Abeloff's Clinical Oncology by
Easily accessible and clinically focused, Abeloff's Clinical Oncology, 6th Edition, covers recent advances in our understanding of the pathophysiology of cancer, cellular and molecular causes of cancer initiation and progression, new and emerging therapies, current trials, and much more. Masterfully authored by an international team of leading cancer experts, it offers clear, practical coverage of everything from basic science to multidisciplinary collaboration on diagnosis, staging, treatment and follow up. Includes new chapters on Cancer Metabolism and Clinical Trial Designs in Oncology and a standalone chapter on lifestyles and cancer prevention. Features extensive updates including the latest clinical practice guidelines, decision-making algorithms, and clinical trial implications, as well as new content on precision medicine, genetics, and PET/CT imaging. Includes revised diagnostic and treatment protocols for medical management, surgical considerations, and radiation oncology therapies, stressing a multispecialty, integrated approach to care. Helps you find information quickly with updated indexing related to management recommendations, focused fact summaries, updated key points at the beginning of each chapter ideal for quick reference and board review, and algorithms for patient evaluation, diagnosis, and treatment options. Offers more patient care coverage in disease chapters, plus new information on cancer as a chronic illness and cancer survivorship. Discusses today's key topics such as immuno-oncology, functional imaging, precision medicine, the application of genetics in pathologic diagnosis and sub-categorization of tumors as well as the association of chronic infectious diseases such as HIV and cancer. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
AJCC Cancer Staging Manual, 8e by
Please visit www.cancerstaging.org for information about content updates and staging forms. The AJCC Cancer Staging Manual is used by physicians and health care professionals throughout the world to facilitate the uniform description and reporting of neoplastic diseases. Proper classification and staging of cancer is essential for the physician to assign proper treatment, evaluate results of management and clinical trials, and to serve as the standard for local, regional and international reporting on cancer incidence and outcome. Significantly expanded and developed by international disease site expert panels, the Eighth Edition AJCC Cancer Staging Manual brings together all the currently available knowledge on staging of cancer at various anatomic sites. In this edition, evidence-based TNM staging is supplemented, as appropriate, by selected molecular markers and newly acquired insights into the molecular underpinnings of cancer. This edition features 12 entirely new staging systems, a wide range of changed or new staging definitions, and a refined emphasis on a personalized-medicine approach. To enhance the print and electronic usability of the cancer staging forms, they are now available exclusively for access and downloading at www.cancerstaging.org. The Eighth Edition AJCC Cancer Staging Manual remains the gold standard reference for oncologists, surgeons, pathologists, radiologists, cancer registrars and medical professionals world-wide to ensure that all those caring for cancer patients are fully versed in the language of cancer staging.
DeVita, Hellman, and Rosenberg's Cancer by
The standard-setting text in oncology for 40 years, DeVita, Hellman and Rosenberg's Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology, 12th Edition, provides authoritative guidance and strategies for managing every type of cancer by stage and presentation. Drs. Vincent T. DeVita, Jr., Theodore S. Lawrence, and Steven A. Rosenberg oversee an outstanding team of expert contributing authors who keep you up to date and fully informed in this fast-changing field. This award-winning reference is also continually updated on Health Library and VitalSource platforms for the life of the edition. Integrates basic science into individual cancer chapters for more efficient reference Features quarterly updates that include late-breaking developments in oncology such as new drugs and clinical trials, as well as new case studies and interactive algorithms Offers balanced, multidisciplinary advice from a surgeon, a medical oncologist, and a radiation oncologist Provides updated content on immunotherapy and genetics throughout Includes important related topics such as cancer screening and prevention, palliative care, supportive oncology, and quality of life issues Now available in a convenient single volume, or a seven-multivolume option for portability and ease of use Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Holland-Frei Cancer Medicine by
