For more Infectious Disease resources, search BOTH links below:
| Find Journals and E-Books |
| Library Catalog |
Feigin and Cherry's Textbook of Pediatric Infectious Diseases by
Offering unparalleled coverage of infectious diseases in children and adolescents, Feigin & Cherry's Textbook of Pediatric Infectious Diseases 8th Edition, continues to provide the information you need on epidemiology, public health, preventive medicine, clinical manifestations, diagnosis, treatment, and much more. This extensively revised edition by Drs. James Cherry, Gail J. Demmler-Harrison, Sheldon L. Kaplan, William J. Steinbach, and Peter J. Hotez, offers a brand-new full-color design, new color images, new guidelines, and new content, reflecting today's more aggressive infectious and resistant strains as well as emerging and re-emerging diseases Discusses infectious diseases according to organ system, as well as individually by microorganisms, placing emphasis on the clinical manifestations that may be related to the organism causing the disease. Provides detailed information regarding the best means to establish a diagnosis, explicit recommendations for therapy, and the most appropriate uses of diagnostic imaging. Features expanded information on infections in the compromised host; immunomodulating agents and their potential use in the treatment of infectious diseases; and Ebola virus. Contains hundreds of new color images throughout, as well as new guidelines, new resistance epidemiology, and new Global Health Milestones. Includes new chapters on Zika virus and Guillain-Barr#65533; syndrome. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Moffet's Pediatric Infectious Diseases by
Staying true to the unique, problem-oriented approach of Dr. Hugh Moffet,,s previous editions, the fifth edition of Moffet,,s Pediatric Infectious Diseases walks the reader step by step through diagnosis and management using a signs and symptoms approach. This patient-oriented structure leads to a logical development of a differential diagnosis and evaluation and treatment plan, offering clear steps to confirm the diagnosis and provide appropriate therapy. Key Features: - A patient-focused, problem-oriented approach helps you develop the thought process that leads to more accurate diagnoses and better patient care - no matter how complex the patient presentation. - Greatly revised content throughout, including new medications, new names of known pathogens, new practice guidelines, and extensive revisions to chapters on urinary syndromes, hepatitis syndromes, and HIV infection and AIDS. - Newly streamlined format features the most notable suggested readings, more boxes and tables, new clinical pearls, and new key points that summarize must-know information in each chapter. - New two-color design and updated and expanded illustrations bring the text visually up to date and facilitate faster and easier mastery of the material. - An experienced author team now includes Dr. Armando Correa, a pediatric infectious diseases physician who practices general pediatrics. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: - The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time-% providing a seamless reading experience online or offline - Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks - Multiple viewing options offer the ability to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design - The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
Pediatric Infectious Diseases: Essentials for Practice, 2nd Edition by
The most practice-oriented guide to diagnosing and managing infectious diseases in children Pediatric Infectious Diseases: Essentials for Practice, Second Edition is filled with practical, clinically relevant guidance for successful infectious disease management. The care of the patient forms the core of this indispensable resource, which also provides perspectives on epidemiology, pathophysiology, and diagnosis that every pediatrician, pediatric hospitalist, and pediatric nurse practitioner needs to know. The book's high-yield coverage includes detailed, yet precise overviews of specific infections and their etiology, along with proven diagnostic and management strategies that readers can incorporate into their practice right away. FEATURES: *Tips that tell you what you must know--and do--at every stage of care *Diagnostic and treatment algorithms *Signs/Symptoms and Differential Diagnosis boxes *"When to Refer" boxes, which examine all the relevant clinical considerations *Diagnostic Tests--with a realistic emphasis on the right tests to order *Medical Treatment coverage that includes drugs, dosages, and administration in an easy-to-read tabular format *Convenient icons and a templated chapter design *Numerous clinical color photos and didactic diagrams *NEW! Clinical Pearls boxes accompany coverage of each infectious disease *Updated treatment guidelines and protocols from the CDC If you are in need of an up-to-date, clinically relevant guide to treating infectious diseases in pediatric patients, your search ends here.
