Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Rosen's Emergency Medicine: Concepts and Clinical Practice, Tenth ed. by
For nearly 40 years, Rosen's Emergency Medicine has provided emergency physicians, residents, physician assistants, and other emergency medicine practitioners with authoritative, accessible, and comprehensive information in this rapidly evolving field. The fully revised 10th Edition delivers practical, evidence-based knowledge and specific recommendations from clinical experts in a clear, precise format, with focused writing, current references, and extensive use of illustrations to provide definitive guidance for emergency conditions. With coverage ranging from airway management and critical care through diagnosis and treatment of virtually every emergency condition, from highly complex to simple and common, this award-winning, two-volume reference remains your #1 choice for reliable, up-to-date information across the entire spectrum of emergency medicine practice. Offers the most immediately clinically relevant content of any emergency medicine resource, providing diagnostic and treatment recommendations and workflows with clear indications and preferred actions. Contains eight entirely new chapters covering coronaviruses/COVID-19, the morbidly obese patient, human trafficking, sexual minority (LGBTQ) patients, social determinants of health, community violence, and humanitarian aid in war and crisis. Features over 1,700 figures, including more than 350 new anatomy drawings, graphs and charts, algorithms, and photos. Includes new information across the spectrum of emergency care, such as adult and pediatric airway management, shock, pandemic disease, emergency toxicology, sepsis syndrome, resuscitation, medical emergencies of pregnancy, the immunocompromised patient, child abuse, pediatric sedation, pediatric trauma, and more. Features revised and refined chapter templates that enhance navigation, making it easy to find key information quickly. Provides access to more than 1,200 questions and answers online to aid in exam preparation, as well as two dozen new video clips showing how to best perform critical emergency procedures in real time. Reviewed and verified cover-to-cover by a team of expert clinical pharmacists to ensure accuracy and completeness of all drug information and treatment recommendations. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine: a Comprehensive Study Guide, 9th Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The long-awaited new edition of the world's most widely used and highly regarded textbook and reference of emergency medicine A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine is THE essential resource for everyone working in, and teaching emergency medicine. The Ninth Edition provides the depth and breadth of coverage that reflects the complexity and expertise needed to practice emergency medicine in today's fast-paced environments. This comprehensive text is an important clinical resource for physicians, residents and students, advance practice providers, emergency nurses, EMTs, and paramedics. It is a necessary resource for in-training and board examinations, and recertification. Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine covers everything from prehospital care, disaster preparedness, and basic and advanced resuscitative techniques, to all the significant medical, traumatic, and environmental conditions requiring emergency treatment in adults, children and neonates. Highlights of the Ninth Edition: * Full-color design with more tables than ever to succinctly present key information * Extensive updates to all sections, incorporating the latest clinical and evidence-based information * Online access to over 100 videos, covering a wide range of diagnostic and therapeutic procedures, and POCUS for obstetric/gynecologic, pediatric, musculoskeletal, and vascular conditions * World-class pediatric section on the care of neonates, infants, and children * Expanded chapters on the management of gynecologic and obstetric conditions and emergencies * Updated information on toxicologic and environmental emergencies * Contemporary, concise discussion of ED identification and treatment of opioid use disorders * Updated information on procedural sedation * Expert advice on the management and care of transgender patients * Latest information available on neurologic and cardiac emergencies From the reviews of the seventh edition: "Collectively, they have once again produced an excellent text that manages to cover the broad scope of emergency medicine while remaining an easily readable and practical resource....Last, for the inevitable comparison of this current edition of Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine with other available emergency medicine textbooks available: in my opinion, Tintinalli's still comes out on top. It is more concise and easier to read than some, yet it covers the breadth of emergency medicine practice more comprehensively than others....Just as previous editions did, the seventh presents all of the most pertinent and up-to-date information in a well-organized format that is comprehensive yet easy to read. That and many of the attractive new features in this current edition will ensure its place on my bookshelf for years to come."―JAMA
For more Emergency Medicine resources, search BOTH links below:
Acute Medicine by
Acute Medicine offers an accessible and concise guide to the practical management of all acute medical problems likely to be encountered in the emergency department, ambulatory care centre, acute medical unit or on the wards. Reflecting the maturation of acute medicine as a separate specialty, the book is divided into common presentations, specific problems and procedures. New to the fifth edition is a chapter on bed-side ultrasonography; throughout, emphasis is placed on patient safety, and the use of flow diagrams, tables and figures ensures that key information is quickly accessible. Thoroughly revised by experts in the subject, and updated to reflect current approaches to diagnosis and management, Acute Medicine is an excellent companion for the trainee as well as an aide-m#65533;moire for the more experienced physician.
