For more Evidence-Based Medicine resources, search BOTH links below:
| Find Journals and E-Books |
| Library Catalog |
Advanced Theories of Educational Leadership by
Advanced Theories of Educational Leadership presents recent models of leadership and analyzes their components and implications in the educational context. Each chapter features the scholarly background of each model, its components, antecedents, and critically analyzes its values and application to educational institutions. Special attention is given to issues of social justice, equity, equality, anti-racism, and the like. This core text provides aspiring school leaders and administrators with each model theory, and tools for applying it with special attention to issues of social justice, equity, diversity, and anti-racism alike. The book designed in a form of a course textbook for postgraduate students in the field of Educational Leadership and Administration in studying each model. Also, it provides professors of educational leadership in teaching contents and methods in their courses about school leadership, school improvement, Educational Leadership Development, Superintendents' Qualification; School Leadership Professional Development, every chapter includes teaching tools, reflection questions and practice activities for students, in addition the book informs researchers, and policymakers aiming at promoting multi-faceted educational leadership for equity and excellence and robust models of leading, improving and changing schools.
The Art of Explanation by
Your guide to becoming an explanation specialist. You've done the hard work. Your product or service works beautifully - but something is missing. People just don't see the big idea - and it's keeping you from being successful. Your idea has an explanation problem. The Art of Explanation is for business people, educators and influencers who want to improve their explanation skills and start solving explanation problems. Author Lee LeFever is the founder of Common Craft, a company known around the world for making complex ideas easy to understand through short animated videos. He is your guide to helping audiences fall in love with your ideas, products or services through better explanations in any medium. You will learn to: Plan: Learn explanation basics, what causes them to fail and how to diagnose explanation problems. Package: Using simple elements, create an explanation strategy that builds confidence and motivates your audience. Present: Produce remarkable explanations with visuals and media. The Art of Explanation is your invitation to become an explanation specialist and see why explanation is now a fundamental skill for professionals.
Curriculum challenges for universities : agenda for change by
This book develops a progressive program of engagement with issues, problems and critical thinking which helps universities and students understand and engage with some of the key issues of our time. It focuses on curriculum concerns, and presents a sustained and critical analysis and dialogue about knowledge, culture and ways of seeing important issues. This book provides critical and analytical insights into the importance of the emergence of mass higher education into public awareness. It explores what is termed 'contested knowledge' as part of modern students' experiences and expectations. By broadcasting some of the future prospects for a democratic university, especially in relation to its communities, it highlights the need to grasp the significance of global change and instability in teaching and learning, and how an adequate curriculum in higher education can be constructed to address the issues that arise.
Educational Leadership by
This book provides a rigorous grounding in contemporary educational leadership theories and their application to policy and practice globally across educational contexts. The book showcases contributions from authors with a deeply embedded understanding of educational leadership and in schools' context. It will focus on major aspects of school leadership, including contemporary theories and models in the 21st century, the role of the principal, the work of senior and middle leaders, leadership, and student outcomes. Each chapter will engage with theory, policy, and practice, and draw on authors' own research and with other empirical and conceptual sources.
Emerging Technologies and Pedagogies in the Curriculum by
This book explores the technologies that can be used in curricula to make education "smarter" and more adaptive in order to better meet the needs of today's learners. The main emphasis is based on the theory and best practices of incorporating emerging technologies into curricula so as to educate learners in the 21st century. The book provides valuable insights into the future of education and examines which pedagogies are most suitable for integrating emerging technologies. It will help educators and stakeholders design and implement curricula that effectively prepare learners for the challenges of tomorrow.
Handbook of Latinos and Education by
Now in its second edition, this Handbook offers a comprehensive review of rigorous, innovative, and critical scholarship profiling the scope and terrain of academic inquiry on Latinos and education. Presenting the most significant and potentially influential work in the field in terms of its contributions to research, to professional practice, and to the emergence of related interdisciplinary studies and theory, the volume is now organized around four tighter key themes of history, theory, and methodology; policies and politics; language and culture; teaching and learning. New chapters broaden the scope of theoretical lenses to include intersectionality, as well as coverage of dual language education, discussion around the Latinx, and other recent updates to the field. The Handbook of Latinos and Education is a must-have resource for educational researchers; graduate students; teacher educators; and the broad spectrum of individuals, groups, agencies, organizations, and institutions that share a common interest in and commitment to the educational issues that impact Latinos.
