A Guide to Psychosocial and Spiritual Care at the End of Life by
Psychological, social, and spiritual care is as important as physical care at the end of life. Yet caregivers often feel ill-equipped to give that nonphysical care. This book shows how to do it. The book addresses all caregivers who attend dying patients: doctors, nurses, chaplains, clergy in the pastorate, social workers, clinical psychologists, family caregivers, and others. It covers such topics as the functional and emotional trajectories of dying; the varied approaches of patients and caregivers to end-of-life decisions; culturally based beliefs about dying; the differences between depression and grief; and people's views about the right time to die, the death experience itself, and the afterlife. For each topic the book introduces core concepts and summarizes recent research about them. The book presents much of its material in readable tables for easy reference; applies the material to real-life cases; lists the main "take home" points for each chapter; and gives references for additional reading. The book helps caregivers anticipate the reactions of patients and survivors to end-of-life traumas and suggests how caregivers can respond insightfully and compassionately. At the same time the book challenges caregivers to think through their own views about death and dying. This book, therefore, is a must-read for all caregivers―professional and nonprofessional alike―who strive to give their patients comprehensive, high-quality end-of-life care.
Dying and Death in Oncology by
This book brings together in one volume many important topics about death and dying, including the pathophysiology of death, the causes of death among cancer patients, the ethics of death, the legal aspects of death for the physician and for the patient and caregivers, the economics of death, the medical management of the dying patient, including pain and dyspnea, the prediction of death, and the spiritual management of the dying patient. It also discusses other medical and humanistic aspects of death and dying, such as the historical definition of death and various cultures' and religions' viewpoints on death and the afterlife. Everybody, including every patient with cancer, will die, and every physician will have to assist dying patients. Oncologists face this prospect more often than many physicians. And yet to date there has been no comprehensive textbook on Thanatology, the academic discipline studying death and dying, to assist oncologists in this difficult task. This book will help the physician to understand his or her own relationship with death and to communicate about death and dying with the patient and the patient's caregivers.
50 Studies Every Palliative Care Doctor Should Know by
50 Studies Every Palliative Care Doctor Should Know presents key studies that have shaped the practice of palliative medicine. Selected using a rigorous methodology, the studies cover topics including: palliative care, symptom assessment and management, psychosocial aspects of care and communication, and end-of-life care. For each study, a concise summary is presented with an emphasis on the results and limitations of the study, and its implications for practice. An illustrative clinical case concludes each review, followed by brief information on other relevant studies. This book is a must-read for health care professionals and anyone who wants to learn more about the data behind clinical practice.
Children's Palliative Care: an International Case-Based Manual by
This manual enables individuals working in children's palliative care (CPC) globally to learn through engaging real-world cases. The aim is to provide a clinical case-based resource that is globally relevant and accessible to those working in CPC. Drawing on case histories from around the world that reflect key issues and elements of CPC, it provides a practical approach grounded in experience. It addresses multidisciplinary care in the management of children and their families; discusses cases from an international perspective, and shares examples from a variety of countries, utilising cases across a range of ages and conditions, demonstrating holistic care. It represents the first case-based manual on global CPC and is endorsed and promoted by the International Children's Palliative Care Network (ICPCN). Children's palliative care is a rapidly developing field, both in the UK and internationally. The provision of CPC varies considerably, with provision often being insufficient, and over 65% of countries having no recognised CPC service provision whatsoever. As such, while there are an estimated 21.6 million children who require palliative care, in many areas of the world, CPC is poor or non-existent, and children are treated like little adults without their distinctive needs being recognised or understood. There is also a dearth of literature on CPC, hence this clinical case-based manual fills a gap in the market, and is aimed at a global audience, making it a unique text in the field.
The Handbook of LGBTQIA-Inclusive Hospice and Palliative Care by
Hospice and palliative care professionals are experts at caring for individuals and families experiencing serious or life-limiting illnesses. Not everyone feels safe seeking out their expertise, however: LGBTQIA+ people may be deterred from seeking support because of barriers--both overt and subtle--that hospice and palliative care programs and professionals erect through their policies and practices. This book is an accessible, expert guide to incorporating LGBTQIA-inclusive practices into end-of-life care. It equips both new and experienced hospice and palliative care professionals with the knowledge they need to ensure that all people receive high-quality care. Kimberly D. Acquaviva surveys fundamental concepts and the latest clinical developments, integrating relatable anecdotes and poignant personal reflections. She discusses her own experience caring for her wife, Kathy, who was diagnosed with ovarian cancer in 2019. Unable to find a local hospice with an LGBTQIA-inclusive nondiscrimination statement, let alone one whose staff had been trained to provide nondiscriminatory care to LGBTQIA+ people, Kathy died at home six months later without hospice care. Acquaviva offers clear, actionable strategies for palliative care and hospice physicians, physician associates, advanced-practice registered nurses, registered nurses, social workers, counselors, chaplains, and others. She also emphasizes how incorporating LGBTQIA-inclusive practices can transform work with every person receiving care. Anchored in the evidence and written in plain language, this book is the definitive guide for hospice and palliative care professionals seeking to deliver exceptional care to all the patients and families they serve.
