For more Heart & Vascular resources, search BOTH links below:
| Find Journals and E-Books |
| Library Catalog |
Braunwald's Heart Disease, 2 Vol Set, Twelfth ed. by
Current, comprehensive, and evidence-based, Braunwald's Heart Disease remains the most trusted reference in the field and the leading source of reliable cardiology information for practitioners and trainees worldwide. The fully updated 12th Edition continues the tradition of excellence with dependable, state-of-the-art coverage of new drugs, new guidelines, more powerful imaging modalities, and recent developments in precision medicine that continue to change and advance the practice of cardiovascular medicine. Written and edited by global experts in the field, this award-winning text is an unparalleled multimedia reference for every aspect of this complex and fast-changing area. Offers balanced, dependable content on rapidly changing clinical science, clinical and translational research, and evidence-based medicine. Includes 76 new contributing authors and 14 new chapters that cover Artificial intelligence in Cardiovascular Medicine; Wearables; Influenza, Pandemics, COVID-19, and Cardiovascular Disease; Tobacco and Nicotine Products in Cardiovascular Disease; Cardiac Amyloidosis; Impact of the Environment on Cardiovascular Health, and more. Features a new introductory chapter Cardiovascular Disease: Past, Present, and Future by Eugene Braunwald, MD, offering his unique, visionary approach to the field of cardiology. Dr. Braunwald also curates the extensive, bimonthly online updates that include "Hot Off the Press" (with links to Practice Update) and "Late-Breaking Clinical Trials". Provides cutting-edge coverage of key topics such as proteomics and metabolomics, TAVR, diabetocardiology, and cardio-oncology. Contains 1,850 high-quality illustrations, radiographic images, algorithms, and charts, and provides access to 215 videos called out with icons in the print version. Highlights the latest AHA, ACC, and ESC guidelines to clearly summarize diagnostic criteria and clinical implications. Provides tightly edited, focused content for quick, dependable reference. Flexible format options include either one or two volumes in print, as well as a searchable eBook with ongoing updates. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Cardiac Intensive Care by
Using a multidisciplinary, team-oriented approach, this unique title expertly covers all the latest approaches to the assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of patients with critical cardiac illness. Led by Dr David L. Brown, a stellar team of authoritative writers guides you through cardiac pathophysiology, disease states presenting in the CICU, and state-of-the-art advanced diagnosis and therapeutic techniques. A visually appealing format, new chapters, and thorough updates ensure that you stay on the cutting edge of this rapidly advancing field. Discusses recent changes in cardiac intensive care, including new care paradigms, new mechanical support modalities, and new therapies and interventions. Contains 11 new chapters: Palliative Care, Temporary Pacemaker Insertion, Pericardiocentesis, Distributive Shock, Electrical Storm, Cardiopulmonary Cerebral Resuscitation after Cardiac Arrest, Temporary Mechanical Circulatory Support Devices, Cardiorenal Syndrome, Fulminant Myocarditis, Stress-Induced Cardiomyopathy, Diagnosis and Treatment of Unstable Supraventricular Tachycardia. Online access features heart sounds and murmurs to accompany the chapter on history and physical examination, videos of clinical images and key procedures, frequently updated information on late-breaking clinical trials, reviews of new research publications, and more. Concisely yet thoroughly covers acute and severe heart failure, chronic pulmonary hypertension, life-threatening dysrhythmias, aortic dissection, and other cardiac conditions as they relate to intensive care. Explains drug therapy for key cardiac drugs, such as inotropes, vasodilators, anti-arrhythmics, diuretics, anticoagulants, and anti-platelets, and discusses important drug interactions. Ideal for all healthcare professionals involved in cardiac intensive care, including intensivists, cardiologists, cardiac surgeons, residents, fellows, cardiac nurses, respiratory therapists, physical therapists, and nutritionists. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices and contains an up to date collection of all relevant ACC/AHA and ESC guidelines.
Cardiology : an Integrated Approach by
An innovative, cardiology-specific text that blends basic science with the fundamentals of clinical medicine Cardiology: An Integrated Approach to Disease skillfully bridges the gap between the science and practice of medicine. This beautifully illustrated book seamlessly integrates the core elements of cell biology, anatomy, physiology, pharmacology, and pathology with clinical medicine. It is the perfect companion for medical students transitioning to their clinical years, as well as for practicing physicians who need a user-friendly update on the basic science underlying the practice of clinical medicine. * Full-color design includes approximately 340 images and 40 tables * Cases teach students how to apply principles to real-world patient situations * The latest developments in the field are incorporated throughout the text * End-of-chapter case-based questions with detailed explanations reinforce important concepts and assess understanding of the material
Cardiology Consult Manual by
This book comprehensively covers the latest advances in cardiovascular medicine. Key diagnostic and treatment points are reviewed across a range of cardiovascular issues, including concurrent cardiac problems, patients with cancer, peri-operative surgical and post-trauma patients, patients in the emergency department, pregnancy in the obstetric units, and the care of critically ill patients in medical and surgical intensive care units. Cardiology Consult Manual provides a detailed and clinically relevant guide for the cardiology practitioner of the potential cardiac issues encountered within the cardiology consult service and also a range of professionals in related disciplines. It therefore provides an important resource for all cardiology trainees, fellows, practitioners and health care providers involved in the management of patients with cardiovascular disease.