Holland-Frei Cancer Medicine, Ninth Edition, offers a balanced view of the most current knowledge of cancer science and clinical oncology practice. This all-new edition is the consummate reference source for medical oncologists, radiation oncologists, internists, surgical oncologists, and others who treat cancer patients. A translational perspective throughout, integrating cancer biology with cancer management providing an in depth understanding of the disease An emphasis on multidisciplinary, research-driven patient care to improve outcomes and optimal use of all appropriate therapies Cutting-edge coverage of personalized cancer care, including molecular diagnostics and therapeutics Concise, readable, clinically relevant text with algorithms, guidelines and insight into the use of both conventional and novel drugs Includes free access to the Wiley Digital Edition providing search across the book, the full reference list with web links, illustrations and photographs, and post-publication updates
For more Hematology / Oncology resources, search BOTH links below:
| Find Journals and E-Books |
| Library Catalog |
The American Cancer Society's Oncology in Practice by
Developed by the American Cancer Society this new textbook designed for a wide range of learners and practitioners comprehensively addresses all aspects of clinical management for cancer taking a balanced, authoritative and, -where possible- evidence-based stance and may be used in conjunction with the book, The American Cancer Society's Principles of Oncology: Prevention to Survivorship. Edited by leading clinicians in the field and a stellar contributor list from the US and Europe, this book is written in an easy to understand style by multidisciplinary teams of medical oncologists, radiation oncologists and other specialists, reflecting day-to-day decision-making and clinical practice. Input from pathologists, surgeons, radiologists, and other specialists is included wherever relevant and comprehensive treatment guidelines are provided by expert contributors where there is no standard recognized treatment. This book is an ideal resource for anyone seeking a practical understanding of the field of oncology.
The Bethesda Handbook of Clinical Oncology by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Offering up-to-date, authoritative information in a quick-reference format, The Bethesda Handbook of Clinical Oncology, Sixth Edition, is a comprehensive yet concise review of the management of different cancer types. Drs. Jame Abraham, James L. Gulley, and a team of expert contributors emphasize practical information that can be applied in everyday patient care situations, and thoroughly revised content keeps you current with advances in this fast-changing field. Provides practical guidance on evaluation, diagnosis, and treatment of patients with cancer from experts and scholars at the National Cancer Institute, National Institutes of Health, Cleveland Clinic, and other renowned institutions. Covers a range of solid-tumor, blood, and other cancers, as well as immunotherapeutic drugs, infection management, nutrition, and palliative care. Contains new and revised content on immunotherapy, precision medicine, genetics, individual cancer therapies, and more. Helps you find what you need quickly with concise, clear content and numerous tables, algorithms, and figures throughout. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s),such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook,powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Berek and Hacker's Gynecologic Oncology, 7th ed. by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Evidence-based, superbly illustrated, and easy to read, Berek & Hacker's Gynecologic Oncology, Seventh Edition, remains your reference of choice for authoritative information on every aspect of gynecologic malignancies. Templated chapters provide quick access to guidance on everything from general principles through diagnosis and medical and surgical management. This fully revised edition offers the practical, state-of-the-art coverage you need when caring for women with preinvasive disease; ovarian, breast, uterine, cervical, vulvar, and vaginal cancers; and gestational trophoblastic disease. All chapters have been carefully updated to reflect the most current literature and practice recommendations. Presents summaries on signs and symptoms, staging, treatment, relevant basic science, genetics, and molecular issues. Key topics include preoperative care, laparoscopy, robotics, nutritional therapy, cancer in pregnancy, surgical techniques, symptom relief, and palliative care. Includes new chapters on genetics; cancer cell biology; and biologic, targeted, and immune therapies, as well as completely rewritten chapters on chemotherapy and communication skills. Features a new, visually appealing two-column design similar to Berek & Novak's Gynecology, 16th Edition. Helps you visualize key concepts with full-color illustrations and drawings, pathology slides, and clinically relevant diagrams. Presents the knowledge and expertise of global leaders in gynecologic oncology, keeping you at the forefront of your field and preparing you for board exams. Clearly translates basic science to clinical practice, making it an excellent everyday resource for gynecologic oncologists and fellows, general gynecologists, and medical and radiation oncologists.
