Skip to Main Content
Core E-Books
-
Atlas of Minimally Invasive Surgical Operations
by
John G. Hunter; Donn H. Spight; Jennifer Fairman; Corinne Sandone, 2018
*Nearly 1,000 state-of-the-art illustrations--all created by esteemed professors of medical illustration at Johns Hopkins University--are designed to help surgeons visualize the procedure as they step to the operating table *Comprehensive coverage encompassing 62 must-know procedures, each of which is fully explained with high-yield text and accompanying illustrations *Consistent format includes Indications, Preoperative Preparation, Anesthesia, Position, Incision and Exposure, Closure, and Postoperative Care *Section on minimally invasive pediatric surgery examines the latest procedural approaches to this critical surgical area Introducing the most essential all-in-one MIS tutorial and atlas for 21st-century practice If you are a laparoscopic surgeon who strives to be at the vanguard of clinical practice, your atlas has arrived. Overflowing with nearly 1,000 beautifully rendered, medically accurate illustrations, The Atlas of Minimally Invasive Surgical Operations is the definitive laparoscopic surgery procedural primer and visual roadmap. This indispensable, one-stop resource delivers easy-to-follow procedural guidance that builds on the vital work of laparoscopic surgery pioneers at OHSU and other leading academic centers in the United States who have adapted common open operations to an MIS environment. Accompanying this skill-sharpening content are detailed illustrations that take you through each step to consider while performing current minimally invasive techniques. The Atlas of Minimally Invasive Surgical Operations begins with a review of general surgical considerations and principles of access, while subsequent sections survey the full scope of surgical interventions. Mirroring the latest clinical perspectives, research, and technologies that drive procedure evolution, this is the one atlas that should be part of your surgical library. The Atlas of Minimally Invasive Surgical Operations is also available separately for iOS on the App Store, and Android on the Play Store. For more information, go to http://bit.ly/2GbWRHe
-
Atlas of Parathyroid Surgery
by
Alexander Shifrin (Editor), 2020
This Atlas is designed to illustrate different techniques on how to perform successful parathyroidectomy by using traditional four gland exploration approach and minimally invasive approaches, such as the open minimally invasive approach, video-assisted approach, back-door approach, transoral endoscopic parathyroidectomy approach (TOEPVA), and endoscopic lateral parathyroidectomy approach. It illustrates removal of a right and left, and superior and inferior parathyroid glands. Written by renowned endocrine surgeons and experts in the field, each chapter begins with a case description that defines the main aspect of surgery. Each picture, which is taken intraoperatively, is accompanied by corresponding drawings for easier understanding of the anatomical structures and steps of the procedure. In addition, most of the authors provided a video of the same case as it is depicted in the chapter. The Atlas also gives some common pitfalls of the procedure in an effort to avoid complications and improve patient outcomes. Atlas of Parathyroid Surgery provides an indispensable source of knowledge to all surgeons, those who just started their career, and those who are in the more advanced stages of their practice and are learning new techniques of parathyroidectomy.
-
Atlas of Single-Incision Laparoscopic Operations in General Surgery
by
Shuodong Wu (Editor); Ying Fan (Editor); Yu Tian (Editor), 2013
This atlas presents an extensive collection of single-incision laparoscopic operations in general surgery performed from 2008 to 2013 in Shengjing Hospital of China Medical University. 2000 operations are reported in it. All the figures in it were collected using real time recordings of the operations which will be particularly interesting to the readers. In each specific surgery, authors provide its key surgical steps, complications and management and contraindication. This atlas is intended for clinical surgeons who can evolve these operations soon after reading about them. Patients will also benefit from this book because of the combination of minimal invasiveness and cosmetic effect of single-incision laparoscopic surgery.