Catheter Ablation of Cardiac Arrhythmias by
From anatomy and diagnostic criteria through specific mapping and ablation techniques, Catheter Ablation of Cardiac Arrhythmias, 4th Edition, covers all you need to know in this fast-changing field. Ideal for practitioners who need a comprehensive, user-friendly ablation text for the electrophysiology lab or office setting, this authoritative reference offers quick access to practical content, using dynamic videos, detailed tables, and high-quality images to help you apply what you learn in your practice. Incorporates recent, exciting developments in the field, including new mapping, imaging, and catheter technologies and ablation techniques. Contains new chapters on Pulmonary Vein Isolation by a Cryoballoon Catheter; Substrate-Based Ablation for Ventricular Tachycardia; and Ablation of Genetically Triggered Ventricular Tachycardia/Fibrillation. Offers new and expanded coverage of difficult cases VT ablation, including VT storm and use of hemodynamic support during ablation; new techniques for ablation of persistent and long-lasting persistent atrial fibrillation; cryoballoon-based pulmonary vein isolation to treat atrial fibrillation; and more. Offers expert guidance on atrial tachycardia and flutter, atrial fibrillation, atrioventricular nodal reentrant tachycardia, tachycardias related to accessory atrioventricular connections, ventricular tachycardia, transseptal catheterization techniques, ablation for pediatric patients, and patient safety and complications. Helps you master each approach with exceptional visual guidance from nearly 300 new illustrations and figures, including many new ECGs, intracardiac recordings, as well as 3D mapping, ultrasound and fluoroscopic images. Includes numerous tables that provide quick access to key points, arrhythmia mechanisms, diagnostic criteria, target sites for ablation, use of special equipment, complications, and troubleshooting problems and their solutions. Provides access to 45 video clips (18 are new!) including newer techniques for transseptal access to the left atrium, expanded use of intracardiac ultrasound, techniques of pericardial access, and many more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Chronic Coronary Artery Disease by
Featuring expert guidance from Drs. James de Lemos and Torbj#65533;rn Omland, as well as other globally known leaders in cardiology, Chronic Coronary Artery Disease covers every aspect of managing and treating patients suffering from chronic coronary syndromes. This brand-new companion to Braunwald's Heart Disease was designed as a stand-alone reference for physicians treating patients who present with complex, unique challenges, offering the latest information on the use of imaging modalities in diagnosis and treatment, advances in interventional and surgical approaches to revascularization, new medications to improve symptoms and outcomes in chronic CAD, and much more. Relevant updates to the text are sourced regularly from the parent reference, Braunwald's Heart Disease and delivered on Expert Consult at no additional cost. These updates cover late-breaking clinical trials, reviews of important new articles, and the latest guidance on clinical practice, all selected and masterfully edited by Dr. Eugene Braunwald. Covers every aspect of evaluation and treatment of patients who suffer from chronic coronary syndromes. Provides both evidenced based recommendations from the most recent guidelines from the major cardiology societies: AHA, ACC, and ESC, as well as practical management tips from leading experts with extensive clinical experience. Highlights new developments concerning epidemiology and prevention, pathophysiology, and clinical findings, as well as laboratory testing, invasive and non-invasive testing, risk stratification, clinical decision-making, and prognosis and management of chronic coronary syndromes. Features information on today's hot topics, including the use of novel imaging modalities in diagnosis and treatment and emerging therapies to improve outcomes in chronic CAD. Relevant updates sourced from the parent Braunwald's Heart Disease text are available on Expert Consult. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Clinical arrhythmology and electrophysiology : a companion to Braunwald's heart disease by
"Clinical Arrhythmology and Electrophysiology: A Companion to Braunwald's Heart Disease provides today's clinicians with clear, authoritative guidance on every aspect of the latest diagnosis and management options for patients with arrhythmias. This comprehensive reference on cardiac arrhythmias lays a solid foundation of the underlying mechanisms of cardiac electrophysiology with an emphasis on identifying, understanding, and treating individual arrhythmias. Now fully updated from cover to cover, and carefully written to provide continuity and a consistent message throughout, the 4th Edition offers unparalleled coverage of cardiac arrhythmias in an accessible and user-friendly manner"-- Publisher's description.
Clinical Lipidology by
Part of the renowned Braunwald family of references, Clinical Lipidology: A Companion to Braunwald's Heart Disease provides today's clinicians with clear, authoritative guidance on the therapeutic management of patients with high cholesterol levels and other atherogenic lipid disorders. An invaluable resource for cardiologists, lipidologists, endocrinologists, and internal medicine physicians, this one-stop reference covers everything from basic science and the pathogenesis of atherothrombotic disease to risk assessment and the latest therapy options. Now fully updated from cover to cover, the 3rd Edition offers unparalleled coverage of lipidology in an accessible and user-friendly manner. Thoroughly covers the assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of patients with elevated levels of lipids and lipoproteins, including all the latest research-based recommendations, therapeutic breakthroughs, and related clinical advances. Presents the latest data on clinical guidelines, risk assessments, and established and emerging pharmacologic and nonpharmacologic therapies-all from internationally recognized experts in the field. Features condensed, streamlined content that focuses on clinical applications and applying concepts to the practice setting. Chapters have now been completely reorganized into sections on risk assessment; therapy; new and evolving therapeutic targets and platforms; and special populations. Includes new chapters on Polygenic Risk Scores; Inclisiran; Bempedoic Acid; Selective Peroxisome Proliferator-Activated Receptor-a Modulator: Pemafibrate; Evolving Therapeutic Targets: Lp(a), ANGPTL3, and ApoC-III; New Therapeutic Platforms: Gene Therapy and Genome Editing; and more. Contains new or expanded content on inflammation; genetic testing; troponins for risk assessment; statins and role of bile acid sequestrants, niacin, and fibrates; mAbs; CANTOS and CIRT; colchicine; IL-6; and cellular, molecular, and genetic therapy. Provides treatment algorithms throughout, as well as case vignettes that highlight the most common clinical questions in each chapter. Incorporates the latest guidelines from the AHA, ACC, ESC, and EAS, as well as future directions for ongoing research and emerging applications. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Consultative Hemostasis and Thrombosis by
