Skip to Main Content
E-Books
The American Health Care System by Marco G. Patti (Editor); P. Marco Fisichella (Editor), 2018
This book collates the expertise and experience of leading medical professionals to give foreign medical graduates an understanding of the American health care system. All the fundamental stages in the preparation of a foreign medical graduate for medical training in the US are covered. The book aims to provide essential information and guidance on how to navigate the American health care system. The characteristics of it are described in this concise and easy to read volume to help foreign medical graduates integrate into the American system.
A DIY Guide to Telemedicine for Clinicians by S. B. Bhattacharyya, 2017
This book is a do-it-yourself guide for clinicians who wish to set up and run a telemedicine facility of their own. The contents are largely based on the understanding and experience gained by the author as a practising physician, management post-graduate (capstone thesis was on telemedicine) and as a business architect for digital health systems over more than thirty years. Full of management techniques, tricks and tips written in an easy-to-follow manner, this book provides sufficient information to clinicians looking to leverage telemedicine to augment their range of service offerings that would lead to increased levels of patient satisfaction. Various aspects related to definitions, technology, infrastructure, methodologies and legal issues for setting up and running telemedicine services have been dealt with to sufficient depths for the readers to help grasp the issues involved. Sections on privacy, confidentiality and data integrity have been provided to help allay the many concerns the readers might have in those regards. Additionally, financial evaluations based on realistic-enough figures have been used to demonstrate that telemedicine is a viable option financially. Although meant primarily for medical doctors, any care provider including institutional will be able to use the contents to plan, design, set up and run telemedicine services that they feel would benefit those who receive their care.
Essentials of Health Policy and Law, 4th ed. by Joel B. Teitelbaum; Sara E. Wilensky, 2020
Public opinion polls, media coverage, legal disputes, and policy debates at all levels of government and in private industry attest to the important place that individual health care and public health and safety hold in the minds of the American public, policymakers, and lawmakers. Essentials of Health Policy and Law, Fourth Edition provides students of public health, medicine, nursing, public policy, and health administration with an introduction to a broad range of seminal issues in U.S. health policy and law, analytic frameworks for studying these complex issues, and an understanding of the ways in which health policies and laws are formulated, implemented, and applied. Concise and straightforward, this text is particularly known for its focus on national health reform under the Affordable Care Act (ACA). Additionally, the Fourth Edition offers: - A unique chapter on the social determinants of health and the role of law in improving health. - New content related to health reform; the healthcare system; the ACA's effect on Medicaid, Medicare, and CHIP; and incentivizing healthcare quality and private payer reform efforts. - A significantly revised chapter on Public Health Preparedness Policy, reflecting an increased focus on natural disasters, controlling infectious diseases, and military emergencies. - A how-to chapter on writing a policy analysis offers readers step-by-step instructions and examples for writing a policy brief. - Valuable instructor's resources, including PowerPoint slides, test questions for each chapter, blog post updates, and more.
The Exchange Strategy for Managing Conflict in Healthcare by Steven Dinkin; Barbara Filner; Lisa Maxwell, 2013
The proven four-step method for improving communicationand managing conflict in any healthcare setting A Doody's Core Title for 2015! The Exchange Strategy for Managing Conflict in Health Care delivers a wealth of strategiesand techniques for structuring conversations about conflicts and issues in groups large and small. "A fresh, clear-eyed view of how to approach conflict in the American healthcare system . . . shows how direct, immediate, tactful, and open communication will greatly improve any workplace setting." -- KATHLEEN SELLICK, President and CEO, Rady Children's Hospital "Having worked in large hospital systems for many years, I wish I had known these skills and techniques when I supervised nurses and coordinated teams." -- KIM PHILLIPS, MSN, RN, CFCN, Nurse's Touch, Inc. "During the past 12 months, over 450 managers and supervisors on my team at Sanford Health have gone through this training, and it works!" -- EVAN BURKETT, Chief Human Resources Officer, Sanford Health "The strategy and skills laid out in this book . . . are truly effective. Ignore this at your peril." -- DR. SAMUEL B. HO, Chief, Gastroenterology Section, Veterans Affairs San Diego Healthcare System, Professor of Medicine, University of California, San Diego
Handbook of Occupational Safety and Health by S. Z. Mansdorf (Editor), 2019
A quick, easy-to-consult source of practical overviews on wide-ranging issues of concern for those responsible for the health and safety of workers This new and completely revised edition of the popular Handbook is an ideal, go-to resource for those who need to anticipate, recognize, evaluate, and control conditions that can cause injury or illness to employees in the workplace. Devised as a "how-to" guide, it offers a mix of theory and practice while adding new and timely topics to its core chapters, including prevention by design, product stewardship, statistics for safety and health, safety and health management systems, safety and health management of international operations, and EHS auditing. The new edition of Handbook of Occupational Safety and Health has been rearranged into topic sections to better categorize the flow of the chapters. Starting with a general introduction on management, it works its way up from recognition of hazards to safety evaluations and risk assessment. It continues on the health side beginning with chemical agents and ending with medical surveillance. The book also offers sections covering normal control practices, physical hazards, and management approaches (which focuses on legal issues and workers compensation). Features new chapters on current developments like management systems, prevention by design, and statistics for safety and health Written by a number of pioneers in the safety and health field Offers fast overviews that enable individuals not formally trained in occupational safety to quickly get up to speed Presents many chapters in a "how-to" format Featuring contributions from numerous experts in the field, Handbook of Occupational Safety and Health, 3rd Edition is an excellent tool for promoting and maintaining the physical, mental, and social well-being of workers in all occupations and is important to a company's financial, moral, and legal welfare.
Healthcare Information Security and Privacy by Sean P. Murphy; Dennis M. Seymour, 2015
Operational, tested information security and privacypractices for the healthcare environment Written by an expert in the field with multiple industry certifications, this definitive resource fully addresses information security and privacy considerations and their implications within the business of patient care. The book begins with an overview of the organization, financing, and delivery of healthcare and discusses technology, terminology, and data management principles. The topic coverage continues across all aspects of information security and privacy, with a special emphasis on real-life scenarios in clinical practices and business operations in healthcare. Learn best practices for healthcare information security and privacy with detailed coverage of essential topics such as information governance, roles and occupations, risk assessment and management, incident response, patient rights, and cybersecurity. Written for a global audience, this comprehensive guide addresses U.S. laws and regulations as well as those within the European Union, the United Kingdom, and Canada. Healthcare Information Security and Privacy covers: Healthcare organizations and industry Regulatory environment Risk-based decision making Notifications of security and privacy events Patient rights and healthcare responsibilities Anatomy of a cyber attack Protecting digital health information Privacy and security impact on healthcare information technology Information governance Risk assessment and management
High Performance Healthcare by Jody Hoffer Gittell, 2009
In her groundbreaking book The SouthwestAirlines Way, Jody Hoffer Gittell revealedthe management secrets of the companyFortune magazine called "the most successfulairline in history." Now, the bestsellingbusiness author explains how to apply thosesame principles in one of our nation's largest,most important, and increasingly complexindustries. High Performance Healthcare explains the criticalconcept of "relational coordination"--coordinating work through shared goals,shared knowledge, and mutual respect.Because of the way healthcare is organized,weak links exist throughout the chain ofcommunication. Gittell clearly demonstratesthat relational coordination strengthens thoseweak links, enabling providers to deliver highquality, efficient care to their patients.Using Gittell's innovative management methods,you will improve quality, maximizeefficiency, and compete more effectively. High Performance Healthcare walks you step by stepthrough the process of: Identifying weak areas of relationalcoordination within your organization Transforming work practices thatare creating barriers to relationalcoordination Building a high performance worksystem to foster consistent relationalcoordination across all disciplines The book includes case studies illustratinghow some healthcare organizations arealready transforming themselves using Gittell'sproven tools. It concludes by identifying industry-level obstacles to high performancehealthcare and showing how individual organizationsand their leaders can supportsweeping change at the highest levels. Policy changes and increased access to carewill not alone answer the healthcare industry'sproblems. Timely, accurate, problem-solvingcommunication that crosses all organizationalboundaries is a powerful response to businessas usual. High Performance Healthcare explainsexactly how to achieve this crucial dynamic,providing a long-awaited cure to an industryin crisis.
