Skip to Main Content
Core E-Books
Atlas of Cardiovascular Emergencies by Cedric Lefebvre, 2015
Accurately interpret cardiovascular images for fast, effective emergency management This unique combination atlas and text is a concise guide to acute care cardiovascular image interpretation for the diagnosis and management of emergency conditions. Each condition or disorder is described in a consistently designed, well-illustrated section. Concise, bulleted text details clinical highlights, emergency department treatment and disposition, and clinical pearls and pitfalls. Created for use at the point of care, Atlas of Cardiovascular Emergencies is enhanced by more than 400 images, many in full color. Atlas of Cardiovascular Emergencies is logically divided into nine chapters: Anatomy Electrocardiography: Normal Heart, Ischemic and Chronic Vascular Disease Principles of Cardiovascular Imaging Devices Arrhythmias Vascular Disease Cardiomyopathies Pediatric Cardiology Procedures
Color Atlas and Synopsis of Echocardiography by David A. Orsinelli, 2015
Accurately interpret cardiac ultrasound images and effectively manage the patient with this comprehensive atlas and text Color Atlas & Synopsis of Echocardiography provides you with an encyclopedic, case-based overview of this essential imaging modality. Featuring more than 500 of state-of-the-art cardiac ultrasound images, this unmatched resource examines both the optimal use and limitations of echocardiography in a variety of clinical situations, with an emphasis on the very latest techniques. Unlike traditional echocardiography texts, this Atlas is focused on the role of echocardiography in patient diagnosis and management, as well as in reviewing the indications, contraindications, and interpretation of echocardiographic images. Authored by expert contributors, each topic begins with a clinical case presentation (patient story) and also includes evidence ratings from the combined ACC/AHA/ASE guidelines and full references. Topics include: Echocardiographic methods used in everyday practice for the diagnosis and management of cardiac patients, from Transthoracic, Transesophageal and Stress Echocardiography to Hand-Carried Ultrasound (HCU) The role of echocardiography in the diagnosis and management of patients with known or suspected coronary artery disease The importance of echocardiography, including Doppler echo, as a method to assess patients with valvular heart disease Echocardiographic assessment of the patient with new onset dyspnea, known or suspected heart failure, and a range of cardiomyopathies The use of echo in pericardial disease Various diseases of the aorta The use of echocardiography in the patient with a stroke or TIA Echocardiographic evaluation of intracardiac masses The role of echocardiography in managing patients with atrial dysrhythmias The expanding role of echocardiography in guiding interventional procedures
Color Atlas and Synopsis of Heart Failure by Haas; Ragavendra Baliga, 2019
A unique combination color atlas and synoptic text on managing heart failure As the incidence of heart failure continues to grow, treatments that will improve survival and alleviate the economic burden of this condition are urgently needed. With this in mind, the author has put together Color Atlas and Synopsis of Heart Failure. This practical, highly clinical resource fills the need in the literature for a visual resource that provides expert textual guidance on managing heart failure, along with a comprehensive collection of more than 500 images (nearly 300 in full color) illustrating specific procedures. To give the book true real-world application, each topic begins with a case scenario and includes evidence ratings from the combined ACC/AHA guidelines. FEATURES: *Of value to medical students, postgraduate trainees, practicing cardiologists, physician assistants, and general practitioners *45 chapters include expert coverage of the latest breakthroughs and therapies, including: genetic testing for cardiomyopathy; cardiotoxicity; biomarkers in heart failure; cardiac resynchronization therapy; the role of echocardiography in selection, implantation, and management of patients requiring left ventricular assist device therapy; left ventricular assist devices, and much more *In order to be as clinically relevant as possible, there is a strong focus on indications, contraindications, interpretations, and patient management *Most chapters begin with a case scenario, putting the issues into clinical, real-world perspective *Presented in a convenient, quick-access format that makes the information easy to find and incorporate into practice If you are in need of an expertly written, well-illustrated resource that focuses on the clinical aspects of managing heart failure, and is designed to help you provide better care to your patients, Color Atlas and Synopsis of Heart Failure belongs on your desk.
