For more Anesthesiology resources, search BOTH links below:
| Find Journals and E-Books |
| Library Catalog |
Anesthesiology, 3/e by
The gold-standard text in anesthesiology - from the field's brightest, most respected minds Written by an internationally known team of experts, Anesthesiology, Third Edition provides a 360-degree view of the field, covering all the anesthetic considerations from preoperative preparation through postoperative care, and the full breadth of anesthesia practice, including pain medicine and critical care medicine. Presented in full color and updated to capture the latest breakthroughs and advances, Anesthesiology is designed to provide the practitioner with an authoritative single-source reference that spans the full spectrum of anesthesia practice. Much more than a how-to manual of anesthetic techniques, Anesthesiology, Third Edition presents an accessible compilation of concepts and principles that affirms its status as the cornerstone text in anesthesiology. This edition emphasizes important trends in both the specialty and healthcare in general. These trends include team-based anesthesia care, the remarkable growth of pain medicine practice, and the expanded need for clinicians who are skilled in the practice of critical care medicine. Features: * Four new pain medicine chapters, plus an expanded section on anesthetic considerations and perioperative management of co-existing disease * Key Points and Key References encapsulate must-know information and guide you to important articles for further research * Balanced presentations present clinical information, practical clinical procedures, and the molecular and scientific foundations of anesthesia practice * Essential for residents and students preparing for initial certification, and for practitioners preparing for recertification
Barash, Cullen, and Stoelting's Clinical Anesthesia, 9th ed. by
Covering the full spectrum of clinical issues and options in anesthesiology, Barash, Cullen, and Stoelting's Clinical Anesthesia, Ninth Edition, edited by Drs. Bruce F. Cullen, M. Christine Stock, Rafael Ortega, Sam R. Sharar, Natalie F. Holt, Christopher W. Connor, and Naveen Nathan, provides insightful coverage of pharmacology, physiology, co-existing diseases, and surgical procedures. This award-winning text delivers state-of-the-art content unparalleled in clarity and depth of coverage, as well robust multimedia features that equip you to effectively apply today's standards of care and make optimal clinical decisions on behalf of your patients. Comprehensively covers the entire field of anesthesiology with a practical, clinical focus throughout; Features extensive multimedia content, including more than 300 updated procedural videos and 190 narrated interactive clinical vignettes. Includes Key Points in every chapter, with corresponding numbers in the chapter margins for quick reference. Highlights key references to quickly direct you to the most important and high-yield further reading. Contains useful appendices with formulas, pacemaker and implantable cardiac defibrillator protocols, information on herbal medications, an atlas of echocardiography, and more.
Basic Sciences in Anesthesia by
This textbook presents the most recent evidenced-based knowledge in basic sciences in anesthesia. It covers topics from the syllabus of the American Board of Anesthesiology (ABA) basic science exam, including anatomy, pharmacology, physiology, physics in anesthesia, and more. In each chapter, key points summarize the content, followed by a pertinent and concise discussion of the topic, ending with multiple choice questions with answers and suggested further reading. Basic Sciences in Anesthesia is aimed at residents taking the ABA basic science of anesthesia examination, and any other anesthesiologist or trainee with an interest in the topic.
