Ferri's Best Test: A Practical Guide to Clinical Laboratory Medicine and Diagnostic Imaging, Fourth ed. by
Practical and concise, this spiral bound, pocket-sized manual is a quick, go-to reference for up-to-date clinical material on today's diagnostic testing and laboratory tests. Three convenient sections provide quick access to key information on clinical laboratory testing, diagnostic imaging, and diagnostic algorithms. Experienced author Dr. Fred Ferri uses a unique, easy-to-follow format to simplify complex information and help you choose the best test to supplement your clinical diagnostic skills. Includes both lab and imaging tests for concise, convenient access to all diagnostic test options for more than 200 common diseases and disorders. Includes essential information on indications, advantages, disadvantages, approximate costs, normal ranges, typical abnormalities, likeliest causes, and more. Features a new appendix on when to use contrast agents in ordering CT and MRI scans. Discusses new modalities including transient elastography (Fibroscan), CT enterography and CT enteroclysis. Provides new comparison tables to easily evaluate the best test; new algorithms for evaluation of immunodeficiency and hematochezia; and new tables and illustrations throughout to improve your test selection. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Henry's Clinical Diagnosis and Management by Laboratory Methods by
For more than 100 years, Henry's Clinical Diagnosis and Management by Laboratory Methods has been recognized as the premier text in clinical laboratory medicine, widely used by both clinical pathologists and laboratory technicians. Leading experts in each testing discipline clearly explain procedures and how they are used both to formulate clinical diagnoses and to plan patient medical care and long-term management. Employing a multidisciplinary approach, it provides cutting-edge coverage of automation, informatics, molecular diagnostics, proteomics, laboratory management, and quality control, emphasizing new testing methodologies throughout. Remains the most comprehensive and authoritative text on every aspect of the clinical laboratory and the scientific foundation and clinical application of today's complete range of laboratory tests. Updates include current hot topics and advances in clinical laboratory practices, including new and extended applications to diagnosis and management. New content covers next generation mass spectroscopy (MS), coagulation testing, next generation sequencing (NGS), transfusion medicine, genetics and cell-free DNA, therapeutic antibodies targeted to tumors, and new regulations such as ICD-10 coding for billing and reimbursement. Emphasizes the clinical interpretation of laboratory data to assist the clinician in patient management. Organizes chapters by organ system for quick access, and highlights information with full-color illustrations, tables, and diagrams. Provides guidance on error detection, correction, and prevention, as well as cost-effective test selection. Includes a chapter on Toxicology and Therapeutic Drug Monitoring that discusses the necessity of testing for therapeutic drugs that are more frequently being abused by users. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Tietz Textbook of Laboratory Medicine by
Use THE definitive reference for laboratory medicine and clinical pathology! Tietz Textbook of Laboratory Medicine, 7th Edition provides the guidance necessary to select, perform, and evaluate the results of new and established laboratory tests. Comprehensive coverage includes the latest advances in topics such as clinical chemistry, genetic metabolic disorders, molecular diagnostics, hematology and coagulation, clinical microbiology, transfusion medicine, and clinical immunology. From a team of expert contributors led by Nader Rifai, this reference includes access to wide-ranging online resources on Expert Consult - featuring the comprehensive product with fully searchable text, regular content updates, animations, podcasts, over 1300 clinical case studies, lecture series, and more. Authoritative, current content helps you perform tests in a cost-effective, timely, and efficient manner; provides expertise in managing clinical laboratory needs; and shows how to be responsive to an ever-changing environment. Current guidelines help you select, perform, and evaluate the results of new and established laboratory tests. Expert, internationally recognized chapter authors present guidelines representing different practices and points of view. Analytical criteria focus on the medical usefulness of laboratory procedures. Use of standard and international units of measure makes this text appropriate for any user, anywhere in the world. Expert Consult provides the entire text as a fully searchable eBook, and includes regular content updates, animations, podcasts, more than 1300 clinical case studies, over 2500 multiple-choice questions, a lecture series, and more. NEW! 19 additional chapters highlight various specialties throughout laboratory medicine. NEW! Updated, peer-reviewed content provides the most current information possible. NEW! The largest-ever compilation of clinical cases in laboratory medicine is included on Expert Consult. NEW! Over 100 adaptive learning courses on Expert Consult offer the opportunity for personalized education.
