For more Endocrinology and Diabetes resources, search BOTH links below:
| Find Journals and E-Books |
| Library Catalog |
DeGroot's Endocrinology, 8th ed. by
Thoroughly updated to reflect today's recent advances in adult and pediatric endocrinology, DeGroot's Endocrinology, 8th Edition, remains the comprehensive, international reference of choice for today's endocrinologists and fellows. A full peer review of the previous edition, conducted by a largely new group of renowned editors, was used to update this trusted, two-volume resource. In-depth coverage of both basic and clinical aspects of endocrinology and up-to-date information on the treatment and management of endocrine disorders are provided by a diverse group of expert contributors from six continents. A full-color format and helpful algorithms summarize clinical decision-making and practical approaches to patient management. Organizes content by all the glands that regulate the endocrine system while integrating basic science and clinical presentations of disease. Includes new chapters: Anatomy and Physiology of the Hypothalmus and Pituitary, Differentiated Thyroid Cancer, Medullary Thyroid Cancer, Drugs that Affect Thyroid Function, Genetic Disorders of the Adrenal Cortex, Adrenal Pathology, Primary Aldosteronism, Transgender Healthcare, Erectile Dysfunction, Prevalence and Causes of Male Infertility, Sexual Dysfunction in the Female, Glucose Toxicity and Oxidative Stress. Emphasizes basic science and evidence-based practice throughout. Features extensive updates to content on thyroid and adrenal disfunction, endocrine-disrupting chemicals and human disease, clinical management of diabetes, and advances in genetics. Includes algorithms to outline effective treatment protocols. Contains new emphasis boxes that highlight key points in each chapter. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Williams Textbook of Endocrinology, 14th ed. by
Expertly bridging the gap between basic science and clinical information, Williams Textbook of Endocrinology, 14th Edition, brings together an outstanding collection of world-renowned authors to provide authoritative discussions of the full spectrum of adult and pediatric endocrine system disorders. New chapters and significant revisions throughout keep you up to date with recent advances in medications, therapies, clinical trials, and more. This essential reference is a must-have resource for endocrinologists, endocrine surgeons, gynecologists, internists, pediatricians, and other clinicians who need current, comprehensive coverage of this multifaceted field. Up to date with recent advances in medications, therapies, and clinical trials. Provides state-of-the-art coverage of diabetes, metabolic syndrome, metabolic bones disorders, obesity, thyroid disease, testicular disorders, newly defined adrenal disorders and much more - all designed to help you provide optimal care to every patient. Contains new chapters on Global Burden of Endocrine Disease, Navigation of Endocrine Guidelines, and Transgender Endocrinology. Includes significant updates to the Diabetes section, including a new chapter on Physiology of Insulin Secretion and greater coverage of Type 2 Diabetes. Presents current information in a highly illustrated, user-friendly format for quick reference. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Yen and Jaffe's Reproductive Endocrinology by
For over 40 years, Yen & Jaffe's Reproductive Endocrinology has been the gold standard text of both basic science and clinical practice of the full range of female and male reproductive disorders. The fully revised 9th Edition continues this tradition of excellence with complete coverage, including up-to-date information on impaired fertility, infertility, recurrent pregnancy loss, problems of sexual development, menstrual disturbances, fibroids, endometriosis, female and male reproductive aging, fertility preservation, assisted reproduction technologies including ovarian stimulation and ovulation induction, transgender hormonal treatment, contraception, and more. An outstanding editorial board and other global experts in the field share their knowledge and expertise to keep you abreast of current science and practice in endocrinology.
The Cleveland Clinic Manual of Dynamic Endocrine Testing by
Developed via a peer review process that included 25 experienced endocrinologists and utilizing the best current evidence, The Cleveland Clinic has created a practical set of protocols for over 25 commonly used dynamic endocrine tests. The cornerstone of clinical endocrinology, these evidence-based protocols play an important role in clinical decision-making and are important element of billing and compliance with high quality standards. Included here are various tests for pituitary and adrenal disorders, thyroid disorders, and glucose metabolism and pancreatic disorders, presented systematically with indications, preparation, materials needed, precautions, procedure, interpretation, and caveats. Filling the gap left by a lack of national guidelines, The Cleveland Clinic Manual of Dynamic Endocrine Testing is an up-to-date practical guide for endocrinologists, nurses, and their staff, inside or outside of the US, who need to perform and interpret dynamic endocrine testing in their everyday practice, as well as medical students, residents and fellows who have interest in endocrinology.
