Family Medicine by
The seventh edition of this classic reference book has been vastly updated from its previous edition to reflect the many changes in clinical medicine since 2003. Family Medicine: Principles and Practice, 7th Edition, is a must-have reference for medical students, residents and practicing physicians, nurse practitioners and physician assistants actively involved in patient care. New topics included in this edition include: recent changes in screening requirements and immunization schedules; new antibiotics used in primary care; inflammatory biomarkers in diagnosis and management of common diseases; personality disorders; the patient-centered medical home; electronic health records in office practice; chronic pain management; pediatric and adolescent obesity; pelvic pain syndromes; concussion in sports and other trauma; health literacy; venous thromboembolic disease; management of opiate dependence; vaginal birth after cesarean section; autism spectrum disorders and Asperger syndrome; older drivers, dementia and safety; infections with public health significance; and managing mentally ill patients in primary care. This book is organized into short, focused chapters almost exclusively dedicated to topics relevant to daily practice. All lead authors are themselves accomplished family physicians who can specifically address the needs, concerns, and interests of this crucial profession.
Textbook of Family Medicine, Ninth ed. by
This ninth edition of the Textbook of Family Medicine, edited by Drs. Robert E. Rakel and David P. Rakel, remains your #1 choice for complete guidance on the principles of family medicine, primary care in the community, and all aspects of clinical practice. Ideal for both residents and practicing physicians, this medical reference book includes evidence-based, practical information to optimize patient care and prepare you for the ABFM exam.The Textbook of Family Medicine continues to provide the latest, most comprehensive coverage of family medicine practice.
For more Family Medicine resources, search BOTH links below:
| Find Journals and E-Books |
| Library Catalog |
Conn's Current Therapy 2024 by
"Trusted by clinicians for more than 75 years, Conn's Current Therapy presents today's evidence-based information along with the personal experience and discernment of expert physicians. The 2024 edition is a helpful resource for a wide range of healthcare providers, including primary care physicians, subspecialists, and allied health professionals, providing current treatment information in a concise yet in-depth format. Nearly 350 topics have been carefully reviewed and updated to bring you state-of-the-art content in even the most rapidly changing areas of medicine."-- Provided by publisher.
CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment in Family Medicine, 5e by
Provide continuous, comprehensive care of patients throughout their lifetimes with this evidence-based guide. An easy-to-use guide to the diagnosis, treatment, and management of the full range of clinical conditions seen in primary care. NEW content includes coverage of genetics and precision medicine use in family medicine, telehealth in family medicine, CTE and sports injuries, Zika, the opioid epidemic, Hepatitis C, expansion of the HIV section, veteran's health and PTSD, and more. The leading resource for USMLE Step 3 review, board certification and maintenance or recertification Essential for primary care trainees, practicing physicians, advanced practice nurses, and physician assistants. Features Organized according to the developmental lifespan, beginning with childhood and adolescence and progressing through adulthood and senior years Evidence-based recommendations Conservative and pharmacologic therapies Complementary and alternative therapies when relevant Suggestions for collaborations with other healthcare providers Attention to the mental and behavioral health of patients as solitary as well as comorbid conditions Recognition of impact of illness on the family Patient education information End-of-life issues.
CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2025 by
The #1 annual guide in adult internal medicine. Each year CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment (CMDT) undergoes extensive revision to deliver new clinical developments in every field of adult internal medicine--making it the most popular annual textbook of its kind. For more than six decades, CMDT has been disseminating authoritative information that students, residents, and clinicians need to build their medical knowledge, expertise, and confidence. Written by top experts in their fields, chapters are formatted so you can find the most relevant diagnostic tools for day-to-day practice. CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2025 provides: Emphasis on the practical aspects of clinical diagnosis and disease management Coverage of more than 1,000 diseases and disorders Hundreds of quick-access drug treatment tables with indexed trade names Essentials of Diagnosis provides snapshot of common diseases/disorders Diagnostic and treatment algorithms and tables present critical information at a glance Carefully curated references provide peer-reviewed, evidence-based information and PMID numbers for quick online access Hundreds of full-color photographs and illustrations CMDT 2025 updates include: "Year in Review" table highlights nearly 100 recent advances impacting clinical practice New chapter on Substance Use Disorders New photos reflecting clinical conditions in a variety of skin tones Key updates to Viral & Rickettsial Infections chapter including concise directives on COVID-19 and measles Expanded coverage of major GI Disorders such as Crohn disease and ulcerative colitis
Essentials of Psychiatry in Primary Care by
An innovative psychiatry textbook that presents behavioral disorders from the perspective of what is seen in medical settings The goal of Essentials of Psychiatry in Primary Care is not to make psychiatrists out of medical clinicians, but rather, to help clinicians manage common behavioral conditions that most often present in a medical setting. Essentials of Psychiatry in Primary Care seeks to integrate medicine and psychiatry --- as the authors' systems-based biopsychosocial model proposes. The book identifies physical symptoms as a common mode of presentation of mental health problems and describes how to integrate them with psychological symptoms to make diagnoses of mental disorders. Essentials of Psychiatry in Primary Care also details a behaviorally defined, evidence-based mental healthcare model that can be effectively used in a medical setting. The combined experiences in primary care of the authors --- who specialize in both general internal medicine and psychiatry --- provide the perfect background for a book of this nature. Having trained medical students, as well as internal and family medicine residents since 1986, their experience and research demonstrates the information they outline is effective and associated with improved mental and physical health outcomes.