Atlas of Emergency Medicine 5th Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The most trusted visual guide to emergency medicine--with 2,100+ full-color images and clinical management guidance from leading experts The Atlas of Emergency Medicine is your "look quick, act fast" guide to accurately diagnosing acute medical problems in emergency practice settings. Packed with the highest-quality images available and fully updated clinical information, this is the definitive resource to assessing, diagnosing, and treating patients quickly, safely, and effectively. Top experts in their field, the authors cover basic and subtle diagnosis of a broad spectrum of typical and atypical conditions. Organized by organ-system/special populations/general issues and then by problem, The Atlas of Emergency Medicine includes one or more images per topic, succinct "need-to-know" information for each clinical problem, and management options and clinical pearls--making this the most efficient visual learning guide you'll find. This updated edition includes streamlined text to allow for more images, new chapters on Rheumatologic and Mental Health Conditions, and new video clips highlighting the most important topics.
Auerbach's Wilderness Medicine, 2-Volume Set by
Now in its 7th edition, Auerbach's Wilderness Medicine continues to help you quickly and decisively manage medical emergencies encountered in any wilderness or other austere setting! World-renowned authority Dr. Paul Auerbach and 2 new associate editors have assembled a team of experts to offer proven, practical, visual guidance for effectively diagnosing and treating the full range of issues that can occur in situations where time and resources are scarce. Now in an exciting 2-volume set that includes convenient online access, this indispensable resource equips physicians, nurses, advanced practice providers, first responders, and rescuers with the essential knowledge and skills to effectively address and prevent injuries and illnesses - no matter where they happen! Brand-new 2-volume format ensures all content is available in print and online to provide you easy access. Face any medical challenge in the wilderness with expert guidance from hundreds of outstanding world experts edited by Dr. Auerbach and 2 new associate editors, Drs.Tracy Cushing and N. Stuart Harris. New and expanded chapters with hundreds of new photos and illustrative drawings help increase your visual understanding of the material. Acquire the knowledge and skills you need with revised chapters providing expanded discussions of high-altitude medicine, improvisation, technical rescue, telemedicine, ultrasound, and wilderness medicine education. Ten new chapters cover Acute High-Altitude Medicine and Pathophysiology; High Altitude and Pre-Existing Medical Conditions; Cycles, Snowmobiles, and other Wilderness Conveyances; Medical Wilderness Adventure Races (MedWAR); Canyoneering and Canyon Medicine; Evidence-Based Wilderness Medicine; National Park Service Medicine; Genomics and Personalized Wilderness Medicine; Forestry; and Earth Sciences. 30+ Expert Consult online videos cover survival tips, procedural demonstrations, and detailed explanations of diseases and incidents. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Ciottone's Disaster Medicine by
The most comprehensive resource of its kind, Ciottone's Disaster Medicine, 2nd Edition, thoroughly covers isolated domestic events as well as global disasters and humanitarian crises. Dr. Gregory Ciottone and more than 200 worldwide authorities share their knowledge and expertise on the preparation, assessment, and management of both natural and man-made disasters, including terrorist attacks and the threat of biological warfare. Part 1 offers an A-to-Z resource for every aspect of disaster medicine and management, while Part 2 features an exhaustive compilation of every conceivable disaster event, organized to facilitate quick reference in a real-time setting. Quickly grasp key concepts, including identification of risks, organizational preparedness, equipment planning, disaster education and training, and more advanced concepts such as disaster risk reduction, tactical EMS, hazard vulnerability analysis, impact of disaster on children, and more. Understand the chemical and biologic weapons known to