For more Cardiac Surgery resources, search BOTH links below:
| Find Journals and E-Books |
| Library Catalog |
Advances in Cardiovascular Technology by
Advances in Cardiovascular Technology: New Devices and Concepts is a comprehensive reference for cardiovascular devices of all types. For engineers, this book provides a basic understanding of underlying pathologies and their prevalence/incidence. It also covers what devices are available, how they are clinically used, and their impact on pathophysiology. In addition, the book presents the constraints imposed on device design and manufacture by the environment in which it is used (e.g., exposure to tissues within the body, blood in particular) and the primary requirements for each specific type of device, including its durability and resistance to fatigue. For clinicians, this book contains information on primary engineering challenges, the types of devices available, their advantages and disadvantages, and the (current and emerging) tools and materials available to device designers.
Aortic Valve Transcatheter Intervention by
Aortic Valve Transcatheter Intervention Calcific aortic stenosis (AS) is the most common heart valve anomaly, with a largely age-dependent prevalence, a calculated annual incidence rate in the range of 4-5% in general populations and up to 6% in patients aged 75 years and over. Surgical aortic valve replacement (SAVR) was previously the only option available to patients with symptomatic, severe aortic stenosis. After the first-in-human transcatheter aortic valve implantation (TAVI) was performed by Alain Cribier in 2002, the treatment strategy for patients with symptomatic AS has been revolutionized. Since then, TAVI has grown exponentially, as a result of accruing evidence demonstrating safety and efficacy, and reduced invasiveness compared with SAVR. TAVI devices are continuously expanding to include several valve design options. As this strategy is continuously evolving to treat younger patients and lower-risk populations, aside from the long-term durability of the valve systems, procedural safety will become the focus of newer-generation devices. This book is a practical handbook devoted to the optimization of TAVI procedures, through a focused containment of complications. Through an integrated evaluation of the clinical status, imaging techniques and laboratory findings, the authors provide readers with clear messages on preventive and therapeutic recommendations.
Cardiac Surgery by
Cardiac Surgery: Operative Technique, by Drs. Donald B. Doty and John R. Doty, is your essential source on how to perform today's full range of cardiac surgical techniques. Over 1,000 crisp illustrations and expert, evidence-based discussions guide you step by step, equipping you to perform all of the latest procedures and get the best outcomes. Focus on the practical how-tos you need to perform each operation. Know what to do, what to avoid, and how to manage complications with the authors' discussions of their preferred methods. Benefit from the seasoned expertise of two master cardiac surgeons with decades of experience. Keep your skills current with state-of-the-art coverage of coronary artery surgeries, heart-lung transplantation, lung transplantation, and much more - including the latest evidence for each procedure. Know what to look for and how to proceed with over 1,000 remarkable illustrations and photographs - many new, many in full color - that capture exactly what you will see during surgery. Access the complete contents and illustrations online, fully searchable. Step-by-step surgical guidance for cardiac operations!
Cardiac Surgery by
This textbook provides a succinct overview of cardiac surgery, with key concepts being emphasized throughout. An abundance of illustrations, intra-operative photographs, tables as well as information boxes, aids the reader to visualise, grasp and retain difficult concepts. The inclusion of evidence-based approaches to the management of a range of cardiac surgical conditions equips the reader with an understanding of how to overcome a variety of potentially tough clinical challenges. Concise Cardiac Surgery: A Complete Guide, comprehensively covers a range of techniques used in cardiac surgery. It is therefore, an ideal resource for the trainee and practising cardiac surgeon seeking a practically focused text detailing how to apply the latest techniques and evidence-based approaches in their day-to-day practice.