Principles and Practice of Pediatric Infectious Diseases, Sixth ed. by
Comprehensive in scope, yet concise and easy to manage, Principles and Practice of Pediatric Infectious Diseases, 6th Edition, by Drs. Sarah S. Long, Charles G. Prober, Marc Fischer, and new editor David Kimberlin, is your go-to resource for authoritative information on infectious diseases in children and adolescents. A veritable "who's who" of global authorities provides the practical knowledge you need to understand, diagnose, and manage almost any pediatric infectious disease you may encounter. Covers the latest aspects of the COVID-19 pandemic, including manifestations, diagnosis, management, and prevention of SARS-CoV-2 infection. Features an easy-access format with high-yield information boxes, highlighted key points, and an abundance of detailed illustrations and at-a-glance tables. Allows quick look-up by clinical presentation, pathogen, or type of host. Highlights expanding antimicrobial resistance patterns and new therapies for viral and fungal infections and resistant bacterial infections. Includes coverage of the latest vaccine products, recommendations, and effectiveness. Reviews emerging healthcare-associated infections, their management, control, and prevention. Contains a new chapter on Chorioamnionitis and Neonatal Consequences. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
CDC Yellow Book 2020 by
The definitive reference for travel medicine, updated for 2020! "A beloved travel must-have for the intrepid wanderer." -Publishers Weekly "A truly excellent and comprehensive resource." -Journal of Hospital Infection The CDC Yellow Book offers everything travelers and healthcare providers need to know for safe and healthy travel abroad. This 2020 edition includes: � Country-specific risk guidelines for yellow fever and malaria, including expert recommendations and 26 detailed, country-level maps � Detailed maps showing distribution of travel-related illnesses, including dengue, Japanese encephalitis, meningococcal meningitis, and schistosomiasis � Guidelines for self-treating common travel conditions, including altitude illness, jet lag, motion sickness, and travelers' diarrhea � Expert guidance on food and drink precautions to avoid illness, plus water-disinfection techniques for travel to remote destinations � Specialized guidelines for non-leisure travelers, study abroad, work-related travel, and travel to mass gatherings � Advice on medical tourism, complementary and integrative health approaches, and counterfeit drugs � Updated guidance for pre-travel consultations � Advice for obtaining healthcare abroad, including guidance on different types of travel insurance � Health insights around 15 popular tourist destinations and itineraries � Recommendations for traveling with infants and children � Advising travelers with specific needs, including those with chronic medical conditions or weakened immune systems, health care workers, humanitarian aid workers, long-term travelers and expatriates, and last-minute travelers � Considerations for newly arrived adoptees, immigrants, and refugees Long the most trusted book of its kind, the CDC Yellow Book is an essential resource in an ever-changing field -- and an ever-changing world.
Healthcare-Associated Infections in Children by
With advances in technology and medical science, children with previously untreatable and often fatal conditions, such as congenital heart disease, extreme prematurity and pediatric malignancy, are living longer. While this is a tremendous achievement, pediatric providers are now more commonly facing challenges in these medical complex children both as a consequence of their underlying disease and the delivery of medical care. The term healthcare-associated infections (HAIs) encompass both infections that occur in the hospital and those that occur as a consequence of healthcare exposure and medical complexity in the outpatient setting. HAIs are associated with substantial morbidity and mortality for the individual patient as well as seriously taxing the healthcare system as a whole. In studies from the early 2000s, over 11% of all children in pediatric intensive care units develop HAIs and this figure increases substantially if neonatal intensive care units are considered. While progress has been made in decreasing the rates of HAI in the hospital, these infections remain a major burden on the medical system. In a study published in 2013, the annual estimated costs of the five most common HAIs in the United States totaled $9.8 billion. An estimated 648,000 patients developed HAIs in hospitals within the US in 2011 and children with healthcare-associated bloodstream infection have a greater than three-fold increased risk of death. While a number of texts discuss HAIs in the broader context of infectious diseases or pediatric infectious diseases (such as Mandell''s Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases or Long and Pickering''s Principles and Practice of Pediatric Infectious Diseases) no single text specifically focuses on the epidemiology, diagnosis and management of HAI in children. Many infectious diseases texts are organized based on the microbiology of infection and from this starting point then discussing the clinical syndromes associated with the organism of interest. For