Brenner and Rector's the Kidney, 2-Volume Set by
Put the world's most well-known kidney reference to work in your practice with the 11th Edition of Brenner & Rector's The Kidney. This two-volume masterwork provides expert, well-illustrated information on everything from basic science and pathophysiology to clinical best practices. Addressing current issues such as new therapies for cardiorenal syndrome, the increased importance of supportive or palliative care in advanced chronic kidney disease, increasing live kidney donation in transplants, and emerging discoveries in stem cell and kidney regeneration, this revised edition prepares you for any clinical challenge you may encounter. Extensively updated chapters throughout, providing the latest scientific and clinical information from authorities in their respective fields. Lifespan coverage of kidney health and disease from pre-conception through fetal and infant health, childhood, adulthood, and old age. Discussions of today's hot topics, including the global increase in acute kidney injury, chronic kidney disease of unknown etiology, cardiovascular disease and renal disease, and global initiatives for alternatives in areas with limited facilities for dialysis or transplant. New Key Points that represent either new findings or "pearls" of information that are not widely known or understood. New Clinical Relevance boxes that highlight the information you must know during a patient visit, such as pertinent physiology or pathophysiology. Hundreds of full-color, high-quality photographs as well as carefully chosen figures, algorithms, and tables that illustrate essential concepts, nuances of clinical presentation and technique, and clinical decision making. A new editor who is a world-renowned expert in global health and nephrology care in underserved populations, Dr. Valerie A. Luyckx from University of Zürich. Board review-style questions to help you prepare for certification or recertification. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
For more Nephrology resources, search BOTH links below:
Biomarkers of Kidney Disease by
Biomarkers of Kidney Disease, Second Edition, focuses on the basic and clinical research of biomarkers in common kidney diseases, detailing the characteristics of an ideal biomarker. The latest techniques for biomarker detection, including metabolomics and proteomics are covered in the book. This comprehensive book details the latest advances made in the field of biomarker research and development in kidney diseases. The book is an ideal companion for those interested in biomarker research and development, proteomics and metabolomics, kidney diseases, statistical analysis, transplantation, and preeclampsia. New chapters include biomarkers of cardiovascular disease in patients with CKD, biomarkers of Polycystic Kidney Disease, and biomarkers and the role of nanomedicine. Explores both the practical and conceptual steps performed in the discovery of biomarkers in kidney disease Presents a comprehensive account of newer biomarker discover strategies, such as metabolomics and proteomics, all illustrated by clear examples Offers clear translational presentations by the top basic and clinical researchers in each specific renal disease, including AKI, transplantation, cancer, CKD, PKD, diabetic nephropathy, preeclampsia, and glomerular disease
Chronic Kidney Disease, Dialysis, and Transplantation by
From basic science to practical clinical tools, Chronic Kidney Disease, Dialysis, and Transplantation, 4th Edition provides you with the up-to-date, authoritative guidance you need to safely and effectively manage patients with chronic renal disease. Covering all relevant clinical management issues, this companion volume to Brenner and Rector's The Kidney presents the knowledge and expertise of renowned researchers and clinicians in the fields of hemodialysis, peritoneal dialysis, critical care nephrology, and transplantation - for an all-in-one, indispensable guide to every aspect of this fast-changing field. Contains expanded content on economics and outcomes of treatment, as well as acute kidney injury. Covers hot topics such as the genetic causes of chronic kidney disease, ethical challenges and palliative care, and home hemodialysis. Discusses the latest advances in hypertensive kidney disease, vitamin D deficiency, diabetes management, transplantation, and more. Provides a clear visual understanding of complex information with high-quality line drawings, photographs, and diagnostic and treatment algorithms. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Clinical Companion in Nephrology, 2e by
The second edition of this educational book provides an updated resource on how best to discuss and manage acute and chronic presentations of renal diseases. All chapters have been reviewed and updated to reflect changes which directly affect clinical practice and new chapters have been added including Dialysis and Poisoning, Urinalysis/Microscopy and Renal Biopsy. Chapters now include information on key clinical trials for management strategies Allowing for concise reading on specific topics this book acts as both a quick reference text and study guide. The layout has been designed in a question and answer format in order to promote self-directed learning. Images and diagrams have been further standardized and improved for the new edition and remain a key feature of the book. Clinical Companion in Nephrology, second edition, is an invaluable resource for junior doctors, medical students and renal nurses who encounter renal patients in their daily practice.
