Fischer's Mastery of Surgery, 7th ed by
Here are the core procedures every general surgeon needs to master, in step-by-step detail with commentary from experts in the field. In two full-color volumes, Fischer's Mastery of Surgery, Seventh Edition includes the essentials of diagnosis, anatomy, and pre-operative planning while maintaining a focus on clear, step-by-step depictions and descriptions of procedures. This thoroughly revised edition brings you up to date with evidence-based approaches for virtually any surgery you'll be called upon to perform.Key Features Provides extensive coverage of vascular surgery as well as of common thoracic, breast, esophageal, endocrine, colorectal, gastric, pancreatic, liver, and biliary procedures. Walks you step by step through each procedure, with tips and cautions from leading surgeons. Includes background and history for each procedure, as well as diagnostic and postoperative considerations. Features more than 3,400 illustrations that offer a surgeon's-eye-view of the most advanced approaches. Concludes each chapter with expert editorial commentary that puts the chapter material in a broad context and provides helpful critiques of the most recent literature. Streamlines the table of contents to combine chapters on open and minimally invasive approaches.
Maingot's Abdominal Operations. 13th Edition by
The best edition yet of the cornerstone text on abdominal operations--enhanced by thousands of full-color photographs and illustrations and thoroughly updated content Edition after edition, Maingot's Abdominal Operations has been hailed as the most complete, current, and trusted resource among general, colorectal, and gastrointestinal surgeons. Presented in full color, this classic textbook carefully details common and important abdominal procedures, offering a concise, yet complete, survey of the diagnosis and management of benign and malignant digestive disorders. Bolstered by more than 650 photographs and 1,250 full color illustrations, Maingot's 78 chapters deliver everything you need to understand congenital, acquired, and neoplastic disorders - and optimize surgical outcomes for any type of abdominal disorder. FEATURES: *Contemporary focus on operative procedures, and new concepts in the diagnosis and management of abdominal disease *Convenient organ/procedure presentation provides a seamless review of surgical protocols, as well as pre- and postoperative strategies and techniques *Added chapters on quality metrics, ERAS, and robotic surgery; and an increased number of "Perspective" commentaries by experts in the field *Disease-focused and organ/procedure presentation provides a seamless review of surgical protocols, as well as pre- and postoperative strategies and techniques *More than 650 photographs and 1,250 full color illustrations, many new to this edition
Sabiston Textbook of Surgery, 21st. ed. by
For more than 80 years, Sabiston Textbook of Surgery: The Biological Basis of Modern Surgical Practice has been the go-to text for trainees and surgeons at all levels of experience for definitive guidance on every aspect of general surgery. As the oldest continuously published textbook of surgery in North America, this fully revised 21st Edition continues to provide the key information, essential teaching pearls, and completely updated content needed to make the most informed surgical decisions and achieve optimal outcomes for patients. Concisely written and evidence based throughout, it covers the breadth of material required for certification and practice of general surgery, highlighted by detailed, full-color intraoperative illustrations and high-quality video clips. Follows a clear, consistent progression beginning with principles common to surgical specialties including fluid and electrolyte management, metabolic support, and wound healing. Subsequent sections review the management of injury, transplantation, oncology, breast, endocrine, and abdominal procedures. Covers key topics such as emerging surgical technologies and devices, regenerative medicine, the latest concepts in cancer biology and treatments, and evidence-based management and treatment. Emphasizes the most up-to-date minimally invasive techniques and the use of robotics when indicated. Features more than 2,000 superb illustrations and intraoperative photographs and 25 procedural videos that facilitate quick comprehension of surgical techniques. Includes more schematic diagrams, summary tables, boxes, and algorithms that provide a rich resource for reviewing surgical techniques and preparing for in-training and board exams. Shares the expertise of dozens of new authors and includes two new chapters on robotic surgery and fetal surgery. Contains fully updated content on topics encountered by general surgery residents in training as well as in-depth coverage of subspecialty areas including head and neck, thoracic, vascular, urology, neurosurgery, pediatrics, and gynecology. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Schwartz's Principles of Surgery by
The BEST EDITION yet of the #1 text for surgical practice and education For half-a-century, no other text has provided such a solid grounding in basic science, anatomy, operative techniques, and more recently, professional development and leadership training, as Schwartz's Principles of Surgery. Written by the world's foremost surgeons, this landmark reference offers distinctly modern and all-encompassing coverage of every important topic in general surgery. Enhanced by a new two volume presentation, the Eleventh Edition has been completely updated and refreshed with an emphasis on state-of-the-art, evidence-based surgical care. You will find an exciting array of new contributors from around the world, new chapters on cutting-edge topics, plus the acclaimed learning aids that make the material easier to understand and memorize. This outstanding content is bolstered by more than 800 photographs and 1,300 line drawings, most in full color, as well as online videos demonstrating key operations. Here's why the Eleventh Edition is the best edition yet: Six timely new chapters on important topics such as enhanced recovery after surgery (ERAS), ambulatory/outpatient surgery, evidence for surgery practice, skills and simulation, and web-based education and social media High-quality full-color design showcases an unsurpassed illustration program Emphasis on high-yield discussion of diagnosis and treatment of surgical disease, arranged by organ system and surgical specialty Acclaimed learning aids (many new to this edition), including an abundance of completely up-to-date tables that summarize the most current evidence, boxed key points, detailed anatomical figures, diagnostic and management algorithms, and an abundance of completely up-to-date tables, and key references More than the field's cornerstone textbook, Schwartz's Principles of Surgery is an international compendium of the knowledge and technique of the world's leading surgeons.
