Skip to Main Content
Core E-Books
Atlas of Adult Congenital Heart Surgery by Constantine Mavroudis (Editor); Joseph A. Dearani (Editor), 2019
This atlas comprehensively covers surgical techniques for congenital heart surgery. As the population with congenital heart defects increases more and more operations will be required to treat the residual defects, new defects, and replacement strategies such as valve replacements. Chapters are devoted to specific conditions and feature detailed descriptions of how to perform a variety of appropriate reparative surgical techniques; involving complex anatomy, reoperative surgery, and unique techniques to this speciality, enabling the reader to develop a deep understanding of how to successfully resolve situations such as left ventricular outflow tract obstruction, anomalous pulmonary venous return, and anomalous origin of the coronary arteries. Atlas of Adult Congenital Heart Surgery provides a foundational resource for practising and trainee cardiac surgeons, nurses, and healthcare associates seeking specialist training and insight to the resolution of congenital heart diseases in adults.
Atlas of Cardiac Surgical Techniques by Frank Sellke; Marc Ruel, 2019
Get expert, step-by-step guidance on a wide variety of both open and interventional cardiac surgical techniques. Atlas of Cardiac Surgical Techniques, 2nd Edition, helps you expand your surgical repertoire and hone your skills with a vividly illustrated, easy-to-navigate text, procedural videos online, and pearls and pitfalls throughout. This revised atlas covers the surgical procedures you need to master, including minimally invasive techniques, robotic surgery, aortic dissection, and much more. Seven brand-new chapters cover Hybrid Coronary Revascularization, Aortic Valve Repair Techniques, Transcatheter Aortic Valve Replacement, Robotic Mitral Valve Surgery, Surgery for Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy, Approaches and Techniques to Extra-Corporeal Membrane Oxygenation, and Pulmonary Endarterectomy. Multiple new contributing authors offer a fresh perspective in their areas of expertise. A consistent chapter format guides you quickly from surgical anatomy and preoperative considerations through operative steps and postoperative care. Online videos highlight key stages of surgical procedures. More than 400 full-color images, line drawings, and intraoperative photographs clearly depict the step-by-step progression of procedures. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Atlas of Pediatric Cardiac Surgery by Constantine Mavroudis (Editor); Carl Backer (Editor); Rachid F. Idriss (Illustrator), 2015
The raison d'etre for a new atlas of congenital heart surgery is based on the reality that the specialty has undergone numerous changes in the last few years resulting in improved techniques and new operations. The sheer number of new procedures and the required attendant technical skills to successfully complete an operation has become a challenge to master, especially for residents who are pursuing a career in congenital heart surgery.While the techniques that we are espousing are mostly our own, there is a great deal of similarity amongst international centers owing to the influence of video presentations, manuscript publications, and chapter reviews. We therefore believe that the techniques that are illustrated in this atlas are likely to be similar to the techniques that are taught worldwide to residents and fellows.The atlas is organized generally by diseases and procedures pertaining thereto. Two general sections involve cannulation techniques and palliative procedures, respectively. A special section depicts difficult problems in the form of clinical vignettes that may arise during cardiopulmonary bypass such as: decreased venous return, undiagnosed patent ductus arteriosus, and technical errors leading to hemodynamic complications. The reader is instructed to apply measures that will lead to resolution of these problems.We have chosen procedures, which cover the breadth of congenital heart surgery. While perhaps not totally inclusive, the reader will find the greater majority of congenital heart procedures illustrated and explained in this text.
Surgical Atlas of Cardiac Anatomy by Xiaodong Zhu (Editor), 2015
This Atlas is illustrated with rich pictures of cardiac surgical specimens. It not only contains normal heart specimens but also dissects those specimens, taking pictures from various angles to create a three-dimensional representation. It also includes reviews of the specimens' pathological reviews. Chapter 1 through 10 introduce the normal anatomy of the cardiac chambers and surgical approaches to the heart, while chapter 11 through 28 describe 18 kinds of congenital heart defects. There are a total of over 1,000 images and illustrations in this book, which will be of great interest not only to the surgeons, but also to the cardiologists, anaesthesiologists and surgical pathologists.
Core E-Books
Atlas of Robotic Cardiac Surgery by W. Randolph Chitwood (Editor); Rebekah Dodson (Illustrator), 2014
Robotic surgery is currently devoid of adequate didactic material necessary to facilitate daily application in cardiothoracic surgical practice. This book represents the definitive atlas that will lead both the practicing and new cardiothoracic surgeons in these methods. It will define the operative pathway of each procedure, from beginning to end, for surgeons who wish to be a complete robotic cardiac surgeon and include hints and procedural pitfalls derived from the experiences of chapter contributors. The book will be illustrated with high quality illustrations and color photographs from surgical operations where appropriate. Leading surgeons have contributed to the book and provided sample illustrations for their respective chapters. Anesthetic and cardiopulmonary support preparation for each operation will be included and selected references will be provided to emphasize evidence-based outcomes.
Color Atlas of Congenital Heart Surgery by S. Bert Litwin, 2007
This thorough revision of Color Atlas of Congenital Heart Surgery features 700 vividly reproduced intraoperative images taken with a special side-mounted flash. They convey exquisite perception of depth in the operative field in full color. The atlas presents surgical techniques for the full spectrum of cardiac congenital anomalies. This includes revised and updated text on many topics such as repair of straddling tricuspid valve associated with the posterior ventricular septal defect. Throughout the text, the carefully labeled photographs provide vivid representation of three-dimensional spatial relations of congenital anomalies and surgical anatomy.