Ferri's Best Test: a Practical Guide to Clinical Laboratory Medicine and Diagnostic Imaging, Fourth ed. by
Practical and concise, this spiral bound, pocket-sized manual is a quick, go-to reference for up-to-date clinical material on today's diagnostic testing and laboratory tests. Three convenient sections provide quick access to key information on clinical laboratory testing, diagnostic imaging, and diagnostic algorithms. Experienced author Dr. Fred Ferri uses a unique, easy-to-follow format to simplify complex information and help you choose the best test to supplement your clinical diagnostic skills. Includes both lab and imaging tests for concise, convenient access to all diagnostic test options for more than 200 common diseases and disorders. Includes essential information on indications, advantages, disadvantages, approximate costs, normal ranges, typical abnormalities, likeliest causes, and more. Features a new appendix on when to use contrast agents in ordering CT and MRI scans. Discusses new modalities including transient elastography (Fibroscan), CT enterography and CT enteroclysis. Provides new comparison tables to easily evaluate the best test; new algorithms for evaluation of immunodeficiency and hematochezia; and new tables and illustrations throughout to improve your test selection. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2025 by
"For more than 25 years, Ferri's Clinical Advisor has provided immediate answers on the myriad medical diseases and disorders you're likely to encounter in a unique, easy-to-use format. A bestselling title year after year, this popular "5 books in 1" reference delivers vast amounts of information in a user-friendly manner. It is updated annually to provide current and clinically relevant answers on over 1,000 common medical conditions, including diseases and disorders, differential diagnoses, clinical algorithms, laboratory tests, and clinical practice guidelines--all carefully reviewed by experts in key clinical fields. Extensive algorithms, along with hundreds of high-quality photographs, illustrations, diagrams, and tables, ensure that you stay current with today's medical practice"-- publisher's description.
Genomic and Precision Medicine. Primary Care, Third ed. by
Genomic and Precision Medicine: Primary Care, Third Edition is an invaluable resource on the state-of-the-art tools, technologies and policy issues that are required to fully realize personalized health care in the area of primary care. One of the major areas where genomic and personalized medicine is most active is the realm of the primary care practitioner. Risk, family history, personal genomics and pharmacogenomics are becoming increasingly important to the PCP and their patients, and this book discusses the implications as they relate to primary care practitioners. Presents a comprehensive volume for primary care providers Provides succinct commentary and key learning points that will assist providers with their local needs for the implementation of genomic and personalized medicine Includes a current overview on major opportunities for genomic and personalized medicine in practice Highlights case studies that illustrate the practical use of genomics in the management in patients
Pfenninger and Fowler's Procedures for Primary Care by
Primary care clinicians are performing more varied procedures than ever before, and physicians, residents, and students need a comprehensive, authoritative resource that provides trusted information in an easy-to-follow format. Through three outstanding editions, Pfenninger and Fowler's Procedures for Primary Care has been the go-to reference for step-by-step strategies for nearly every medical procedure that can be performed in an office, hospital, or emergency care facility by primary care providers. This 4th Edition continues that tradition with new section editors, updated illustrations, new chapters, and much more. No other primary care procedure book compares with Pfenninger and Fowler's breadth and depth of practical, step-by-step content! Provides comprehensive, real-world coverage of more than 230 procedures that arise in the primary care setting, including many that were previously performed only in subspecialty settings, such as joint injections and cosmetic procedures. Includes new chapters: Esophageal Foreign Body Removal, Manual Testicular Detorsion, Symphysiotomy, Zipper Injury Management, and Blood Products. Presents the "how-to" expertise of six new section editors, for a fresh, contemporary perspective throughout the book. Additional focus on the evidence, with plentiful citations to key references, makes this the most evidence-based edition yet. Features numerous updated illustrations, including many more in full color, and incorporates updated ICD-10-CM codes throughout. Provides access to online resources including patient education handouts and consent forms, lists of device manufacturers, and more. Utilizes a concise outline format, detailed text and illustrations, and abundant boxes and tables for quick access to the information you need. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Primary Care by
The premier reference for APNs providing primary care! Written by nurse practitioners for nurse practitioners in collaboration with a physician, this popular text builds a solid understanding of the theoretical foundation of nursing practice, while also providing comprehensive patient-care guidance based on the latest scientific evidence.