Endocrine and Metabolic Medical Emergencies by
The Essential Guide to Recognizing and Treating Acute Endocrine and Metabolic Illness Endocrinology covers some of the most common conditions and serious public health challenges facing medicine today, and endocrine and metabolic emergencies constitute a large proportion of the clinical workload. Endocrine and Metabolic Medical Emergencies: A Clinician's Guide provides a singular reference to help endocrinologists, acute and general medicine clinicians, hospitalists and critical care physicians, and general practitioners recognize the symptoms of endocrine emergencies and provide the highest standards of care. Already the definitive and most comprehensive guide to endocrine emergency care, this new second edition: provides acute care guidance for a range of both common and unusual endocrine emergencies; details the effects of acute medical and critical illness on metabolic and endocrine systems, and their impacts on endocrine investigations; discusses special patient populations, including the impacts of aging, pregnancy, transplantation, late-effects, perioperative, inherited metabolic disorders and HIV/AIDS on presentation and management; and features detailed coverage of disorders by system, as well as, metabolic bone diseases, neuroendocrine tumors, and more. Packed with case studies, images, and chapters written by distinguished authors, this guide is designed for both quick reference and study. Coverage includes the presentation, diagnosis, management, and treatment of endocrine and metabolic disorders in an acute care setting, as well as the most up-to-date guidance on issues including clinical lipidology, glucose, sodium, calcium and phosphate, and more. Blending the latest science with clinical and practical advice, this invaluable resource helps clinicians stay up to date with the field's relevant body of knowledge while providing the practical, clinical insight they need in order to provide their patients with the utmost level of care.
Endocrine Physiology, Sixth Edition by
Master the aspects of endocrine physiology required in clinical medicine and ace the USMLE Endocrine Physiology delivers unmatched coverage of the fundamental concepts of hormone biological actions--providing the foundation you need to understand the physiologic mechanisms involved in neuroendocrine regulation of organ function. The first chapter walks you through organization of the endocrine system, as well as general concepts of hormone production and release, transport and metabolic rate, and cellular mechanisms of action. Emphasizing must-know principles, Endocrine Physiology is essential for residents and fellows and is the single-best endocrine review available for the USMLE® Step 1. Features Boxed case studies show how to apply principles to real-world clinical situations Bulleted objectives, key concepts, study questions, suggested readings, and diagrams encapsulating key concepts Pedagogical throughout
Genetic Diagnosis of Endocrine Disorders by
Genetic Diagnosis of Endocrine Disorders, Second Edition provides users with a comprehensive reference that is organized by endocrine grouping (i.e., thyroid, pancreas, parathyroid, pituitary, adrenal, and reproductive and bone), discussing the genetic and molecular basis for the diagnosis of various disorders. The book emphasizes the practical nature of diagnosing a disease, including which tests should be done for the diagnosis of diabetes mellitus in adults and children, which genes should be evaluated for subjects with congenital hypothyroidism, which genetic tests should be ordered in obese patients or for those with parathyroid carcinoma, and the rationale behind testing for multiple endocrine neoplasias.
Goodman's Basic Medical Endocrinology, Fifth ed. by
Goodman's Basic Medical Endocrinology, Fifth Edition, has been student tested and approved for decades. This essential textbook provides up-to-date coverage of rapidly unfolding advances in the understanding of hormones involved in regulating most aspects of bodily functions. It is richly illustrated in full color with both descriptive schematic diagrams and laboratory findings obtained in clinical studies. This is a classic reference for moving forward into advanced study.
