Skip to Main Content
Core E-Books
AJCC Cancer Staging System, Version 9 by Mahul B. Amin (Editor-In-Chief), 2025
Please visit www.cancerstaging.org for information about content updates and staging forms. The AJCC Cancer Staging Manual is used by physicians and health care professionals throughout the world to facilitate the uniform description and reporting of neoplastic diseases. Proper classification and staging of cancer is essential for the physician to assign proper treatment, evaluate results of management and clinical trials, and to serve as the standard for local, regional and international reporting on cancer incidence and outcome. Significantly expanded and developed by international disease site expert panels, the Eighth Edition AJCC Cancer Staging Manual brings together all the currently available knowledge on staging of cancer at various anatomic sites. In this edition, evidence-based TNM staging is supplemented, as appropriate, by selected molecular markers and newly acquired insights into the molecular underpinnings of cancer. This edition features 12 entirely new staging systems, a wide range of changed or new staging definitions, and a refined emphasis on a personalized-medicine approach. To enhance the print and electronic usability of the cancer staging forms, they are now available exclusively for access and downloading at www.cancerstaging.org. The Eighth Edition AJCC Cancer Staging Manual remains the gold standard reference for oncologists, surgeons, pathologists, radiologists, cancer registrars and medical professionals world-wide to ensure that all those caring for cancer patients are fully versed in the language of cancer staging.
Atlas of Gastrointestinal Pathology by Christina Arnold; Dora Lam-Himlin; Elizabeth A. Montgomery, 2015
Effectively evaluate challenging GI biopsies with Atlas of Gastrointestinal Pathology: A Pattern Based Approach to Non-Neoplastic Biopsies! Presented in a format that closely mirrors the daily sign-out process, this one-of-a-kind resource helps you interpret challenging cases by highlighting red flags in the clinical chart and locating hidden clues in the slides. You,,ll be able to reach confident diagnoses efficiently with this patterns based scope-side guide.
Biopsy Interpretation of the Gastrointestinal Tract Mucosa: Vol. 1 - Non-Neoplastic, 3rd ed. by Montgomery Voltaggio Staff; Elizabeth A. Montgomery; Lysandra Voltaggio, 2018
Biopsy Interpretation of the Gastrointestinal Tract Mucosa is your definitive bench reference for the diagnosis of these challenging specimens. One of the best-selling titles in the Biopsy Interpretation Series, its practical, richly illustrative coverage encompasses the most common mucosal biopsies from the esophagus, stomach, small intestine, large intestine, and anus, helping you to evaluate the full range of samples and recognize their distinguishing features. This volume focuses on non-neoplastic entities; Volume Two, also available, is your complete source on neoplastic gastrointestinal lesions. Key Features Successfully navigate both common and unusual issues that arise in the day-to-day interpretation of gastrointestinal biopsies. Entities covered in this volume include: Autoimmune gastritis, sexually transmitted infectious proctitis, inflammatory bowel disease and mimics, medication induced injury, and many others. Enhance your interpretation skills with valuable pearls and pitfalls at the beginning of each chapter. Compare your samples to hundreds of full-color illustrations that capture the characteristic appearance of most mucosal biopsies of the gastrointestinal tract.
Biopsy Interpretation of the Gastrointestinal Tract Mucosa: Vol 2 - Neoplastic, 3rd ed by Elizabeth A. Montgomery; Lysandra Voltaggio, 2018
Biopsy Interpretation of the Gastrointestinal Tract Mucosa is your definitive bench reference for the diagnosis of these challenging specimens. One of the best-selling titles in the Biopsy Interpretation Series, its practical, richly illustrative coverage encompasses the most common mucosal biopsies from the esophagus, stomach, small intestine, large intestine, and anus, helping you to evaluate the full range of samples and recognize their distinguishing features. This volume focuses on neoplastic entities; Volume One, also available, is your complete source on non-neoplastic gastrointestinal lesions. Key Features Successfully navigate both common and unusual issues that arise in the day-to-day interpretation of gastrointestinal biopsies. Entities covered in this volume include: Barrett esophagus, mesenchymal neoplasms such as GIST, schwannoma, and benign fibroblastic polyp, hereditary cancer syndromes, and many more. Enhance your interpretation skills with valuable pearls and pitfalls at the beginning of each chapter. Compare your samples to hundreds of full-color illustrations that capture the characteristic appearance of most mucosal biopsies of the gastrointestinal tract.