The Innovator's Prescription: a Disruptive Solution for Health Care by Jason Hwang; Clayton M. Christensen; Jerome H. Grossman, 2017
THE BOOK THAT'S REVOLUTIONIZING HEALTH CARE IN AMERICA A groundbreaking prescription for reform-- from a legendary leader in innovation. "Clear, entertaining, and provocative, The Innovator's Prescription should be read by anyone who cares about improving the health and health care of all." ―Risa Lavizzo-Mourey, MD, President and CEO, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation "Comprehensive in its vision, astute in its diagnosis, and clear in its guidance, The Innovator's Prescription offers strong medicine for a heath care system that is far from well." --Harvey V. Fineberg, MD, President, Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation Our health care system is in critical condition. The Affordable Care Act has insured more Americans than ever, yet deductibles keep rising and costs continue to climb. Now more than ever, the industry needs a shot in the arm. It needs The Innovator's Prescription, the now-classic approach to efficient, affordable health care. Learn how to: * Deliver personalized care at a lower cost with "precision medicine" * Improve quality, accessibility, and affordability using a disruptive business model * Enable better treatment of chronic diseases through patient networks * Diagnose problems and find solutions faster using new technology * Take advantage of insurance and regulatory reforms to provide the best care possible
Lean Six Sigma for Hospitals by Jay Arthur, 2016
Simple Steps to Improve Patient Safety, Patient Flow and the Bottom Line This thoroughly revised resource shows, step-by-step, how to simplify, streamline, analyze, and optimize healthcare performance using tested Lean Six Sigma and change management techniques. Lean Six Sigma for Hospitals, Second Edition, follows the patient from the front door of the hospital or emergency room all the way through discharge. The book fully explains how to improve operations and quality of care while dramatically reducing costs--often in just five days. Real-world case studies from major healthcare institutions illustrate successful implementations of Lean Six Sigma. Coverage includes: * Lean Six Sigma for hospitals, emergency departments, operating rooms, medical imaging facilities, nursing units, pharmacies, and ICUs * Patient flow and quality * Clinical staff * Order and claims accuracy * Billing and collection * Defect and medical error reduction * Excel power tools for Lean Six Sigma * Data mining and analysis * Process flow charts and control charts * Laser-focused process innovation * Statistical tools for Lean Six Sigma * Planning and implementation
E-Books
Management Lessons from Mayo Clinic: Inside One of the World's Most Admired Service Organizations by Kent D. Seltman; Leonard L. Berry, 2017
The leader's guide to building a service powerhouse using the approach that made Mayo Clinic the #1 healthcare system in America Mayo Clinic is among the best service organizations in the world. It fosters a culture that exceeds customer expectations and earns deep loyalty from both customers and employees. This classic business guide offers a rare, up-close look at the best practices that drive Mayo Clinic's success. By examining the operating principles that guide every management decision at this legendary institution, authors Leonard Berry and Kent Seltman: * Demonstrate how a great service brand evolves from the core values that nourish and protect it * Extrapolate instructive business lessons that apply outside healthcare * Illustrate the benefits of pooling talent and encouraging teamwork * Present a proven prescription for creating sustainable service excellence Learn how to apply the Clinic's winning methods to your own organization: business concepts that produce stellar results, effective organizational efficiency, and world-class interpersonal service.
Manual of Healthcare Leadership - Essential Strategies for Physician and Administrative Leaders by Donald Lombardi; Anthony Slonim 2014
How physician executives and managers can become outstanding leaders in times of rapid change Written by authors who have more than sixty years of combined experience in healthcare, physician, and organizational leadership, this groundbreaking book is an innovative blueprint for overcoming the complex changes and challenges faced by leaders in today's healthcare environment. Rather than being a theoretic work, The Manual of Healthcare Leadership is intended to be a relevant, practical, and real-world guide that addresses the myriad organizational, regulatory, budgetary, legal, staffing, educational, political, and social issues facing leaders in the healthcare industry. One of the primary goals of this book is to enable readers to maximize the performance of each staff member in the interest of collectively providing peerless healthcare to their service community. The strategies offered throughout the text include the "why, what, and how" necessary to solve specific problems and challenges encountered by healthcare managers and leaders. Instruction is provided not only with text, but with diagrams and other resources specifically designed to demonstrate sequential thinking and the progressive application of solutions. With this book in hand, healthcare leaders will be able to confidently select, train, guide, and assess their staff. They will also be able to negotiate, plan, resolve problems, manage change and crisis, and handle the thousand and one other challenges that come their way on a daily basis.
Measuring ROI in Healthcare by Jack Phillips; Victor Buzachero; Patti Phillips; Zack Phillips, 2013
A proven system for measuring the bottom-line valueof any proposed healthcare initiative Healthcare costs in the United States are soaring out of control, and virtually every forecast predicts no end to this unhealthy trend. Until now, there has been no way to quantify and prove the value of healthcare projects and programs. Measuring ROI in Healthcare is what the industry--and the nation itself--has been waiting for. In this groundbreaking book that is sure to heavily impact the healthcare industry, four ROI experts show you how to measure what was previously unmeasurable and place accurate dollar signs on what was formerly impossible to value. Whatever healthcare improvement projects you plan to introduce--from systemwide medical procedures, technologyimplementations, and systems integration to nurse retention, risk management, and leadership development--Measuring ROI in Healthcare provides the tools you need to prove the worth of your project to decisionmakers. This step-by-step guide to collecting, analyzing,and reporting data in a consistent manner explains how to: Align your project's intended outcomes with organizational needs Collect and measure project participant feedback Evaluate the application and implementation of projects Measure business impact and connect improvement directly to your efforts Develop monetary values to calculate ROI As budgets shrink and uncertainty grows, business leaders are demanding higher levels of accountability than ever before. Nowhere is this more apparent than in thehealthcare industry. Use the proven methods of Measuring ROI in Healthcare to make sure your programs and projects will deliver what they promise and convince any decision maker that the organization's money will be well spent on your efforts. PRAISE FOR MEASURING ROI IN HEALTHCARE: "Measuring ROI in Healthcare should be mandatory reading for all executives of any sector in the healthcare arena: providers, payers, Pharma/device companies, policymakers, and scholars." -- Dr. David Lee Scher, MD, digital health technology consultant, Pennsylvania State University College of Medicine, Clinical Associate Professor of Medicine "There are very few constants in healthcare. Two of them--the push for greater quality and productivity--are comprehensively addressed by the authors. And in so doing, the direct connection between resource investment--time and money--and the return on those investments is concisely and profoundly made." -- Ross Mitchell, Vice President, External and Governmental Affairs, Baptist Health System "Kudos to the authors for providing a logical, systematic project evaluation framework that incorporates both financial and key nonfinancial elements affecting aninvestment decision." -- Hank Walker, Partner, Andrade/Walker Consulting, and former CEO of a large Catholic health system "Measuring ROI in Healthcare covers the most important ROI concepts to understand and gives leaders the necessary tools to be successful in that effort." -- Chris D. Van Gorder, FACHE, President and CEO, Scripps Health, and former Chairman of American College of Healthcare Executives "Executives, administrators, healthcare managers, advisors, professionals, and practitioners alike will find both the book and the ROI Methodology informative resourceswhen planning major healthcare projects." -- Dr. Catherine S. Amos, Doctor of Optometry, EyeCare Associates,and former President of American Optometric Foundation