For more General Surgery resources, search BOTH links below:
| Find Journals and E-Books |
| Library Catalog |
Clinical Scenarios in General Surgery by
Using a highly readable, case-based format, Clinical Scenarios in Surgery: Decision Making and Operative Technique, Second Edition, presents 135 cases that take readers step by step through the principles of safe surgical care. Ideal for senior surgical residents who are preparing for the oral board exam, this updated resource presents today's standards of care in all areas of general surgery, including abdominal wall, upper GI, emergency general surgery, hepatobiliary, colorectal, breast, endocrine, thoracic, vascular, pediatric, skin and soft tissue, trauma, critical care, transplant, and head and neck surgeries. Fourteen chapters are new to the Second Edition, including six in the greatly-expanded section on Trauma. Each full-color case begins with a patient presentation and proceeds through differential diagnosis, workup, diagnosis and treatment, surgical procedures, postoperative management, and a case conclusion. Coverage includes key technical steps, potential pitfalls and special intraoperative considerations, take-home points, and suggested readings. Color figures, tables, and algorithms present information in a format that is easy to understand and remember. Every chapter includes a table summarizing Key Technical Steps and Potential Pitfalls for the procedure discussed. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Core Topics in General and Emergency Surgery by
Core Topics in General and Emergency Surgery meets the needs of surgeons in higher training and practising consultants for a contemporary and evidence-based account of general surgery in both elective and emergency situations. It is a practical reference source incorporating the most current information on recent developments, management issues and operative procedures. The text is thoroughly referenced and supported by evidence-based recommendations wherever possible, distinguishing between strong evidence to support a conclusion, and evidence suggesting that a recommendation can be reached on the balance of probabilities. For this Sixth Edition the authorship team across the series has been expanded to include additional European and World experts, with an increased emphasis on global practice. Throughout all six volumes the contents have been extensively revised in line with recently published evidence. Detailed supportive key references are provided and are also included within the comprehensive list of references in the accompanying ebook. Links to recommended online videos have been added where appropriate. The Companion to Specialist Surgical Practice series provides a current and concise summary of the key topics within the major sub-specialties of general surgery. Each volume highlights evidence-based practice both in the text and within the extensive list of references at the end of every chapter. The extensive revisions to this edition of Core Topics in General and Emergency Surgery are intended to maximize its appeal to all those in general surgical practice. There are several entirely new chapters on subjects previously covered in other volumes of the series, while the remaining chapters have been revised, updated or re-written by new authors where appropriate. The new chapters include those on the Evaluation of surgical literature; Enhanced recovery; Organ donation and general surgery in transplant patients; and Principles of neck surgery for the general surgeon. For the first time this volume includes a chapter on Patient safety and human factors in surgery, which distills the core knowledge that is fundamental to achieving good outcomes (and avoiding bad ones) in practice for all grades of surgeon.
