For more Allergy, Asthma, & Clinical Immunology resources, search BOTH links below:
| Find Journals and E-Books |
| Library Catalog |
Allergy and Asthma by
This highly practical, easy-to-read, fully updated and expanded resource offers a wide range of targeted guidelines and insights in allergy medicine. Written by a leading allergy clinician -- along with a renowned group of nationally recognized expert contributors in allergy and immunology, pulmonary, and infectious diseases -- this title is a proven resource for front-line general practitioners, especially primary care physicians. The most clinically relevant information is provided on the pathophysiology, diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of all major allergic disorders. Each chapter has a section on "Evidence-Based Medicine" that introduces one to two recent research publications on the subject, and several chapters have been written by new authors. Covering the entire scope of adult and pediatric allergy and asthma and organized by specific organ which guides the reader to diagnostic and therapeutic solutions quickly and easily, the book offers a wealth of outstanding illustrations, key concepts, management protocols, and updated references. An invaluable contribution to the field, Allergy and Asthma: Practical Diagnosis and Management, 2nd Edition will be of immense value not only to primary care physicians, but also to fellows in training, residents, nurses, nurse practitioners, and medical and allied health students.
Allergy and Clinical Immunology by
Mount Sinai Expert Guides: Allergy and Clinical Immunology will provide trainees in allergy and immunology with an extremely clinical and accessible handbook covering the major disorders and symptoms, their diagnosis and clinical management. Perfect as a point-of-care resource on the hospital wards and also as a refresher for board exam preparation, the focus throughout is on providing rapid reference, essential information on each disorder to allow for quick, easy browsing and assimilation of the must-know information. All chapters follow a consistent template including the following features: An opening bottom-line/key points section Classification, pathogenesis and prevention of disorder Evidence-based diagnosis, including relevant algorithms, laboratory and imaging tests, and potential pitfalls when diagnosing a patient Disease management including commonly used medications with dosages, management algorithms and how to prevent complications How to manage special populations, ie, in pregnancy, children and the elderly The very latest evidence-based results, major society guidelines and key external sources to consult In addition, the book comes with a companion website housing extra features such as case studies with related questions for self-assessment, key patient advice and ICD codes. Each guide also has its own mobile app available for purchase, allowing you rapid access to the key features wherever you may be. If you're specialising in allergy and immunology and require concise, practical and clinical guidance from one of the world's leading institutions in this field, then this is the perfect book for you. This title is also available as a mobile App from MedHand Mobile Libraries. Buy it now from iTunes, Google Play or the MedHand Store.
Allergy and Respiration by
Allergy is an increasing health issue. It often targets the respiratory tract and entwines with respiratory ailments, which makes it difficult to discern the cause-effect linkage. Nonetheless, measures to counter the allergic background are a linchpin in preserving respiratory health. This book is an update on current advances in clinical and basic science on allergy and related topics. The diagnostics of allergy requires a multidisciplinary approach, including molecular examinations aimed at unraveling the intracellular control cascades. Chapters give insight into the innovations concerning modern pulmonary function tests, discuss pharmacological paradigms, and tackle the overlapping infectious aspects and clinical symptoms and markers. Environmental and genetic factors elicit a spectrum of inflammatory phenotypes linked to differential body responses to allergic perturbations. The book is intended for healthcare professionals, notably pulmonologists, primary care physicians, and medical researchers.
The Autoimmune Diseases, Sixth ed. by
The Autoimmune Diseases, Sixth Edition, emphasizes the "3 P's" of 21st Century medicine: precision, prediction and prevention. Topics cover the modern systems approach to biology that involves large amounts of personalized, ongoing physiologic data ("omics") coupled with advanced methods of analysis, new tests of genetic engineering, such as CRISPR, auto inflammatory diseases, autoimmune responses to tumor immunotherapy, and information on normal immune response and disorders. Each of the major autoimmune disorders is discussed by researchers and clinical investigators experienced in dealing with patients. Chapters emphasize the immunologic basis of the disease as well as the use of immunologic diagnostic methods and treatments. The book also covers several cross-cutting issues related to the recognition and treatment of autoimmune diseases, including chapters on the measurement of autoantibodies and T cells, the use of biomarkers as early predictors of disease, and new methods of treatment.
Basic immunology : functions and disorders of the immune system by
Meticulously reviewed and updated for today's medical students, Basic Immunology, 7th Edition, is a concise text expertly written by the same distinguished author team as the best-selling, comprehensive text, Cellular and Molecular Immunology. This focused, easy-to-understand volume has been fully revised to include recent important advances in our understanding and knowledge of the immune system. A student favorite through six outstanding editions, this new edition uses full-color illustrations and clinical images, useful tables, and practical features such as Summary Point boxes, end-of-chapter review questions, glossary terms, and clinical cases--all designed to help you master this complex topic in the most efficient, effective manner possible.