exist today, as well as how to best manage possible future events and scenarios for which there is no precedent. Be prepared for man-made disasters with new sections that include Topics Unique to Terrorist Events and High-Threat Disaster Response and Operational Medicine (covering tactical and military medicine). Get a concise overview of lessons learned by the responders to recent disasters such as the earthquake in Haiti, Hurricane Sandy, the 2014 Ebola outbreak, and active shooter events like Sandy Hook, CT and Aurora, CO. Learn about the latest technologies such as the use of social media in disaster response and mobile disaster applications. Ensure that everyone on your team is up-to-date with timely topics, thanks to new chapters on disaster nursing, crisis leadership, medical simulation in disaster preparedness, disaster and climate change, and the role of non-governmental agencies (NGOs) in disaster response - a critical topic for those responding to humanitarian needs overseas. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Clinical Emergency Medicine by
Ninety-eight of the chief complaints and disorders you're most likely to encounter in the ED! A clear, concise guide for clinicians new to the Emergency Department A Doody's Core Title for 2015! Written by authors who are practicing emergency physicians and emergency medicine educators, Clinical Emergency Medicine distills the entire content of the emergency medicine curriculum into less than one hundred succinct, clinically relevant chapters. This unique book is intended to guide you through what you must know and be able to do during an actual shift and give you a better understanding of the issues and problems you will face while working in the Emergency Department. Featuring a consistent, find-it-now design, Clinical Emergency Medicine delivers concise, must-know information on ninety-eight chief complaints and disorders, ranging from asthma and chest pain to fever and poisoning. Each chapter begins with Key Points, followed by an Introduction, Clinical Presentation (History and Physical Examination), Diagnostic Studies, Medical Decision Making, Treatment and Disposition, and Suggested Reading. Whenever possible, the authors provide practical advice on drug dosing, the medical decision-making thought process, treatment plans, and dispositions that will be of value in a clinical environment. Numerous diagnostic algorithms simplify the problem and point you towards a solution. Valuable to medical students, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, and junior level residents, Clinical Emergency Medicine teaches you things that may not have been covered in medical or physician assistant school, but have an important bearing on patient outcomes.
Critical Care Emergency Medicine by
The groundbreaking text on critical care emergency medicine - updated with the latest evidence and recommendations Critical Care Emergency Medicine has become the standard reference for all clinicians who wish to understand the overlap between emergency medicine and critical care. Much like the field of emergency medicine itself, this text is a collaborative effort involving emergency physicians as well as clinicians from trauma, critical care, infectious diseases, and pulmonary medicine. Critical Care Emergency Medicine teaches emergency physicians everything they must know and do to better care for critically ill patients in an emergency department or to provide care in an ICU. Enhanced by numerous algorithms that speed decision making and full-color illustrations demonstrating anatomy and technique, this book is an essential practice tool. Incorporating the wisdom of both academic and community emergency medicine experts, Critical Care Emergency Medicine, Second Edition delivers expert coverage of: * Airway and Ventilatory Support * Pulmonary Disorders * Cardiovascular Disorders * Gastrointestinal and Renal Disorders * Neurologic and Neurosurgical Disorders * Hematologic and Endocrine Disorders * Infectious Disorders * Toxicologic Conditions * Ultrasonography in Critical Care * Special Considerations (including nutritional support, end-of-life issues, fluid management, and more) If you are looking for an up-to-date, evidence-based text designed to take your critical care to the next level, your search ends here.
CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment : Emergency Medicine, Eighth Edition by
An instant-access guide to the diagnosis, treatment, and management of the conditions most likely to present in the emergency department Essential for anyone practicing in an emergency department or acute care setting, this new edition of CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Emergency Medicine strikes the perfect balance between brevity and clinical necessity. It delivers exactly the amount of information needed for quick diagnosis, effective treatment, and improved outcomes - no more, no less. Every chapter of this edition has been updated to reflect the latest breakthroughs and developments, and the book is filled with high-quality illustrations designed to clarify difficult concepts. FEATURES: * Strikes the perfect balance between brevity and clinical necessity, delivering exactly the amount of information needed for quick diagnosis, effective treatment, and improved outcomes * Emphasizes the immediate management of life-threatening problems, then covers the evaluation and treatment of specific disorders * Priority-based and problem-oriented organization encompasses all aspects of emergency medicine, including common emergencies, trauma, and neonatal and pediatric emergencies * Extensive at-a-glance algorithms facilitate rapid decision making * Comprehensive tables of drugs commonly used in the ED
Extraordinary Cases in Emergency Medicine by
More than three hundred extraordinary emergency medicine cases familiarize you with a wide variety of infrequently seen patient presentations Over the course of his thirty-five year career practicing academic emergency medicine in an urban teaching institution providing Level 1 trauma care, author Douglas Brunette, MD has amassed an amazing collection of emergency medicine cases along with accompanying photographs. Most of these cases pose infrequently seen, if not rare, clinical challenges. Some are truly "once in a lifetime" in the career of an emergency medicine physician. All provide a unique learning opportunity. Each of the 344 cases begins with an image (or set of images) and then continues with concise, templated details, including: *Patient Presentation *Clinical Features *Differential Diagnosis *Emergency Care *Outcome *Further Reading These case histories and images have been carefully selected to be of value to readers ranging from medical students to the most experienced physicians.
Field Guide to Wilderness Medicine by
Based on Dr. Auerbach's renowned Wilderness Medicine text, Field Guide to Wilderness Medicine, 5th Edition, is your portable, authoritative guide to the full range of medical and emergency situations that occur in non-traditional settings. Useful for experienced physicians as well as advanced practice providers, this unique medical guide covers an indispensable range of topics in a well-illustrated, highly condensed format - in print or on any mobile device - for quick access anytime, anywhere. An easy-access presentation ensures rapid retrieval and comprehension of wilderness medical information, with "Signs and Symptoms" and "Treatment" sections, bulleted lists, and quick-reference text boxes in every chapter. All chapters are thoroughly up to date, including new information on travel medicine, medications, immunizations, and field treatment of common conditions. Step-by-step explanations from wilderness medicine experts cover the clinical presentation and treatment of a full range of wilderness emergencies and show you how to improvise with available materials. Comprehensive coverage includes dive medicine and water-related emergencies, mountain medicine and wilderness survival, global humanitarian relief and disaster medicine, high-altitude medicine, pain management, and much more. Line drawings and color plates help you quickly and accurately identify skin manifestations, plants, poisonous mushrooms, snakes, insects, and more. Useful appendices address everything from environment-specific situations to lists of essential supplies, medicines, and many additional topics of care. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, tables and figures from the book on a variety of devices.
