Subject Guides: Diagnostic Radiology: Cardiovascular

Core E-Books

Advanced Cardiac Imaging by Koen Nieman (Editor); Oliver Gaemperli (Editor); Patrizio Lancellotti (Editor); Sven Plein , 2015 Advances in Cardiac Imaging presents the latest information on heart disease and heart failure, major causes of death among western populations. In addition, the text explores the financial burden to public healthcare trusts and the vast amount of research and funding being channeled into programs not only to prevent such diseases, but also to diagnose them in early stages. This book provides readers with a thorough overview of many advances in cardiac imaging. Chapters include technological developments in cardiac imaging and imaging applications in a clinical setting with regard to detecting various types of heart disease.
ASE's Comprehensive Echocardiography by American Society of Echocardiography (Editor), 2021 Edited by a team of leading echocardiography experts and endorsed by the American Society of Echocardiography, ASE'S Comprehensive Echocardiography, 3rd Edition, covers the full spectrum of sonography of the heart in one succinct, authoritative resource. This highly regarded text provides must-know information on everything from basic foundations and principles to clinical application, written and edited by ASE members with expertise in each specific area. Case studies, numerous tables, high-quality images and videos highlight the latest uses of echocardiography, including the most recent 2D and 3D advances. Discusses all the latest methods to assess cardiac chamber size and function, valvular stenosis/regurgitation, cardiomyopathies, coronary artery disease, complications of myocardial infarction, and other cardiac pathologies.  Covers recent advances in critical care echocardiography, cardio-oncology, structural heart disease, interventional/intraoperative echocardiography, strain imaging of left and right heart chambers, multimodality imaging in systemic diseases, and novel 3D techniques.  Contains more than 1,200 updated images: echocardiograms (including 2D, 3D, and Doppler), diagrams, anatomic drawings, algorithmic drawings, and more.  Provides access to nearly 600 full-motion echocardiography video clips.  Keeps you up to date with the latest echocardiography practice guidelines and advanced technologies.  Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. 
Atlas of Nuclear Cardiology, Fifth ed. by Vasken Dilsizian (Editor); Jagat Narula (Editor), 2021 The fifth edition of this book presents clinical data, image acquisition, and interpretation of nuclear cardiology procedures through high quality illustrative image examples. It includes up-to-date and comprehensive coverage of advances in instrumentation, radiotracers, protocols, and clinical studies. New content includes indications in imaging cardiac sarcoidosis, amyloidosis, and device infections as well as recent advances in instrumentation (Hybrid PET/MR). It also provides fresh chapters on the history of nuclear cardiology imaging, radionuclide handling techniques and radiation safety, PET-based myocardial perfusion imaging, and vascular imaging. The entire field is presented in pictographic form that is visually pleasing and conforming to current trends of medical education.  The fifth edition of the Atlas of Nuclear Cardiology is an essential reference for cardiologists, radiologists, and nuclear medicine physicians interested in the latest approaches to noninvasive diagnostic cardiovascular nuclear imaging techniques.  It also serves as a ready reference textbook for medical students and residents as well as nuclear physicists, nuclear medicine technologists, and radiopharmacists.
Cardiac Imaging: the Requisites by Lawrence Boxt; Suhny Abbara, 2016 Get the essential tools you need to make an accurate diagnosis;Cardiac Imaging, 4th Edition!;Edited by Lawrence Boxt, MD and Suhny Abbara, MD, this popular volume in The Requisites series concisely delivers the conceptual, factual, and interpretive information you need for effective clinical practice in cardiac imaging. Practice-proven tips and excellent problem-solving discussions are accompanied by over 1000 figures and illustrations of the highest quality. The result is an outstanding review source for certification or recertification, as well as a highly user-friendly resource for everyday clinical practice. Master core knowledge of all imaging modalities currently being used (plain film, ultrasound, CT, and MR), and discusses potential future developments. Focus on the essentials needed to pass the boards and ensure accurate diagnoses in clinical practice. Clearly visualize the findings you're likely to see in practice and on exams through updated and redrawn illustrations and color images interspersed throughout the text for easier and more intuitive access. Gain new insight into a full range of cardiac imaging approaches and findings with new sections on congenital heart disease, emphasizing MRI and CT diagnostic and functional analysis as well as and updated information on valvular, ischemic, pericardial, myocardial, congenital, and thoracic/aortic heart disease. Benefit from the expertise and fresh perspective of new lead editors, Drs. Lawrence Boxt and Suhny Abbara. Access the fully searchable text and downloadable images online at expert consult.