Clinical Anesthesia Fundamentals, 2nd ed. by
Part of the popular and well-regarded Clinical Anesthesia family of titles, and founded by Drs. Paul G. Barash, Bruce F. Cullen, and Robert K. Stoelting, Clinical Anesthesia Fundamentals, Second Edition, is a concise, highly visual resource covering the core concepts in anesthesiology. The editorial board comprised of Drs. Bruce F. Cullen, M. Christine Stock, Rafael Ortega, Sam R. Sharar, Natalie F. Holt, Christopher W. Connor, and Naveen Nathan, and their team of expert contributors clearly and simply present the information you need on key aspects of anesthesia for every specialty area and key organ systems. From physiology and pharmacology to anatomy and system-based anesthesia, it uses full-color graphics, easy-to-read tables, and clear, concise text to convey the essential principles of the field. Presents material in a highly visual manner, including "Did You Know" boxes that highlight key points, as well as video boxes that reference more than 120 short, to-the-point tutorial videos in the eBook, in addition to end of chapter multiple choice questions, answers, and explanations. New features include: a chapter on anesthesia for the older patient as well as 31 chapter-based infographics that provide "At a Glance" or "A Closer Look" at topical content. The ebook also comes with access to question-based interactive versions of the infographics, as well as dozens of video lectures covering every chapter in the book, including 500integrated review questions throughout. Includes an introductory section covering scientific and technical foundations, pharmacology, and technology. Features helpful appendices with handy formulas; an electrocardiography atlas; numerous key protocols, guidelines, and standards; algorithms, and more. Ideal for medical students, residents, SRNAs, CRNAs, and practitioners studying for board exams--anyone who needs a quick overview of the essential elements of clinical anesthesia in an easily accessible format. , Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech. , ,
Clinical Thoracic Anesthesia by
This book covers all aspects of thoracic anesthesia to equip the anesthesiologist in dealing with patient care from the time of admission to discharge. Apart from an understanding of anatomy, physiology, pathophysiology, and imaging in thoracic anesthesia this book provides important nuggets of patient examination to help in decision making. Chapters provide information on the interpretation of various tests and intra-operative data for successful conduct of the surgery. This book aims to be an efficient resource for anesthesia practitioners as well as trainees in learning about the full range of challenges faced while performing thoracic anesthesia.
Complications in Anesthesia by
Using a unique, problem-solving approach, Complications in Anesthesia, 3rd Edition, walks you through effective solutions to common complications in anesthesia and critical care. This practical reference uses a highly structured, clearly illustrated format to bring you up to date with what's new in the field, help you anticipate potential challenges, and guide you through life-saving solutions. Presents content in an updated, logical organization covering various types of complications (drugs, testing, intubation, line insertion, surgical procedures, etc.) followed by differential diagnosis and treatment of signs of complications (intraoperative, such as hypoxia or hypotension; and postoperative, such as MI). Follows a problem-based, practice-oriented approach throughout; case synopses are followed by concise coverage of recognition, risk assessment, implications, management, and prevention. Allows you to review the case reports, contemplate the implications, then check your response against what the experts have to say. Includes numerous photographs, diagrams, flow charts, and tables that illustrate key concepts. Ideal as a clinical reference and as a study tool when preparing for oral boards. Brings you up to date with new safety standards and the latest ASA guidelines. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Complications in Neuroanesthesia by
Complications in Neuroanesthesia focuses on complications that may arise related to neuroanesthesia practice and discusses its various causes. Each complication is written as a separate chapter, and the pathophysiology and mechanisms of each complication, as well as measures for diagnosis, treatment and prevention are discussed. Towards the end of the book, several case scenarios are provided to the readers that challenge readers to diagnose the possible complication for each case. Chapters include brain and spinal cord problems, cardiovascular and hematological problems, and nerve and muscle problems. Written in a standard format, Complications in Neuroanesthesia provides quick and easy access to understanding problems in neuroanesthesia. It provides insight into all possible complications occurring during perioperative management of neurosurgical and neurologic patients. It is useful for trainees, clinicians, and researchers in the fields of neurosurgery, neurocritical care, and neurology by providing an understanding of preventable mishaps that may occur in neurosurgical or neurologic patients. Quick and easy reference for understanding problems in neuroanesthesia Provides comprehensive insights into all possible complications occurring during perioperative management of neurosurgical and neurologic patients Includes useful section with clinical case studies of complications in neuroanesthesia
Core Topics in Cardiac Anaesthesia, 3e by
This fully-updated third edition provides a practical and concise guide to all aspects of the perioperative care of cardiac surgical patients. Produced by recognised leaders from world-renowned cardiac centres, this is the authoritative text for residents and fellows in anaesthesia and cardiac surgery, clinical perfusionists, and critical care nurses. Updated chapters include regional anesthesia, paediatric cardiac anaesthesia, and anaesthesia for specific procedures such as aortic valve surgery and cardiac transplantation. An entire section is dedicated to transoesophageal echocardiography (TOE) in recognition of the increasing demand for basic TOE training. The book also includes an expanded chapter on the applications and anaesthetic implications of extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO). The text focuses on clinical practice and the basic science and pharmacology underpinning cardiac anaesthesia, ensuring the reader can easily apply the knowledge gained to real-life situations.