For more Laboratory Medicine resources, search BOTH links below:
| Find Journals and E-Books |
| Library Catalog |
Bancroft's Theory and Practice of Histological Techniques, Eighth ed. by
For 40 years, Bancroft's Theory and Practice of Histological Techniques has established itself as the standard reference for histotechnologists and laboratory scientists, as well as histopathologists. With coverage of the full range of histological techniques used in medical laboratories and pathology departments, it provides a strong foundation in all aspects of histological technology - from basic methods of section preparation and staining, to advanced diagnostic techniques such as immunocytochemistry and molecular testing. This revised and updated 8th Edition by Kim S. Suvarna, Christopher Layton, and John D. Bancroft is a one-stop reference for all those involved with histological preparations and applications, from student to highly advanced laboratory professional. Presents a thorough, up-to-date, and detailed approach to the theory and protocols for preparing cells and tissues for laboratory evaluation, covering topics ranging from basic to advanced Features new content on automation (computer logging and tracking, sub-sampling and archiving of samples), digital scanning techniques for slides used in remote/telepathology, and specialist molecular techniques. Provides superb visual guidance through the use of vivid color illustrations, including additional illustrations of diagnostic modalities and techniques. Contains more summary tables, charts, and boxes throughout for quick reference. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Clinical Core Laboratory Testing by
The clinical laboratory is often known as a "black box" to nurses, physicians, and surgeons, but this concise book removes the veil by covering all the pertinent aspects of the clinical laboratory. This book bridges between medicine and chemistry by offering an overview to a clinical laboratory's structure and function, the importance of laboratory utilization and test ordering, as well as pre-analytical, analytical, and post-analytical issues of importance to recognize in any clinical laboratory. An interactive FAQ and a detailed index are also available.
Dacie and Lewis Practical Haematology, Twelfth ed. by
For more than 65 years, this best-selling text by Drs. Barbara J. Bain, Imelda Bates, and Mike A. Laffan has been the worldwide standard in laboratory haematology. The 12th Edition of Dacie and Lewis Practical Haematology continues the tradition of excellence with thorough coverage of all of the techniques used in the investigation of patients with blood disorders, including the latest technologies as well as traditional manual methods of measurement. You'll find expert discussions of the principles of each test, possible causes of error, and the interpretation and clinical significance of the findings. A unique section on haematology in under-resourced laboratories. Ideal as a laboratory reference or as a comprehensive exam study tool. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. diagnosis, molecular testing, blood transfusion- and much more. Complete coverage of the latest advances in the field. An expanded section on coagulation now covers testing for new anticoagulants and includes clinical applications of the tests.
Feigin and Cherry's Textbook of Pediatric Infectious Diseases, Eighth ed. by
Offering unparalleled coverage of infectious diseases in children and adolescents, Feigin & Cherry's Textbook of Pediatric Infectious Diseases 8th Edition, continues to provide the information you need on epidemiology, public health, preventive medicine, clinical manifestations, diagnosis, treatment, and much more. This extensively revised edition by Drs. James Cherry, Gail J. Demmler-Harrison, Sheldon L. Kaplan, William J. Steinbach, and Peter J. Hotez, offers a brand-new full-color design, new color images, new guidelines, and new content, reflecting today's more aggressive infectious and resistant strains as well as emerging and re-emerging diseases Discusses infectious diseases according to organ system, as well as individually by microorganisms, placing emphasis on the clinical manifestations that may be related to the organism causing the disease. Provides detailed information regarding the best means to establish a diagnosis, explicit recommendations for therapy, and the most appropriate uses of diagnostic imaging. Features expanded information on infections in the compromised host; immunomodulating agents and their potential use in the treatment of infectious diseases; and Ebola virus. Contains hundreds of new color images throughout, as well as new guidelines, new resistance epidemiology, and new Global Health Milestones. Includes new chapters on Zika virus and Guillain-Barré syndrome. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Mosby's Manual of Diagnostic and Laboratory Tests, Sixth ed. by
Writing care plans, understanding and performing tests, and interpreting test results is made easier with Mosby's Manual of Diagnostic and Laboratory Tests, 6th Edition. This essential resource provides clear, concise overage of over 700 of the most commonly performed diagnostic and laboratory tests. Valuable in academic and clinical settings alike, it is beloved for its full-color design, user-friendly organization, and illustrations that help clarify keep concepts. Updated and streamlined content with new tests ensures you have the most relevant information. A new Diagnostic Testing for the Most Common Diseases section highlights the integration of medical testing as it relates to the top diseases or clinical syndromes. Tests are presented comprehensively and consistently, in a sequence that best simulates priorities in clinical practice. UNIQUE! Clinical Priorities boxes emphasize priorities and procedure considerations specific to understanding and performing tests. UNIQUE! Test Results and Clinical Significance sections describe the significance of the test findings and discuss the pathophysiology of the disease process and how it relates to the test result. UNIQUE! Home Care Responsibilities boxes focus on post-test factors for consideration. UNIQUE! Related Tests sections list additional tests related to the main test - including tests that provide similar information, confirmatory information, and other tests used to evaluate the same organ, disease process, or symptom complex. UNIQUE! Critical Values sections indicate test values of particular significance. UNIQUE! Icons indicate drugs that increase or decrease test values and patient teaching priorities. Age-Related Concerns boxes address pediatric and geriatric priorities. NEW and UPDATED! New tests have been added and outdated tests have been removed to reflect current best practices. NEW! A Diagnostic Testing for the Most Common Diseases section highlights the integration of medical testing as it relates to the top diseases or clinical syndromes.