Performance Improvement for Healthcare by Bahadir Inozu; Dan Chauncey; Charles Mount; Vickie Kamataris; Novaces LLC Staff, 2012
PROVEN STRATEGIES FOR REVOLUTIONIZING HEALTHCARE SYSTEMS "If I had to sum up this book in one word, the word would be 'brilliant'! This is one of the most insightful books on TOC, not just for healthcare, that I have ever read." --BOB SPROULL, author of The Ultimate Improvement Cycle: Maximizing Profits through the Integration of Lean, Six Sigma, and the Theory of Constraints Performance Improvement for Healthcare: Leading Change with Lean, Six Sigma, and Constraints Management lays out an integrated approach for using three industrially based methods to transform hospital operations in terms of patient outcomes and experience, financial viability, and employee satisfaction. This pioneering guide presents a scalable strategy for managing bottlenecks, eliminating waste, reducing errors, and containing costs in healthcare organizations, as well as sustaining the gains achieved. Real-world case studies illustrate successful performance improvement implementations that have realized breakthrough operational and financial results. COVERAGE INCLUDES: Constraints Management applications in healthcare The NOVACES SystemCPI--an integrated performance improvement deployment approach Three-part assessment--strategic gap analysis, system-level value stream analysis, and system constraint analysis Planning a performance improvement program deployment to ensure timely and consistent execution Applying the right tool to the right problem from a system perspective Sustaining gains achieved by the performance improvement team Defining a path to self-sufficiency
Prescription for Excellence by Joseph A. Michelli, 2011
THE #1 NEW YORK TIMES AND WALL STREET JOURNAL BESTSELLER! "Like any business, a hospital must be true to its core values in order to succeed. 'Trickle-down values' start at the top with the best leadership, so that all the stakeholders understand and carry out the institution's mission. That is the gift that David F einberg has brought to U CLA. I am in awe of his management skills." --Lynda Resnick, owner of Pom Wonderful, Fiji Water, Teleflora, and Wonderful Pistachios "With clear purpose, unwavering principles, and steadfast leadership, the people at UCLA have established a new bar, a compelling promise, for what healthcare can and should be." --David M. Lawrence, M.D., former CEO, Kaiser Permanente "An absorbing and educational account of a large institution's astonishing transformation. The strong, courageous, and focused leadership of David Feinberg and his outstanding team is evident on every page. A tremendous lesson for all large enterprises." --William E. Simon, Jr., cochairman, William E. Simon & Sons "Most leadership authors describe how to apply common-sense principles. Michelli is a notable exception. He artfully describes the compelling, uncommon leadership practices that transformed UCLA Health System. The resulting lessons are plentiful and powerful for today's business leader." --Lee J. Colan, Ph.D., author of Sticking to It: The Art of Adherence About the Book: Joseph Michelli, author of The Starbucks Experience and The New Gold Standard, is among the world's top authorities on the principles of creating an organizational culture dedicated to service excellence. In these bestselling books, he examines how leading service companies dominate their respective industries with innovative customerexperience strategies. Now, Michelli turns his attention to one of the most complex, controversial, and critical industries--healthcare. In Prescription for Excellence, Michelli provides an inside look at an organization that has become the envy of its industry--and explains how you can dominate your own industry by using the same approach. UCLA Health System is revered worldwide for its top-tier patient/customer care. Great physicians, nurses, researchers, and staff are only part of the equation; UCLA's overall success is a result of organization-wide collaboration that is driven by leaders with a shared vision of unyielding excellence. Michelli breaks down UCLA's approach into five simple principles: Commit to Care Leave No Room for Error Make the Best Better Create the Future Service Serves Us From administrative offices to operating rooms to research centers, continued adherence to these five principles has guided UCLA to financial strength, social significance, and sustainability. The best part is that these principles translate to any industry, so you, too, can achieve similar goals. Michelli gives you the tools to adapt UCLA's ideas, systems, and leadership principles into your own best practices. Whether it is a healthcare organization, a financial institution, or a neighborhood hair salon, good business begins and ends with customer connection. When all workers in an organization focus on providing quality care for those they serve, success inevitably follows. Business is always personal; UCLA's leadership ensures that this simple truth drives every UCLA employee, every day. Apply the lessons Michelli spells out in Prescription for Excellence to create a system that ensures that your people take business personally, day in and day out.
Six Sigma+Lean Toolset by Renata Meran; Alexander John; Olin Roenpage; Christian Staudter; Stephan Lunau (Editor); Astrid Schmitz (Translator) 2013
The current, second edition of this book reflects the 15 years ofnbsp;practical experience with the Six Sigma+Lean toolbox. It is a comprehensive collection of all the tools necessary for project work and running workshops when improving processes. All tools have been illustrated in a clear and comprehensible structure with examples and tips for applying the tools included. The chronology corresponds to the procedure of an improvement project comprising the steps D(efine), M(easure), A(nalyze), I(mprove) and C(ontrol). The most important innovation of this edition is the fact that it guides the user to select the appropriate tool using questions. The paradigm change from a Toolset to a Mindset has proven worthwhile in project work and ensures that corporate problems are addressed with the goal of achieving efficient solutions rather than having a large quantity of perfect tools to choose from. The efficiency factor of work in projects and workshops will therefore improve significantly. Through this paradigm change, connected withnbsp;its unique structure, this book provides an effective tool not only for project and workshop leaders but also for the executives/sponsors involved who will be guided to solve the given task formulation quickly and in a sustainable way.
E-Books
Smith's Patient Centered Interviewing: an Evidence-Based Method, Fourth Edition by Auguste H. Fortin; Richard M. Frankel; Robert C. Smith; Francesca C. Dwamena; Brenda L. Lepisto, 2019
The definitive evidence-based guide to effective patient-centered interviewing Smith's Patient-Centered Interviewing, Fourth Edition is a practical introductory textbook covering the essentials of patient interviewing. The most evidence based-guide available on the topic, and endorsed by the Academy of Communication in Healthcare, this acclaimed resource applies the proven 5-Step approach which integrates patient and clinical centered skills to improve effectiveness without adding extra time to the interview duration. Smith's Patient-Centered Interviewing covers important topics such as: *Patient Education *Motivating for behavior change *Breaking bad news *Managing different personality types *Increasing personal awareness in mindful practice *Nonverbal communication *Using computers in the exam room *Reporting and presenting evaluations The book's user-friendly design features icons, boxed case vignettes, and the use of color to highlight key points. Learning aids include practice exercises in each chapter, a pocket card, lists of essential questions, and graphics that facilitate understanding and retention. If you are in need of an evidence-based text that provides a proven systematic framework for taking an effective history, your search ends here.
Understanding Healthcare Financial Management by Louis C. Gapenski; George H. Pink; American College of Healthcare Executives Staff (Contribution by); Association of University Programs in Health Administration Staff (Contribution by), 2015
In today's healthcare environment, financial issues are paramount, and managers must be prepared as they strive to improve the delivery of health services. Understanding Healthcare Financial Management, Seventh Edition, blends theory with the "nuts and bolts" tools managers need for on-the-job decision making. Self- test questions, key concepts, glossary terms, learning objectives, and spreadsheet problems are featured throughout the book, helping students learn to make educated financial decisions in even the most complex provider settings.
