Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary by
Web, mobile, and print platforms-access must-have information in any setting. 75,000 terms-put the language of health care at your fingertips in class, clinical, and practice. FREE, 1-year subscription to Taber's Online, powered by Unbound Medicine-tap into all of the knowledge in Taber's anytime, anywhere. Full-color illustrations-make often complex concepts easier to understand, including detailed illustrations of anatomy and physiology, and photographs of diseases and disorders that focus on their distinguishing features. Tools for clinical success-integrate must-have information where you need it. Patient Care Statements-Quick-reference summaries detail assessment, treatment, and patient teaching requirements. Caution/Safety Statements-An easy-to-find icon highlights information critical to safe patient care. Disease/Disorder Entries-Concise descriptions summarize diagnosis, signs and symptoms, etiology, treatments, and prognosis. 2020-21 NANDA-I.-The complete list of nursing diagnoses makes reference quick and easy. Resources online at FADavis.com-offer a wealth of learning resources and professional tools. Over 30,000 audio pronunciations-build speaking confidence. Appendices-put must-know, rarely memorized information at your fingertips, including normal reference laboratory values and prefixes, suffices, and combining forms, as well as abbreviations, symbols, and units of measurement, documentation system definitions, and translations of common healthcare terms and phrases in English, French, and Spanish.
English Language Dictionaries
Encyclopedias & Almanacs
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Over 25,000 encyclopedic entries. Searchable by subject or keywords within the entry.
Medical Encyclopedia | MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
The A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.