Essence of Anesthesia Practice by
Highly regarded by anesthesiologists, residents, and nurse anesthetists, Essence of Anesthesia Practice, 4th Edition by Drs. Lee A. Fleisher, Michael F. Roizen, and Jeffrey Roizen, is a trusted resource for point-of-care anesthesia management. Concise, easy-to-find summaries cover a single clinical topic for both common and rare conditions. A renewed focus on diseases and drugs makes this edition even more useful when formulating anesthesia plans and mastering the core knowledge of anesthesia practice. Features a unique, easy-to-follow, consistent format that covers a single clinical topic on each page, with a review of its problems, causes, comorbidities, and anesthesia implications. Helps you understand the interactions of common drugs and alternative medicine so that you can develop effective anesthesia plans. Includes more than 105 new disease topics (with more coverage of rarer diseases) and new drug information featuring 20 new drugs that patients take on an outpatient basis. Offers fresh insights on nearly 550 topics - many authored by new contributors to this edition. Keeps you current with the latest perioperative anesthetic implications including anticipated problems, drug interactions, and special concerns. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, videos (including video updates), glossary, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Gupta and Gelb's Essentials of Neuroanesthesia and Neurointensive Care by
This updated second edition of Gupta and Gelb's Essentials of Neuroanesthesia and Neurointensive Care contains the ideal combination of updated information for the practitioner, presented in easy-to-digest short chapters. With an essential clinical focus on key neuroanesthesia and neurointensive care knowledge, it is a practical guide for any practitioner of neuroanesthesia, beginner, occasional or experienced. The user-friendly format contains bullet points to ensure retention of important data, key points to summarize the take-home messages, suitable images to enhance understanding, and pertinent and appropriate references to allow for further exploration of the topics. This book is ideal for residents and others undergoing neuroanesthesia training. It is also a great tool for Operating Room nurses and other OR support workers, neurosurgical residents and neurointensive care professionals. This will also be a useful book to supplement knowledge for postgraduate fellowship and Board examinations.
Hagberg and Benumof's Airway Management by
Considered the go-to reference in airway management not only in anesthesia practice but also in emergency medicine and intensive care settings, Hagberg and Benumof's Airway Management ensures that practitioners worldwide are familiar and proficient with the most recent developments in equipment and scientific knowledge in this fast-changing area. Covering all aspects of this fundamental practice, the new 5th Edition facilitates the safe performance of airway management for all airway practitioners, regardless of specialty, using a concise, how-to approach, carefully chosen illustrations, and case examples and analysis throughout. The only volume of its kind completely dedicated to airway management, this edition features: Well-illustrated and tightly focused coverage, with anatomical drawings, charts, algorithms, photos, and imaging studies for quick reference-many new to this edition. Key Points in every chapter, as well as up-to-date information on the latest ASA guidelines. Two new chapters covering Combination Techniques and Human Factors in Airway Management; all other chapters have been thoroughly revised to reflect current thinking and practice. A significantly expanded video library, including intubating the COVID-19 patient and new videos on ultrasonography of the airway. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Hensley's Practical Approach Cardiothoracic Anesthesia by
Renamed for this new edition, Hensleys Practical Approach to Cardiothoracic Anesthesia is ideal for fellows and residents as well as practicing anesthesiologists. The book is concisely written and readily accessible, with a scope that combines the depth of a reference book with the no-nonsense guidance of a clinically-oriented handbook. New editors, new content, and new access to procedural videos highlight this substantially revised edition. - Nearly 70 contributors from over 35 institutions offer their experience and expertise. - Two new co-editors bring their expertise and experience in critical care and pain management, in addition to cardiac anesthesia. - Now with new chapters on ECMO support and robotic surgical techniques, clinical videos on the eBook, and Clinical Pearls for each chapter. - Covers cardiac physiology and pharmacology, pre-procedural patient preparation, anesthetic management of specific disorders and procedures, post-procedural management, and more. - Comprehensive and written in an outline format, with bulleted lists and concise writing style, making it easy to read and absorb key points. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience with Enhanced Video, Audio, and Interactive Capabilities! - Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. - Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech. - Adapt for unique reading needs, supporting learning disabilities, visual/auditory impairments, second-language or literacy challenges, and more.