Comprehensive Clinical Nephrology by
Written for fellows, practicing nephrologists, and internists who treat patients with disorders affecting the renal system, Comprehensive Clinical Nephrology, 7th Edition, offers a practical approach to this complex field, supported by underlying scientific facts and pathophysiology. World leaders in nephrology provide current information on clinical procedures and conditions, covering everything from fluid and electrolyte disorders to hypertension, diabetes, dialysis, transplantation, and more-all in a single, convenient volume. Provides a "just right" amount of basic science and practical clinical guidance to help you make efficient and informed decisions. Contains new chapters on Blood Pressure Management in the Dialysis Patient, Kidney Diseases Associated with Corona Viruses, Ultrasound Imaging in Nephrology, and Radiologic and Nuclear Imaging in Nephrology. Includes more than 1,500 full-color illustrations that highlight key topics and detail pathogenesis for a full range of kidney conditions and clinical management. Covers key topics such as COVID-19, chronic kidney disease, end stage kidney disease, kidney transplantation, glomerular disease, onco-nephrology, dialysis, and much more. Features popular, color-coded algorithms that provide easy access to important content: yellow boxes for general information, green boxes for therapeutic intervention, and blue boxes for necessary investigations. Includes quick-reference boxes with links to clinical guidelines in all relevant chapters, plus self-assessment questions online. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
Critical Care Nephrology by
Comprehensive and clinically relevant, the 3rd Edition of Critical Care Nephrology provides authoritative coverage of the latest advances in critical care procedures for patients with renal diseases or disorders. Using common guidelines and standardized approaches to critically ill patients, this multidisciplinary reference facilitates better communication among all physicians who care for critically ill patients suffering from kidney disease, electrolyte and metabolic imbalances, poisoning, severe sepsis, major organ dysfunction, and other pathological events. Offers detailed discussions of different forms of organ support, artificial organs, infections, acute illness occurring in chronic hemodialysis patients, and much more. Places a special emphasis on therapeutic interventions and treatment procedures for a hands on clinical reference tool. Presents information clearly, in a format designed for easy reference - from basic sciences to clinical syndromes to diagnostic tools. Covers special populations such as children, diabetic patients, and the elderly. An exceptional resource for nephrologists, intensivists, surgeons, or critical care physicians - anyone who treats critically ill renal patients. Shares a combined commitment to excellence lead by Drs. Claudio Ronco, Rinaldo Bellomo, John Kellum, and Zaccaria Ricci - unparalleled leaders in this field. Addresses key topics with expanded coverage of acute kidney injury, stress biomarkers, and sepsis, including the latest developments on mechanisms and management. Provides up-to-date information on extracorporeal therapies from new editor Dr. Zaccaria Ricci. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Current Diagnosis & Treatment : Nephrology and Hypertension by
A practical,up-to-date guide to the diagnosis, understanding, and treatment of kidney problems and hypertension in adult patients "In contrast to many other books in this area, this one provides a concise yet comprehensive review of each topic without getting lost in too much detail..." - Doody's Review Service (review of previous edition) Presented in the consistent, easy-to-follow CURRENT format, CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Nephrology & Hypertension, Second Edition delivers incisive, ready-to-use management protocols and valuable therapeutic guidelines from authors who are recognized as the field's foremost authorities. This essential clinical companion features a practical learn-as-you-go approach to diagnosing and treating renal disorders and hypertension that combines disease management techniques with the latest proven therapies. *NEW! Chapter-ending clinically based Q&A *NEW CHAPTERS include The Kidney in Malignancy, Chronic Kidney Disease-Mineral Bone Disorder (CKD-MBD), Palliative Care Nephrology, and Clinical Pharmacology and the Kidney *Fifty-nine chapters deliver a one-of-a-kind overview of all major diseases and disorders, from end-stage renal disease