Higher Education: Handbook of Theory and Research by
Published annually since 1985, the Handbook series provides a compendium of thorough and integrative literature reviews on a diverse array of topics of interest to the higher education scholarly and policy communities. Each chapter provides a comprehensive review of research findings on a selected topic, critiques the research literature in terms of its conceptual and methodological rigor and sets forth an agenda for future research intended to advance knowledge on the chosen topic. The Handbook focuses on a comprehensive set of central areas of study in higher education that encompasses the salient dimensions of scholarly and policy inquiries undertaken in the international higher education community. Each annual volume contains chapters on current important issues pertaining to college students and faculty, organization and administration, curriculum and instruction, policy, diversity issues, economics and finance, history and philosophy, community colleges, advances in research methodology and other key aspects of higher education administration. The series is fortunate to have attracted annual contributions from distinguished scholars throughout the world.
Intercultural Approaches to Education by
This open access book provides an analysis of contemporary societies and schools shaped by cultural diversity, globalization and migration. This diversity is necessarily reflected in education systems and requires the promotion of intercultural approaches able to improve learning processes and the quality of education. From an international and comparative perspective, this book first presents theoretical and conceptual foundations for seriously considering cultural diversity. The book also compares intercultural approaches and debates generated in countries as diverse as the United States, Canada, Brazil, Switzerland and France. For each national context, the book addresses both the historical roots of intercultural approaches and the concrete initiatives driven by educational policies for their implementation in schools and classrooms. Finally, the book presents discussions surrounding the treatment of linguistic or religious diversity in schools, the emergence of global citizenship education and the key role of teachers in intercultural approaches. This is an open access book.
Make It Stick by
To most of us, learning something "the hard way" implies wasted time and effort. Good teaching, we believe, should be creatively tailored to the different learning styles of students and should use strategies that make learning easier. Make It Stick turns fashionable ideas like these on their head. Drawing on recent discoveries in cognitive psychology and other disciplines, the authors offer concrete techniques for becoming more productive learners. Memory plays a central role in our ability to carry out complex cognitive tasks, such as applying knowledge to problems never before encountered and drawing inferences from facts already known. New insights into how memory is encoded, consolidated, and later retrieved have led to a better understanding of how we learn. Grappling with the impediments that make learning challenging leads both to more complex mastery and better retention of what was learned. Many common study habits and practice routines turn out to be counterproductive. Underlining and highlighting, rereading, cramming, and single-minded repetition of new skills create the illusion of mastery, but gains fade quickly. More complex and durable learning come from self-testing, introducing certain difficulties in practice, waiting to re-study new material until a little forgetting has set in, and interleaving the practice of one skill or topic with another. Speaking most urgently to students, teachers, trainers, and athletes, Make It Stick will appeal to all those interested in the challenge of lifelong learning and self-improvement.
Queer Theory in Education by
Theoretical studies in curriculum have begun to move into cultural studies--one vibrant and increasingly visible sector of which is queer theory. Queer Theory in Education brings together the most prominent and promising scholars in the field of education--primarily but not exclusively in curriculum--in the first volume on queer theory in education. In his perceptive introduction, the editor outlines queer theory as it is emerging in the field of education, its significance for all scholars and teachers, and its relation to queer theory in literacy theory and more generally, in the humanities.
Educational Research by
Educational Research: Quantitative, Qualitative, and Mixed Approachesby R. Burke Johnson and Larry Christensen offers a comprehensive, easily digestible introduction to research methods. Readers will develop an understanding of the multiple research methods and strategies used in education and related fields, including how to read and critically evaluate published research and how to write a proposal, construct a questionnaire, and conduct an empirical research study on their own. The Seventh Edition maintains the features that made this book a best-seller, including attention-grabbing chapter-opening vignettes, lively examples that engage reader interest, a conversational and friendly writing style, and more. With the support of this highly readable text, readers will transform into critical consumers and users of research.
Teaching LGBTQ Psychology by
This book is a theoretical and practical guide for individuals who teach and train about lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender, queer and questioning (LGBTQ) psychology in diverse groups and settings. All instructional environments should be safe places to engage in exploration and active learning. How instructors address LGBTQ identities is critical for the education of all learners, whether or not the primary subject matter is sexual orientation and/or gender diversity. Each chapter approaches sexual and gender diversity from a resilience, wellness-focused framework, with the overall goal of furthering social justice for LGBTQ individuals. Balancing the conceptual literature with practical examples and case illustrations, the collection features: A review of ethical guidelines, laws, and practice standards related to LGBTQ rights and professionals' obligations Innovative teaching techniques, activities, and strategies to understand and reduce minority stress and marginalization Tips for scaffolding students' knowledge regarding identity development Examples of how to support clinical trainees' skill development in working with LGBTQ clients Useful tools for LGBTQ education in the community, including health care settings, schools, businesses and government agencies, and religious organizations Other specific topics covered include: affirmative language and terminology coming out issues; classroom and behavioral management strategies intervention and prevention efforts relevant to LGBTQ communities the impact of history, identity, culture, and community on various aspects of functioning for LGBTQ individuals