With authoritative coverage of rare and common hemostatic disorders, Consultative Hemostasis and Thrombosis, 4th Edition, keeps you both up to date with all that's new in this fast-moving field as well as reviewing background and development and citing pertinent classical literature. Broad differential diagnoses are provided, underscoring the editors' position that correct treatment begins with correct diagnosis. This trusted resource by Drs. Craig S. Kitchens, Craig M. Kessler, Barbara A. Konkle, Michael B. Streiff, and David A. Garcia is designed for rapid reference and critical decision making at the point of care. Emphasizes real-world problems and solutions, with quick access to concise descriptions of each condition, associated symptoms, laboratory findings, differential diagnosis, and treatment. Features a user-friendly design, full-color format, abundant laboratory protocols, and at-a-glance tables and charts throughout. Provides thorough updates on core information on hemostasis and thrombosis, including deep venous thrombosis (DVT), pulmonary embolisms, hypercoagulability, thrombocytopenia, von Willenbrand disease, and more. Covers new treatment information on hemophilia A and B. Contains new chapters on hereditary hemorrhagic telangiectasia, hemolytic uremic syndrome, and paroxymal nocturnal hemoglobinuria. Two new editors, Dr. Michael B. Streiff and Dr. David A. Garcia, offer fresh perspectives and valuable experience. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Current Diagnosis & Treatment Cardiology, Sixth Edition by
A concise, authoritative compilation of the essential information needed to diagnose and manage cardiovascular disease Current Diagnosis and Treatment Cardiology, Sixth Edition, covers the latest developments in the field with detailed, consistently structured chapters with sharp clinical images that aid comprehension. Presented in the popular LANGE format, each chapter discusses diagnostic techniques, prevention strategies, treatment, and prognosis. The detailed, uniform structure, and 200+ sharp clinical images, including ECGs, drawings, graphs, and charts aid reader comprehension. This sixth edition has been thoroughly updated to reflect revised guidelines and treatments. NEW content: Cardiac Conduction Disorders and Pacing and Tricuspid and Pulmonic Valve Disease NEW chapters: Cardio-Oncology and Dilated Cardiomyopathy Major revision of Myocarditis chapter covers Covid-19 Essential for board review: Cardiovascular disease is largest part of ABIM internal medicine certification exam NEW devices: Cardiac Conduction Disorders and Pacing and Tricuspid and Pulmonic Valve Disease Medication news: Endocrinology and the Heart, Heart Failure with Reduced Ejection Fraction Percutaneous repair and techniques: Aortic Stenosis, Mitral Regurgitation, and Thoracic Aortic Aneurysms and Dissections, and more
Endovascular Interventions by
A practical resource covering both elective and emergency procedures for the practicing vascular and endovascular clinician This book provides medical professionals (vascular surgeons, interventional cardiologists, interventional radiologists, endovascular neurologists, vascular medicine specialists) with a reference guide to the most common and accepted approach to endovascular management of peripheral vascular disease. It also addresses urgent interventions in the acute setting of the various vascular beds, and covers emerging areas such as stroke intervention and endovascular treatment of pulmonary embolism and vascular trauma. Edited by a multidisciplinary team, Endovascular Interventions offers in-depth coverage of the field in seven parts: Overview; Supra-Aortic Intervention in High Risk Patients: Innominate, Subclavian, Carotid, Vertebral and Intracranial Interventions; Interventions of the Aorta; Renal and Mesenteric Interventions; Lower Extremity Interventions; Venous Disease; and Vascular Trauma. Each section covers the technical aspects of the procedures as well as the fundamental clinical aspects which are necessary in the evaluation of patients considered for interventions. Chapters feature illustrations, case studies, key learning points, equipment lists, and sample questions and answers which can be used for Board exam practice. Practical review of vascular and endovascular medicine covering both elective and emergency procedures Illustrated, templated chapters provide rapid answers to questions and include case studies, key learning points, and equipment lists Includes sample questions and answers that are handy for Board exam practice Edited by multidisciplinary experts Endovascular Interventions is an excellent review book for all practicing and aspiring vascular and endovascular specialists.
Genomic and Precision Medicine. Cardiovascular Disease by
Genomic and Precision Medicine: Cardiovascular Disease, Third Edition, focuses on the applications of genome discovery on the broad spectrum of cardiovascular disorders. Each chapter is organized for the application of genomics and personalized medicine tools and technologies to a) Risk Assessment and Susceptibility, b) Diagnosis and Prognosis, c) Pharmacogenomics and Precision Therapeutics, and d) Emerging and Future Opportunities in the field. Presents a comprehensive volume written and edited by cardiovascular genomic specialists Covers succinct commentary and key learning points that will assist providers with their local needs for the implementation of genomic and personalized medicine into practice Provides an overview on major opportunities for genomic and personalized medicine in practice Includes case studies that highlight the practical use of genomics in the management of patients
Grossman & Baim's Cardiac Catheterization, Angiography, and iItervention, 9th ed. by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! The leading comprehensive reference on cardiac catheterization through eight outstanding editions, Grossman & Baim's Cardiac Catheterization, Angiography, and Intervention, Ninth Edition, continues to keep you up to date with every facet of this fast-changing field. Designed for quick access and easy reference, this text offers expert overviews of the theoretical and practical aspects of clinical issues, with emphasis given to hemodynamic data and tracings and interventional procedures. An impressive multimedia library with new videos and cases make this reference even more valuable for cardiologists and interventional cardiologists at all levels of experience. Features clear, succinct text highlighted by summary tables, graphs, illustrations, and real-life images that illustrate procedures, complications, and bailout methods. Includes new chapters on non-valvular interventions for structural heart disease; percutaneous therapies for aortic and pulmonic valvular heart disease; and percutaneous therapies for mitral and tricuspid valvular heart disease, and more.
