For more Infectious Disease resources, search BOTH links below:
| Find Journals and E-Books |
| Library Catalog |
Infectious Diseases by
Drs. Cohen, Powderly and Opal, three of the most-respected names in infectious disease medicine, lead a diverse team of international contributors to bring you the latest knowledge and best practices. Extensively updated, the fourth edition includes brand-new information on advances in diagnosis of infection; Hepatitis C; managing resistant bacterial infections; and many other timely topics. An abundance of photographs and illustrations; a practical, clinically-focused style; highly-templated organization; and robust interactive content combine to make this clinician-friendly resource the fastest and best place to find all of the authoritative, current information you need. Hundreds of full-color photographs and figures provide unparalleled visual guidance. Consistent chapter organization and colorful page layouts make for quick searches. Clinically-focused guidance from "Practice Points" demonstrates how to diagnose and treat complicated problems encountered in practice. The "Syndromes by Body System", "HIV and AIDS", and "International Medicine" sections are designed to reflect how practicing specialists think when faced with a patient. Over 100 Self-Assessment test questions online help study for certification and recertification. Sweeping updates include new or revised chapters on: Hepatitis C and antivirals Fungal infection and newer antifungals Microbiome and infectious diseases as well as advances in diagnosis of infection; Clostridium difficile epidemiology; infection control in the ICU setting; Chlamydia trachomatis infection; acquired syndromes associated with autoantibodies to cytokines;; management of multidrug resistant pathogens; probiotics, polymyxins, and the pathway to developing new antibiotics HIV including HIV and aging, antiretroviral therapy in developing countries, and cure for HIV. Online Antimicrobial pharmacokinetics mannequin, as well an all new HIV medicine mannequin are a useful visual source of treatment information Advance clinically with practical, innovative, highly visual guidance that allows you to effectively treat and manage all your patients' diseases.
Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases, Ninth ed. by
For four decades, physicians and other healthcare providers have trusted Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases to provide expert guidance on the diagnosis and treatment of these complex disorders. The 9th Edition continues the tradition of excellence with newly expanded chapters, increased global coverage, and regular updates to keep you at the forefront of this vitally important field. Meticulously updated by Drs. John E. Bennett, Raphael Dolin, and Martin J. Blaser, this comprehensive, two-volume masterwork puts the latest information on challenging infectious diseases at your fingertips. Provides more in-depth coverage of epidemiology, etiology, pathology, microbiology, immunology, and treatment of infectious agents than any other infectious disease resource. Features an increased focus on antibiotic stewardship; new antivirals for influenza, cytomegalovirus, hepatitis C, hepatitis B., and immunizations; and new recommendations for vaccination against infection with pneumococci, papillomaviruses, hepatitis A, and pertussis. Covers newly recognized enteroviruses causing paralysis (E-A71, E-D68); emerging viral infections such as Ebola, Zika, Marburg, SARS, and MERS; and important updates on prevention and treatment of C. difficile infection, including new tests that diagnose or falsely over-diagnose infectious diseases. Offers fully revised content on bacterial pathogenesis, antibiotic use and toxicity, the human microbiome and its effects on health and disease, immunological mechanisms and immunodeficiency, and probiotics and alternative approaches to treatment of infectious diseases. Discusses up-to-date topics such as use of the new PCR panels for diagnosis of meningitis, diarrhea and pneumonia; current management of infected orthopedic implant infections; newly recognized infections transmitted by black-legged ticks in the USA: Borrelia miyamotoi and Powassan virus; infectious complications of new drugs for cancer; new drugs for resistant bacteria and mycobacteria; new guidelines for diagnosis and therapy of HIV infections; and new vaccines against herpes zoster, influenza, meningococci. PPID continues its tradition of including leading experts from a truly global community, including authors from Australia, Canada and countries in Europe, Asia, and South America. Includes regular updates online for the life of the edition. Features more than 1,500 high-quality, full-color photographs-with hundreds new to this edition. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Clinical Epidemiology: The Essentials, 6th ed by
Now in its Sixth Edition, Clinical Epidemiology: The Essentials is a comprehensive, concise, and clinically oriented introduction to the subject of epidemiology. Written by expert educators, this approachable, informative text introduces students to the principles of evidence-based medicine that will help them develop and apply methods of clinical observation in order to form accurate conclusions. The updated sixth edition reflects the most current approaches to clinical epidemiology, including the latest coverage of modeling and expanded insight on applying concepts to clinical practice, with updated, clinical vignette-style end-of-chapter questions to help strengthen students' understanding and ensure a confident transition to clinical settings. Updated content throughout reflects the latest practices in clinical epidemiology. Increased emphasis on clinical judgment helps students confidently evaluate the effectiveness of guidelines and integrate them into practice. Updated vignette-style end-of-chapter questions place concepts in a clinical context and reinforce students' understanding. Key Word Lists at the start of each chapter familiarize students with critical terminology for clinical competence. Example boxes clarify the clinical implications of important concepts with relevant real-world patient care scenarios. Appendix of Additional Readings highlights trusted resources for further review.
Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) by
This book provides a comprehensive overview of recent novel coronavirus (SARS-CoV-2) infection, their biology and associated challenges for their treatment and prevention of novel Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19). Discussing various aspects of COVID-19 infection, including global epidemiology, genome organization, immunopathogenesis, transmission cycle, diagnosis, treatment, prevention, and control strategies, it highlights host-pathogen interactions, host immune response, and pathogen immune invasion strategies toward developing an immune intervention or preventive vaccine for COVID-19. An understanding of the topics covered in the book is imperative in the context of designing strategies to protect the human race from further losses and harm due to SARS-CoV-2 infection causing COVID-19.
Evidence-Based Infectious Diseases by
Written by an international team of authors specializing in microbiology and infectious disease, this new edition of Evidenced-based Infectious Diseases presents practical, up-to-date information on the care of individual patients suffering from infectious diseases. Each chapter addresses a series of focused clinical questions addressed in a systematic fashion, including a comprehensive literature search, and a rating of the quality of evidence using principles of the GRADE framework. Evidence-Based Infectious Diseases is the ideal reference work for all those involved with microbiology, infectious diseases, and clinical management.
Fields Virology: Emerging Viruses (Vol. 1) by
Now in four convenient volumes, Fields Virology remains the most authoritative reference in this fast-changing field, providing definitive coverage of virology, including virus biology as well as replication and medical aspects of specific virus families. This volume of Fields Virology: Emerging Viruses, Seventh Edition covers recent changes in emerging viruses, providing new or extensively revised chapters that reflect these advances in this dynamic field. Including information on coronaviridae, this text serves as the authoritative, up-to-date reference book for virologists, infectious disease specialists, microbiologists, and physicians, as well as medical students pursuing a career in infectious diseases. Covers both basic science and medical features of each virus, emphasizing viruses of medical importance and interest, while also including other viruses in specific cases where more is known about their mechanisms of replication or pathogenesis. Covers virus evolution, as well as Coronoviridae, Picornaviridae, Enteroviruses, Caliciviridae, Hepatitis C Virus, Filoviridae, Henipaviruses, Orthomyxoviruses, Bunyavirales, Arenaviridae, and much more. Features over 500 full-color illustrations, including key figures for use as lecture slides. Provides quick, flexible access to current information both in print and in an improved eBook format, searchable across all volumes. Discusses virus structure, virus entry, replication, and assembly, virus-host cell interactions, host immune responses and vaccines, antiviral therapeutics, virus evolution and immunization. New and forthcoming Fields Virology volumes, available in print and eBook format: DNA Viruses, RNA Viruses, Fundamental Viruses.