Kaplan's cardiac anesthesia : perioperative and critical care by
"Current, comprehensive, and evidence-based, Kaplan's Cardiac Anesthesia: Perioperative and Critical Care Management, 8th Edition, offers practical guidance from today's international leaders in cardiac anesthesiology, helping you to optimize perioperative outcomes, avoid complications, and ensure maximum patient safety. Dr. Joel A. Kaplan, along with an expert team of associate editors, guides you through today's clinical challenges, including expanded coverage of critical care, the newest approaches to perioperative assessment and management, state-of-the art diagnostic techniques, and cardiovascular and coronary physiology"
Manual of Clinical Anesthesiology, 2nd ed. by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Designed for rapid reference at the point of care, Manual of Clinical Anesthesiology is the clinician's go-to resource for practical, clinically focused information on all aspects of anesthesia management. The comprehensive second edition consolidates multidisciplinary expertise in one resource, offering revised and updated content in a highly visual, portable format, with short, easy-to-read chapters, margin icons noting pearls and pitfalls, and more. Presents information in a rapid-reference, outline format throughout, with color-coded sections, chapter summaries, pearls and pitfalls, cross-references to related text, and more. Features new chapters on: Hemorrhage in Obstetrics, Highly Lethal Viruses (such as SARS and Ebola), Thromboelastogram/Point of Care Laboratory Interpretation, Hazards in the MRI Suite, and Substance Abuse in Medical Professionals, as well as new cognitive aids for Caudal Anesthesia, Cardiopulmonary Bypass, Ultrasound-Guided Neuraxial Anesthesia, OB Cardiac Arrest, Transthoracic Echo, and PALS. Covers monitoring, equipment and procedures, anesthesia and comorbid diseases, pediatric anesthesia, subspecialty anesthesia, and other key topics. Includes four full-color atlases that clearly depict procedures, transesophageal echocardiography, peripheral nerve blocks, and crisis management (including new crisis management checklists) as well as appendices of foreign language phrases and a drug dosing pull-out card.
Miller's Anesthesia by
Covering everything from historical and international perspectives to basic science and current clinical practice, Miller's Anesthesia, 9th Edition, remains the preeminent reference in the field. Dr. Michael Gropper leads a team of global experts who bring you the most up-to-date information available on the technical, scientific, and clinical issues you face each day - whether you're preparing for the boards, studying for recertification, or managing a challenging patient care situation in your practice. Contains fully revised and updated content throughout, including numerous new videos online. Includes four new chapters: Clinical Care in Extreme Environments: High Pressure, Immersion, and Hypo- and Hyperthermia; Immediate and Long-Term Complications; Clinical Research; and Interpreting the Medical Literature. Addresses timely topics such as neurotoxicity, palliation, and sleep/wake disorders. Streamlines several topics into single chapters with fresh perspectives from new authors, making the material more readable and actionable. Features the knowledge and expertise of former lead editor Dr. Ronald Miller, as well as new editor Dr. Kate Leslie of the University of Melbourne and Royal Melbourne Hospital. Provides state-of-the-art coverage of anesthetic drugs, guidelines for anesthetic practice and patient safety, new techniques, step-by-step instructions for patient management, the unique needs of pediatric patients, and much more - all highlighted by more than 1,500 full-color illustrations for enhanced visual clarity. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices, in addition to accessing regular updates, related websites, and an expanded collection of procedural videos.
