Child Psychology and Psychiatry by
An authoritative, up-to-date guide for psychologists, psychiatrists, pediatricians and other professionals working with vulnerable and at-risk children Child Psychology and Psychiatry, Third Edition is an indispensable resource for psychologists and psychiatrists in training, as well as experienced clinicians who want to stay abreast of important recent developments in the field. Comprehensive in coverage and much broader in scope than competing titles, its clear, concise entries and abundance of illustrations and visual aids make it easy for busy professionals and interns to quickly absorb and retain key information. Written by expert clinicians and researchers in a wide range of disciplines within or relevant to the fields of normal and abnormal childhood development, Child Psychology and Psychiatry includes contributions from clinical psychologists, neuropsychologists, child psychiatrists, pediatricians, speech pathologists, and developmental psychology and psychopathology researchers. It has been fully updated for the DSM-5 and reflects the theoretical, structural, and practical developments which have taken place in the world of child psychology and psychiatry over recent years. Combines a strong academic and research emphasis with the extensive clinical expertise of contributing authors Covers normal development, fostering child competence, childhood resilience and wellbeing, and family and genetic influences Discusses neurobiological, genetic, familial and cultural influences upon child development, especially those fostering childhood resilience and emotional wellbeing Explores the acquisition of social and emotional developmental competencies with reviews of child psychopathology, clinical diagnoses, assessment and intervention Features new chapters on the impact of social media on clinical practice, early intervention for psychosis in adolescence, and the development of the theory and practice of mentalization Child Psychology and Psychiatry, Third Edition is an indispensable learning tool for all of those training in clinical psychology, educational psychology, social work, psychiatry, and psychiatric and pediatric nursing. It is also a valuable working resource for all those who work professionally with at-risk children and adolescents.
Complex Disorders in Pediatric Psychiatry by
Get a quick, expert overview of complex childhood psychiatric disorders from Drs. David I. Driver, and Shari Thomas, of Healthy Foundations Group. This practical resource presents a summary of today's current knowledge and best approaches to topics from gender dysphoria to childhood onset schizophrenia and other complex psychiatric disorders. Comprehensive guide for any professional working with children. Consolidates today's evidence-based information on complex childhood psychiatric disorders into one convenient resource. Provides must-know information on evaluation and management. Covers a range of psychiatric disorders of children including psychosis, autoimmune encephalitides, delirium, concussions, ADHD, irritability, sleep disorders, and eating disorders.
Dulcan's Textbook of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, Third ed. by
Already a foundational resource in the field, Dulcan's Textbook of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry has been updated in the third edition, including the latest research and clinical advances. An expanded chapter on telehealth acknowledges the changes and challenges posed by the COVID-19 pandemic and also discusses e-mental health options that support primary care providers, who are often the front line in mental health treatment. Two completely new chapters on pediatric consultation liaison psychiatry examine the history, clinical practice models, scope of interventions, and pharmacological considerations that are relevant to treatment of medically ill children and those seen in primary care--more important than ever, with the significant increase in the number of children with mental health care needs who are seen by pediatricians. In addition, readers will find thorough, DSM-5-aligned insight from dozens of experts on: * Neurodevelopmental and other psychiatric disorders, including disorders affecting somatic function, with clinical descriptions, epidemiology, risk factors, diagnosis, treatment options, and more* A full range of psychosocial treatments, including those focused on both individuals and families, as well as therapeutic milieus and systemic models of care* The principles and application of psychopharmacology, from antidepressants to antipsychotic medications to mood stabilizers and medications for ADHD* Specialized issues, including cultural and religious considerations, gender and sexual diversity, and legal and ethical issues Each chapter features summary points for ease of reference and extensive references for continued study. Working with young patients, who are changing and evolving with age throughout the course of treatment, and their families presents very real and distinct challenges. This latest edition of Dulcan's Textbook of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry provides child and adolescent psychiatrists, pediatricians, family physicians, general psychiatrists, child neurologists, psychologists, advanced practice nurses, psychiatric social workers, and other practitioners the depth and breadth of knowledge needed to treat children and adolescents effectively.
Rutter's Child and Adolescent Psychiatry by
Rutter's Child and Adolescent Psychiatry is the leading textbook in its field. Both interdisciplinary and international, it provides a coherent appraisal of the current state of the field to help researchers, trainees and practicing clinicians in their daily work. Integrating science and clinical practice, it is a comprehensive reference for all aspects of child and adolescent psychiatry. New to this full color edition are expanded coverage on classification, including the newly revised Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), and new chapters on systems neuroscience, relationship-based treatments, resilience, global psychiatry, and infant mental health. From an international team of expert editors and contributors, this sixth edition is essential reading for all professionals working and learning in the fields of child and adolescent mental health and developmental psychopathology as well as for clinicians working in primary care and pediatric settings. Michael Rutter has contributed a number of new chapters and a Foreword for this edition: "I greatly welcome this new edition as providing both a continuity with the past and a substantial new look." --Professor Sir Michael Rutter, extract from Foreword. Reviews of previous editions: "This book is by far the best textbook of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry written to date." --Dr Judith Rapoport, NIH "The editors and the authors are to be congratulated for providing us with such a high standard for a textbook on modern child psychiatry. I strongly recommend this book to every child psychiatrist who wants a reliable, up-to-date, comprehensive, informative and very useful textbook. To my mind this is the best book of its kind available today." --Journal of Child Psychology and Psychiatry
For more Child Psychology and Psychiatry resources, search BOTH links below:
| Find Journals and E-Books |
| Library Catalog |
Helping Parents and Teachers - Understand Medications for Behavioral and Emotional Problems, Fourth ed. by
A dozen experts in child and adolescent psychiatry contributed to this new and fully updated fourth edition of Helping Parents and Teachers Understand Medications for Behavioral and Emotional Problems, ensuring that it remains the most trusted resource for educating parents and teachers about psychotropics prescribed for children and adolescents. The book is arranged alphabetically, and each medication has its own information sheet that can be photocopied or downloaded and printed by psychiatrists, pediatricians, and neurologists for distribution to parents and teachers. A useful resource for school staff and library patrons, the information sheets will also be helpful to nonprescribing mental health professionals talking with families about possible referral for medication. The compendium has been designed for maximum utility and accessibility. * Each information sheet includes a section with general information applicable to all medications and very specific sections that include a description of the medication and why it is used, monitoring of the medication, side effects, interactions with other medications and with food, and additional information that is relevant to how the medication can best help and be used safely. * The book is written in a straightforward, understandable style that is accessible and nonintimidating to the lay public.* The number of medications covered has been expanded to reflect new drugs and older drugs recently approved for children and adolescents, such as vilazodone (Viibryd), asenapine (Saphris), and ramelteon (Rozerem).* Explanations of new concerns about potential side effects and FDA black box warnings for antidepressants and stimulants are included.* The "Information on the Internet" section offers a list of vetted medical and professional organizations where the reader can find additional information about child and adolescent mental health and treatment, and the book also includes robust lists of both published resources for parents and teachers and selected additional reading for health and mental health professionals.* Appendices cover medicines with FDA indication for attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD); medicines typically used for anxiety, depression, psychosis, mood stabilizing, and aggression; and an index of medicines by brand name. No other volume offers up-to-the-minute information on psychotropic medications for youth in such an easy-to-use format. Comprehensive and authoritative, Helping Parents and Teachers Understand Medications for Behavioral and Emotional Problems will prove indispensable to clinicians in helping to foster understanding among parents and educators.
