Atlas of Implantable Therapies for Pain Management by
From reviews of the First Edition: "For the practitioner new to the field of implantable therapies, this book shows the scope of this particular branch of pain medicine. It is full of good advice on techniques and how to avoid complications." British Journal of Clinical Pharmacology "All practicing pain physicians, whether their background is in anesthesia or neurosurgery, will find [this atlas] very useful...beautifully written and well-illustrated with x-ray images and pictures...a must-read for every pain fellow and a very useful one for every pain physician." Doody's Review Service Now in its Second Edition, this atlas remains an essential guide to the treatment of pain using neuromodulation and is written for all implanters, from beginners to the most advanced practitioners. It has been significantly expanded with many brand new chapters and figures and thoroughly updated to address new techniques, targets, waveforms, and concepts that have emerged since publication of the last edition and now provides even more detailed coverage of patient safety, including infection control and reduction of bleeding risks. The new and returning physicians who have collaborated on the Second Edition are world-class in their research, clinical expertise, and ethics of practice. They have endeavored to make each segment of the atlas a great learning event through careful integration of extensive photographs, illustrations, and detailed instructions and to create a resource that helps to improve practice and enhance outcomes while complementing fellowship training, peer-to-peer experiences, and hands-on continuing medical education.
Atlas of Interventional Pain Management, 5th ed. by
An essential resource for pain medicine clinicians at all levels of practice and training, Atlas of Interventional Pain Management, 5th Edition, is a comprehensive, easy-to-follow guide to delivering safe, accurate, and cost-effective relief for patients with acute and chronic pain. Dr. Steven D. Waldman walks you step by step through each procedure, incorporating all clinically appropriate imaging modalities to help you achieve the best possible outcomes for more than 160 nerve block procedures. Focuses on the how rather than the why of interventional pain procedures, offering an abundance of high-quality, full-color illustrations to demonstrate the best technique. Incorporates all clinically useful imaging modalities that increase needle placement precision, including significantly expanded content on office-based ultrasound guided techniques as well as fluoroscopy and computed tomography guided procedures. Keeps you up to date with 19 brand-new chapters, including Selective Maxillary Nerve Block: Suprazygomatic Approach, Brachial Plexus Block: Retroclavicular Approach, Erector Spinae Plane Block, Transversalis Fascia Plane Block, Adductor Canal Block, Dorsal Root Ganglion Stimulation, Sacral Neuromodulation, and more. Provides Indications, Clinically Relevant Anatomy, Technique, Side Effects and Complications, and Clinical Pearls and updated CPT codes for each procedure. Clearly illustrates the anatomical targets for each procedure and the appropriate needle placement and trajectory used to reach each target. Includes access to procedural videos covering Cervical Translaminar Epidural Block, Cervical Paravertebral Medical Branch Block, Percutaneous Facet Fusion, Lumbar Transforaminal Epidural Block, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Atlas of Pain Injection Techniques by
Hone your pain injection skills with Atlas of Pain Injection Techniques! This highly illustrated, "off-the-shelf" guide offers easy-to-follow descriptions of today's best techniques for administering basic nerve blocks. Ideal for relative newcomers to pain management as well as for anesthesiology trainees, this medical reference book provides exactly the fundamental guidance you need to master these essential procedures. Find information quickly with a user-friendly, templated format that guides you through each nerve block in a consistent and easy-to-follow manner. Rely on expert recommendations when considering local anesthetics, corticosteroids, and neurolytic agents. Offer proven, reliable treatment options to patients with persistent, severe or chronic pain. This introductory atlas provides a description of many basic regional anesthetic tools as well as common joint and muscular injections for pain relief. See exactly how to proceed to achieve optimal results and avoid problems. Step-by-step instructions - with concise text accompanied by line drawings and color photographs - demonstrate correct needle placement and anatomical structure for 29 techniques and procedures. Apply ultrasound guided therapies for optimal needle placement in delivery of anesthetic agents. Access the full text online at Expert Consult.
Atlas of Pain Management Injection Techniques, Fifth ed. by
Ideal for hands-on, day-to-day use in practice, Atlas of Pain Management Injection Techniques, 5th Edition, helps you master the key nerve blocks you need to know to successfully treat 200 common and uncommon pain syndromes. Focusing on the "how to" details of pain management injection techniques, this bestselling atlas by Dr. Steven D. Waldman equips you to deliver safe, accurate and cost-effective pain relief to your patients using the most clinically appropriate imaging modalities. It demonstrates exactly how to evaluate the causes of pain, identify the most promising injection technique, locate the injection site with precision, and deliver effective relief to patients. Helps you find information quickly with a logical organization by anatomic region, and templated chapters that cover indications and clinical considerations, clinically relevant anatomy, technique, side effects and complications, and Dr. Waldman's own clinical pearls. Includes 14 brand-new injection techniques, including Chalazion Injection; Botox Injection for Migraine; Intra-articular Injections of the Glenohumeral, Hip, Ankle, and Knee Joints; Rectus Sheath Block; Fascia Iliaca Plane Block; Penile Block; and more. Incorporates all clinically useful imaging modalities including expanded information on office-based ultrasound-guided techniques as well as fluoroscopy and CT-guided procedures. Illustrates the anatomical targets for each procedure and the appropriate needle placement and trajectory used to reach each target. Features new full-color anatomic drawings as well as photographs, radiographs, ultrasound, CT, and MRI images throughout. Provides clear guidance on the risks and benefits of each procedure/technique. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Atlas of Pain Medicine Procedures by
CONFIDENTLY PERFORM ESSENTIAL PROCEDURES WITH THE MOST COMPLETE FULL-COLOR GUIDE TO INTERVENTIONAL PAIN MEDICINE This must-have resource presents an encyclopedic, yet focused visual survey of pain medicine, with a strong emphasis on procedural technique and safety. Throughout, you'll find detailed, evidence-based guidance on more than 70 pain medicine procedures--all supported by an illustrated presentation that includes 950 figures (many in full color). Chapters are consistently designed--covering indications, procedural steps, and complications--with the text presented in a succinct, bulleted style. Atlas of Pain Medicine Procedures begins with an incisive review of basic applications such as safety and image guidance and then proceeds to core procedures, from spinal interventions and musculoskeletal injections toperipheral nerve blocks. The book also offers in-depth insights on ultrasound guidance as well as fluoroscopic guidance of procedures. The evidence-based focus ensures that the procedures and techniques discussed are grounded in the peer-reviewed medical literature and the very latest pain medicine perspectives.