Goldfrank's Toxicologic Emergencies by
The best edition yet of the landmark text in medical toxicology Covering every aspect of poison management, this indispensable case-based resource has been thoroughly refreshed to deliver evidence-based principles viewed through the lens of an active bedside clinical practice. In no other reference will you find such a diverse roster of esteemed editors and authors who deliver expert insights into every type of toxicologic emergency, whether due to substance abuse or exposure to toxins. Fully referenced and supported by a cohesive organization and full-color format, Goldfrank's begins with a historical perspective on medical toxicology principles and the general approach to the patient. It then progresses to the fundamental principles of medical toxicology, encompassing biochemical and molecular concepts; the effect of xenobiotics on vital organs and body systems; and toxicologic principles in special populations. The Eleventh Edition of Goldfrank's Toxicologic Emergencies is the most rigorous volume to date, driven by a precise analysis of the latest medical literature and complex cases designed to facilitate differential diagnosis. New to this Edition: *Additional cases and "Special Considerations" chapters designed to enhance clinical decision-making and patient outcomes *New "Antidotes in Depth" provides timely, critical information on toxicologic treatment strategies, *New content on toxicogenomics explores its increasingly important role in predictive toxicology *Chapter-ending bulleted summaries of key points; *Updated coverage of synthetics such as "K2"; *Revised chapters on medical, clinical, and chemical toxicology include updated insights on poison emergencies, treatment strategies, and risk assessment tools
Minor Emergencies by
For clinicians who see patients suffering from non-life-threatening crises, Minor Emergencies, 4th Edition, provides concise, expert guidance on what to do and what not to do for nearly 200 common presentations, including both the correct procedural and pharmaceutical treatments. Completely updated with the latest equipment, devices, dosages, and techniques, this award-winning reference delivers fast, efficient guidance just when you need it. Instructional videos clearly demonstrate pearls and pitfalls of a wide variety of procedures. Offers a practical approach to common minor emergencies, with brief, to-the-point guidance on everything from febrile seizures in children, foreign body removal, and initial management of epistaxis to rib fractures, sacroiliac joint injection, and patellar dislocation reduction. Includes new ultrasound examples throughout, plus new chapters on floaters, prophylaxis following sexual exposure, leg edema, piercing complications, Taser injuries, and more. Provides at-a-glance guidance with "What to Do" and "What NOT to Do" checklists. Presents information in a highly templated format, with each topic given 2-3 pages of coverage. Features a discussion box at the end of each chapter with a quick overview of clinical manifestations, differential diagnosis, and other points of consideration-with evidence. Includes access to 38 procedural videos such as removing foreign body from skin, upper facial injury-fracture examination, and more. Offers procedural sedation recommendations from Dr. Daniel Wolfson. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Poisoning and Drug Overdose, Seventh Edition by
When every moment counts, count on Poisoning & Drug Overdose "Poisoning & Drug Overdose belongs in every emergency physician's workroom." --Academic Emergency Medicine (reviewing earlier edition) "...a great addition to any emergency department library when rapid reference is needed to treat and diagnose the poisoned patient." -- Annals of Emergency Medicine (reviewing earlier edition) Designed for speed of use during toxicologic emergencies, this instant-answer guide delivers critical information on the effective diagnosis and treatment of drug-related emergencies and chemical exposures. Enhanced by detailed tables and charts, extensive cross-referencing, and a comprehensive index, the Seventh Edition has been thoroughly updated to reflect newly released drugs and the latest information on existing drugs. Poisoning & Drug Overdose is divided into four sections: Section 1 leads you through initial emergency management, including treatment of coma, hypotension, and other common complications; physical and laboratory diagnosis; and methods of decontamination and enhanced eliminations of poisons Section II provides detailed information on hundreds of common drugs and poisons Section III describes the use and side effects of more than 80 antidotes and therapeutic drugs Section IV covers the medical management of chemical spills and occupational chemical exposures, and includes a table of more than 500 industrial chemicals Poisoning & Drug Overdose, Seventh Edition should be within reach of every medical toxicologist, emergency physician, and poison control staff member.
Roberts and Hedges' Clinical Procedures in Emergency Medicine and Acute Care by
Comprehensive, detailed, and up to date, Roberts and & Hedges' Clinical Procedures in Emergency Medicine and Acute Care, 7th Edition, provides highly visual coverage of both common and uncommon procedures encountered in emergency medicine and acute care practice. It clearly describes the ins and outs of every procedure you're likely to consider, such as how, why, when to, and when not to perform them, and recommends other emergency or acute care procedures that may be an option. Thoroughly revised and updated throughout, the 7th Edition remains the most well-known and trusted procedures manual in its field. Provides clear, detailed information for practitioners at all levels of experience, - from trainees who are unfamiliar with a specific procedure to those with experience in the technique. Covers the latest equipment, devices, drug therapies, and techniques you need to know for the effective practice of emergency medicine and acute care. Features new and updated information on ultrasound throughout the text, including Ultrasound Boxes that are expertly written and richly illustrated with photographs and clinical correlative images. Includes more Procedure Boxes that allow you to see entire procedures at a glance, functioning as a mini-atlas that allows you to quickly grasp how to perform a procedure. Contains more than 100 new figures-of more than 3,500 images total-including new color photographs, new Ultrasound Boxes, and new algorithms. Features a new chapter on Procedures in the Setting of Anticoagulation. Covers hot topics such as novel loop abscess drainage technique, ENT techniques, and ophthalmology techniques, as well as procedures performed by acute care practitioners such as sedation of the agitated patient, alternate methods of drug delivery, and common errors and complications in the acute care setting. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. You'll also have access to nearly 250 procedural videos.
