Skip to Main Content
Core E-Books
Atlas of Craniocervical Junction and Cervical Spine Surgery by Stefano Boriani (Editor); Livio Presutti (Editor); Alessandro Gasbarrini (Editor); Francesco Mattioli (Editor), 2017
This atlas documents current surgical approaches to the craniocervical junction and the cervical spine, providing step-by-step guidance on procedures and cervical spine stabilization techniques. Opening chapters present essential information on anatomy, depict pathologies with the aid of illustrative cases, describe the role of imaging techniques in patient evaluation, and discuss surgical instrumentation and patient positioning. The different techniques employed in this delicate anatomic region, including transnasal and transoral endoscopic approaches to the craniocervical junction and posterior and anterior approaches to the cervical spine, are then explained and illustrated with a view to providing the surgeon with a clear reference that can be used in the operating room. In addition, practical advice is offered on the treatment of potential complications, postoperative management, and rehabilitation. This book will be of value not only to neurosurgeons but also to orthopedists, ENT surgeons, neurologists, and physiatrists.
ISBN: 9783319427355
Atlas of Full-Endoscopic Spine Surgery, 2020 by Christoph Hofstetter; Sebastian Ruetten; Yu'e Zhou; Michael Wang
Endoscopic spine surgery essentials from expert spine surgeons Atlas of Full-Endoscopic Spine Surgery by internationally renowned spine surgeons Christoph Hofstetter, Sebastian Ruetten, Yue Zhou, and Michael Wang provides concise, step-by-step guidance on the latest full endoscopic spine procedures. The book is targeted at practicing spine surgeons, fellows, and residents currently not trained in endoscopic spine surgery who have the desire to learn and incorporate these techniques into clinical practice. It is also an excellent curriculum resource for cadaveric training courses taught at the national and international level. The book lays a solid foundation with opening chapters on anesthesia, OR setup and endoscopic tools, applied anatomy, basic endoscopic surgical tasks, and preoperative diagnostics. Additional sections include step-by-step descriptions of the full spectrum of cervical, thoracic, and lumbar endoscopic approaches. The last section provides invaluable pearls on overcoming challenges, avoiding pitfalls, and optimizing postoperative care. Key Features Transforaminal endoscopic lumbar and thoracic discectomy approaches Trans-SAP endoscopic approach for foraminal and lateral recess decompression Interlaminar endoscopic lumbar discectomy Cervical/thoracic and lumbar unilateral laminotomy for bilateral decompression Special topics including endoscopic management of challenging cases, endoscopic revision surgery, and management of complications. Neurosurgery residents, fellows, young practicing neurosurgeons, and all healthcare practitioners involved in the care of endoscopic spine surgery patients will gain invaluable insights from this book. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Core E-Books
Atlas of Image-Guided Spinal Procedures by Michael Bruce Furman (Editor); Isaac Cohen (Editor); Brad Goodman (Editor); Jonathan S. Kirschner (Editor); Paul Sean Lin (Editor), 2018
Give your patients the non-surgical spine pain relief they need with help from the Atlas of Image-Guided Spinal Procedures by Dr. Michael Bruce Furman. This medical reference book features a highly visual atlas format that shows you exactly how to safely and efficiently perform each technique step-by-step. A unique, systematic, safe, and efficient approach makes Atlas of Image-Guided Spinal Procedures your go-to resource for spine pain relief for your patients. The highly visual format shows you exactly how to perform each technique, highlighting imaging pearls and emphasizing optimal and suboptimal imaging. Updated content includes ultrasound techniques and procedures for "spine mimickers," including hip and shoulder image-guided procedures, keeping you on the cutting edge of contemporary spine pain-relief methods. Safely and efficiently relieve your patients' pain with consistent, easy-to-follow chapters that guide you through each