Color Atlas and Synopsis of Interventional Cardiology by Vincent A. Pompili; Scott M. Lilly; Ragavendra R. Baliga, 2018
A unique combination color atlas and synoptic text on interventional cardiology procedures Within the field cardiovascular medicine, interventional cardiology has evolved rapidly in the last decade. In particular, there are advanced therapeutic valvular interventions that compare to historical outcomes with surgical approaches. Transcatheter aortic valve replacement may soon become the standard of care, and transcatheter mitral valve interventions continue to develop rapidly. In addition, improvements in drug-eluting stent technology continue to improve long-term outcomes. Keeping in mind of these rapid advances in interventional cardiology, we have put together this color atlas and synopsis of interventional cardiology to enable medical students, postgraduate physician trainees, practicing clinicians, including physician assistants, nurse practitioners, internal medicine physicians, and general practitioners so that they can rapidly assimilate information on a wide variety of interventional cardiology related topics. This practical, highly clinical resource fills the need in the literature for an interventional cardiology reference that provides expert textual guidance on patient diagnosis and management, along with a comprehensive collection of images (many in full color) illustrating specific procedures. FEATURES: *Logically divided into four sections: The Hemodynamic Study, Percutaneous Coronary Interventions, Non-Coronary Cardiac Interventions, and Peripheral Interventions *Strong focus on normal anatomy, radiographic anatomy, indications, contraindications, interpretations, and patient management *Most chapters begin with a case scenario, putting the issue into clinical, real-world perspective. This beautifully illustrated, concisely written resource is perfect for busy cardiologists of all specialties who require broad coverage of the topic in a convenient, quick-access presentation. Videos for Chapter 33 can be found at:https://accesscardiology.mhmedical.com/content.aspx?bookid=2372§ionid=185600360
Core E-Books
Intraoperative and Interventional Echocardiography by Donald Oxorn; Catherine M. Otto, 2018
Case-based and heavily illustrated, Intraoperative and Interventional Echocardiography: Atlas of Transesophageal Imaging, 2nd Edition covers virtually every clinical scenario in which you're likely to use TEE. Drs. Donald C. Oxorn and Catherine M. Otto provide practical, how-to guidance on transesophageal echocardiography, including new approaches and state-of-the-art technologies. More than 1,500 images and accompanying videos sharpen your image acquisition and analysis skills and help you master this challenging technique. Real-world cases, hundreds of procedural videos, and abundant, detailed figures and tables show you exactly how to proceed, step by step, and get the best results. Each case begins with a brief presentation and discussion, and integrates clinical echocardiography, surgical pathology, and other imaging data. Clear descriptions of preoperative pathology guide you in choosing the best approach to common problems. The practice-based learning approach with expert commentary for each case helps you retain complex information and apply it in your daily practice. Every chapter has been thoroughly revised, with discussions of new technology and new techniques, including several techniques that are on the verge of becoming mainstream. New chapters cover current transcatheter valve therapies and device closures. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Netter's Cardiology by George Stouffer; Marschall S. Runge; Cam Patterson; Joseph S. Rossi, 2019
Perfect for residents, generalists, anesthesiologists, emergency department physicians, medical students, nurses, and other healthcare professionals who need a practical, working knowledge of cardiology, Netter's Cardiology, 3rd Edition, provides a concise overview of cardiovascular disease highlighted by unique, memorable Netter illustrations. This superb visual resource showcases the well-known work of Frank H. Netter, MD, and his successor, Carlos Machado, MD, a cardiologist who has created clear, full-color illustrations in the Netter tradition. New features and all-new chapters keep you up to date with the latest information in the field. Includes 13 all-new chapters: Basic Anatomy and Embryology of the Heart, Stem Cell Therapies for Cardiovascular Disease, Diabetes and Cardiovascular Events, Clinical Presentation of Adults with Congenital Heart Disease, Transcatheter Aortic Valve Replacement, Deep Vein Thrombosis and Pulmonary Embolism, and more. Videos and 25 printable patient education brochures included in the enhanced eBook version Features new coverage of 3-D TEE imaging for structural heart procedures. Contains color-coded diagnostic and therapeutic algorithms and clinical pathways. Uses an easy-to-follow, templated format, covering etiology, pathogenesis, clinical presentation, diagnostic approach, and management/therapy for each topic. Offers dependable clinical advice from Drs. George A. Stouffer, Marschall S. Runge, Cam Patterson, and Joseph S. Rossi, as well as many world-renowned chapter contributors. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
The Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations - Cardiovascular System by C. Richard Conti, 2025
View the cardiovascular system as only Netter images can depict it. Part of the masterwork known as The Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations (the CIBA "Green Books"), it provides a highly visual guide to the heart, from basic science, anatomy, and physiology to pathology and injury. This reference has been updated to mirror the many exciting advances in cardiovascular medicine and imaging, offering classic Netter illustrations, as well as new illustrations created by artist-physician Carlos Machado, MD and others working in the Netter style. Gain a rich clinical view of all aspects of the cardiovascular system in one comprehensive volume, conveyed through beautiful illustrations and radiologic images. Clearly see the connection between basic science and clinical practice with an integrated overview of normal structure and function as it relates to pathologic conditions. Grasp current clinical concepts regarding development, pediatrics, and adult medicine captured in classic Netter illustrations, as well as new illustrations created by artist-physician Carlos Machado, MD, and others working in the Netter style. Quickly understand complex topics thanks to a concise text-atlas format that provides a context bridge between primary and specialized medicine. Benefit from matchless Netter illustrations that offer precision, clarity, detail and realism as they provide a visual approach to the clinical presentation and care of the patient.
