AI in Healthcare
by
The best source for cutting-edge insights into AI in healthcare operations AI in Healthcare: How Artificial Intelligence Is Changing IT Operations and Infrastructure Services collects, organizes and provides the latest, most up-to-date research on the emerging technology of artificial intelligence as it is applied to healthcare operations. Written by a world-leading technology executive specializing in healthcare IT, this book provides concrete examples and practical advice on how to deploy artificial intelligence solutions in your healthcare environment. AI in Healthcare reveals to readers how they can take advantage of connecting real-time event correlation and response automation to minimize IT disruptions in critical healthcare IT functions. This book provides in-depth coverage of all the most important and central topics in the healthcare applications of artificial intelligence, including: Healthcare IT AI Clinical Operations AI Operational Infrastructure Project Planning Metrics, Reporting, and Service Performance AIOps in Automation AIOps Cloud Operations Future of AI Written in an accessible and straightforward style, this book will be invaluable to IT managers, administrators, and engineers in healthcare settings, as well as anyone with an interest or stake in healthcare technology.
Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning in Healthcare
by
This book reviews the application of artificial intelligence and machine learning in healthcare. It discusses integrating the principles of computer science, life science, and statistics incorporated into statistical models using existing data, discovering patterns in data to extract the information, and predicting the changes and diseases based on this data and models. The initial chapters of the book cover the practical applications of artificial intelligence for disease prognosis & management. Further, the role of artificial intelligence and machine learning is discussed with reference to specific diseases like diabetes mellitus, cancer, mycobacterium tuberculosis, and Covid-19. The chapters provide working examples on how different types of healthcare data can be used to develop models and predict diseases using machine learning and artificial intelligence. The book also touches upon precision medicine, personalized medicine, and transfer learning, with the real examples. Further, it also discusses the use of machine learning and artificial intelligence for visualization, prediction, detection, and diagnosis of Covid -19. This book is a valuable source of information for programmers, healthcare professionals, and researchers interested in understanding the applications of artificial intelligence and machine learning in healthcare.
Artificial Intelligence in Surgery: Understanding the Role of AI in Surgical Practice
by
Build a solid foundation in surgical AI with this engaging, comprehensive guide for AI novices Machine learning, neural networks, and computer vision in surgical education, practice, and research will soon be de rigueur. Written for surgeons without a background in math or computer science, Artificial Intelligence in Surgery provides everything you need to evaluate new technologies and make the right decisions about bringing AI into your practice. Comprehensive and easy to understand, this first-of-its-kind resource illustrates the use of AI in surgery through real-life examples. It covers the issues most relevant to your practice, including: Neural Networks and Deep Learning Natural Language Processing Computer Vision Surgical Education and Simulation Preoperative Risk Stratification Intraoperative Video Analysis OR Black Box and Tracking of Intraoperative Events Artificial Intelligence and Robotic Surgery Natural Language Processing for Clinical Documentation Leveraging Artificial Intelligence in the EMR Ethical Implications of Artificial Intelligence in Surgery Artificial Intelligence and Health Policy Assessing Strengths and Weaknesses of Artificial Intelligence Research Finally, the appendix includes a detailed glossary of terms and important learning resources and techniques―all of which helps you interpret claims made by studies or companies using AI.
Biomedical Engineering
by
Biomedical Engineering: Health Care Systems, Technology and Techniques is an edited volume with contributions from world experts. It provides readers with unique contributions related to current research and future healthcare systems. Practitioners and researchers focused on computer science, bioinformatics, engineering and medicine will find this book a valuable reference.
Biomedical Engineering: Frontier Research and Converging Technologies
by
This book provides readers with an integrative overview of the latest research and developments in the broad field of biomedical engineering. Each of the chapters offers a timely review written by leading biomedical engineers and aims at showing how the convergence of scientific and engineering fields with medicine has created a new basis for practically solving problems concerning human health, wellbeing and disease. While some of the latest frontiers of biomedicine, such as neuroscience and regenerative medicine, are becoming increasingly dependent on new ideas and tools from other disciplines, the paradigm shift caused by technological innovations in the fields of information science, nanotechnology, and robotics is opening new opportunities in healthcare, besides dramatically changing the ways we actually practice science. At the same time, a new generation of engineers, fluent in many different scientific "languages," is creating entirely new fields of research that approach the "old" questions from a new and holistic angle. The book reports on the scientific revolutions in the field of biomedicine by describing the latest technologies and findings developed at the interface between science and engineering. It addresses students, fellows, and faculty and industry investigators searching for new challenges in the broad biomedical engineering fields.
Biomedical Engineering Technologies
by
This volume provides detailed technical protocols on current biosensors and imaging technologies and Chapters focus on optical, electrochemical, Quartz crystal microbalance (QCM) biosensors and on medical imaging technologies such as tomography, MRI, and NMR. Written in the format of the highly successful Methods in Molecular Biology series, each chapter includes an introduction to the topic, lists necessary materials and reagents, includes tips on troubleshooting and known pitfalls, and step-by-step, readily reproducible protocols. Authoritative and practical, Biomedical Engineering Technologies, Volume 1 provides technical details in descriptions of major technologies by experts in the field.