Fields Virology: Fundamentals by
Now in four convenient volumes, Field's Virology remains the most authoritative reference in this fast-changing field, providing definitive coverage of virology, including virus biology as well as replication and medical aspects of specific virus families. This volume of Field's Virology: Fundamentals, Seventh Edition, edited by Drs. Peter Howley and David M. Knipe, along with volume associate editors Drs. Lynn Enquist, Jeffrey I. Cohen, Eric O. Freed, Blossom A. Damania, and Sean P. J. Whelan, focuses on the basic principles of virology and reflects recent advances in this dynamic field. Bundled with the eBook, which will be updated regularly as new information about each virus is available, this text serves as the authoritative, up-to-date reference book for virologists, infectious disease specialists, microbiologists, and physicians, as well as undergraduate and graduate students interested in virology. Includes chapters on virus structures, essential viral functions, immune responses to viral infections, viral epidemiology, viral diagnostics, and viral therapies Up to date discussions of antiviral therapies and vaccine strategies Features more than 300 full-color illustrations, including key figures for use as lecture slides Provides quick, flexible access to current information both in print and in an improved eBook format Discusses virus structure, virus entry, replication, and assembly, virus-host cell interactions, host immune responses and vaccines, antiviral therapeutics, viral persistence and latency for HIV, and mechanisms of viral oncogenesis for HPV, KSHV and the hepatotropic viruses Newly revised Field's Virology volumes, available in print and eBook format: * Emerging Viruses * DNA Viruses * RNA Viruses * Fundamental Virology Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Fields Virology: DNA Viruses by
Now in four convenient volumes, Field's Virology remains the most authoritative reference in this fast-changing field, providing definitive coverage of virology, including virus biology as well as replication and medical aspects of specific virus families. This volume of Field's Virology: DNA Viruses, Seventh Edition covers the latest information on DNA viruses, how they cause disease, including cancer, how they persist in the body in a latent form, reactivate and spread, new therapeutics and vaccine approaches, as provided in new or extensively revised chapters that reflect these advances in this dynamic field. Bundled with the eBook, which will be updated regularly as new information about each virus is available, this text serves as the authoritative, up-to-date reference book for virologists, infectious disease specialists, microbiologists, and physicians, as well as medical students pursuing a career in infectious diseases. Covers both basic science and medical features of each virus, emphasizing viruses of medical importance and interest, while also including other viruses in specific cases where more is known about their mechanisms of replication or pathogenesis. Covers viruses that cause human cancer such as human papillomaviruses (HPV), Epstein Barr Virus, the Merkel Cell Polyomavirus and hepatitis B virus, and viruses like the herpesviruses that persist in a latent form and can reactivate and cause acute and/or chronic disease. Features more than 400 full-color illustrations, including key figures for use as lecture slides. Provides quick, flexible access to current information both in print and in an improved eBook format. Discusses virus structure, virus entry, replication, and assembly, virus-host cell interactions, host immune responses and vaccines, antiviral therapeutics, viral persistence and latency and viruses as tools for gene therapy and vectors for vaccination. New and forthcoming Field's Virology volumes, available in print and eBook format: * Emerging Viruses * DNA Viruses * RNA Viruses * Fundamental Viruses Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Netter's Infectious Diseases by
Widely used by students, residents, generalists, and specialists, Netter's Infectious Diseases, 2nd Edition delivers must-know information on infectious diseases in a highly illustrated, easily accessible format. Concise visual overviews of essential topics provide a convenient, trustworthy way to review the basics of a given infectious disease or issue or to share with patients or staff. Drs. Elaine Jong and Dennis Stevens cover the basics of this complex field using memorable illustrations by world-renowned artist Frank H. Netter and others, offering a time-saving, authoritative look at infectious diseases life cycles, clinical presentations, and pathophysiology. Covers major conditions and problems such as vaccine-preventable diseases, drug-resistant staph, community acquired pneumonia, surgical infections, pyelonephritis, viral hepatitis, and sexually transmitted infections-and provides updated approaches to diagnosis, treatment, prevention, and standards of care. Includes new clinical vignettes added to most chapters. Provides updated and expanded coverage of emerging infectious diseases such as multidrug resistant tuberculosis (MDR-TB), neuroangiostrongyliasis (rat lungworm disease), Ebola virus, Severe Acute Respiratory Disease (SARS), Middle East Respiratory Syndrome (MERS), Coronavirus Infectious Disease-2019 (COVID-19), and novel influenza viruses including public health concerns. Covers vector-borne diseases including malaria, yellow fever, Zika infections and congenital Zika syndrome, West Nile fever, Lyme disease, tick-borne encephalitis, and Chagas disease plus others. New chapters on travelers' diarrhea, cholera, and primary amebic meningoencephalitis debut in the section on international travel and outdoor activities. Contains memorable parasite life cycles and unforgettable parasite infection clinical vignettes. Features unparalleled illustrations by Drs. Frank H. Netter, Carlos Machado, and others, as well as radiologic images. Provides 24 printable patient education brochures in the enhanced ebook. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Neurological Complications of Infectious Diseases by
This book offers a comprehensive review of the most common infectious diseases that affect the nervous system. Written by international experts, it provides a guide to clinicians for accurately diagnosing and treating these challenging syndromes. Organized into six sections, the book presents didactic, up-to-date information on the following topics relating to central nervous system (CNS) infections: diagnosis and evaluation of the patient, bacterial, viral, fungal and mycobacterial infections, disorders of the spinal cord, and a myriad of miscellaneous infections. Chapters specifically reflect and look to resolve the common obstacles clinicians face in the field, such as having unknown etiologies on the majority of CNS infections, insensitive and slow microbiological techniques, an increasing number of immunosuppressed individuals with atypical presentations and pathogens, and a lack of standardized diagnostic algorithms. A complex yet accessible addition to the Current Clinical Neurology Series, Neurological Complications of Infectious Diseases invaluably examines a wide range of infections that have neurological complications and sequelae.