Atlas of Adult Congenital Heart Surgery by
This atlas comprehensively covers surgical techniques for congenital heart surgery. As the population with congenital heart defects increases more and more operations will be required to treat the residual defects, new defects, and replacement strategies such as valve replacements. Chapters are devoted to specific conditions and feature detailed descriptions of how to perform a variety of appropriate reparative surgical techniques; involving complex anatomy, reoperative surgery, and unique techniques to this speciality, enabling the reader to develop a deep understanding of how to successfully resolve situations such as left ventricular outflow tract obstruction, anomalous pulmonary venous return, and anomalous origin of the coronary arteries. Atlas of Adult Congenital Heart Surgery provides a foundational resource for practising and trainee cardiac surgeons, nurses, and healthcare associates seeking specialist training and insight to the resolution of congenital heart diseases in adults.
Atlas of Cardiac Surgical Techniques by
Get expert, step-by-step guidance on a wide variety of both open and interventional cardiac surgical techniques. Atlas of Cardiac Surgical Techniques, 2nd Edition, helps you expand your surgical repertoire and hone your skills with a vividly illustrated, easy-to-navigate text, procedural videos online, and pearls and pitfalls throughout. This revised atlas covers the surgical procedures you need to master, including minimally invasive techniques, robotic surgery, aortic dissection, and much more. Seven brand-new chapters cover Hybrid Coronary Revascularization, Aortic Valve Repair Techniques, Transcatheter Aortic Valve Replacement, Robotic Mitral Valve Surgery, Surgery for Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy, Approaches and Techniques to Extra-Corporeal Membrane Oxygenation, and Pulmonary Endarterectomy. Multiple new contributing authors offer a fresh perspective in their areas of expertise. A consistent chapter format guides you quickly from surgical anatomy and preoperative considerations through operative steps and postoperative care. Online videos highlight key stages of surgical procedures. More than 400 full-color images, line drawings, and intraoperative photographs clearly depict the step-by-step progression of procedures. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Atlas of Pediatric Cardiac Surgery by
The raison d'etre for a new atlas of congenital heart surgery is based on the reality that the specialty has undergone numerous changes in the last few years resulting in improved techniques and new operations. The sheer number of new procedures and the required attendant technical skills to successfully complete an operation has become a challenge to master, especially for residents who are pursuing a career in congenital heart surgery.While the techniques that we are espousing are mostly our own, there is a great deal of similarity amongst international centers owing to the influence of video presentations, manuscript publications, and chapter reviews. We therefore believe that the techniques that are illustrated in this atlas are likely to be similar to the techniques that are taught worldwide to residents and fellows.The atlas is organized generally by diseases and procedures pertaining thereto. Two general sections involve cannulation techniques and palliative procedures, respectively. A special section depicts difficult problems in the form of clinical vignettes that may arise during cardiopulmonary bypass such as: decreased venous return, undiagnosed patent ductus arteriosus, and technical errors leading to hemodynamic complications. The reader is instructed to apply measures that will lead to resolution of these problems.We have chosen procedures, which cover the breadth of congenital heart surgery. While perhaps not totally inclusive, the reader will find the greater majority of congenital heart procedures illustrated and explained in this text.
Surgical Atlas of Cardiac Anatomy by
This Atlas is illustrated with rich pictures of cardiac surgical specimens. It not only contains normal heart specimens but also dissects those specimens, taking pictures from various angles to create a three-dimensional representation. It also includes reviews of the specimens' pathological reviews. Chapter 1 through 10 introduce the normal anatomy of the cardiac chambers and surgical approaches to the heart, while chapter 11 through 28 describe 18 kinds of congenital heart defects. There are a total of over 1,000 images and illustrations in this book, which will be of great interest not only to the surgeons, but also to the cardiologists, anaesthesiologists and surgical pathologists.
Atlas of Robotic Cardiac Surgery by
Robotic surgery is currently devoid of adequate didactic material necessary to facilitate daily application in cardiothoracic surgical practice. This book represents the definitive atlas that will lead both the practicing and new cardiothoracic surgeons in these methods. It will define the operative pathway of each procedure, from beginning to end, for surgeons who wish to be a complete robotic cardiac surgeon and include hints and procedural pitfalls derived from the experiences of chapter contributors. The book will be illustrated with high quality illustrations and color photographs from surgical operations where appropriate. Leading surgeons have contributed to the book and provided sample illustrations for their respective chapters. Anesthetic and cardiopulmonary support preparation for each operation will be included and selected references will be provided to emphasize evidence-based outcomes.
Color Atlas of Congenital Heart Surgery by
This thorough revision of Color Atlas of Congenital Heart Surgery features 700 vividly reproduced intraoperative images taken with a special side-mounted flash. They convey exquisite perception of depth in the operative field in full color. The atlas presents surgical techniques for the full spectrum of cardiac congenital anomalies. This includes revised and updated text on many topics such as repair of straddling tricuspid valve associated with the posterior ventricular septal defect. Throughout the text, the carefully labeled photographs provide vivid representation of three-dimensional spatial relations of congenital anomalies and surgical anatomy.