Pathology of Infectious Diseases by
Pathology of Infectious Diseases, by Gary W. Procop, MD, A Volume in the Foundations in Diagnostic Pathology Series, packs all of today's most essential information on infectious disease pathology into a compact, high-yield format! Well-organized and segmented by type of infectious organism, the book's pragmatic approach complemented by abundant full-color, high-quality photomicrographs and clinical photos, and at-a-glance tables makes it easy to access the information you need to quickly and accurately detect and identify pathogenic organisms. Chapters on immunohistochemical and molecular techniques as well as artifacts and pitfalls guide you to accurate detection and identifications. Quickly find the information you need thanks to a well-organized, user-friendly format with templated headings, detailed illustrations, at-a-glance tables, and segmentation by type of infectious organism-viral, bacterial, fungal, and parasitic. Avoid common problems that can lead to an incorrect diagnosis. A special section on artifacts and pitfalls shows you what to look for. Get superb visual guidance from an abundance of full-color, high-quality photomicrographs and clinical photos. Employ the latest diagnostic advancements including immunohistochemical and molecular techniques. Access the full text from any computer, including the entire image bank and links to PubMed, at expertconsult. Learn from one of the very best. Dr. Gary W. Procop, one of the most outstanding young clinical pathologists in medical microbiology in American medicine, shares his vision about how new technologies may be used to rapidly identify pathogenic organisms and detect resistance to treatment regimens. Recognized for distinguished research contributions to the discipline of clinical microbiology, he was the recipient of the 2007 American Society for Microbiology (ASM) BD Award for Research in Clinical Microbiology and elected to the American Academy of Microbiology in recognition of his scientific achievements. Implement proven diagnostic approaches such as real-time PCR assays and pepticnucleic acid probes with guidance from the pioneer of these techniques! Up- to-date essential information on infectious disease pathology in a compact high yield format
Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases, Ninth ed. by
For four decades, physicians and other healthcare providers have trusted Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases to provide expert guidance on the diagnosis and treatment of these complex disorders. The 9th Edition continues the tradition of excellence with newly expanded chapters, increased global coverage, and regular updates to keep you at the forefront of this vitally important field. Meticulously updated by Drs. John E. Bennett, Raphael Dolin, and Martin J. Blaser, this comprehensive, two-volume masterwork puts the latest information on challenging infectious diseases at your fingertips. Provides more in-depth coverage of epidemiology, etiology, pathology, microbiology, immunology, and treatment of infectious agents than any other infectious disease resource. Features an increased focus on antibiotic stewardship; new antivirals for influenza, cytomegalovirus, hepatitis C, hepatitis B., and immunizations; and new recommendations for vaccination against infection with pneumococci, papillomaviruses, hepatitis A, and pertussis. Covers newly recognized enteroviruses causing paralysis (E-A71, E-D68); emerging viral infections such as Ebola, Zika, Marburg, SARS, and MERS; and important updates on prevention and treatment of C. difficile infection, including new tests that diagnose or falsely over-diagnose infectious diseases. Offers fully revised content on bacterial pathogenesis, antibiotic use and toxicity, the human microbiome and its effects on health and disease, immunological mechanisms and immunodeficiency, and probiotics and alternative approaches to treatment of infectious diseases. Discusses up-to-date topics such as use of the new PCR panels for diagnosis of meningitis, diarrhea and pneumonia; current management of infected orthopedic implant infections; newly recognized infections transmitted by black-legged ticks in the USA: Borrelia miyamotoi and Powassan virus; infectious complications of new drugs for cancer; new drugs for resistant bacteria and mycobacteria; new guidelines for diagnosis and therapy of HIV infections; and new vaccines against herpes zoster, influenza, meningococci. PPID continues its tradition of including leading experts from a truly global community, including authors from Australia, Canada and countries in Europe, Asia, and South America. Includes regular updates online for the life of the edition. Features more than 1,500 high-quality, full-color photographs-with hundreds new to this edition. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Synovial Fluid Analysis and the Evaluation of Patients with Arthritis by
