CCLCM Students: CCLCM Reserve E-Books

Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking, 13th ed. by Lynn S. Bickley; Peter G. Szilagyi; Richard M. Hoffman; Rainier P. Soriano, 2021 Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Lippincott® Connect Featured Title Purchase the new print edition of this Lippincott® Connect title includes lifetime access to the digital version of the book, plus related materials such as videos and multiple-choice Q&A and self-assessments. Confidently Perform Accurate, Efficient, and Effective Physical Examinations. Master the techniques for successful physical examinations with the #1 choice for complete, authoritative guidance. This highly regarded text includes fully illustrated, step-by-step techniques that outline the correct performance of the physical examination and an easy-to-follow two-column format that correlates examination techniques on the left and abnormalities (clearly indicated in red) with differential diagnoses on the right.   NEW! Expanded Unit 1 provides an overview of the components of the patient encounter and helps you ensure the most effective information-gathering and decision-making approaches. NEW! Key terms are bolded in chapters and correspond to an online glossary with definitions. UPDATED! Expanded coverage of special populations familiarizes you with important approaches for persons who identify as LGBTQ, persons with physical disabilities, and diverse populations throughout the life cycle.   UPDATED! Restructured Regional Exam chapters enhance your understanding of overview material, examination techniques, and health promotion and counseling considerations.  UPDATED! Photographs, illustrations, and references reinforce key content based on the latest evidence-based information. UPDATED! Text boxes are numbered to provide quick access to important summaries of clinical conditions and tips for challenging examination techniques. Clinical pearls, printed in blue, highlight key points at a glance. Detailed, highly illustrated tables of abnormal conditions display examination and clinical information in an easy-to-find, quick-reference format at the end of each chapter. Lippincott® Connect features: Lifetime access to the digital version of the book with the ability to highlight and take notes on key passages for a more personal, efficient study experience. Carefully curated resources, including interactive diagrams, video tutorials, flashcards, organ sounds, and self-assessment, all designed to facilitate further comprehension. Lippincott® Connect also allows users to create Study Collections to further personalize the study experience. With Study Collections you can: Pool content from books across your entire library into self-created Study Collections based on discipline, procedure, organ, concept or other topics. Display related text passages, video clips and self-assessment questions from each book (if available) for efficient absorption of material. Annotate and highlight key content for easy access later. Navigate seamlessly between book chapters, sections, self-assessments, notes and highlights in a single view/page.

Before We Are Born, 11th ed by Mark G. Torchia; T. V. N. Persaud, 2024 **Selected for 2025 Doody's Core Titles® in Anatomy/Embryology** Thoroughly revised and updated with the latest advances in human embryology, including the cellular and molecular basis of development, Before We Are Born: Essentials of Embryology and Birth Defects, 11th Edition, offers clinically relevant and highly illustrated coverage of this complex field. It is based on the popular text The Developing Human, written by the same expert and experienced educator author team. Coverage has been carefully selected to provide an easily accessible understanding of all the core aspects of embryology, including normal and abnormal embryogenesis, causes of birth defects, and the role of genes in human development. Covers the essentials of normal and abnormal human development for students in a variety of health science disciplines, reflecting new research findings and current clinical practice through concise text and abundant, clearly labeled illustrations Offers authoritative, easily accessible, step-by-step coverage from conception through all stages of development to birth Features many new color photographs and new diagnostic images (3D ultrasound, CT, and MR images) Includes an updated teratology section, revised and highlighted information on molecular aspects of developmental biology and genetics, and new information on the cellular and molecular basis of embryonic development Contains nearly 700 USMLE-style questions with full answers and explanations to help prepare for professional exams Includes clinical cases in every chapter that make important connections between human development and clinical practice-ideal for preparing for USMLE Step 1 and similar exams Provides access to 18 full-color, expertly narrated animations that guide students through key concepts of embryologic development Follows the official international list of embryological terms (Terminologia Embryonica, 2019) An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud

Braunwald's Heart Disease, 2 Vol Set, 12th ed. by Robert O. Bonow; Douglas L. Mann; Gordon F. Tomaselli; Deepak Bhatt; Scott D. Solomon; Eugene Braunwald; Peter Libby, 2022 Current, comprehensive, and evidence-based, Braunwald's Heart Disease remains the most trusted reference in the field and the leading source of reliable cardiology information for practitioners and trainees worldwide. The fully updated 12th Edition continues the tradition of excellence with dependable, state-of-the-art coverage of new drugs, new guidelines, more powerful imaging modalities, and recent developments in precision medicine that continue to change and advance the practice of cardiovascular medicine. Written and edited by global experts in the field, this award-winning text is an unparalleled multimedia reference for every aspect of this complex and fast-changing area. Offers balanced, dependable content on rapidly changing clinical science, clinical and translational research, and evidence-based medicine. Includes 76 new contributing authors and 14 new chapters that cover Artificial intelligence in Cardiovascular Medicine; Wearables; Influenza, Pandemics, COVID-19, and Cardiovascular Disease; Tobacco and Nicotine Products in Cardiovascular Disease; Cardiac Amyloidosis; Impact of the Environment on Cardiovascular Health, and more. Features a new introductory chapter Cardiovascular Disease: Past, Present, and Future by Eugene Braunwald, MD, offering his unique, visionary approach to the field of cardiology. Dr. Braunwald also curates the extensive, bimonthly online updates that include "Hot Off the Press" (with links to Practice Update) and "Late-Breaking Clinical Trials". Provides cutting-edge coverage of key topics such as proteomics and metabolomics, TAVR, diabetocardiology, and cardio-oncology. Contains 1,850 high-quality illustrations, radiographic images, algorithms, and charts, and provides access to 215 videos called out with icons in the print version. Highlights the latest AHA, ACC, and ESC guidelines to clearly summarize diagnostic criteria and clinical implications. Provides tightly edited, focused content for quick, dependable reference. Flexible format options include either one or two volumes in print, as well as a searchable eBook with ongoing updates. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Cardiovascular Physiology, 11th ed. by Achilles J. Pappano; Withrow Gil Wier, 2019 Gain a foundational understanding of cardiovascular physiology and how the cardiovascular system functions in health and disease. Cardiovascular Physiology, a volume in the Mosby Physiology Series, explains the fundamentals of this complex subject in a clear and concise manner, while helping you bridge the gap between normal function and disease with pathophysiology content throughout the book. Helps you easily master the material in a systems-based curriculum with learning objectives, Clinical Concept boxes, highlighted key words and concepts, chapter summaries, self-study questions, and a comprehensive exam to help prepare for USMLEs. Keeps you current with the latest concepts in vascular, molecular, and cellular biology as they apply to cardiovascular function, thanks to molecular commentaries in each chapter. Includes clear, 2-color diagrams that simplify complex concepts. Features clinical commentaries that show you how to apply what you've learned to real-life clinical situations. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Complete the Mosby Physiology Series! Systems-based and portable, these titles are ideal for integrated programs. Blaustein, Kao, & Matteson: Cellular Physiology and Neurophysiology Cloutier: Respiratory Physiology Koeppen & Stanton: Renal Physiology Johnson: Gastrointestinal Physiology White, Harrison, & Mehlmann: Endocrine and Reproductive Physiology Hudnall: Hematology: A Pathophysiologic Approach