Handbook of Pain and Palliative Care by
Handbook of Pain and Palliative Care:Biobehavioral Approaches for the Life Course Rhonda J. Moore, editor This book takes both a biobehavioral and a lifespan approach to understanding long-term and chronic pain, and intervening to optimize patients' functioning. Rich in clinical diversity, chapters explore emerging areas of interest (computer-based interventions, fibromyalgia, stress), ongoing concerns (cancer pain, low back pain), and special populations (pediatric, elderly, military). This coverage provides readers with a knowledge base in assessment, treatment, and management that is up to date, practice strengthening, and forward looking. Subject areas featured in the Handbook include: ▪ Patient-practitioner communication ▪ Assessment tools and strategies ▪ Common pain conditions across the lifespan ▪ Biobehavioral mechanisms of chronic pain ▪ Pharmaceutical, neurological, and rehabilitative interventions ▪ Psychosocial, complementary/alternative, narrative, and spiritual approaches ▪ Ethical issue and future directions With the rise of integrative perspective and the emphasis on overall quality of life rather than discrete symptoms, pain management is gaining importance across medical disciplines. Handbook of Pain and Palliative Care stands out as a one-stop reference for a range of professionals, including health practitioners specializing in pain management or palliative care, clinical and health psychologists, public health professionals, and clinicians and administrators in long-term care and hospice.
Handbook of Palliative Care by
Handbook of palliative care Comprehensive resource utilising up-to-date evidence and guidelines to support non-specialists in palliative care in both hospital and community settings Building on the success of previous editions, this new edition of the award winning handbook has a practical focus and provides the user with an approach to clinical challenges while also providing enough information to explain why this approach is suggested. The 4th edition of Handbook of Palliative Care supports non-specialists in palliative care in both hospital and community settings and focuses on holistic care and therapeutic interventions. With several new chapters and content significantly updated to reflect new evidence and practice, the 4th edition also presents up-to-date evidence, guidance in a succinct format and utilises flow charts and figures to enhance the accessibility of information. Written by four highly accomplished nursing and medical authors with over 100 years' experience between them in hospital, hospice, care home and community settings, Handbook of Palliative Care provides: Guidance from clinicians who are experts in their field An acknowledgment of the requirements of healthcare professionals attending to patients with palliative care needs, along with a dedicated chapter addressing this topic Contemporary guidance on medicine management, symptom control and managing complications of cancer Palliative care in heart failure, renal disease and advanced liver, neurological and respiratory diseases An in-depth look at patient and public involvement in palliative care and inequity Skill development including communication, ethical considerations and spiritual care New chapters including frailty, dementia, and multi-morbidity; and palliative care for people living with mental illness and people with intellectual disabilities This 4th edition of Handbook of Palliative Care is an ideal supporting resource for doctors, nurses and other healthcare professionals caring for patients with palliative care needs in the UK and beyond. The 1st edition was the winner of the 1999 BMA Medical Book of the Year Prize.
A New Holistic-Evolutive Approach to Pediatric Palliative Care by
This book illustrates why a holistic approach is important in Pediatric Palliative Care (PPC). Readers will learn this approach has a "horizontal" axis, featuring the patients' mental and physical needs, as well as their environments. It has also a "vertical axis": the evolutive changes of the patients throughout their development and their illness, their aspirations and fears. An evolutive (or dynamic) approach is mandatory. Each child/parent has a different experience of illness and a different path to recovery that is influenced by their age, gender, culture, but also by the state of their grief. To take care of them, we need to know the state of the subjects we are dealing with throughout their evolution in age (children) and in sorrow (both children and parents). Jung's and Piaget' schemes will be of support. This book also helps caregivers to know what ethics is. It teaches a new insight on the word "ethics": not a series of principles or norms, but an approach based on humanistic virtues. Two criteria will be proposed to this aim: an ethics based on the refusal of inauthentic behaviors (or those behaviors that are copies of animals or machines) and a new criterion that even children have some ethical duties (not based on rules, but on naturally acceptance that their sight is modulated by the presence of their parents and friends). This ethical approach is explained to caregivers in a practical mode, ready for clinical exigencies. This book is also unique because it demonstrates that PPC also involves the true care of caregivers. It will explain how to approach, measure and overcome caregivers' burn-out. Special attention is devoted to the approach to babies' and children's pharmacological and non-pharmacological analgesia and sedation. Pain assessment methods will be illustrated, as well as the development of a PPC web on the territory. This text includes perinatal and neonatal PPC. The book will be of valuable support to all thoseintensivists, pediatricians, nurses, psychologists, physiotherapists and healthcare professionals working in PPC units.