Current Diagnosis & Treatment Surgery, 15th Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Evidence-based, point-of-care information on the full scope of diseases and disorders most often treated by surgeons * Expansive coverage of general surgery and all subspecialties you need to be versed in, including otolaryngology, plastic and reconstructive surgery, gynecology, orthopedics, urology, oncology, organ transplantation, and pediatric surgery * Intuitively organized to help you find answers quickly and easily * More than 600 photographs and illustrations * Detailed treatment algorithms * Concise overview of core topics in the general surgery curriculum * Hundreds of chapter-ending multiple-choice review questions * Updated throughout with the latest research and discoveries
Current Surgical Therapy by
An essential resource for written, oral, and recertifying board study, as well as an excellent reference for everyday clinical practice, Current Surgical Therapy, 14th Edition, provides trusted, authoritative advice on today's best treatment and management options for general surgery. Residents and practitioners alike appreciate the concise, highly formatted approach to each topic, as well as the practical, hands-on advice on selecting and implementing current surgical approaches from today's preeminent general surgeons. This highly regarded text remains the only surgical reference of its kind, offering a complete array of topics and delivering just the key facts. Covers virtually every problem that a general surgeon may encounter, synthesizing vast amounts of information into concise, digestible chapters. Provides thoroughly updated information throughout, including focused revisions to the most in-demand topics. Presents each topic using the same easy-to-follow format: disease presentation, pathophysiology, diagnostics, and surgical therapy. Includes eight all-new surgical videos covering enteral stents in the treatment of colonic obstruction; multiple management approaches to spigelian, obturator, and lumbar hernias; spontaneous and secondary pneumothorax, and acute mesenteric ischemia. Features more than 2,000 illustrations-line drawings, graphs, algorithms, clinical/operative photographs, micrographs, and radiological images-including hundreds new to this edition. Integrates minimally invasive surgical techniques, basic science, and critical care aspects of surgical practice throughout. Discusses which approach to take, how to avoid or minimize complications, and what outcomes to expect. Provides a quick, efficient review prior to surgery and when preparing for surgical boards and ABSITEs. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Evidence-Based Surgery: A Guide to Understanding and Interpreting the Surgical Literature by
The purpose of this book specifically is to teach surgeons (academic or community), surgical fellows and surgical residents regardless of the surgical specialty, the skills to appraise what they read in the surgical literature. Surgeons need to be able to understand what they read before applying the conclusions of a surgical article to their practice. As most surgeons do not have the extra training in health research methodology, understanding how the research was done, how to interpret the results and finally deciding to apply them to the patient level is indeed a difficult task. Chapters explain the methodological issues pertaining to the various study designs reported in the surgical literature. Most chapters begin with a clinical scenario with uncertain course of action with which most surgeons are struggling. Readers are taught how to search the literature for the best evidence that will answer the surgical problem under discussion. An identified article that seems relevant to the problem you are investigating can be appraised by addressing 3 key questions: 1). Is the study I am reading valid? 2). What are the results of this study? 3). Can I apply these results to my patients? While the primary goal of Evidence-Based Surgery is to teach surgeons how to appraise the surgical literature, an added benefit is that the concepts explained here may help research-minded surgeons produce higher quality research.
The Mont Reid Surgical Handbook by
Written by residents for residents, the updated 6th edition of this best-selling handbook provides you with exactly the information you need to overcome the vast majority of challenges you encounter during your surgical residency. With its pocket-size and easy-reference format, this resource enables you to quickly access the right guidance...at the right time...about what to do and how to do it. No resident should be without this essential surgical guide! Provides comprehensive guidelines for the treatment of the most common surgical conditions, including preoperative and postoperative care, as well as relevant pathophysiology. Includes surgical management that encompasses state-of-the-art technology and emphasizes minimally invasive techniques, including important coverage of laparoscopic cholecystectomy, appendectomy, and herniorrhaphy. Provides guidelines for proper medical record keeping as well as other mediocolegal aspects of surgical care. Offers detailed figures depicting important anatomical structures and operative techniques. New chapters cover Surgical Risk Assessment, Head and Neck Malignancy, Mediastinal Tumors, Dialysis Access, and Robotics. Rapid References section offers handy formulas and charts in one easy-access location. Thoroughly revised content throughout ensures that you stay up to date. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Mulholland and Greenfield's Surgery, Seventh ed. by
Newly streamlined and focused on quick-access, easy-to-digest content, Mulholland and Greenfield's Surgery: Scientific Principles & Practice, 7th Edition, remains an invaluable resource for today's residents and practicing surgeons. This gold standard text balances scientific advances with clinical practice, reflecting rapid changes, new technologies, and innovative techniques in today's surgical care. New lead editor Dr. Justin Dimick and a team of expert editors and contributing authors bring a fresh perspective and vision to this classic reference. Presents the science that underpins the practice of surgery alongside practical clinical content. Features newly streamlined and condensed information with a clear, concise focus, as well as additional tables, procedural summaries of key steps, and pearls and pitfalls throughout. Covers general scientific principles such as inflammation, shock, nutrition, pain management, and much more, followed by surgical practice chapters arranged by organ system. Contains 2,100 full-color illustrations, anatomic drawings, and intraoperative photographs that visually support the text and make complex concepts easier to grasp. Chapters begin with Key Points and decision-making algorithms are listed in the front of the book for quick reference. eBook version features over 40 "Morbidity and Mortality" case discussions and an Interactive Question Bank with nearly 900 questions.