Simon's Emergency Orthopedics by
The emergency physician's most trusted reference for handling orthopedic injuries and disorders in the ED Written by and for emergency physicians, Simon's Emergency Orthopedics is the leading reference for handling all types of musculoskeletal emergencies. This heavily illustrated, full-color resource focuses on radiographic diagnosis, acute management, and discharge of the patient with a pulled muscle, torn ligament, fracture, or other skeletal trauma. The format represents the ideal integration of text and images, allowing clinicians to actually see what they are reading about. The concise text tells readers everything they need to know about the mechanisms of action along with recommended imaging studies, treatment guidelines, and possible complications. FEATURES: *Online videos demonstrate injections, arthrocentesis, reduction techniques, and more *Provides authoritative, evidence-based information in a practical, clinically relevant manner *The text is logically organized into four parts: Orthopedic Principles and Management, The Spine, Upper Extremities, and Lower Extremities *Enhanced by more than 1,400 illustrations, including new photographs and radiographs [ *Fractures are categorized according to degree of complexity, treatment modality, and prognosis *The only fracture index of its kind helps clinicians rapidly navigate the text to find pertinent information *Axioms throughout provide best practices for emergency care *The Appendix describes and illustrates the steps involved in placing a particular type of splint
Textbook of Adult Emergency Medicine by
Since the first edition of Textbook of Adult Emergency Medicine was published twenty years ago, there has been enormous change in the way emergency care is delivered. This has occurred both in countries where emergency medicine was originally developed and in those where its application was limited because of cost. Emergency medicine is now perceived as the cornerstone of response to acute illness regardless of resources. This fully revised Fifth Edition provides clear and consistent coverage of this constantly evolving specialty. Building on the success of previous editions it covers all the major topics relevant to the practice of emergency medicine. The book will prove invaluable to professionals working in this setting - including nurse specialists and paramedics - who require concise, highly practical guidance, incorporating the latest best practice and evidence-based guidelines. This edition comes with an enhanced electronic version with video and self-assessment content, providing a richer learning experience and making rapid reference easier than ever before, anytime, anywhere. A comprehensive textbook of adult emergency medicine for trainee doctors - covers all the problems likely to present to a trainee in the emergency department. Chapters are highly readable and concise - boxes summarise chapter key points and highlight controversial areas of treatment. The content is highly practical, clinically orientated and thoroughly updated in all the core subjects There have been major updates in topics such as airway, shock and sepsis where guidelines have changed rapidly. The imaging chapters have also evolved with changing practice and improved technology, to be concordant with evidence on the importance of image interpretation by emergency clinicians. There are major sections on other skills and issues of key importance to today's advanced emergency medicine practitioner, such as staffing, overcrowding, triage, patient safety and quality measures. In addition, difficult topics such as death and dying, the challenging patient, ethics, giving evidence and domestic violence are covered. Governance, training, research and organisational subjects such as disaster planning and response, humanitarian emergencies and refugee medicine are included to give the reader a framework to understand the complexity of managing major emergency systems of care.
Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine Manual by
The book that belongs in the pocket of every clinician working in an acute care setting This portable manual encapsulates the most clinically relevant content of Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine, Eighth Edition - the world's bestselling text on the topic -- and puts it at your fingertips, or in your pocket or backpack. Covering the full spectrum of emergency medicine in all patient populations - adult and pediatric - this full-color guide is composed of concise chapters that focus on clinical features, diagnosis and differential, and emergency management and disposition. Packing a remarkable amount of information in a compact, full-color presentation, Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine Manual, Eighth Edition is enhanced by contributors from across the globe. Numerous tables and full-color photographs and illustrations enrich the text and help you deliver skillful and timely patient care. This new edition includes extensive updates to all sections, incorporating the latest guidelines, evidence-based protocols, and relevant research.
The Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management by
Manage airway emergencies with confidence! The Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management is the world's most trusted reference on emergency airway management, and is the foundation text in the nationally recognized The Difficult Airway Course: Emergency(tm), The Difficult Airway Course: Critical Care(tm), and The Difficult Airway Course: EMS(tm). Its practical, hands-on approach provides all the concrete guidance you need to effectively respond to any airway emergency, whether in the emergency department, ICU, urgent care setting, pre-hospital environment, or anywhere else airway emergencies may occur. Apply the latest evidence-based approaches to all aspects of airway management.New chapters include Managing Retroglottic Devices, Controversies in EMS Airway Management, The Unstable Patient: Optimization for Emergency Airway Management, and Safe Extubation of the At-Risk Emergency Patient. Discover expanded coverage of preoxygenation techniques and comprehensive updates throughout. Efficiently overcome any challenge in airway management with the aid of step-by-step instructions, mnemonics, easy-to-follow algorithms, and rich illustrations. Glean expert insights from a brand-new editorial team led by Calvin Brown III, MD, who is Dr. Walls' colleague and prot#65533;g#65533;, and many of the same airway experts who teach The Difficult Airway Course(tm) - additionally, Dr. Ron Walls continues to actively author content within this edition! Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click See the inside front cover to find out how to access your eBook!
Point of Care | Research Tools
Access Emergency Medicine This link opens in a new window
Full-text books, procedures, videos, and images in emergency medicine.
Clinical Key This link opens in a new window
Full text books, journals, practice guidelines, patient educations, and multimedia. Replaces MDConsult.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers, and a federated search feature that incorporates results from external databases.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
Research database especially useful for systematic reviews. Search in addition to PubMed or MEDLINE.
PubMed @ Cleveland Clinic (On & Off Campus) This link opens in a new window
Customized link to give full text access to Cleveland Clinic employees. PubMed provides access to bibliographic information which includes MEDLINE as well as additional life science journals. Single Citation Matcher can locate specific articles quickly. The Journal Database can help with journal abbreviations.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus indexes 14,000 journal titles in the scientific, technical, medical and social science literature from the mid-1960's on. Includes selected web sources and 12.7 million patents.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
A current clinical reference providing answers on disease management and therapy. How to search UpToDate
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Subjects covered: basic, life, and social sciences and arts/humanities. Click EDITIONS ALL on the search screen to select specific indexes
Education | Procedures | Videos
BETs were developed in the Emergency Department of Manchester Royal Infirmary, UK, to provide rapid evidence-based answers to real-life clinical questions, using a systematic approach to reviewing the literature. Although BETs initially had an emergency medicine focus, there are a significant number of BETs covering cardiothoracics, nursing, primary care and paediatrics.