Core E-Books
-
Atlas of Suturing Techniques: Approaches to Surgical Wound, Laceration, and Cosmetic Repair, Second ed.
by
Jonathan Kantor, 2022
The ultimate visual compendium of optimal suturing and wound repair practice, covering 75 must-know techniques Atlas of Suturing Techniques: Approaches to Surgical Wound, Laceration, and Wound Repair presents the building blocks of suturing and wound repair in an at-a-glance, economical atlas format. In its pages, the author shares his vast expertise and it is his intention to help physicians across many specialties to improve outcomes for patients requiring repair of any wound. Starting with chapters on principles of wound management and wound repair, the atlas then moves on to equipment, positioning, and other key principles. The next section covers 75 suture techniques, providing detailed step-by-step instructions adjacent to drawings and photos of the techniques. Finally, the last section covers each area of anatomy, guiding you in what suture to use when, how to modify certain sutures in specific locations, and even how to prepare and execute skin grafts. Atlas of Suturing Techniques: Approaches to Surgical Wound, Laceration, and Wound Repair goes beyond the scope of other texts, which often limit their focus to either general operative principles or the specific use of flaps in particular reconstructive areas, such as facial and nasal reconstruction. While these texts provide insufficient coverage of actual suture placement techniques, this one-stop resource excels at providing a clear, easy-to-follow atlas of suturing--one that enables you to prevent scars and other negative patient outcomes. Unfortunately, even the best designed repair can be undone by less-than-optimal suturing techniques. Reviews the fundamental principles of suturing and wound repair in an accessible, affordable Atlas format Covers 75 suture techniques and provides unique, step-by-step instructions with precise drawings and photos of the techniques Includes 80 videos Helpful anatomical orientation in last section specifies what suture to use in a wide range of clinical scenarios
-
Chassin's Operative Strategy in General Surgery
by
Carol E. H. Scott-Conner (Editor); Andreas M. Kaiser (Editor); Ninh T. Nguyen (Editor); Umut Sarpel (Editor); Sonia L. Sugg (Editor), 2022
This fifth edition of Chassin's Operative Strategy in General Surgery is a major revision that strives to remain faithful to the purpose and tone of Dr. Chassin's original text. This unique textbook provides an emphasis on surgical strategy that is unmatched by other textbooks of surgical technique. The text explains the conceptual basis of each operation, outlines strategies to avoid common pitfalls, and carefully describes and beautifully illustrates the technical steps of each operation. The fifth edition preserves the unique qualities of its previous edition while providing a comprehensive update. This updated volume also features a vast amount of richly detailed artwork and operative photographs, which help depict operative techniques step-by-step. No other text so successfully combines operative technique with the concept of strategy - that is, key governing principles that dictate safe surgery and avoidance of complications. There are books of technique, there are books about complications, and there are books about the rationale involved in the treatment of various kinds of surgical pathology. Chassin's combines all three. Chassin's Operative Strategy in General Surgery: An Expositive Atlas Fifth Edition comprehensively covers all non-vascular operations commonly performed by general surgeons. This edition expands this comprehensive general surgery reference while remaining true to the special character of the work. The revision expands upon procedures not covered in the previous edition and incorporates new techniques into many other chapters.
-
Netter's Surgical Anatomy and Approaches, Second ed.