Core E-Books
Diagnostic Pathology: Gastrointestinal, 3rd ed. by Joel K. Greenson, 2019
Covering all aspects of gastrointestinal pathology, this award-winning volume in the Diagnostic Pathology series is an excellent point-of-care resource for pathologists at all levels of experience and training-both as a quick reference and as an efficient review to improve knowledge and skills. This updated third edition is an easy-to-use, one-stop reference for the entire GI system, offering a templated, highly formatted design; concise, bulleted text; and superior color images throughout, enabling you to arrive at the correct diagnosis and prepare actionable, useful reports. Provides comprehensive coverage with the necessary tools to make a comprehensive diagnostic workup Incorporates significant changes in the AJCC cancer staging of gastrointestinal tumors Provides details on PD-L1 (immune checkpoint inhibitor) therapy, new types of colitis, and molecular biology of GI tract tumors as it relates to precision medicine and targeted therapy Discusses timely topics such as GAPP, a newly described form of gastric polyposis that leads to cancer; the increasing complexity of large B-cell lymphomas and which immunostains and molecular tests to order for proper classification and therapy; Immune Modulator therapy effect, which can closely mimic IBD; and newly described polyposis syndromes, such as mixed and serrated polyposis Features more than 2,500 annotated images throughout, including gross pathology, a wide range of stains, and detailed medical illustrations, depicting virtually any GI specimen you're likely to see 2015 BMA Medical Book Awards 1st Prize Award Winner in Pathology Category (previous edition)
Gastrointestinal and Liver Pathology by Amitabh Srivastava; Daniela S. Allende; John R. Goldblum (Series edited by), 2023
Now fully revised to include recent advances in the field, the third edition of Gastrointestinal and Liver Pathology Pathology, a volume in the Foundations in Diagnostic Pathology series, is an essential foundation text for residents and pathologists. The popular template format makes it easy to use, and new information throughout brings you up to date with what's new in the field, including advances in molecular diagnostic testing and new diagnostic biomarkers. Practical and affordable, this resource is ideal for study and review as well as everyday clinical practice. Key features of this practical text include: A consistent, user-friendly format that explores each entity's clinical features, gross and microscopic findings, ancillary studies, differential diagnoses, and prognostic and therapeutic considerations. A focus on specific features of selected neoplastic and non-neoplastic entities, including broad and in-depth differential diagnoses. Clinical information on treatment and prognosis, enabling you to better understand the clinical implications of the diagnosis. Nearly 1,000 full-color, high-quality illustrations with extensive figure legends, as well as abundant boxes and tables throughout. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. What's NEW in this edition: Advances in molecular diagnostic testing and its capabilities and limitations, including targeted/personalized medicine. New diagnostic biomarkers and their utility in differential diagnosis, newly described variants, and new histologic entities. The latest TNM staging and WHO classification systems. New co-editors Drs. Amitabh Srivastava and Daniela S. Allende lead a team of expert, internationally recognized pathologists who keep you up to date with the latest information in the field.
Gastrointestinal Pathology: correlative endoscopic and histologic assessment by Gregory Y. Lauwers (Editor); Michael B. Wallace (Editor); Till S. Clauditz (Associate Editor), 2021
An illustrated guide to best practices when performing and assessing biopsies for GI conditions of all kinds Accurate diagnosis of GI conditions necessarily entails both the careful taking of biopsies and the informed analysis of tissue material. With that being so, gastroenterologists and GI pathologists alike must have a solid understanding of the techniques, handling requirements, and diagnostic characteristics involved if they are to collaborate effectively. Gastrointestinal Pathology has been designed to provide a clinically focussed and richly illustrated guide to real-world scenarios faced by practicing GI specialists, offering step-by-step instruction and professional advice on the correct diagnosis of all major GI conditions. This essential new book includes: Full-color illustrations throughout Complete details of biopsy samples required to diagnose specific conditions Reviews of differential diagnoses Clinical management clues based on pathologic findings Featuring information to improve the practice of all gastroenterologists and GI pathologists, Gastrointestinal Pathology is a practical and every-day resource for the precise diagnosis of a wide range of GI conditions.