Cellular and Molecular Immunology, 10th ed. by Abul K. Abbas; Andrew H. Lichtman; Shiv Pillai, 2022 Well-written, readable, and superbly illustrated, Cellular and Molecular Immunology, 10th Edition, continues the tradition of excellence established through multiple editions of this bestselling text. Offering an unparalleled introduction to this complex field, it retains a practical, clinical focus while updating and revising all content to ensure clarity and comprehension, bringing readers fully up to date with new and emerging information in this challenging area. It's an ideal resource for medical, graduate, and undergraduate students, as well as a trusted reference for physicians and scientists. Highlights the implications of immunologic science for the management of human disease, emphasizing clinical relevance throughout.   Employs a highly accessible writing style that makes difficult concepts easier to understand, and provides clear implications of immunologic science to the management of human disease and clinical practice.  Features updates from cover to cover, including new information on intracellular sensors of innate immunity, therapeutic use of monoclonal antibodies, regulation of migration events during T cell-B cell interactions, regulatory and transcriptional events in germinal center formation, immunology of infectious diseases including coronaviruses, human immunodeficiency disorders, and immunology of HIV.  Provides a highly visual, full-color description of the key immunologic and molecular processes with a fully updated, comprehensive, and consistent art program, including many new  and extensively revised illustrations.  Helps readers grasp the details of experimental observations that form the basis for the science of immunology at the molecular, cellular, and whole-organism levels and draw the appropriate conclusions.   Includes summary boxes that assist with rapid review and mastery of key material.   Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access multiple-choice questions that correspond to each chapter, plus all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. 

Clinical Reproductive Medicine and Surgery, 3rd ed. by Tommaso Falcone (Editor); William W. Hurd (Editor), 2017 Now in a completely revised and expanded third edition, including six new chapters, this user-friendly textbook offers a succinct overview of both the medical and surgical management of reproductive disorders, as well as coverage of associated imaging modalities. Included here are updated chapters on major reproductive endocrinology and infertility issues, such as polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS), pubertal disorders, amenorrhea, menopause, management of endometriosis and fibroids (including interventional radiology), laboratory and clinical aspects of assisted reproductive technologies (ART), imaging modalities such as ultrasonography and sonohysterography, and hysteroscopic and laparoscopic techniques. New chapters include an expansion of female infertility and fertility, preimplantation diagnosis and screening, osteoporosis, and contraception and sterilization. In addition, each chapter opens with a clinical case presentation and a list of keywords relevant to the topic at hand.   Residents, fellows, and new clinicians of obstetrics and gynecology interested in reproductive endocrinology and infertility will find Clinical Reproductive Medicine and Surgery: A Practical Guide a valuable and focused reference.

Costanzo Physiology, 7th ed by Linda Costanzo, 2022 Through six highly regarded editions, students and instructors alike have come to appreciate Dr. Linda Costanzo's clear, helpful writing style, logical organization, and easy-to-follow presentation of a challenging and complex topic in medical education. Costanzo Physiology, 7th Edition, retains the step-by-step, to-the-point approach that makes this text ideal for coursework and USMLE preparation. Complex concepts are presented in a simple, easy-to-digest manner, and are accompanied by well-designed figures and tables that provide handy visuals for procedures or physiologic equations. Fully updated throughout, this edition remains the students' choice for concise, clear instruction& and a strong foundation in human physiology. Offers a comprehensive and consistent overview of core physiologic concepts at the organ system and cellular levels, making complex principles easy to understand. Presents information in a short, simple, and focused manner - the perfect presentation for success in coursework and on exams. Provides step-by-step explanations and easy-to-follow diagrams clearly depicting physiologic principles. Contains new coverage of SARS CoV-2 physiology, renal handling of uric acid, delta/delta analysis is acid-base physiology, endolymph physiology, respiratory distress syndrome, compensatory bronchiolar constriction, and more. Includes high-yield online features such as student FAQs with thorough explanations, animations, and video tutorials from Dr. Costanzo.

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-5-TR by American Psychiatric Association, 2022 The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers. DSM-5-TR includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013. It features a new disorder, Prolonged Grief Disorder, as well as codes for suicidal behavior available to all clinicians of any discipline without the requirement of any other diagnosis. With contributions from over 200 subject matter experts, this updated volume boasts the most current text updates based on the scientific literature. Now in four-color and with the ability to authenticate each printed copy, DSM-5-TR provides a cohesive, updated presentation of criteria, diagnostic codes, and text. This latest volume offers a common language for clinicians involved in the diagnosis and study of mental disorders and facilitates an objective assessment of symptom presentations across a variety of clinical settings--inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. Stay current with these important updates in DSM-5-TR: * Fully revised text for each disorder with updated sections on associated features, prevalence, development and course, risk and prognostic factors, culture, diagnostic markers, suicide, differential diagnosis, and more.* Addition of Prolonged Grief Disorder (PGD) to Section II--a new disorder for diagnosis* Over 70 modified criteria sets with helpful clarifications since publication of DSM-5* Fully updated Introduction and Use of the Manual to guide usage and provide context for important terminology* Considerations of the impact of racism and discrimination on mental disorders integrated into the text* New codes to flag and monitor suicidal behavior, available to all clinicians of any discipline and without the requirement of any other diagnosis* Fully updated ICD-10-CM codes implemented since 2013, including over 50 coding updates new to DSM-5-TR for substance intoxication and withdrawal and other disorders* Updated and redesigned Diagnostic Classification This manual is a valuable resource for other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists. The new DSM-5-TR is the most definitive resource for the diagnosis and classification of mental disorders.

Emery's Elements of Medical Genetics and Genomics, 16th ed. by Peter D. Turnpenny; Sian Ellard; Ruth Cleaver, 2022 Long recognized as a leading textbook in this fast-moving field, Emery's Elements of Medical Genetics and Genomics offers current, complete information with a strong basis in practical clinical genetics and genomics for medical school and beyond. The 16th Edition of this award-winning text has been thoroughly updated throughout and includes case-based and multiple-choice questions, end-of-chapter summaries, an extensive glossary, and convenient online access, making it an ideal choice for all medical undergraduates as well as postgraduates seeking to improve their understanding and knowledge. Includes new case-based studies with questions and answers throughout, in addition to multiple-choice self-assessment questions for study and review. Covers key topics such as pharmacogenetics, personalized medicine, prenatal testing, reproductive genetics, and ethical and legal issues in medical genetics. Divides the text into three easy-to-use sections: The Scientific Basis of Human Genetics, Genetics in Medicine and Genomic Medicine, and Clinical Genetics, Counseling and Ethics Features full-color illustrations and other images that help readers visualize the appearance of genetic disorders and assist with the understanding of complex genetic structures. Contains learning features such as summary boxes, an extensive glossary of terms, online hyperlinks to important genetics websites and clinical databases, and more. Presents the extensive knowledge and experience of distinguished editors Peter D. Turnpenny and Sian Ellard, as well as new editor Ruth Cleaver. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 14th Ed. by Laurence Brunton; Bjorn Knollmann, 2022 The go-to pharmacology reference that medical and health science professionals have relied upon for more than 50 Years!   For more than 50 years, Goodman & Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, has been the comprehensive, go-to reference that medical and health science professionals have relied upon as the pinnacle of authority and accuracy in describing the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology. Goodman & Gilman's balance of basic science and clinical applications has guided thousands of health care practitioners and students to a clear understanding of the drugs essential to preventing, diagnosing and treating disease. The fourteenth edition features more than 600 color illustrations, including 50 new figures on mechanism of drug actions which emphasizes the link between basic mechanisms of action of drug action, pathophysiology of disease, and therapeutic use of drugs.  Features:  * Five NEW chapters:        Pharmacovigilance        Gastrointestinal Microbiome and Drug Response        The Blood-Brain Barrier        Cannabis        Antibodies, Immune Checkpoint Inhibitors, CAR-T cells, and other Biological Agents  * 600+ color illustrations * 50 NEW figures on mechanism of drug actions * All chapters have been revised and generally expanded with new material * Throughout: Expanded coverage of the need to consider genetic polymorphisms in designing appropriate therapies * A greatly revised and expanded chapter on Pharmacodynamics and the Molecular Mechanisms of Drug Action * 53 NEW contributors * NEW online updates