Handbook of Venous Thromboembolism by
A clinically oriented handbook providing up-to-date recommendations for mastering the practical aspects of patient management for venous thromboembolism Venous thromboembolism (VTE) is associated with high morbidity and mortality both in and out of the hospital setting, and is one of the commonest reasons for hospital attendances and admissions. Designed as a practical resource, the Handbook of Venous Thromboembolism covers the practical aspects of venous thromboembolism management in short and easily followed algorithms and tables. This important text helps physicians keep up-to-date with the latest recommendations for treating venous thromboembolism in clinic-oriented settings. Experts in fields such as the radiological diagnosis of pulmonary embolism and thrombophilia testing, give a succinct summary of the investigation, diagnosis and treatment of venous thromboembolism and include evidence-based guidelines. With contributions from a team on internationally recognized experts, Handbook of Venous Thromboembolism is a source of information that specialists in the field can recommend to non-specialists and which the latter will be able to review to assist in their education and management of this wide-spread condition. This vital resource: Comprises of a clinically focused handbook, useful as a daily resource for the busy physician Offers a handbook written by an international team of specialists offering their experience on the practical aspects of venous thromboembolism management Addresses venous thrombosis prevention, a major focus for healthcare providers Includes coverage on controversies in the management of venous thromboembolism so clinicians can understand how experts are practicing in real scenarios Written for hematology trainees, emergency and acute medicine physicians, junior doctors, and primary care physicians, Handbook of Venous Thromboembolism covers the basics for treating patients with venous thromboembolism and offers guidelines from noted experts in the field.
Harrison's Cardiovascular Medicine 3/e by
Cardiovascular Medicine - with all the authority of Harrison's Featuring a superb compilation of chapters related to cardiovascular medicine derived from Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Nineteenth Edition (including content from the acclaimed Harrison's DVD, now available here in print), this concise, full-color clinical companion delivers the latest knowledge in the field backed by the scientific rigor and authority that have defined Harrison's. You will find 53 chapters from 58 renowned editors and contributors in a carry-anywhere presentation that is ideal for the classroom, clinic, ward, or exam/certification preparation. Features: * Current, complete coverage of essential cardiovascular medicine topics, including Diagnosis of Cardiovascular Disorders, Heart Rhythm Disturbances, Disorders of the Heart, and Disorders of the Vasculature * An important opening section "Introduction to Cardiovascular Disorders" provides a systems overview, beginning with the basic biology of the cardiovascular system, followed by epidemiology of cardiovascular systems, and approach to the patient * Integration of pathophysiology with clinical management * High-yield board review questions make this text ideal for keeping current and preparing for the boards * Helpful appendix of laboratory values of clinical importance
Heart Rhythm Disorders by
This engaging book covers a multitude of topics related to heart rhythm disorders (HRDs) and uniquely familiarizes readers with the development of treatment modalities over the past several decades, including the evolution of anti-arrhythmic drugs, pacemakers, defibrillators, and catheter ablation. Organized in ten sections, this title serves as both an archival and a contemporary resource for clinicians. The first section describes the discovery of the circulatory system by William Harvey in 1628 and outlines the development and understanding of HRD since the advent of intra-cardiac electrophysiology. Subsequent sections discuss the historical evolution of abnormal heart rhythms, such as supra and ventricular rhythms and sudden cardiac death, their treatment with drugs, surgery, pacemakers, implantable defibrillators and catheter ablation. Section nine offers a fascinating narration of the clinical evolution of overcoming heart attacks and its impact on HRDs. The final section explores potential new frontiers in HRD and the factors that may contribute to the prospective rise of cardiovascular diseases. A ground-breaking and invaluable addition to the clinical literature, Heart Rhythm Disorders: History, Mechanisms and Management Perspectives details the pervasive nature of cardiovascular diseases in human history, their ramifications, and their projected effects on at-risk demographic populations and human health in general.
Hemostasis and Thrombosis by
Hemostasis and Thrombosis as only Williams can cover it IN FULL COLOR! Featuring twenty-five clinically relevant chapters originally appearing in Williams Hematology, Ninth Edition - many carefully updated by the original authors to reflect the latest developments -- this concise, full-color resource delivers comprehensive and up-to-date coverage of hemostasis and thrombosis. The result of this unique compilation is a focused, timely resource that will be of particular value to advanced medical students who seeks a more detailed review of hematology than generally presented in second year medical school, medicine and pediatric residents, and hematology/oncology fellows faced with patients with bleeding and clotting disorders on a myriad of medications, and physicians of all levels of life-long learning who wish to remain current with anticoagulant and anti-platelet therapies.
Fuster and Hurst's the Heart, 15th Edition by
The landmark text that belongs in the hands of every cardiologist--fully updated and reorganized to make it more patient-centric than ever World-famous for its authority, currency, and clinical relevance, Fuster and Hurst's The Heart is cardiology's longest continuously published reference book. Written to meet the ever-changing needs of cardiologists, fellows, and interns, this trusted classic offers a solid foundation in cardiovascular medicine and complete coverage of all major cardiovascular topics. For this brand-new edition, cardiology legend Dr. Valentin Fuster and his editorial team have significantly enhanced this definitive guide to make it even more focused on the practicalities of patient care. Enhancements include: Content presented in a more methodical pattern, from mechanism to management Chapter summaries and infographics throughout Engaging visual/text features highlighting genetics, epidemiology and natural history, invasive and noninvasive diagnostics, treatment, clinical therapeutic challenges, and risk factors. ACC/AHA/ESC guidelines in all chapters
Interventional Cardiology by
The first - and best -- primer for the cardiovascular interventionalist - updated with more than twenty new chapters and all-new Q&A Filling a crucial gap in procedural knowledge, this groundbreaking reference was the first to focus on interventional cardiovascular procedures. Interventional Cardiology, Second Edition includes a completely updated section on procedures, as well as chapters on the necessary scientific foundation, to which specialists will refer every day in their clinical practice. In addition, each procedural chapter is enhanced by valuable tips and pitfalls from an internationally recognized group of experts. The comprehensive coverage of this groundbreaking resource is highly accessible, thanks to a well-organized full-color format that synthesizes important information and provides a consistent template in describing each procedure. Throughout the book, charts and tables help to summarize key concepts and can serve as the basis for a detailed overview. FEATURES: *NEW to this edition: Multiple-choice questions (with answers) at the end of most chapters *21 NEW CHAPTERS, including History of Interventional Cardiology, Publishing Interventional Cardiology Research, Web-Based Learning, Medical Simulation in Interventional Cardiology, Emerging Clinical Applications of Physiologic and Intravascular Imaging Tools, An Overview of MitraClip Procedure, Cell Therapy for Cardiovascular Disease, and more *Edited by some of the foremost experts in the field, and featuring contributions from key opinion leaders in interventional cardiology *Top-to-bottom coverage of the latest interventional cardiology techniques *Valuable perspectives on avoiding and properly managing complications *Up-to-date information on devices *Numerous high-quality full-color images and figures throughout *High-yield content makes it valuable for board review *More than 1,500 illustrations, including more than 600 full-color photographs.