Greenspan's Basic and Clinical Endocrinology, Tenth Edition by
A full-color guide to the entire field of clinical endocrinology and its scientific underpinnings - updated with the latest breakthroughs and developments Greenspan's Basic & Clinical Endocrinology delivers a succinct, leading-edge overview of the underlying molecular biology of the endocrine system and the latest perspectives on the diagnosis and treatment of specific diseases and disorders. Featuring an enhanced design that includes hundreds of full-color illustrations and clinical photographs, Greenspan's is a true must-have during traditional or integrated courses in endocrinology, endocrinology rotation, or exam prep in internal medicine and endocrinology and as reference for disease management. Greenspan's provides clinically relevant coverage of metabolic bone disease, pancreatic hormones and diabetes mellitus, hypoglycemia, obesity, geriatric endocrinology, and many other diseases and disorders. Supporting this essential material is a handy appendix of normal hormone reference ranges across the lifespan. Here's why Greenspan's is an essential tool for learning how to manage endocrine patients: * The Tenth Edition is enhanced by updated content throughout each chapter * NEW CHAPTERS on Transgender Endocrinology and Disorders of Sexual Determination and Differentiation * Important chapter on Evidence-Based Endocrinology and Clinical Epidemiology * Concise, balanced coverage of both scientific and clinical principles that guide patient management * The best source for current concepts in endocrine pathophysiology to aid clinical decision making * The most practical, current insights into diagnostic testing * More than 270 full-color illustrations and clinical photographs If you are in need of a well-illustrated, completely up-to-date guide to the entire field of clinical endocrinology, this trusted classic belongs on your desk or computer.
Handbook of Diabetes by
The Handbook of Diabetes provides concise and efficient coverage of the diagnosis, epidemiology, and management of diabetes and its complications. Containing hundreds of attractive colour diagrams, illustrations, and clinical photographs, this popular quick-reference guide focuses on the management and measurement of diabetes mellitus with highly visual references. Now in its fifth edition, this market-leading book aligns with the most recent guidelines from the American Diabetes Association (ADA), the European Association for the Study of Diabetes (EASD), Diabetes UK, and the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE), presenting authoritative clinical coverage of diabetes in an accessible format with rich pedagogical features. Five new chapters provide detailed coverage of liver disease, diabetes education, bariatric surgery, diabetes and cancer, and the use of incretin-based therapies and SGLT2 Inhibitors in the management of Type II diabetes Updated and expanded topics include the relation between hypoglycaemia and dementia, anxiety and depression, the NICE Quality and Outcomes Framework (QOF), and the impacts of diabetes to self-care, mental health, and decision-making Provides a wealth of pedagogical features such as vignettes and case histories, important learning points, summaries of key clinical trials, and links to further readings Handbook of Diabetes, remains the essential practical companion for all health professionals involved in managing patients with diabetes, and an up-to-date reference for diabetes and endocrinology researchers, scientists, and academics.
OMMBID : the Online Metabolic & Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease by
"Scriver's OMMBID from McGraw-Hill Medical is an essential online resource delivering comprehensive coverage of the genes and genetic mechanisms underlying human disease states. Based on the worlds most respected book on the subject, Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease, first published in 1960, Scriver's OMMBID is an indispensable digital reference tool that provides geneticists, researchers, students, clinicians, and fellows involved with the causation and treatment of inherited diseases -- with cutting edge information spanning the entire field of genetics. Much more than a literature synopsis, OMMBID provides the latest knowledge on the metabolic and molecular underpinnings of a growing list of inherited diseases as well as updates on pathophysiology and treatment."
NOTE Based on: The metabolic & molecular bases of inherited disease / editors, Charles R. Scriver [and others].
Marcus and Feldman's Osteoporosis, 5th ed. by
Marcus and Feldman's Osteoporosis, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, authoritative reference on this disease. Led by a new editorial team, this fifth edition offers critical information on reproductive and hormonal risk factors, new therapeutics, ethnicity, nutrition, therapeutics, management and economics, comprising a tremendous wealth of knowledge in a single source not found elsewhere. Written by renowned experts in the field, this two-volume reference is a must-have for biomedical researchers, research clinicians, fellows, academic and medical libraries, and any company involved in osteoporosis drug research and development.