Structural Heart Cases by Paul Sorajja; Wesley A. Pedersen; John R. Lesser; Richard Bae; Emmanouil Brilakis, 2019
Using a practical, case-based format, this superbly illustrated atlas by Dr. Paul Sorajja is a comprehensive collection of more than 130 professional experiences in treating structural heart disease. Organized by pathology, each case presents key clinical points for practitioners at all levels, from beginner to expert. Cases are provided by interventionalists and surgeons with extensive hands-on experience, and edited by experts in the field Includes more than 130 cases covering the full range of structural procedures formitral valve disease, aortic valve disease, prosthetic valve disease, congenital heart disease, hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, and tricuspid disease. Features more than 500 detailed instructional images for quick visual comprehension of essential aspects of each case. Each case includes clinical information, diagnostic images, bulleted learning points, and explanations and rationales for every step of the procedure. Covers catheter-based therapy for structural heart disease - an increasingly important and rapidly growing therapy for valvular heart disease. Provides operator pitfalls and errors to help optimize success with each procedure. Allows practitioners at all levels of experience to explore, gain insight, and learn important keys for success. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Atlas of Cardiovascular Emergencies by
Accurately interpret cardiovascular images for fast, effective emergency management This unique combination atlas and text is a concise guide to acute care cardiovascular image interpretation for the diagnosis and management of emergency conditions. Each condition or disorder is described in a consistently designed, well-illustrated section. Concise, bulleted text details clinical highlights, emergency department treatment and disposition, and clinical pearls and pitfalls. Created for use at the point of care, Atlas of Cardiovascular Emergencies is enhanced by more than 400 images, many in full color. Atlas of Cardiovascular Emergencies is logically divided into nine chapters: Anatomy Electrocardiography: Normal Heart, Ischemic and Chronic Vascular Disease Principles of Cardiovascular Imaging Devices Arrhythmias Vascular Disease Cardiomyopathies Pediatric Cardiology Procedures
Atlas of Clinical Vascular Medicine by
Clinically focused, case-based guide with self-assessment in each section from the world's leading authorities Companion Website featuring downloadable versions of the book's nearly 200 images for easy integration into your own presentations.