Cardiac Surgery in the Adult by
The most comprehensive and current full-color cardiac surgery resource - updated by leading surgeons In Cardiac Surgery in the Adult, Fifth Edition, the world's foremost cardiovascular surgeons deliver thorough, up-to-date coverage of operative strategy, decision making, technique, and pre- and post-operative management for treating the adult cardiac patient. Unmatched in both scope and clinical rigor, this classic text contains 63 chapters that highlight every important topic in cardiovascular surgery. Presented in full color, Cardiac Surgery in the Adult takes readers through the optimal treatment of congenital, acquired, infectious, and traumatic diseases of the heart and great vessels. The book opens with a history of cardiac surgery and basic cardiac science, then moves into all types of cardiac surgery, providing both practicing surgeons and residents with insight into the very latest surgical protocols. Cardiac Surgery in the Adult is logically divided into ten sections: * Basics (includes history, anatomy, physiology, pharmacology, computed tomography, risk assessment, simulation, and the fully integrated cardiovascular center) * Perioperative/Intraoperative Care * Ischemic Heart Disease * Aortic Valve Disease * Mitral Valve Disease * Surgery of the Great Vessels * Rhythm Surgery * Other Cardiac Operations (including congenital heart disease, pericardial disease, and cardiac neoplasms) * Transplant and Mechanical Circulatory Support The Fifth Edition has been updated throughout, and includes the latest advances in minimally invasive surgery and simulation.
Clinical Guide to Heart Transplantation by
This is a concise review of up-to-date concepts and techniques in the discipline of heart transplantation. It is a review and reference for practitioners managing patients with advanced heart disease, including patients with end-stage heart failure, mechanical circulatory support or transplant recipients. Heart failure is a major public health issue, with a prevalence of over 5.8 million in the USA, and over 23 million worldwide, and rising. The lifetime risk of developing heart failure is one in five. Heart failure carries substantial morbidity and mortality, with 5-year mortality that rival those of many cancers. As heart transplantation remains the best treatment option for patients with end stage heart failure, this primer will provide valuable information and management strategies for physicians caring for these patients. Also, due to continued shortage in donor organs, heart transplantation is a limited resource - which further underscores the importance of appropriately evaluating patients for transplant candidacy and managing their pre, peri- and post-transplant care for maximum benefit and best outcomes.​
Core Topics in Cardiac Anaesthesia, 3e by
This fully-updated third edition provides a practical and concise guide to all aspects of the perioperative care of cardiac surgical patients. Produced by recognised leaders from world-renowned cardiac centres, this is the authoritative text for residents and fellows in anaesthesia and cardiac surgery, clinical perfusionists, and critical care nurses. Updated chapters include regional anesthesia, paediatric cardiac anaesthesia, and anaesthesia for specific procedures such as aortic valve surgery and cardiac transplantation. An entire section is dedicated to transoesophageal echocardiography (TOE) in recognition of the increasing demand for basic TOE training. The book also includes an expanded chapter on the applications and anaesthetic implications of extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO). The text focuses on clinical practice and the basic science and pharmacology underpinning cardiac anaesthesia, ensuring the reader can easily apply the knowledge gained to real-life situations.
How-To Manual for Pacemaker and ICD Devices by
A complete, how-to-do-it guide to planning, programming, implementing, and trouble-shooting todays pacemakers and other implantable cardiac devices Edited by a team of leading clinician-educators this is a practical, go-to reference for trainees and clinical staff who are new to or less experienced with the programming and management of implantable devices. It distills device best-practices into a single, quick-reference volume that focuses on essential tasks, common pitfalls, and likely complications. Each chapter follows a hands-on, how-to-do-it approach that helps readers quickly master even the most challenging device-related taskssuch as programming and how to respond confidently when complications arise. Todays pacemakers and other implantable EP devices are to earlier versions what smart phones are to rotary phones. They are not only smaller and more comfortable; they offer complex programming options that allow clinicians to adapt a device to individual patient requirements. As they continue to become smaller, smarter, and more adaptable, these devices also become more challenging for clinicians to set up, manage and monitor. This unique, quick-reference guide dramatically reduces the learning curve for mastering this essential technology by giving doctors and technicians the how-to information they need. Focuses on tasks clinicians perform, including pre-implementation, planning, programming, management, troubleshooting, and more Shows how expert clinicians achieve optimal outcomes in their own labs with real-world examples Features more than 300 images, including ECGs, X-ray and fluoroscopy, images from device interrogation, intracardiac electrograms, and color electoanatomical maps Provides eight videos on an accompanying website demonstrating key tasks and techniques Also available in an eBook version, enhanced with instructional videos, How-to Manual for Pacemaker and ICD Devices is an indispensable tool of the trade for electrophysiologists, fellows in electrophysiology, EP nurses, technical staff, and industry professionals.