This book reviews the major components of synovial fluid analysis, with an emphasis on crystal recognition. Synovial fluid analysis is the required gold standard test for the definitive diagnosis of septic and crystal induced arthritis, the most frequent causes of acute inflammatory arthritis. Synovial fluid is obtained routinely from patients with acute arthritis by clinicians in many specialties. Fluids are sent to the clinical pathology and microbiology laboratories for analysis, but are also frequently examined directly by rheumatologists and others for the presence of crystals. Competency in synovial fluid crystal analysis is a requirement for all graduating rheumatology fellows in the United States, and is an expectation for musculoskeletal disease physicians internationally - although competency is assumed with a variable degree of rigor. This book comprehensively provides practical knowledge presented by skilled and experienced clinicians and pathologists, fulfilling an educational niche for teaching programs and a reference need for academic and community hospital clinical pathology laboratories. This is an ideal introductory guide for rheumatology trainees, as well as a reference text for rheumatologists, infectious disease consultants, orthopedists, cytotechnologists, and advanced nurse practitioners.
Wallach's Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests, 11th ed. by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! An excellent resource for appropriate test ordering and interpretation, Wallach's Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests, 11th Edition, helps you save time, avoid errors, and arrive at an accurate diagnosis. Organized into two easy-to-reference sections, this fully revised manual provides comprehensive, practical information on common and uncommon disease states and their diagnosis by laboratory test. The eleventh edition has been revised and reorganized based on reader feedback, helping primary care physicians, subspecialists, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, and medical and nursing students keep pace with a rapidly changing health care environment. An easy-to-use organization presents routine and lesser known lab tests first (alphabetically, with detailed descriptions), with disease states following. Newly concise and streamlined content is highlighted by abundant tables, algorithms, and bulleted lists and checklists. A new pull-out card, "Ask Before You Test," helps you remember to check key factors that affect lab tests. Content updates include new information in the genetic, molecular diagnostics, and neurology testing chapters. Frequently ordered tests are included in tabular form, as well as in a tear-out version for convenient clinical use. An expanded index helps you efficiently locate needed information. Enrich Your Ebook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s),such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook,powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Medical Biochemistry, Sixth ed. by
Written by carefully selected global experts, practicing physicians, and educators in the various sub-disciplines of biochemistry, Medical Biochemistry, 6th Edition, offers a unique combination of research and clinical practice tailored to today's integrated courses. Covering clinically relevant topics in greater detail than other texts, this outstanding resource provides a strong overview of traditional areas in medical biochemistry along with state-of-the-art coverage of today's latest developments. You'll learn basic science concepts alongside clinical cases that describe patients likely to be encountered in clinical training, as well as how to use laboratory tests to diagnose and monitor the most important conditions. Thorough yet accessible, this clinically focused text is useful from medical school to clinical practice. Features a strong clinical orientation, emphasizing the relevance of biochemistry to the daily practice of medicine. Highlights the latest developments in regulatory and molecular biology, signal transduction, age-related chronic disease, epigenetics, and bioinformatics and the "-omics," as well as important global medical issues such as diabetes mellitus, obesity and malnutrition, cancer and atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease, and nutrition and exercise. Emphasizes clinical evaluation, maintenance of good health, and disease prevention, as well as translational medicine and the diagnosis and treatment of disease. Contains organ-focused chapters addressing the biochemistry of the bone, kidney, liver, lungs and muscle; and system-focused chapters on the biochemistry of the immune and endocrine systems, neurochemistry and neurotransmission, and cancer. Includes clear, colorful icons and illustrations that help you easily navigate the text and understand the material. Provides online features such as challenging "Active Learning" questions for independent study, relevant websites that reinforce or supplement chapter content, 150+ multiple-choice and USMLE-style questions, a quick-reference glossary, additional images and case studies, references to current literature, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Medical Biochemistry by