to primary and secondary hypertension *Emphasizes the clinical aspects of kidney care, while also providing comprehensive discussion of pathophysiology and relevant basic and clinical science *Includes an important review of subspecialty considerations: dialysis, transplantation, critical care nephrology, interventional nephrology, palliative care nephrology, clinical renal pharmacology, as well as a new area of specialization - onco-nephrology *Consistently formatted chapters make it easy to locate the essential information you need on diagnosis, testing, disease processes, and the latest treatment and management strategies *Valuable as a clinical refresher or for board review *Strikes the perfect balance between clinical necessity and brevity
Evidence-Based Nephrology, 2 Volume Set by
Evidence-based Nephrology provides students of nephrology and practicing clinicians with a convenient single source of clinical evidence that has been passed through an evidence-based filter. This fully revised second edition incorporates substantial new available data, updated methods of research synthesis, and a renewed focus on consumer engagement in the evaluation and management kidney disease. This updated textbook includes twenty new chapters and three new sections, covering supportive care and patient-centered care and outcomes. In addition, every chapter that was in the first edition has been extensively updated. This new edition covers epidemiology, acute kidney injury, primary diseases of the kidney, secondary diseases of the kidney, chronic kidney disease and complications, hemodialysis, chronic kidney disease stage 5, peritoneal dialysis, supportive care, transplantation, electrolytes and acid-base disorders, and patient centered care and outcomes for both adult and for pediatric patients. Boasting a new co-editor along with several new chapter authors and section editors, Evidence-based Nephrology is now an even better evidence-based nephrology tool, where each chapter provides a clear foundation of the topic that is supported by the best current evidence. This new edition includes broader coverage of the available evidence and addresses crucial clinical questions regarding the treatment and care of people with all stages of chronic kidney disease, including people undergoing any form of dialysis (hemodialysis or peritoneal dialysis), those requiring kidney transplantation and pediatric patients. Evidence-based Nephrology, Second Edition, is a core resource for the evidence-based nephrology practitioner who is otherwise limited by time constraints from researching every question that may arise daily in the care of their patients.
Fluid, Electrolyte and Acid-Base Disorders by
Expanded with six additional chapters and new study questions, this updated edition provides a clear and concise understanding of the fundamentals of fluid, electrolyte and acid-base disorders that are frequently encountered in clinical practice. Each chapter follows a standard format that begins with pertinent basic physiology followed by its clinical disorder. Cases for each fluid, electrolyte and acid-base disorder are discussed, along with board-type questions with explanations to increase the knowledge for the clinician. Practical and clinically oriented, this book is a handy reference for practicing physicians, students, residents and fellows.
This Handbook serves as a convenient, state-of-the-art and comprehensive resource on the pathogenesis, diagnosis, and treatment of glomerular diseases. Clinical approaches, modalities and challenges are provided, along with new developments since the publication of Kidney Disease Improving Global Outcomes (KDIGO): Glomerulonephritis. Chapters dedicated to glomerular diseases mirror the current classification schemes used by Nephrologists and Pathologists and will include definition and natural history, epidemiology, clinical manifestations, pathology, diagnosis, differential diagnosis, treatment (algorithms when appropriate), prognosis and future prospects and current direction of research. Contributing authors consist of internationally renowned glomerulonephritis experts, renal pathologists and clinical nephrologists who are engaged in the management of glomerular diseases in clinical pediatric and internal medicine practices. Glomerulonephritis fills a considerable knowledge gap for general nephrologists, providers involved with the care of patients with glomerular diseases, and researchers. It should also be of value to medical students, interns, residents and fellows, as well as all clinicians engaged in medical education.