Khonsari's Cardiac Surgery by
Unique in the field of cardiac surgery, Khonsari's Cardiac Surgery: Safeguards and Pitfalls in Operative Technique details the most important techniques in a concise, readable, and richly illustrated format, with a focus on avoiding and managing surgical pitfalls and complications. From general considerations through the surgical correction of acquired and congenital heart conditions, it provides a wealth of practical, hands-on guidance to help both seasoned and less-experienced cardiac surgeons achieve optimal outcomes. Key Features: Apply the very latest know-how with new sections on endovascular procedures, transcatheter aortic valve replacement (TAVR), new approaches to Norwood reconstruction and repair of Ebstein anomaly, and alternative anatomic repairs of congenitally corrected transposition, as well as thorough updates to all chapters. Master nuances of surgical technique thanks to a wealth of step-by-step illustrations, many of them new, others colorized for greater clarity. Optimize outcomes with special coverage of avoiding and managing technical pitfalls and complications. Spot important details with the aid of distinctive "Nota Bene" notations. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Kirklin/Barratt-Boyes Cardiac Surgery by
Now in its 4th edition, Kirklin/Barratt-Boyes Cardiac Surgery remains your indispensable source for definitive, state-of-the-art answers on every aspect of adult and pediatric cardiac surgery. This dynamic medical reference thoroughly and systematically covers the full range of new and classic surgical procedures-including the latest alternate and minimally invasive surgical techniques-and presents the up-to-date clinical evidence you need to make effective management decisions. Be certain with expert, dependable, accurate answers for every stage of your career from the most comprehensive, definitive text in the field! Get comprehensive coverage of all areas of cardiac surgery, including ischemic, valvular, and congenital heart disease; cardiac tumors; constrictive pericarditis; thoracic aortic surgery; cardiac transplantation; coronary artery disease; aortic valve disease; cardiac rhythm disturbances; heart failure and transplantation; disease of the thoracic aorta; tetralogy of Fallot; anesthesia; and postoperative care. Stay current with the latest advancements and practices. Comprehensive updates throughout include new information on endovascular management of thoracic aorta disease; new data on clinical outcomes; the most recent minimally invasive procedures; non-invasive CT angiography; new alternative surgical approaches to mitral valve surgery; and many other hot topics! Make the most well-informed decisions and achieve optimal outcomes by exploring each condition's natural history; diagnostic criteria; indications for surgery; operative techniques; and follow-up care. Reference information quickly thanks to a new, streamlined format and easily searchable online access to the complete text, downloadable image library, reference links, and more at expertconsult.com. Visually grasp and better understand critical information with the aid of a new, full-color design that includes an abundance of detailed charts and graphs. Stay current with the latest advancements and practices. Comprehensive updates throughout include new information on endovascular management of thoracic aorta disease; new data on clinical outcomes; the most recent minimally invasive procedures; non-invasive CT angiography; new alternative surgical approaches to mitral valve surgery; and many other hot topics! Reference information quickly thanks to a new, streamlined format and easily searchable online access to the complete text, downloadable image library, reference links, and more at www.expertconsult.com. Master cardiac surgery with the Gold Standard for Cardiac Surgery - the most definitive and clinically comprehensive resource on cardiologic procedures including latest alternate and minimally invasive surgical procedures
Management of Cardiac Arrhythmias by
A significantly expanded third edition, this book provides a comprehensive and concise overview of cardiac arrhythmias and their ECG/telemetry manifestations, including the principles of cardiac electrophysiology, current concepts of pharmacology, clinical features, diagnoses, and state-of-the-art treatments. Additionally, the book emphasizes decision-making strategies in approaching each individual patient and the application of technical innovations in specific clinical situations. Organized into eight parts, beginning chapters introduce the concepts and principles of cardiac electrophysiology, unique rhythms, and ECG waves/signs. These chapters are designed to integrate emerging knowledge in basic science and clinical medicine. Subsequent chapters focus on the diagnosis of a variety of cardiac arrhythmias using non-invasive methodology. Throughout the book, chapters continue to analyze pharmacological and other approaches to therapy of specific arrhythmias, including supraventricular tachycardias, atrial fibrillation and flutter, ventricular arrhythmias, and bradyarrhythmias. Finally, the book closes with coverage on inherited cardiac arrhythmia syndromes including the long, short QT, and J-wave syndromes, catecholaminergic polymorphic ventricular tachycardia, and arrhythmogenic right ventricular cardiomyopathy. The third edition of Management of Cardiac Arrhythmias, is an essential resource for physicians, residents, fellows, and medical students in cardiology, cardiac surgery, vascular surgery, cardiac electrophysiology, and cardiac radiology.