Get the BIG PICTURE of Medical Biochemistry - and target what you really need to know to ace the course exams and the USMLE Step 1 300 FULL-COLOR ILLUSTRATIONS Medical Biochemistry: The Big Picture is a unique biochemistry review that focuses on the medically applicable concepts and techniques that form the underpinnings of the diagnosis, prognosis, and treatment of medical conditions. Those preparing for the USMLE, residents, as well as clinicians who desire a better understanding of the biochemistry behind a particular pathology will find this book to be an essential reference. Featuring succinct, to-the-point text, more than 300 full-color illustrations, and a variety of learning aids, Medical Biochemistry: The Big Picture is designed to make complex concepts understandable in the shortest amount of time possible. This full-color combination text and atlas features: Progressive chapters that allow you to build upon what you've learned in a logical, effective manner Chapter Overviews that orient you to the important concepts covered in that chapter Numerous tables and illustrations that clarify and encapsulate the text Sidebars covering a particular disease or treatment add clinical relevance to topic discussed Essay-type review questions at the end of each chapter allow you to assess your comprehension of the major topics USMLE-style review questions at the end of each section Three appendices, including examples of biochemically based diseases, a review of basic biochemical techniques, and a review of organic chemistry/biochemistry
Hematopathology by
With its highly templated, easy-to-use format and new information throughout, the third edition of Hematopathology, a volume in the Foundations in Diagnostic Pathology series, is an essential text for residents and pathologists. Throughout this practical reference, traditional morphologic diagnostic pathology is supplemented with clinical, immunohistochemical, and molecular genetic information. Fully revised to include recent advances in the field, this affordable resource by Dr. Eric D. Hsi is ideal for study and review as well as everyday clinical practice. A highly templated format that includes clinical, imaging, and management/prognostic features; pathologic features; ancillary studies; differential diagnosis; and selected bibliography. A focus on the specific features of various entities, including differential diagnoses. Clinical features, pathologic features, and key facts summarized in quick-reference boxes for fast retrieval of information. Hundreds of full-color photomicrographs and gross photographs depict important pathologic features, enabling you to form a differential diagnosis and compare your findings with actual cases. Contributions from internationally recognized pathologists, keeping you up to date with the latest information in the field. New information on the pathology of hematological disease and the latest World Health Organization update on classification of hematologic malignancies. New chapter on the essentials of hemostasis. Completely revised chapter on platelets. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Hematopathology, Third ed. by
Covering the broad range of benign and malignant disorders that affect the hematopoietic system, Hematopathology, 3rd Edition, remains your #1 source of authoritative information in this fast-changing field. Edited by Dr. Elaine Jaffe and a team of globally renowned, expert co-editors, it offers a wealth of up-to-date information in an easily accessible format, equipping you to deliver more accurate and actionable pathology reports. Comprehensive in scope, this highly illustrated, practical text is a must-have resource for residents and practicing pathologists alike.
Hematopathology : Genomic Mechanisms of Neoplastic Diseases by
Hematopathology: Genomic Mechanisms of Neoplastic Diseases will keep physicians abreast of the rapid and complex changes in genomic medicine, as exemplified by the molecular pathology of hematologic malignancies. This timely volume will update physicians on the complexities of genomic lesions, as well as offer an integrated framework encompassing molecular diagnosis, the new WHO classification of hematologic neoplasms with focus on molecular pathology, prognostic value of molecular tests, and molecular monitoring of response to gene-targeted therapy. As such, it will be of great value to hematologists, oncologists, pathologists, internal medicine and pediatric specialists, as well as bioscientific staff and laboratorians in private hospitals and academic institutions.
Hemostasis and Thrombosis by
Hemostasis and Thrombosis as only Williams can cover it IN FULL COLOR! Featuring twenty-five clinically relevant chapters originally appearing in Williams Hematology, Ninth Edition - many carefully updated by the original authors to reflect the latest developments -- this concise, full-color resource delivers comprehensive and up-to-date coverage of hemostasis and thrombosis. The result of this unique compilation is a focused, timely resource that will be of particular value to advanced medical students who seeks a more detailed review of hematology than generally presented in second year medical school, medicine and pediatric residents, and hematology/oncology fellows faced with patients with bleeding and clotting disorders on a myriad of medications, and physicians of all levels of life-long learning who wish to remain current with anticoagulant and anti-platelet therapies.