instance, a chapter on Staphylococcus aureus may contain a brief discussion of the role of S. aureus in surgical site infections in the wider context of all staphylococcal disease. For clinicians caring for children at the bedside, however, the clinical syndrome is typically appreciated and intervention necessary prior to organism identification. We propose a text that details both the general principles involved in HAIs and infection prevention but also provides a problem oriented approach. Such a text would be of interest to intensivists, neonatologists, hospitalists, oncologists, infection preventionists and infectious diseases specialists. The proposed text will be divided into three principle sections: 1) Basic Principles of Infection Control and Prevention, 2) Major Infectious Syndromes and 3) Infections in Vulnerable Hosts. Chapters in the Major Infectious Syndromes section will include discussion of the epidemiology, microbiology, clinical features, diagnosis, medical management (or surgical management as appropriate) and prevention of the disease entity of interest. Chapters will seek to be evidenced based as much as possible drawing from the published medical literature as well as from clinical practice guidelines (such as those from the Infectious Diseases Society of America) when applicable. We intend to include tables, figures and algorithms as appropriate to assist clinicians in the evaluation and management of these often complex patients. Finally, we intend to invite authors to participate in this project from across a number of medical specialties including infectious diseases, infection control, critical care, oncology and surgery to provide a multidisciplinary understanding of disease. It is our intent to have many chapters be co-written by individuals in different subspecialties; for instance, a chapter on ventilator-associated pneumonia may be co-written by both infectious disease and critical care medicine specialists. Such a unique text has the potential to provide important guidance for clinicians caring for these often fragile children.
Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases, Ninth ed. by
For four decades, physicians and other healthcare providers have trusted Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases to provide expert guidance on the diagnosis and treatment of these complex disorders. The 9th Edition continues the tradition of excellence with newly expanded chapters, increased global coverage, and regular updates to keep you at the forefront of this vitally important field. Meticulously updated by Drs. John E. Bennett, Raphael Dolin, and Martin J. Blaser, this comprehensive, two-volume masterwork puts the latest information on challenging infectious diseases at your fingertips. Provides more in-depth coverage of epidemiology, etiology, pathology, microbiology, immunology, and treatment of infectious agents than any other infectious disease resource. Features an increased focus on antibiotic stewardship; new antivirals for influenza, cytomegalovirus, hepatitis C, hepatitis B., and immunizations; and new recommendations for vaccination against infection with pneumococci, papillomaviruses, hepatitis A, and pertussis. Covers newly recognized enteroviruses causing paralysis (E-A71, E-D68); emerging viral infections such as Ebola, Zika, Marburg, SARS, and MERS; and important updates on prevention and treatment of C. difficile infection, including new tests that diagnose or falsely over-diagnose infectious diseases. Offers fully revised content on bacterial pathogenesis, antibiotic use and toxicity, the human microbiome and its effects on health and disease, immunological mechanisms and immunodeficiency, and probiotics and alternative approaches to treatment of infectious diseases. Discusses up-to-date topics such as use of the new PCR panels for diagnosis of meningitis, diarrhea and pneumonia; current management of infected orthopedic implant infections; newly recognized infections transmitted by black-legged ticks in the USA: Borrelia miyamotoi and Powassan virus; infectious complications of new drugs for cancer; new drugs for resistant bacteria and mycobacteria; new guidelines for diagnosis and therapy of HIV infections; and new vaccines against herpes zoster, influenza, meningococci. PPID continues its tradition of including leading experts from a truly global community, including authors from Australia, Canada and countries in Europe, Asia, and South America. Includes regular updates online for the life of the edition. Features more than 1,500 high-quality, full-color photographs-with hundreds new to this edition. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Pathology of Infectious Diseases by