Gordis Epidemiology, 7th ed. by David D. Celentano; Moyses Szklo, 2025 Continuing in the tradition of award-winning educator and epidemiologist Dr. Leon Gordis, Gordis Epidemiology, 7th Edition, provides a solid introduction to basic epidemiologic principles as well as practical applications in public health and clinical practice, highlighted by real-world examples throughout. Written by Drs. David D Celentano, Moyses Szklo, and Youssef Farag of Johns Hopkins University, this bestselling text is known for its reader-friendly, accessible writing style and practical approach to a complex and challenging subject, making it a favorite text of students as well as an ideal resource for health care providers, health policy makers, and epidemiologists at all levels of training and practice. Covers the basic principles and concepts of epidemiology in a clear, uniquely memorable way, using a wealth of full-color figures, graphs, charts, and cartoons to help you understand and retain key information. Includes new examples and cases reflecting modern epidemiology, including lessons from the COVID-19 pandemic and other current topics of interest. Reflects how epidemiology is practiced today, with chapters progressing from observation and developing hypotheses to data collection and analyses. Features end-of-chapter questions for quick self-assessment, and a glossary of genetic terminology. Provides more than 200 additional multiple-choice self-assessment questions online. Provides a strong basis for understanding the role and importance of epidemiology in today’s data-driven society.

Gray's Anatomy for Students, 5th ed. by Richard Drake; A. Wayne Vogl; Adam W. M. Mitchell, 2023

Gray's Atlas of Anatomy, 3rd ed. by Richard Drake; A. Wayne Vogl; Adam W. M. Mitchell, 2021 Clinically focused, consistently and clearly illustrated, and logically organized, Gray's Atlas of Anatomy, the companion resource to the popular Gray's Anatomy for Students, presents a vivid, visual depiction of anatomical structures. Stunning illustrations demonstrate the correlation of structures with clinical images and surface anatomy - essential for proper identification in the dissection lab and successful preparation for course exams. Build on your existing anatomy knowledge with structures presented from a superficial to deep orientation, representing a logical progression through the body. Identify the various anatomical structures of the body and better understand their relationships to each other with the visual guidance of nearly 1,000 exquisitely illustrated anatomical figures. Visualize the clinical correlation between anatomical structures and surface landmarks with surface anatomy photographs overlaid with anatomical drawings. Recognize anatomical structures as they present in practice through more than 270 clinical images - including laparoscopic, radiologic, surgical, ophthalmoscopic, otoscopic, and other clinical views - placed adjacent to anatomic artwork for side-by-side comparison. Gain a more complete understanding of the inguinal region in women through a brand-new, large-format illustration, as well as new imaging figures that reflect anatomy as viewed in the modern clinical setting.

Greenspan's Basic and Clinical Endocrinology, Tenth Edition by David G. Gardner; Dolores M. Shoback, 2018 A full-color guide to the entire field of clinical endocrinology and its scientific underpinnings - updated with the latest breakthroughs and developments Greenspan's Basic & Clinical Endocrinology delivers a succinct, leading-edge overview of the underlying molecular biology of the endocrine system and the latest perspectives on the diagnosis and treatment of specific diseases and disorders. Featuring an enhanced design that includes hundreds of full-color illustrations and clinical photographs, Greenspan's is a true must-have during traditional or integrated courses in endocrinology, endocrinology rotation, or exam prep in internal medicine and endocrinology and as reference for disease management. Greenspan's provides clinically relevant coverage of metabolic bone disease, pancreatic hormones and diabetes mellitus, hypoglycemia, obesity, geriatric endocrinology, and many other diseases and disorders. Supporting this essential material is a handy appendix of normal hormone reference ranges across the lifespan. Here's why Greenspan's is an essential tool for learning how to manage endocrine patients: * The Tenth Edition is enhanced by updated content throughout each chapter * NEW CHAPTERS on Transgender Endocrinology and Disorders of Sexual Determination and Differentiation * Important chapter on Evidence-Based Endocrinology and Clinical Epidemiology * Concise, balanced coverage of both scientific and clinical principles that guide patient management * The best source for current concepts in endocrine pathophysiology to aid clinical decision making * The most practical, current insights into diagnostic testing * More than 270 full-color illustrations and clinical photographs If you are in need of a well-illustrated, completely up-to-date guide to the entire field of clinical endocrinology, this trusted classic belongs on your desk or computer.  

Hematology : basic principles and practice, 8th ed. by Ronald Hoffman (Editor) et al, 2023 Extensively revised, comprehensive content from leading global contributors ensures that Hematology, 8th Edition, remains your #1 choice for expert guidance in all areas of this rapidly advancing subspecialty. This edition reflects the numerous advances that are redefining the field and dramatically influencing new approaches to diagnosis, treatment, and outcomes. Well-illustrated and clinically focused, it details the basic science and clinical practice of hematology and hematopoietic cellular therapy-covering virtually all aspects of hematology in one definitive resource. Covers all hematologic disorders, including comprehensive discussions of hematologic malignancies, individualized patient care, cell-based therapies, transplantation, transfusion medicine, hemostasis, thrombosis, and consultative hematology-in one convenient volume.  Provides state-of-the-art guidance from global experts at the forefront of the latest research and clinical practice.  Provides extensive updates throughout on basic science research, advances in molecular diagnostics, new drugs, immunotherapies, personalized medicine, laboratory medicine, transfusion medicine, stem cell transplantation, and clinical treatment for all hematologic malignancies and non-malignancies  Contains new chapters on gene editing; the impact of mitochondria on hematopoiesis; myelodysplastic syndrome/myeloproliferative neoplasm overlap syndromes; immunotherapy and management of its toxicities; transfusion medicine in sickle cell disease; principles of radiation therapy; and COVID-19, including complications of vaccination and its impact on the hematologic system.  Discusses many new advances in the field, including details and the future of gene therapy for hemophilia, gene editing for sickle cell disease and thalassemia, the evolution of cellular therapy, use of cells, transfusion medicine vs. protein therapy, gene sequencing, immunotherapy, and new targeted drugs.  Includes more decision-making algorithms for formulating diagnoses and personalized treatment plans for those highly complex disorders that require individualized approaches.  Addresses the effects of aging on hematopoiesis and on the manifestations of a variety of hematologic disorders.  Discusses cardio-oncology and its impact on the treatment of patients with hematologic disorders.  Presents relevant basic science as background for clinical application in later sections.  An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. 