technique. Presents an algorithmic, image-guided approach for each technique: trajectory view (demonstrates fluoroscopic "setup"); multiplanarconfirmation views (AP, lateral, oblique); and "safety view" (what should be avoided during injection), along with optimal and suboptimal contrast patterns. Special chapters on Needle Techniques, Procedural Safety, Fluoroscopic and Ultrasound Imaging Pearls, Radiation Safety, and L5-S1 Disc Access provide additional visual instruction. View drawings of radiopaque landmarks and key radiolucent anatomy that cannot be viewed fluoroscopically. Videos including procedural "set-up" and optimal and suboptimal constrast flow are available in the Expert Consult eBook version. Includes new unique diagrams demonstrating cervical, thoracic and lumbar radiofrequency probe placement and treatment zones on multiplanar views, as well as new unique tables and examples differentiating between optimal and suboptimal epidural contrast flow Features new coverage of ultrasound techniques, as well as new presentation of fluoroscopic and ultrasound guided procedures for "spine masqueraders" such as the hip and shoulder. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to access and search all of the text, figures, images, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Atlas of Orthoses and Assistive Devices, Fifth ed. by Joseph B. Webster; Douglas Murphy, 2019
Advances in the material sciences, 3D printing technology, functional electrical stimulation, smart devices and apps, FES technology, sensors and microprocessor technologies, and more have lately transformed the field of orthotics, making the prescription of these devices more complex than ever before. Atlas of Orthoses and Assistive Devices, 5th Edition, brings you completely up to date with these changes, helping physiatrists, orthopaedic surgeons, prosthetists, orthotists, and other rehabilitative specialists work together to select the appropriate orthotic device for optimal results in every patient. Provides an introduction to Brain-Computer Interface (BCI) systems relating to Assistive Technology (AT) systems and orthotics. Includes Key Points in every chapter so you can quickly access expert guidance. Maintains a valuable balance of content that is essential for both physiatrists and orthopaedic surgeons. Covers state-of-the-art topics in the areas of biomechanics, fabrication techniques, and construction of orthoses with advanced technologies. Incorporates an all-new, vibrant full-color design to enhance illustrations and make navigation fast and easy. Places greater emphasis on carbon fiber materials and lightweight thermoplastics. Includes content on 3D printing technology and how it has revolutionized fabrication strategies. Features a more in-depth discussion of sensors and microprocessor technologies, advances in FES technology with respect to orthotics, smart devices and relevant apps, and the use of scanner technology in orthotic fabrication. Explains new orthotic devices and their indications from acute traumatic situations through chronic rehabilitation needs. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Atlas of Craniocervical Junction and Cervical Spine Surgery by
This atlas documents current surgical approaches to the craniocervical junction and the cervical spine, providing step-by-step guidance on procedures and cervical spine stabilization techniques. Opening chapters present essential information on anatomy, depict pathologies with the aid of illustrative cases, describe the role of imaging techniques in patient evaluation, and discuss surgical instrumentation and patient positioning. The different techniques employed in this delicate anatomic region, including transnasal and transoral endoscopic approaches to the craniocervical junction and posterior and anterior approaches to the cervical spine, are then explained and illustrated with a view to providing the surgeon with a clear reference that can be used in the operating room. In addition, practical advice is offered on the treatment of potential complications, postoperative management, and rehabilitation. This book will be of value not only to neurosurgeons but also to orthopedists, ENT surgeons, neurologists, and physiatrists.