Biomarkers in Cancer Screening and Early Detection by
Prepared by world leaders on this topic, Biomarkers in Cancer Screening and Early Detection offers a comprehensive, state-of-the-art perspective on the various research and clinical aspects of cancer biomarkers, from their discovery and development to their validation, clinical utility, and use in developing personalized cancer treatment. Offers a comprehensive, state-of-the-art perspective on the various research and clinical aspects of cancer biomarkers Provides immediately actionable information and hopefully also inspiration to move discovery and clinical application forward Offers vital knowledge to help develop personalized cancer treatment for individual patients with specific cancers
Brainstem Tumors by
This illuminating and comprehensive work offers readers a thorough and detailed perspective of brainstem surgery as well as state-of-the-art discussion on the diagnosis and management of related pathologies. Hailing from around the globe and currently practicing in various countries in Asia, Europe, and North America, the expert authors of this work represent a wide range of disciplines and experiences, providing a comprehensive, interdisciplinary overview of brainstem surgery. Indeed, brainstem pathologies remain the most challenging to manage surgically due to the high eloquence and the deep and hidden location of the brainstem, turning surgical treatment of brainstem pathologies into one of the most complex and demanding fields in neurosurgery. This vital book guides readers through this very complex anatomical territory in which any pathology leads to grave consequences. Taking readers through the depth of the complex architecture of the brainstem in the clinical context, and emphasizing the evidence-based treatment of different brainstem pathologies while also reviewing what the future holds for the management of these pathologies, the book presents a review of state-of-the-art preoperative assessment modalities and surgical. The book covers brainstem-related pathologies from infancy to adulthood, and the text is enriched with diagnostic and surgical images that cover almost all types of brainstem lesions. The book is written in a way that neurosurgery specialists and fellows will feel comfortable navigating throughout its contents, and the enthusiastic neurosurgery resident will find this book to be a valuable guide. A major contribution to the clinical literature, Brainstem Tumors: Diagnosis and Management will also serve as a reference for anyone involved in the treatment of patients suffering from brainstem pathologies, including medical team members such as adult and pediatric neurosurgeons, neurologists, neurooncologists, residents and fellows, clinical neuropsychologists, electrophysiologists, neuroradiologists, and medical students who have a passion to learn about the assessment and surgical management of patients with brainstem diseases.
Cancer and Its Management by
Now in its seventh edition, this highly-regarded book is designed as an introductory and reference text on the principles of diagnosis, staging, and treatment of tumors. As for the last 6 editions of the book, the aim and scope of the new edition are once again to provide a thorough yet reasonably brief account of the whole field of oncology, focusing on the latest principles of cancer management. The book is already well established, having been first published in 1986 and in continuous print since then. The authors are rightfully proud of their strong legacy of providing carefully revised new editions of this standard and well-received cancer text for audiences in the UK and abroad. Oncology is a very rapidly changing speciality, with many new treatments and even treatment modalities coming on stream with bewildering speed. Besides a thorough general updating of the text, figures, and tables, the new seventh edition adds a new chapter on Molecular Targeted Therapy, making the book 30 chapters in total. This accessible and practical resource is invaluable to trainees and specialists alike in oncology, palliative care and general medicine, as well as specialist nurses, general practitioners, medical students, and professions allied to medicine.
Cancer Prevention and Screening by
Cancer Prevention and Screening offers physicians and all clinical healthcare professionals a comprehensive, useful source of the latest information on cancer screening and prevention with both a global and a multidisciplinary perspective. Includes background information on epidemiology, cancer prevention, and cancer screening, for quick reference Offers the latest information for clinical application of the most recent techniques in prevention and screening of all major and many lesser cancer types Emphasises the importance of multidisciplinary teamwork in cancer screening Highlights frequent dilemmas and difficulties encountered during cancer screening Provides clear-cut clinical strategies for optimal patient education, communication, and compliance with cancer prevention techniques
Clinical Manual of Blood and Bone Marrow Transplantation by