Miller's Basics of Anesthesia, eighth ed. by
Long regarded as the undisputed leading text of its kind, Miller's Basics of Anesthesia provides comprehensive yet concise coverage of both basic science and clinical topics in anesthesiology. Under the experienced editorial leadership of Dr. Manuel C. Pardo, Jr., the 8th Edition has been meticulously updated to reflect the latest advances in practice and important aspects of contemporary anesthesia care, including pathophysiology, pharmacology, regional anesthesia, anesthetic management, and special problems and patient groups. It remains the first learning resource of choice for anesthesia providers, including anesthesia residents and fellows, medical students, and student registered nurse anesthetists, and is also a valuable review tool for practitioners undergoing maintenance of certification or recertification. Features a reader-friendly format with color-coded section tabs, easy-to-read chapters, and a concise writing style, along with color patterns in every chapter for quick navigation. Contains new chapters on Clinician Well-Being, Perioperative Point-of-Care Ultrasound, Environmental Impact of Anesthetics, and Perioperative Medicine. Covers key topics such as anesthesia neurotoxicity, palliative care, sleep medicine, trauma, and much more. Includes high-quality images that offer a detailed visual understanding of complex topics, while numerous figures and tables condense material for easier retention and review. Shares the knowledge and experience of renowned anesthesia expert Dr. Manuel C. Pardo, Jr. and a team of more than 80 global contributing authors. Serves both as an initial learning resource and a useful tool for solidifying the essential "must know" information and reviewing core knowledge for maintenance of certification. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Pharmacology and Physiology for Anesthesia by
Pharmacology and physiology are the foundation of every anesthesia provider's training and clinical competency. Pharmacology and Physiology for Anesthesia: Foundations and Clinical Application, 2nd Edition, delivers the information you need in pharmacology, physiology, and molecular-cellular biology, keeping you current with contemporary training and practice. This thoroughly updated edition is your one-stop, comprehensive overview of physiology, and rational anesthetic drug selection and administration, perfect for study, review, and successful practice. Contains new chapters on Special Populations (anesthetic pharmacology in obesity, geriatrics, and pediatrics), Oral and Non-IV Opioids, Thermoregulation, Physiology and Pharmacology of Obstetric Anesthesia, Chemotherapeutic and Immunosuppresive Drugs, and Surgical Infection and Antimicrobial Drugs. Incorporates entirely new sections on Physics, Anatomy, and Imaging. Includes new information on consciousness and cognition, pharmacodynamics, the immune system, and anti-inflammatory drugs. Features user-friendly tables, figures, and algorithms (including 100 new illustrations), all presented in full color and designed to help explain complex concepts. Helps you understand the molecular mechanism of drug actions and identify key drug interactions that may complicate anesthesia with dedicated sections on these areas. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Smith and Aitkenhead's Textbook of Anaesthesia by
This highly successful textbook is internationally renowned as a core text for trainee anaesthetists and is essential reading for candidates for the Fellowship of Royal College of Anaesthetists and similar examinations. The previous 6th edition was awarded First Prize at the BMA Medical Book awards. The book provides full coverage of the sciences underpinning practice in anaesthesia, critical care and pain management together with details of clinical anaesthesia and perioperative care. In combining these aspects, a generation of anaesthetists have found the textbook invaluable during the first few years of training as well as when preparing for the FRCA and similar professional examinations. The goal for this Seventh Edition has remained to equip the reader with the basic knowledge and practical considerations required to administer anaesthesia and perioperative care for a whole range of surgical conditions in patients with all common medical comorbidities. Reflecting the expanding role of anaesthesia beyond the operating theatre it also includes essential material related to safety and quality assurance, consent, resuscitation, intensive care medicine, pre-hospital care and chronic pain management. This book's scope includes the full range of clinical practice, from anaesthetic equipment and pre-operative assessment through to post-operative care, local anaesthesia, anaesthesia for individual specialties and the management of chronic pain. The text covers the principles of pharmacology, anaesthetic agents and physics for the anaesthetist. This Seventh Edition has been restructured into four sections: Basic Sciences; Physics and Apparatus; Fundamentals of Anaesthesia and Perioperative Medicine; and Clinical Anaesthesia. There are four new chapters reflecting the UK postgraduate anaesthetic examination syllabus and changes in clinical practice. There are: The older patient; Anaesthesia in low and middle-income areas; Management of critical incidents; and Data analysis, clinical trials and statistics. Thirty new contributors provide a new perspective or contribute new chapters. This edition makes extensive use of new line drawings and diagrams and, for the first time, many of these are available in colour. Chapters have been extensively cross-referenced to aid the reader and avoid repetition to include substantially more information without increasing the overall size of the book. The content of each chapter is closely aligned to the syllabus of the Primary FRCA examination. Sample online questions and answers are provided for each chapter and linked to the relevant part of each chapter.