Interventional Cardiology: principles and practice by
INTERVENTIONAL CARDIOLOGY The updated guide to understanding and implementing today's interventional cardiology procedures Minimally invasive methods of cardiovascular intervention are developing apace, propelled by unprecedented advancements in technology and procedural expertise. Bearing exciting implications for a broad range of adjacent fields of surgery and patient care, these innovative techniques are of ever-increasing importance, not only within cardiology, but across medicine as a whole. This third edition of Interventional Cardiology is designed to equip practitioners of all levels with a working knowledge of today's best and most up-to-date practices, as well as the fundamental principles that underlie their use. Expertly revised to span coronary interventions, interventional pharmacology, structural heart interventions, endovascular therapy, and more, its modular sections are accompanied by multiple-choice questions to help aid learning and self-assessment. The new edition of Interventional Cardiology features: A thorough survey of the field, including atherogenesis and inflammation, vascular access controversies, radiation protection concepts, acute and chronic interventional pharmacology recommendations for high risk subjects/procedures Evaluations with imaging and physiology, including physiologic assessment in the cardiac catheterization lab, intravascular ultrasound, and optical coherence tomography Discussions of revascularization in various clinical settings, including stable coronary heart disease, acute myocardial infarction, he management of cardiogenic shock, and hemodynamic support devices and techniques Examinations of coronary interventions in various lesion types, including complex lesions, left main, bifurcations, CTO Heart valve disease and relevant percutaneous interventions, including preop imaging and clinical evaluations and outcomes assessment in great depth and with technical details; left atrial interventions are an expanding frontier Peripheral vascular, carotid and aorta/branch diseases are covered in greater detail than previous editions; venous disease treatments have become well established Accompanied by a companion website featuring videos illustrating key procedures and interactive multiple choice questions Whether studying for certification or already working in advanced practice, medical professionals of all kinds will benefit greatly from the practical instruction and cutting-edge knowledge found within this vital third edition.
Kern's Cardiac Catheterization Handbook by
For portable, quick access to information needed at the point of care in today's cath lab, look no farther than Kern's Cardiac Catheterization Handbook, 7th Edition. This detailed, authoritative guide is ideal for cardiologists who need a quick clinical primer on cardiac catheterization, as well as for all members of the cardiac cath team. Highly readable and accessible, it helps you provide optimal patient care with reliable information on the latest diagnostic and treatment advances in this fast-paced field. Provides clear instructions on what to expect, what to avoid, and how to manage complications for every procedure you'll encounter - including coverage of new techniques and technologies that affect virtually all aspects of familiar procedures. Covers all the newest catheterization techniques for vascular closure and expansion of large-bore access procedures, including TAVR, ECMO, mitraclip, and TMVR. Features a new chapter on intracardiac echocardiography and intraprocedural imaging. Discusses key topics such as intra-procedural imaging, management of complications with algorithms that expedite the approach to these patients, adjunctive hemodynamic support, and maintaining quality in the laboratory. Incorporates an increased emphasis on indications and contraindications for procedures in the context of a multidisciplinary heart team approach. Includes numerous clear illustrations to enhance your understanding of the material, as well as videos of Dr. Kern demonstrating various procedures in the cath lab. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Manual of Cardiovascular Medicine by
An ideal reference for residents, fellows, practitioners, and nurse practitioners, Manual of Cardiovascular Medicine, 5th Edition is a concise, up-to-date overview of key topics in cardiology. Using a practical, outline format, this best-selling title presents evidence-based approaches to cardiovascular diagnosis, diseases, and treatment - perfect for daily practice or exam preparation. A new, larger format and content that is thoroughly up to date; organized by disease and treatment so you can find what you're looking for quickly. With a focus on guidelines and the evidence basis for cardiovascular disease management, coverage includes approaches to common clinical syndromes and investigations, including drug therapy. Updated content with the latest innovations in cardiovascular medicine- including percutaneous approaches to valve disease, device management of cardiogenic shock, and the heart in the athlete. Clear diagrams, high-quality ECGs, and helpful summary tables provide excellent visual reinforcement to the text. Authoritative perspectives from the experienced staff and fellows at the Cleveland Clinic provide practical guidance in performance of common cardiovascular procedures and integration of devices. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Manual of STEMI Interventions by
Benefit from this concise yet comprehensive manual, designed to improve the practice and process of STEMI interventions Understand the varied pharmacological options available in managing STEMI patients, including newer anti-coagulants; Improve your STEMI procedure technique through expert guidance, including stent choice, and other techniques such as trans radial procedures Provides an overview of STEMI networks internationally and how to set up a STEMI program Reviews future perspectives for STEMI and the role of telemedicine for STEMI procedures
Manual of Vascular Medicine by
This practical manual makes clinical vascular medicine easy for the health care provider to master by providing frameworks for each area of diagnosis and a practical approach to necessary testing. Rather than providing long lists of possible diagnoses for a clinical question, each approach is broken down into a flow chart of the thinking and questions necessary so that only those needed in each situation are utilized. Chapters cover a broad range of topics including arterial and venous testing in the laboratory, thrombophilia, cold disorders of the extremities and lymphatic diseases. Manual of Vascular Medicine provides extensive case-based learning for trainees and practicing physicians looking to expand their knowledge in this field that crosses many traditional disciplines. It is therefore of importance to any medical professional managing vascular patients, including cardiovascular and vascular physicians, nephrologists, neurologists, phlebologists, dermatologists, general medical doctors and vascular radiologists.