Providing the practicing and trainee hematologist with a practical and immediately applicable compendium of answers the Clinical Manual of Blood and Bone Marrow Transplantation covers the spectrum of the hematopoietic cell transplant specialty, in particular practical issues in transplant patient care, and the set up and functioning of a transplant program. Supplies the practicing and trainee hematologist with a practical and immediately applicable compendium of answers to clinical questions Covers the spectrum of the hematopoietic cell transplant specialty, in particular practical issues in transplant patient care, and the set up and functioning of a transplant program Contains concise chapters written with a focus on tables, algorithms and figures to aid rapid referral Benefits from expert contributions from an international authorship
Glioblastoma by
Clinically focused and designed to provide a to-the-point overview, Glioblastoma, by Drs. Steven Brem and Kalil G. Abdullah, brings you up to date with increased understanding, new treatment protocols, and recent advances in the field. Written by contributing specialists who are global experts in their respective areas, this one-stop reference provides neurosurgeons, medical-and-radiation oncologists, neuro-oncologists, neuropathologists, internal medicine physicians, and researchers with a dependable source of information on current treatment options, tumor recurrence, and patient care. Evidence for current treatment options for de novo and recurrent glioblastoma, indications for local and topical therapies, immunotherapy, gene therapy, nanotherapy, small-molecule inhibition, electric tumor treating field stimulation, and antiangiogenic therapies and the role of Avastin. Recent advances relating to tumor resection, such as stereotactic laser ablation, diffusion tensor imaging, and fluorescent markers. Prognostic molecular and genetic markers and the impact of gene mutations on survival, as well as controversies relating to pseudo-progression. Lessons learned from unsuccessful interventions, as well as the most promising aspects of future glioblastoma research and treatment. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Hematology : basic principles and practice, 8th ed. by
Extensively revised, comprehensive content from leading global contributors ensures that Hematology, 8th Edition, remains your #1 choice for expert guidance in all areas of this rapidly advancing subspecialty. This edition reflects the numerous advances that are redefining the field and dramatically influencing new approaches to diagnosis, treatment, and outcomes. Well-illustrated and clinically focused, it details the basic science and clinical practice of hematology and hematopoietic cellular therapy-covering virtually all aspects of hematology in one definitive resource. Covers all hematologic disorders, including comprehensive discussions of hematologic malignancies, individualized patient care, cell-based therapies, transplantation, transfusion medicine, hemostasis, thrombosis, and consultative hematology-in one convenient volume. Provides state-of-the-art guidance from global experts at the forefront of the latest research and clinical practice. Provides extensive updates throughout on basic science research, advances in molecular diagnostics, new drugs, immunotherapies, personalized medicine, laboratory medicine, transfusion medicine, stem cell transplantation, and clinical treatment for all hematologic malignancies and non-malignancies Contains new chapters on gene editing; the impact of mitochondria on hematopoiesis; myelodysplastic syndrome/myeloproliferative neoplasm overlap syndromes; immunotherapy and management of its toxicities; transfusion medicine in sickle cell disease; principles of radiation therapy; and COVID-19, including complications of vaccination and its impact on the hematologic system. Discusses many new advances in the field, including details and the future of gene therapy for hemophilia, gene editing for sickle cell disease and thalassemia, the evolution of cellular therapy, use of cells, transfusion medicine vs. protein therapy, gene sequencing, immunotherapy, and new targeted drugs. Includes more decision-making algorithms for formulating diagnoses and personalized treatment plans for those highly complex disorders that require individualized approaches. Addresses the effects of aging on hematopoiesis and on the manifestations of a variety of hematologic disorders. Discusses cardio-oncology and its impact on the treatment of patients with hematologic disorders. Presents relevant basic science as background for clinical application in later sections. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
Hodgkin Lymphoma by
This book, now in its third edition, examines the current treatment options for first-line, relapsed, and refractory Hodgkin lymphoma and the appropriate management in special clinical circumstances, including in the elderly, pregnant women, and those with nodular lymphocyte-predominant disease (NLPHL). Careful attention is devoted to the emerging individually tailored treatment strategies, including checkpoint inhibition, that are especially appealing given their potential to reduce early and late treatment side effects in this generally young patient population. In addition, clear guidance is provided on the management of Hodgkin survivors. Other topics addressed include epidemiology, pathogenesis, the role of the microenvironment, initial clinical evaluation, imaging diagnosis, use of staging systems, and prognostic factors. The new edition of Hodgkin Lymphoma: A Comprehensive Overview has been revised and updated by key opinion leaders to reflect recent progress in the field. It will be of great value to hematologists, oncologists, and all others with an interest in Hodgkin lymphoma.