How the Immune System Works, 6th ed by Lauren M. Sompayrac, 2019 How the Immune System Works has helped thousands of students understand what's in their hefty immunology textbooks. In this book, Dr. Sompayrac cuts through the jargon and details to reveal, in simple language, the essence of this complex subject: how the immune system fits together, how it protects us from disease and, perhaps most importantly, why it works the way it does. Featuring Dr. Sompayrac's hallmark lively prose and engaging analogies. How the Immune System Works has been rigorously updated for this sixth edition, including the latest information on subjects such as vaccines, immunological memory, and cancer. A highlight of this edition is a new chapter on immunotherapies - currently one of the hottest topics in immunology. Whether you are completely new to immunology, or require a refresher, How the Immune System Workswill provide you with a clear and engaging overview of this fascinating subject.

Immunology for Medical Students, 3rd ed. by Matthew Helbert, 2017 Comprehensive yet concise and easy to read, this updated edition of Immunology for Medical Students effectively explains complex immunology topics and their relevance in clinical practice. Boasting just the right amount of detail for today's busy medical student, it delivers state-of-the-art coverage of the latest scientific and clinical knowledge in the field. Detailed and explanatory illustrations, combined with clinically relevant examples and cases, offer a unique understanding of the human immune system and its role in protecting us from disease. Designed with a clear focus on the needs of medical students. Includes overview illustrations at the beginning of each chapter, as well as illustrations with dialogue boxes. Immunology icons are repeated throughout the text, accompanied by a helpful Icon Key. Detailed clinical cases demonstrate real-world applications. Technical boxes point out important scientific advances. End-of-chapter checklists of learning points facilitate review. Student Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices. You'll also access 100 multiple-choice questions to enhance your understanding of the material. Features 17 new clinical boxes as well as critical revisions to 25 of the clinical boxes featured in the previous edition, providing relevant, practical examples of cases commonly encountered in day-to-day practice. Presents new material on T Cell Subsets, the molecular and cellular processes involved in their selection and differentiation, and how this knowledge is already translating into clinical developments. Includes a brand-new chapter titled Regulation of the Immune System.

Inflammatory Diseases of Blood Vessels, Second ed. by Gary S. Hoffman; Cornelia M. Weyand (Editor); Carol A. Langford (Editor); Jorg J. Goronzy (Editor), 2012 In recent years, considerable progress has been made in understanding the vasculitic diseases, largely due to the introduction of effective treatments for diseases that were once uniformly fatal, the conduct of structured clinical studies, and advances in immunology and molecular biology. Despite these achievements, the vasculitic diseases continue to be associated with morbidity and mortality from chronic organ damage, relapses, and the side effects of treatment. Investigations into the mechanisms of vascular inflammation may lead to a better comprehension of the pathogenesis of vasculitic diseases and to treatment that is more effective and less toxic. These areas of promising research, together with current knowledge about the vasculitic diseases, are extensively examined in this new edition, which is designed to provide a comprehensive overview of the science and clinical consequences of vascular inflammation in health and disease.

Katzung's Basic and Clinical Pharmacology, 16th Ed by Todd W. Vanderah, 2023 "Katzung's Basic and Clinical Pharmacology is the wide-ranging, engaging guide students have counted on for decades. To be as clinically relevant as possible, the book includes sections that specifically address the clinical choice and use of drugs in patients and the monitoring of their effects, along with case studies that introduce clinical problems. chapter opens with a case study, covers drug groups and prototypes, and closes with summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information. Updated to reflect the latest research, this sixteenth edition features a new chapter on cannabinoids, USMLE-style questions, new drug tables, and more"--Publisher's description.

Levinson's Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology: a Guide to Clinical Infectious Disease, 18th ed. by Peter Chin-Hong, et al., 2024 "This trusted, popular guide provides a high-yield review of the most important aspects of microbiology and immunology in a concise yet comprehensive style. Levinson's Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology covers both basic and clinical aspects of bacteriology, virology, mycology, parasitology, and immunology. Important infectious diseases are discussed using an organ system approach. The effective mix of engaging narrative text, color images, tables, figures, Q&As, and clinical vignettes make this an invaluable, proven one-stop guide to mastering the application of microbiology and immunology to infectious diseases. This updated edition reflects the latest research, treatment, and developments, new cases, and more."--Provided by publisher.

Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases, 9th ed. by John E. Bennett; Raphael Dolin; Martin J. Blaser, 2020 For four decades, physicians and other healthcare providers have trusted Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases to provide expert guidance on the diagnosis and treatment of these complex disorders. The 9th Edition continues the tradition of excellence with newly expanded chapters, increased global coverage, and regular updates to keep you at the forefront of this vitally important field. Meticulously updated by Drs. John E. Bennett, Raphael Dolin, and Martin J. Blaser, this comprehensive, two-volume masterwork puts the latest information on challenging infectious diseases at your fingertips. Provides more in-depth coverage of epidemiology, etiology, pathology, microbiology, immunology, and treatment of infectious agents than any other infectious disease resource. Features an increased focus on antibiotic stewardship; new antivirals for influenza, cytomegalovirus, hepatitis C, hepatitis B., and immunizations; and new recommendations for vaccination against infection with pneumococci, papillomaviruses, hepatitis A, and pertussis. Covers newly recognized enteroviruses causing paralysis (E-A71, E-D68); emerging viral infections such as Ebola, Zika, Marburg, SARS, and MERS; and important updates on prevention and treatment of C. difficile infection, including new tests that diagnose or falsely over-diagnose infectious diseases. Offers fully revised content on bacterial pathogenesis, antibiotic use and toxicity, the human microbiome and its effects on health and disease, immunological mechanisms and immunodeficiency, and probiotics and alternative approaches to treatment of infectious diseases. Discusses up-to-date topics such as use of the new PCR panels for diagnosis of meningitis, diarrhea and pneumonia; current management of infected orthopedic implant infections; newly recognized infections transmitted by black-legged ticks in the USA: Borrelia miyamotoi and Powassan virus; infectious complications of new drugs for cancer; new drugs for resistant bacteria and mycobacteria; new guidelines for diagnosis and therapy of HIV infections; and new vaccines against herpes zoster, influenza, meningococci. PPID continues its tradition of including leading experts from a truly global community, including authors from Australia, Canada and countries in Europe, Asia, and South America. Includes regular updates online for the life of the edition. Features more than 1,500 high-quality, full-color photographs-with hundreds new to this edition. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Manual of Cardiovascular Medicine, 5th ed. by Brian P. Griffin (Editor), 2019 An ideal reference for residents, fellows, practitioners, and nurse practitioners, Manual of Cardiovascular Medicine, 5th Edition is a concise, up-to-date overview of key topics in cardiology. Using a practical, outline format, this best-selling title presents evidence-based approaches to cardiovascular diagnosis, diseases, and treatment - perfect for daily practice or exam preparation.  A new, larger format and content that is thoroughly up to date; organized by disease and treatment so you can find what you're looking for quickly. With a focus on guidelines and the evidence basis for cardiovascular disease management, coverage includes approaches to common clinical syndromes and investigations, including drug therapy. Updated content with the latest innovations in cardiovascular medicine- including percutaneous approaches to valve disease, device management of cardiogenic shock, and the heart in the athlete. Clear diagrams, high-quality ECGs, and helpful summary tables provide excellent visual reinforcement to the text. Authoritative perspectives from the experienced staff and fellows at the Cleveland Clinic provide practical guidance in performance of common cardiovascular procedures and integration of devices. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.