Pathology of Infectious Diseases by
Pathology of Infectious Diseases, by Gary W. Procop, MD, A Volume in the Foundations in Diagnostic Pathology Series, packs all of today's most essential information on infectious disease pathology into a compact, high-yield format! Well-organized and segmented by type of infectious organism, the book's pragmatic approach complemented by abundant full-color, high-quality photomicrographs and clinical photos, and at-a-glance tables makes it easy to access the information you need to quickly and accurately detect and identify pathogenic organisms. Chapters on immunohistochemical and molecular techniques as well as artifacts and pitfalls guide you to accurate detection and identifications. Quickly find the information you need thanks to a well-organized, user-friendly format with templated headings, detailed illustrations, at-a-glance tables, and segmentation by type of infectious organism-viral, bacterial, fungal, and parasitic. Avoid common problems that can lead to an incorrect diagnosis. A special section on artifacts and pitfalls shows you what to look for. Get superb visual guidance from an abundance of full-color, high-quality photomicrographs and clinical photos. Employ the latest diagnostic advancements including immunohistochemical and molecular techniques. Access the full text from any computer, including the entire image bank and links to PubMed, at expertconsult. Learn from one of the very best. Dr. Gary W. Procop, one of the most outstanding young clinical pathologists in medical microbiology in American medicine, shares his vision about how new technologies may be used to rapidly identify pathogenic organisms and detect resistance to treatment regimens. Recognized for distinguished research contributions to the discipline of clinical microbiology, he was the recipient of the 2007 American Society for Microbiology (ASM) BD Award for Research in Clinical Microbiology and elected to the American Academy of Microbiology in recognition of his scientific achievements. Implement proven diagnostic approaches such as real-time PCR assays and pepticnucleic acid probes with guidance from the pioneer of these techniques! Up- to-date essential information on infectious disease pathology in a compact high yield format
Principles of Virology, Multi-Volume by
Principles of Virology, the leading virology textbook in use, is an extremely valuable and highly informative presentation of virology at the interface of modern cell biology and immunology. This text utilizes a uniquely rational approach by highlighting common principles and processes across all viruses. Using a set of representative viruses to illustrate the breadth of viral complexity, students are able to understand viral reproduction and pathogenesis and are equipped with the necessary tools for future encounters with new or understudied viruses. This fifth edition was updated to keep pace with the ever-changing field of virology. In addition to the beloved full-color illustrations, video interviews with leading scientists, movies, and links to exciting blogposts on relevant topics, this edition includes study questions and active learning puzzles in each chapter, as well as short descriptions regarding the key messages of references of special interest. Volume I: Molecular Biology focuses on the molecular processes of viral reproduction, from entry through release. Volume II: Pathogenesis and Control addresses the interplay between viruses and their host organisms, on both the micro- and macroscale, including chapters on public health, the immune response, vaccines and other antiviral strategies, viral evolution, and a brand new chapter on the therapeutic uses of viruses. These two volumes can be used for separate courses or together in a single course. Each includes a unique appendix, glossary, and links to internet resources. Principles of Virology, Fifth Edition, is ideal for teaching the strategies by which all viruses reproduce, spread within a host, and are maintained within populations. This edition carefully reflects the results of extensive vetting and feedback received from course instructors and students, making this renowned textbook even more appropriate for undergraduate and graduate courses in virology, microbiology, and infectious diseases.