Color Atlas and Synopsis of Echocardiography by
Accurately interpret cardiac ultrasound images and effectively manage the patient with this comprehensive atlas and text Color Atlas & Synopsis of Echocardiography provides you with an encyclopedic, case-based overview of this essential imaging modality. Featuring more than 500 of state-of-the-art cardiac ultrasound images, this unmatched resource examines both the optimal use and limitations of echocardiography in a variety of clinical situations, with an emphasis on the very latest techniques. Unlike traditional echocardiography texts, this Atlas is focused on the role of echocardiography in patient diagnosis and management, as well as in reviewing the indications, contraindications, and interpretation of echocardiographic images. Authored by expert contributors, each topic begins with a clinical case presentation (patient story) and also includes evidence ratings from the combined ACC/AHA/ASE guidelines and full references. Topics include: Echocardiographic methods used in everyday practice for the diagnosis and management of cardiac patients, from Transthoracic, Transesophageal and Stress Echocardiography to Hand-Carried Ultrasound (HCU) The role of echocardiography in the diagnosis and management of patients with known or suspected coronary artery disease The importance of echocardiography, including Doppler echo, as a method to assess patients with valvular heart disease Echocardiographic assessment of the patient with new onset dyspnea, known or suspected heart failure, and a range of cardiomyopathies The use of echo in pericardial disease Various diseases of the aorta The use of echocardiography in the patient with a stroke or TIA Echocardiographic evaluation of intracardiac masses The role of echocardiography in managing patients with atrial dysrhythmias The expanding role of echocardiography in guiding interventional procedures
Color Atlas and Synopsis of Heart Failure by
A unique combination color atlas and synoptic text on managing heart failure As the incidence of heart failure continues to grow, treatments that will improve survival and alleviate the economic burden of this condition are urgently needed. With this in mind, the author has put together Color Atlas and Synopsis of Heart Failure. This practical, highly clinical resource fills the need in the literature for a visual resource that provides expert textual guidance on managing heart failure, along with a comprehensive collection of more than 500 images (nearly 300 in full color) illustrating specific procedures. To give the book true real-world application, each topic begins with a case scenario and includes evidence ratings from the combined ACC/AHA guidelines. FEATURES: *Of value to medical students, postgraduate trainees, practicing cardiologists, physician assistants, and general practitioners *45 chapters include expert coverage of the latest breakthroughs and therapies, including: genetic testing for cardiomyopathy; cardiotoxicity; biomarkers in heart failure; cardiac resynchronization therapy; the role of echocardiography in selection, implantation, and management of patients requiring left ventricular assist device therapy; left ventricular assist devices, and much more *In order to be as clinically relevant as possible, there is a strong focus on indications, contraindications, interpretations, and patient management *Most chapters begin with a case scenario, putting the issues into clinical, real-world perspective *Presented in a convenient, quick-access format that makes the information easy to find and incorporate into practice If you are in need of an expertly written, well-illustrated resource that focuses on the clinical aspects of managing heart failure, and is designed to help you provide better care to your patients, Color Atlas and Synopsis of Heart Failure belongs on your desk.
Color Atlas and Synopsis of Interventional Cardiology by
A unique combination color atlas and synoptic text on interventional cardiology procedures Within the field cardiovascular medicine, interventional cardiology has evolved rapidly in the last decade. In particular, there are advanced therapeutic valvular interventions that compare to historical outcomes with surgical approaches. Transcatheter aortic valve replacement may soon become the standard of care, and transcatheter mitral valve interventions continue to develop rapidly. In addition, improvements in drug-eluting stent technology continue to improve long-term outcomes. Keeping in mind of these rapid advances in interventional cardiology, we have put together this color atlas and synopsis of interventional cardiology to enable medical students, postgraduate physician trainees, practicing clinicians, including physician assistants, nurse practitioners, internal medicine physicians, and general practitioners so that they can rapidly assimilate information on a wide variety of interventional cardiology related topics. This practical, highly clinical resource fills the need in the literature for an interventional cardiology reference that provides expert textual guidance on patient diagnosis and management, along with a comprehensive collection of images (many in full color) illustrating specific procedures. FEATURES: *Logically divided into four sections: The Hemodynamic Study, Percutaneous Coronary Interventions, Non-Coronary Cardiac Interventions, and Peripheral Interventions *Strong focus on normal anatomy, radiographic anatomy, indications, contraindications, interpretations, and patient management *Most chapters begin with a case scenario, putting the issue into clinical, real-world perspective. This beautifully illustrated, concisely written resource is perfect for busy cardiologists of all specialties who require broad coverage of the topic in a convenient, quick-access presentation. Videos for Chapter 33 can be found at:https://accesscardiology.mhmedical.com/content.aspx?bookid=2372§ionid=185600360