by
Conor P. Delaney, 2020
Netter's Surgical Anatomy and Approaches, 2nd Edition, provides a clear overview of the exposures, incision sites, surgically relevant landmarks, structures, fascial planes, and common anatomical variants relevant to general surgical operative procedures. Whether used in class, in the lab while learning anatomy, or in the operating room as a trusted reference, this highly visual resource presents unmatched surgical anatomy illustrations by world-renowned surgeon-artist, Frank H. Netter, MD, and new illustrations created in the Netter tradition, as well as surgical exposures, intraoperative photographs, and radiologic imaging. Discusses procedures and anatomy from a surgeon's point of view. Features new content throughout, including more intraoperative imaging (both open and minimally invasive), more surgical views, and new coverage of POEM/POP/upper GI endoscopy and ERCP; esophagogastrectomy; laparoscopic Whipple; rectal prolapse; TEMS/TATME; sigmoid colectomy; oncoplastic mammoplasty; and retroperitoneal lymph node dissection. Presents uniquely detailed artwork of Dr. Netter, Dr. Carlos Machado, and other anatomy illustrators working in the Netter tradition combined with endoscopic, laparoscopic, and radiologic images-all integrated with expert descriptions of each operative procedure. Offers access to more than 30 videos that highlight anatomy relevant to the procedures. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
-
The SAGES Atlas of Robotic Surgery
by
Yuman Fong (Editor); Yanghee Woo (Editor); Woo Jin Hyung (Editor); Clayton Lau (Editor); Vivian E. Strong (Editor), 2018
This book is intended as a definitive, state of the art guide to robotic surgery that summarizes the field for surgeons at all levels. More specifically, its goals are threefold: to review the basics of robotic surgery, including fundamental principles, technology, operating room setup, and workflow; to describe and illustrate the procedures most commonly performed in a robotic operating room; and to discuss key issues relating to cost, adoption, and training. Procedures from many surgical disciplines are included, which will aid robotic surgeons in supervising and assisting colleagues in these disciplines and simultaneously heighten their awareness of the tricks and tools used in other disciplines that can be retasked for their own purposes. In addition, the future prospects for robotic surgery, including anticipated developments in equipment, are discussed. The Textbook and Atlas of Robotic Surgery will be an excellent aid for residents and fellows entering the field, as well as a welcome update on recent progress for practicing robotic surgeons and an ideal primer for senior surgeons adapting these new technologies to their current practice.
-
Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations, Eleventh Edition
by
Patrick Vaccaro; Robert M. Zollinger; E. Christopher Ellison; Timothy M. Pawlik, 2021
Packed with 1,800 images--the gold-standard resource for performing surgical procedures safely and effectively has been fully updated and revised Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations has been the most trusted text of its kind for more than 50 years. This new edition follows the proven-effective design of previous editions, with each procedure fully explained across an illustrated two-page spread. The right page contains stunningly rendered line drawings with color highlights depicting every important action surgeons must consider while performing the operation; the facing page includes consistently formatted coverage of indications, preoperative preparation, anesthesia, position, operative preparation, incision and exposure, procedure, closure, and postoperative care. Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations is useful as a general surgery refresher or for learning a particular procedure. Thirteen added chapters cover procedures not in previous editions, including: *Robotic surgery *Laparoscopic surgery *Endovascular procedures
Atlas of Minimally Invasive Surgical Operations
by
*Nearly 1,000 state-of-the-art illustrations--all created by esteemed professors of medical illustration at Johns Hopkins University--are designed to help surgeons visualize the procedure as they step to the operating table *Comprehensive coverage encompassing 62 must-know procedures, each of which is fully explained with high-yield text and accompanying illustrations *Consistent format includes Indications, Preoperative Preparation, Anesthesia, Position, Incision and Exposure, Closure, and Postoperative Care *Section on minimally invasive pediatric surgery examines the latest procedural approaches to this critical surgical area Introducing the most essential all-in-one MIS tutorial and atlas for 21st-century practice If you are a laparoscopic surgeon who strives to be at the vanguard of clinical practice, your atlas has arrived. Overflowing with nearly 1,000 beautifully rendered, medically accurate illustrations, The Atlas of Minimally Invasive Surgical Operations is the definitive laparoscopic surgery procedural primer and visual roadmap. This indispensable, one-stop resource delivers easy-to-follow procedural guidance that builds on the vital work of laparoscopic surgery pioneers at OHSU and other leading academic centers in the United States who have adapted common open operations to an MIS environment. Accompanying this skill-sharpening content are detailed illustrations that take you through each step to consider while performing current minimally invasive techniques. The Atlas of Minimally Invasive Surgical Operations begins with a review of general surgical considerations and principles of access, while subsequent sections survey the full scope of surgical interventions. Mirroring the latest clinical perspectives, research, and technologies that drive procedure evolution, this is the one atlas that should be part of your surgical library. The Atlas of Minimally Invasive Surgical Operations is also available separately for iOS on the App Store, and Android on the Play Store. For more information, go to http://bit.ly/2GbWRHe