Stoelting's Anesthesia and Co-Existing Disease, Eighth ed. by
A valuable resource for anesthesia providers at all levels of training and practice, Stoelting's Anesthesia and Co-Existing Disease, 8th Edition, provides concise, thorough coverage of pathophysiology of the most common diseases and their medical management relevant to anesthesia. Noted authority Dr. Roberta L. Hines and new editor Dr. Stephanie Jones lead a stellar team of contributing authors who provide clear, detailed guidance on successfully managing or avoiding complications stemming from pre-existing conditions. Presents detailed discussions of common diseases, as well as highlights of more rare diseases and their unique features that could be of importance in the perioperative period. Includes the latest practice guidelines, easy-to-follow treatment algorithms, bulleted key points, and more. Contains two new chapters on Nutritional Diseases: Obesity and Malnutrition and Chronic Pain, and significantly revised content on valvular heart disease, heart failure and cardiomyopathies, pericardial disease and cardiac trauma, endocrine disease, diseases of aging, pregnancy-associated diseases, and more. Features abundant figures, tables, diagrams, and photos that provide fast access to the most pertinent aspects of every condition and clarify critical points regarding management. Examines specific anesthesia considerations for special patient populations, including pediatric, obstetric, and elderly patients. Ideal for anesthesiologists in practice and for anesthesia residents in training and preparing for boards. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Stoelting's Pharmacology and Physiology in Anesthetic Practice, 6th ed. by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Comprehensive, readable, and clinically oriented Stoelting's Pharmacology & Physiology in Anesthetic Practice, 6th Edition covers all aspects of pharmacology and physiology that are relevant either directly or indirectly to the anesthetic practice--a challenging topic that is foundational to the practice of anesthesia and essential to master. This systems-based, bestselling text has been thoroughly updated by experts in the field, giving you the detailed information needed to make the most informed clinical decisions about the care of your patients. Offers trainees and practitioners authoritative content on all aspects of pharmacology and physiology that are relevant to anesthesiology.
Syndromes: Rapid Recognition and Perioperative Implications, 2nd Edition by
The ULTIMATE reference about syndromes to have on hand to facilitate rapid recognition and perioperative implications --- in full color Syndromes: Rapid Recognition and Perioperative Implications, Second Edition, is the ultimate reference for anesthesiologists, surgeons, internists, pediatricians, emergency physicians and nurses caring for patients affected with special operative needs and acute medical care. This updated book provides a complete A-to-Z encyclopedic clinical presentation of more than 2,200 syndromes. Extensive cross-referencing of international synonyms, classifications, and other conditions to be considered in the differential diagnosis further expands coverage to more than 5,000 entries. It is the most comprehensive reference on the subject. Syndromes: Rapid Recognition and Perioperative Implications, Second Edition, is enhanced by 200 high-quality photographs, in addition to tables, classifications and clinical management considerations. The addition of color tabs, a new feature, improve consultation and speed information retrieval. Each syndrome, listed in alphabetical order, is described as follows: *"At a glance" description *Synonyms *Incidence *Genetic Inheritance *Pathophysiology *Diagnosis *Clinical Aspects *Precautions Before Anesthesia *Anesthetic Considerations *Pharmacological Implications *Other conditions to be considered *References Health care providers, fellows and residents in training will find this textbook to be an essential reference to improve patient care in this highly demanding medical and surgical environment.
Textbook of Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Management, Second Edition by
The ultimate text on the principles and practice of regional anesthesia and pain management - thoroughly updated Since its first edition, Hadzic's Textbook of Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Management has been the standard reference for students and practitioners of anesthesiology. Presented in full color, this classic covers the theory and practice of regional anesthesia in its entirety, providing readers with both the physiologic principles and specific, state-of-the-art patient-management protocols and techniques. This second edition has been completely updated to reflect the profound advances in the field. These developments include the use of ultrasonography for imaging of peripheral nerves and the central nervous system, advances in the up-to-date understanding of the role of regional anesthesia in preventing postoperative pain, and the use of point-of-care ultrasound for a vast number of other perioperative applications. The second edition features some of the most detailed and didactic anatomical artwork to date. Being a world-wide reference text, this edition also includes anatomical landmark-based and nerve stimulator guided peripheral nerve blocks. A complete, authoritative compendium of the practice of regional anesthesia and analgesia and acute pain medicine: ● More than 200 expert contributors and collaborators ● Evidence-based information that spans the entire field of RAPM ● Full-color clinical images and functional anatomy illustrations - nearly all new to this edition ● Easy-to-follow clinical decision-making diagrams, flow charts, practical tables, and clinical pearls ● Up-to-date information on the etiology, prevention, and management of a wide range of complications ● Detailed chapters on pediatric regional anesthesia ● In-depth discussion of region-specific ultrasound techniques
The Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2023! Long recognized as the gold standard emergency airway management textbook, The Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management, Sixth Edition, remains the most trusted reference on this challenging topic. This practical reference, edited by Drs. Calvin A. Brown III, John C. Sakles, Nathan W. Mick, Jarrod M. Mosier, and Darren A. Braude, is the foundation text for these nationally recognized programs: The Difficult Airway Course: Emergency(tm), The Difficult Airway Course: Critical Care(tm), The Difficult Airway Course: EMS(tm), and The Difficult Airway Course: Residency Edition(tm). Its hands-on approach provides the concrete guidance you need to effectively respond wherever adult or pediatric airway emergencies may occur, including in and out of hospital settings, emergency departments, and urgent care centers. Includes new chapters on Physiologically Difficult Airway; Human Factors in Emergency Airway Management; Intubating the Highly Infectious Patient (including COVID-19 considerations); and the Massively Soiled Airway Emphasizes practicality with step-by-step instructions, mnemonics, easy-to-follow algorithms, and rich illustrations Esteemed contributors from previous editions, Dr. Jarrod M. Mosier and Dr. Darren A. Braude, bring their extensive expertise in critical care and prehospital airway management, respectively, as new editors of this edition Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Perioperative Medicine A-Z by
For 25 years Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Perioperative Medicine A-Z has provided a comprehensive resource of the relevant aspects of pharmacology, physiology, anatomy, physics, statistics, medicine, surgery, general anaesthetic practice, intensive care, equipment, and the history of anaesthesia and intensive care. Originally prepared as essential reading for candidates for the Fellowship of the Royal College of Anaesthetists and similar exams, this fully updated edition will also prove as invaluable as ever for all anaesthetists and critical care physicians, as well as operating department practitioners and specialist nurses. The alphabetical arrangement with extensive cross-referencing ensures a full understanding of topics. The succinct and clear text and diagrams?make for easy quick reference. The exam preparation checklist is ordered by key topics to facilitate effective revision. The contents are easily accessible with the accompanying ebook. There has been a substantial addition of new entries as well as revision of existing ones. This acknowledges the breadth of information needed to satisfy the range of activities performed by anaesthetic, intensive care, nursing and other colleagues, and also reflects the ever-changing field in which they all work. The consolidation of the role of anaesthetists as 'perioperative physicians' is reflected in additional entries of particular relevance and also by the enhanced title of the book. The structured 'revision checklist' of entries which is particularly useful to those preparing for examinations has been further developed for this edition.
Anesthesia Secrets by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Anesthesia Secrets, 6th Edition offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in the practice of anesthesiology. This bestselling resource features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - succinct, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Fully revised and updated throughout, including protocols and guidelines that are continuously evolving and that increasingly dictate best practices. New chapters on Electrocardiogram Interpretation, Cardiac Physiology, Vasoactive Agents, Volume Assessment, Blood Pressure Disturbances, Mechanical Ventilation Strategies, Perioperative Point-of-Care Ultrasound and Echocardiography, Neuraxial Techniques, Peripheral Nerve and Trunk Blocks, Patient Safety, and Medical Ethics.?? Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Features bulleted lists, mnemonics, practical tips from leaders in the field - all providing a concise overview of important board-relevant content. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime.
Anesthesiology: Clinical Case Reviews by
Divided into twelve sections that cover the entirety of anesthetic practice, this is a case-based, comprehensive review of anesthesiology that covers the basics of anesthetic management and reflects all new guidelines and recently developed standards of care. Each chapter of Anesthesiology: Clinical Case Reviews begins with a specific clinical problem or a clinical case scenario, followed by concise discussions of preoperative assessment, intraoperative management, and postoperative pain management. In addition to residents and fellows, this book is written for practicing anesthesiologists, student nurse anesthetists, and certified registered nurse anesthetists (CRNAs).