Management of Hereditary Colorectal Cancer by
This book provides a comprehensive review of the clinical management of hereditary colorectal cancer. The text focuses on six distinct patient groups: patients with early age-of-onset colorectal cancer and adenomas, patients with hamartomatous colorectal polyps, patients afflicted with familial adenomatous polyposis (FAP), patients with attenuated familial adenomatous polyposis (AFAP), patients with MYH associated polyposis (MAP), and patients afflicted with lynch syndrome (LS). Each chapter illustrates how clinicians utilize current technologies in genetic testing, pathological review, and endoscopic, surgical, and chemotherapeutic/immunotherapeutic approaches to manage these patient groups. Topics such as the timing of genetic testing, endoscopic screening and surveillance, prophylactic surgical options and chemo-preventive interventions are also discussed in concise yet precise detail. Written by experts in their fields. Management of Hereditary Colorectal Cancer: A Multidisciplinary Approach is a valuable and timely resource for gastroenterologists, surgeons, genetic counselors, medical oncologists, psychologists, and any health caregivers involved with the management of patients and families afflicted with a hereditary form of colorectal cancer.
Manual of Clinical Oncology by
Concise, portable, and packed with essential information, Manual of Clinical Oncology is an indispensable resource for understanding basic science, clinical findings, and available technology as they relate to the diagnosis and management patients with cancer. The practical format provides high-yield content useful for participating in rounds ad making diagnostic and therapeutic decisions at the bedside. Edited by Dr. Bartosz Chmielowski and Dr. Mary Territo, both from UCLA School of Medicine, this eighth edition carries on the tradition of excellence set forth by longtime editor Dr. Dennis Casciato. Key Features: Incorporates recent major achievements in immunotherapies, biologics, and targeted therapies. Features new chapters on the biology of cancer, immunotherapy, and cancer survivorship. Contains numerous diagnostic and treatment algorithms, as well as content on complications, for assistance with clinical decision making. Includes helpful appendices such as a glossary of cytogenetic nomenclature and combination chemotherapy regimens. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
Manual of Vascular Medicine by
This practical manual makes clinical vascular medicine easy for the health care provider to master by providing frameworks for each area of diagnosis and a practical approach to necessary testing. Rather than providing long lists of possible diagnoses for a clinical question, each approach is broken down into a flow chart of the thinking and questions necessary so that only those needed in each situation are utilized. Chapters cover a broad range of topics including arterial and venous testing in the laboratory, thrombophilia, cold disorders of the extremities and lymphatic diseases. Manual of Vascular Medicine provides extensive case-based learning for trainees and practicing physicians looking to expand their knowledge in this field that crosses many traditional disciplines. It is therefore of importance to any medical professional managing vascular patients, including cardiovascular and vascular physicians, nephrologists, neurologists, phlebologists, dermatologists, general medical doctors and vascular radiologists.
The MD Anderson Manual of Medical Oncology, Fourth Edition by
Expert, hands-on guidance for the practicing oncologist--from the leader in the field of cancer management--completely updated to reflect the latest advances Comprehensive and authoritative, The MD Anderson Manual of Medical Oncology delivers everything you need to accurately diagnose and effectively treat a wide range of cancers--including leukemia, lymphoma, myeloma, lung and breast cancer, genitourinary carcinoma, melanoma, and sarcoma. This unmatched resource emphasizes practical, actionable steps to cancer treatment, providing "to the point" recommendations, chapter summary boxes, tables, charts, expert opinion and patient education boxes, practice tips, cases, and prescriptive advice. The new format of this updated edition quickly guides you to the topic, the affiliated relevant chapter, new findings affecting clinical practice, and reference/evidence. This fourth edition features: NEW Q&A, cases, patient education information, and expert advice Expanded coverage of immunotherapy treatment--written by the 2018 Nobel Prize-winner for immunology Access to continually updated online content A comparative table with guidelines from the European Society of Medical Oncology and the American Society of Clinical Oncology An emphasis on recent developments in precision medicine and immunotherapies Plus important NEW chapters on: Cord blood transplant Haploidentical cell transplantation Cellular therapy in allogeneic hematopoietic cell transplantation Pediatric cancers Molecular biomarkers and cancer Immune-oncology Targeted therapies in cancer Applied biostatistics Oncocardiology Pulmonary complications of cancer associated thrombosis
The Molecular Basis of Cancer, Fourth ed. by