Oesophagogastric Surgery by
Oesophagogastric Surgery meets the needs of surgeons in higher training and practising consultants for a contemporary and evidence-based account of this sub-specialty that is relevant to their general surgical practice. It is a practical reference source incorporating the most current information on recent developments, management issues and operative procedures. The text is thoroughly referenced and supported by evidence-based recommendations wherever possible, distinguishing between strong evidence to support a conclusion, and evidence suggesting that a recommendation can be reached on the balance of probabilities. For this Sixth Edition the authorship team across the series has been expanded to include additional European and World experts, with an increased emphasis on global practice. Throughout all six volumes the contents have been extensively revised in line with recently published evidence. Detailed supportive key references are provided and are also included within the comprehensive list of references in the accompanying ebook. Links to recommended online videos have been added where appropriate. The Companion to Specialist Surgical Practice series provides a current and concise summary of the key topics within the major sub-specialties of general surgery. Each volume highlights evidence-based practice both in the text and within the extensive list of references at the end of every chapter. This new Sixth Edition includes contributions from a number of world renowned authors which reflects the global nature of oesophagogastric surgery. In particular, to reflect the increasing role of bariatric surgery, there are three new chapters covering obesity, bariatric surgical procedures, and the follow up and outcomes of bariatric surgery. Other chapters have been extensively revised by world experts and include up to date evidence and advances in the assessment, management, and treatment of oesophagogastric disease.
Principles and Practice of Geriatric Surgery by
This new edition builds upon the foundation of the first and second editions of the handbook, volumes separated by a decade of experience in the field, in a format that is both comprehensive and fluid. The combination of print and electronic versions will promote more rapid up-dating of chapters as new information appears. The Third Edition opens with general principles. The broad body of the volume encompasses diseases of the elderly and physiologic changes by system, as well as geriatric syndromes, perioperative management, and transitions of care into post-acute settings. The large concluding section is comprised of specialty-specific results of surgery in the elderly and suggested modifications recommended by experienced surgeons. Principles and Practice of Geriatric Surgery provides a comprehensive account that will allow all providers of healthcare to the elderly understand the issues involved in choosing surgery as a treatment option for their patients.
Principles and Practice of Surgery, 8th ed. by
This comprehensive textbook is the surgical companion to the international bestseller, Davidson's Principles and Practice of Medicine. It provides an overview of core surgical topics encountered in an integrated medical curriculum and, later, in the clinical setting. The book takes a succinct and practical approach to the understanding of surgical disease and care of the surgical patient. It offers comprehensive coverage of the key surgical specialties and includes emerging issues around patient safety and the critical importance of clinical human factors in surgical practice. Fully updated to reflect changes in understanding and evidence-based practice, this is a text that keeps the student up to date and that no trainee surgeon should be without. Easy to read, logical to follow Summary boxes and evidence boxes throughout to complement the text Superbly presented with line drawings, high quality radiographic images and colour photographs to help in exams and in the clinical setting. Aligned with undergraduate and postgraduate surgical curricula New chapters on professional and ethical responsibilities, global surgery, patient safety and clinical human factors Comprehensive information on global surgical practice Full online and eBook version available as part of Student Consult
The SAGES Manual of Foregut Surgery by
The field of benign foregut surgery continues to evolve with new diagnostic methods and treatment modalities. The text lays the foundation in understanding the foregut through review of the anatomy and physiology, followed by subsequent chapters focusing on the diagnosis and management of specific benign diseases of the foregut: gastroesophageal reflux disease and diaphragmatic hernia, Barrett's esophagus, disorders of esophageal dysmotility, benign esophageal and gastric tumors, peptic ulcer disease and gastric outlet obstruction, and gastroparesis. Written by experts, each of these sections addresses the evaluation and management of the disease process, technical conduct of the most common endoscopic and surgical procedures, postoperative management including complications, and revisional operations. Additionally, expert commentary will serve to highlight and clarify controversies in the field. The SAGES Manual of Foregut Surgery provides a comprehensive, state-of- the art review and will serve as a valuable resource for clinicians and surgeons.