Vaccines by
From the development of each vaccine to its use in reducing disease, Plotkin's Vaccines, 7th Edition, provides the expert information you need to provide optimal care to your patients. This award-winning text offers a complete understanding of each disease, as well as the latest knowledge of both existing vaccines and those currently in research and development. Described by Bill Gates as "an indispensable guide to the enhancement of the well-being of our world," Plotkin's Vaccines is a must-have reference for current, authoritative information in this fast-moving field. Includes complete information for each disease, including clinical characteristics, microbiology, pathogenesis, diagnosis, and treatment, epidemiology, and public health and regulatory issues - plus complete information for each vaccine, including its stability, immunogenicity, efficacy, duration of immunity, adverse events, indications, contraindications, precautions, administration with other vaccines, and disease-control strategies. Analyzes the cost-benefit and cost-effectiveness of different vaccine options. Helps you clearly visualize concepts and objective data through an abundance of tables and figures. Covers the new oral cholera and zoster vaccines, as well as newly licensed meningococcal group B vaccines and a newly licensed dengue vaccine. Brings you up to date on successful human trials of Ebola vaccines, an enterovirus 71 vaccine licensed in China, and new recommendations and changes to polio vaccines. Features a new chapter on maternal immunization. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Vaccine Science and Immunization Guideline by
This book is a comprehensive resource on vaccines and immunizations for primary care physicians, advanced practice providers, and trainees. We are now seeing a rise in measles and the potential for rises in other previously rare infectious diseases, significantly due to public and physician misconceptions and misinformation about vaccines. The text addresses this issue by consolidating historical and current advances in vaccine science from how vaccines are developed to CDC recommendations on how and when to administer them. Expert authors also address barriers to improving vaccination rates in the U.S. and offer evidence-based recommendations on overcoming those barriers. This is an essential guide for primary care physicians, family physicians, pediatricians, internists, residents, medical students, mid-level providers, and learners for understanding vaccines and improving preventative care for their patients.
Antibiotic Resistance by
Antibiotic Resistance: Mechanisms and New Antimicrobial Approaches discusses up-to-date knowledge in mechanisms of antibiotic resistance and all recent advances in fighting microbial resistance such as the applications of nanotechnology, plant products, bacteriophages, marine products, algae, insect-derived products, and other alternative methods that can be applied to fight bacterial infections. Understanding fundamental mechanisms of antibiotic resistance is a key step in the discovery of effective methods to cope with resistance. This book also discusses methods used to fight antibiotic-resistant infection based on a deep understanding of the mechanisms involved in the development of the resistance. Discusses methods used to fight antibiotic-resistant infection based on a deep understanding of mechanisms involved in the development of the resistance Provides information on modern methods used to fight antibiotic resistance Covers a wide range of alternative methods to fight bacterial resistance, offering the most complete information available Discusses both newly emerging trends and traditionally applied methods to fight antibiotic resistant infections in light of recent scientific developments Offers the most up-to-date information in fighting antibiotic resistance Includes involvement of contributors all across the world, presenting questions of interest to readers of both developed and developing countries
Antibiotics Manual by
A comprehensive compendium of all commonly used antibiotics, including indications, side effects, dosage information, and drug/food interactions Antibiotics Manual: A Guide to Commonly Used Antimicrobials, Second Edition is a unique, user-friendly guide made for all who prescribe antibiotics. It's the only book available that takes a 100% drug-listed approach to 200 of the most common antibiotics prescribed to patients each day. Presented in full color, it's also a convenient reference for every clinician to consult once the decision to use a particular antibiotic has been reached. This edition of Antibiotics Manual includes newer antibiotics that have been released since the publication of the First Edition and updates prescribing information for the older antibiotics. This all-new Second Edition: Has a color-coded interior design which provides quick and easy point of care access for the user Includes 200 of the most commonly prescribed antibiotics, listed by both brand and generic names Features important recently-released antibiotics such as ceftaroline, tedizolid, and bedaquiline Antibiotics Manual: A Guide to Commonly Used Antimicrobials, Second Edition is a welcome book for physicians in all specialties of medicine who prescribe antibiotics. It is also a handy tool for pharmacists, nurses, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants who want more information on the drugs they administer.