Understanding Health Policy by Thomas Bodenheimer; Kevin Grumbach, 2016
Understand how the healthcare system works - and how you can succeed in it A Doody's Core Title for 2017! The Seventh Edition of Understanding Health Policy: A Clinical Approach remains the most trusted and comprehensive guide to healthcare available and provides everything you need to build a solid foundation on the field's most critical issues. This concise and engaging textbook clearly explains the all major aspects of healthcare, including finance, organization, and reimbursement. It will help you develop a clearer, more systematic way of thinking about health care in the United States, its problems, and the alternatives for managing and solving these problems. The book features a unique approach, using clinical vignettes to highlight key policy issues, clarify difficult concepts, and demonstrate how they apply to real-world situations, affecting both patients and professionals alike. Expert practitioners in both the public and private healthcare sectors, the authors cover the entire scope of our healthcare system. They carefully weave key principles, descriptions, and concrete examples into chapters that make important health policy issues interesting and understandable. Understanding Health Policy makes otherwise difficult concepts easy to understand--so you can make better decisions, improve outcomes, and enact positive change on a daily basis. The Seventh Edition features: Updated throughout to reflect the latest changes and events, including additional content on value-based care, Choosing Wisely#65533;, etc. Expanded coverage of the impact of the Affordable Care Act, including Accountable Care Organizations and their impact, and global issues in health policy End-of-chapter summaries and comprehensive lists of review questions to reinforce what you have learned Includes "Questions and Discussion Topics" for classroom or individual study
Understanding Teamwork in Health Care by Gordon Mosser; James W. Begun, 2014
The experts agree: Understanding Teamwork in Health Care is a true must-read A Doody's Core Title for 2017! "This is a much-needed addition to the training curriculum of anyone involved in the healthcare industry." -- James Townsend, DHSc., MBA, MIS (A. T. Still University) and Doody's Review Service "Our health care can be magnificently effective, but, without constant coordination and cooperation, its technologies and specialization can be the front doors to confusing complexity and risky fragmentation. Better teamwork improves every aspect of the Institute for Healthcare Improvement's 'Triple Aim'--patients' experience of health care, the health of our populations,and the cost of providing care. In this book, Dr. Mosser and Professor Begun have given us a superb guide for better teamwork. Their account is based on sound evidence and compelling concepts, but it is also eminently practical. Nearly 100 stories of teamwork--mostly exemplary,sometimes cautionary--illustrate what it means for patients, physicians, nurses, pharmacists, and others to work together in effective harmony." -- Donald M. Berwick, MD, MPP, President Emeritus and Senior Fellow,Institute for Healthcare Improvement "Best health outcomes are often the result of an extremely competent, completely connected team of caregivers, working with an empowered patient who is the absolute central focus and sometimes the team quarterback. Drs. Mosser and Begun grasp the critical importance ofhealthcare team members working as equals despite titles or disciplines of practice. This is an engaging, enlightening, entertaining must-read for clinicians currently working in the field of health care, those considering the profession, people teaching potential caregivers, and anyone interested in the future of how we can deliver best health care at lowest cost throughcohesive teams." -- George C. Halvorson, Chairman and CEO, Kaiser Permanente "Dr. Mosser and Dr. Begun blend clinical vignettes and science in a highly readable book to help us understand the importance and diversity of health care teams. The authors' conceptual frameworks are intellectually compelling, and their vignettes capture those concepts in action. Members of every type of health care team will find this book to be a valuable resource. Read the first three chapters. You won't be able to resist the pleasure of reading the rest of the book." -- Linda Cronenwett, PhD, RN, FAAN, Professor and Dean Emeritus, School of Nursing, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill "The team-based models developing in progressive health care call for a comprehensive and insightful guidebook. Understanding Teamwork in Health Care meets this need. It provides pharmacists and other health care professionals with the foundational knowledge necessaryto be members of effective clinical teams." -- Joseph DiPiro, Pharm D, Professor and Executive Dean, South Carolina College of Pharmacy This important guide focuses on the core skills necessary to effectively implement teamwork in a complex hospital or primary care setting. The book's mission is to make often-overlooked perspectives about teamwork more widely known and used. No matter what your prior level of team involvement may be, this is the one resource that will help you adeptly participate in, lead, or manage teams. Unlike other texts that rely heavily on theory and healthcare policy, this indispensable reference offers a realistic, practical look at the challenges and many opportunities of teamwork. Reflecting the authors' 30-plus years of hands-on experience, the text begins with a basic overview of healthcare teams and team members. Subsequent sections highlight how effective teams function; provide expert insights for evaluating and improving healthcare teams; and illuminate the role of senior leadership in advancing teamwork.
Understanding Telehealth by Karen S. Rheuban; Elizabeth A. Krupinski, 2018
The first complete guide to the rapidly expanding field of telehealth From email to videoconferencing, telehealth puts real-time healthcare solutions at patients' and clinicians' fingertips. Every year, the field continues to evolve, enhancing access to healthcare, supporting clinicians, and improving the patient experience. However, since telehealth is in its infancy, no text has offered a comprehensive, definitive survey of this up-and-coming field--until now. Written by past presidents of the American Telemedicine Association, Understanding Telehealth explains how clinical applications leveraging telehealth technology are optimizing healthcare delivery. In addition, this timely resource examines the bedrock principles of telehealth and highlights the safety standards involved in the diagnosis and treatment of patients through digital communications. Logically organized and supported by high-yield clinical vignettes, the book begins with essential background information, including a look at telehealth history, definitions and roles, and rural health. It then provides an overview of clinical services for adults, from telestroke to telepsychiatry. The third section addresses pediatric clinical services, encompassing pediatric emergency and critical care, telecardiology, and more. A groundbreaking resource: *Chapters cover a broad spectrum of technologies, evidence-based guidelines, and application of telehealth across the healthcare continuum *Ideal for medical staff, public healthcare executives, hospitals, clinics, payors, healthcare advocates, and researchers alike *Incisive coverage of the legal and regulatory environment underpinning telehealth practice
Understanding Value Based Healthcare by Vineet Arora; Christopher Moriates; Neel Shah, 2015
Provide outstanding patient care while navigating the complexities of healthcare reform with this comprehensive, engagingly written guide A Doody's Core Title for 2017! Read what your colleagues are saying about Understanding Value-Based Healthcare: "The book is a masterful primer for all clinicians--especially those of us hoping to navigate the transition from volume-based healthcare to value-based healthcare without running aground." Atul Gawande, MD, MPH. Surgeon, Professor, and author of Being Mortal and The Checklist Manifesto"This book is an instant classic. It masterfully summarizes and makes accessible a mountain of relevant health care delivery research. And it gives front-line clinicians and other health care leaders a raft of practical ideas to help make care dramatically safer, more patient-focused, and more affordable." Donald Berwick, MD President Emeritus and Senior Fellow, Institute for Healthcare Improvement"What is value? Why is it so hard to achieve in healthcare, when it is the standard in most other industries? How can we overcome the obstacles and achieve a value-based system? With dozens of real-life stories of encounters with our broken health system, this book offers valuable insights into these questions and more. It is a must-read for everyone from student to frontline clinician to system leader who wants to contribute to the successful transformation to value-based care." Vivian Lee, PhD, MD, MBA CEO, University of Utah Healthcare Understanding Value-Based Healthcare is a succinct, interestingly written primer on the core issues involved in maximizing the efficacy and outcomes of medical care when cost is a factor in the decision-making process. Written by internationally recognized experts on cost- and value-based healthcare, this timely book delivers practical and clinically focused guidance on one of the most debated topics in medicine and medicine administration today. Understanding Value-Based Healthcare is divided into three sections: Section 1 Introduction to Value in Healthcare lays the groundwork for understanding this complex topic. Coverage includes the current state of healthcare costs and waste in the USA, the challenges of understanding healthcare pricing, ethics of cost-conscious care, and more. Section 2 Causes of Waste covers important issues such as variation in resource utilization, the role of technology diffusion, lost opportunities to deliver value, and barriers to providing high-value care. Section 3 Solutions and Tools discusses teaching cost awareness and evidence-based medicine, the role of patients, high-value medication prescribing, screening and prevention, incentives, and implementing value-based initiatives. The authors include valuable case studies within each chapter to demonstrate how the material relates to real-world situations faced by clinicians on a daily basis. .