Massachusetts General Hospital Comprehensive Clinical Psychiatry, 3rd ed. by Theodore A. Stern; Maurizio Fava; Timothy E. Wilens, 2024 "The Massachusetts General Hospital is widely regarded as one of the world's premier psychiatric institutions. Massachusetts General Hospital Comprehensive Clinical Psychiatry, 3rd Edition, offers practical, informative, and hands-on advice from the staff of the esteemed MGH Department of Psychiatry, helping you put today's best practices to work for your patients. This authoritative reference covers a wide variety of clinical syndromes and settings, aided by superb graphics throughout. In one convenient volume, you'll have easy access to the answers you need to face and overcome any clinical challenge"-- publisher's description

Mastering Communication with Seriously Ill Patients by Anthony Back; Robert Arnold, 2009 Physicians who care for patients with life-threatening illnesses face daunting communication challenges. Patients and family members can react to difficult news with sadness, distress, anger, or denial. This book defines the specific communication tasks involved in talking with patients with life-threatening illnesses and their families. Topics include delivering bad news, transition to palliative care, discussing goals of advance-care planning and do-not-resuscitate orders, existential and spiritual issues, family conferences, medical futility, and other conflicts at the end of life. Drs Anthony Back, Robert Arnold, and James Tulsky bring together empirical research as well as their own experience to provide a roadmap through difficult conversations about life-threatening issues. The book offers both a theoretical framework and practical conversational tools that the practising physician and clinician can use to improve communication skills, increase satisfaction, and protect themselves from burnout.

Medical Biochemistry, 6th ed by John W. Baynes (Editor); Marek H. Dominiczak (Editor), 2022 Written by carefully selected global experts, practicing physicians, and educators in the various sub-disciplines of biochemistry, Medical Biochemistry, 6th Edition, offers a unique combination of research and clinical practice tailored to today's integrated courses. Covering clinically relevant topics in greater detail than other texts, this outstanding resource provides a strong overview of traditional areas in medical biochemistry along with state-of-the-art coverage of today's latest developments. You'll learn basic science concepts alongside clinical cases that describe patients likely to be encountered in clinical training, as well as how to use laboratory tests to diagnose and monitor the most important conditions. Thorough yet accessible, this clinically focused text is useful from medical school to clinical practice. Features a strong clinical orientation, emphasizing the relevance of biochemistry to the daily practice of medicine Highlights the latest developments in regulatory and molecular biology, signal transduction, age-related chronic disease, epigenetics, and bioinformatics and the "-omics," as well as important global medical issues such as diabetes mellitus, obesity and malnutrition, cancer and atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease, and nutrition and exercise Emphasizes clinical evaluation, maintenance of good health, and disease prevention, as well as translational medicine and the diagnosis and treatment of disease Contains organ-focused chapters addressing the biochemistry of the bone, kidney, liver, lungs and muscle; and system-focused chapters on the biochemistry of the immune and endocrine systems, neurochemistry and neurotransmission, and cancer Includes clear, colorful icons and illustrations that help you easily navigate the text and understand the material Provides online features such as challenging "Active Learning" questions for independent study, relevant websites that reinforce or supplement chapter content, 150+ multiple-choice and USMLE-style questions, a quick-reference glossary, additional images and case studies, references to current literature, and more.

Medical Physiology, 3rd ed. by Walter F. Boron; Emile L. Boulpaep, 2017 For a comprehensive understanding of human physiology - from molecules to systems -turn to the latest edition of Medical Physiology. This updated textbook is known for its unparalleled depth of information, equipping students with a solid foundation for a future in medicine and healthcare, and providing clinical and research professionals with a reliable go-to reference. Complex concepts are presented in a clear, concise, and logically organized format to further facilitate understanding and retention. Clear, didactic illustrations visually present processes in a clear, concise manner that is easy to understand. Intuitive organization and consistent writing style facilitates navigation and comprehension. Takes a strong molecular and cellular approach that relates these concepts to human physiology and disease. Student Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience includes access -- on a variety of devices -- to the complete text with thorough hyperlinking, images, 10 animations, and copious linkout notes prepared by the Editors. An increased number of clinical correlations provides a better understanding of the practical applications of physiology in medicine. Highlights new breakthroughs in molecular and cellular processes, such as the role of epigenetics, necroptosis, and ion channels in physiologic processes, to give insights into human development, growth, and disease. Several new authors offer fresh perspectives in many key sections of the text, and meticulous editing makes this multi-authored resource read with one unified voice. Your purchase entitles you to access the web site until the next edition is published, or until the current edition is no longer offered for sale by Elsevier, whichever occurs first. If the next edition is published less than one year after your purchase, you will be entitled to online access for one year from your date of purchase. Elsevier reserves the right to offer a suitable replacement product (such as a downloadable or CD-ROM-based electronic version) should online access to the web site be discontinued.

Molecular Cell Biology, 9th ed. by Harvey Lodish; Angelika Amon; Arnold Berk; Chris A. Kaiser; Monty Krieger; Anthony Bretscher; Hidde Ploegh; Kelsey C. Martin; Michael Yaffe, 2021 Molecular Cell Biology remains the most authoritative and cutting-edge resource available for the cell biology course. The author team, consisting of world-class researchers and teachers, incorporates medically relevant examples where appropriate to help illustrate the connections between cell biology and health and human disease. Emphasis on experimental techniques that drive advances in biomedical sciences and introduce students to cutting edge research teach students the skills they need for their careers.

OMMBID : the Online Metabolic & Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease by Dave Valle, Stylianos Antonarakis, Andrea Ballabio, Art Beaudet, Grant A. Mitchell, 2019 "Scriver's OMMBID from McGraw-Hill Medical is an essential online resource delivering comprehensive coverage of the genes and genetic mechanisms underlying human disease states. Based on the worlds most respected book on the subject, Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease, first published in 1960, Scriver's OMMBID is an indispensable digital reference tool that provides geneticists, researchers, students, clinicians, and fellows involved with the causation and treatment of inherited diseases -- with cutting edge information spanning the entire field of genetics. Much more than a literature synopsis, OMMBID provides the latest knowledge on the metabolic and molecular underpinnings of a growing list of inherited diseases as well as updates on pathophysiology and treatment." NOTE Based on: The metabolic & molecular bases of inherited disease / editors, Charles R. Scriver [and others].