Pathology of Infectious Diseases, by Gary W. Procop, MD, A Volume in the Foundations in Diagnostic Pathology Series, packs all of today's most essential information on infectious disease pathology into a compact, high-yield format! Well-organized and segmented by type of infectious organism, the book's pragmatic approach complemented by abundant full-color, high-quality photomicrographs and clinical photos, and at-a-glance tables makes it easy to access the information you need to quickly and accurately detect and identify pathogenic organisms. Chapters on immunohistochemical and molecular techniques as well as artifacts and pitfalls guide you to accurate detection and identifications. Quickly find the information you need thanks to a well-organized, user-friendly format with templated headings, detailed illustrations, at-a-glance tables, and segmentation by type of infectious organism-viral, bacterial, fungal, and parasitic. Avoid common problems that can lead to an incorrect diagnosis. A special section on artifacts and pitfalls shows you what to look for. Get superb visual guidance from an abundance of full-color, high-quality photomicrographs and clinical photos. Employ the latest diagnostic advancements including immunohistochemical and molecular techniques. Access the full text from any computer, including the entire image bank and links to PubMed, at expertconsult. Learn from one of the very best. Dr. Gary W. Procop, one of the most outstanding young clinical pathologists in medical microbiology in American medicine, shares his vision about how new technologies may be used to rapidly identify pathogenic organisms and detect resistance to treatment regimens. Recognized for distinguished research contributions to the discipline of clinical microbiology, he was the recipient of the 2007 American Society for Microbiology (ASM) BD Award for Research in Clinical Microbiology and elected to the American Academy of Microbiology in recognition of his scientific achievements. Implement proven diagnostic approaches such as real-time PCR assays and pepticnucleic acid probes with guidance from the pioneer of these techniques! Up- to-date essential information on infectious disease pathology in a compact high yield format
Red Book 2021: report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases / Committee on Infectious Diseases, American Academy of Pediatrics by
"Refer to the Red Book." That's been the watchword for generations of healthcare professionals seeking trustworthy guidance on pediatric infectious disease prevention, management, and control Now the 32nd edition continues this tradition of excellence with the latest clinical guidance on the manifestations, etiology, epidemiology, diagnosis and treatment of more than 200 childhood infectious diseases. The 32nd edition provides evidence-based guidance on pediatric infections and vaccinations based on the recommendations of the committee as well as the combined expertise of the CDC, FDA, and hundreds of physician contributors. Red Book® is an indispensable reference for pediatricians and pediatric infectious disease specialists and is useful for family medicine and emergency medicine physicians as well. Public health and school health professionals, medical residents, and students also will find it a high-yield source of pediatric infectious disease and vaccine information.
Remington and Klein's Infectious Diseases of the Fetus and Newborn Infant by
Infectious Diseases of the Fetus and Newborn Infant, written and edited by Drs. Remington, Klein, Wilson, Nizet, and Maldonado, remains the definitive source of information in this field. The 8th edition of this authoritative reference provides the most up-to-date and complete guidance on infections found in utero, during delivery, and in the neonatal period in both premature and term infants. Special attention is given to the prevention and treatment of these diseases found in developing countries as well as the latest findings about new antimicrobial agents, gram-negative infections and their management, and recommendations for immunization of the fetus/mother. Nationally and internationally recognized in immunology and infectious diseases, new associate editors Nizet and Maldonado bring new insight and fresh perspective to the book. Form a definitive diagnosis and create the best treatment plans possible using evidence-based recommendations and expert guidance from world authorities. Locate key content easily and identify clinical conditions quickly thanks to a consistent, highly user-friendly format now featuring a full-color design with hundreds of illustrations, and fresh perspectives from six new authoritative chapter lead authors. Explore what's changing in key areas such as: - emerging problems and concepts in maternal, fetal, and neonatal infectious diseases - anticipation and recognition of infections occurring in utero, during delivery, and in the neonatal period Stay on the cutting edge of your field with new and improved chapters including: obstetric factors associated with infections of the fetus and newborn infant; human milk; borella infections; tuberculosis; bordetella pertussis and other bordetella sp infections; herpes simplex; toxoplasmosis; pneumocystis and other less common fungal infections; and healthcare-associated infections in the nursery Keep up with the most relevant topics in fetal/neonatal infectious disease including new antimicrobial agents, gram- negative infections and their management, and recommendations for immunization of the fetus/mother. Overcome clinical challenges in developing countries where access to proper medical care is limited. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, references, and videos from the book on a variety of devices. Identify and treat infections with the latest evidence-based information on fighting life-threatening diseases in the fetus and newborn infants.