The American Health Care System by
This book collates the expertise and experience of leading medical professionals to give foreign medical graduates an understanding of the American health care system. All the fundamental stages in the preparation of a foreign medical graduate for medical training in the US are covered. The book aims to provide essential information and guidance on how to navigate the American health care system. The characteristics of it are described in this concise and easy to read volume to help foreign medical graduates integrate into the American system.
A DIY Guide to Telemedicine for Clinicians by
This book is a do-it-yourself guide for clinicians who wish to set up and run a telemedicine facility of their own. The contents are largely based on the understanding and experience gained by the author as a practising physician, management post-graduate (capstone thesis was on telemedicine) and as a business architect for digital health systems over more than thirty years. Full of management techniques, tricks and tips written in an easy-to-follow manner, this book provides sufficient information to clinicians looking to leverage telemedicine to augment their range of service offerings that would lead to increased levels of patient satisfaction. Various aspects related to definitions, technology, infrastructure, methodologies and legal issues for setting up and running telemedicine services have been dealt with to sufficient depths for the readers to help grasp the issues involved. Sections on privacy, confidentiality and data integrity have been provided to help allay the many concerns the readers might have in those regards. Additionally, financial evaluations based on realistic-enough figures have been used to demonstrate that telemedicine is a viable option financially. Although meant primarily for medical doctors, any care provider including institutional will be able to use the contents to plan, design, set up and run telemedicine services that they feel would benefit those who receive their care.
Essentials of Health Policy and Law, 4th ed. by
Public opinion polls, media coverage, legal disputes, and policy debates at all levels of government and in private industry attest to the important place that individual health care and public health and safety hold in the minds of the American public, policymakers, and lawmakers. Essentials of Health Policy and Law, Fourth Edition provides students of public health, medicine, nursing, public policy, and health administration with an introduction to a broad range of seminal issues in U.S. health policy and law, analytic frameworks for studying these complex issues, and an understanding of the ways in which health policies and laws are formulated, implemented, and applied. Concise and straightforward, this text is particularly known for its focus on national health reform under the Affordable Care Act (ACA). Additionally, the Fourth Edition offers: - A unique chapter on the social determinants of health and the role of law in improving health. - New content related to health reform; the healthcare system; the ACA's effect on Medicaid, Medicare, and CHIP; and incentivizing healthcare quality and private payer reform efforts. - A significantly revised chapter on Public Health Preparedness Policy, reflecting an increased focus on natural disasters, controlling infectious diseases, and military emergencies. - A how-to chapter on writing a policy analysis offers readers step-by-step instructions and examples for writing a policy brief. - Valuable instructor's resources, including PowerPoint slides, test questions for each chapter, blog post updates, and more.
The Exchange Strategy for Managing Conflict in Healthcare by
The proven four-step method for improving communicationand managing conflict in any healthcare setting A Doody's Core Title for 2015! The Exchange Strategy for Managing Conflict in Health Care delivers a wealth of strategiesand techniques for structuring conversations about conflicts and issues in groups large and small. "A fresh, clear-eyed view of how to approach conflict in the American healthcare system . . . shows how direct, immediate, tactful, and open communication will greatly improve any workplace setting." -- KATHLEEN SELLICK, President and CEO, Rady Children's Hospital "Having worked in large hospital systems for many years, I wish I had known these skills and techniques when I supervised nurses and coordinated teams." -- KIM PHILLIPS, MSN, RN, CFCN, Nurse's Touch, Inc. "During the past 12 months, over 450 managers and supervisors on my team at Sanford Health have gone through this training, and it works!" -- EVAN BURKETT, Chief Human Resources Officer, Sanford Health "The strategy and skills laid out in this book . . . are truly effective. Ignore this at your peril." -- DR. SAMUEL B. HO, Chief, Gastroenterology Section, Veterans Affairs San Diego Healthcare System, Professor of Medicine, University of California, San Diego
Handbook of Occupational Safety and Health by
A quick, easy-to-consult source of practical overviews on wide-ranging issues of concern for those responsible for the health and safety of workers This new and completely revised edition of the popular Handbook is an ideal, go-to resource for those who need to anticipate, recognize, evaluate, and control conditions that can cause injury or illness to employees in the workplace. Devised as a "how-to" guide, it offers a mix of theory and practice while adding new and timely topics to its core chapters, including prevention by design, product stewardship, statistics for safety and health, safety and health management systems, safety and health management of international operations, and EHS auditing. The new edition of Handbook of Occupational Safety and Health has been rearranged into topic sections to better categorize the flow of the chapters. Starting with a general introduction on management, it works its way up from recognition of hazards to safety evaluations and risk assessment. It continues on the health side beginning with chemical agents and ending with medical surveillance. The book also offers sections covering normal control practices, physical hazards, and management approaches (which focuses on legal issues and workers compensation). Features new chapters on current developments like management systems, prevention by design, and statistics for safety and health Written by a number of pioneers in the safety and health field Offers fast overviews that enable individuals not formally trained in occupational safety to quickly get up to speed Presents many chapters in a "how-to" format Featuring contributions from numerous experts in the field, Handbook of Occupational Safety and Health, 3rd Edition is an excellent tool for promoting and maintaining the physical, mental, and social well-being of workers in all occupations and is important to a company's financial, moral, and legal welfare.
Healthcare Information Security and Privacy by
Operational, tested information security and privacypractices for the healthcare environment Written by an expert in the field with multiple industry certifications, this definitive resource fully addresses information security and privacy considerations and their implications within the business of patient care. The book begins with an overview of the organization, financing, and delivery of healthcare and discusses technology, terminology, and data management principles. The topic coverage continues across all aspects of information security and privacy, with a special emphasis on real-life scenarios in clinical practices and business operations in healthcare. Learn best practices for healthcare information security and privacy with detailed coverage of essential topics such as information governance, roles and occupations, risk assessment and management, incident response, patient rights, and cybersecurity. Written for a global audience, this comprehensive guide addresses U.S. laws and regulations as well as those within the European Union, the United Kingdom, and Canada. Healthcare Information Security and Privacy covers: Healthcare organizations and industry Regulatory environment Risk-based decision making Notifications of security and privacy events Patient rights and healthcare responsibilities Anatomy of a cyber attack Protecting digital health information Privacy and security impact on healthcare information technology Information governance Risk assessment and management
High Performance Healthcare by
In her groundbreaking book The SouthwestAirlines Way, Jody Hoffer Gittell revealedthe management secrets of the companyFortune magazine called "the most successfulairline in history." Now, the bestsellingbusiness author explains how to apply thosesame principles in one of our nation's largest,most important, and increasingly complexindustries. High Performance Healthcare explains the criticalconcept of "relational coordination"--coordinating work through shared goals,shared knowledge, and mutual respect.Because of the way healthcare is organized,weak links exist throughout the chain ofcommunication. Gittell clearly demonstratesthat relational coordination strengthens thoseweak links, enabling providers to deliver highquality, efficient care to their patients.Using Gittell's innovative management methods,you will improve quality, maximizeefficiency, and compete more effectively. High Performance Healthcare walks you step by stepthrough the process of: Identifying weak areas of relationalcoordination within your organization Transforming work practices thatare creating barriers to relationalcoordination Building a high performance worksystem to foster consistent relationalcoordination across all disciplines The book includes case studies illustratinghow some healthcare organizations arealready transforming themselves using Gittell'sproven tools. It concludes by identifying industry-level obstacles to high performancehealthcare and showing how individual organizationsand their leaders can supportsweeping change at the highest levels. Policy changes and increased access to carewill not alone answer the healthcare industry'sproblems. Timely, accurate, problem-solvingcommunication that crosses all organizationalboundaries is a powerful response to businessas usual. High Performance Healthcare explainsexactly how to achieve this crucial dynamic,providing a long-awaited cure to an industryin crisis.