Cardiac Mapping by Mohammad Shenasa (Editor); Gerhard Hindricks (Editor); David J. Callans (Editor); et al, 2019 The expanded guide to cardiac mapping The effective diagnosis and treatment of heart disease may vitally depend upon accurate and detailed cardiac mapping. However, in an era of rapid technological advancement, medical professionals can encounter difficulties maintaining an up-to-date knowledge of current methods. This fifth edition of the much-admired Cardiac Mapping is, therefore, essential, offering a level of cutting-edge insight that is unmatched in its scope and depth. Featuring contributions from a global team of electrophysiologists, the book builds upon previous editions' comprehensive explanations of the mapping, imaging, and ablation of the heart. Nearly 100 chapters provide fascinating accounts of topics ranging from the mapping of supraventricular and ventriculararrhythmias, to compelling extrapolations of how the field might develop in the years to come. In this text, readers will find:       Full coverage of all aspects of cardiac mapping, and imaging Explorations of mapping in experimental models of arrhythmias Examples of new catheter-based techniques Access to a companion website featuring additional content and illustrative video clips Cardiac Mapping is an indispensable resource for scientists, clinical electrophysiologists, cardiologists, and all physicians who care for patients with cardiac arrhythmias.
Cardiovascular Magnetic Resonance by Warren J. Manning; Dudley J. Pennell, 2019 Written by an expert team of cardiologists, radiologists, and basic scientists, this third edition of Cardiovascular Magnetic Resonance continues to bridge the divide among specialty areas in with cohesive presentation of this complex and fast-changing field. Offering comprehensive coverage of CMR and the latest cardiology applications, this practical reference enhances the understanding of cardiac physiology and the interpretation and diagnosis of cardiovascular disease. This is an ideal resource for cardiologists, cardiovascular and general radiologists, and anyone who needs up-to-date information on CMR's uses, benefits, and limitations in cardiovascular care. Provides state-of-the-art coverage of CMR technologies and guidelines, including basic principles, imaging techniques, ischemic heart disease, right ventricular and congenital heart disease, vascular and pericardium conditions, and functional cardiovascular disease. Includes new chapters on non-cardiac pathology, pacemaker safety, economics of CMR, and guidelines as well as new coverage of myocarditis and its diagnosis and assessment of prognosis by cardiovascular magnetic resonance, and the use of PET/CMR imaging of the heart, especially in sarcoidosis. Features more than 1,100 high-quality images representing today's CMR imaging. Covers T1, T2 and ECV mapping, as well as T2* imaging in iron overload, which has been shown to save lives in patients with thalassaemia major. Discusses the cost-effectiveness of CMR. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Cardiovascular Magnetic Resonance Imaging by Raymond Y. Kwong (Editor); Michael Jerosch-Herold (Editor); Bobak Heydari (Editor), 2019 The significantly updated second edition of this important work provides an up-to-date and comprehensive overview of cardiovascular magnetic resonance imaging (CMR), a rapidly evolving tool for diagnosis and intervention of cardiovascular disease. New and updated chapters focus on recent applications of CMR such as electrophysiological ablative treatment of arrhythmias, targeted molecular MRI, and T1 mapping methods. The book presents a state-of-the-art compilation of expert contributions to the field, each examining normal and pathologic anatomy of the cardiovascular system as assessed by magnetic resonance imaging. Functional techniques such as myocardial perfusion imaging and assessment of flow velocity are emphasized, along with the exciting areas of artherosclerosis plaque imaging and targeted MRI. This cutting-edge volume represents a multi-disciplinary approach to the field, with contributions from experts in cardiology, radiology, physics, engineering, physiology and biochemistry, and offers new directions in noninvasive imaging. The Second Edition of Cardiovascular Magnetic Resonance Imaging is an essential resource for cardiologists and radiologists striving to lead the way into the future of this important field.
