. Discusses current topics such as diffusion tensor imaging, brain and spine robotic surgery, augmented reality as an aid in neurosurgery, AI and big data in neurosurgery, and neuroimaging in stereotactic functional neurosurgery. 55 new chapters provide cutting-edge information on Surgical Anatomy of the Spine, Precision Medicine in Neurosurgery, The Geriatric Patient, Neuroanesthesia During Pregnancy, Laser Interstitial Thermal Therapy for Epilepsy, Fetal Surgery for Myelomeningocele, Rehabilitation of Acute Spinal Cord Injury, Surgical Considerations for Patients with Polytrauma, Endovascular Approaches to Intracranial Aneurysms, and much more. Hundreds of all-new video lectures clarify key concepts in techniques, cases, and surgical management and evaluation. Notable lecture videos include multiple videos on Thalamotomy for Focal Hand Dystonia and a video to accompany a new chapter on the Basic Science of Brain Metastases. An extensive video library contains stunning anatomy videos and videos demonstrating intraoperative procedures with more than 800 videos in all. Each clinical section contains chapters on technology specific to a clinical area. Each section contains a chapter providing an overview from experienced Section Editors, including a report on ongoing controversies within that subspecialty. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
Case Files: Neuroscience, 2nd ed. by
LEARN NEUROSCIENCE IN THE CONTEXT OF REAL-LIFE PATIENTS AND PREPARE FOR THE BOARDS Experience with clinical cases is key to excelling on the USMLE Step 1 and shelf exams, and ultimately to providing patients with competent clinical care. Case Files: Neuroscience provides 49 true-to-life cases thatillustrate essential concepts in this field. Each case includes an easy-tounderstand discussion correlated to essential basic science concepts, definitions of key terms, neuroscience pearls, and USMLE-style review questions. With Case Files, you'll learn instead of memorize. Learn from 49 high-yield cases, each with board-style questions and key-point pearls Master complex concepts through clear and concise discussions Practice with review questions to reinforce learning Polish your approach to clinical problem-solving Perfect for medical, physical therapy, and neuroscience students preparing for course exams and the Boards
Neurosurgery Rounds by
Neurosurgery Rounds: Questions and Answers, Second Edition by Mark Shaya and an impressive cadre of coauthors and contributors, thoroughly prepares medical students and residents for common yet challenging questions frequently encountered during neurosurgery rounds. The convenient, easy-to-follow format provides diverse coverage of multiple disciplines intertwined in the understanding, care, and treatment of neurosurgical patients. Bringing the state of the art in neurosurgery up to date, nine revised and expanded chapters cover a full range of congenital, degenerative, traumatic, neoplastic, infectious, vascular, and inflammatory conditions impacting the brain, spine and peripheral nerves. Short answers and explanations appear directly below the questions, enabling quick reference during busy hospital shifts. Key Features More than 1,600 questions and answers test readers on a wide range of basic neuroscience, brain, spine, and peripheral nerve topics 30 featured cases provide invaluable clinical pearls and insightful discussions More than 175 high-quality radiographs and anatomical illustrations enhance the text This concise review is an essential lab coat companion for all medical students pursuing neurosurgical clerkships or sub-internships and junior residents on rounds.
Video Atlas of Neurosurgery by
Video Atlas of Neurosurgery: Contemporary Tumor and Skull Base Surgery is a unique resource that consists of 40 procedural videos and a concise companion book to reinforce your understanding of the material. Dr. Alfredo Qui#65533;ones-Hinojosa brings together a group of outstanding faculty, residents, and fellows lead by Dr. Jordina Rincon-Torroella, who carefully designed, assembled, and edited each chapter. The videos are enhanced through the inclusion of intraoperative photos, anatomical dissections, outstanding anatomical drawings, and animations that detail key steps and provide the experience of viewing a real-time surgery. Whether consulted together or independently of each other, the video and print content deliver all of the expert knowledge you need for effectively planning and understanding tumor and skull base surgeries. Step-by-step, state-of-the-art videos - 40 in total - are accessible through Expert Consult and narrated by Dr. Qui#65533;ones-Hinojosa. Each video is around 10 minutes with a total running time of over 6 hours Videos highlight key surgical anatomy, focusing special attention on the relationship between lesions and important landmarks. Procedures are broken down step-by-step for easy overview and comprehension. Covers advanced techniques such as: intraoperative brain mapping; intraoperative assessment of resection through iMRI; fluorescence imaging; brain stem mapping techniques; combined open-and-endoscopic approaches, cortical-subcortical stimulation in awake surgery; and more. Dedicated neurosurgical artwork by Devon Stuart includes superb figures that depict the surgical neuroanatomy and approaches in a step-wise fashion. Chapters are presented from the less complex, more common surgeries to the most complex and cutting-edge procedures that may require multidisciplinary approaches. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to access all of the text, figures, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
http://my.clevelandclinic.libguides.com/neurosurgery