Core E-Books
MacSween's Pathology of the Liver, eighth ed. by Alastair D. Burt; Linda D. Ferrell; Stefan G. Hübscher, 2024
Written and edited by an international team of renowned authorities, MacSween's Pathology of the Liver, 8th Edition, remains the field's definitive reference on liver pathology. This must-have text is ideal for surgical pathologists in practice and in training who examine liver specimens on a day-to-day basis. It provides invaluable assistance in recognizing the huge variety of appearances of the liver that result from infections, tumors, and tumor-like lesions, as well as organ damage caused by drugs and toxins. With expert, comprehensive coverage of all malignant and benign hepatobiliary disorders, MacSween's is a convenient, one-stop resource for use in the reporting room as well as in personal study. Shares the knowledge and experience of a "who's who" list of experts in the field of hepatobiliary pathology, led by editors Alastair D. Burt, Linda D. Ferrell, and Stefan G. Hübscher. Features more than 1,000 high-quality, full color illustrations, providing a complete visual guide to each tumor or tumor-like lesion. Discusses advances in molecular diagnostic testing, its capabilities, and its limitations, including targeted/personalized medicine. Incorporates the latest TNM staging and WHO classification systems, as well as new diagnostic biomarkers and their utility in differential diagnosis, newly described variants, and new histologic entities. Includes relevant data from ancillary techniques (immunohistochemistry, cytogenetics, and molecular genetics), giving you the necessary tools required to master the latest breakthroughs in diagnostic technology. Provides you with all of the necessary diagnostic tools to make a complete and accurate pathologic report, including clinicopathologic background throughout. Directs you to the most recent and authoritative sources for further reading with a comprehensive reference list that highlights key articles and up-to-date citations. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
Surgical Pathology of the GI Tract, Liver, Biliary Tract and Pancreas, Fourth ed. by Robert D. Odze; John R. Goldblum, 2023
Unparalleled in scope and content, Surgical Pathology of the GI Tract, Liver, Biliary Tract and Pancreas provides the most relevant and up-to-date clinical, etiologic, molecular, and therapeutic management information for surgical pathologists in training and in practice. The fully revised 4th Edition of this award-winning title offers a wealth of information in this fast-changing field, including recent advances in molecular biology and immunohistochemistry, in a clearly written, well-structured manner that is easy to read and navigate. This one-stop reference for the entire gastrointestinal system enables you to improve turnaround time when diagnosing a specimen and to clearly report on the prognosis and therapeutic management options to surgical and medical colleagues. Covers the latest developments in molecular technologies and immunohistochemical markers to provide useful diagnostic and prognostic information and inform therapeutic decisions. Provides all the necessary tools to make a comprehensive diagnostic workup, including data from ancillary techniques and molecular findings whenever appropriate. Incorporates more than 3000 high-quality color illustrations to help you recognize and diagnose any tissue sample under the microscope. Reviews next-generation sequencing (NGS) to help identify targetable mutations in gastrointestinal tract tumors and provide more accurate classification and precision therapies. Features extensive tables, graphs, and flowcharts to help you effectively grasp complex topics and streamline your decision-making. Helps you avoid diagnostic errors with practical advice on pitfalls in differential diagnosis. Incorporates the latest WHO guidelines throughout. Winner of the 2015 BMA Medical Book Awards First Prize Award in Pathology. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access an image bank, as well as all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Scheuer's Liver Biopsy Interpretation, 10e by Jay H. Lefkowitch, 2021
Trusted for more than 50 years by pathologists in practice and in training, Scheuer's Liver Biopsy Interpretation is a well-organized, superbly illustrated guide designed to help solve diagnostic problems at the microscope. Authored by renowned expert Dr. Jay Lefkowitch and reflecting the extensive experience of the late Dr. Peter Scheuer, this practical text contains technical tips, diagnostic clues, and pearls on all aspects of liver pathology diagnosis, including acute and chronic hepatitis, biliary tract diseases, childhood disorders, and hepatic neoplasms - as well as ancillary topics such as biopsy assessment, laboratory techniques, normal liver histology, and transplantation. Throughout the text, histopathologic features are correlated with clinical features, molecular genetics, and immunohistochemistry to provide a practical account of how pathology impacts the diagnosis and management of liver disease. Covers key topics such as genomic alterations in liver tumours, diagnosis of acute liver allograft rejection, scoring systems for non-alcoholic fatty liver disease, and discussions of immunohistochemical features wherever relevant. Presents the latest information on next generation sequencing and drug-induced liver injury, including adverse reactions to new biologics and alternative medicines to help both the clinician and pathologist avoid diagnostic errors. Features many new illustrations, including over 300 large, full-color and fully annotated photomicrographs that illustrate a wide range of pathologic appearances and help identify each diagnostic entity under discussion. Offers coverage of cytopathology in the assessment of liver tumors to provide further clinical clues to diagnosis. Provides basic overview of major histopathologic diagnostic problems in paediatric liver biopsy, including biliary atresia and several types of progressive familial intrahepatic cholestasis Provides new and updated algorithms, tables and images highlighting key features of each diagnostic entity - ideal as a concise review during sign out or for studying and board preparation.