Cardiovascular PET: Current Concepts by Gary V. Heller, 2019 An expertly written state-of-the-art review of every aspect of cardiovascular PET imaging Filling a void in the medical literature, this much needed resource clearly and succinctly reviews the current knowledge and practical aspects of cardiovascular PET. With coverage that spans everything from instrumentation to clinical procedures to the future directions of cardiac PET, the intent and focus of this book is to provide readers with the most current, reliable, and clinically relevant data in one concise, focused resource.   Essential for anyone preparing for the board exam in nuclear medicine, Cardiovascular PET: Current Concepts is organized into six sections: *Current Concepts of Cardiovascular PET Imaging: The New Paradigm *Clinical Overview of Contemporary Myocardial Perfusion Imaging with Cardiac PET *Quantitative Myocardial Blood Flow Assessment *Technical Developments in Cardiovascular PET *Myocardial Viability Assessment: The Current Rule of Cardiac PET *Current Status of Assessment of Cardiovascular Inflammation and Infection Imaging Each chapter concludes with an informative "Editor's Perspective" in which one of the editors places the material discussed in the chapter into real-world clinical perspective.  If you would like a better understanding of cardiovascular PET, or want to incorporate it into your own clinical practice, this book is required reading.
Comparative Cardiac Imaging by Jing Ping Sun (Editor); Bryan P. Yan (Editor); Xing Sheng Yang (Editor), 2018 Provides the information necessary to guide clinicians to more efficient and appropriate use of the cardiac imaging modalities at their disposal Most books currently available on cardiac imaging focus on just modality. As the number of imaging options has increased, the choice of procedure has become more complicated. This comprehensive book will guide the practitioner in choosing the most appropriate test when confronted by various cardiac symptoms and diseases and to understand the benefits and limitations of each imaging modality. It demonstrates the advantages and disadvantages of various imaging modalities such as echocardiography, computer tomography, MRI, and nuclear cardiology in the evaluation of various disease states both commonly and infrequently seen in a standard practice.  Comparative Cardiac Imaging--A Case-based Guide utilizes actual case examples to demonstrate the state of the art in comparative cardiac imaging. It offers in-depth chapter coverage of Aortic Diseases; Aortic Valvular Diseases; Mitral Valvular Diseases; Prosthetic Valves; Coronary Artery Disease; Pulmonary Artery Diseases; Congenital Heart Disease; Cardiac Tumor; Infective Disease; Cardiomypathy; and Cardiac Trauma. Uniquely focuses on and compares the many different modalities for cardiac imaging Breaks the topic down by anatomy and pathophysiology in order to cover all aspects of non-invasive cardiac imaging Covers newer and lesser known modalities like speckle tracking and velocity vector imaging Offers coverage of more controversial topics, such as CT angiography Comparative Cardiac Imaging--A Case-based Guide presents a level of data that is appropriate for the practicing cardiologist and cardiology trainee, as well as residents, internists, and other primary care clinicians.

Core E-Books

CT of the Heart by U. Joseph Schoepf (Editor). 2019 This book is a comprehensive and richly-illustrated guide to cardiac CT, its current state, applications, and future directions. While the first edition of this text focused on what was then a novel instrument looking for application, this edition comes at a time where a wealth of guideline-driven, robust, and beneficial clinical applications have evolved that are enabled by an enormous and ever growing field of technology. Accordingly, the focus of the text has shifted from a technology-centric to a more patient-centric appraisal. While the specifications and capabilities of the CT system itself remain front and center as the basis for diagnostic success, much of the benefit derived from cardiac CT today comes from avant-garde technologies enabling enhanced visualization, quantitative imaging, and functional assessment, along with exciting deep learning, and artificial intelligence applications. Cardiac CT is no longer a mere tool for non-invasive coronary artery stenosis detection in the chest pain diagnostic algorithms; cardiac CT has proven its value for uses as diverse as personalized cardiovascular risk stratification, prediction, and management, diagnosing lesion-specific ischemia, guiding minimally invasive structural heart disease therapy, and planning cardiovascular surgery, among many others. This second edition is an authoritative guide and reference for both novices and experts in the medical imaging sciences who have an interest in cardiac CT.