Atlas of Parathyroid Surgery
by
This Atlas is designed to illustrate different techniques on how to perform successful parathyroidectomy by using traditional four gland exploration approach and minimally invasive approaches, such as the open minimally invasive approach, video-assisted approach, back-door approach, transoral endoscopic parathyroidectomy approach (TOEPVA), and endoscopic lateral parathyroidectomy approach. It illustrates removal of a right and left, and superior and inferior parathyroid glands. Written by renowned endocrine surgeons and experts in the field, each chapter begins with a case description that defines the main aspect of surgery. Each picture, which is taken intraoperatively, is accompanied by corresponding drawings for easier understanding of the anatomical structures and steps of the procedure. In addition, most of the authors provided a video of the same case as it is depicted in the chapter. The Atlas also gives some common pitfalls of the procedure in an effort to avoid complications and improve patient outcomes. Atlas of Parathyroid Surgery provides an indispensable source of knowledge to all surgeons, those who just started their career, and those who are in the more advanced stages of their practice and are learning new techniques of parathyroidectomy.
Atlas of Single-Incision Laparoscopic Operations in General Surgery
by
This atlas presents an extensive collection of single-incision laparoscopic operations in general surgery performed from 2008 to 2013 in Shengjing Hospital of China Medical University. 2000 operations are reported in it. All the figures in it were collected using real time recordings of the operations which will be particularly interesting to the readers. In each specific surgery, authors provide its key surgical steps, complications and management and contraindication. This atlas is intended for clinical surgeons who can evolve these operations soon after reading about them. Patients will also benefit from this book because of the combination of minimal invasiveness and cosmetic effect of single-incision laparoscopic surgery.
Atlas of Suturing Techniques: Approaches to Surgical Wound, Laceration, and Cosmetic Repair, Second ed.
by
The ultimate visual compendium of optimal suturing and wound repair practice, covering 75 must-know techniques Atlas of Suturing Techniques: Approaches to Surgical Wound, Laceration, and Wound Repair presents the building blocks of suturing and wound repair in an at-a-glance, economical atlas format. In its pages, the author shares his vast expertise and it is his intention to help physicians across many specialties to improve outcomes for patients requiring repair of any wound. Starting with chapters on principles of wound management and wound repair, the atlas then moves on to equipment, positioning, and other key principles. The next section covers 75 suture techniques, providing detailed step-by-step instructions adjacent to drawings and photos of the techniques. Finally, the last section covers each area of anatomy, guiding you in what suture to use when, how to modify certain sutures in specific locations, and even how to prepare and execute skin grafts. Atlas of Suturing Techniques: Approaches to Surgical Wound, Laceration, and Wound Repair goes beyond the scope of other texts, which often limit their focus to either general operative principles or the specific use of flaps in particular reconstructive areas, such as facial and nasal reconstruction. While these texts provide insufficient coverage of actual suture placement techniques, this one-stop resource excels at providing a clear, easy-to-follow atlas of suturing--one that enables you to prevent scars and other negative patient outcomes. Unfortunately, even the best designed repair can be undone by less-than-optimal suturing techniques. Reviews the fundamental principles of suturing and wound repair in an accessible, affordable Atlas format Covers 75 suture techniques and provides unique, step-by-step instructions with precise drawings and photos of the techniques Includes 80 videos Helpful anatomical orientation in last section specifies what suture to use in a wide range of clinical scenarios
Chassin's Operative Strategy in General Surgery
by
This fifth edition of Chassin's Operative Strategy in General Surgery is a major revision that strives to remain faithful to the purpose and tone of Dr. Chassin's original text. This unique textbook provides an emphasis on surgical strategy that is unmatched by other textbooks of surgical technique. The text explains the conceptual basis of each operation, outlines strategies to avoid common pitfalls, and carefully describes and beautifully illustrates the technical steps of each operation. The fifth edition preserves the unique qualities of its previous edition while providing a comprehensive update. This updated volume also features a vast amount of richly detailed artwork and operative photographs, which help depict operative techniques step-by-step. No other text so successfully combines operative technique with the concept of strategy - that is, key governing principles that dictate safe surgery and avoidance of complications. There are books of technique, there are books about complications, and there are books about the rationale involved in the treatment of various kinds of surgical pathology. Chassin's combines all three. Chassin's Operative Strategy in General Surgery: An Expositive Atlas Fifth Edition comprehensively covers all non-vascular operations commonly performed by general surgeons. This edition expands this comprehensive general surgery reference while remaining true to the special character of the work. The revision expands upon procedures not covered in the previous edition and incorporates new techniques into many other chapters.