Minimally Invasive Thoracic and Cardiac Surgery by
It is now 20 years since thoracoscopic surgery first entered everyday hospital practice, revolutionizing surgery and offering major benefits to patients. The intervening years have witnessed rapid progress, with the development of a variety of specialized techniques and equipment. nbsp; This superbly illustrated book provides authoritative and comprehensive descriptions of the various minimally invasive techniques that are currently employed in thoracic and cardiac surgery. A wide range of thoracoscopic procedures are explained and discussed, and detailed attention is also paid to robotic and robot-assisted surgical techniques. Throughout, the emphasis is on clear description of procedures and identification of practical aspects of relevance in surgical practice. The authors are some of the world's most experienced thoracic and cardiac surgeons, and many of them have contributed greatly to the exploration and development of the field. nbsp;
Pediatric Cardiac Surgery by
PEDIATRIC CARDIAC SURGERY Explore the leading textbook of pediatric cardiac surgery in this easy-to-read and beautifully illustrated volume The field of pediatric cardiovascular surgery includes not only heart surgery for infants and children, but also adult heart surgery to correct congenital heart defects which have been present since birth. As infant mortality from heart defects declines and patients with congenital heart defects live increasingly long and healthy lives, new challenges emerge and as such, the need for introductions to this life-saving field has never been greater. For more than thirty years, Pediatric Cardiac Surgery has met this need with an accessible, comprehensive textbook used by professionals at every level of the field. Featuring full color illustrations, this book offers an introduction to the science of cardiovascular development before moving to detailed analysis of defects in different areas of the heart and their corrective procedures. This updated fifth edition incorporates the latest science to remain the indispensable work on this subject. In Pediatric Cardiac Surgery, 5th edition readers will also find: Contributions from over 75 national and international experts in the field Stunning anatomical illustrations by Rachid Idriss New chapters reflecting cutting-edge research, as well as new material throughout pertaining to cardiac imaging and medical education Pediatric Cardiac Surgery is essential for pediatric and adult cardiac surgeons, cardiologists, and all medical professionals working with pediatric or adult cardiovascular patients.
Robotic Cardiac Surgery by
Robotic Cardiac Surgery is a comprehensive guide to robotic/totally endoscopic cardiac surgery. The book is intended to provide in-depth information regarding the history of robotic surgical systems, their components and principles. It emphasizes patient selection, perioperative management, anesthesia considerations and management, operative techniques and management, postoperative care and results. Extensive, detailed photographs and illustrations of different kinds of robotic surgery are also included. It provides cardiac surgeons, cardiac anesthesiologists, and perfusionists with a comprehensive review of current robotic cardiac surgeries and related knowledge. Changqing Gao, MD, is a professor at the Department of Cardiovascular Surgery, PLA General Hospital, Beijing, China.
Sabiston and Spencer Surgery of the Chest, 10th ed. by
"The only text to cover the full range of adult cardiac, thoracic, and pediatric chest surgery, Sabiston and Spencer Surgery of the Chest provides unparalleled guidance in a single, two-volume resource. This gold standard reference, edited by Drs. Frank Sellke, Pedro del Nido, and Scott Swanson, covers today's most important knowledge and techniques in cardiac and thoracic surgery--the information you need for specialty board review and for day-to-day surgical practice. Meticulously organized so that you can quickly find expert information on open and endoscopic surgical techniques, this 10th Edition is an essential resource not only for all cardiothoracic surgeons, but also for physicians, residents, and students concerned with diseases of the chest"-- publisher's description.