Diastology by Allan L. Klein; Mario J. Garcia, 2020 Accounting for more than 40% of all heart failure problems, diastolic heart failure is a complex and often difficult diagnosis with rapidly evolving diagnostic management protocols. Diastology: Clinical Approach to Heart Failure with Preserved Ejection Fraction, 2nd Edition, brings you up to date and equips you to successfully diagnose and manage even the most challenging incidences of diastolic heart failure and their comorbidities. It incorporates the latest guidelines for the diagnostic evaluation of the patient with suspected or known diastolic dysfunction, provides a comprehensive review of clinical conditions associated with heart failure with preserved ejection fraction, and describes the complementary role of imaging modalities and novel therapeutic approaches. Keeps you current with recent extensive changes in the understanding of the mechanisms of diastolic heart failure with preserved ejection fraction (HFpEF) that have resulted in dramatic changes in treatment guidelines. Covers the latest molecular, genetic, and cellular mechanisms behind diastolic heart failure as a basis for the latest clinical approaches, diagnosis, and treatment of common and uncommon pathological conditions such as hypertensive heart disease, cardiomyopathies, arterial and valvular diseases, pericardial diseases, congenital heart disease, diabetes mellitus, and metabolic syndrome. Features 50 video cases, new key summary points, new multiple-choice review questions, and six new chapters: Evaluation of Diastolic Function by Radionuclide Techniques; Diastology Stress Test; ASE/EACVI Diastolic Guidelines; Valve Disease; Perioperative Assessment of Diastolic Dysfunction; and Pulmonary Hypertension. Reviews new techniques and indices for assessing diastolic function, such as 3D echo, strain rate imaging, late gadolinium enhancement and T1-mapping by CMR, and novel nuclear scintigraphic methods - as well as the traditional indices of LV filling, LA function, and tissue Doppler indices. Covers emerging topics such as the role of neurohormones, global and regional systolic function of the left ventricle, chronotopic incompetence and pacing, aging, perioperative assessment, and more. Presents information in a quick-retrieval format, covering Epidemiology, Pathophysiology, Diagnostic Evaluation, Differential Diagnosis, Treatment, and Future Directions. Helps you learn efficiently and prepare for self-assessment with key summaries and multiple-choice questions and answers for each chapter. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
The Digital Echo Atlas by Stephen Clements, 2019 The Digital Echo Atlas: A Multimedia Reference is a first-of-its-kind imaging resource made up of extensive and innovative digital content accompanied by a print book that provides a brief overview of topics and cases, with icons that quickly guide you to the digital material. The text, written by Dr. Stephen D. Clements of Emory University, provides expert clinical guidance and offers real-world cases throughout, ensuring that this unique resource package is a go-to learning and reference tool useful for cardiology fellows, practitioners, cardiac sonographers, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and residents. It can also be used as a mobile teaching tool on rounds or in the classroom.   The digital content available through the eBook bundled with the text, contains expanded chapters and includes: * Hundreds of topics with accompanying echo clips, images, and figures * Multi-modality imaging of many conditions; MRI, EKG, and CT scans covering the entire heart structure and the full range of cardiovascular abnormalities, where relevant * The opportunity to easily view more than 1000 echo clips as they would appear in the lab, including those you may not encounter regularly * Case presentations that offer a better understanding of particular conditions and how they should be approached   In the companion book, you'll find highly illustrated, full-color coverage which is enhanced by the digital material available through the eBook bundle. The print volume is both a quick clinical reference and a useful guide to the wealth of digital content, as well as a source of practical information such as transducer maneuvers, ASE guidelines, abbreviations, fundamentals of producing an echocardiogram, and case presentations. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.  
Echocardiography by Petros Nihoyannopoulos (Editor); Joseph Kisslo (Editor), 2018 This updated textbook provides an essential evidence-based approach to echocardiography and includes practical case-based instruction illustrating a wide variety of clinical scenarios in which echocardiography is a vital diagnostic option for physicians. It reflects how echocardiography has evolved into a complex multimodality method for evaluating and quantifying cardiovascular lesions, and explains the use of hemodynamic assessment of the heart using echocardiography, transesophageal and three-dimensional echocardiography, deformation imaging and assessment of myocardial perfusion, which have added a new dimension to real-time noninvasive evaluation of patients. Echocardiography highlights the clinical utility of these evolving modalities that are now crucial to the renaissance of echocardiography, and it provides a thorough clinical review of this most revealing and adaptable methods of imaging a patient. The Editors and their world-class group of contributors have created an essential reference for those in training or who already use echocardiography in their practice.    