Sanford Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy, 46th ed. by
Errata Notice: Sanford Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy 2016: Print Edition Content Notices (shipped prior to 5/11/16) Antibacterial Activity Spectra (Table 4, p78): A column shift caused activity data to be displayed incorrectly for Linezolid, Tedizolid, Rifampin (combination), TMP-SMX, Fosfomycin and Metronidazole vs. Anaerobic gram-positive bacteria (the lower right quadrant of the page). A sticker is available to replace the page: http: //www.sanfor dguide.com/support/errata
Medical Microbiology by
Medical microbiology concerns the nature, distribution and activities of microbes and their impact on health and wellbeing. In spite of the introduction of many antimicrobial agents and immunisations, we continue to face major challenges in combatting infection, not least the gathering crisis in antimicrobial resistance. Now in a fully revised and updated 19th edition, Medical Microbiology provides comprehensive coverage of infection from the microbial perspective, combining a clear introduction to key principles with a focus explicitly geared to modern clinical practice. It provides ideal coverage for medical and biomedical students - with 'Key Points' boxes throughout to highlight the essentials - and sufficient detail to also inform specialists in training. Building on the success of previous editions, updates in Medical Microbiology 19e include: New and expanded coverage of hot topics and emerging areas important to clinical practice, including: Genomics The Human Microbiome Direct acting antiviral agents for the treatment of HCV infection Molecular methods in diagnostic microbiology Antibiotic Stewardship A new and improved downloadable eBook (from studentconsult) - for anytime access to the complete contents plus BONUS interactive learning materials: Clinical cases - to introduce how patients with infections present and help relate key principles to practice MCQs for each chapter - to check understanding and aid exam preparation
Mims' Medical Microbiology and Immunology by
"MIMS' Medical Microbiology and Immunology is loved internationally for its thorough yet easy-to-follow coverage of microbiology, infectious diseases, and immunology as a dynamic interplay between microbes and host. Covering the fundamentals of these closely linked disciplines, MIMS' takes a systems approach to elaborate on epidemiology, clinical presentation, pathogenesis, and diagnostic approaches, as well as treatment and infection control considerations, supplemented by case-based examples. Complex scientific and clinical concepts are explained clearly and simply with the help of illustrations and a range of accompanying online content. Students will come away with a deep understanding of topics and processes, and will return to this book for reference time and again." -- Elsevier website
Levinson's Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology: a Guide to Clinical Infectious Disease, Eighteenth Edition by
"This trusted, popular guide provides a high-yield review of the most important aspects of microbiology and immunology in a concise yet comprehensive style. Levinson's Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology covers both basic and clinical aspects of bacteriology, virology, mycology, parasitology, and immunology. Important infectious diseases are discussed using an organ system approach. The effective mix of engaging narrative text, color images, tables, figures, Q&As, and clinical vignettes make this an invaluable, proven one-stop guide to mastering the application of microbiology and immunology to infectious diseases. This updated edition reflects the latest research, treatment, and developments, new cases, and more."--Provided by publisher.