Orthopaedic Basic Science : Foundations of Clinical Practice, 5e by Aaron, RK, 2020 Build your Foundation of Basic Science - from Research to Clinical Application and Advancement This fifth edition is your concise and clinically relevant resource for the scientific basis of orthopaedic surgery in support of the diagnosis and treatment of musculoskeletal diseases and conditions. Reach for this title to explain the functions, advancements, and limitations of the science behind the decisions, treatments, and procedures you perform in your practice every day. Use it to build and reinforce your foundation of knowledge for applying advances in scientific discovery to your decision making in the clinic and the OR. This new edition is completely rewritten, reorganized, and refocused through a collaboration of senior scientists and clinicians with new chapters and content reflecting the many advancement in and around the science behind musculoskeletal medicine, including epigenetics, biomaterials, tissue engineering, gender differences, and metabolic bone disease, as well as the growth of registries and best-practice guidelines. Sections include: Basic Disciplines in Orthopaedic Surgery Structure and Function of Musculoskeletal Tissues Pathophysiology and Orthopaedic Medicine Repair and Regeneration Principles of Clinical Information Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech

Pathophysiology of Blood Disorders, 2nd ed. by Howard Franklin Bunn; Jon C. Aster, 2017 A concise full-color review of the mechanisms of blood diseases and disorders - based on a Harvard Medical School hematology course Lange Pathophysiology of Blood Disorders, Second Editionis a well-illustrated, easy-to-absorb introduction to the physiological principles underlying the regulation and function of blood cells and hemostasis, as well as the pathophysiologic mechanisms responsible for the development of blood disorders. Featuring a strong emphasis on key principles, the book covers diagnosis and management primarily within a framework of pathogenesis. Authored by world-renowned clinician/educators at Harvard Medical School and presented in full-color this concise, engagingly written monograph features content and organization based on a hematology course offered to second year students at that school. ·         Succinct, to-the-point coverage that reflects current medical education More than 200 full-color photographs and renderings of disease mechanisms and blood diseases Each chapter includes learning objectives and self-assessment questions Numerous tables and diagrams encapsulate important information

Pathophysiology of Heart Disease, 7th ed. by Leonard S. Lilly, 2021 Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Enthusiastically acclaimed by medical students and faculty worldwide, this text is specifically designed to prepare students for their first encounters with patients with cardiovascular disease. Thoroughly revised by internationally recognized Harvard Medical School faculty and a team of select cardiology fellows and internal medicine residents, this seventh edition equips students with a clear, complete, and clinically relevant understanding of cardiovascular pathophysiology, setting a strong foundation for patient diagnosis and management. New seventh edition highlights: Review questions and answers in each chapter prepare students for course and board exams. New contributors include cardiology fellows and internal medicine residents, who worked closely with faculty to extend coverage of clinically pertinent issues for medical students. Updated content reflects the latest understanding of mechanisms of cardiac disease and technological advances.   Classic student-friendly features: Full-color illustrations help readers visualize and quickly grasp key concepts. Medical imaging and color clinical photographs show real-world examples of many clinically relevant cardiovascular conditions. Introductory chapter outlines and end-of-chapter summaries provide organized, quick review of core information.   Bonus online study tools: Animations help support understanding of complex, dynamic disease processes. Interactive question bank reinforces learning and improves retention.

Primer on the Metabolic Bone Diseases and Disorders of Mineral Metabolism, 9th ed. by John P. Bilezikian (Editor-In-Chief); Clifford J. Rosen, 2019 The authoritative reference to bone diseases and disorders of mineral metabolism, revised and updated Now in its ninth edition, The Primer on the Metabolic Bone Diseases and Disorders of Mineral Metabolism offers an updated and comprehensive guide to bone and mineral health. Since it was first published 30 years ago, the Primer has become the leading reference on the topic. With contributions from noted experts, the text explores basic biological factors of healthy development and disease states and makes the information accessible for clinical interventions. The ninth edition provides concise coverage of the widest possible spectrum of metabolic bone diseases and disorders of mineral metabolism. The new edition of this invaluable reference expands coverage and includes the most recent developments in the field that help to strengthen its usefulness and ensure that the Primer on the Metabolic Bone Diseases and Disorders of Mineral Metabolism maintains its place as the pre-eminent reference on bone and mineral health. This vital resource:  Provides the most accurate, up-to-date evidence-based information on basic and clinical bone science Includes more than 10 new chapters and contributions from 300 authors from wide-ranging international research centers Captures the very cutting edge of research covering mineral homeostasis, osteoporosis and other metabolic bone diseases, skeletal measurement technologies, and genetics Presents a new companion website with useful supplementary materials at www.asbmrprimer.com Written for advanced students, clinicians, and researchers working in the field of bone health and disease, Primer on the Metabolic Bone Diseases and Disorders of Mineral Metabolism is the definitive, one-stop reference for anyone working in the field of bone health and disease.

Primer on the Rheumatic Diseases, 13th ed. by John H. Klippel (Editor); Leslie J. Crofford (Editor); John H. Stone (Editor); Patience H. White (Editor), 2008 This is one of the most prestigious and comprehensive texts on arthritis and related diseases, including osteoarthritis, rheumatoid arthritis, osteoporosis, lupus and more than one hundred others. It offers medical students and physicians a concise description of the current science, diagnosis, clinical consequences, and principles of management. New and expanded chapters heighten the translational nature of this edition. Students, trainees, and practicing clinicians all need a standard textbook that can change with the times and reflect recent strides taken in understanding and treating rheumatic disease. The Primer fills that need.

Principles of Neural Science, 6th Ed by Eric R. Kandel; John D. Koester; Sarah H. Mack; Steven A. Siegelbaum, 2021 The gold standard of neuroscience texts;updated with hundreds of brand-new images and fully revised content in every chapter. A Doody's Core Titles for 2024 & 2023. For more than 40 years, Principles of Neural Science has helped readers understand the link between the human brain and behavior. As the renowned text has shown, all behavior is an expression of neural activity and the future of both clinical neurology and psychiatry is dependent on the progress of neural science. Fully updated, this sixth edition of the landmark reference reflects the latest research, clinical perspectives, and advances in the field. It offers an unparalleled perspective on the the current state and future of neural science. This new edition features: Unmatched coverage of how the nerves, brain, and mind function NEW chapters on: - The Computational Bases of Neural Circuits that Mediate Behavior - Brain-Machine Interfaces; - Decision-Making and Consciousness NEW section on the neuroscientific principles underlying the disorders of the nervous system Expanded coverage of the different forms of human memory Highly detailed chapters on stroke, Parkinson's disease, and multiple sclerosis 2,200 images, including 300 new color illustrations, diagrams, radiology studies, and PET scans Principles of Neural Science, Sixth Edition benefits from a cohesive organization, beginning with an insightful overview of the interrelationships between the brain, nervous system, genes, and behavior; The text is divided into nine sections: Part I: Overall Perspective provides an overview of the broad themes of neural science, including the basic anatomical organization of the nervous system and the genetic bases of nervous system function and behavior. Part II: Cell and Molecular Biology of Cells of the Nervous System examines the basic properties of nerve cells, including the generation and conduction of propagated signaling. Part III: Synaptic Transmission focuses on the electrophysiological and molecular mechanism of synaptic transmission with chapters on neuronal excitability, neurotransmitters, and transmitter release. Part IV: Perception discusses the various aspects of sensory perception, including how information from the primary organs of sensation is transmitted to and processed by the central nervous system. Part V: Movement considers the neural mechanisms underlying movement and examines a new treatment that addresses how the basal ganglia regulate the selection of motor actions and instantiate reinforcement learning. Part VI: The Biology of Emotion, Motivation and Homeostasis examines the neural mechanisms by which subcortical areas mediate homeostatic control mechanisms, emotions, and motivation. Part VII: Development and the Emergence of Behavior looks at the nervous system from early embryonic differentiation to the formation and elimination of synapses. Part VIII: Learning, Memory, Language and Cognition expands on the previous section, examining the cellular mechanisms of implicit and explicit memory storage, as well as decision-making and consciousness. Part IX: explores the neural mechanisms underlying diseases and disorders of the nervous system, including autism spectrum disorder, epilepsy, schizophrenia, and anxiety.