Echocardiography in ICU by Michel Slama (Editor), 2020 This book offers readers a better understanding of how to perform echocardiography in their daily intensive care unit (ICU) work. With numerous practical examples highlighting the indices and hemodynamic monitoring profiles that physicians could encounter, it considers echocardiography not merely as a simple imaging technique, but as a practical diagnostic and hemodynamic monitoring tool. The booklet is richly illustrated with figures explaining how to perform echo, and includes numerous tables, simple equations and normal and abnormal values. Echocardiography in ICU, a pocket guide written by the leading international experts in the field, is an excellent source of information and guidance for all residents and physicians working in ICU, emergency medicine, anesthesia and cardiology as well.
Essential Echocardiography : A Companion to Braunwald's Heart Disease by Scott D. Solomon; Justina Wu; Linda D. Gillam, 2019 Echocardiography remains the most commonly used imaging technique to visualize the heart and great vessels, and this clinically oriented text by Drs. Scott D. Solomon, Justina C. Wu, and Linda D. Gillam helps you make the most of its diagnostic and prognostic potential for your patients. Part of the highly regarded Braunwald's family of cardiology references, Essential Echocardiography expertly covers basic principles of anatomy and physiology, the appearance of normal variants across a wide range of cardiovascular diseases, and the hands-on approaches necessary to acquire and interpret optimal echocardiographic images in the clinical setting. Abundant illustrations provide a superb visual learning experience both in print and online. Images convey clear, classic examples that represent decades of experience over multiple institutions, as well as recent advances in the field. More than 485 accompanying video clips mirror the images in the text, with easy-to-follow links from the figure citation to the video online. Each section includes one or two clinical cases that illustrate key concepts. Written by expert echocardiographers and sonographers who emphasize practical applications throughout the text, and superbly illustrated by physician-artist Dr. Bernard Bulwer. Ideal for anyone currently using or learning to use echocardiography, including cardiologists, cardiology fellows, sonographers, anesthesiologists, critical care physicians, emergency physicians, radiologists, residents, and medical students. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Feigenbaum's Echocardiography by William F. Armstrong, 2019 Continuing the long-standing Feigenbaum tradition as an authoritative, comprehensive echocardiography resource, the thoroughly revised Feigenbaum's Echocardiography, Eighth Edition, helps echocardiographers, fellows, clinicians, and sonographers master the art and science of echocardiography and stay current with all that's new in the field. Written by William F. Armstrong and Thomas Ryan, it guides you through pertinent physics, technology, clinical applications, and new developments in the field.  As in the past, the book is written primarily for the practitioner who uses echocardiographic methods to care for and manage patients, with a focus on appropriate clinical applications. Features enhanced online content including echo clips, case studies, and more. Includes new content specifically for cardiac sonographers. Reflects new training guidelines for cardiology fellows emphasizing the importance of echocardiography in the general practice of cardiology. Describes the interrelationship of other imaging technologies with echocardiography and the role of echo as part of a multimodality approach to patients. Contains more than 1,600 high-quality illustrations - 600 in full color. Covers the use of 3D echocardiography and perfusion imaging; current AHA/ACC guidelines, appropriate use guidelines, and the mechanics and utility of strain and strain rate imaging. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Goldberger's Clinical Electrocardiography by Ary L. Goldberger; Zachary D. Goldberger; Alexei Shvilkin, 2023 Ideal for trainees and practicing clinicians, Goldberger's Clinical Electrocardiography: A Simplified Approach, 10th Edition, covers the basics of ECG analysis and interpretation, as well as the differential diagnoses, underlying causes, and therapeutic implications of ECG findings. The authors' award-winning, systematic approach takes readers though the nuts and bolts of ECG interpretation. Beyond these essential details, the text serves as an invaluable and unique asset in hospital wards, outpatient clinics, emergency departments, and especially intensive and cardiac care units, where the recognition of normal and abnormal patterns is only the starting point in patient care. Offers practical, comprehensive coverage of real-world ECGs across a range of point-of-care settings, explaining not only how to interpret the data, but the implications of ECG findings for clinical management.  Covers recent advances in pacemaker and implantable cardioverter-defibrillator technology; myocardial ischemia and infarction; arrhythmias, including atrial fibrillation, ventricular tachycardias and sudden cardiac arrest syndromes; drug toxicities; cardiac monitoring, including wearable devices; cardiomyopathies and COVID-19.  Features nearly 300 high-quality illustrations, with an abundance of quick reference information highlights, including key pathophysiologic concepts, reminders, clinical pearls, and key points, as well as more than 250 review questions online.  Discusses basic principles of electrophysiology in an easily understandable format for students and non-cardiologists.  Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. 