Surgical Pathology of the Gastrointestinal System by Laura W. Lamps, 2009
Surgical Pathology of the Gastrointestinal System: Bacterial, Fungal, Viral, and Parasitic Infections provides a unique diagnostic reference text for the pathologic diagnosis of infectious diseases of the gastrointestinal tract. Written for the practicing surgical pathologist, this text combines the superior illustrations of an atlas with carefully written prose to create a useful diagnostic companion. The text is divided into four sections covering bacterial, fungal, viral, and parasitic infections of the gastrointestinal tract. The descriptive sections of each chapter are organized into short paragraphs for easy reference and include the use of tables to compare and contrast organisms and summarize differential diagnoses. Each chapter is extensively illustrated, and contains prose discussions of diagnostic features, differential diagnoses, brief clinical descriptions, and ancillary tests that help confirm the diagnosis (i.e. immunohistochemistry, special histochemical stains, and molecular diagnostic techniques). Surgical Pathology of the Gastrointestinal System: Bacterial, Fungal, Viral, and Parasitic Infections provides pertinent clinical, diagnostic, and epidemiologic information that will be valuable to the practicing surgical pathologist. This volume will also help surgical pathologists gain familiarity with other contributory laboratory tests that are available to help confirm diagnosis.
AJCC Cancer Staging System, Version 9 by
Please visit www.cancerstaging.org for information about content updates and staging forms. The AJCC Cancer Staging Manual is used by physicians and health care professionals throughout the world to facilitate the uniform description and reporting of neoplastic diseases. Proper classification and staging of cancer is essential for the physician to assign proper treatment, evaluate results of management and clinical trials, and to serve as the standard for local, regional and international reporting on cancer incidence and outcome. Significantly expanded and developed by international disease site expert panels, the Eighth Edition AJCC Cancer Staging Manual brings together all the currently available knowledge on staging of cancer at various anatomic sites. In this edition, evidence-based TNM staging is supplemented, as appropriate, by selected molecular markers and newly acquired insights into the molecular underpinnings of cancer. This edition features 12 entirely new staging systems, a wide range of changed or new staging definitions, and a refined emphasis on a personalized-medicine approach. To enhance the print and electronic usability of the cancer staging forms, they are now available exclusively for access and downloading at www.cancerstaging.org. The Eighth Edition AJCC Cancer Staging Manual remains the gold standard reference for oncologists, surgeons, pathologists, radiologists, cancer registrars and medical professionals world-wide to ensure that all those caring for cancer patients are fully versed in the language of cancer staging.
Atlas of Gastrointestinal Pathology by
Effectively evaluate challenging GI biopsies with Atlas of Gastrointestinal Pathology: A Pattern Based Approach to Non-Neoplastic Biopsies! Presented in a format that closely mirrors the daily sign-out process, this one-of-a-kind resource helps you interpret challenging cases by highlighting red flags in the clinical chart and locating hidden clues in the slides. You,,ll be able to reach confident diagnoses efficiently with this patterns based scope-side guide.