Current Diagnosis & Treatment of Sexually Transmitted Diseases by
Get problem-oriented and disease-specific guidance in treating STDs-in one quick-access source For more than 70 years, professors, students, and clinicians have trusted LANGE for high-quality, current, concise medical information in a convenient, affordable, portable format. Whether for coursework, clerkships, USMLE prep, specialty board review, or patient care, there's a LANGE book that guarantees success. Featuring the trusted, practical format of the CURRENT series, this authoritative, quick-access guide delivers a top-to-bottom overview of STDs commonly encountered in clinical practice. The book begins with an insightful introduction to the field that emphasizes the patient-doctor relationship, and then explores clinical problems with STDs in terms of diagnostic, management, and treatment considerations. A-to-Z, up-to-the-minute coverage of common STDs-filled with crucial point-of-care guidelines A focus on prevention interventions, including counseling, in recognition of the need to change high-risk sexual behaviors Practical diagnostic algorithms that summarize key protocols and facilitate patient management Detailed, easy-to-locate treatment tables that list specific drugs (generic and trade names), doses, and schedules A thought-provoking final chapter that includes a brief discussion of the latest STD research, plus unresolved questions and future concerns Useful appendices that include diagnostic protocols, treatment tables, and websites for further information Authoritative, on-the-spot information you can quickly apply to your practice - without sifting through pages of data An essential clinical companion for internists, family physicians, pediatricians, nurse practitioners, obstetricians-gynecologists, HIV care specialists, and other healthcare professionals who see patients with STDs Turn to any chapter on specific STDs, and you'll find expert perspectives on biology, epidemiology, clinical manifestations, diagnosis, treatment, prevention, and issues related to special populations
Encyclopedia of AIDS by
For the first time, the world's experts in HIV-AIDS have come together to publish the Encyclopedia of AIDS. The work features over 4000 A-Z entries including medical, cultural, social, and pharmacological essays. The Pathology entries cover the various types of HIV-related illnesses, including those that are and are not AIDS-defining. Many of the conditions that are AIDS-defining illnesses have their own entries or are cross-referenced to a generic entry in which several related conditions are discussed (such as enteric diseases and fungal infections). Typically, the treatment of any given form of pathology is briefly discussed in the entry that covers that illness. The reference is a must-read for Infectious Disease specialists, Immunologists, Public Health researchers, Virologists, Microbiologists, Pharmacologists, and Physicians.
Hunter's Tropical Medicine and Emerging Infectious Disease by
New emerging diseases, new diagnostic modalities for resource-poor settings, new vaccine schedules . all significant, recent developments in the fast-changing field of tropical medicine. Hunter's Tropical Medicine and Emerging Infectious Diseases, 10th Edition, keeps you up to date with everything from infectious diseases and environmental issues through poisoning and toxicology, animal injuries, and nutritional and micronutrient deficiencies that result from traveling to tropical or subtropical regions. This comprehensive resource provides authoritative clinical guidance, useful statistics, and chapters covering organs, skills, and services, as well as traditional pathogen-based content. You'll get a full understanding of how to recognize and treat these unique health issues, no matter how widespread or difficult to control. Includes important updates on malaria, leishmaniasis, tuberculosis and HIV, as well as coverage of Ebola, Zika virus, Chikungunya, and other emerging pathogens. Provides new vaccine schedules and information on implementation. Features five all-new chapters: Neglected Tropical Diseases: Public Health Control Programs and Mass Drug Administration; Health System and Health Care Delivery; Zika; Medical Entomology; and Vector Control - as well as 250 new images throughout. Presents the common characteristics and methods of transmission for each tropical disease, as well as the applicable diagnosis, treatment, control, and disease prevention techniques. Contains skills-based chapters such as dentistry, neonatal pediatrics and ICMI, and surgery in the tropics, and service-based chapters such as transfusion in resource-poor settings, microbiology, and imaging. Discusses maladies such as delusional parasitosis that are often seen in returning travelers, including those making international adoptions, transplant patients, medical tourists, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Manson's Tropical Diseases by
"For 125 years, physicians have relied on Manson's Tropical Diseases for a comprehensive clinical overview of this complex and fast-changing field. The fully revised 24th Edition, Dr. Jeremy Farrar, along with an internationally recognized editorial team, global contributors, and expert authors, delivers the latest coverage on parasitic and infectious diseases from around the world. From the difficult to diagnose to the difficult to treat, this highly readable, award-winning reference prepares you to effectively handle whatever your patients may have contracted"-- publisher's description.