Primary Care by
Prepare for success in today's fast-paced, collaborative healthcare environment! Offering expert perspectives from a variety of primary care and nurse practitioners, Primary Care: A Collaborative Practice, 5th Edition helps you diagnose, treat, and manage hundreds of adult disorders. Care recommendations indicate when to consult with physicians or specialists, and when to refer patients to an emergency facility. This edition includes six new chapters, a fresh new design, the latest evidence-based guidelines, and a new emphasis on clinical reasoning. Combining academic and clinical expertise, an author team led by Terry Mahan Buttaro shows NPs how to provide effective, truly interdisciplinary health care. UNIQUE! A collaborative perspective promotes seamless continuity of care, with chapters written by NPs, physicians, PAs, and other primary care providers. Comprehensive, evidence-based content covers every major disorder of adults seen in the outpatient office setting, reflects today's best practices, and includes the knowledge you need for the NP/DNP level of practice. A consistent format in each chapter is used to describe disorders, facilitating easier learning and quick clinical reference. Diagnostics and Differential Diagnosis boxes provide a quick reference for diagnosing disorders and making care management decisions. Complementary and alternative therapies are addressed where supported by solid research evidence. Referral icons highlight situations calling for specialist referral or emergency referral. NEW chapters cover topics including transitional care, risk management, LGBTQ patient care, bullous pemphigoid, pulmonary embolism, and dysphagia. NEW! An emphasis on clinical reasoning helps you develop skills in diagnosis and treatment, with coverage moving away from pathophysiology and toward diagnostic reasoning and disease management - including pharmacologic management. NEW focus on interdisciplinary care underscores the importance of interprofessional education and practice, and includes Interdisciplinary Management features. UPDATED chapters reflect the latest literature and evidence-based treatment guidelines, including new content on the Affordable Care Act as well as new coverage of patient satisfaction metrics, quality metrics, value-based purchasing, pharmacogenetics/genomics, and teen pregnancy and abnormal pregnancy. NEW quick-reference features make it easier to locate important information, through colorful section tabs, bulleted summaries, additional algorithms, a more logical table of contents, an Index to Standardized Treatment Guidelines, and a Reference to Common Laboratory Values.
Quick Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2022 by
The #1 annually updated general medical text -presents the most important diagnostic and treatment recommendations as well as the most useful new clinical developments in every field of adult medicine. For more than six decades, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment has been delivering the authoritative information students, residents, and clinicians need to build their medical knowledge, expertise, and confidence. Written by top experts in their fields, this unmatched guide is formatted in a way that enables readers to find the answers they need quickly and easily. CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2024 reflects the latest developments in medicine, guidelines, references, and more. You'll find authoritative, evidence-based coverage of more than 1,000 diseases and disorders along with a concise, yet thorough synopsis of diagnosis and treatment. This trusted classic covers all aspects of outpatient and inpatient care and includes discussion of new developments and breakthroughs in medicine. CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2024 features: A comprehensive approach to patient care, focusing on the diagnostic tools relevant to daily Coverage of more than 1,000 diseases and disorders Hundreds of drug treatment tables for quick access to indexed trade names Annual updates to topics in all chapters in a consistent format, drugs, tables, and images Year in Review highlighting the many topics with significant clinical changes over the last year Essentials of Diagnosis for most diseases/disorders Diagnostic and treatment algorithms present complex information in an at-a-glance style Hundreds of full-color photos and illustrations New to this edition: Latest USPSFT recommendations for cardiovascular risk prevention Significant new opioid prescribing guidelines from the CDC Clarification on the distinction between uncontrolled hypertensive and hypertension emergency Latest classification of lymphomas released by the WHO Recommendations for the initiation and titration of treatment for chronic hypertension in pregnancy Current treatment guidelines and medications for H pylori infection Classification of the role, dosing, and potential risks of JAK inhibitors and anti-23 antibody (Risankizumab) in the treatment of IBD Updates that underscore the growing utility of combination treatments for high LDL levels, especially among high and very high-risk patients The WHO revision of the pathological classification of renal cell carcinoma to assist with prognosis prediction and treatment decisions