The Innovator's Prescription: a Disruptive Solution for Health Care by
THE BOOK THAT'S REVOLUTIONIZING HEALTH CARE IN AMERICA A groundbreaking prescription for reform-- from a legendary leader in innovation. "Clear, entertaining, and provocative, The Innovator's Prescription should be read by anyone who cares about improving the health and health care of all." ―Risa Lavizzo-Mourey, MD, President and CEO, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation "Comprehensive in its vision, astute in its diagnosis, and clear in its guidance, The Innovator's Prescription offers strong medicine for a heath care system that is far from well." --Harvey V. Fineberg, MD, President, Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation Our health care system is in critical condition. The Affordable Care Act has insured more Americans than ever, yet deductibles keep rising and costs continue to climb. Now more than ever, the industry needs a shot in the arm. It needs The Innovator's Prescription, the now-classic approach to efficient, affordable health care. Learn how to: * Deliver personalized care at a lower cost with "precision medicine" * Improve quality, accessibility, and affordability using a disruptive business model * Enable better treatment of chronic diseases through patient networks * Diagnose problems and find solutions faster using new technology * Take advantage of insurance and regulatory reforms to provide the best care possible
Lean Six Sigma for Hospitals by
Simple Steps to Improve Patient Safety, Patient Flow and the Bottom Line This thoroughly revised resource shows, step-by-step, how to simplify, streamline, analyze, and optimize healthcare performance using tested Lean Six Sigma and change management techniques. Lean Six Sigma for Hospitals, Second Edition, follows the patient from the front door of the hospital or emergency room all the way through discharge. The book fully explains how to improve operations and quality of care while dramatically reducing costs--often in just five days. Real-world case studies from major healthcare institutions illustrate successful implementations of Lean Six Sigma. Coverage includes: * Lean Six Sigma for hospitals, emergency departments, operating rooms, medical imaging facilities, nursing units, pharmacies, and ICUs * Patient flow and quality * Clinical staff * Order and claims accuracy * Billing and collection * Defect and medical error reduction * Excel power tools for Lean Six Sigma * Data mining and analysis * Process flow charts and control charts * Laser-focused process innovation * Statistical tools for Lean Six Sigma * Planning and implementation
Management Lessons from Mayo Clinic: Inside One of the World's Most Admired Service Organizations by
The leader's guide to building a service powerhouse using the approach that made Mayo Clinic the #1 healthcare system in America Mayo Clinic is among the best service organizations in the world. It fosters a culture that exceeds customer expectations and earns deep loyalty from both customers and employees. This classic business guide offers a rare, up-close look at the best practices that drive Mayo Clinic's success. By examining the operating principles that guide every management decision at this legendary institution, authors Leonard Berry and Kent Seltman: * Demonstrate how a great service brand evolves from the core values that nourish and protect it * Extrapolate instructive business lessons that apply outside healthcare * Illustrate the benefits of pooling talent and encouraging teamwork * Present a proven prescription for creating sustainable service excellence Learn how to apply the Clinic's winning methods to your own organization: business concepts that produce stellar results, effective organizational efficiency, and world-class interpersonal service.
Manual of Healthcare Leadership - Essential Strategies for Physician and Administrative Leaders by
How physician executives and managers can become outstanding leaders in times of rapid change Written by authors who have more than sixty years of combined experience in healthcare, physician, and organizational leadership, this groundbreaking book is an innovative blueprint for overcoming the complex changes and challenges faced by leaders in today's healthcare environment. Rather than being a theoretic work, The Manual of Healthcare Leadership is intended to be a relevant, practical, and real-world guide that addresses the myriad organizational, regulatory, budgetary, legal, staffing, educational, political, and social issues facing leaders in the healthcare industry. One of the primary goals of this book is to enable readers to maximize the performance of each staff member in the interest of collectively providing peerless healthcare to their service community. The strategies offered throughout the text include the "why, what, and how" necessary to solve specific problems and challenges encountered by healthcare managers and leaders. Instruction is provided not only with text, but with diagrams and other resources specifically designed to demonstrate sequential thinking and the progressive application of solutions. With this book in hand, healthcare leaders will be able to confidently select, train, guide, and assess their staff. They will also be able to negotiate, plan, resolve problems, manage change and crisis, and handle the thousand and one other challenges that come their way on a daily basis.
Measuring ROI in Healthcare by
A proven system for measuring the bottom-line valueof any proposed healthcare initiative Healthcare costs in the United States are soaring out of control, and virtually every forecast predicts no end to this unhealthy trend. Until now, there has been no way to quantify and prove the value of healthcare projects and programs. Measuring ROI in Healthcare is what the industry--and the nation itself--has been waiting for. In this groundbreaking book that is sure to heavily impact the healthcare industry, four ROI experts show you how to measure what was previously unmeasurable and place accurate dollar signs on what was formerly impossible to value. Whatever healthcare improvement projects you plan to introduce--from systemwide medical procedures, technologyimplementations, and systems integration to nurse retention, risk management, and leadership development--Measuring ROI in Healthcare provides the tools you need to prove the worth of your project to decisionmakers. This step-by-step guide to collecting, analyzing,and reporting data in a consistent manner explains how to: Align your project's intended outcomes with organizational needs Collect and measure project participant feedback Evaluate the application and implementation of projects Measure business impact and connect improvement directly to your efforts Develop monetary values to calculate ROI As budgets shrink and uncertainty grows, business leaders are demanding higher levels of accountability than ever before. Nowhere is this more apparent than in thehealthcare industry. Use the proven methods of Measuring ROI in Healthcare to make sure your programs and projects will deliver what they promise and convince any decision maker that the organization's money will be well spent on your efforts. PRAISE FOR MEASURING ROI IN HEALTHCARE: "Measuring ROI in Healthcare should be mandatory reading for all executives of any sector in the healthcare arena: providers, payers, Pharma/device companies, policymakers, and scholars." -- Dr. David Lee Scher, MD, digital health technology consultant, Pennsylvania State University College of Medicine, Clinical Associate Professor of Medicine "There are very few constants in healthcare. Two of them--the push for greater quality and productivity--are comprehensively addressed by the authors. And in so doing, the direct connection between resource investment--time and money--and the return on those investments is concisely and profoundly made." -- Ross Mitchell, Vice President, External and Governmental Affairs, Baptist Health System "Kudos to the authors for providing a logical, systematic project evaluation framework that incorporates both financial and key nonfinancial elements affecting aninvestment decision." -- Hank Walker, Partner, Andrade/Walker Consulting, and former CEO of a large Catholic health system "Measuring ROI in Healthcare covers the most important ROI concepts to understand and gives leaders the necessary tools to be successful in that effort." -- Chris D. Van Gorder, FACHE, President and CEO, Scripps Health, and former Chairman of American College of Healthcare Executives "Executives, administrators, healthcare managers, advisors, professionals, and practitioners alike will find both the book and the ROI Methodology informative resourceswhen planning major healthcare projects." -- Dr. Catherine S. Amos, Doctor of Optometry, EyeCare Associates,and former President of American Optometric Foundation