Marriott's Practical Electrocardiography by STRAUSS, 2021 Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Providing a solid foundation in current ECG technology as well as the newest diagnostic applications, Marriott's Practical Electrocardiography, Thirteenth Edition, delivers the information you need to quickly improve your ECG interpretive skills. Authors Dr. David G. Strauss and Dr.  Douglas D. Schocken offer medical students, residents and fellows a detailed explanation of the ECG, rhythm analysis, and how to rapidly and accurately interpret ECG results. Helpful diagrams, tables, animations, and videos, plus new ECG quizzes online, improve your understanding and skills.    Includes new, interactive and topical ECG quizzes available online through the eBook bundled with this text.  Offers extensive content updates throughout, including substantial updates to the abnormal rhythms section of the book along with chapters on chamber enlargement, drugs and electrolytes, a new chapter on adult congenital heart disease, and more.  Contains summary illustrations with each chapter to that allow you to quickly grasp concepts in an easy-to-understand, telegraphic style.  Numerous animations throughout to help illustrate cardiovascular disease processes, their effects on the heart muscle, and their clinical manifestations on ECG readings.  Uses ECG recordings, anatomical drawings, glossary terms, and animations, and tables to provide comprehensive guidance on ECG interpretation, with convenience glossaries at the end of each chapter that reinforce key terminology.  Pairs diagnostic images with corresponding ECGs to enhance understanding.  Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience  Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone.  Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech. 
Multi-Modality Cardiac Imaging by Patrick Clarysse; Denis Friboulet (Editor), 2015 The imaging of moving organs such as the heart, in particular, is a real challenge because of its movement. This book presents current and emerging methods developed for the acquisition of images of moving organs in the five main medical imaging modalities: conventional X-rays, computed tomography (CT), magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), nuclear imaging and ultrasound. The availability of dynamic image sequences allows for the qualitative and quantitative assessment of an organ's dynamics, which is often linked to pathologies.

Core E-Books

Nuclear Cardiology: Practical Applications, Fourth Edition by Gary V. Heller; Robert C. Hendel, 2022 Complete with review questions, detailed answers, and new and emerging techniques--the go-to guide for acing certification or recertification exams in nuclear cardiology Nuclear Cardiology: Practical Applications, Fourth Edition provides the information you need to know regarding indications for and interpretation of results of a nuclear test. It's the perfect study guide for certification and recertification exams, including the Certification Board Examination in Nuclear Cardiology (CBNC).   This concise textbook focuses on the clinical application of imaging technology--with the added bonus of review questions with detailed answers. It covers all the latest advances in this rapidly changing field, primarily in the areas of PET and amyloid imaging, as well as other aspects of the nuclear imaging. Features: * Revised chapters on radiopharmaceuticals and instrumentation * NEW chapters on Cardiac PET, focusing on myocardial perfusion and quantitative determination of myocardial blood flow * NEW and revised chapters on FDG PET imaging, covering myocardial viability, sarcoid imaging, and infection/endocarditis imaging * NEW information on interpreting and reporting of nuclear cardiology studies to include both PET and SPECT * A focused chapter on appropriate use criteria to reflect the latest recommendations and CMS requirements * NEW chapter on cardiac amyloid imaging, including indications, imaging procedures, interpretation and strategies for use of the data * Incorporation of alternative testing approaches within each of the current chapters
Oh's Echo Manual by Jae K., Oh, 2019 Ideal for residents, fellows, and others who need a comprehensive, clinically focused understanding of echocardiography, The Echo Manual, 4th Edition, has been thoroughly revised with updated information, new chapters, and new video clips online. Written primarily by expert authorities from the Mayo Clinic, this best-selling reference remains a practical guide to the performance, interpretation, and clinical applications of today's echocardiography. Features all-new chapters specifically devoted to 3D echo, interventional echocardiography, and hand-carried ultrasound. Includes new echo videos that provide a valuable learning experience of echocardiography in motion. Provides a concise, user-friendly summary of techniques, diagnostic criteria, and quantitative methods for echocardiography, Doppler echocardiography, and transesophageal echocardiography. Presents complex material in an approachable, visually appealing manner that focuses on the clinical application of echocardiography as a diagnostic tool. Covers the latest techniques, standards, and applications - all highlighted by more than 900 high-quality, annotated images that are true to gray scale and color. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