Handbook of Dialysis, 5th ed. by
The updated 5th edition of the Handbook of Dialysis is full of evidence-based, practical information on all aspects of dialysis training and therapy. Authored by international nephrology experts, each chapter addresses a different area of the clinical realities of patient management. Topics include screening, diagnosis and management of dialysis patients, including diagnostic work-ups, patient safety, and patient monitoring issues in acute dialysis and hemodialysis cases. This is the essential dialysis manual, filled with up-to-date dialysis information, including preparation, procedures, surgery, problems and side-effects.
Handbook of Dialysis Therapy by
Edited and written by top experts and pioneers in dialysis, Handbook of Dialysis Therapy, 6th Edition, provides the entire dialysis team with a comprehensive overview of this growing field. It covers traditional and advanced procedures, what pitfalls to expect and how to overcome them, and how best to treat various patient populations-all with a practical approach that can be directly applied to patient care. This must-have resource has been updated with the latest cutting-edge technology, dialysis techniques, and complications related to various diseases for both pediatric and adult patients. Explains complex dialysis concepts through abundant diagrams, photos, line drawings, and tables, while its readable, hands-on approach allows for quick review of key information. Covers both adult and pediatric patients in detail, and offers guidance on special populations such as the geriatric patients and the chronically ill. Features increased content on home-based dialysis modalities, new alternatives for establishing vascular access for hemodialysis, new protocols for reducing the risk of infection and complications, and advancements in establishing and managing peritoneal dialysis. Includes extensive pediatric content such as prevention and treatment of bone disease, management of anemia, assessing quality of life in pediatric patients undergoing dialysis, and immunizations in children undergoing dialysis. Defines the quality imperatives, roles, and responsibilities of dialysis facility medical directors and attending nephrologists. Updates nephrologists on the latest alternative dialysis modalities. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Handbook of Kidney Transplantation by
Concise, readable, practical and well-illustrated, the sixth edition of the Handbook of Kidney Transplantation has been thoroughly updated and revised to reflect the most current knowledge and practice in the field. Ideal for physicians, surgeons, fellows, and nurses who manage kidney transplant patients, it covers everything from treatment options for end-stage renal disease to transplantation, post-operative management and transplant immunology, focusing on every key aspect of the clinical practice of kidney transplantation. Includes new chapters on the Allocation of Deceased Donor Organs and Kidney Transplantation in the Developing World, as well as expanded chapters on living donation and immunosuppressive drugs and protocols. Outlines the major concerns surrounding renal transplantation and the most successful approaches to problems arising in short-term and long-term patient care. Covers immunobiology and immunosuppression, as well as surgery, histocompatibility, and short and long-term follow-up. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
National Kidney Foundation Primer on Kidney Diseases, Eight ed. by
Well organized and highly readable, the National Kidney Foundation Primer on Kidney Diseases has offered clear, comprehensive coverage of adult and pediatric kidney diseases for more than 25 years. The thoroughly revised 8th Edition of this authoritative, practical reference covers every relevant topic in the field, making it an excellent resource for residency, fellowship, clinical practice, and board review. It brings you completely up to date with key topics in this fast-changing field, including ongoing clinical research and changing treatment protocols. This powerful learning tool and clinical reference is a joint publication of Elsevier and the National Kidney Foundation. Covers every relevant topic in nephrology-from anatomy, physiology, and pathophysiology to diagnosis and management of kidney disease, to fluid and electrolyte disorders, hypertension, dialysis, and renal transplantation. Presents complex material in a clear, easy-to-understand manner that is both accessible for residents and fellows and comprehensive enough for practicing nephrologists. Offers new guidance for management of COVID-19 in the Viral Nephropathies chapter. Contains two new chapters on Global Kidney Disease, and Conservative Kidney Management (CKM), a palliative care option for treating kidney failure without dialysis. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Renal and Electrolyte Disorders by
For more than 40 years, this well-regarded reference has bridged the gap between basic and clinical sciences for the many disorders associated with electrolyte imbalances and kidney dysfunction. Authoritative and easy to read, the eighth edition has been thoroughly updated by experts in the field to reflect recent developments in renal pathophysiology. Each chapter first introduces normal physiology, then covers each disorder's clinical features, diagnosis, and treatment. Helpful diagrams, algorithms, and tables further explain the complex concepts. Key Features: A new two-color format throughout promotes easier comprehension and faster navigation. Redrawn and colorized line drawings make complex concepts easier to understand and more visually appealing. New coverage includes: recent developments in disorders of water homeostasis; substantial new information on genetic hypokalemic and hyperkalemic disorders; new content on calcium, phosphorus, vitamin D, and parathyroid hormone activity; a new chapter on the genomic and nongenomic effects of angiotensin and aldosterone in renal and cardiovascular disease; an up-to-date discussion of the pivotal role of the kidney in the pathogenesis of hypertensive states; new advances in our understanding of the glomerulopathies and vasculitides; and much more. Ideal for all members of the nephrology team, including residents and fellows in nephrology, internal medicine, and other specialties, as well as nurses and physician assistants. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options offer the ability to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click.