STS cardiothoracic surgery e-book by
"Developed by the Society of Thoracic Surgeons for health care professionals worldwide who provide hearth, lung, esophageal, and other surgical procedures of the chest, STS Cardiothoracic Surgery is an essential resource in the field of adult and congenital cardiac surgery"-- Provided by publisher
Textbook of Cardiothoracic Surgery by
THE LANDMARK GUIDE TO ADULT CARDIAC, CONGENITAL CARDIAC, AND GENERAL THORACIC SURGERY--COMPLETELY UPDATED AND REVISED IN FULL COLOR A Doody's Core Title for 2017! An essential guide for daily clinical practice and a thorough review for the cardiothoracic boards, Johns Hopkins Textbook of Cardiothoracic Surgery is filled with authoritative guidance on surgical techniques and pre- and postoperative strategies for managing cardiothoracic disease. The content of this trusted classic reflects the rapidly changing field of cardiothoracic surgery. In addition to the basic curriculum required for certification, you will find coverage of advanced concepts, controversial issues, and new technologies. Johns Hopkins Textbook of Cardiothoracic Surgery provides an in-depth look at the full-spectrum of disorders and their surgical and medical management options, including congenital, acquired, and neoplastic diseases. Supporting this detailed coverage is an easy-to-navigate design and step-by-step explanations of the most complex operations. THE SECOND EDITION IS HIGHLIGHTED BY: NEW board review Q&A Ten NEW chapters including: Surgical Therapies for Atrial Fibrillation, Management of Adults with Congenital Heart Disease, and Stem Cells forCardiac Surgical Disease NEW full-color illustrations An increased number of decision-making flow charts that will prove valuable when preparing for cases and examinations Key Concepts that highlight epidemiology, pathophysiology, clinical features, diagnostic and treatment strategies, and outcomes for each topic NOTE: This book was previously known as the Johns Hopkins Manual of Cardiothoracic Surgery but the second edition has been renamed to better reflect its scope and comprehensive nature.
Transcatheter Aortic Valve Implantation by
This book provides comprehensive information on transcatheter aortic valve implantation (TAVI), which was introduced for the treatment of aortic valve disease less than two decades ago. It explains how TAVI has delivered satisfactory results even in high and intermediate risk patients and outlines how it continues to evolve, thus requiring awareness of state of the art approaches to indication, risk stratification, device choice, procedure, and follow-up. In addition, it reports on the complex and multidisciplinary approach needed to maximize the efficacy, safety, and appropriateness of TAVI, providing detailed clinical, interventional and surgical perspectives focusing on the development of this cardiovascular intervention. Starting with the history of TAVI, addressing the interventional anatomy of aortic valve disease, and reporting on the expert authors' day-to-day experiences, this highly informative book offers an essential update for all cardiologists and surgeons interested in transcatheter aortic valve implantation, as well as any clinician, decision-maker and stakeholder involved in patient selection, procedural management, and follow-up.
Transcatheter Mitral Valve Therapies by
TRANSCATHETER MITRAL VALVE THERAPIES An essential survey of the advancing field of transcatheter mitral valve repair and replacement Minimally invasive transcatheter therapies have revolutionized the treatment of structural heart disease. Greatly improving outcomes for higher-risk patients, transcatheter aortic valve replacement is now established as a safe and effective alternative to invasive surgery. The mitral valve, however, poses further challenges. Contending with one of the heat's most anatomically and pathologically complex components, practitioners and engineers have yet to perfect a stream-lined, widely deliverable therapy--though they are getting closer and closer to this goal. Transcatheter Mitral Valve Therapies provides a far-reaching survey of the field of mitral interventions in its current state. Highlighting the stumbling blocks preventing transcatheter mitral valve replacement's widespread adoption, the book's international group of contributors discuss the improvements to be made in repair and replacement procedures, as well as the adjunctive use of imaging and pharmacologic therapies. This ground-breaking text: Provides detailed explanations of transcatheter repair, transcatheter replacement, and adjunctive procedures Features chapters on the use of imaging to aid in patient selection, procedure planning, and intra-operative guidance Discusses the importance of minimally invasive approaches for mitral valve repair Examines anticoagulation following transcatheter mitral valve interventions Outlines the possible future of transcatheter mitral valve therapy Transcatheter Mitral Valve Therapies is an important, up-to-date resource for interventional cardiologists, as well as all clinical researchers and practitioners seeking information on this vital and developing treatment.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