Netter's Cardiology by
Perfect for residents, generalists, anesthesiologists, emergency department physicians, medical students, nurses, and other healthcare professionals who need a practical, working knowledge of cardiology, Netter's Cardiology, 3rd Edition, provides a concise overview of cardiovascular disease highlighted by unique, memorable Netter illustrations. This superb visual resource showcases the well-known work of Frank H. Netter, MD, and his successor, Carlos Machado, MD, a cardiologist who has created clear, full-color illustrations in the Netter tradition. New features and all-new chapters keep you up to date with the latest information in the field. Includes 13 all-new chapters: Basic Anatomy and Embryology of the Heart, Stem Cell Therapies for Cardiovascular Disease, Diabetes and Cardiovascular Events, Clinical Presentation of Adults with Congenital Heart Disease, Transcatheter Aortic Valve Replacement, Deep Vein Thrombosis and Pulmonary Embolism, and more. Videos and 25 printable patient education brochures included in the enhanced eBook version Features new coverage of 3-D TEE imaging for structural heart procedures. Contains color-coded diagnostic and therapeutic algorithms and clinical pathways. Uses an easy-to-follow, templated format, covering etiology, pathogenesis, clinical presentation, diagnostic approach, and management/therapy for each topic. Offers dependable clinical advice from Drs. George A. Stouffer, Marschall S. Runge, Cam Patterson, and Joseph S. Rossi, as well as many world-renowned chapter contributors. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Practical Cardiovascular Medicine by
Providing a complete but succinct overview of the information cardiologists and cardiology trainees need to have at their fingertips, Practical Cardiovascular Medicine, Second Edition is an everyday primary guide to the specialty. Provides cardiologists with a thorough and up-to-date review of cardiology, from pathophysiology to practical, evidence-based management Ably synthesizes pathophysiology fundamentals and evidence-based approaches to prepare a physician for a subspecialty career in cardiology Clinical chapters cover coronary artery disease, heart failure, arrhythmias, valvular disorders, pericardial disorders, congenital heart disease, and peripheral arterial disease Practical chapters address ECG, coronary angiography, catheterization techniques, echocardiography, hemodynamics, and electrophysiological testing Includes over 730 figures, key notes boxes, references for further study, and coverage of clinical trials Review questions help clarify topics and can be used for Board preparation - over 650 questions in all The Second Edition has been comprehensively updated with the newest data and with both the American and European guidelines. More specifically, 20 clinical chapters have been rewritten and extensively revised. Procedural chapters have been enhanced with additional concepts and illustrations, particularly the hemodynamic and catheterization chapters. Clinical questions have been revamped, new questions have been added, including a new, 259-question section at the end of the book. Practical Cardiovascular Medicine, Second Edition is an ideal reference for the resident, fellow, cardiologist, and any professional treating patients with cardiovascular disease.
Rich's Vascular Trauma, Fourth ed. by
For more than 40 years, Rich's Vascular Trauma has been surgeons' #1 reference for the diagnosis and treatment of vascular injury in both civilian and military settings across the globe. The fully updated 4th Edition reflects recent changes in vascular injury patterns, wounds, and trauma care, drawing from current research and a wide variety of peer-reviewed publications to keep you up to date with the latest evidence-based management strategies and techniques. Written and edited by vascular surgeons who are also trauma specialists-civilian and military experts who have proficiency in both open-surgical and endovascular techniques-this must-have reference offers a global perspective on every aspect of the broad spectrum of vascular trauma. Covers all vascular surgery procedures required to stop hemorrhage and restore perfusion in vessels in the limbs, junctional areas, torso and neck, including damage control techniques such as shunting, and endovascular techniques such as REBOA and stenting. Addresses pre-hospital, emergency department, surgical, and endovascular stages of treatment in developed, austere and deployed settings, including a rich section on vascular trauma in multiple international settings that provides important context for the global surgical community. Includes nine new chapters covering prehospital management, endovascular suites, stent-grafts, selective aortic arch perfusion, extracorporeal systems and gathering evidence in vascular trauma, and more. Presents surgical techniques in step-by-step, highly illustrated detail, as well as high level, strategic decision-making such as the logistics of setting up an endovascular trauma service. Includes a new, rapidly digestible "Tips and Tricks" section summarizing how to execute essential vascular maneuvers and management steps to ensure that patients get the best outcomes. Emphasizes the current management of civilian vascular injuries while drawing upon the best available evidence, experience, and lessons learned from Afghanistan, Iraq, and the "urban battlefield." Contains an innovative chapter on the systems approach and quality improvement in vascular trauma, offering information and tactics for all providers wishing to understand how clinical systems underpin patient outcome and recovery. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Sclerotherapy by
Both in print and online, this classic resource by Drs. Mitchel P. Goldman, Robert A Weiss, and Jean-Jerome Guex provides highly practical, up-to-date guidance for the effective management of varicose veins and other vascular anomalies. It is an indispensable reference for a wide audience including dermatologists, invasive radiologists, family practitioners, vascular and cosmetic surgeons. Clearly written by global experts, Sclerotherapy, 6th Edition, helps those new to the field to gain a firm understanding of successful techniques, as well as showing seasoned practitioners how to improve and hone their skills with today's best and newest approaches. Case studies, detailed color illustrations, and procedural videos online offer step-by-step visual guidance. Covers everything you need to know with a practical approach, from the pathogenesis of varicosities to diagnostic and treatment options, including evidence-based decision making. Includes access to 15 editor-narrated instructional videos that illustrate key techniques and surgical pearls including modern sclerotherapy, enhanced infrared visualization, PPG digital measuring, foam sclerotherapy, telangiectatic matting and ambulatory phlebectomy. Helps you optimize outcomes and improve your surgical, injection, and laser techniques with comprehensive, visual guidance, including coverage of common pitfalls and "tricks of the trade." Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices and features DBT videos. Features hot topic coverage of endovenous glue and new endovenous ablation techniques, as well as updated techniques for optimal use of foam sclerotherapy and uses for solutions recently available on the market. Discusses new concepts for treating areas other than the legs, including rejuvenation of the hands and chest.