The Molecular Basis of Cancer arms you with the latest knowledge and cutting-edge advances in the battle against cancer. This thoroughly revised, comprehensive oncology reference explores the scientific basis for our current understanding of malignant transformation and the pathogenesis and treatment of this disease. A team of leading experts thoroughly explains the molecular biologic principles that underlie the diagnostic tests and therapeutic interventions now being used in clinical trials and practice. Detailed descriptions of topics from molecular abnormalities in common cancers to new approaches for cancer therapy equip you to understand and apply the complexities of ongoing research in everyday clinical application. Effectively determine the course of malignancy and design appropriate treatment protocols by understanding the scientific underpinnings of cancer. Visually grasp and retain difficult concepts easily thanks to a user-friendly format with abundant full-color figures. Find critical information quickly with chapters following a logical sequence that moves from pathogenesis to therapy. Stay current with the latest discoveries in molecular and genomic research. Sweeping revisions throughout include eight brand-new chapters on: Tumor Suppressor Genes; Inflammation and Cancer; Cancer Systems Biology: The Future; Biomarkers Assessing Risk of Cancer; Understanding and Using Information About Cancer Genomes; The Technology of Analyzing Nucleic Acids in Cancer; Molecular Abnormalities in Kidney Cancer; and Molecular Pathology. Access the entire text and illustrations online, fully searchable, at Expert Consult.
Mount Sinai Expert Guides: Oncology by
The Mount Sinai Expert Guides provide quick access to point-of-care specialist clinical information for physicians across a range of therapeutic areas. For each specialty area, the guides emphasize: * Common pitfalls in diagnosis and management * How to prevent complications * Diagnostic and treatment algorithms * Key scientific trials * Evidence-based clinical content * Major society guidelines in order to summarize the very latest in diagnosis and management of diseases and related symptoms. Edited by renowned specialists from the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, key faculty members provide the content for all chapters. To ensure consistency within each book and the series as a whole, chapters follow a unified structure throughout. Bonus features such as online case studies with related questions for self-assessment, key patient advice, and ICD codes are provided via the series companion website. Each guide also has its own mobile app available for purchase, allowing you rapid access to the key features wherever you may be.
Rosai and Ackerman's Surgical Pathology - 2 Volume Set by
For over 60 years, residents and practicing pathologists have turned to Rosai and Ackerman's Surgical Pathology?for definitive guidance on every aspect of the field, delivered in a readable, easy-to-digest, and engaging manner. In the two-volume 11th Edition, a dynamic new author team ensures that this classic text retains its signature anecdotal style, while revising the content to bring you fully up to date. Widely used for board exam preparation, as well as for everyday reference in practice, this leading resource equips you to effectively and efficiently diagnose the complete range of neoplastic and non-neoplastic entities. Provides comprehensive coverage of the clinical presentation, gross and microscopic features, ultrastructural and immunohistochemical findings, prognosis, and therapy for virtually every pathologic lesion. Presents content now grouped in sections corresponding to organs and systems, making disease entities easier to locate. Includes state-of-the-art coverage of the latest disease classifications, molecular biology and pathology, immunohistochemistry, genetics, prognostic/predictive markers, and more - all highlighted by more than 3,000 full-color illustrations of commonly seen pathologies. Showcases the knowledge and expertise of an innovative new author team: prolific author John R. Goldblum, MD (GI pathology, soft tissue tumors); Laura Lamps, MD (hepatobiliary, endocrine tumors, infectious disease); Jesse McKenney, MD (GU/GYN, soft tissue tumors); and Jeff Myers, MD (pulmonary, pleural, mediastinum); accompanied by a select list of subspecialty contributors. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Schottenfeld and Fraumeni Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention by
Since its initial publication in 1982, CANCER EPIDEMIOLOGY AND PREVENTION has served as the premier reference work for students and professionals working to understand the causes and prevention of cancer in humans. Now revised for the first time in more than a decade, this fourth edition provides a comprehensive summary of the global patterns of cancer incidence and mortality, current understanding of the major causal determinants, and a rationale for preventive interventions. Special attention is paid tomolecular epidemiologic approaches that address the wider role of genetic predisposition and gene-environment interactions in cancer etiology and pathogenesis. New and timely chapters on environmental and social-epidemiologic factors include: * The role of social class disparities* The role of obesity and physical inactivity* The potential effects of electromagnetic fields and radiofrequency radiation* The principles of cancer chemopreventionFor both seasoned professionals and newer generations of students and researchers, this fourth edition of CANCER EPIDEMIOLOGY AND PREVENTION remains the authority in the field - a work of distinction that every lab, library, student, professional, or researcher should have close at hand.