The Travel and Tropical Medicine Manual by
Prevent, evaluate, and manage diseases that can be acquired in tropical environments and foreign countries with The Travel and Tropical Medicine Manual. This pragmatic, pocket-sized resource equips medical providers with the knowledge they need to offer effective aid, covering key topics in pre- and post-travel medicine, caring for immigrants and refugees, and working in low-resource settings. It's also the perfect source for travelers seeking quick, easy access to the latest travel medicine information. Dynamic images illustrate key concepts for an enhanced visual understanding. Evidence-based treatment recommendations enable you to manage diseases confidently. Pocket-sized format provides access to need-to-know information quickly and easily. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Evidence-based appendix, available at Expert Consult, helps to validate treatments. Highlights new evidence and content surrounding mental health and traveling. Covers emerging hot topics such as Ebola virus disease, viral hemorrhagic fevers, the role of point-of-care testing in travel medicine, and antibiotic-resistant bacteria in returning travelers and students traveling abroad. Includes an enhanced drug appendix in the back of the book.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
Cases in Clinical Infectious Disease Practice by
In the era of cost cutting and lack of adequate health insurance for many patients, clinical skills and time spent with patients are not adequately compensated. Yet, these dwindling and underpaid skills - good history taking, observation of and listening to patients, and physical examination of patients - remain very essential to making and reaching a complete and accurate diagnosis. Expensive laboratory and imaging diagnostics while very relevant, should not replace these age-old skills that have served to enhance and maintain the doctor-patient relationship and human connection, a connection that is often necessary for healing. Cases in Clinical Infectious Disease Practice uses case studies to illustrate how the infectious disease clinician processes and integrates data to arrive at a diagnosis. This type of hands-on approach, invaluable in training programs, is utilized to take the reader through initial patient encounter, through the history and physical examination, to simple laboratory findings and stains, to a final diagnosis, in a way that is easily accessible to clinicians, students, and laboratory personnel working with clinical specimens. Appeals to practitioners of all levels, with focus on patients with common problems or complications of common infections without heavy technical language Emphasizes basic clinical skills including history taking, observation, epidemiology, and physical exam, as well as simple laboratory tests, explaining how they lead to a reasonable diagnosis Presents cases seen first-hand within the community setting, reflective of cases or situations a resident or student is likely to encounter in the real world after training Cases in Clinical Infectious Disease Practice is an essential resource for clinicians, graduate and medical school students, and others conducting medical and clinical microbiology or infectious disease research on real patients.
Infectious Diseases Case Study Approach by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A new case-based approach to teaching infectious disease pharmacotherapy to pharmacy students Reflecting the growing demand for healthcare providers versed in infectious disease pharmacotherapy, this innovative new text provides an essential examination of the subject through patient cases seen in actual practice. Assuming little prior knowledge of infectious diseases on the reader's part, the text covers both common and uncommon presentations, as well as disease states not found in similar textbooks. Infectious Diseases: A Case Study Approach includes multiple-choice questions along with detailed explanations for both correct and incorrect answer choices, and valuable insight into each disease state. With this valuable resource, pharmacy students will learn how to apply pharmacotherapy concepts to real-world situations. Features: * Coverage of myriad disease states, including bacterial infections, prosthetic joint infections, bite wounds, encephalitis, and sexually transmitted diseases * Students will learn how to apply concepts to real-world situations * Includes enlightening clinical pearls for numerous disease states * Multiple-choice questions with complete answers, and more
CDC Yellow Book 2020 by
The definitive reference for travel medicine, updated for 2020! "A beloved travel must-have for the intrepid wanderer." -Publishers Weekly "A truly excellent and comprehensive resource." -Journal of Hospital Infection The CDC Yellow Book offers everything travelers and healthcare providers need to know for safe and healthy travel abroad. This 2020 edition includes: � Country-specific risk guidelines for yellow fever and malaria, including expert recommendations and 26 detailed, country-level maps � Detailed maps showing distribution of travel-related illnesses, including dengue, Japanese encephalitis, meningococcal meningitis, and schistosomiasis � Guidelines for self-treating common travel conditions, including altitude illness, jet lag, motion sickness, and travelers' diarrhea � Expert guidance on food and drink precautions to avoid illness, plus water-disinfection techniques for travel to remote destinations � Specialized guidelines for non-leisure travelers, study abroad, work-related travel, and travel to mass gatherings � Advice on medical tourism, complementary and integrative health approaches, and counterfeit drugs � Updated guidance for pre-travel consultations � Advice for obtaining healthcare abroad, including guidance on different types of travel insurance � Health insights around 15 popular tourist destinations and itineraries � Recommendations for traveling with infants and children � Advising travelers with specific needs, including those with chronic medical conditions or weakened immune systems, health care workers, humanitarian aid workers, long-term travelers and expatriates, and last-minute travelers � Considerations for newly arrived adoptees, immigrants, and refugees Long the most trusted book of its kind, the CDC Yellow Book is an essential resource in an ever-changing field -- and an ever-changing world.
