Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Cleveland Clinic Florida - How to Conduct Systematic Reviews: Outline of the Process

This guide was adapted from How to Find and Conduct Systematic Reviews by Dr. Barbara Sorondo from Florida International University, and from Systematic Reviews: the process by Duke University.

conduct a systematic review: outline of the process

Want a preview of the process? Finished reading the steps and need a refresher? Use this outline as a (p)review, but make sure to see the full guide for details on how to complete each step. (Click on a step name to see the To Do List associated with that step in the full guide.)

Before You Begin

Make sure:

Step 1: Choose Your Topic

  • Choose a topic.
  • Phrase your topic as an answerable question.
  • Review the existing literature on the topic.
  • Decide which types of documents you will and will not include in your systematic review (create inclusion and exclusion criteria).

Step 2: Identify Your Keywords

  • Clearly state the research topic in as much detail as possible.
  • Identify the main and unique keywords in your research topic.
  • Apply quotation marks and asterisks to your search.
  • Identify any synonyms or related terms.

Step 3: Connect Your Keywords

  • Use AND to connect independent keywords.
  • Use OR to connect related keywords.
  • Use NOT to eliminate irrelevant words.
  • Write out all your keywords with the connectors.
  • Wrap parentheses around related terms.
  • Examine your search phrase for redundancies.
  • Write your full search phrase.

Step 4: Choose Your Databases

  • Make a list of all the subjects, fields, and disciplines that may contribute information about your topic.
  • Identify the databases associated with the subjects, fields, and disciplines on your list.

Step 5: Find Your Subjects

  • Translate your keywords into subjects
  • Add the subjects you found to your search phrases (one search phrase per database).
  • Double check your (semi)final search phrases.

Step 6: Run Your Search

  • Place each search phrase in the corresponding database's "Advanced Search."
  • Make sure your search phrases are turning up results that are relevant to you. If not, revise them.
  • "Steal" all the keywords and subjects from the results that are relevant and add them to your own search phrases.
  • Rerun searches in the databases for as long as you keep modifying your search phrases.

Step 7: Apply Your Criteria

  • Write down the number of results you retrieved in each database.
  • Apply your inclusion and exclusion criteria to your results using the databases' filters and limits.
  • Write down the number of results you obtain in each database after you apply the filters and limits.

Step 8: Manage Your Citations

  • Consider a citation manager such as RefWorks.
  • Transfer the citation information from the databases to the citation manager you select.

Step 9+: What Happens Next?

  • Find any other types of sources you are interested in that may not have been included in the databases.
  • Make sure you have documented every step of your search process.
  • Read and evaluate the sources you found.
  • Contact your professor or advisor for more information on what you should do next.