Laboratory Hemostasis: A Practical Guide for Pathologists by
Coagulation testing is the basis for the diagnosis of bleeding and thrombotic disorders, as well as the mainstay of anticoagulant monitoring and management. This handbook provides practical information and guidance on topics relevant to directing a coagulation laboratory, filling a void in the literature. Since the first edition, all chapters have been updated and an entirely new chapter is included on pharmacogenomics and pharmacogenetics. The book will aid pathologists, clinical laboratory scientists and other physicians serving as laboratory directors to understand and carry out their responsibilities. It will also assist residents and fellows in learning the basics of coagulation testing and serve as a useful day-to-day reference for coagulation laboratory supervisors, technologists, and technicians. Finally, clinicians may find aspects of the book helpful in understanding the role of the coagulation laboratory in patient evaluation and monitoring.
Clinical Microbiology for Diagnostic Laboratory Scientists by
A modern, evaluative, and integrative approach to diagnostic microbiology encouraging problem-solving in the clinical laboratory context through the use of examples to illustrate clinical and diagnostic issues Clinical Microbiology for Diagnostic Laboratory Scientists is designed to encourage readers to develop a way of thinking that can be applied to any diagnostic scenario in microbiology. Through consideration of a selected range of infections caused by pathogenic bacteria, viruses, fungi, protozoa, and helminths, the book encourages readers to explore connections between the available information about clinical symptoms, pathogenesis of infections, and the approaches used in laboratory diagnosis, in order to develop new insights. The book begins with an introductory chapter that outlines the scope of clinical diagnostic microbiology and the key areas for the laboratory scientist to be aware of. The subsequent six chapters review a type of infection in depth, using particular pathogenic microorganisms to illustrate salient points. At the end of each chapter there are three exercises related to management of a diagnostic service and assessing the suitability of test methods to specific contexts. There are no right or wrong answers to these, but the reader can discuss them with their laboratory colleagues or university tutor. Makes extensive use of published research in the form of journal articles, publically available epidemiological data, professional guidelines, and specialist websites Stimulates the reader in critical appraisal of published evidence and encourages problem-solving in the laboratory Outlines the scope of clinical diagnostic microbiology and the key areas for the laboratory scientist to be aware of Considers topics relevant to professional scientists working in the area of diagnostic microbiology Clinical Microbiology for Diagnostic Laboratory Scientists is ideal for post graduate scientists intending to pursue careers in diagnostic clinical microbiology and for biomedical scientists, clinical scientists, and full time students studying for upper level qualifications in biomedical science, microbiology, or virology.
Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology by
Understand the clinically relevant aspects of microbiology with this student-acclaimed, full-color review --- bolstered by case studies and hundreds of USMLE®-style review questions Since 1954, Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology has been hailed by students, instructors, and clinicians as the single-best resource for understanding the roles microorganisms play in human health and illness. Concise and fully up to date, this trusted classic links fundamental principles with the diagnosis and treatment of microbial infections. Along with brief descriptions of each organism, you will find vital perspectives on pathogenesis, diagnostic laboratory tests, clinical findings, treatment, and epidemiology. The book also includes an entire chapter of case studies that focuses on differential diagnosis and management of microbial infections. Here's why Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology is essential for USMLE® review: * 640+ USMLE-style review questions * 350+ illustrations * 140+ tables * 22 case studies to sharpen your differential diagnosis and management skills * An easy-to-access list of medically important microorganisms * Coverage that reflects the latest techniques in laboratory and diagnostic technologies * Full-color images and micrographs * Chapter-ending summaries * Chapter concept checks Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology, Twenty-Eighth Edition effectively introduces you to basic clinical microbiology through the fields of bacteriology, mycology, and parasitology, giving you a thorough yet understandable review of the discipline. Begin your review with it and see why there is nothing as time tested or effective.