The Only EKG Book You'll Ever Need by Malcolm S. Thaler, 2022 Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! For more than 30 years, health care providers have turned to The Only EKG Book You'll Ever Need for Dr. Malcolm S. Thaler's clear and concise guidance on EKG use in everyday practice. Ideal for readers at all levels of experience, the tenth edition of this straightforward, highly visual resource presents must-know information on using an EKG to diagnose cardiac and non-cardiac conditions, with numerous EKG strips, clear illustrations, clinical examples, and case studies throughout. From cover to cover, Dr. Thaler's commitment to "keeping simple things simple and making complicated things easy to understand" helps you learn and understand how to best use an EKG in actual clinical settings.   Provides more than 200 EKG strips, including many new to this edition Includes updated clinical scenarios and case studies, step-by-step instructions, newly clarified concepts, and high-quality illustrations throughout Uses a lighthearted, lively writing style designed to be compelling and minimize confusion of principles discussed Outlines processes for identifying and interpreting arrhythmias, myocardial infarctions, hypertrophy, atrial fibrillation, and other disorders Advises on the dangers of over-reliance on computer interpretations and includes many other practical considerations that other books leave out   Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s),such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook,powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Opie's Cardiovascular Drugs: a Companion to Braunwald's Heart Disease by Deepak L. Bhatt, 2020 Authoritative, portable, and up to date, Opie's Cardiovascular Drugs, 9th Edition, is the definitive reference for quick access to frequently used drugs in all phases of care for cardiac patients. Now a part of the Braunwald family of renowned cardiology references, this compact title provides crucial information in an easily accessible format-ideal for cardiologists, residents, cardiology fellows, medical students, nurses, and other cardiac care providers. Updated to include the latest guidelines and evidence-based implications, it offers clear and concise explanations and pertinent clinical facts for all classes of cardiac drugs, as well as all the latest clinical trial results and evidence for the pharmacologic treatment of heart disease. Uses a new, consistent format for each drug class: overview and guidelines for use, mechanisms of action, differences among drugs in class, data for use, side effects, and drug interactions. Covers key topics such as new ESC and NLA guidelines, advances in lipid-lowering therapy, new diabetes drugs that improve cardiovascular outcomes, obesity drugs and cardiovascular and metabolic effects, drugs targeting inflammation, and combinations of antithrombotic therapies with analysis of risk-benefit. Provides guidance on how to effectively manage comorbid diseases. Contains dozens of unique "Opiegram" diagrams that demystify complex mechanisms of action and other drug processes-many updated to reflect current pathologic understanding of mechanisms. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
The Practice of Clinical Echocardiography by Catherine M. Otto (Editor), 2021 Ideally suited for those clinicians who have already mastered basic principles, The Practice of Clinical Echocardiography, 6th Edition, provides expert guidance on interpreting echocardiographic images and Doppler flow data. Through practical, clear, and carefully edited content, world-renowned expert Dr. Catherine M. Otto and her team of more than 65 leaders in echocardiography demonstrate how to apply advanced knowledge to daily clinical decision making. Newly reorganized sections cover advanced principles for the echocardiographer, best practices for echocardiography laboratories, transthoracic and transesophageal echocardiography, intraoperative and interventional echocardiography, and point-of-care cardiac ultrasound. Provides an in-depth, clear, and concise review of the latest clinical applications of echocardiography with an advanced level of discussion, now thoroughly updated with new clinical knowledge, new treatments and guidelines, the latest evidence, and innovations in advanced echocardiographic imaging.  Reviews the technical aspects of data acquisition and analysis with an emphasis on outcomes.  Covers key topics such as transcatheter interventions for valvular heart disease, prosthetic valve dysfunction, the athletic heart, cardiac assist devices, cardio-oncology, heart disease in pregnancy, advanced 3D echocardiography, strain imaging, stress echocardiography, and much more.  Includes updated illustrations throughout-nearly 1,000 echocardiograms, Doppler tracings, anatomic drawings, and flow charts for diagnostic approaches-as well as hundreds of echo video clips keyed to images in the text.  