The SAGES Manual of Hernia Surgery by
This edition of the SAGES Manual of Hernia Surgery aligns with the current version of the new SAGES University MASTERS Program Hernia Surgery pathway. This manual serves as a curriculum for participants in the MASTERS Program as well as a modern text on hernia surgery for all learners. Hernia surgery is one of the fastest developing fields in general surgery today. There have been rapid advancements in hernia techniques in recent years, making most prior texts on the subject obsolete. These advancements involve significant evolution in both the techniques and strategies for hernia repairs, as well as the tools used to achieve these means. This text thoroughly addresses the multiple component separation techniques and options for locations of mesh repairs. It also discusses the revolution of hernia repair being facilitated by robotic surgery, which allows increased access to minimally invasive techniques for surgeons and thus increased access to minimally invasive surgical repairs for patients. This manual will be a valuable resource for interested surgeons to understand the variety of potential approaches to individual hernias, and to individually tailor the care of the hernia patient.
Shackelford's Surgery of the Alimentary Tract by
For more than 60 years, Shackelford's Surgery of the Alimentary Tract has served as the cornerstone reference in this fast-moving field. With comprehensive coverage of all aspects of GI surgery, the 8th Edition, by Drs. Charles J. Yeo, Steven R. DeMeester, David W. McFadden, Jeffrey B. Matthews, and James W. Fleshman, offers lavishly illustrated, authoritative guidance on endoscopic, robotic, and minimally invasive procedures, as well as current medical therapies. Each section is edited by a premier authority in GI surgery; chapters reflect key topics and are written by a "who's who" of international experts in the field. It's your one-stop resource for proven, systematic approaches to all relevant adult and pediatric GI disorders and operations Features an abundance of beautifully detailed intraoperative and laparoscopic photographs, as well as radiographs and line drawings, to enhance and clarify the text. Presents essential information, such as lists of differential diagnoses, in tabular format for quick reference. Discusses recent, major advances in minimally invasive surgery and robotic surgery, personalized therapy based on genomics and proteomics, and new pharmacologic treatments of various GI diseases. Includes all-new information on laparoscopy for rectal cancer, sacral nerve stimulation for incontinence and constipation, management of Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis, advances in immunosuppression for transplant patients, and new therapies for inflammatory bowel disease. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Surgical Decision Making by
Using a proven, practical, algorithmic approach, Surgical Decision Making summarizes evidence-based guidelines and practice protocols in an easy-to-follow format. Designed to sharpen the decision-making skills of both trainees and practicing surgeons, the 6th Edition directs your focus to the critical decision points in a wide range of clinical scenarios, helping you determine optimal evaluation and management to secure the best possible patient outcomes. Algorithms are accompanied by annotations that explain all critical factors affecting decisions in a concise, readable manner. Reflects the scope of practice of today's general surgeon, with fresh, expert perspectives from new editor Dr. Richard Schulick and numerous new contributors. Contains 58 new chapters and thoroughly revised content throughout. Includes new coverage of Preoperative Evaluation of the Geriatric Patient, Pancreatic Cystic Neoplasm, Familial Breast Cancer, Resuscitative Endovascular Balloon Occlusion of the Aorta, Blunt Cerebrovascular Injury, and much more. Uses an easy-to-follow, consistent format, with an algorithm on one page and short descriptions explaining the various steps in the decision-making process on the opposite page. Includes explanatory notes that summarize presenting signs and symptoms, laboratory investigation, diagnostic modalities, surgical therapies, and adjuvant therapies for each condition. Encompasses both general surgery and surgical subspecialties?helping you directly manage a broad range of problems. Emphasizes information that frequently appears on board exams. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Surgical Oncology Manual by
This third edition manual provides a comprehensive, insightful, evidenced-based review of general surgical oncology and serves as a valuable resource for general surgeons in training, practicing general surgeons, and surgical oncologists. The volume describes a multidisciplinary approach that integrates clinical, radiologic, and pathologic data in formulating practical clinical management, and offers a practical approach to the most common situations when treating cancer patients. Each chapter focuses on an individual malignancy and describes the presentation of the malignancy, integrated management based on stage, landmark trials, and suggestions for who to discuss at multidisciplinary cancer conferences. Multiple tables in each chapter provide a concise yet comprehensive summary of the current status of the field. Clinical "pearls" or tips and tricks from high volume surgeons at the University of Toronto are also discussed. The third edition of the Surgical Oncology Manual will serve as a critical resource for general surgeons in training and practicing surgeons dealing with this challenging field.