Mims' Medical Microbiology and Immunology by
"MIMS' Medical Microbiology and Immunology is loved internationally for its thorough yet easy-to-follow coverage of microbiology, infectious diseases, and immunology as a dynamic interplay between microbes and host. Covering the fundamentals of these closely linked disciplines, MIMS' takes a systems approach to elaborate on epidemiology, clinical presentation, pathogenesis, and diagnostic approaches, as well as treatment and infection control considerations, supplemented by case-based examples. Complex scientific and clinical concepts are explained clearly and simply with the help of illustrations and a range of accompanying online content. Students will come away with a deep understanding of topics and processes, and will return to this book for reference time and again." -- Elsevier website
Medical Microbiology : a Guide to Microbial Infections : Pathogenesis, Immunity, Laboratory Investigation and Control by
Medical microbiology concerns the nature, distribution and activities of microbes and their impact on health and wellbeing. In spite of the introduction of many antimicrobial agents and immunisations, we continue to face major challenges in combatting infection, not least the gathering crisis in antimicrobial resistance. Now in a fully revised and updated 19th edition, Medical Microbiology provides comprehensive coverage of infection from the microbial perspective, combining a clear introduction to key principles with a focus explicitly geared to modern clinical practice. It provides ideal coverage for medical and biomedical students - with 'Key Points' boxes throughout to highlight the essentials - and sufficient detail to also inform specialists in training. Building on the success of previous editions, updates in Medical Microbiology 19e include: New and expanded coverage of hot topics and emerging areas important to clinical practice, including: Genomics The Human Microbiome Direct acting antiviral agents for the treatment of HCV infection Molecular methods in diagnostic microbiology Antibiotic Stewardship A new and improved downloadable eBook (from studentconsult) - for anytime access to the complete contents plus BONUS interactive learning materials: Clinical cases - to introduce how patients with infections present and help relate key principles to practice MCQs for each chapter - to check understanding and aid exam preparation
Immunohematology and Transfusion Medicine by
This volume is a collection of immunohematology and transfusion medicine cases, comprised of clinical vignettes and antibody panels with questions based on each case, arranged in a workbook format. The cases are based on real patient problems which are typically encountered and covers a number of common issues and challenging problems in blood banking and transfusion practice. Discussion and resolution of each case is provided in a separate answer section, including up-to-date information on pertinent advances in the field. Written by experts in the field, Immunohematology and Transfusion Medicine: A Case Study Approach provides an interactive tool to help make blood banking and transfusion medicine memorable, practical, and relevant to residents and fellows.
Practical Transfusion Medicine by
Practical Transfusion Medicine Practical Transfusion Medicine, Sixth Edition The pace of change in transfusion medicine is relentless, with new scientific and technological developments and continuing efforts to improve transfusion practice. This sixth edition of Practical Transfusion Medicine has been updated significantly to reflect the rapid changes in transfusion medicine since the fifth edition was published in 2017. The primary purpose of this edition remains the same as the first: to provide a comprehensive guide to transfusion medicine. This book contains more depth of information than standard handbooks on transfusion medicine, whilst being more concise and approachable than a standard reference text. This book covers the principles of transfusion medicine, the complications of transfusion, practice in blood centres and hospitals and clinical transfusion practice. This sixth edition includes a new section on patient blood management, cellular and tissue therapy, organ transplantation and the development of the evidence base for transfusion. It also features a new chapter on transfusion-associated circulatory overload to underline its importance as a complication of transfusion, and a reconfiguration of the section on clinical transfusion practice to allow consideration of the transfusion management of medical, surgical and haematology patients with and without bleeding. This sixth edition of Practical Transfusion Medicine provides accessible and comprehensive coverage of the field of transfusion medicine. It is a standalone text that will be useful to clinical and scientific staff: not only for trainees who require an overview of the field, but also for established practitioners who are involved in some aspect of transfusion medicine and require a comprehensive, accessible reference book.
Rossi's Principles of Transfusion Medicine by
ROSSI'S PRINCIPLES OF TRANSFUSION MEDICINE Transfusion Medicine impacts patients with hematologic, oncologic, and surgical conditions as well as all areas of critical care medicine and multiple areas of chronic care. This book aims to be the single best source for information related to any aspect or application of Transfusion Medicine. Contributors for the sixth edition have once again been drawn from various scientific, medical, and surgical disciplines. Thus, this book ranges from encouraging and managing donors, to collecting and preserving the blood, to matching it to the appropriate recipient, all the way to its clinical uses. It also extends these concepts to implantable tissue and regenerative medicine. Other sample topics covered within the work include: Contemporary issues in donation and transfusion: patient blood management, clinical and technical aspects of blood administration, and donor and patient Hemovigilance Blood components and derivatives: red blood cell metabolism, preservation and oxygen delivery, blood groups, and composition of plasma Apheresis, transplantation, and new therapies: hematopoietic growth factors, therapeutic phlebotomy and cellular apheresis, HLA antigens, alleles, and antibodies How Transfusion Medicine has been affected by the coronavirus pandemic, the role of pathogen reduction and other modern trends This book serves as a complete and comprehensive resource on Transfusion Medicine for clinicians who prescribe blood, students who expect to enter clinical practice, and for the scientists, physicians, nurses, technologists, and others who assure the quality and availability of blood services.