Discusses limitations, pitfalls, and alternate approaches.  Features chapter summary boxes with new "Quick Reviews" and a practical approach to echocardiographic data acquisition, measurement, and interpretation.  Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access bonus images plus all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Textbook of Clinical Echocardiography by Catherine M. Otto, 2018 Today's echocardiography continues to be a low-cost, minimal-risk procedure with the potential to yield a vast amount of detailed, precise anatomic and physiologic information. Dr. Catherine Otto's Textbook of Clinical Echocardiography, 6th Edition, clearly outlines how to master the core principles of echocardiographic imaging in order to make an initial diagnosis and integrate this data in clinical decision making for patients with a wide range of cardiovascular diseases. Ideal for cardiology fellows, medicine residents, and cardiac sonography students, this bestselling text teaches all the essential elements of ultrasound physics, tomographic and 3D anatomy, image acquisition, advanced imaging modalities, and application in specific disease categories- all with a practical, problem-based approach. Concentrates on the foundational concepts you need to know to perform and interpret echocardiographic studies and to pass your board exams. Covers all advanced echo techniques, including contrast echo, 3D echo, and myocardial mechanics, as well as intraoperative and intra-procedural transesophageal echocardiography (TEE). Discusses what alternative diagnostic approaches to initiate when echocardiography does not provide a definitive answer. Includes new Echo Math boxes in each chapter for quick review and greater comprehension. Provides new ASE recommendations for chamber quantitation, including updated tables of normal measurements. Matches full-color anatomic drawings of heart structures with the 2D and 3D echocardiographic views. Pairs state-of-the-art echo images with more than 360 videos that illustrate the full range of cardiac disease diagnosed with this powerful imaging approach. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you click on each figure to see the corresponding video, as well as search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Textbook of Three-Dimensional Echocardiography, 2nd ed. by Luigi P. Badano; Roberto M. Lang; Denisa Muraru, 2019 This thoroughly revised textbook provides a practically applicable guide to three-dimensional echocardiography (3DE). Background is provided on the evolution of the technology and physics that support the implementation of both transthoracic and transesophageal approaches to 3DE. The incremental value of 3DE to assess cardiac chambers is also described. Moreover, a range of cardiac valvular diseases including the mitral, aortic, and tricuspid valve have been portrayed and illustrated in depth.These include congenital abnormalities, regurgitation and stenosis. Emphasis is also placed on technical aspects of the technique and where it can provide added value, including post-surgery assessments and evaluation of cardiac masses. Textbook of Three-Dimensional Echocardiography enables readers to develop a deep understanding of how to use this imaging modality. It provides a valuable resource for the echocardiography trainee looking to develop their knowledge and for the experienced practitioner seeking a comprehensive up-to-date reference.
The Washington University Manual of Echocardiography by Nishath Quader; Majesh Makan; Julio Perez, 2017 Concise, portable, and user-friendly, The Washington Manual® of Echocardiography, Second Edition focuses on the essential information you need to know to successfully perform and read echocardiograms, as well as to identify valvular heart disease, cardiac myopathies, and congenital anomalies. Supervised and edited by faculty from the Washington University School of Medicine, this highly regarded reference has been completely updated throughout, with a new, streamlined layout as well more echo clips, and an update on the current guidelines. You'll find expert guidance, practical tips, and up-to-date information on all aspects of echocardiography - all in one convenient and easily accessible source. New chapters on hypertrophic cardiomyopathy and cardiac devices include the latest ACC/AHA and ASE guidelines. Extensively revised sections on LV systolic and diastolic function, valve assessment, and TEE. Hundreds of updated, high-quality images enhance visual learning and improve diagnostic accuracy. Reorganized content emphasizes clarity and consistency, so you can find what you need more quickly. Tips and pearls from cardiologists and sonographers offer guidance on proper set-up, correct transduction technique, and image optimization. A handy, portable resource for cardiology fellows, as well as anesthesia fellows, cardiac sonographers, residents, attendings, and intensive care and emergency department physicians who utilize handheld ultrasound. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use