Biopsy Interpretation of the Gastrointestinal Tract Mucosa: Vol. 1 - Non-Neoplastic, 3rd ed. by
Biopsy Interpretation of the Gastrointestinal Tract Mucosa is your definitive bench reference for the diagnosis of these challenging specimens. One of the best-selling titles in the Biopsy Interpretation Series, its practical, richly illustrative coverage encompasses the most common mucosal biopsies from the esophagus, stomach, small intestine, large intestine, and anus, helping you to evaluate the full range of samples and recognize their distinguishing features. This volume focuses on non-neoplastic entities; Volume Two, also available, is your complete source on neoplastic gastrointestinal lesions. Key Features Successfully navigate both common and unusual issues that arise in the day-to-day interpretation of gastrointestinal biopsies. Entities covered in this volume include: Autoimmune gastritis, sexually transmitted infectious proctitis, inflammatory bowel disease and mimics, medication induced injury, and many others. Enhance your interpretation skills with valuable pearls and pitfalls at the beginning of each chapter. Compare your samples to hundreds of full-color illustrations that capture the characteristic appearance of most mucosal biopsies of the gastrointestinal tract.
Biopsy Interpretation of the Gastrointestinal Tract Mucosa: Vol 2 - Neoplastic, 3rd ed by
Biopsy Interpretation of the Gastrointestinal Tract Mucosa is your definitive bench reference for the diagnosis of these challenging specimens. One of the best-selling titles in the Biopsy Interpretation Series, its practical, richly illustrative coverage encompasses the most common mucosal biopsies from the esophagus, stomach, small intestine, large intestine, and anus, helping you to evaluate the full range of samples and recognize their distinguishing features. This volume focuses on neoplastic entities; Volume One, also available, is your complete source on non-neoplastic gastrointestinal lesions. Key Features Successfully navigate both common and unusual issues that arise in the day-to-day interpretation of gastrointestinal biopsies. Entities covered in this volume include: Barrett esophagus, mesenchymal neoplasms such as GIST, schwannoma, and benign fibroblastic polyp, hereditary cancer syndromes, and many more. Enhance your interpretation skills with valuable pearls and pitfalls at the beginning of each chapter. Compare your samples to hundreds of full-color illustrations that capture the characteristic appearance of most mucosal biopsies of the gastrointestinal tract.
Diagnostic Pathology: Gastrointestinal, 3rd ed. by
Covering all aspects of gastrointestinal pathology, this award-winning volume in the Diagnostic Pathology series is an excellent point-of-care resource for pathologists at all levels of experience and training-both as a quick reference and as an efficient review to improve knowledge and skills. This updated third edition is an easy-to-use, one-stop reference for the entire GI system, offering a templated, highly formatted design; concise, bulleted text; and superior color images throughout, enabling you to arrive at the correct diagnosis and prepare actionable, useful reports. Provides comprehensive coverage with the necessary tools to make a comprehensive diagnostic workup Incorporates significant changes in the AJCC cancer staging of gastrointestinal tumors Provides details on PD-L1 (immune checkpoint inhibitor) therapy, new types of colitis, and molecular biology of GI tract tumors as it relates to precision medicine and targeted therapy Discusses timely topics such as GAPP, a newly described form of gastric polyposis that leads to cancer; the increasing complexity of large B-cell lymphomas and which immunostains and molecular tests to order for proper classification and therapy; Immune Modulator therapy effect, which can closely mimic IBD; and newly described polyposis syndromes, such as mixed and serrated polyposis Features more than 2,500 annotated images throughout, including gross pathology, a wide range of stains, and detailed medical illustrations, depicting virtually any GI specimen you're likely to see 2015 BMA Medical Book Awards 1st Prize Award Winner in Pathology Category (previous edition)
Gastrointestinal and Liver Pathology by
Now fully revised to include recent advances in the field, the third edition of Gastrointestinal and Liver Pathology Pathology, a volume in the Foundations in Diagnostic Pathology series, is an essential foundation text for residents and pathologists. The popular template format makes it easy to use, and new information throughout brings you up to date with what's new in the field, including advances in molecular diagnostic testing and new diagnostic biomarkers. Practical and affordable, this resource is ideal for study and review as well as everyday clinical practice. Key features of this practical text include: A consistent, user-friendly format that explores each entity's clinical features, gross and microscopic findings, ancillary studies, differential diagnoses, and prognostic and therapeutic considerations. A focus on specific features of selected neoplastic and non-neoplastic entities, including broad and in-depth differential diagnoses. Clinical information on treatment and prognosis, enabling you to better understand the clinical implications of the diagnosis. Nearly 1,000 full-color, high-quality illustrations with extensive figure legends, as well as abundant boxes and tables throughout. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. What's NEW in this edition: Advances in molecular diagnostic testing and its capabilities and limitations, including targeted/personalized medicine. New diagnostic biomarkers and their utility in differential diagnosis, newly described variants, and new histologic entities. The latest TNM staging and WHO classification systems. New co-editors Drs. Amitabh Srivastava and Daniela S. Allende lead a team of expert, internationally recognized pathologists who keep you up to date with the latest information in the field.