Seidel's Guide to Physical Examination by
Learn how to conduct a patient-centered health history and physical examination! Seidel's Guide to Physical Examination: An Interprofessional Approach, 10th Edition takes a uniquely interprofessional collaborative approach to health assessment, with a strong emphasis on lifespan considerations and differential diagnosis of unexpected findings. Each core chapter is organized into four sections - Anatomy and Physiology, Review of Related History, Examination and Findings, and Abnormalities - with lifespan content integrated into each area. Written by a team of nurse practitioners and physicians, this one-of-a-kind textbook uses evidence-based guidelines to help you master hands-on exam techniques as well as communication skills that build rapport and trust with the patient. UNIQUE! Interprofessional collaborative approach is written by two advanced practice nurses and three physicians, providing balanced expertise in both pediatric and adult-geriatric health. UNIQUE! Integrated lifespan content provides separate sections in each chapter for Infants and Children, Adolescents, Pregnant Patients, and Older Adults. UNIQUE! Compassionate, patient-centered approach emphasizes developing good communication skills, use of effective hands-on examination techniques, and reliance on clinical reasoning and clinical decision-making skills. UNIQUE! Strong emphasis on social inclusiveness and patient-centeredness incorporates LGBTQ+ patients and providers, with special emphasis on cultural competency, history taking, and special considerations for examination of the breasts, female and male genitalia, reproductive health, thyroid, and the anus/rectum/prostate. UNIQUE! Cross-references to Dains' Advanced Health Assessment & Clinical Diagnosis in Primary Care help you take the next step in clinical reasoning and also develop diagnostic reasoning skills. Differential Diagnosis tables are provided throughout the text. Clinical Pearls offer insights and practical, real-world expertise. Evolve website includes assessment video clips, animations, review questions, performance checklists, and more. NEW! 60 new illustrations and new videos include 30 drawings and 30 photos in the textbook, along with 15 new health assessment videos (including The Head-to-Toe Exam and Navigating the EMR) provided free on the Evolve website with every new copy of the textbook. NEW! Updated content includes human trafficking screening, genetics and genomics, Healthy People 2030 guidelines, and a new mnemonics quick reference inside the back cover. NEW! Thoroughly revised The Patient Record chapter is refocused to reflect the EMR's benefits (such as order entry, clinical decision support, and linkages to lab results) and how to overcome challenges (such as poor patient experience and the need to be careful about what is written in the record). NEW! Updated LGBTQ+ considerations (e.g., health screening considerations) and cultural content throughout reflect a current understanding of and greater sensitivity to these often underserved patient populations. NEW Think About. boxes direct you to next steps when you see particular clusters of findings. NEW Unexpected Findings icon helps beginning practitioners differentiate common normal variations from abnormalities that might warrant follow-up.
Symptom to Diagnosis: An Evidence-Based Guide by
An engaging case-based approach to learning the diagnostic process in internal medicine. Symptom to Diagnosis, Fourth Edition teaches an evidence-based, step-by-step process for evaluating, diagnosing, and treating patients based on their clinical complaints. By applying this process clinicians will be able to recognize specific diseases and prescribe the most effective therapy. Each chapter is built around a common patient complaint that illustrates essential concepts and provides insight into the process by which the differential diagnosis is identified. As the case progresses, clinical reasoning is explained in detail. The differential diagnosis for that particular case is summarized in tables that highlight the clinical clues and important tests for the leading diagnostic hypothesis and alternative diagnostic hypotheses. As the chapter progresses, the pertinent diseases are reviewed. Just as in real life, the case unfolds in a stepwise fashion as tests are performed and diagnoses are confirmed or refuted. Completely updated to reflect the latest research in clinical medicine, this fourth edition is enhanced by algorithms, summary tables, questions that direct evaluation, and an examination of recently developed diagnostic tools and guidelines. Clinical pearls are featured in every chapter. Coverage for each disease includes: Textbook Presentation, Disease Highlights, Evidence-Based Diagnosis, and Treatment.