Transplant Infections by
As the number of patients undergoing hematotopoietic or solid organ transplantation increases, a deep understanding of the field of transplant infectious diseases grows increasingly vital. With its extensively revised and updated review of surgical infections, treatment, prevention, and practice, this book is the ultimate guide to advances in the field of transplant infections that are rapidly implemented into practice both in diagnostic technologies, new therapies, new transplant practices, and challenges such as the threat of multiresistant bacteria and the increasing use of transplantation in the developing parts of the world. Written by experts in their fields, this book is the only comprehensive source of cutting-edge information on transplant infections and has been a trusted guide to medical professionals worldwide for nearly two decades. Transplant Infections is of paramount value to infectious disease specialists, transplant physicians, medical students, fellows, residents, and all medical professionals working with surgical patients.
Vaccines by
From the development of each vaccine to its use in reducing disease, Plotkin's Vaccines, 7th Edition, provides the expert information you need to provide optimal care to your patients. This award-winning text offers a complete understanding of each disease, as well as the latest knowledge of both existing vaccines and those currently in research and development. Described by Bill Gates as "an indispensable guide to the enhancement of the well-being of our world," Plotkin's Vaccines is a must-have reference for current, authoritative information in this fast-moving field. Includes complete information for each disease, including clinical characteristics, microbiology, pathogenesis, diagnosis, and treatment, epidemiology, and public health and regulatory issues - plus complete information for each vaccine, including its stability, immunogenicity, efficacy, duration of immunity, adverse events, indications, contraindications, precautions, administration with other vaccines, and disease-control strategies. Analyzes the cost-benefit and cost-effectiveness of different vaccine options. Helps you clearly visualize concepts and objective data through an abundance of tables and figures. Covers the new oral cholera and zoster vaccines, as well as newly licensed meningococcal group B vaccines and a newly licensed dengue vaccine. Brings you up to date on successful human trials of Ebola vaccines, an enterovirus 71 vaccine licensed in China, and new recommendations and changes to polio vaccines. Features a new chapter on maternal immunization. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
2022 Nelson's Pediatric Antimicrobial Therapy by
Completely updated and revised, the 28th edition of this best-selling reference provides instant access to the latest recommendations for treatment of infectious diseases in children. For each disease, the authors provide a commentary to help select the best of all antimicrobial choices. Drug descriptions cover all antimicrobial agents available today and include complete information about dosing regimens. TOPICS INCLUDE Antimicrobial Therapy by Clinical Syndromes Antimicrobial Therapy for Neonates Choosing Among Antibiotics Antifungal Agents Antiviral Agents Antiparasitic Agents Oral Step-down Therapy for Serious Infections Prevention of Symptomatic Infection Approach to Antibiotic Allergies Antibiotic Stewardship New in the 28th Edition Updated recommendations on acute hematogenous osteomyelitis, based on newly published guidelines by the Pediatric Infectious Diseases Society and the Infectious Diseases Society of America, including information on a decrease in the incidence of MRSA infections, allowing the recommendation of cefazolin, again, in empiric therapy for most pediatric bone infections Updated recommendations on influenza treatment and prophylaxis, reflecting American Academy of Pediatrics guidance for 2021-2022 Ceftazidime/avibactam now preferred over fluoroquinolones for treatment of Klebsiella pneumoniae carbapenemase-producing enteric bacilli, if susceptible Cefiderocol, a new iron-binding siderophore cephalosporin class, recently approved in adults for treatment of many drug-resistant pathogens, particularly Acinetobacter, Stenotrophomonas, and Pseudomonas; under study in children New dosing for posaconazole suspension formulation New approaches to mucormycosis Added baloxavir for children 12+ years old Online updates of COVID-19 therapies once emergency use authorization in children at http://www.aap.org/nelsons Updated Nelson's app also available
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window