Textbook of Interventional Cardiology by
From new research and equipment to new procedures, applications, and approaches, the field of interventional cardiology is one of the fastest-changing areas in medicine. Increasing data and recent technological advances have resulted in exciting changes - and an even greater need for cutting-edge, authoritative guidance on current practice. Textbook of Interventional Cardiology, 8th Edition, covers the theories, trends, and applications of diagnostic and interventional cardiology that cardiologists, cardiac surgeons, vascular surgeons, referring physicians, and advanced practitioners need to know. Focuses on the latest treatment protocols for managing patients at every level of complexity. Includes all-new chapters on Coronary Stenting, Diagnosis and Treatment of Coronary Microvascular Disease, Percutaneous Transcatheter Valve in Valve Implantation, and Percutaneous Tricuspid Valve Repair. Features hundreds of new illustrations, tables, and boxes for visual clarity and quick reference. Offers expanded coverage of transcatheter aortic valve interventions with extensive updates on practice implications. Discusses hot topics such new atherectomy devices, percutaneous mitral valve replacement, and percutaneous treatment of paravalvular leak. Provides the unique insights of expert leaders in the field who have pioneered today's innovative devices and techniques and lend their own analysis of practical, evidence-based clinical applications. Presents the most recent data on how genomics and genetics impact interventional cardiology. Provides an in-depth understanding of cardiology, making it well suited for cardiology and interventional cardiology exam preparation. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
Cardiac Electrophysiology by
While there are many outstanding resources providing in-depth review of electrophysiology topics, this extensively updated book is one of the few case-based books that comprehensively cover clinical electrophysiology, devices and ablation. Case review offers a simple, yet effective way in teaching important concepts, offering insight into both the basic pathophysiology of a problem as well as the clinical reasoning that leads to a solution. As the field of cardiac electrophysiology evolves, the challenge remains to educate new generations of cardiac electrophysiologists with the basics as well as the latest advances in the field. Cardiac Electrophysiology: Clinical Case Review collates the most comprehensive case-based reviews of electrophysiology designed to appeal to all students of the field whether they are fellows, allied professionals or practicing electrophysiologists. The Editors have recruited some of the true experts in the field to contribute cases that they have encountered and summarizing the important learning objectives in a succinct way. Covering clinical electrophysiology, device troubleshooting and analysis as well as intracardiac electrogram analysis and ablation, readers will find the cases useful as a review of electrophysiology or in their day to day interactions with patients.
Cardiology Board Review by
Multiple choice question-and-answer book for cardiologists at all levels, now updated to include 100 new questions covering additional topics Cardiology Board Review, Second Edition is a multiple-choice question-and-answer study aid that is written for the primary purpose of helping candidates prepare for the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) subspecialty certification. The questions address all areas of cardiology, some of which include: physical examination, ECG section with high resolution images, non-invasive and invasive imaging, myocardial diseases, and more. Each of the 1,400 questions is followed by four answers to choose from and the discussions address not only the rationale behind picking the right choice, but also fills in information around the topic so that important key concepts are clearly laid out. This helps candidates to prepare for the test, while also developing a clear understanding of various aspects of cardiology, including diagnosis and management. Written by two highly experienced authors in the field of healthcare, Cardiology Board Review, Second Edition covers topics such as: History and physical examinations, electrocardiography, chest x-rays in cardiology, stress testing and risk stratification of asymptomatic subjects, and echocardiography Cardiac magnetic resonance imaging, cardiac computed tomography, cardiac catheterization, acute coronary syndromes, and chronic coronary artery disease Heart failure, transplant, left ventricular assist devices, pulmonary hypertension, cardiomyopathies, hypertension, and diabetes mellitus Lipids, valvular heart disease, adult congenital heart disease, pericardial diseases, aortic diseases, and cardiac arrhythmias Pacemakers and defibrillators, cardiac masses, systemic disorders affecting the heart, and heart disease and pregnancy Providing comprehensive coverage of all relevant subjects and offering the easy-to-understand "why" behind the answer to each question, this second edition of Cardiology Board Review is an essential study resource for fellows in training, practicing cardiologists, and those preparing for ABIM subspecialty board in cardiology.
Cardiology Board Review: ECG, Hemodynamic and Angiographic Unknowns by
An accessible and engaging review of board exam essentials Cardiology Board Review lays the groundwork for board exam success with its instructive and easy-to-read explanations of the pathophysiology, diagnosis, and treatment of patients with cardiovascular disease. Breaking topics down into case unknowns, this innovative revision aid provides examples of everyday cardiological issues and then explains how best to address the problem at hand. All content is complemented by clinical images and illustrations, as well as helpful summaries and key points. Featuring 56 different cases, this essential text: Places learning in a practical context. Information about disease states is presented in case-based format which leads to better retention. Covers topics including congenital heart disease, coronary artery disease, cardiomyopathies, valvular heart disease, arrhythmias, heart failure, peripheral vascular disease, and more Designed to present important concepts and information in a unique way to complement textbook learning Features electrocardiograms, angiograms, and pressure tracings Is applicable to those working towards certification in Cardiovascular Disease from the American Board of Internal Medicine or preparing for board examinations in other countries Is also suitable for those requiring MOC recertification Features cases on aortic insufficiency, atrial fibrillation, Brugada syndrome, carotid artery disease, myocardial bridging, congenital heart disease, electrolyte abnormalities, apical HCM, mitral regurgitation, RV outflow tract tachycardia, pulmonary hypertension, arrhythmogenic right ventricular dysplasia, aortic stenosis, atrial myxoma, atrial tachycardia, pulmonic insufficiency, Takotsubo, tricuspid regurgitation, Wolfe-Parkinson-White syndrome, pulmonic stenosis, coronary anomalies, ECG changes of hypothermia, endocarditis, pulmonary embolus, ventricular septal defect, hemodynamics of hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, complete heart block, heart failure, coronary artery disease, atrial septal defect, constrictive pericarditis, fractional flow reserve, dextrocardia, STEMI, early repolarization, giant cell myocarditis, peripheral arterial disease, pericardial tamponade, peripheral arterial disease, pericarditis, myocarditis, long QT syndrome, mitral stenosis, tetralogy of Fallot, and supraventricular tachycardia among others. Cardiology Board Review offers fellows a fresh and engaging approach to the information required to achieve success in board examinations.