Netter's Surgical Anatomy and Approaches, Second ed.
by
Netter's Surgical Anatomy and Approaches, 2nd Edition, provides a clear overview of the exposures, incision sites, surgically relevant landmarks, structures, fascial planes, and common anatomical variants relevant to general surgical operative procedures. Whether used in class, in the lab while learning anatomy, or in the operating room as a trusted reference, this highly visual resource presents unmatched surgical anatomy illustrations by world-renowned surgeon-artist, Frank H. Netter, MD, and new illustrations created in the Netter tradition, as well as surgical exposures, intraoperative photographs, and radiologic imaging. Discusses procedures and anatomy from a surgeon's point of view. Features new content throughout, including more intraoperative imaging (both open and minimally invasive), more surgical views, and new coverage of POEM/POP/upper GI endoscopy and ERCP; esophagogastrectomy; laparoscopic Whipple; rectal prolapse; TEMS/TATME; sigmoid colectomy; oncoplastic mammoplasty; and retroperitoneal lymph node dissection. Presents uniquely detailed artwork of Dr. Netter, Dr. Carlos Machado, and other anatomy illustrators working in the Netter tradition combined with endoscopic, laparoscopic, and radiologic images-all integrated with expert descriptions of each operative procedure. Offers access to more than 30 videos that highlight anatomy relevant to the procedures. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
The SAGES Atlas of Robotic Surgery
by
This book is intended as a definitive, state of the art guide to robotic surgery that summarizes the field for surgeons at all levels. More specifically, its goals are threefold: to review the basics of robotic surgery, including fundamental principles, technology, operating room setup, and workflow; to describe and illustrate the procedures most commonly performed in a robotic operating room; and to discuss key issues relating to cost, adoption, and training. Procedures from many surgical disciplines are included, which will aid robotic surgeons in supervising and assisting colleagues in these disciplines and simultaneously heighten their awareness of the tricks and tools used in other disciplines that can be retasked for their own purposes. In addition, the future prospects for robotic surgery, including anticipated developments in equipment, are discussed. The Textbook and Atlas of Robotic Surgery will be an excellent aid for residents and fellows entering the field, as well as a welcome update on recent progress for practicing robotic surgeons and an ideal primer for senior surgeons adapting these new technologies to their current practice.
Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations, Eleventh Edition
by
Packed with 1,800 images--the gold-standard resource for performing surgical procedures safely and effectively has been fully updated and revised Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations has been the most trusted text of its kind for more than 50 years. This new edition follows the proven-effective design of previous editions, with each procedure fully explained across an illustrated two-page spread. The right page contains stunningly rendered line drawings with color highlights depicting every important action surgeons must consider while performing the operation; the facing page includes consistently formatted coverage of indications, preoperative preparation, anesthesia, position, operative preparation, incision and exposure, procedure, closure, and postoperative care. Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations is useful as a general surgery refresher or for learning a particular procedure. Thirteen added chapters cover procedures not in previous editions, including: *Robotic surgery *Laparoscopic surgery *Endovascular procedures