Renal Physiology, 6th ed. by
Gain a foundational understanding of renal physiology and how the renal system functions in health and disease. Renal Physiology, a volume in the Mosby Physiology Series, explains the fundamentals of this complex subject in a clear and concise manner, while helping you bridge the gap between normal kidney function and disease with pathophysiology content throughout the book. Helps you easily master the material in a systems-based curriculum with learning objectives, "In the Clinic" and "At the Molecular Level" boxes, chapter summaries, clinical cases with review questions and answers, self-study questions, and a comprehensive exam. Includes more than 250 clear, 2-color diagrams that simplify complex concepts. Features clinical commentaries that show you how to apply what you've learned to real-life clinical situations. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Complete the Mosby Physiology Series! Systems-based and portable, these titles are ideal for integrated programs. Blaustein, Kao, & Matteson: Cellular Physiology and Neurophysiology Cloutier: Respiratory Physiology Pappano & Wier: Cardiovascular Physiology Johnson: Gastrointestinal Physiology White, Harrison, & Mehlmann: Endocrine and Reproductive Physiology Hudnall: Hematology: A Pathophysiologic Approach
Textbook of Nephro-Endocrinology by
Textbook of Nephro-Endocrinology, Second Edition, continues to be the definitive translational reference in the field of nephro-endocrinology, investigating both the endocrine functions of the kidneys and how the kidney acts as a target for hormones from other organ systems. It offers researchers and clinicians expert analyses of nephro-endocrine research and translation into the treatment of diseases such as anemia, chronic kidney disease (CKD), rickets, osteoporosis, and hypoparathyroidism. Changes to this edition include new chapters focused on hypercalcemia/hypocalcemia and the interaction of dialysis, chronic renal disease, and endocrine diseases. All chapters have been updated to include more preclinical data and more tables and schema that help translate this data into clinical recommendations. The section on hormones and renal insufficiency discusses insulin/diabetes, growth hormone, sex steroids, thyroid hormone, acid-base disturbances, and pregnancy.
Vander's Renal Physiology, Tenth Edition by
The best review of renal physiology available for USMLE® Step 1--completely updated with the latest research Combining the latest research with a fully integrated teaching approach, Vander's Renal Physiology, Tenth Edition clearly and expertly explains how the kidneys affect other body systems and how they in turn are affected by these systems. There is no better way learn the fundamental principles of the structure, function, and pathologies of the human kidney that are essential for an understanding of clinical medicine, than this time-tested resource. Here's why Vander's is the best review of renal physiology available for the USMLE® Step 1: The text begins with the basics and works up to advanced principles All chapters have been revised to reflect the latest research and developments in the field Includes learning aids such as flow charts, diagrams, key concepts, clinical examples, boxed statements to emphasize major points, learning objectives, and review questions with answers and explanations Focuses on the goals of renal processes and the logic of them Presents the normal function of the kidney with clinical correlations to disease states