Palliative Care in Lung Disease by
This book details the benefits of palliative care to improve the lives of patients with serious lung disease and their caregivers. Palliative care is specialized medical care for people living with a serious illness. This type of care is focused on providing relief from the symptoms and stress of a serious illness, and is often described as "an extra layer of support" for patients and their caregivers, as patients with malignant and nonmalignant lung disease experience great symptom burden and have advanced care planning needs. This book has three main objectives: Define the role of palliative care in advanced lung disease Incorporate a patient-centered perspective in describing symptom burden and interventions to improve quality of life Provide current initiatives to expand evidence-based practice and improve access to palliative care Written by leading experts in palliative care and respiratory medicine, the chapters seek to answer those objectives by first defining and describing palliative care, advanced lung disease, and inadequate palliative care in this patient population. Patient reported outcomes, quality of life, and interventions to help deal with the psychological toll of serious illness are then detailed, as well as pharmacological and non-pharmacological interventions for symptom management. Detailed information is additionally provided on current research studies and management for several lung diseases, including COPD, ILD, Lung Cancer, Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension, Neuromuscular disease, and pediatric lung disease. The more administrative aspects of palliative care programs are then covered with an example of a specialty palliative care program for advanced lung disease and advice on how to address policy that promotes palliative care. Finally, palliative care's role during a pandemic is thoughtfully considered. This book is an ideal guide for clinicians, nurses, hospital administrators, teachers, students to help them understand and fill unmet care needs that many patients with serious lung disease experience.
Palliative Skills for Frontline Clinicians by
Rooted in everyday hospital medicine, Palliative Skills for Frontline Clinicians addresses the challenges of delivering complex care to patients living with serious illnesses. Spanning emergency medicine, internal medicine, surgery and various subspecialties, each chapter reads like a story, comparing usual care with a step-by-step palliative-based approach. This case-based book features a multidisciplinary, palliative-trained authorship, including neurologists, nephrologists, emergency physicians, surgeons, intensivists, and obstetricians. Divided into four parts, Palliative Skills for Frontline Clinicians outlines common clinical scenarios across settings and specialties to highlight unmet needs of patients with potentially terminal illnesses. Each case is broken down into the usual standard approach, and delves into detail regarding different palliative interventions that can be appropriate in those scenarios. These are meant to be practice changing; down to the actual words used to communicate with patients. In addition to the book's focus on the principles of palliative care and the "art" of treating the patient, approaches to communication with the patient's families for the best long-term outcomes are discussed. Concise and pragmatic, Palliative Skills for Frontline Clinicians is meant to be practice changing. It provides readers with both a new conceptual framework, as well as actual words to communicate with patients and medication doses for symptom management. It is an invaluable resource for non-palliative trained clinicians who wish to strengthen their palliative care skills.
Textbook of Palliative Care by
Textbook of Palliative Care is a comprehensive, clinically relevant and state-of-the art book, aimed at advancing palliative care as a science, a clinical practice and as an art. Palliative care has been part of healthcare for over fifty years but we still find ourselves having to explain its nature and practice to colleagues and to the public in general. Healthcare education and training has been slow to recognize the vital importance of ensuring that all practitioners have a good understanding of what is involved in the care of people with serious or advanced illnesses and their families. However, the science of palliative care is advancing and our understanding concerning many aspects of palliative care is developing rapidly. The book is divided into separate sections for ease of use. Over 100 chapters written by experts in their given fields provide up-to-date information on a wide range of topics of relevance to those providing care towards the end of life no matter what the disease may be. We present a global perspective on contemporary and classic issues in palliative care with authors from a wide range of disciplines involved in this essential aspect of care. The Textbook includes sections addressing aspects such as symptom management and care provision, organization of care in different settings, care in specific disease groups, palliative care emergencies, ethics, public health approaches and research in palliative care. This Textbook will be of value to practitioners in all disciplines and professions where the care of people approaching death is important, specialists as well as non-specialists, in any setting where people with serious advanced illnesses are residing. It is also an important resource for researchers, policy-and decision-makers at national or regional levels. Neither the science nor the art of palliative care will stand still so we aim to keep this Textbook updated as the authors find new evidence and approaches to care.