Intraoperative and Interventional Echocardiography by
Case-based and heavily illustrated, Intraoperative and Interventional Echocardiography: Atlas of Transesophageal Imaging, 2nd Edition covers virtually every clinical scenario in which you're likely to use TEE. Drs. Donald C. Oxorn and Catherine M. Otto provide practical, how-to guidance on transesophageal echocardiography, including new approaches and state-of-the-art technologies. More than 1,500 images and accompanying videos sharpen your image acquisition and analysis skills and help you master this challenging technique. Real-world cases, hundreds of procedural videos, and abundant, detailed figures and tables show you exactly how to proceed, step by step, and get the best results. Each case begins with a brief presentation and discussion, and integrates clinical echocardiography, surgical pathology, and other imaging data. Clear descriptions of preoperative pathology guide you in choosing the best approach to common problems. The practice-based learning approach with expert commentary for each case helps you retain complex information and apply it in your daily practice. Every chapter has been thoroughly revised, with discussions of new technology and new techniques, including several techniques that are on the verge of becoming mainstream. New chapters cover current transcatheter valve therapies and device closures. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Netter's Cardiology by
Perfect for residents, generalists, anesthesiologists, emergency department physicians, medical students, nurses, and other healthcare professionals who need a practical, working knowledge of cardiology, Netter's Cardiology, 3rd Edition, provides a concise overview of cardiovascular disease highlighted by unique, memorable Netter illustrations. This superb visual resource showcases the well-known work of Frank H. Netter, MD, and his successor, Carlos Machado, MD, a cardiologist who has created clear, full-color illustrations in the Netter tradition. New features and all-new chapters keep you up to date with the latest information in the field. Includes 13 all-new chapters: Basic Anatomy and Embryology of the Heart, Stem Cell Therapies for Cardiovascular Disease, Diabetes and Cardiovascular Events, Clinical Presentation of Adults with Congenital Heart Disease, Transcatheter Aortic Valve Replacement, Deep Vein Thrombosis and Pulmonary Embolism, and more. Videos and 25 printable patient education brochures included in the enhanced eBook version Features new coverage of 3-D TEE imaging for structural heart procedures. Contains color-coded diagnostic and therapeutic algorithms and clinical pathways. Uses an easy-to-follow, templated format, covering etiology, pathogenesis, clinical presentation, diagnostic approach, and management/therapy for each topic. Offers dependable clinical advice from Drs. George A. Stouffer, Marschall S. Runge, Cam Patterson, and Joseph S. Rossi, as well as many world-renowned chapter contributors. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
The Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations - Cardiovascular System by
View the cardiovascular system as only Netter images can depict it. Part of the masterwork known as The Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations (the CIBA "Green Books"), it provides a highly visual guide to the heart, from basic science, anatomy, and physiology to pathology and injury. This reference has been updated to mirror the many exciting advances in cardiovascular medicine and imaging, offering classic Netter illustrations, as well as new illustrations created by artist-physician Carlos Machado, MD and others working in the Netter style. Gain a rich clinical view of all aspects of the cardiovascular system in one comprehensive volume, conveyed through beautiful illustrations and radiologic images. Clearly see the connection between basic science and clinical practice with an integrated overview of normal structure and function as it relates to pathologic conditions. Grasp current clinical concepts regarding development, pediatrics, and adult medicine captured in classic Netter illustrations, as well as new illustrations created by artist-physician Carlos Machado, MD, and others working in the Netter style. Quickly understand complex topics thanks to a concise text-atlas format that provides a context bridge between primary and specialized medicine. Benefit from matchless Netter illustrations that offer precision, clarity, detail and realism as they provide a visual approach to the clinical presentation and care of the patient.
Structural Heart Cases by
Using a practical, case-based format, this superbly illustrated atlas by Dr. Paul Sorajja is a comprehensive collection of more than 130 professional experiences in treating structural heart disease. Organized by pathology, each case presents key clinical points for practitioners at all levels, from beginner to expert. Cases are provided by interventionalists and surgeons with extensive hands-on experience, and edited by experts in the field Includes more than 130 cases covering the full range of structural procedures formitral valve disease, aortic valve disease, prosthetic valve disease, congenital heart disease, hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, and tricuspid disease. Features more than 500 detailed instructional images for quick visual comprehension of essential aspects of each case. Each case includes clinical information, diagnostic images, bulleted learning points, and explanations and rationales for every step of the procedure. Covers catheter-based therapy for structural heart disease - an increasingly important and rapidly growing therapy for valvular heart disease. Provides operator pitfalls and errors to help optimize success with each procedure. Allows practitioners at all levels of experience to explore, gain insight, and learn important keys for success. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.