The Pituitary by
The Pituitary, Fourth Edition, continues the tradition of a cogent blend of basic science and clinical medicine which has been the successful hallmark of prior editions. This comprehensive text is devoted to the pathogenesis, diagnosis, and treatment of pituitary disorders. The new edition has been extensively revised to reflect new knowledge derived from advances in molecular and cell biology, biochemistry, diagnostics, and therapeutics as they apply to the pituitary gland. The wide spectrum of clinical disorders emanating from dysfunction of the master gland is described in detail by experts in the field. Fundamental mechanisms underlying disease pathogenesis are presented to provide the reader with an in-depth understanding of mechanisms subserving both normal and disordered pituitary hormone secretion and action. This extensive body of knowledge is useful for students, trainees, physicians, and scientists who need to understand critical pituitary functions and how to care for patients with pituitary disorders. Chapters provide medical students, clinical and basic endocrinology trainees, endocrinologists, internists, pediatricians, gynecologists, and neurosurgeons with a comprehensive, yet integrated, text devoted to the science and art of pituitary medicine. Brings together pituitary experts from all areas of research and practice who take readers all the way from bench research, to genomic and proteomic analysis, clinical analysis, and new therapeutic approaches to pituitary disorders Saves researchers and clinicians time in quickly accessing the very latest details on a broad range of issues related to normal and diseased pituitary function Provides a common language for endocrinologists, neurosurgeons, OB/GYNs, and endocrine researchers to discuss how the pituitary gland and hormones affect each major organ system
Practical Diabetes Care by
Concise, affordable and extremely practical, Practical Diabetes Care, 4th edition offers a wholly clinical approach to diabetes and its treatment. Covering all the practical aspects of all major aspects of Type 1 and Type 2 diabetes, it also includes the very latest in clinical research and trial results. Structured in a problem-orientated way, the book focuses on the areas of maximum anxiety for health-professionals treating patients with diabetes, e.g. hyperglycaemic emergencies, and multiple complications. Easy to navigate, clear and convenient for when on the wards and in clinic, this is the perfect guide to the practical aspects of caring for patients with diabetes.
Textbook of Nephro-Endocrinology by
Textbook of Nephro-Endocrinology, Second Edition, continues to be the definitive translational reference in the field of nephro-endocrinology, investigating both the endocrine functions of the kidneys and how the kidney acts as a target for hormones from other organ systems. It offers researchers and clinicians expert analyses of nephro-endocrine research and translation into the treatment of diseases such as anemia, chronic kidney disease (CKD), rickets, osteoporosis, and hypoparathyroidism. Changes to this edition include new chapters focused on hypercalcemia/hypocalcemia and the interaction of dialysis, chronic renal disease, and endocrine diseases. All chapters have been updated to include more preclinical data and more tables and schema that help translate this data into clinical recommendations. The section on hormones and renal insufficiency discusses insulin/diabetes, growth hormone, sex steroids, thyroid hormone, acid-base disturbances, and pregnancy.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
Diabetes Secrets by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. A new volume in this trusted series, Diabetes Secrets offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. It features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - succinct, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Up-to-date coverage of the full range of topics in diabetes, including diabetes during pregnancy; diabetes management in cancer patients; diabetes management during exercise, sports, and competition; diabetes management in hospitalized patients, and more. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Bulleted lists, mnemonics, practical tips from global leaders in the field - all providing a concise overview of important board-relevant content. Written by global experts and thought leaders in diabetes. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Endocrine Secrets by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Endocrine Secrets, 7th Edition, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - succinct, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Fully revised and updated throughout, including protocols and guidelines that are continuously evolving and that increasingly dictate best practices. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Features bulleted lists, mnemonics, practical tips from prominent endocrinologists - all providing a concise overview of important board-relevant content. Keeps you up to date with new techniques and technologies, as well as changing treatment options and drug information. Equips you for effective practice with coverage of the most current developments in obesity management, weight loss drugs, and bariatric surgery; type 2 diabetes mellitus; insulin therapy; thyroid cancer; osteoporosis therapies; and much more. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