Textbook of General Surgical Oncology by
The most current, comprehensive, and authoritative guide to surgical oncology As cancer care has continued to evolve in the 21st century, so too has the management of specific neoplasms through surgery. Keeping pace with this dynamic subspecialty calls for a state-of-the-art resource that combines oncologic principles with surgical treatment plans. Textbook of General Surgical Oncology is just such a resource. Encyclopedic in scope and featuring the insights of more than 300 thought leaders in their respective surgical and medical oncology disciplines, this indispensable guide illuminates both common and uncommon issues. The book's 165 chapters span virtually every clinical scenario oncologic surgeons are likely to encounter, resulting in the most complete, rigorous overview of surgical oncology available. Textbook of General Surgical Oncology begins with an in-depth review of the general concepts and principles of genomics, epigenetics, pathology, targeted therapy, regional therapy, and patient safety in surgical oncology. The text then focuses on site-specific neoplasms, such as those of the skin, soft tissue, head/neck, lung, mediastinum, breast, pleura, peritoneum--plus tumors that affect various systems, including the endocrine, gastrointestinal, and hepatobiliary. Features * Each chapter is written by an internationally recognized expert on the topic * Outstanding review for the new Complex General Surgical Oncology certification examination * Helps prepare trainees of various surgical subspecialties for their in-training examinations and surgical board exams * Numerous full-color illustrations highlight relevant anatomy and surgical technique
Tracheostomy : A Surgical Guide by
Despite often taken as a simple procedure, techniques on tracheostomy have evolved considerably on the last few years. Consequently, new technical variations and indications for different purposes are being developed and proposed. The current book is proposed to serve as a comprehensive guide exclusively devoted to tracheostomy, discussing its most important details, variations and indications. Here the reader will find a broad discussion ranging from the most basic pre-clinical aspects to post-surgical procedures and complications. Great emphasis is
placed on key topics such as the oncologic patient, variations of the technique, and tracheostomy in the intensive care unit, among others. Additionally, some issues that are not commonly discussed in regular textbooks, like tracheostomy in child and in great obese, are also included. With a wealth of photos, illustrations and tables, Tracheostomy - A Surgical Guide provides the material necessary to support a safe and effective surgical intervention in different populations and surgical contexts, with the hope that it will result in improved care for patients
who underwent tracheostomy.
Trauma, Eighth ed. by
The world's leading resource on trauma surgery― with an expanded full-color atlas A Doody's Core Title for 2017! Hailed by readers and reviewers for its expert authorship and high-yield clinical content, Trauma is unquestionably the field's definitive text. Enhanced by a full-color design and a high-quality atlas of anatomic drawings and surgical approaches, this trusted classic takes readers through the full range of injuries the trauma surgeon is likely to encounter. Supported by numerous x-rays, CT scans, plus tables throughout, Trauma begins with an informative look at kinematics and the mechanisms of trauma injury. Subsequent chapters provide useful background information on the epidemiology of trauma; injury prevention; the basics of trauma systems, triage, and transport; and much more. The next section meticulously reviews generalized approaches to the trauma patient, from pre-hospital care and managing shock, to emergency department thoracotomy and the management of infections. Trauma then delivers a clear organ-by-organ survey of treatment protocols designed to help clinicians respond to any critical care situation with confidence, no matter what body system is involved. The remaining sections of the book will help readers successfully handle specific challenges in trauma―including alcohol and drug abuse, and combat-related wounds―in addition to post-traumatic complications such as multiple organ failure. * DVD with high-quality procedural video * Increased number of algorithms and illustrations * More international authors * Expanded Trauma Atlas contains precise, full-color anatomical illustrations and proven surgical techniques * High-yield section on specific approaches to the trauma patient prepares readers for the complete spectrum of cases in trauma/critical surgery care they will face in real-world practice * A-to-Z overview of the management of specific traumatic injuries * Detailed discussion of the management of complications