Gastrointestinal Pathology by
This new edition of the classic gastrointestinal pathology text once again provides pathologists and gastroenterologists with a comprehensive reference tool.The pathology of the GI tract is reviewed in sections according to each anatomical part of the body, with the goal of aiding the gastroenterologist in his/her clinical decision making when treating patients.
Gastrointestinal Pathology: correlative endoscopic and histologic assessment by
An illustrated guide to best practices when performing and assessing biopsies for GI conditions of all kinds Accurate diagnosis of GI conditions necessarily entails both the careful taking of biopsies and the informed analysis of tissue material. With that being so, gastroenterologists and GI pathologists alike must have a solid understanding of the techniques, handling requirements, and diagnostic characteristics involved if they are to collaborate effectively. Gastrointestinal Pathology has been designed to provide a clinically focussed and richly illustrated guide to real-world scenarios faced by practicing GI specialists, offering step-by-step instruction and professional advice on the correct diagnosis of all major GI conditions. This essential new book includes: Full-color illustrations throughout Complete details of biopsy samples required to diagnose specific conditions Reviews of differential diagnoses Clinical management clues based on pathologic findings Featuring information to improve the practice of all gastroenterologists and GI pathologists, Gastrointestinal Pathology is a practical and every-day resource for the precise diagnosis of a wide range of GI conditions.
MacSween's Pathology of the Liver, eighth ed. by
Written and edited by an international team of renowned authorities, MacSween's Pathology of the Liver, 8th Edition, remains the field's definitive reference on liver pathology. This must-have text is ideal for surgical pathologists in practice and in training who examine liver specimens on a day-to-day basis. It provides invaluable assistance in recognizing the huge variety of appearances of the liver that result from infections, tumors, and tumor-like lesions, as well as organ damage caused by drugs and toxins. With expert, comprehensive coverage of all malignant and benign hepatobiliary disorders, MacSween's is a convenient, one-stop resource for use in the reporting room as well as in personal study. Shares the knowledge and experience of a "who's who" list of experts in the field of hepatobiliary pathology, led by editors Alastair D. Burt, Linda D. Ferrell, and Stefan G. Hübscher. Features more than 1,000 high-quality, full color illustrations, providing a complete visual guide to each tumor or tumor-like lesion. Discusses advances in molecular diagnostic testing, its capabilities, and its limitations, including targeted/personalized medicine. Incorporates the latest TNM staging and WHO classification systems, as well as new diagnostic biomarkers and their utility in differential diagnosis, newly described variants, and new histologic entities. Includes relevant data from ancillary techniques (immunohistochemistry, cytogenetics, and molecular genetics), giving you the necessary tools required to master the latest breakthroughs in diagnostic technology. Provides you with all of the necessary diagnostic tools to make a complete and accurate pathologic report, including clinicopathologic background throughout. Directs you to the most recent and authoritative sources for further reading with a comprehensive reference list that highlights key articles and up-to-date citations. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
Surgical Pathology of the GI Tract, Liver, Biliary Tract and Pancreas, Fourth ed. by
Unparalleled in scope and content, Surgical Pathology of the GI Tract, Liver, Biliary Tract and Pancreas provides the most relevant and up-to-date clinical, etiologic, molecular, and therapeutic management information for surgical pathologists in training and in practice. The fully revised 4th Edition of this award-winning title offers a wealth of information in this fast-changing field, including recent advances in molecular biology and immunohistochemistry, in a clearly written, well-structured manner that is easy to read and navigate. This one-stop reference for the entire gastrointestinal system enables you to improve turnaround time when diagnosing a specimen and to clearly report on the prognosis and therapeutic management options to surgical and medical colleagues. Covers the latest developments in molecular technologies and immunohistochemical markers to provide useful