Atlas of Sonoanatomy for Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine by
A comprehensive full-color anatomical atlas designed specifically for the anesthesiologist and pain physician A clear understanding of relevant anatomy is essential for physicians who wish to master ultrasound-guided nerve blocks. Although ultrasound images may help visualize the nerve to be blocked, the images still present a grainy and incomplete picture. Physicians looking to master US-guided nerve blocks are best served by becoming anatomical experts -- and this innovative resource is an invaluable learning tool to doing just that. In addition to 2D and 3D ultrasound images, Atlas of Sonoanatomy for Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine includes high-resolution CTs, MRIs, cadaver anatomy images, and anatomical illustrations to give physicians a comprehensive understanding of the anatomy of the neck, upper and lower extremity, trunk, thorax, thoracic spine, sacral spine, lumbar paravertebral region, and thoracic paravertebral region that are relevant to ultrasound-guided regional anesthesia. Features * Bulleted pearls impart how to obtain optimal ultrasound images at each site * More than 600 full-color photographs and illustrations throughout * Essential for anesthesiologists and pain physicians, and is also of value to musculoskeletal sonographers, radiologists, and emergency medicine physicians *Enables you to learn and see, through full-color illustrations, the relevant anatomy for administering successful nerve blocks * Includes CT and MRI correlations to ultrasound images, plus corresponding anatomical illustrations, cadaver anatomy, and photos of probe placement on the patient. Although other texts may provide some of the imaging information contained in this unique atlas, this is the first resource to systematically and comprehensively gather all the imaging modalities for side-by-side comparison under one cover.
Atlas of Uncommon Pain Syndromes, 3rd ed. by
Covering the many relatively uncommon pain conditions that are often misdiagnosed, this one-of-a-kind visual resource clearly presents the extensive knowledge and experience of world-renowned pain expert Steven D. Waldman, MD, JD. Atlas of Uncommon Pain Syndromes, 4th Edition, first and foremost helps you make a correct diagnosis - a critical step in managing patients in chronic pain. Hundreds of high-quality illustrations, as well as x-rays, ultrasound, CTs, and MRIs, help you confirm your diagnoses with confidence. Offers head-to-toe coverage - 135 conditions in all - providing concise, easy-to-read chapters for each condition. Dr. Waldman's practical guidance is designed to help you make the correct diagnosis of uncommon pain syndromes, even the signs and symptoms don't quite fit. Explains each pain syndrome using a consistent, easy-to-follow format: an ICD-10 CM code for billing purposes, followed by a brief description of the signs and symptoms, laboratory and radiographic testing, differential diagnosis, available treatment options, and clinical pearls. Features updated chapters throughout, as well as 12 new chapters covering Hemicrania Continua, Acute Calcific Prevertebral Tendinitis, Sternohyoid Syndrome Snapping Scapula Syndrome, Erythromelagia, Foix-Alajouanine Syndrome, Lumbar Paraspinous Muscle Compartment Syndrome, Clunealgia, Nutcracker Syndrome, Paroxysmal Extreme Pain Disorder, Iliopsoas Tendon Rupture, and Snapping Pes Anserinus Syndrome Provides practitioners and trainees in pain medicine, anesthesiology, neurology, psychiatry, physical medicine and rehabilitation, primary care, and more with a firm foundation in the diagnosis of uncommon pain in daily practice. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Physical Diagnosis of Pain, Fifth Ed. by
In this easy-to-follow, how-to-do-it atlas, internationally recognized pain expert Dr. Steven D. Waldman provides a compendium of practical physical examination techniques that you can use in your daily practice to evaluate and diagnose patients in pain. Physical Diagnosis of Pain, 5th Edition, is the only atlas devoted to this critical area of pain medicine, offering a real-world focus on how clinicians evaluate pain: "What is it?" rather than "Where is it?". You'll be guided step by step through the evaluation and diagnosis of more than 280 pain-related conditions based on physical signs. Concise, superbly illustrated chapters help you rapidly diagnose pathology based on physical techniques rather than relying on imaging alone.