Performance Improvement for Healthcare by
PROVEN STRATEGIES FOR REVOLUTIONIZING HEALTHCARE SYSTEMS "If I had to sum up this book in one word, the word would be 'brilliant'! This is one of the most insightful books on TOC, not just for healthcare, that I have ever read." --BOB SPROULL, author of The Ultimate Improvement Cycle: Maximizing Profits through the Integration of Lean, Six Sigma, and the Theory of Constraints Performance Improvement for Healthcare: Leading Change with Lean, Six Sigma, and Constraints Management lays out an integrated approach for using three industrially based methods to transform hospital operations in terms of patient outcomes and experience, financial viability, and employee satisfaction. This pioneering guide presents a scalable strategy for managing bottlenecks, eliminating waste, reducing errors, and containing costs in healthcare organizations, as well as sustaining the gains achieved. Real-world case studies illustrate successful performance improvement implementations that have realized breakthrough operational and financial results. COVERAGE INCLUDES: Constraints Management applications in healthcare The NOVACES SystemCPI--an integrated performance improvement deployment approach Three-part assessment--strategic gap analysis, system-level value stream analysis, and system constraint analysis Planning a performance improvement program deployment to ensure timely and consistent execution Applying the right tool to the right problem from a system perspective Sustaining gains achieved by the performance improvement team Defining a path to self-sufficiency
Prescription for Excellence by
THE #1 NEW YORK TIMES AND WALL STREET JOURNAL BESTSELLER! "Like any business, a hospital must be true to its core values in order to succeed. 'Trickle-down values' start at the top with the best leadership, so that all the stakeholders understand and carry out the institution's mission. That is the gift that David F einberg has brought to U CLA. I am in awe of his management skills." --Lynda Resnick, owner of Pom Wonderful, Fiji Water, Teleflora, and Wonderful Pistachios "With clear purpose, unwavering principles, and steadfast leadership, the people at UCLA have established a new bar, a compelling promise, for what healthcare can and should be." --David M. Lawrence, M.D., former CEO, Kaiser Permanente "An absorbing and educational account of a large institution's astonishing transformation. The strong, courageous, and focused leadership of David Feinberg and his outstanding team is evident on every page. A tremendous lesson for all large enterprises." --William E. Simon, Jr., cochairman, William E. Simon & Sons "Most leadership authors describe how to apply common-sense principles. Michelli is a notable exception. He artfully describes the compelling, uncommon leadership practices that transformed UCLA Health System. The resulting lessons are plentiful and powerful for today's business leader." --Lee J. Colan, Ph.D., author of Sticking to It: The Art of Adherence About the Book: Joseph Michelli, author of The Starbucks Experience and The New Gold Standard, is among the world's top authorities on the principles of creating an organizational culture dedicated to service excellence. In these bestselling books, he examines how leading service companies dominate their respective industries with innovative customerexperience strategies. Now, Michelli turns his attention to one of the most complex, controversial, and critical industries--healthcare. In Prescription for Excellence, Michelli provides an inside look at an organization that has become the envy of its industry--and explains how you can dominate your own industry by using the same approach. UCLA Health System is revered worldwide for its top-tier patient/customer care. Great physicians, nurses, researchers, and staff are only part of the equation; UCLA's overall success is a result of organization-wide collaboration that is driven by leaders with a shared vision of unyielding excellence. Michelli breaks down UCLA's approach into five simple principles: Commit to Care Leave No Room for Error Make the Best Better Create the Future Service Serves Us From administrative offices to operating rooms to research centers, continued adherence to these five principles has guided UCLA to financial strength, social significance, and sustainability. The best part is that these principles translate to any industry, so you, too, can achieve similar goals. Michelli gives you the tools to adapt UCLA's ideas, systems, and leadership principles into your own best practices. Whether it is a healthcare organization, a financial institution, or a neighborhood hair salon, good business begins and ends with customer connection. When all workers in an organization focus on providing quality care for those they serve, success inevitably follows. Business is always personal; UCLA's leadership ensures that this simple truth drives every UCLA employee, every day. Apply the lessons Michelli spells out in Prescription for Excellence to create a system that ensures that your people take business personally, day in and day out.
Six Sigma+Lean Toolset by
The current, second edition of this book reflects the 15 years ofnbsp;practical experience with the Six Sigma+Lean toolbox. It is a comprehensive collection of all the tools necessary for project work and running workshops when improving processes. All tools have been illustrated in a clear and comprehensible structure with examples and tips for applying the tools included. The chronology corresponds to the procedure of an improvement project comprising the steps D(efine), M(easure), A(nalyze), I(mprove) and C(ontrol). The most important innovation of this edition is the fact that it guides the user to select the appropriate tool using questions. The paradigm change from a Toolset to a Mindset has proven worthwhile in project work and ensures that corporate problems are addressed with the goal of achieving efficient solutions rather than having a large quantity of perfect tools to choose from. The efficiency factor of work in projects and workshops will therefore improve significantly. Through this paradigm change, connected withnbsp;its unique structure, this book provides an effective tool not only for project and workshop leaders but also for the executives/sponsors involved who will be guided to solve the given task formulation quickly and in a sustainable way.
Smith's Patient Centered Interviewing: an Evidence-Based Method, Fourth Edition by
The definitive evidence-based guide to effective patient-centered interviewing Smith's Patient-Centered Interviewing, Fourth Edition is a practical introductory textbook covering the essentials of patient interviewing. The most evidence based-guide available on the topic, and endorsed by the Academy of Communication in Healthcare, this acclaimed resource applies the proven 5-Step approach which integrates patient and clinical centered skills to improve effectiveness without adding extra time to the interview duration. Smith's Patient-Centered Interviewing covers important topics such as: *Patient Education *Motivating for behavior change *Breaking bad news *Managing different personality types *Increasing personal awareness in mindful practice *Nonverbal communication *Using computers in the exam room *Reporting and presenting evaluations The book's user-friendly design features icons, boxed case vignettes, and the use of color to highlight key points. Learning aids include practice exercises in each chapter, a pocket card, lists of essential questions, and graphics that facilitate understanding and retention. If you are in need of an evidence-based text that provides a proven systematic framework for taking an effective history, your search ends here.
Understanding Healthcare Financial Management by
In today's healthcare environment, financial issues are paramount, and managers must be prepared as they strive to improve the delivery of health services. Understanding Healthcare Financial Management, Seventh Edition, blends theory with the "nuts and bolts" tools managers need for on-the-job decision making. Self- test questions, key concepts, glossary terms, learning objectives, and spreadsheet problems are featured throughout the book, helping students learn to make educated financial decisions in even the most complex provider settings.