Atlas of Full-Endoscopic Spine Surgery, 2020 by
Endoscopic spine surgery essentials from expert spine surgeons Atlas of Full-Endoscopic Spine Surgery by internationally renowned spine surgeons Christoph Hofstetter, Sebastian Ruetten, Yue Zhou, and Michael Wang provides concise, step-by-step guidance on the latest full endoscopic spine procedures. The book is targeted at practicing spine surgeons, fellows, and residents currently not trained in endoscopic spine surgery who have the desire to learn and incorporate these techniques into clinical practice. It is also an excellent curriculum resource for cadaveric training courses taught at the national and international level. The book lays a solid foundation with opening chapters on anesthesia, OR setup and endoscopic tools, applied anatomy, basic endoscopic surgical tasks, and preoperative diagnostics. Additional sections include step-by-step descriptions of the full spectrum of cervical, thoracic, and lumbar endoscopic approaches. The last section provides invaluable pearls on overcoming challenges, avoiding pitfalls, and optimizing postoperative care. Key Features Transforaminal endoscopic lumbar and thoracic discectomy approaches Trans-SAP endoscopic approach for foraminal and lateral recess decompression Interlaminar endoscopic lumbar discectomy Cervical/thoracic and lumbar unilateral laminotomy for bilateral decompression Special topics including endoscopic management of challenging cases, endoscopic revision surgery, and management of complications. Neurosurgery residents, fellows, young practicing neurosurgeons, and all healthcare practitioners involved in the care of endoscopic spine surgery patients will gain invaluable insights from this book. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Atlas of Image-Guided Spinal Procedures by
Give your patients the non-surgical spine pain relief they need with help from the Atlas of Image-Guided Spinal Procedures by Dr. Michael Bruce Furman. This medical reference book features a highly visual atlas format that shows you exactly how to safely and efficiently perform each technique step-by-step. A unique, systematic, safe, and efficient approach makes Atlas of Image-Guided Spinal Procedures your go-to resource for spine pain relief for your patients. The highly visual format shows you exactly how to perform each technique, highlighting imaging pearls and emphasizing optimal and suboptimal imaging. Updated content includes ultrasound techniques and procedures for "spine mimickers," including hip and shoulder image-guided procedures, keeping you on the cutting edge of contemporary spine pain-relief methods. Safely and efficiently relieve your patients' pain with consistent, easy-to-follow chapters that guide you through each technique. Presents an algorithmic, image-guided approach for each technique: trajectory view (demonstrates fluoroscopic "setup"); multiplanarconfirmation views (AP, lateral, oblique); and "safety view" (what should be avoided during injection), along with optimal and suboptimal contrast patterns. Special chapters on Needle Techniques, Procedural Safety, Fluoroscopic and Ultrasound Imaging Pearls, Radiation Safety, and L5-S1 Disc Access provide additional visual instruction. View drawings of radiopaque landmarks and key radiolucent anatomy that cannot be viewed fluoroscopically. Videos including procedural "set-up" and optimal and suboptimal constrast flow are available in the Expert Consult eBook version. Includes new unique diagrams demonstrating cervical, thoracic and lumbar radiofrequency probe placement and treatment zones on multiplanar views, as well as new unique tables and examples differentiating between optimal and suboptimal epidural contrast flow Features new coverage of ultrasound techniques, as well as new presentation of fluoroscopic and ultrasound guided procedures for "spine masqueraders" such as the hip and shoulder. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to access and search all of the text, figures, images, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Atlas of Orthoses and Assistive Devices, Fifth ed. by
Advances in the material sciences, 3D printing technology, functional electrical stimulation, smart devices and apps, FES technology, sensors and microprocessor technologies, and more have lately transformed the field of orthotics, making the prescription of these devices more complex than ever before. Atlas of Orthoses and Assistive Devices, 5th Edition, brings you completely up to date with these changes, helping physiatrists, orthopaedic surgeons, prosthetists, orthotists, and other rehabilitative specialists work together to select the appropriate orthotic device for optimal results in every patient. Provides an introduction to Brain-Computer Interface (BCI) systems relating to Assistive Technology (AT) systems and orthotics. Includes Key Points in every chapter so you can quickly access expert guidance. Maintains a valuable balance of content that is essential for both physiatrists and orthopaedic surgeons. Covers state-of-the-art topics in the areas of biomechanics, fabrication techniques, and construction of orthoses with advanced technologies. Incorporates an all-new, vibrant full-color design to enhance illustrations and make navigation fast and easy. Places greater emphasis on carbon fiber materials and lightweight thermoplastics. Includes content on 3D printing technology and how it has revolutionized fabrication strategies. Features a more in-depth discussion of sensors and microprocessor technologies, advances in FES technology with respect to orthotics, smart devices and relevant apps, and the use of scanner technology in orthotic fabrication. Explains new orthotic devices and their indications from acute traumatic situations through chronic rehabilitation needs. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.