diagnostic and prognostic information and inform therapeutic decisions. Provides all the necessary tools to make a comprehensive diagnostic workup, including data from ancillary techniques and molecular findings whenever appropriate. Incorporates more than 3000 high-quality color illustrations to help you recognize and diagnose any tissue sample under the microscope. Reviews next-generation sequencing (NGS) to help identify targetable mutations in gastrointestinal tract tumors and provide more accurate classification and precision therapies. Features extensive tables, graphs, and flowcharts to help you effectively grasp complex topics and streamline your decision-making. Helps you avoid diagnostic errors with practical advice on pitfalls in differential diagnosis. Incorporates the latest WHO guidelines throughout. Winner of the 2015 BMA Medical Book Awards First Prize Award in Pathology. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access an image bank, as well as all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Scheuer's Liver Biopsy Interpretation, 10e by
Trusted for more than 50 years by pathologists in practice and in training, Scheuer's Liver Biopsy Interpretation is a well-organized, superbly illustrated guide designed to help solve diagnostic problems at the microscope. Authored by renowned expert Dr. Jay Lefkowitch and reflecting the extensive experience of the late Dr. Peter Scheuer, this practical text contains technical tips, diagnostic clues, and pearls on all aspects of liver pathology diagnosis, including acute and chronic hepatitis, biliary tract diseases, childhood disorders, and hepatic neoplasms - as well as ancillary topics such as biopsy assessment, laboratory techniques, normal liver histology, and transplantation. Throughout the text, histopathologic features are correlated with clinical features, molecular genetics, and immunohistochemistry to provide a practical account of how pathology impacts the diagnosis and management of liver disease. Covers key topics such as genomic alterations in liver tumours, diagnosis of acute liver allograft rejection, scoring systems for non-alcoholic fatty liver disease, and discussions of immunohistochemical features wherever relevant. Presents the latest information on next generation sequencing and drug-induced liver injury, including adverse reactions to new biologics and alternative medicines to help both the clinician and pathologist avoid diagnostic errors. Features many new illustrations, including over 300 large, full-color and fully annotated photomicrographs that illustrate a wide range of pathologic appearances and help identify each diagnostic entity under discussion. Offers coverage of cytopathology in the assessment of liver tumors to provide further clinical clues to diagnosis. Provides basic overview of major histopathologic diagnostic problems in paediatric liver biopsy, including biliary atresia and several types of progressive familial intrahepatic cholestasis Provides new and updated algorithms, tables and images highlighting key features of each diagnostic entity - ideal as a concise review during sign out or for studying and board preparation.
Surgical Pathology of the Gastrointestinal System by
Surgical Pathology of the Gastrointestinal System: Bacterial, Fungal, Viral, and Parasitic Infections provides a unique diagnostic reference text for the pathologic diagnosis of infectious diseases of the gastrointestinal tract. Written for the practicing surgical pathologist, this text combines the superior illustrations of an atlas with carefully written prose to create a useful diagnostic companion. The text is divided into four sections covering bacterial, fungal, viral, and parasitic infections of the gastrointestinal tract. The descriptive sections of each chapter are organized into short paragraphs for easy reference and include the use of tables to compare and contrast organisms and summarize differential diagnoses. Each chapter is extensively illustrated, and contains prose discussions of diagnostic features, differential diagnoses, brief clinical descriptions, and ancillary tests that help confirm the diagnosis (i.e. immunohistochemistry, special histochemical stains, and molecular diagnostic techniques). Surgical Pathology of the Gastrointestinal System: Bacterial, Fungal, Viral, and Parasitic Infections provides pertinent clinical, diagnostic, and epidemiologic information that will be valuable to the practicing surgical pathologist. This volume will also help surgical pathologists gain familiarity with other contributory laboratory tests that are available to help confirm diagnosis.