Case Files: Anesthesiology
Learn the fundamentals of anesthesiology in the context of real patients. 4 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW! "The book targets medical students, but even junior anesthesia trainees would find it very compelling....Although it has the appearance of a handbook, this book is an overview of clinical anesthesiology. It takes a simulation approach to drive home essential concepts of anesthesia management in different disease conditions. Of all the handy books out there, this is perhaps the only one that teaches anesthesia inthe context of real patients rather than merely stating facts. It would be an invaluable aid to medical students doing anesthesia clerkships or junior anesthesia trainees who need a quick review for an emergency case in the middle of the night."--Doody's Review Service Case Files: Anesthesiology contains 53 high-yield cases with open-ended questions. Each case includes an extended discussion, definitions, clinical Pearls, 3-5 USMLE-style comprehension questions, and references to the most current literature for further reading. Features: 53 high-yield clinical situations tailored for management of the anesthetic patient Clear and easy-to-follow case-based format helps readers develop clinical thinking skills Clinical pearls give evidence-based recommendations for patient management USMLE-style comprehension questions accompany each case Content enhanced by numerous tables, illustrations, and clinical images Content that makes learning easy: Preoperative evaluation:Preoperative evaluation: cardiac and pulmonary disease,Preoperative evaluation in an obese patient, Anesthesia in Patients with Heart Disease:Coronary artery disease,Pulmonary hypertension, R heart failure,Left Heart failure,Mitral stenosis, mitral insufficiency,Aortic stenosis,Subacute Aortic Hypertrophy,Congestive heart failure,AICD,Abdominal aortic aneurysm/stint, openCardiac tamponade,Protamine reaction Anesthesia for the Patient with Pulmonary Disease:Anesthesia in a patient with reactive airway disease,Anesthesia in a patient with COPD,Thoracotomy,Aspiration, Anesthesia for the Patient with Neurological or Neurosurgical Conditions:Subdural hematoma/head injury,Crainotomy for mass excision,Crainotomy for aneurysm,The quadriplegic,Cervical fracture,Myasthenia gravis,Anesthesia for obstetrics:For caeserian section,Appendectomy or cholecystectomy in a pregnant patient,Total spinal,Local anesthetic toxicity, Anesthesia in the Pediatric Patient:Child with a Foreign Body,Cleft Palate,Anesthesia for a tonsillectomy--sleep apnea, and hemorrhage,Pyloric stenosis, Anesthesia in Patients with Hematologic Disorders:Hemaglobinapathy,Transfusion reaction,Coagulopathies, Anesthesia for Patients with Endocrinologic or Metabolic Disorders:Diabetes--hyperglycemia/hypoglycemia,Malignant hypertension/pheochromocytoma,Malignant hyperthermia,Cholinesterase deficiency, Anesthesia Special Situations:Complication of laporoscopy--ptx, air embolism,Complication of laporoscopy--occult hemorrhage, Burns,Trauma,MRI,Hypoxia of unknown etiology (equipment failure),Monitoring (including PA line, TEE),Awareness under anesthesia,End of life/ethics
Clinical Anesthesia : Near Misses and Lessons Learned by
Residents, fellows, and practising certified registered nurse anesthetists will benefit from the retelling of these actual near misses, the solutions chosen at the time, and a retrospective analysis of those solutions that includes tips for how the problems could have been avoided altogether or resolved differently. An excellent study aid for the American Board of Anesthesiology oral exam and a useful teaching tool for faculty, since near misses such as these are relatively rare and other than reading about them, there really is no way to be prepared to successfully manage such crises. As such, even experienced anesthesiologists and CRNAs will find this to be a worthy purchase.
Essentials of Equipment in Anaesthesia, Critical Care, and Peri-Operative Medicine by
Essentials of Equipment in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Peri-Operative Medicine is a highly practical textbook for trainees in anaesthesia and an invaluable guide for all those who work with anaesthetic equipment, including anaesthetic and intensive care nurses and operating department practitioners. The superbly organized and easy-to read format of the book has been retained from previous editions. The text has been comprehensively updated and more focused on the FRCA with the addition of exam tips and new questions. A new chapter addresses the topical and ever expanding field of 'Point of Care Testing' in anaesthesia and intensive care. Clear colour photographs and illustrations as well as over 100 interactive self-assessment OSCE questions complete this concise account of anaesthetic equipment and its use in clinical settings.
Pain Management Secrets by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series#65533; has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Pain Management Secrets, 4th Edition, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, and an easy-to-read style - making reference and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series#65533; format gives you the most return for your time - concise, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Covers the full range of essential topics in pain management for in-training or practicing professionals. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Fully updated throughout, with new chapters on the latest areas in pain medicine, clear illustrations and figures, and a list of current websites that expedite study and review. Written and fully updated by internationally known pain medicine experts, including new editors Drs. Andrew Dubin and Julie Pilitsis. NEW! Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