The Washington Manual of Medical Therapeutics by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2023! The Washington Manual® of Medical Therapeutics, 37th Edition, provides essential information you need for successful patient care, with concise, high-yield content that reflects today's fast-changing advances in medical technology and therapeutics. Written by faculty, residents, and fellows and edited by chief residents of the distinguished Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, the Washington Manual presents brief, logical approaches to diagnosis and management of commonly encountered medical conditions, including new therapies that improve patient outcomes. Discover why housestaff and faculty around the world depend on this best-selling resource for day-to-day clinical practice in internal medicine. Provides comprehensive coverage of many areas of medicine and the core subspecialties--all at your fingertips for quick review and reference Features a new, colorful presentation with easy-to-follow guidelines, tables, diagrams, and dosing and treatment information Includes easy-to-use algorithms for fast visual guidance Addresses challenges that residents, interns, medical students, and other practitioners confront every day Features content carefully edited by Internal Medicine Chief Residents from the Washington University School of Medicine and Barnes-Jewish Hospital in St. Louis The Washington Manual® is a registered mark belonging to Washington University in St. Louis to which international legal protection applies. The mark is used in this publication by Wolters Kluwer Health under license from Washington University. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Case Files Family Medicine 5th Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. REAL-LIFE CASES SHARPEN YOUR CRITICAL THINKING SKILLS FOR YOUR CLERKSHIP AND THE SHELF EXAM Case Files: Family Medicine presents realistic clinical scenarios to enhance and hone your clinical decision-making skills. Sixty high-yield cases illustrate essential concepts in patient care. Each case begins with a vignette accompanied by relevant open-ended questions designed to teach diagnostic or therapeutic approaches relevant to family medicine. The answers that follow emphasize mechanisms and underlying principles. This sixth edition features a new format with bulleted summaries, shorter paragraphs, and clearer headings. Realistic cases are accompanied by questions that encourage you to think through the differential diagnosis and treatment options Real-life family medicine cases with high-yield discussions aligned to clerkship guidelines USMLE-style review questions and clinical pearls accompany each case Primer on how to approach clinical problems and think like an experienced doctor
Family Medicine Examination and Board Review by
The #1 review book for the Family Medicine Board Examination - updated with a new full-color design! The renowned Family Practice Examination and Board Review is now Graber and Wilbur's Family Medicine Examination & Board Review, the perfect way to prepare for the primary and recertification exam in family medicine and for licensure exams. This engagingly written study guide has been completely updated with a new full-color design and is enhanced by powerful new learning aids, including 50 additional questions to the already comprehensive final exam, and chapter-ending clinical pearls that consolidate high-yield information. You will also, of course, find the humor, wit, and approachable tone that have brought the book legions of enthusiastic - and appreciative - fans. New to this edition! Full color layout Clinical pearls at the end of each chapter to highlight key takeaways 50 brand new final exam questions Numbered cases for easy reference Outstanding features from the previous edition: More than 350 progressive case studies that reflect the realities of clinical practice and prepare you for your exams 29 chapters based on body system and elements of patient care A comprehensive final exam (nearly 200 questions) with answers referenced to pages in the book Detailed answer explanations that describe not only why an answer is correct, but why the other answers are wrong Comprehensive coverage of ALL topics on the boards and recertifying exam Super-effective learning aids such as Quick Quizzes, Helpful Tips, learning objectives, clinical pearls, and more Color photographs of conditions most easily diagnosed by appearance An outstanding refresher for primary care physicians, physician assistants, and nurse practitioners
CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2024 by
The authoritative guidelines primary care clinicians need to diagnose and treat the most common outpatient conditions--compiled, distilled, and updated for easy referencing Striking the perfect balance between brevity and clinical necessity, this acclaimed annual resource presents all the latest evidence-based guidelines clinicians need to treat the most common outpatient conditions. The most thorough print compendium of guidelines for primary care practice, the book features content drawn from government agencies, expert panels, medical specialty organizations, and other professional and scientific authorities. CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2024 converts lengthy and cumbersome text into a practical, relevant collection of available options for busy clinicians. This go-to guide converts the tremendous amount of information on the web into a practical, relevant collection of usable data for busy clinicians. Each topic is carefully selected for relevance to the office practice of ambulatory medicine and the text is presented in a convenient, easy-to-navigate outline and tabular format. *Content is drawn from a wide array of recommendations from government agencies, expert panels, medical specialty organizations, and other professional and scientific authorities * NEW: Updates reflecting the review of more than 150 guidelines *NEW: Updates to guidelines for screening/prevention of ASCVD; anxiety disorders in children, pediatric obesity, chronic pain, neonatal hyperbilirubinemia; and osteoarthritis *NEW: Numerous topics have been added, including screening and prevention of eating disorders, COVID vaccination in pregnancy, prevention of pelvic floor dysfunction, management of chest pain, left ventricular thrombus, delirium *Guideline Discordance tables highlight when major guidelines do not mirror each other * Topics are carefully selected for relevance to the office practice of ambulatory medicine, and the text is enhanced by a convenient outline and tabular format * Screening and prevention of conditions have been combined to enhance clinician use
