Clinical Child Neurology by
This book, which will hold global appeal, adopts a problem-based approach to childhood disorders of the nervous system with the aim of supporting practicing child neurologists, pediatricians, and residents in training in their management of children with neurological disorders. Throughout, the practical assistance that it offers is based firmly on the best available current scientific evidence. The various pediatric neurologic diseases and organ systems are covered by pediatric neurologists and scientists from leading university hospitals and health centers in both the developed and the developing world. In addition to the full range of more frequent disorders, the book spans the neurological aspects of neglected tropical diseases and neurogenetic diagnostic and management algorithms utilizing the power of emerging DNA technology. A further feature is the inclusion of didactic videos relating to epileptic and movement disorders. As an open access publication with a strong clinical focus, the book will be a handy and valuable reference and resource for all practitioners who deal with childhood neurological disorders.
Current Diagnosis and Treatment Pediatric Neurology by
Get the latest evidence-based methods for diagnosing and treating neurologic disorders in infants, children, and adolescents A practical, up-to-date, well-referenced guide to the wide range of neurological diseases that impact infants, children, and adolescents--with detailed descriptions and safe, effective diagnostic procedures and treatments Nearly 50 chapters covering the full spectrum of pediatric neurologic conditions, including cardinal manifestations of neurologic disease, developmental disorders, pain and other disorders of somatic sensation, epilepsy and disorders of consciousness, major categories of neurologic disease, and diseases of the spinal cord, peripheral nerve and muscle Summaries of the latest guidelines and treatment recommendations for all pediatric neurology diseases and disorders Invaluable for rotations and board exam preparation Addresses many of the new advances in pediatric neurology, while also remaining relevant to trainees and general practitioners to be used as a quick reference guide on treating patients Each chapter is written by experts in their own subspecialty A wealth of tables and figures provides quick access to important information LANGE® Presented in the consistent, easy-to-follow, time-saving CURRENT format: Problem, Essentials of Diagnosis, Clinical Findings, Differential Diagnosis, Treatment, and Prognosis Ideal for medical students, residents, pediatricians, and neurologists Brief overviews, highlighted areas of importance, and multiple choice questions for better board prep review Strikes the perfect balance between brevity and depth
Fenichel's Clinical Pediatric Neurology by
Taking a practical, easy-to-reference signs and symptoms approach, Fenichel's Clinical Pediatric Neurology, 8th Edition, provides a solid foundation in the diagnosis and management of primary neurologic disorders of childhood while bringing you fully up to date with recent developments in the field. It offers step-by-step, authoritative guidance that considers each presenting symptom in terms of differential diagnosis and treatment, reflecting real-life patient evaluation and management. Perfect for board exam preparation, office use, or residency reference, this well-organized, revised edition is an ideal introduction to this complex and fast-changing field. Includes a new chapter on genetics in relation to epilepsy, autism, and many neurometabolic disorders, with up-to-date coverage of genetic testing, diagnosis, and pharmacogenomics. Brings you up to date with the new definition of status epilepticus; new guidelines for Lennox Gastaut syndrome; new FDA-approved drugs for epilepsy, ADHD, dystonia, and more; new data on sudden infant death syndrome; and revised consensus criteria which unifies the concepts of neuromyelitis optica (NMO) and neuromyelitis optica spectrum disorders (NMOSD). Defines age at onset, course of illness, clinical features, and treatment options for each neurological disease, all logically organized by neurological signs and symptoms in a highly templated format. Features weighted differential diagnosis tables and treatment algorithms that help you quickly identify the more common and most treatable neurological disorders, as well as evaluate and manage the most difficult neurodegenerative disorders, including those caused by inborn errors of metabolism. Shares the knowledge and experience of Dr. J. Eric Piña-Garza, MD, a longtime associate and protégé of Dr. Gerald Fenichel, and Dr. Kaitlin C. James, Medical Director of the Pediatric Epilepsy Monitoring Unit at Vanderbilt Children's Hospital. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Movement Disorders in Childhood by
Movement Disorders in Childhood, Third Edition provides the most up-to-date information on the diseases and disorders that affect motor control, an important area of specialization within child neurology. In this new edition, each chapter has been fully revised to include all of the latest scientific and therapeutic advances. Updates include new insights in motor development, control, goal-directed and habitual behaviors, classifications of movements and their complex and integrated circuitry. The authors also discuss developments in pathophysiologic mechanisms, immunology and metabolic disorders. New chapters include coverage of genetics of movement disorders and movement disorders in psychiatric conditions. Appendices include an updated and revised drug index and genetic search strategy. An updated Companion website hosts selected educational videos to help diagnose movement disorders.
Swaiman's Pediatric Neurology by
Since 1975, Dr. Kenneth Swaiman's classic text has been the reference of choice for authoritative guidance in pediatric neurology, and the 6th Edition continues this tradition of excellence with thorough revisions that bring you fully up to date with all that's new in the field. Five new sections, 62 new chapters, 4 new editors, and a reconfigured format make this a comprehensive and clearly-written resource for the experienced clinician as well as the physician-in-training. Nearly 3,000 line drawings, photographs, tables, and boxes highlight the text, clarify key concepts, and make it easy to find information quickly. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. A practical new configuration featuring an expanded electronic version (both online and eBook format) in addition to a one-volume condensed print version. New content includes 12 new epilepsy chapters, 5 new cerebrovascular chapters, and 13 new neurooncology chapters, as well as new chapters on neuroimmunology and neuromuscular disorders, as well as chapters focused on clinical care (e.g., Counseling Families, Practice Guidelines, Transitional Care, Personalized Medicine, Special Educational Law, Outcome Measurements, Neurorehabilitation, Impact of Computer Resources, and Training Issues). Additional new chapters cover topics related to the developmental connectome, stem cell transplantation, and cellular and animal models of neurological disease. Greatly expanded sections to increase your knowledge of perinatal acquired and congenital disorders, neurodevelopmental disabilities, pediatric epilepsy, and nonepileptiform paroxysmal disorders and disorders of sleep. Coverage of new, emerging, or controversial topics includes developmental encephalopathies, non-verbal learning disorders, and the pharmacological and future genetic treatment of neurodevelopmental disabilities.