Transfusion Medicine by
Transfusion Medicine provides a concise, clinically focused and practical approach to the field of blood banking and transfusion therapy written by international expert, Jeffrey McCullough MD. Concise, approachable, yet comprehensive approach to the field of transfusion medicine and blood banking Offers extensive guidance on important topics such as; donor recruitment, blood collection and storage, donor testing and clinical uses of blood components, techniques of administration of blood components, complications of transfusion, transmissible diseases, the HLA system, and many more Provides new content on patient blood management systems, the changing indications for red cell transfusion, new transmissible disease agents, management of massive blood loss, pathogen reduced blood components, therapeutic apheresis including photopheresis, management of massive transfusion and new cellular therapies. Discusses global blood supply and US blood supply organizations and their consolidation and reorganization Reviews other topics of current interest, such as mitigation strategies for TRALI prevention, effects of storage of blood on adverse effects, management of massive blood loss and massive transfusion protocols pathogen inactivation, and granulocyte transfusion Extensively referenced for further study
Transfusion Medicine and Hemostasis by
Transfusion Medicine and Hemostasis: Clinical and Laboratory Aspects, Third Edition, is the only pocket-sized, quick reference for pathology and transfusion medicine residents and fellows. It covers all topics in transfusion medicine and clinical and laboratory-based coagulation. Chapters are organized by multiple hierarchical headings and are supplemented with up to 10 suggested reading citations. This single handbook covers all the topics required to meet the goals of a major program in transfusion medicine and clinical coagulation. Changes to this edition include the latest AABB standards and new chapters focused on a wider range of specific populations requiring blood and related products. Coverage includes essential updates on peripheral blood and bone marrow hematopoietic progenitor cells, as well as cord blood banking and regenerative medicine. The authors also examine advances in therapeutic apheresis and new cellular therapies.
Laposata's Laboratory Medicine Diagnosis of Disease in Clinical Lab by
A complete full-color guide to medical test selection and test result interpretation Laboratory Medicine is an essential text for medical students and residents studying clinical pathology, medical technology students, and for practitioners working in a clinical setting. By selecting the appropriate tests and interpreting the results correctly, physicians using this book should be able to optimize patient outcomes and reduce the cost of achieving a diagnosis. This full-color guide features an easy-to-follow, consistent presentation for each disease discussed. Chapters begin with a brief description of the disorder followed by a discussion that includes tables detailing the laboratory evaluation of specific disorders, and coverage of diagnosis, baseline tests to exclude diagnostic possibilities, and clinical indications that warrant further screening and special testing. *Updated to reflect the most current information *Board review questions appear at the end of each chapter *Approximately 50 laboratory methods presented in easy-to-understand illustrations which include information on the expense and complexity of the assays *More than 200 tables and full-color algorithms encapsulate important information and facilitate understanding *Full-color blood-smear micrographs demonstrate common abnormal morphologies of red blood cells *Valuable learning aids in each chapter, including learning objectives, chapter outlines, and a general introduction *Extensive table of Clinical Laboratory Reference Values showing the conversions between US and SI units for each value *Coverage of genetic test options that are now commonly used in clinical practice
Thieme Test Prep for the USMLE®: Medical Microbiology and Immunology Q&a by
Ensure readiness for the USMLE® or any other high-stakes exam covering microbiology and immunology! Thieme Test Prep for the USMLE®: Medical Microbiology and Immunology by Melphine Harriott, Michelle Swanson-Mungerson, Samia Ragheb, and Matthew Jackson covers major topics taught in immunology and microbiology courses during the first and second year of medical school. Readers will learn how to recall, analyze, integrate, and apply microbiology and immunology knowledge to solve clinical problems. Key Highlights 550 USMLE®-style multiple choice questions classified as easy, moderate, and difficult, including detailed explanations Microbiology questions organized by organ system that cover major infectious diseases Immunology questions organized by concept including chapters on inflammation, autoimmune diseases, immunodeficiency disorders, hypersensitivity reactions, and transplant rejection and anti-tumor responses This essential resource will help you assess your knowledge and fully prepare for the USMLE® Step 1 or COMLEX Level 1 exam. Be prepared for your board exam with the Thieme Test Prep for the USMLE® series! Das: Histology and Embryology Q&A Das and Baugh: Medical Neuroscience Q&A Fontes and McCarthy: Medical Biochemistry Q&A Hankin et al.: Clinical Anatomy Q&A Kemp and Brown: Pathology Q&A Waite and Sheakley: Medical Physiology Q&A Visit www.thieme.com/testprep to learn more about our online board review question bank.