Cellular and Molecular Immunology, Tenth ed. by
Well-written, readable, and superbly illustrated, Cellular and Molecular Immunology, 10th Edition, continues the tradition of excellence established through multiple editions of this bestselling text. Offering an unparalleled introduction to this complex field, it retains a practical, clinical focus while updating and revising all content to ensure clarity and comprehension, bringing readers fully up to date with new and emerging information in this challenging area. It's an ideal resource for medical, graduate, and undergraduate students, as well as a trusted reference for physicians and scientists. Highlights the implications of immunologic science for the management of human disease, emphasizing clinical relevance throughout. Employs a highly accessible writing style that makes difficult concepts easier to understand, and provides clear implications of immunologic science to the management of human disease and clinical practice. Features updates from cover to cover, including new information on intracellular sensors of innate immunity, therapeutic use of monoclonal antibodies, regulation of migration events during T cell-B cell interactions, regulatory and transcriptional events in germinal center formation, immunology of infectious diseases including coronaviruses, human immunodeficiency disorders, and immunology of HIV. Provides a highly visual, full-color description of the key immunologic and molecular processes with a fully updated, comprehensive, and consistent art program, including many new and extensively revised illustrations. Helps readers grasp the details of experimental observations that form the basis for the science of immunology at the molecular, cellular, and whole-organism levels and draw the appropriate conclusions. Includes summary boxes that assist with rapid review and mastery of key material. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access multiple-choice questions that correspond to each chapter, plus all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Clinical Immunology by
Offering unique, comprehensive coverage of both basic science and clinical scenarios, Clinical Immunology: Principles and Practice, 6th Edition, brings you up to date with every aspect of this fast-changing field. It examines the molecular, cellular, and immunologic bases of immunologic diseases and their broader systemic implications; and includes complete coverage of all common and less common disorders. Updated with all the latest immunologic research and clinical implications, including breakthrough immunotherapies and molecular-based treatment protocols, this fully revised edition provides authoritative guidance from some of the most respected global leaders in immunology in one complete, well-illustrated volume. Includes extensive revisions that reflect rapidly expanding research and clinical advances, including breakthrough drug and immunotherapies such as immune checkpoint inhibitors, immunotherapies for cancer, precision medicine, and transfusion medicine. Contains new chapters on COVID-19, immune responses, and the role of the immune system; immunoregulatory deficiencies; immune checkpoints; CAR T cells, including new cellular-based immunotherapy; gene therapy, including CRISPR and gene selection; and a clinically focused chapter on asthma. Provides new genetics content focused on data applications. Addresses notable advances in key areas such as the importance of the microbiota to normal immune system development and to the pathogenesis of immunologic and inflammatory diseases; relationships between the innate and adaptive immune systems; progress in rapid and cost-effective genomics; cell signaling pathways and the structure of cell-surface molecules; and many more. Covers hot topics such as the role of genetics and genomics in immune response and immunologic disease, atherosclerosis, recurrent fever syndromes, aging and deficiencies of innate immunity, the role of microbiota in normal immune system development and in the pathogenesis of immunologic and inflammatory diseases, and novel therapeutics. Features a user-friendly format with color-coded boxes highlighting critical information on Key Concepts, Clinical Pearls, Clinical Relevance, and Therapeutic Principles. Summarizes promising research and development anticipated over the next 5-10 years with "On the Horizon" boxes and discussions of translational research. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
Dubois' Lupus Erythematosus and Related Syndromes by
For more than 50 years, Dubois' Lupus Erythematosus and Related Syndromes has been recognized internationally as the go-to clinical reference on lupus and other connective tissue diseases. From basic scientific principles to practical points of clinical management, the 10th edition provides extensive, authoritative coverage of systemic lupus erythematosus (SLE) and its related diseases in a logical, clearly written, user-friendly manner. It's an ideal resource for rheumatologists and internal medicine practitioners who need a comprehensive clinical reference on all aspects of SLE, connective tissue diseases, and the antiphospholipid syndromes.