Principles of Pulmonary Medicine, 8th ed. by Steven E. Weinberger; Barbara A. Cockrill; Jess Mandel, 2023 Using a concise, understandable approach, Principles of Pulmonary Medicine, 8th Edition, provides a broad overview of this fast-changing field, integrating clinical topics with underlying physiologic, pathophysiologic, and basic science concepts. From cover to cover, it clearly explains and illustrates even the most challenging concepts in a uniquely readable and digestible fashion. With its emphasis on pathophysiology and diagnosis as the basis for optimal management of respiratory disorders, this popular text is an essential reference for medical students, trainees, and those looking for a practical update on both acute and chronic pulmonary diseases. Presents physiologic concepts, pathogenetic and pathophysiologic mechanisms, and radiologic and pathologic correlates of disease in a clear, understandable manner. Features extensive content updates on interstitial lung disease, emerging and/or viral infections (including COVID-19), lung cancer, asthma, and new biologic and immunologic treatments available for a variety of diseases. Contains excellent visuals for understanding and interpreting pulmonary disease with easy-to-understand anatomic illustrations and accompanying radiologic and pathophysiologic images―now all in full color for the first time. This edition provides even more images, especially chest radiographs and CT scans, that offer more examples of clinical disorders. Provides therapeutic strategies, including evidence for assessing relative benefits, harms, and costs. Includes useful appendices that provide simplified methods for interpreting pulmonary function tests and arterial blood gases, while also presenting sample problems that test the reader’s ability to use respiratory equations, assess pulmonary function abnormalities, and interpret arterial blood gases. Provides access to extensive online content such as author commentaries, video clips, audio recordings of lung sounds, and over 200 case-based self-assessment questions modeled after the USMLE exam. Includes margin notes throughout the text that summarize the major points and concepts and allow the reader to quickly review the material. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.

Principles of Virology, Multi-Volume by Anna Marie Skalka; Jane Flint; Vincent R. Racaniello; Glenn F. Rall; Theodora Hatziioannou, 2020 Principles of Virology, the leading virology textbook in use, is an extremely valuable and highly informative presentation of virology at the interface of modern cell biology and immunology. This text utilizes a uniquely rational approach by highlighting common principles and processes across all viruses. Using a set of representative viruses to illustrate the breadth of viral complexity, students are able to understand viral reproduction and pathogenesis and are equipped with the necessary tools for future encounters with new or understudied viruses. This fifth edition was updated to keep pace with the ever-changing field of virology. In addition to the beloved full-color illustrations, video interviews with leading scientists, movies, and links to exciting blogposts on relevant topics, this edition includes study questions and active learning puzzles in each chapter, as well as short descriptions regarding the key messages of references of special interest.  Volume I: Molecular Biology focuses on the molecular processes of viral reproduction, from entry through release. Volume II: Pathogenesis and Control addresses the interplay between viruses and their host organisms, on both the micro- and macroscale, including chapters on public health, the immune response, vaccines and other antiviral strategies, viral evolution, and a brand new chapter on the therapeutic uses of viruses. These two volumes can be used for separate courses or together in a single course. Each includes a unique appendix, glossary, and links to internet resources. Principles of Virology, Fifth Edition, is ideal for teaching the strategies by which all viruses reproduce, spread within a host, and are maintained within populations. This edition carefully reflects the results of extensive vetting and feedback received from course instructors and students, making this renowned textbook even more appropriate for undergraduate and graduate courses in virology, microbiology, and infectious diseases.

Renal Physiology, 6th ed. by Bruce M. Koeppen; Bruce A. Stanton, 2019 Gain a foundational understanding of renal physiology and how the renal system functions in health and disease. Renal Physiology, a volume in the Mosby Physiology Series, explains the fundamentals of this complex subject in a clear and concise manner, while helping you bridge the gap between normal kidney function and disease with pathophysiology content throughout the book. Helps you easily master the material in a systems-based curriculum with learning objectives, "In the Clinic" and "At the Molecular Level" boxes, chapter summaries, clinical cases with review questions and answers, self-study questions, and a comprehensive exam. Includes more than 250 clear, 2-color diagrams that simplify complex concepts. Features clinical commentaries that show you how to apply what you've learned to real-life clinical situations. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Complete the Mosby Physiology Series! Systems-based and portable, these titles are ideal for integrated programs. Blaustein, Kao, & Matteson: Cellular Physiology and Neurophysiology Cloutier: Respiratory Physiology Pappano & Wier: Cardiovascular Physiology Johnson: Gastrointestinal Physiology White, Harrison, & Mehlmann: Endocrine and Reproductive Physiology Hudnall: Hematology: A Pathophysiologic Approach

Resolving Ethical Dilemmas, 6th ed by Bernard Lo, 2020 What are the ethical issues raised by the increasing use of big data and artificial intelligence in health care? How should physicians respond when they have a conscientious objection to an intervention requested by a patient? How should health care organizations respond to physician requests? How can physicians best help patients make informed decisions about end-of-life and life-sustaining care? How should interns and residents respond to ethical dilemmas created by duty hours restrictions? Resolving Ethical Dilemmas: A Guide for Clinicians helps residents, students, and practitioners work through these and many more common and challenging ethical questions that affect patient care. The 6th Edition reflects important changes in medicine and healthcare policy and provides additional clarity to complex concepts. Offering practical, real-world advice, it helps you think through and resolve difficult cases, prompting thoughtful, well-reasoned answers to the question of "What do I do in this situation?" Begins with a concise discussion of clinical ethics that provides background information essential to understanding key ethical issues. Explores a wide range of real-world ethical dilemmas, each accompanied by expert guidance on salient issues and how to approach them. Provides new insights on cases related to oncology, palliative care, family medicine, clinical practice guidelines, genetic testing, the electronic health record, opioid prescriptions, evidence-based medicine, ambulatory care, quality improvement, and advance care planning. Helps you work thorough challenges such as how to handle changes arising from the Affordable Care Act, how to manage treatment when it no longer works for the patient, and much more. Uses a highly visual, two-color design to facilitate retention of material.

Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease, 10e by Vinay Kumar; Abul K. Abbas; Jon C. Aster, 2021 Readable and highly illustrated, Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease, 10th Edition presents an in-depth, state-of-the-art overview of human diseases and their cellular and molecular basis. This best-selling text delivers the latest, most essential pathology knowledge in a readable, interesting manner, ensuring optimal understanding of the latest basic science and clinical content. More than 1,000 high-quality photographs and full-color illustrations highlight new information in molecular biology, disease classifications, new drugs and drug therapies, and much more. This superb learning package also includes an enhanced eBook with a full complement of ancillary content on Student Consult. Provides uniquely authoritative and readable coverage, ideal for USMLE or specialty board preparation, as well as for coursework. Covers the hot topics you need to know about, including novel therapies for hepatitis C, classification of lymphomas, unfolded protein response, non-apoptotic pathways of cell death, coronavirus infections, liquid biopsy for cancer detection, regulation of iron absorption, clonal hematopoiesis and atherosclerosis, thrombotic microangiopathies, heparin-induced thrombocytopenias, inflammatory myopathies, genetic tools for treatment of cystic fibrosis, and many more. Uses an outstanding full-color, user-friendly design to simplify your study and quickly direct you to the information you need to know, with learning features such as boldface overviews at the beginning of each section, key concepts boxes, suggested readings, schematic diagrams that illustrate complex concepts, and new gross and microscopic figures for clarity of morphology. Brings you up to date with the latest information in molecular and genetic testing, mechanisms of disease, personalized medicine and its impact on treatment of human diseases, the role of microbiome and metabolome in non-communicable diseases, and much more. Provides access to a wealth of interactive ancillaries online: pathology case studies, videos, self-assessment questions, Targeted Therapy boxes that discuss drug therapy for specific diseases, interactive cases, and more.