The Washington Manual of Surgery, 8th ed. by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Written by teams of Washington University residents and faculty, The Washington Manual® of Surgery, 8th Edition, focuses on the essential information you need to know, providing concise, high-yield content that covers the broad spectrum of patient care in general surgery. In one convenient, portable resource, you'll find practical information on all surgical subspecialties (thoracic, GI, colorectal, cardiac, vascular, breast, trauma, critical care, and more)--all at your fingertips for quick review and reference. This bestselling manual is an excellent source of expert guidance for surgical residents, attendings, medical students, and others who provide care for patients with surgical disease. Presents information in a succinct, consistent, outline format that conveys the most important diagnostic and management information for a given topic. Features new chapters on Radiology, Trauma Resuscitation and Adjuncts, and Intraoperative Considerations. Includes more clinical algorithms of disease work-up, diagnosis, and management, as well as updated board-style questions in every chapter. Covers the latest advances in surgical technique, instrumentation, and standards of practice, including more information on HIPEC and new coverage of the pregnant patient. Provides updated references for readers who would like additional information on a particular topic. Written by faculty and residents from the Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, one of the world's top surgical training programs. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
Abernathy's Surgical Secrets, Seventh ed. by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series#65533; has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Abernathy's Surgical Secrets, 7th Edition, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, and an easy-to-read style - making reference and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets#65533; format gives you the most return for your time - concise, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Covers the full range of essential topics in general surgery for in-training or practicing professionals. Written by global experts and thought leaders in surgery. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Fully updated throughout, with clear illustrations, figures, and flow diagrams that expedite study and review. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ABSITE Slayer, 2nd Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Ace the ABSITE with the most rigorous, high-yield exam review available Focusing specifically on the American Board of Surgery In-Training Examination, ABSITE Slayer reduces pre-test anxiety and provides the knowledge and confidence you need to pass the exam. Packed with critical, up-to-date information, this powerful study aid provides a complete framework for your exam preparation and is highly efficient for last-minute review, as well. You'll find everything you need to ace the exam in one comprehensive package--from full-color illustrations to "make or break" tips--delivered by expert authors who know exactly what it takes to succeed. What makes ABSITE Slayer the leading study aid on the market? 450+ multiple-choice and 1,000+ quick-hit single answer questions Test-taking tips that can make the difference between success and failure Full-color illustrations of must-know anatomy Valuable clinical pearls Easy-to-retain concise text Logical organ-based organization Chapters on pharmacology, anesthesia, cell biology, and fluids/electrolytes/nutrition
Case Files Surgery, Sixth Edition by
Real-life cases sharpen your critical thinking skills for your clerkship and the shelf exam The 60 cases in Case Files: Surgery feature realistic clinical scenarios designed to help you enhance and hone your clinical decision-making skills. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls, and Board-style review questions to reinforce learning. The format allows you to review a patient vignette and then explore/examine the case in a contextual, application-based manner. The book is ideal for both quick-access and slow and careful study. Realistic cases are accompanied by questions that encourage you to think through the differential diagnosis and treatment options Real-life surgery cases with high-yield discussions aligned to clerkship guidelines USMLE-style review questions and clinical pearls accompany each case Primer on how to approach clinical problems and think like an experienced doctor
Surgical Critical Care and Emergency Surgery, Third ed. by
Surgical Critical Care and Emergency Surgery In this newly revised edition of Surgical Critical Care and Emergency Surgery, a distinguished team of emergency surgeons deliver a one-of-a-kind question-and-answer book on the growing specialty of surgical critical care and acute surgery, ideal for those caring for the critically ill and injured surgical patient. This book reviews surgical critical care, emergency surgery, burns and trauma, and includes full color, high-quality surgical photographs to aid understanding. Readers will also benefit from access to a website that offers additional topics and tests, as well as an archive of all test questions and answers from previous editions. The authors' focus throughout is on the unique problems and complexity of illnesses of the critically ill and injured surgical patient, and the specialist daily care that such patients require. Perfect for the acute care surgeon, surgical intensivist and those in training, Surgical Critical Care and Emergency Surgery will also earn a place in the libraries of those working in or with an interest in critical care.