Textbook of Uncommon Cancer, Fifth ed. by
The fifth edition of the only comprehensive text dealing exclusively with rare or infrequently encountered malignancies in adults and children is an essential resource for any clinical oncologist. Encompasses all the information needed to diagnose and manage uncommon cancers, an area where advice and guidance is typically scarce Fully revised with new material and an evidence-based, teach-by-example approach Provides insight on real-world decision making in the clinical setting Edited and authored by a highly experienced and senior team of medical oncologists, radiation oncologists, and other specialists, giving a balanced and complete overview Extensively illustrated in full color throughout, including heat maps to show gene expression
Transfusion Medicine and Hemostasis by
Transfusion Medicine and Hemostasis: Clinical and Laboratory Aspects, Third Edition, is the only pocket-sized, quick reference for pathology and transfusion medicine residents and fellows. It covers all topics in transfusion medicine and clinical and laboratory-based coagulation. Chapters are organized by multiple hierarchical headings and are supplemented with up to 10 suggested reading citations. This single handbook covers all the topics required to meet the goals of a major program in transfusion medicine and clinical coagulation. Changes to this edition include the latest AABB standards and new chapters focused on a wider range of specific populations requiring blood and related products. Coverage includes essential updates on peripheral blood and bone marrow hematopoietic progenitor cells, as well as cord blood banking and regenerative medicine. The authors also examine advances in therapeutic apheresis and new cellular therapies.
Williams Hematology, 10th Edition by
The landmark text that has guided generations of hematologists and related practitioners--updated with the latest research findings and improved format and presentation Long revered for its comprehensiveness and extraordinary depth of detail, Williams Hematology delivers virtually every answer you're looking for, provides clear and thorough rationales for each one, and contains a wealth of basic science and translational pathophysiology for optimal, lifelong learning. The cream of the crop of research and clinical hematology, the editors--three of whom are former Presidents of the American Society of Hematology--are known worldwide for their contributions to the field. This new edition contains everything that has made Williams the go-to resource for decades and has been updated with critical new research into the molecular mechanisms responsible for hematological disorders and the impact on diagnosis and treatment.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
Tumor Board Review by
Praise for the First Edition As everyone in oncology fellowship training knows, there is a huge information gap in this field. Most oncology books are massive and loaded with information by the time the book is published it is outdated. Tumor Board Review is fresh and just out of the oven. I haven't seen any book in oncology like this so far. I think my investment in this book was wise and worth it. Humaid Al-Shamsi, MB(Hon), BMedSc, MRCP(UK), FRCP, FACP, Assistant Professor, The University of Texas, MD Anderson Cancer Center Culling the knowledge and expertise of respected oncology specialists, this is a concise yet comprehensive review of all areas of oncology practice for medical oncologists, radiation oncologists, and pathologists both students and practitioners. The second edition of Tumor Board Review has been thoroughly revised to encompass recent scientific advances in assessment and treatment, new clinical guidelines, and new FDA-approved drugs and indications. It also contains approximately 250 multiple-choice questions and answers to assist readers in testing their knowledge, especially those preparing for the MOC exam. The book features case presentations and evidence-based management discussions that clearly demonstrate how to apply new information in daily practice. In a consistent format, each chapter addresses epidemiology, risk factors, natural history, and pathology of each major organ-specific tumor type an abbreviated display of relevant staging and several tumor board style illustrative patient case studies. This is followed by an evidence-based case discussion, which reinforces current guidelines and explains the rationale for the diagnostic and therapeutic steps taken. Algorithms and decision-tree graphics further illuminate the decision process. New To The Second Edition of Tumor Board Review: Presents the most recent guidelines and management standards in user-friendly format Focuses on current indications, use of new drugs, and new treatment of side effects Includes new FDA-approved drugs and guidelines Offers approximately 250 multiple-choice questions and answers