Sleisenger and Fordtran's Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease, 11e by Mark Feldman; Lawrence S. Friedman; Lawrence J. Brandt, 2021 For nearly 50 years, Sleisenger & Fordtran's Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease has been the go-to reference for gastroenterology and hepatology residents, fellows, physicians, and the entire GI caregiving team. Now in a fully revised 11th Edition, this two-volume masterwork brings together the knowledge and expertise of hundreds of global experts who keep you up to date with the newest techniques, technologies, and treatments for every clinical challenge you face in gastroenterology and hepatology. A logical organization, more than 1,100 full-color illustrations, and easy-to-use algorithms ensure that you'll quickly and easily find the information you need. Features new and expanded discussions of chronic hepatitis B and C, Helicobacter pylori infection, colorectal cancer prevention through screening and surveillance, biologic agents and novel small molecules to treat and prevent recurrences of inflammatory bowel disease (IBD), gastrointestinal immune and autoimmune diseases, and more. Offers reliable coverage of key topics such as Barrett's esophagus, gut microbiome, enteric microbiota and probiotics, fecal microbiota transplantation, and hepatic, pancreatic, and small bowel transplantation. Provides more quick-reference algorithms that summarize clinical decision making and practical approaches to patient management. Employs a consistent, templated, format throughout for quick retrieval of information. Includes monthly updates online, as well as more than 20 procedural videos.

Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology, 5th ed by Stephen M. Stahl, 2021 Long established as the preeminent source in its field, the eagerly anticipated fifth edition of Dr Stahl's essential textbook of psychopharmacology is here! With its use of icons and figures that form Dr Stahl's unique 'visual language', the book is the single most readable source of information on disease and drug mechanisms for all students and mental health professionals seeking to understand and utilize current therapeutics, and to anticipate the future for novel medications. Every aspect of the book has been updated, with the clarity of explanation that only Dr Stahl can bring. The new edition includes over 500 new or refreshed figures, an intuitive color scheme, fourteen new uses for older drugs and eighteen brand new drugs, coverage of Parkinson's Disease Psychosis, behavioural symptoms of dementia, and mixed features in major depressive episodes, and expanded information on the medical uses of cannabis and hallucinogen assisted psychotherapy.

Stahl's Prescriber's Guide, 8th ed. by Stephen M. Stahl, 2024 With the range of psychotropic drugs expanding and the usages of existing medications diversifying, we are pleased to present the Eighth Edition of the world's best-selling formulary in psychopharmacology. The new edition features seven brand new compounds as well as information about several newly approved formulations of existing drugs. Many important new indications are covered for existing drugs, as are updates to the profiles of the entire content and collection, including new injectable and transdermal formulations, as well as updated warnings and indications. The icons and Pearls have been refreshed throughout, and with the book's its easy-to-use, full-colour template-driven navigation system, Prescriber's Guide combines evidence-based data with clinically informed advice to support everyone who is prescribing in the field of mental health.

Thompson and Thompson Genetics and Genomics in Medicine, 9th ed by Ronald Cohn (Editor), 2023 First published in 1966, Thompson and Thompson Genetics and Genomics in Medicine has become an essential textbook for medical students, genetic counseling students, students in laboratory medicine, and more advanced trainees. With its focus on fundamental principles in human genetics and genomics and their application to medicine, the book has served many as a well-thumbed resource they return to over and over. Such students can continue to depend on this valuable text, joining those in newer fields of genome data analysis for all they need to know about genetics and genomics throughout their basic science training, clinical placements and beyond. Coverage includes new discoveries-such as the functional roles of non-coding RNAs, chromatin regulation and epigenetics-latest technologies, and new diagnoses they are enabling. Under an expanded title, this ninth edition has been completely revised by a new editorial team overseeing a large cadre of contributing authors. Support groups have also assisted to update illustrations featuring beautiful images of those living with genetic conditions. Comprehensive coverage of: genomes in biology and medicine; copy number and structural genomic variation; novel discoveries; latest technology; and new genetic diagnoses Over 40 clinical case studies, capturing the latest challenges of variable expression, pleiotropy, and complex disorders through new diagnostic strategies Full-color text, illustrations, updated line diagrams, and clinical photos End-of-chapter questions and comprehensive answers to challenge the reader to consolidate the material into practice and prepare for examination An enhanced eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud Updated and new clinical cases, supported with photography by the not-for-profit organization, Positive Exposure New content on growing role of sequencing and novel functional assays in diagnosis and screening of genetic conditions New chapter on Epigenetics Clearer and more precise terminology, in response to contemporary and evolving guidelines New sections describing the use (and need for) genetic information from diverse populations, including unique indigenous and founder populations, for diagnosis and management.

Transfusion Medicine and Hemostasis, 4th ed by Beth H. Shaz (Editor); Christopher D. Hillyer (Editor); Joseph (Yossi) Schwartz (Editor); Morayma Reyes Gil (Editor), 2024 **Selected for 2025 Doody's Core Titles® in Laboratory Medicine** Transfusion Medicine and Hemostasis: Clinical and Laboratory Aspects, Fourth Edition continues to be the only "pocket-size" quick reference for pathology and transfusion medicine for residents and fellows. It is helpful to all physicians and allied health professionals who order and administer blood components, cellular therapies, specialized factors for hemostatic abnormalities, coagulation testing, and those who consult and care for these often very ill patients. This book is ideal for pathology, medicine, surgery, and anesthesia residents, transfusion, hematology, and anesthesia fellows, and certified and specialized practitioners, as well as medical technologist in transfusion, cellular therapy, hematology, and coagulation. This new edition covers the many new developments that have occurred since the previous edition to include new blood products, new indications, or clinical conditions in which blood products are used. Similarly, new hemostasis testing is introduced as well as new clinical scenarios due the COVID-19 pandemic that area relevant to hemostasis and transfusion medicine. This includes COVID coagulopathy, Vaccine Induced Thrombotic Immune Thrombocytopenia, Pediatric reference range in coagulation testing, Platelet rich plasma and MNC products - CAR-T cells.

Wheater's Functional Histology, 7th ed by Geraldine O'Dowd; Sarah Bell; Sylvia Wright, 2023

Williams Hematology, 10th ed by Kenneth Kaushansky; Marshall A. Lichtman; Josef T. Prchal; Marcel M. Levi; Linda J. Burns; David C. Linch, 2021 The landmark text that has guided generations of hematologists and related practitioners--updated with the latest research findings and improved format and presentation Long revered for its comprehensiveness and extraordinary depth of detail, Williams Hematology delivers virtually every answer you're looking for, provides clear and thorough rationales for each one, and contains a wealth of basic science and translational pathophysiology for optimal, lifelong learning. The cream of the crop of research and clinical hematology, the editors--three of whom are former Presidents of the American Society of Hematology--are known worldwide for their contributions to the field. This new edition contains everything that has made Williams the go-to resource for decades and has been updated with critical new research into the molecular mechanisms responsible for hematological disorders and the impact on diagnosis and treatment.