Case Files: Emergency Medicine
SHARPEN YOUR CRITICAL THINKING SKILLS AND IMPROVE PATIENT CARE Experience with clinical cases is key to mastering the art and science of medicine and ultimately to providing patients with competent medical care. Case Files#65533;: Emergency Medicine, Fourth Edition delivers 59 true-to-life cases that illustrate essential concepts in Emergency Medicine. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls, and USMLE#65533;-style review questions to reinforce your learning. With Case Files#65533;, you'll learn instead of memorize. * Learn from 59 high-yield cases, each with board-style questions * Master key concepts with clinical pearls * Solidify your knowledge with 14 new integrated challenge questions * Polish your approach to clinical problem solving and patient care * Maximize your shelf exam score with this proven learning system
Roberts and Hedges' Clinical Procedures in Emergency Medicine and Acute Care, Seventh ed. by
Comprehensive, detailed, and up to date, Roberts and & Hedges' Clinical Procedures in Emergency Medicine and Acute Care, 7th Edition, provides highly visual coverage of both common and uncommon procedures encountered in emergency medicine and acute care practice. It clearly describes the ins and outs of every procedure you're likely to consider, such as how, why, when to, and when not to perform them, in addition toand recommends other emergency or acute care procedures that may be an option. Thoroughly revised and updated throughout, the 7th Edition remains the most well-known and trusted procedures manual in its field Provides clear, detailed information for practitioners at all levels of experience, - from trainees who are unfamiliar with a specific procedure to those with experience in the technique. Covers the latest equipment, devices, drug therapies, and techniques you need to know for the effective practice of emergency medicine and acute care. Features new and updated information on ultrasound throughout the text, including Ultrasound Boxes that are expertly written and richly illustrated with photographs and clinical correlative images. Includes more Procedure Boxes that allow you to see entire procedures at a glance, functioning as a mini-atlas that allows you to quickly grasp how to perform a procedure. Contains more than 100 new figures-of more than 3,500 images total-including new color photographs, new Ultrasound Boxes, and new algorithms. Features a new chapter on Procedures in the Setting of Anticoagulation. Covers hot topics such as novel loop abscess drainage technique, ENT techniques, and ophthalmology techniques, as well as procedures performed by acute care practitioners such as sedation of the agitated patient, alternate methods of drug delivery, and common errors and complications in the acute care setting. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. You'll also have access to nearly 250 procedural videos.
Emergency Medicine Secrets by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Emergency Medicine Secrets, 7th Edition, offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. This highly regarded resource features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - succinct, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Fully revised and updated throughout, including protocols and guidelines that are continuously evolving and that increasingly dictate best practices. New chapter on Professionalism and Social Media Applications. Expanded coverage of cost-effective emergency medicine, as well as weapons of mass destruction including chemical, biologic, and radiologic weapons; explosives; and tactical medicine.?? Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Bulleted lists, mnemonics, practical tips from leaders in the field - all providing a concise overview of important board-relevant content. Multiple-choice questions online provide opportunities for further self-assessment. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Reichman's Emergency Medicine Procedures, 3rd Edition by
The most clear, complete, and easy-to-understand review of emergency medicine procedures - enhanced by an animation library and more than 1,500 full-color photographs Reichman's Emergency Medicine Procedures, Third Edition is written to provide a detailed, step-by-step approach to more than 200 procedures performed in an emergency or acute care setting. This trusted classic will provide medical students, residents, advanced practice clinicians, and the seasoned emergentologist with a reliable, one-stop procedural reference on which to base clinical practices and technical skills. The Third Edition is enhanced by added chapters, algorithms, clinical pictures, radiographs, tables, and coverage of cutting-edge technological advancements. Features: *Organized into 16 sections, each representing an organ system, an area of the body, or a surgical specialty. *Each chapter is devoted to a single procedure *Chapters have a similar format that encompasses: *Relevant anatomy and pathophysiology *Indications and contraindications for the procedure *Preparation for the patient, including consent, anesthesia, and analgesia *Step-by-step description of the procedure *Cautions that indicate common problems *Alternative techniques and helpful hints *Aftercare and follow-up *Potential complications *Summary of critical information *More than 1,500 full-color photographs *Companion online library of animations demonstrates approximately 40 common or difficult procedures. *Includes both common and infrequently encountered procedures *Important evidence-based recommendations throughout *Helpful pedagogy includes key information, cautions, and important facts highlighted in bold The techniques presented in this book will dramatically expand your understanding of emergency medicine procedures, and most importantly, your ability to deliver positive patient outcomes.
Emergency Medicine Journals via iPad & iPhone