Understanding Health Policy by
Understand how the healthcare system works - and how you can succeed in it A Doody's Core Title for 2017! The Seventh Edition of Understanding Health Policy: A Clinical Approach remains the most trusted and comprehensive guide to healthcare available and provides everything you need to build a solid foundation on the field's most critical issues. This concise and engaging textbook clearly explains the all major aspects of healthcare, including finance, organization, and reimbursement. It will help you develop a clearer, more systematic way of thinking about health care in the United States, its problems, and the alternatives for managing and solving these problems. The book features a unique approach, using clinical vignettes to highlight key policy issues, clarify difficult concepts, and demonstrate how they apply to real-world situations, affecting both patients and professionals alike. Expert practitioners in both the public and private healthcare sectors, the authors cover the entire scope of our healthcare system. They carefully weave key principles, descriptions, and concrete examples into chapters that make important health policy issues interesting and understandable. Understanding Health Policy makes otherwise difficult concepts easy to understand--so you can make better decisions, improve outcomes, and enact positive change on a daily basis. The Seventh Edition features: Updated throughout to reflect the latest changes and events, including additional content on value-based care, Choosing Wisely#65533;, etc. Expanded coverage of the impact of the Affordable Care Act, including Accountable Care Organizations and their impact, and global issues in health policy End-of-chapter summaries and comprehensive lists of review questions to reinforce what you have learned Includes "Questions and Discussion Topics" for classroom or individual study
Understanding Teamwork in Health Care by
The experts agree: Understanding Teamwork in Health Care is a true must-read A Doody's Core Title for 2017! "This is a much-needed addition to the training curriculum of anyone involved in the healthcare industry." -- James Townsend, DHSc., MBA, MIS (A. T. Still University) and Doody's Review Service "Our health care can be magnificently effective, but, without constant coordination and cooperation, its technologies and specialization can be the front doors to confusing complexity and risky fragmentation. Better teamwork improves every aspect of the Institute for Healthcare Improvement's 'Triple Aim'--patients' experience of health care, the health of our populations,and the cost of providing care. In this book, Dr. Mosser and Professor Begun have given us a superb guide for better teamwork. Their account is based on sound evidence and compelling concepts, but it is also eminently practical. Nearly 100 stories of teamwork--mostly exemplary,sometimes cautionary--illustrate what it means for patients, physicians, nurses, pharmacists, and others to work together in effective harmony." -- Donald M. Berwick, MD, MPP, President Emeritus and Senior Fellow,Institute for Healthcare Improvement "Best health outcomes are often the result of an extremely competent, completely connected team of caregivers, working with an empowered patient who is the absolute central focus and sometimes the team quarterback. Drs. Mosser and Begun grasp the critical importance ofhealthcare team members working as equals despite titles or disciplines of practice. This is an engaging, enlightening, entertaining must-read for clinicians currently working in the field of health care, those considering the profession, people teaching potential caregivers, and anyone interested in the future of how we can deliver best health care at lowest cost throughcohesive teams." -- George C. Halvorson, Chairman and CEO, Kaiser Permanente "Dr. Mosser and Dr. Begun blend clinical vignettes and science in a highly readable book to help us understand the importance and diversity of health care teams. The authors' conceptual frameworks are intellectually compelling, and their vignettes capture those concepts in action. Members of every type of health care team will find this book to be a valuable resource. Read the first three chapters. You won't be able to resist the pleasure of reading the rest of the book." -- Linda Cronenwett, PhD, RN, FAAN, Professor and Dean Emeritus, School of Nursing, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill "The team-based models developing in progressive health care call for a comprehensive and insightful guidebook. Understanding Teamwork in Health Care meets this need. It provides pharmacists and other health care professionals with the foundational knowledge necessaryto be members of effective clinical teams." -- Joseph DiPiro, Pharm D, Professor and Executive Dean, South Carolina College of Pharmacy This important guide focuses on the core skills necessary to effectively implement teamwork in a complex hospital or primary care setting. The book's mission is to make often-overlooked perspectives about teamwork more widely known and used. No matter what your prior level of team involvement may be, this is the one resource that will help you adeptly participate in, lead, or manage teams. Unlike other texts that rely heavily on theory and healthcare policy, this indispensable reference offers a realistic, practical look at the challenges and many opportunities of teamwork. Reflecting the authors' 30-plus years of hands-on experience, the text begins with a basic overview of healthcare teams and team members. Subsequent sections highlight how effective teams function; provide expert insights for evaluating and improving healthcare teams; and illuminate the role of senior leadership in advancing teamwork.
Understanding Telehealth by
The first complete guide to the rapidly expanding field of telehealth From email to videoconferencing, telehealth puts real-time healthcare solutions at patients' and clinicians' fingertips. Every year, the field continues to evolve, enhancing access to healthcare, supporting clinicians, and improving the patient experience. However, since telehealth is in its infancy, no text has offered a comprehensive, definitive survey of this up-and-coming field--until now. Written by past presidents of the American Telemedicine Association, Understanding Telehealth explains how clinical applications leveraging telehealth technology are optimizing healthcare delivery. In addition, this timely resource examines the bedrock principles of telehealth and highlights the safety standards involved in the diagnosis and treatment of patients through digital communications. Logically organized and supported by high-yield clinical vignettes, the book begins with essential background information, including a look at telehealth history, definitions and roles, and rural health. It then provides an overview of clinical services for adults, from telestroke to telepsychiatry. The third section addresses pediatric clinical services, encompassing pediatric emergency and critical care, telecardiology, and more. A groundbreaking resource: *Chapters cover a broad spectrum of technologies, evidence-based guidelines, and application of telehealth across the healthcare continuum *Ideal for medical staff, public healthcare executives, hospitals, clinics, payors, healthcare advocates, and researchers alike *Incisive coverage of the legal and regulatory environment underpinning telehealth practice
Understanding Value Based Healthcare by
Provide outstanding patient care while navigating the complexities of healthcare reform with this comprehensive, engagingly written guide A Doody's Core Title for 2017! Read what your colleagues are saying about Understanding Value-Based Healthcare: "The book is a masterful primer for all clinicians--especially those of us hoping to navigate the transition from volume-based healthcare to value-based healthcare without running aground." Atul Gawande, MD, MPH. Surgeon, Professor, and author of Being Mortal and The Checklist Manifesto"This book is an instant classic. It masterfully summarizes and makes accessible a mountain of relevant health care delivery research. And it gives front-line clinicians and other health care leaders a raft of practical ideas to help make care dramatically safer, more patient-focused, and more affordable." Donald Berwick, MD President Emeritus and Senior Fellow, Institute for Healthcare Improvement"What is value? Why is it so hard to achieve in healthcare, when it is the standard in most other industries? How can we overcome the obstacles and achieve a value-based system? With dozens of real-life stories of encounters with our broken health system, this book offers valuable insights into these questions and more. It is a must-read for everyone from student to frontline clinician to system leader who wants to contribute to the successful transformation to value-based care." Vivian Lee, PhD, MD, MBA CEO, University of Utah Healthcare Understanding Value-Based Healthcare is a succinct, interestingly written primer on the core issues involved in maximizing the efficacy and outcomes of medical care when cost is a factor in the decision-making process. Written by internationally recognized experts on cost- and value-based healthcare, this timely book delivers practical and clinically focused guidance on one of the most debated topics in medicine and medicine administration today. Understanding Value-Based Healthcare is divided into three sections: Section 1 Introduction to Value in Healthcare lays the groundwork for understanding this complex topic. Coverage includes the current state of healthcare costs and waste in the USA, the challenges of understanding healthcare pricing, ethics of cost-conscious care, and more. Section 2 Causes of Waste covers important issues such as variation in resource utilization, the role of technology diffusion, lost opportunities to deliver value, and barriers to providing high-value care. Section 3 Solutions and Tools discusses teaching cost awareness and evidence-based medicine, the role of patients, high-value medication prescribing, screening and prevention, incentives, and implementing value-based initiatives. The authors include valuable case studies within each chapter to demonstrate how the material relates to real-world situations faced by clinicians on a daily basis. .