Cardiology Board Review and Self-Assessment: A Companion Guide to Hurst's the Heart, 14e by
Cardiology Board Review and Self-Assessment is an all-inclusive study guide written to complement the 14th Edition of Hurst’s The Heart. Edited by Drs. Valentin Fuster, Robert A. Harrington, Jagat Narula, and Zubin J. Eapen, the 14th Edition of Hurst’s The Heart is an exhaustive and thorough state-of-the-art review of the entire field of cardiovascular medicine.
Cardiology Board Review contains over 1100 questions and answers presented in a multiple-choice format. Each of the 112 chapters of Hurst’s The Heart is represented in Cardiology Board Review with 10 multiple-choice questions. Detailed answers are provided for each question including not only an explanation of why the correct answer is correct but also why incorrect answers are incorrect. Questions and answers correspond to appropriate sections of Hurst’s The Heart and include tables, figures, and references. The more than 1100 questions presented in Cardiology Board Review span the depth and breadth of the fascinating field of cardiovascular medicine.
Cardiology Secrets by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Cardiology Secrets, 6th Edition, offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. This highly regarded resource features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - succinct, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Fully revised and updated, including new information on peripheral vascular and cerebrovascular disease, direct oral anticoagulant agents, and transcatheter aortic valve replacement (TAVR). New chapter on COVID-19 and the Cardiovascular System. Several hundred illustrations, figures, and flow diagrams clearly depict key topics. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Bulleted lists, mnemonics, practical tips from global leaders in the field - all providing a concise overview of important board-relevant content. Written by global experts and thought leaders in cardiovascular disease. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
This link opens in a new window
Case Files: Cardiology
ENHANCE YOUR CRITICAL THINKING SKILLS AND IMPROVE PATIENT CARE WITH THIS CONCISE CASE-BASED REVIEW Experience with clinical cases is key to mastering the art and science of medicine and ultimately to providing patients with competent clinical care. Case Files: Cardiology provides 30 real-life cases that illustrate essential concepts in cardiac care. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls, and board-style review questions to reinforce your learning. With Case Files, you'll learn instead of memorize. Learn from 30 high-yield cases, each with board-style questions Master key concepts with clinical pearls Sharpen your clinical problem-solving and patient care skills
The Cleveland Clinic Cardiology Board Review, Third ed. by
Providing a comprehensive, state-of-the-art review of every area of contemporary cardiovascular medicine, The Cleveland Clinic Cardiology Review is an excellent tool for learning and reviewing key concepts in major areas of cardiology. The ThirdEdition contains fully revised content, review questions used on the board exam. A new, easy-to-follow chapter template facilitates quick review and retention of the material. Emphasizes board-relevant clinical material and accurate, real-world clinical decision making. Covers every major topic you'll encounter on certification and recertification exams, including congenital heart disease, electrophysiology, valvular heart disease, vascular disease, and pharmacology, and more. Presents review questions with each chapter for thorough exam preparation and self-assessment. Uses a new, consistent format for most chapters: introduction, clinical presentation, diagnosis, algorithm, treatment, suggested readings, and questions/answers. Written by distinguished clinicians from the Cleveland Clinic Foundation's Department of Cardiovascular Medicine and based on the Cleveland Clinic Foundation's popular annual Intensive Review of Cardiology course. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
The Interventional Cardiology Training Manual by
This textbook is a readily accessible educational tool for all fellows undertaking subspecialty training in interventional cardiology, while also serving as a refresher to early career interventional cardiologists. The key objective is to equip the reader with an evidence-based expert-led resource focussed primarily on pre-procedural planning, peri-procedural decision-making, and the salient technical aspects of performing safe and effective coronary intervention, the intention being to support the therapeutic decision-making process in the emergency room, coronary care unit or cath lab in order to optimize patient outcome. The Interventional Cardiology Training Manual provides readers with a step-by-step guide to the basic principles underpinning coronary intervention and facilitates rapid access to best practice from the experts, presented in a pragmatic, digestible and concise format. Uniquely, each chapter has been written in a heart center-specific manner, affording the reader an opportunity to learn how individual institutions perform a specific procedure, which algorithms and guidelines they follow and what evidence they draw on to instigate the best possible care for their patients.
Hypertension Secrets by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Hypertension Secrets, 2nd Edition, offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. This highly regarded resource features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - succinct, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Covers the full range of pathophysiology, natural history, and diagnosis and management of hypertension for in-training or practicing professionals. Fully revised and updated, including protocols and guidelines that are continuously evolving and that increasingly dictate best practices. Includes chapters on obstructive sleep apnea; drug- or alcohol-induced hypertension; hypertension and diabetes, the obese individual, African Americans, the elderly, thyroid disorders, and pregnancy; and the role of device therapy. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Bulleted lists, mnemonics, practical tips from global leaders in the field - all providing a concise overview of important board-relevant content. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