Middleton's Allergy, 9th ed. by
Through eight outstanding editions, Middleton's Allergy: Principles and Practice has been the reference of choice for both clinicians and researchers as both a practical reference and an effective self-assessment tool for board preparation. The 9th Edition continues the tradition of excellence with comprehensive coverage of all basic science and clinical applications regarding allergy practice and disease mechanisms. It brings you fully up to date with recent innovations in the diagnosis, prevention, and management of allergic disorders, including emerging global issues, the advent of precision medicine, and new immunologic therapies. Offers unparalleled depth and up-to-date guidance on the full spectrum of allergy across the lifespan, with significant updates throughout. Contains new chapters on Innate Lymphoid Cells, Systems Biology, and Treatment of Primary Immunodeficiency Diseases. Discusses emerging topics such as epidemic thunderstorm asthma and precision medicine in allergic disorders. Features more than 730 full-color illustrations, including many new cellular and molecular drawings of disease mechanisms. Includes new Summary of Important Concepts boxes, plus new multiple-choice questions online with explanations and answers. Features a new team of expert editors and more international contributors for a global perspective of this complex field. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Pediatric Allergy: Principles and Practice, Fourth ed. by
With complete, concise coverage of prevention, indications, diagnosis, and treatment, Pediatric Allergy, 4th Edition, is your go-to resource for current, clinically-focused content in the rapidly changing field of allergies and immune-mediated diseases in children. This highly regarded reference fully covers immunology and origins of allergy, growth and development, pregnancy, infancy, and early, middle, and late childhood-all with a new, practical, clinical focus. You'll find authoritative coverage of the full range of allergies in pediatric patients, from asthma and other common conditions to rare or uncommon allergies, providing a one-stop resource for clinicians across specialties who care for children. Focuses on the clinical application of science to the bedside, including clinical pearls discussing best practice approaches and guidelines. Integrates the latest research on the origins of allergy in early life, including pregnancy, the neonate, and infants. Includes new, evidence-based management guidelines for various diseases, including food allergy, atopic dermatitis, asthma and immunodeficiency. Provides new content on the prevention of allergies; asthma, eczema, and food allergies in young children; and extensive current guidelines and new therapies. Offers up-to-date information on key areas such as food challenges, skin testing, IgE diagnostic labs, immunotherapy, clinical immunology diagnostic testing, molecular diagnostics, and lung function testing. Highlights current guidance from a new team of leading experts with 150 anatomic schematics, clinical photos, and algorithms-many new to this edition. Covers gene therapy, stem-cell therapy, and a host of immunodeficiency diseases found in children with allergies. Discusses targeted biologics for severe allergic diseases, defects of innate immunity, rheumatic diseases of childhood, and inflammatory disorders. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Rhinitis and Related Upper Respiratory Conditions by
This comprehensive book thoroughly covers the spectrum of rhinitis conditions and related comorbidities. Rhinitis and Related Upper Respiratory Conditions is a unique resource that delivers essential clinical information, addressing the varying patient populations which might be encountered in different types of clinical settings. Chapters range from topics such as pediatric, adult, geriatric, and occupational rhinitis, while also covering the full array of rhinitis subtypes and their complications. Later chapters address secondary causes of rhinitis such as systemic diseases manifesting as rhinitis, drug-induced rhinitis, and CSF leak. Written by experts in the field, every chapter is structured to contain clinical cases which illustrate the typical patient presentation, and their diagnostic work-up and treatment, providing the knowledge needed to further improve diagnosis and care for the patient with rhinitis. Rhinitis and Related Upper Respiratory Conditions is an ideal resource for allergists, primary care physicians, and health care extenders, to help them recognize and further improve care of patients with rhinitis.
Vaccines by
From the development of each vaccine to its use in reducing disease, Plotkin's Vaccines, 7th Edition, provides the expert information you need to provide optimal care to your patients. This award-winning text offers a complete understanding of each disease, as well as the latest knowledge of both existing vaccines and those currently in research and development. Described by Bill Gates as "an indispensable guide to the enhancement of the well-being of our world," Plotkin's Vaccines is a must-have reference for current, authoritative information in this fast-moving field. Includes complete information for each disease, including clinical characteristics, microbiology, pathogenesis, diagnosis, and treatment, epidemiology, and public health and regulatory issues - plus complete information for each vaccine, including its stability, immunogenicity, efficacy, duration of immunity, adverse events, indications, contraindications, precautions, administration with other vaccines, and disease-control strategies. Analyzes the cost-benefit and cost-effectiveness of different vaccine options. Helps you clearly visualize concepts and objective data through an abundance of tables and figures. Covers the new oral cholera and zoster vaccines, as well as newly licensed meningococcal group B vaccines and a newly licensed dengue vaccine. Brings you up to date on successful human trials of Ebola vaccines, an enterovirus 71 vaccine licensed in China, and new recommendations and changes to polio vaccines. Features a new chapter on maternal immunization. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