Digitalization in Healthcare
by
Digital technologies are currently dramatically changing healthcare. This book introduces the reader to the latest digital innovations in healthcare in fields such as artificial intelligence, points out new ways in patient care and describes the limits of its application. It also offers essential guidance in the form of structured and authoritative contributions by domain experts spanning from artificial intelligence to hospital management to radiology to dentistry to preventive medicine. Furthermore, it shares ideas and experiences of industry veterans, in particular on how IT-driven solutions could solve long-standing issues in the fields of healthcare and hospitalization. It also gives advice on what new digital technologies to consider for becoming a healthcare market leader in the future. Taken together, these contributions provide a "road map" to guide decision makers, physicians, academics, industry representatives and other interested readers to understand the large impactof digital technology on healthcare today and its enormous potential for future development.
Healthcare Information Security and Privacy
by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Operational, tested information security and privacypractices for the healthcare environment Written by an expert in the field with multiple industry certifications, this definitive resource fully addresses information security and privacy considerations and their implications within the business of patient care. The book begins with an overview of the organization, financing, and delivery of healthcare and discusses technology, terminology, and data management principles. The topic coverage continues across all aspects of information security and privacy, with a special emphasis on real-life scenarios in clinical practices and business operations in healthcare. Learn best practices for healthcare information security and privacy with detailed coverage of essential topics such as information governance, roles and occupations, risk assessment and management, incident response, patient rights, and cybersecurity. Written for a global audience, this comprehensive guide addresses U.S. laws and regulations as well as those within the European Union, the United Kingdom, and Canada. Healthcare Information Security and Privacy covers: Healthcare organizations and industry Regulatory environment Risk-based decision making Notifications of security and privacy events Patient rights and healthcare responsibilities Anatomy of a cyber attack Protecting digital health information Privacy and security impact on healthcare information technology Information governance Risk assessment and management
The Medical-Legal Aspects of Acute Care Medicine
by
The Medical-Legal Aspects of Acute Care Medicine: A Resource for Clinicians, Administrators, and Risk Managers is a comprehensive resource intended to provide a state-of-the-art overview of complex ethical, regulatory, and legal issues of importance to clinical healthcare professionals in the area of acute care medicine; including, for example, physicians, advanced practice providers, nurses, pharmacists, social workers, and care managers. In addition, this book also covers key legal and regulatory issues relevant to non-clinicians, such as hospital and practice administrators; department heads, educators, and risk managers. This text reviews traditional and emerging areas of ethical and legal controversies in healthcare such as resuscitation; mass-casualty event response and triage; patient autonomy and shared decision-making; medical research and teaching; ethical and legal issues in the care of the mental health patient; and, medical record documentation and confidentiality. Furthermore, this volume includes chapters dedicated to critically important topics, such as team leadership, the team model of clinical care, drug and device regulation, professional negligence, clinical education, the law of corporations, tele-medicine and e-health, medical errors and the culture of safety, regulatory compliance, the regulation of clinical laboratories, the law of insurance, and a practical overview of claims management and billing. Authored by experts in the field, The Medical-Legal Aspects of Acute Care Medicine: A Resource for Clinicians, Administrators, and Risk Managers is a valuable resource for all clinical and non-clinical healthcare professionals.
Medical Robotics
by
This book provides a thorough background to the emerging field of medical robotics. It covers the mathematics needed to understand the use of robotic devices in medicine, including but not limited to robot kinematics, hand-eye and robot-world calibration, reconstruction, registration, motion planning, motion prediction, motion correlation, motion replication and motion learning. Additionally, basic methods behind state-of-the art robots like the DaVinci system, the CyberKnife, motorized C-arms and operating microscopes as well as stereotactic frames are presented. The book is a text book for undergraduates in computer science and engineering. The main idea of the book is to motivate the methods in robotics in medical applications rather than industrial applications. The book then follows the standard path for a robotics textbook. It is thus suitable for a first course in robotics for undergraduates. It is the first textbook on medical robotics.
Unlocking the Brain
by
Neuroscience has made considerable progress in figuring out how the brain works. We know much about the molecular-genetic and biochemical underpinnings of sensory and motor functions, and recent neuroimaging work has opened the door to investigating the neural underpinnings of higher-order cognitive functions, such as memory, attention, and even free will. In these types of investigations, researchers apply specific stimuli to induce neural activity in the brain and look for the function in question. However, there may be more to the brain and its neuronal states than the changes in activity we induce by applying particular external stimuli. In Volume 1 of Unlocking the Brain, Georg Northoff presents his argument for how the brain must code the relationship between its resting state activity and stimulus-induced activity in order to enable and predispose mental states and consciousness. By presupposing such a basic sense of neural code, the author ventures into different territories and fields of current neuroscience, including a comprehensive exploration of the features of resting state activity as distinguishable from and stimulus-induced activity; sparse coding and predictive coding; and spatial and temporal features of the resting state itself. This yields a unique and novel picture of the brain, and will have a major and lasting impact on neuroscientists working in neuroscience, psychiatry, and related fields.